TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Monday 20 May, 2013

Four in five people fail to report incidents of racism – report

Nasc, the Irish Immigrant Support Centre, today launched the report which highlighted the experiences of people living in Cork.

Image: epellejer via Shutterstock

A REPORT FROM Nasc, the Irish Immigrant Support Centre, has highlighted that four in five victims of racism fail to report it, with nearly one in three not realising that laws exist to protect them against such incidents.

Launching today’s report, entitled “Stop the Silence: A Snapshot of Racism in Cork” was Seán Óg Ó hAilpín, who lived on the island of Rotuma and in Australia prior to moving to Cork in 1988.

Speaking of his experience, he said:

When my family moved to Cork, it was initially very tough for all of us. Coming from a different background, we were used to how things were in Australia. We felt out of place. And other people made us feel out of place. And it was very, very tough.

Discrimination

The report found that 55 per cent of the 171 respondents surveyed believed racism to be an issue in Cork, rising to 62.3 per cent of respondents with an African origin.

Those of African origin were also found more likely to be victims of racially motivated attacks.

(Breakdown of respondents, by ethnic origin – report)

The report found that 45 per cent of people surveyed experienced discrimination in “at least one area of everyday life”.

“Everyday life” scenarios included dealing with service providers, i.e. a shop attendant, with 38.5 per cent of respondents having experienced discrimination in this area.

The areas of housing and employment were also highlighted as areas in which those surveyed found themselves discriminated against.

(Discrimination experienced based on race, ethnicity, immigration status or religion – report)

Reporting

For those who had experienced racist and/or discriminatory behaviour toward them, more than four in five (82.8 per cent) did not report it, with half of those failing to do so because they believed “that nothing would happen or change by reporting the incident.”

Of the 17.2 per cent that did report it, almost one in three were “extremely unsatisfied” with the response they received.

One in ten respondents reported that they didn’t know “how or where” to report an incident if one did happen.

Almost one in three respondents from an ethic minority did not know that laws were in place in Ireland to protect against discrimination.

(Off all respondents who failed to report discrimination, what was the reason – report)

The CEO of Nasc, Fiona Finn said while the report was related to racism in Cork, it was also “important to recognise that it’s an issue all over Ireland and Europe.”

Nasc offer those who believe that they have been a victim of racism or discrimination to avail of a “third party mechanism,” which allows both victims and witnesses to report an incident confidentially.

If it’s determined that a crime has been committed, they then receive support in making a complaint to An Garda Síochána.

Read the full report here >

Read: Europeans say ethnicity and sexual orientation main reasons for discrimination – survey >

Read next:

Comments (87 Comments)

• A group from the Congo moved into the area a couple of years ago. Most of them were very friendly and polite however two would constantly skip the queue tho only if it was white customers and when I refused to serve them before the customers that were there first dropped a bag of potatoes on my foot. Then when It was their turn accused me of being racist for serving white people first (even tho they were there first) and for charging them the 22c bag tax.

• Am African but i would say other Africans are racist to Blacks too….It’s one year now since am in Ireland as i did only came here to study.
    I decided to make friends with my fellow blacks … But it was hard as they kept telling me how bad my African accent was :-( especially Nigerians . Since then i kept off from Africans

• mike 27/11/12 #

The report also doesn’t cover the amount of times the race card is used falsely when certain people don’t get their way publicly. A Nigerian lady called new a White Pig and then proceeded to start shouting I was a racist because I wouldn’t let her force her way into my parking space.

• mike 27/11/12 #

From experience the most racist people in this country are the Nigerians.

• I have no issue with any other non Cork people whatsoever. I grew out of my racist impulses toward Kerry folk long ago and sure the jackens are just great fun anyway.

• Exactly, it’s not a report on actual racism figures (how could that eve. be calculated) it’s a report of a survey. All surveys are skewed by people who give inaccurate replies, either deliberately or through misunderstandings. I think a lot of the comments here swapping stories of isolated incidents of bad experiences with people of non-Irish origin are missing the point. If there was a survey done, for example, on the experience of Irish people in Australia which included instances of xenophobia, and the Australian public commented, not on the survey, but with stories of negative experiences they had had with Irish people would you find that appropriate? Or would you think they were avoiding facing the actual issue being reported on?

• Does this include acts of racism against white people?

• I have had East Europeans make racist jokes to me about Irish people and have been told by Africans that because I am Irish I am probably racist!, hardly think anything would be done if I reported it somehow!

• Mike, this report dealt with incidents of racism. If you feel false claims if racism are an issue perhaps you should suggest that an organisation such as the one who carried out this survey look into it? You may find that there is evidence to support your claim. As it stands we are presented with a report in this article that only outlines the experiences of a small sample of the Cork population with regards racism. Typically that’s how surveys work. They pick a topic or have one suggested to them, and explore it. Just because there are false claims of racism made doesn’t exclude the fact that real racism exists. They aren’t mutually exclusive. They are both repugnant, hideous acts, neither of which should be tolerated in my opinion.

• One of our major weakness’s in this country is the fear of being branded a racist, after all we are a culture of emmigrants ourselves who pride ourselves on absorbing orther cultures, however I think this fear of being branded a racist is the very fear being exploited by African migrants here who culturally seem to consider it acceptable to undermine and exploit the fears of others to improve their own position in society.

• I agree with your first statement. I also think that because of this fear of being branded a racist a lot of Irish forget or don’t want to see what the real problem is. This fear can also be the cause of racist remarks. The more fear, the harder the someone begins to shout that they are not racist, BUT the other ones are all racist (see mike’s remarks)

• mike 27/11/12 #

Jeroen are you calling me a racist.

• Jeroen if you are inferring that Mike is indeed racist you are actually personifying the issue he is trying to highlight i.e that there are people who will accuse you of being racist just for standing up for and doing the right thing by our cultural standards.

• Ed, it is not just Ireland.It’s the whole world and “racist” tag applies to everything not just colour or country of origin.One of the fundamental rights is freedom of speech/opinion.Nowadays you do not have to use hurtful comments(which are totally unacceptable any way you’ll turn it);a simple “that’s my opinion” puts one in hot waters.And there’s so much policing one another.No wonder we are becoming less social and a lot isolated individuals although we live surrounded by people and technology meant to bring us closer.And I do understand how it can become: if you are in a store or coffee shop and you are having a conversation where the word”black” comes up,all of a sudden you’ll have a pair of angry eyes on you.Children in school find themselves feeling uncomfortable when telling stories about how they made friends with a child that has “brown” or “chocolate” skin.They do not know what to say, you do not know what to teach them. In the end, if white people can be called white, why is it wrong to call black people black ,without any racial connotation?I don’t feel offended if a black person calls me white;colour is irrelevant to me and I have thought my kids to think this way too:a person is a person,regardless of skin colour or the shape of the eye.We are the same in the end, same feelings, dreams and rights.When I talk to my friend from Somalia,I do not see her colour,I see her soul.Regardless of social labelling,we are all people:there are bad apples in every basket.

• On this issue the figure pointing must stop. Racism against any or all cannot and should not be tolerated.

• The journal has just censored one of my comments which was factual and can be proven regarding the behaviour of African taxi drivers, I would like to know why the journal.ie is using censorship on an issue like this?

• I suppose Ed it could be classed as a form of racism…the Journal seem to have a policy of hear no evil, see no evil leaning in a particular direction, selective censorship…

• I see said the blind man, by and large they seem ok but am surprised as there was nothing I would consider racist and I was speaking about fact that I can back up and prove, primetime were the ones who ousted the guy and his mrs for social welfare fraud and they were both convicted!

• Maybe I’m just extremely lucky with the lovely African people I know, not to mention Eastern European and Asian but I personally have not experienced this attitude that many of you feel is typical of African people. I have however witnessed appalling racism from Irish people, usually after beginning a statement with “I’m not racist but….”. I do think its worth pointing out that over half the respondents in this survey were white, with white Irish making almost 40% of the total. It might be worth looking at the results of the whole survey to see if their experiences of racism mirror yours. Mike, I’m at loss as to your response to my hypothetical scenario….

• yes, maybe you are just “extremely lucky”

• Hi Claire, I share your experience. I have witnessed dozens of of racist incidents both here and in South Africa, but I’ve never encountered the attitude described by Mike and friends. I am however, very familiar with the same old defensive arguments and urban legends (“reverse racism”, “the race card” etc.) whenever someone highlights the very real problem of racism.

• You will find racist people in every race whether it be against, black white, eastern European, Asian whatever. No entire race is innocent of it. I think the point some people are trying to make is that racism is wrong no matter who it is against. Noone should have to tolerate it.

• we need a breakdown of which race abuses which ?

• Thanks for highlighting this important report. Having lived in South Africa for over 25 years, I’m well aquatinted with the nuances of racism. I’m also very familiar with that old chestnut “the race card” – a cliché bandied about by bigots to veil their prejudices.

• mike 27/11/12 #

So I am a bigot because I wouldnt give up my parking space to a lady with black skin. Cop on… I am anti racism but I will not let myself be falsely accused of it.

• Gert I think your views probably better describe Apartheid and racism in South Africa, they don’t make sense in the Irish context.

• Ed, how is racism in one context different from racism in another context? I’ve lived in Ireland for the past 12 years, and I can honestly tell you that there is no difference between a Dublin taxi driver regaling his passengers with vile racists jokes (I’ve endured a few of those) and an Afrikaner bigot spewing racist diatribes (I’ve endure plenty of those too). In fact, the tone of many of the comments here would be depressingly familiar to anyone who’ve lived through apartheid.

• Because unlike White South Africans we don’t kill people in this country just for being black.

• Besides, you are missing the point Mike is trying to make, that because he would not allow himself to be bullied he was called a White pig.

• Exactly Ed. When ordinary people tolerate racism and bigotry, violence is never far away. You don’t have to look far for examples: http://www.guardian.co.uk/uk/2010/jun/22/belfast-racist-sectarian-attacks

• some bizarre comments to make Ed. Gert is right there are some disturbing similarities between white Irish racists and apartheid South Africa. Overt racism is vile in any context. The subtle racism of some Irish people, supposed educated decent people, who ignore overt racist behaviour toward non nationals allow violence an opportunity to flourish.

• That is not what I have said Gert, Africans are a minority in Ireland unlike South Africa where they had been long before the whites.

• Glen and Gert what racism am I guilty of? why are ye telling me? this story by the way is about why incidents of racism are not reported and my point is that the race card is often played just because people are standing up for what’s right, you 2 seem to be rhyming off some liberalist sphiel about racism in response to a question that nobody has asked either of ye on here. Would either of ye mind being called white pigs for taking a parking space?

• @ Gert your article is about Northern Ireland, part of the United Kingdom, I have no intrest in what their system promotes or does not. It also has nothing to do with a story on why 4 out of 5 don’t report racism, it’s like you are just repeating some liberalist mantra despite it having nothing to do with anything!

• Ed, your stories are a tiny minority of the overall picture of people in Ireland. I had a scroll through your comments. I haven’t read any of them. The volume though, suggests your a some sort of psu

• Oh dear, we are veering into the realm of the bizarre….Are you implying that racism directed against minorities and immigrants, is any different from racism directed against indigenous peoples? In my view racism is abhorrent in any form or context. Full stop.

• for the record and I don’t know why I even have to say this, I condemn those attacks in the North on peaceful law abiding immigrants to any country. You 2 guys are the ones that have turned this thread in to a race issue against back when in fact Mike was the one who was victim of racial abuse in his own country for nothing more than trying to park his car.

• psuedo intellectual racist apologist. I say this because I feel you have been called a white pig only once. Get over it. Your bound to be made of stronger stuff. don’t allow it to colour all your thinking. Racism manifested in any way is inexcusable

• No Gert, once again, it is you who are implying it. Correction to my above post, blacks, not “back” “PSU” Glen, lol, do I want to know!

• Glen it was Mike who was called a white pig for trying to park his car not me, I don’t know what your trying to say Glen other than informing me that you are not able to abbreviate Pseudo Intellectual racsit apologist. I don’t appreciate being called racist, but I will defend Mike because he is a victim of racist abuse but I think a larger problem is people who wade in to conversations proffering anti racism rhetoric that’s is unrelated to the issue and has it’s roots in liberalism for the sake of liberalisms sake.

• I’m Chinese and have experienced horrendous racism growing up in Ireland. I’ve had names shouted at me on the street in broad daylight, spat at, bottles and stones thrown. I’ve been physically attacked as well.
      If my racist experiences were as minor as Eds and Mikes and I’d be laughing. However I still have great experiences with Irish people and know this is a small minority. Get a bit of perspective lads, if a few Africans call you names, well that doesn’t make them all bad.

• Glen, now i’m probably going to regret asking but how does the “volume of my posts” as you say make me a pseudo intellectual racist apologist? this is an issue I feel strongly about and yes i’ve a lot to say about it, people should not have to be afraid of being racially abused in their own country for doing the right thing like Mike was.

• The problem I have les enfants perdu is more so that people like yourself are accusing me of being racist and accunsing me of thinking that all blacks or bad which is deeply insulting and ignorant, although I have said absoloutely noting like that and believe it even less! I am defending Mike on here against racist abuse for trying to do the right thing, and I despise any Nationality or person of that Nationality that would play the race card when they don’t get their way and racially abuse somebody for it then. Those people don’t belong in Ireland. Sorry to hear of your poor experiences but Irish people are not all the same either.

• So you believe the race card is never played. That’s a clichés that’s bandied around by the delusional !!

• If I ……
    • don’t get into that nightclub
    • get criticised for not doing my job properly .
    • don’t get the job at an interview.
    • don’t get the promotion.
    • don’t get everything my little heart desires ..
    Then it MUST be , because I m ………..

• Disgusting responses here. Race is not a card. Anyone who uses that argument is at best, an innocent, but nevertheless is a racist in fact, if not intention. As if moronic attitudes to women’s health aren’t enough, people feel the need to exercise their insecurities and lack of empathy on other races and the unemployed.

Sad, idiotic serfs doing exactly what the ruling classes want you to do.

• Can’t help but feel more than a few people commenting here tend to start a conversation about foreigners with “I’m not a racist but” Some quite blatantly racist folk hiding behind isolated instances to justify their true beliefs.

• There is conscious and unconscious racism and both are wrong. There is also the new variant where identifying oneself, as for example an Irish Catholic you become fare game for militant internationalists to attack. Internationalism is the new racism

• Ah taxi drivers come back in this topic too :) There was time when I used taxi almost daily in Dublin and have to say most cabbies were fine and funny people and I don’t think any nation was particularly bad ir great. I usually chat a bit in the cab and some were fantastic educated people. Some not. Think exactly like in whole nation. Irish usually knew the way better, that’s all that kind of fit into pattern of nation / observation I’ve made.

• I know what your saying fizi but this partiular taxi driver gives all black taxi drivers a bad name

• Paul 27/11/12 #

This taxi driver ONLY gives all black taxi drivers a bad name if you’re the kind of person who would assume all black taxi drivers were the same. I understood where you were coming from for a while, I’ve been accused of racism before because I’m white. My father-in-law is black and before he met me he assumed racism was a white thing, which itself is a racist assumption. A black guy I work with said “white people are racist” and he wasn’t trying to be ironic. Racism is a trait that pops up in most nationalities, mainly due to ignorance and lack of exposure to diversity, if you had stopped at making this point I could have agreed with you. However, the idea of giving a race a bad name from the actions of one, or even of many, is a lazy stereotyping assumption and it is racist. I’d encourage you to meet each person without a preconceived notion of what they are probably like based on people you have already met. Try to see the individual rather than making assumptions and generalisations based on race, nationality, gender, sexuality etc.

• So many attempts to cover up racism as something else. Something defensible. it is not

• I have no problem with you calling me a racist. Its a bit like calling a black man the N word. It says more about the name caller that the named.

Racism is broadly defined as believing that different races have defining characteristics or abilities specific to that race so as to distinguish it as superior or inferior to another race.

I dont think anyone would argue with the first part of that. Its the inferior/superior bit that the problem is probably with.

So are the Kenyans better marathon runners than the Irish ?

Are the Inuit more suited to arctic conditions than the sub saharan africans ?

So how do we know some races aren’t smarter than others too ?

Why has some parts of the world developed faster than other parts?

• Everyone gets so worked up over this whole issue, and there are those who love the convenient pidgeon-holing of others as being racist or not !

I don’t know what I am and if you want to call me racist because that makes you happy then I am ok with that.

I strongly believe in the nation state that is Ireland and her people. A people who are the product of immigration from hundreds of years back when the reason for moving countries was very different to now – back them generally it was conquest.

Nowadays its different and Ireland has not experienced significant immigration in hundreds of years, until Bertie and his merry band of clowns decided it would be a good thing ( remember ‘multiculturalism’ ??)

In addition they agreed to the unrestricted flow from the new accession states of the EU when they could have sought a derogation.

We now have a range of foreigners (oooh, bad word!) living here, some with no or very tenuous connections to our land or understanding of our culture.

I believe that is wrong, and we should protect the integrity of our citizenship and our cultural bloodlines.

Unless there is a teason of significant contribution to our economy, all others should be asked to leave.

In addition revenue should not be allowed leave this country in the way it is.

Finally it should be 5 years working before there is an entitlement to social welfare.

• Probably shouldn’t respond to that I’ll informed pile of drivel you’ve just posted but can’t help myself. First you’re grasp of Irish history is appalling, if you are going to comment in it you should probably read some books first. Could you please explain what a cultural bloodline is? I just can’t see how a culture can have a bloodline, a culture is basically a loose collection of ever changing ideas, I don’t think it has a pulse.

• @chaz

Explain your view of history if you think mine is not correct.

A cultural bloodline is symbolic not literal, next time I will give a warning in advance

• allan 28/11/12 #

Most of the Irish when abroad, especially in the UK, are never as actively racist as they ubiquitously are here in Ireland. In a country STILL marinating in racism in the 21st Century, instead if moving foward ; trying to educate it’s people on the importance of tolerance and acceptance is about as hard a “tryin’ to herd chicken”. Impossible.

• And sorry to deviate again from the nature of this story which is that 4 in 5 people fail to report incidents of racism for whatever reason.

Add New Comment