TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 13 °C Tuesday 18 June, 2013

“We are hopeful”: Cochlear implants campaign gets boost

Sinn Féin leader Gerry Adams is supporting the campaign to have children fitted with two cochlear implants, rather than the standard one in Ireland.

Billy Cairns with Sinn Féin leader Gerry Adams
Image: Deanna Cairns

A CAMPAIGN RUN BY parents to have children fitted with two cochlear implants instead of the standard one has received a new boost.

Sinn Féin leader Gerry Adams is among those who has pledged his support to the Happy New Ear campaign, and met with Deanna Cairns and her son Billy (4) last week after he brought up the issue in the Dáil.

Petition

Deanna Cairns spoke to TheJournal.ie in January about the issue, explaining that around 20 parents of children fitted with the implants had joined together to campaign for bilateral implants to become routine.

They handed a petition to Beaumont Hospital, which fits the implants, and have been trying to set up a meeting with Health Minister James Reilly. They have now gotten a much-needed boost with the mention of the issue in the Dáil.

Deputy Adams brought up the appeal in a Dáil question, telling Dundalk native Billy’s story. He pointed out that internationally it is considered best practice to implant both ears, but that children in Ireland – except the North of Ireland – are only fitted with one as standard.

The big problem as the child grows is that the nerves to which the implant should be connected die if they are not being used, which means the hope of a further implant is lost.  These children are in a race against time.

He asked the Taoiseach to consult with the Minister for Health and the Cabinet committee on health to secure agreement for the release of the funding for bilateral cochlear implants.

Taoiseach Enda Kenny said that Beaumont Hospital has put forward its business proposal in regard to bilateral cochlear implants.

I have spoken to the Minister, Deputy Reilly, about this issue.  He will consider the business proposal that Beaumont Hospital has submitted to the HSE in the hope that these cases can be dealt with efficiently and speedily.

“Beaumont Hospital and HSE management have met to discuss the proposition made by Beaumont Hospital,” said the Taoiseach. “The purpose of the meeting and others to follow was and is to identify the options for developing bilateral implementation processes for children.”

There is an allocation of €4.1 million this year and the Minister for Health, Deputy James Reilly, will follow through with the HSE and Beaumont Hospital management in developing that process and putting in place clear criteria to see whether we should follow the decision taken in 2009 by the national institute in the United Kingdom on bilateral cochlear implantation.

Hopeful

Deanna said that she and the other parents were delighted to see their situation discussed in the Dáil – but that Billy has have an operation on his existing implant on 3 April. She believes it would be more beneficial for him to have a second implant fitted at the same time.

She added:

Our problem is going to be there is a good chance they are going to [provide] the newborn babies [with bilateral cochlear implants]. Our fight is going to be the kids that already have one implant.

“We didn’t think it would get this far so far, and so quickly as well,” said Deanna of the campaign, adding that Fergus O’Dowd held a meeting with Happy New Ear on Monday of this week.

Deanna said the group “are very hopeful” and are glad that government deputies are now supporting their cause.

Read: “It’s a shame”: Parents appeal for funding for cochlear implants>

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (50 Comments)

• Heartening to see public reps thinking of our children who deserve the best options available, I just hope funding is not an issue.
    My son who is profoundly deaf is not suitable for the implant but I hope the right decision is speedily forthcoming

• This is extremely important and has primacy over european bankers debt. Lets get our priorities right.

• Thank you aoife again, for highlighting my sin Billy’s story . If anyone wants to join is on our fight for this we have a Facebook page called Happy New Ear . You are all welcome , we need all the support we can get

• i remember everything that happened years ago, i lived in wigan not far from warrington and it was a horrible day . you are all taking away from the story today that we are trying to get across, not only for my son Billy but for all the other children who are deaf . Gerry adams is the only one who has taken our story toTheDail, and i was happy enough to let my child sit on his knee. All i ask is for your support in our campaign . you can sign our petition . camhttp://www.thepetitionsite.com/692/563/450/happy-new-ear/paign

• hello adam, your son is profoundly deaf. you know nothing about deaf community background. you should first information about a deaf child at NAD. national assocation for deaf . In frederick street, dublin city centre. You know some operations can damage implant cochear to a deaf child very rare, can become blind, damage brian, nervous system discorder, other etcs. I am profoundly deaf since birth. i use hearing aids.
      When your son is growing up. up to 8 years old afterwards. He want to have implant cochear. That is fine. He choice is his body. Best luck . Sign language is never going away forever. ..

• If they don’t like hearing when they’re older they can just switch the cochlear off. and switch it back on again if they want to. stop the hatin bro, be happy you’re content in the deaf community, don’t be forcing others into it.

• 26/02/13 #

Hi Martin, we appreciate your comments and respect the decisions you have made in your life. You are obviously very happy in your decisions and I am encouraged by this for my daughter. Just to clarify this is not an implant v sign language debate, it is a human rights issue. and about a service that is available internationally and not in Ireland. Our children are still deaf. still use sign language, but they get sound through the electronic device that is a CI. It doesn’t cure deafness but my daughter can hear a whisper when she wears hers. We actually know quite a bit about the deaf community contrary to your comment , we are not deaf, but that does not stop us being compassionate understanding people.
      Oh and BTW Isn’t NAD now DeafHear? I’ve been to many functions there, it’s a great place.

• For gods sake it’s an article about a little boy who has no hearing & having to face a second operation in his short little life. You people disgust me taking over comments regarding Gerry Adams, it’s about Billy & his journey. An issue is being highlighted here, and a mothers plight to help her son. Best of luck Deanna on Billy’s journey xx

• We’re all behind you Deanna

• http://www.thepetitionsite.com/692/563/450/happy-new-ear/

this is the link to our petition , please sign and share . thank you

• The references to Gerry Adams’ past are really irrelevant in this story. It is important to recognise that cochlear implants do not recover full hearing or a ‘cure’. See the US’ Food and Drug Administration’s website outlining the benefits and risks of being implanted with this device. I am sure that the parents are aware of these benefits and risks. I wish them well. Here is the website:

http://www.fda.gov/MedicalDevices/ProductsandMedicalProcedures/ImplantsandProsthetics/CochlearImplants/ucm062843.htm

I sincerely hope that this child and his parents also value the usage of Irish Sign Language (ISL) and embrace for their child. To my understanding, the medical professionals, especially in the cochlear implants area, adopt an ambiguous attitude towards ISL. There are countless research that show a child like him would benefit enormously from the use of both languages: spoken and signed. See this link of the University of London

http://www.ucl.ac.uk/dcal/dcal-news/early-sign-expos

• We all respect an appreciate ISL in our children’s lives. We incorporate it appropriately to our personal circumstances.

• Hi John
      Yes as a family we are all learning Irish sign language , and have two exams already past and now on our third isl exam. As the surgeons tell us , cochlear implant doesn’t mean your child isn’t deaf anymore. It just helps your child to learn to talk and listen. That way they have a better way of life and don’t feel isolated amongst their peers

• Of course this is an important story regarding the health of some of our weakest members of our society, our children and I wish you and your son and indeed all children effected by this condition the very best and that you do receive what you are seeking.
      However my comments on Jerry Adams and the political wing of the terrorist organisation that he represents I will always make reference to when ever he or his party appear in any forum where public dialoge and public comment can be given. least we forget !!!!!!

• Typically, Europe is ahead of us again…It’s obviously a financial thing why children in Ireland haven’t been fitted with implants in both ears which would make alot of sense to begin with. My sister is partially deaf in both ears with a speech problem & learning difficulties so to think that kids will benefit from 2 implants from birth is fantastic…! I so hope that it all works out for Billy & his family..We shouldnt have to fight for these things really should we? It should be standard practice …

• People must be very bitter and twisted to use children’s disabilities so as to further their own political agenda. For the likes of Patrick Lyons and Kevin Beakey to condescendingly assume that we don’t know about the past is no excuse for their disgusting hijacking of this article for their own sick purposes.

Hopefully the children referred to in this article will get the implants that they need as a matter of course. In the great scheme of things €4.1 million really isn’t that huge amount when you consider what it can produce for the children involved.

• Well said Brian, I am also at my wicks end listening to these west Brits waffling on about the past, especially that troll Patrick Lyons.
      I had a dream/ nightmare recently that the government fell one day, it was raining, and Sinn Fein got voted in with the independents. Well after two years, are deficit was gone, all the austerity was finished, and we were booming again. Sinn Fein agreed that it wasn’t fair to subject all the loyalists to being forced in to our republic, but they were wanting to join anyway as our economy was booming and the British empire completely collapsed after Scotland became an independent republic.
      And even in this dream/ nightmare, everybody kept saying the same shit, “but Gerry was a leader in the ra, he killed people”.
      LETS MOVE ON PEOPLE!

• Thanks for the red thumb pat

• were our childrens voices today they ahave a right to be HEARED a right to HEAR an a right to a VOICE we will capaign for as long as it takes to get them bilateral implants. goverment need to get there prioritries right they should put the money were its needed most. this is of huge importance to us that our children get best practise standards.

• Can we forget about Gerry Adams here please and focus on kids right to have access to cochlear implants, it seems we are t only country to provide one per person. Two implants can make a huge difference!!

• Enda Kenny should not have labelled this a ‘ business proposal’ . You cannot equate an issue of improving health care and potentially allowing a deaf person ‘hear’ with ‘ Business ‘ !

• That is the neutral terminology departments (unfortunately) use in their submissions for budgets. It does sound a bit cold though.

Good luck to Deanna in her campaign; there are parents all over the country struggling with stressful child health issues. I hope savings found elsewhere will allow more work to be done to help this priority area.

• I’m sorry. But you can, and indeed have to.

• No Len , you cannot . Being deaf is not a choice , its a disability like any other . Why should our children be left lagging behind because we won’t give them two implants which is now standard practice ? It would make a world of difference to the children .

• Julie 26/02/13 #

Well done to Gerry Adams and these families,his past aside, talking about his past is just pathetic, I have a family member who is deaf and it is a constant worry. Hopefully now that these people have a voice something will be done to help them. Best of luck to ye.

“Business proposal”Enda really. He is all money and nothing about the welfare of his citizens.

• The past is the past we need to look to the future a better future for our kids

• Lads this is not about sinn feinn this a fight for our kids kids like my lexi and little billy and many many more out there if enda Kenny had a heart he would give our kids the right to a normal hearing life if his child was profoundly deaf your almost guaranteed his child would get to implants

• Well said Michelle

• Wow I cant believe that a story about deaf children and the lack of Bilateral implants in this country has being turned into a political slanging match regarding Gerry Adams pass. I am a profoundly deaf mother of a profoundly deaf 5 year old little boy. We are both implant wearers. We are just thankful to Gerry Adams for helping to raise awarness for the plight of our children. Living with deafnes is not easy. I have watched my son grow old before his time as he fights tiredness from the huge amount of concentration he has to put in on a day to day basis with one implant. I dont need to told of any of anybody else pass, I am too busy trying to help my son live his future. I am to busy trying to explain to my son why he cant hear out of one ear and why the doctors wont fix his other ear. I know from my own experience all to well the struggles that my son and children like him will go through, and it saddenes me that Enda Kenny cant see the future benefits of giving our children two ears to hear. I would ask people to leave any political agenda at the door and to help deaf children by signing the petition so that all deaf children that need a second implant can have a brighter future. http://www.thepetitionsite.com/692/563/450/happy-new-ear/

• 26/02/13 #

Thank you for running this story thejournal.ie. If anyone would like to follow our campaign , you can find us on Facebook Happy New Ear, follow us on twitter @happynewear2013 or email happynewearcampaign@gmail.com. Please, continue to chat amongst yourselves.

• Yes cochlear implants do not give 100% hearing, which is why having 2 makes more sense.

• its because vital healthcare funds are being used for crap like alcoholics coming in all the time to hospital…15-30% of emergency department admissions are related to them…half of them will have stumbles/falls etc, youll be forced to do brain scans on them (look through any alcoholics medical files…tons of CT brain scans ), and various money costing investigations, they stay in for days because they have ”the nerves” etc…and recurrent admissions. And yet the generous Irish people keep paying for deadbeats rather than deaf kids.

I like how he terms it a ”business proposal” That’s what you are kids..merchandise

• Isn’t it great to see jerry Adams with a new found interest in children’s welfare and health…. However I’m old enough to remember the deaths of 2 children in the IRA/SInn Feinn bombings in Warrington. Jonathan Bell and Tim Parry. 12 and 2 years of age. Murdered by bombs planted in rubbish bins outside McDonnalds and Argus on a Saturday afternoon…. Prime enemy targets wouldnt you say Jerry????

• That didn’t take long…..

• I’ve already started to forget Gerry’s past and the campaign of civilian slaughter.

I think we should be more concerned about Gerry’s knees with all the children he has sitting on them of late. The flash photography from the Journal’s photographer whenever such a moment is arranged also might have a detrimental effect on his eyesight.

• More research on the epidemic of Irish forgetfulness wouldn’t go astray either. What with Adams on the road to sainthood and Martin on the road to Taoiseach….

• Let’s not spoil Deanna’s article with talking about Gerry Adams! Billy is more important. Go on Billy!

And politics aside, fair play to all politicians who support this issue.

• True.

• Have you read the article?

• What you say is inarguably true Kevin (I agree 100%), but isn’t seeing Adams campaign articulately for such a worthwhile cause what so many of us have prayed for for years?

• Julie 26/02/13 #

Just a statistic I looked up because I was continuously being accused of supporting the IRA. I was not even born.

They killed 6-700 civilians during the troubles, a lot less than people exaggerate on here but still too many, compare that to the amount killed by British/ loyalists even before any Irish catholic picked up a gun. I don’t support the IRA. They do not exist.

But I’m sure mothers of these kids would say the same like any family living in poverty, no work etc, these terrorists ye talk about from 17 years ago are having no negative impact on anyone’s life. The financial terrorists you support are having massive impact, a big part if the reason these surgeries are not available is because your financial terrorists destroyed the economy, with there banking and property gangsters. And we are all paying. They the only ones that are not.

Give it a rest.

• Adams will always be connected to his past. That will never be forgotten. No amount of waffle or name calling can change what he and his buddies did.

• Ah get over yourself- you could say look at Tony Blair/George Bush posing with kids and they the very ones who invaded Iraq on a false premise and led to thousands of children being killed. Gerry Adams is now in political life, at some point people have to move on or else nothing changes. This story is to highlight an issue……positively. Take your negativity somewhere else.

• Maybe Gerry Adam’s could get his wealthy American friend to cover all medical costs.

• Is this the same guy who supported implanting shrapnel in people?

• Ok so its ok too give gerry adams the green thumb my uncle was left deaf by a bomb in belfast 25 years ago planted by gerry adams crew so think before you vote or reply,hes not the person to promote help for deaf kids,hes not an honest man,anybody who disagrees has short memory

Add New Comment