TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Wednesday 22 May, 2013

Shatter insists threats by terrorist groups are ‘completely unacceptable’

However, the Justice Minister would not be drawn on reports about an alleged incident in Limerick yesterday.

THE JUSTICE MINISTER has released a statement this evening, reiterating his position that any threats made by criminal terrorist groups are “completely unacceptable” and will be met with the “full rigours of the law”.

However, Alan Shatter would not be drawn on reports today about an alleged incident in Limerick yesterday.

He said that he had been informed by the Garda Commissioner that the event in the city at the weekend was being “fully investigated”.

“As the nature of the remarks reported to have been made will form part of that investigation, the Minister does not propose to make any specific comment on them at this stage,” he continued.

According to the Irish Independent, Limerick Leader and other sources, a message was read on behalf of Continuity IRA prisoners at Portlaoise Prison during a commemoration of Seán South. It is understood the statement indicated that any Irish person who joined the British Army would be a ‘legitimate target’.

Republican Sinn Féin has moved to distance itself from the investigation. In a statement tonight, it said that no such message was read out during its commemoration.

Republican Sinn Féin wish to correct the report carried on RTÉ television’s Six One news this evening (7 January). The commemoration referred to in the report was not organised by Republican Sinn Féin. Republican Sinn Féin held its own Seán Sabhat commemoration in Limerick on 6 January. Further we wish to point out that no statement such as that referred to in the news report was read out at the Republican Sinn Féin commemoration.

It is unclear at what gathering the remarks were made.

READ: Brothers extradited to the North over double murder

Read next:

Comments (60 Comments)

• I’ve yet to hear a plausible explanation as to how the RIRA/CIRA can ignore the 2.1m people who voted yes to the Good Friday Agreement in 1998 (and replaced the mandate provided by the votes in the 105 constituencies of 1918)?

• Getting rid of 1000 more Gardai and leaving the force completely under staffed and resourced is leaving the public safety in utter jeopardy. Ah well, as long as the bond holders get paid! The election can’t come quick enough…

• As I said in an earlier post. Inspector clueless is single handedly dismanteling the garda .
      This total clown is directly responsable for understaffing,station closure,equipment shortfall and now he wants 1000 to take a career break !!!!
      Bondholders,mega wages,mercs & perks…. They are the most detached and deluded sleeveens to walk Irish soil.

• Yes, John. Roll on the election. We can replace the pro-European parties with, em Sinn Fein. That’ll have the dissident Republicans running scared. Oh wait…..

• You can’t slander someone on the internet. Slander is the term used for transitory statements ie verbal utterances. The word your looking for is libel. If you are going to be a pedant try at least know what you are typing about!

• Ryan'O 07/01/13 #

HaHajaaaaaa I do love when a troll is put firmly back under its bridge. John thanks for that :D

• Totally agree, cant believe Shatter is getting away with reducing the police force when crime is increasing so significantly. Community policing and stations almost gone, no one to keep an eye on old people living on their own in the countryside. Makes me sick. However a new election won’t fix it – it’s not as if Sinn Fein will replenish the stocks!

• At least it might get our current clueless minister for justice ousted. He seems adamant on dismantling our police force

• The ” republic” didnt exist till 1948. The only sell out was the one where the Catholic Church was given a special position of power to run this country and make it completely unattractive for anybody , let alone Loyalists to become part of it. Loyalism doesnt see the north as a the lesser piece of the island of Ireland, its sees it as a part of the UK and we are the minority ( if a vote had been taken across the UK). Unfortunately its the rabble on both sides that think the solution lies in unintelligible violence. Most of morans, like the ones that vandalised O Connell St if asked, could tell you who Parnell or O’Connell were. Both towering over the Celtic shirted mob and probably wondering why they bothered.

• Here is an explanation of the denial by Republican Sinn Fein. There was a split within that organisation in 2010 with a number of people in Limerick leaving along with a small number of others around the 32 Counties. Those who left originally called themselves Real Sinn Fein but then tried to claim that they were actually Republican Sinn Fein ie the group they left. They have continued to issue statements claiming to be RSF but this is not the case.

As for the group claiming to be the CIRA see the explanation above. Due to their small size they have allowed a number of undesirable elements into their ranks and they have primarily operated within Limerick and Dublin. They have not carried out any attacks of note within the six counties however they have a number of prisoners in both Portlaoise and Maghaberry prisons.

They don’t have the support, capability or even the desire to mount a sustained campaign. Their main focus is on self aggrandisement and power bases.This wont mean anything to most on here but facts are facts. These people are not Republican and have been rejected by all Republican organisations including those deemed to be dissidents.

• Sure aren’t we are war lads. Oh yeah sorry, I forgot, we just threaten whoever we like and ‘tax’ the drug dealers even when we tell the public we are against drugs. There all the same the lot of them.

• Good man alan . I’d say the criminals/dissidents are quaking in their boots after your statement tonight . diminishing morale amongst rank and file Gardai throughout this country . Oh wait ..you say morale is ok in the Gardai. Ah well that’s ok then . Stations being closed , garda numbers reducing drastically , lack of resources / cars/no overtime to investigate anything .but you say all is ok and that there isnt a problem . Worst minister of justice Ever . Fact .

• @Gerry- do you think the economic Armageddon that this Government inherited- the €160billion the state owes….do you think it might be worth entertaining for a moment the idea that these might be contributory factors to the cuts in Garda resources? Why is it so hard for people on here to grasp the fact that we’re broke and there’s going to have to be cuts? What bit of that is so hard to understand? Nurses last night. Gardai tonight. Their employer, Ireland plc is not only massively indebted, it’s running at a loss. Seriously……

• @vincent . Im fully aware of the state of the country finances thanks . but this goverment is making the wrong choices hitting frontline services hardest ( the people you will look for in the awful event that you are attacked in your home and end up in a&e) ever wonder why the government failed to introduce a new higher tax band on high earners ? a measure that would have brought in up to 300 million . Ever wonder why mr shatter / howlin have not lead from the front and taken a reduction in their inflated wages (3rd highest paid government ministers in the eu). The only reason shatter is targeting the Gardai in the justice budget is because he knows it is illegal for Gardai to strike . Ever wonder why shatter never tried to reduce the legal aid bill . Course he won’t . This will effect his cronies/ex colleagues down the law library .

• @Gerry- the Government hasn’t targeted higher earners because our fragile growth is dependant on domestic demand picking up- something that tax increases would kill stone dead. Nurses can strike- they have been targeted too?

• When a country is in recession crime increases, it’s been proven across the globe. We should not be reducing the police force at a time when crime is on the up. The amount of aggravated burglaries at the moment is frightening. We need more guards not less. The government can make the cuts in lots of different places but frontline staff i.e guards, nurses etc are needed now more than ever

• @ruth- no health cuts, no Garda cuts. That leaves social welfare. So at a time of recession would you suggest cutting social welfare?

• Why does it leave just social welfare Vincent . What about inflated salaries td’s , ministers , hse middle managers etc. what about legal aid . Why should some recidivist offender get legal aid every time he/she goes to court . Why not cut it after the 5th conviction . what about judges salaries . Chief Justice earns over 210k a year . Do u think she will notice a 3% rise in income tax . Get real Vincent . There is always choices . It just happens that in dear old ireland the government is more concerned with looking after vested interests and instead hit front line services because they are an easy target . I hope you never get confronted by some one in your home uninvited and are waiting a few hours for Gardai to come help . And then when they do come the matter isn’t investigated properly because of lack manpower/ overtime god forbid if it does happen I’m sure your attitude would be slightly different . get with the real world and step out of the ivory towers you seem to have surrounded yourself in .

• Shatter will go down in history as the worst Minister for Justice this country has ever seen,Fact!!

• Young men and women,through no fault of their own, are having to leave this isle to seek work.They travel to various nations seeking employment…some join that nations armed forces through choice or necessity.If they chose to journey home they should be allowed to do so..With no threat against them from a minority of headjobs who Cannot accept that the Majority of this Island as a whole REJECTs their Mandate!!The War is over!!

• You’re right on the money there Graham. I would imagine that a large amount of the citizens of this country hold Irish passports….

• yes the island of ireland.that would be correct.

• Oh right, I suppose quite a number of people in Northern Ireland have Irish passports. I would imagine also quite a few also have British passports. The citizens of Northern Ireland are entitled to both. But back to your original point, Northern Ireland is a different jurisdiction to the Republic of Ireland.

• Toorkeel
      Sure didn’t we agree that Northern Ireland was a part of the United Kingdom and they couldn’t be a part of the Irish Republic unless we agreed to it in a Referendum?

• We did indeed Michael, we did indeed. In fact, a recent poll in NI showed 70% of the citizens of NI are happy to remain in the UK….

• toorkeel, the recent census results for the north showed that those of a protestant persuasion numbered 48 percent, also it showed that 48 percent considered themselves British.. that’s the first time since partition that the loyalist community aren’t a majority.. next time the number will be lower again, and so on.. All this chaos because Belfast only has the Union Jack for 15 days a year? What’s it going to be like when Sinn Fein nominate a First Minister?

• If 70% support the union then logically there would be no support for Sinn Fein or any Republican party.
      Dont believe statistics especially British ones

• That’s a comfort

• when i read this headline i thought he was talking about the uvf in belfast recently threatening people.nothing to say about that no?

• I better watch my back so.

• Judging by your quite misguided Facebook post you will fit right into the BA.Bet you change your tune when your in a dorm with loads of Loyalists with UVF banners who use a tricolor as a bathmath.Ive seen it.

• “completely unacceptable”.

Just love it when Politicians state the obvious. I wonder did the speech writer get paid for flights and accommodation when they flew him in to draft that particular ground breaking statement.

• In the interest of clarity RSF have issued a statement saying this nothing to do with them and did not happen at their commomeration.

• Disgraceful how they ignore the good.Friday agreement.
    How would any Irishman join an army that has brought hundreds of years of pain to this country. If an Irish man joins the British army there Irish passport should be taken from them.

• And for clarity Sinead.. That would appear to be a very reputable website that John just gave you… pffff!

Add New Comment