TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 2 °C Saturday 25 May, 2013

Colorado suspected gunman ‘can’t remember’ shooting spree

Alleged killer James Holmes is repeatedly asking guards why he is in prison – claiming that he has no memory of the shooting which took place in a packed Colorado cinema last week.

Image: AP Photo/Denver Post, RJ Sangosti, Pool, File

THE MAN SUSPECTED of killing 12 people in a crowed cinema in Colorado last week says he doesn’t know why he’s in prison.

James Holmes, 24, has claimed to prison guards that he has no recollection of the massacre during a midnight premiere of the lastest Batman film on 20 July. The former PhD neuroscience student has also been complaining about the food he is receiving behind bars, according to the Telegraph.

“He’s claiming his belly hurts him,” one prison employee said. “He complained once that he didn’t like the food . . . The guy killed 12 people, and he’s upset that he’s not getting a four-star meal?”

The alleged gunman has been placed in solitary confinement for 23 hours a day, and is let outside for one hour’s exercise. Authorities have insisted he wear a stab-proof vest when outside his cell for fears other inmates might attack him.

Last Monday, Holmes appeared in court in Aurora ahead of formal charges with brightly-dyed red-orange hair. He appeared dazed and groggy.

However, prison staff believe his behaviour and claims of amnesia are a ploy to escape harsh sentencing over his alleged crimes, reports the Daily Mail.

“I think he’s trying real hard to act crazy,” one employee said.

Prosecutors are currently considering whether to seek the death penalty against Holmes.

Read more about the Colorado cinema shootings>

Read next:

Comments (54 Comments)

• OU812 27/07/12 #

Uh oh… Going for the guilty but insane charge.

He ordered Kevlar leggings & a bulletproof neck guard online several weeks before, does that mean he was insane then too?

• He will have plenty of time to remember when he spends the rest of his miserable life in prison.

• As my old man always says to me. Never try fool a man whose fooled millions before you. Life in prison no parole let him rot.

• Yeah, sure he can’t.

• Gun sales up 25% in Colorado after this shooting! Sure what will reduce these kind of things happening in America? MORE GUNS!!! America…f**k yeah!!

• I see why suicide is so high in ireland. No understanding of mental health problems.

• I suffer from a mental illness. If in this case its being spoken of, then i would wish for some proof.

• Excellent point. It’s absurd but predictable, the number of comments/articles claiming Holmes is evil/should be gassed/lacks the humanity common to the rest of us.

It’s similar to the initial reaction to Breivik. Public opinion won’t consider that a human being, who was probably at some point quite ‘normal’, committed these crimes.

I think if we were to put more effort into understanding mental health we could reduce these types of cases eventually.

I don’t mean to take commenters too seriously, but every article about this kind of crime is full of people saying “Death penalty/castrate him/etc”. Try to think things through a little more. This isn’t FOX News. You can’t just have an immediate emotional reaction and then kill a guy. Then you’re no better than a Holmes, or a Breivik.

• My point and sentiments exactly Stephen.

• Stupid comment, did you read the papers that day he shot random people he’s milking the mental issue

• Kim 27/07/12 #

Oh please next he’ll be using the “I’d taken 4 nurofen and drank a 6 pack of beer before hand” excuse. Please tell me people are not gonna fall for this one….You are a sick and twisted man alrite and what ever is wrong with you is no little thing.
    As for not liking the food!!!! Well mate your lucky your been bloody feed at all.

• Im in favour of the death penalty for dirty rapists but not for this guy.

Yes I’m aware of the people that have lost their lives but I think that psychologists should be doing studies on this case to find out exactly why he carried out this massacre and how something like this can be prevented.

• Someone that does what he did can’t be crazy! No way in hell is he crazy! Not a chance! Ye right! Crazy as a soup sambo!

• Manchurian candidate?

• ive never heard of the nazis,khemer rouge or stalin being declared insane and yet they executed millions.holmes should be treated no differently..just plain evil

• I don’t think you can put someone like him in the same bracket as the poor unfortunates who take their own lives. He murdered 12 people, including children and rigged his apartment to blow up if someone entered. He then turned his stereo on really loudly to antagonise a neighbour into coming in and setting it off. I have lost people to suicide down the years and not one of them took the life of another with them on their way. This man should not be thought of in the same way as people “suffering” from a mental illness. People suffering don’t tend tend to inflict their suffering on others. He is quite simply, evil and deserves to be punished accordingly.

• Mjhint 27/07/12 #

I dont have any reason to believe him either but I also dont have reason to doubt him. It does not matter if he is insane or not the masses speak the same as the majority on here. Are you telling me people with mentall illness dont kill. None of you including those stating they have mental health issues know anything about mental health. Ask yourselves should he be executed if he is unwell.

• People with mental health issues don’t know anything about mental health? Did you really just write that? I think people WITH mental health issues know more about it than anyone else on here and who are you to say otherwise? I find that quite offensive, I have lost people who suffered from mental health issues to suicide and they certainly knew all about their illnesses. Obviously this degenerate is not right in the head but the vast majority of people suffering from a MH issue do not commit mass murder and then do nothing to themselves.

• Mjhint 27/07/12 #

So in your expert opinion People with MH issues do not kill. You need to do your research. Also I asked you if this guy has MH issues should he be executed?

• I never once said that people with MH issues don’t ever kill. Obviously there is something not right if a person commits certain crimes. This guy meticulously planned a mass execution, a potential explosion and never once claimed he “didn’t remember” until he realised that he wasn’t enjoying prison life all that much. I do know that people who genuinely suffer from MH issues tend to commit frenzied attacks, not plan something out as well as he did. That takes great presence of mind and would suggest otherwise. I’m sure if he genuinely suffers from MH problems, he will have the proof to back it up….like a psychiatrist or prescriptions for his “issues”. The biggest tragedy of all would be if this guy didn’t spend the rest of his life in prison. Or IF you are right, a mental health unit within a prison….for the rest of his life. Either way, he is a menace to society.

• Mjhint 27/07/12 #

A menace to society. People that commit suicide believe they are a,burden to society. I rest my case. Ireland does not understand mental health. ITs not just services its attitudes & the comments here confirm that.

• mattoid 28/07/12 #

Andrea, how do you know that he hasn’t been claiming memory loss since the incident first happened?
      And you might be interested to learn that it has now emerged that he was being treated for schizophrenia prior to this event.
      But I’m sure you know best….

• 1, he didn’t commit or attempt to commit suicide so I don’t know why you keep bringing suicide into it.
      2, I did read that he was recently seeing a psychiatrist in his college who specialised in Schizophrenia. Does that really change anything? He didn’t act in an irrational scattered manner, quite the opposite in fact.

• mattoid 29/07/12 #

Oh dear Andrea, I agree with your position on many issues on the Journal, but I think your perception of psychiatric illness is misguided.

I am assuming your comment about suicide was directed at Mjhint, since I never mentioned it, but that post is your third one to bring up the subject. Since you did, there is a big difference between the common perception of ‘mental health’ issues such as depression, anxiety etc. and the vast spectrum of other psychiatric conditions which people can suffer from. Psychiatric illness is just that – an illness. Just because there are no physical symptoms does not mean that it is not a genuine illness.

Your perception seems to be that someone with a psychiatric illness has to be:
      a) Personally suffering in some way, and
      b) Somehow incapable of funtioning at higher levels of thinking/planning etc..

The reality however is that many people with psychiatric illness are quite happy within their own skin and are not necessarily ‘suffering’ in the way you describe it.

In addition, they can be absolutely capable of meticulous planning and attention to fine detail. The question is not “Is someone suffering from a genuine psychiatric condition capable of meticulously planning and carrying out mass murder?”, it is “Why does a psychiatric patient plan and carry out mass murder? What thought processes led them down such a deadly path? etc..”

• Gun laws in America mean anyone can do this. President Obama is not going to move on this in the year of election.
    Incredible!

• I agree with you MJHint, a lot of people who take their own life plan it meticulously and act completely normal in the days and hours beforehand.

• Perhaps the same person who armed him and funded the operation, drugged him resulting in memory loss.

Im still not convinced that an unemployed student undertook a $20,000 operation alone..

• I reckon he was insane and wanted help, he sent the his notebook of plots to a phschychologist as a plea for help or to get help. If he is proven sane I hope they jail him for life rather than kill him, he’ll suffer more in jail.

• Red Ed 28/07/12 #

This man has a phd and I would say he is faking the whole thing to test his intelligence in a sick game. This man is high risk and there must be no argument that he needs life behind bars for everyone’s safety.

• Pre mediated crimes will get u the death penalty. BUT WE’RE NOT GOD
    He will answer for this when he dies in jail serving his life sentence, don’t put him out of his misery let him suffer for the rest of his life first

• If he is only now realising what he did, I don’t think he is appropriately upset to be fair. He’s going away for a very loooong time.

• Give him the lethal injection.

• Nutter, death penalty, end of…….

• He’s acting – trying to look distracted but has watched too many movies to get ideas on how he should display himself in court. Not working at all. Lock him up.

• Amazing how he can’t remember the massacre, yet he’s been planning it for months. Just amazing.

• Of course he forgot. He has been under psychiatric mind control.
    The thing is who doing this and for what reason?

• yeah and he will be forgotten when they run a line into his arm and pump in a load of poison…not buying it at all.

pity the families of the victims can’t forget.

Add New Comment