TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 6 °C Friday 24 May, 2013

Emergency workers set for national rally on pay cuts

The 24/7 Frontline Alliance represents gardaí, healthcare workers, prison officers, firefighters and paramedics.

24/7 Frontline Alliance protest march in 2009.
Image: Mark Stedman/Photocall Ireland

THE 24/7 FRONTLINE Services Alliance, representing members of the emergency services from five organisations across the country, will hold a rally tomorrow over proposed pay cuts.

The 24/7 Alliance is made up of the Garda Representative Association, the Association of Garda Sergeants and Inspectors, the Irish Nurses and Midwives Organisation, the Prison Officers Association and the Psychiatric Nurses Association.

The group aims to highlight its opposition to government proposals to cut the pay of frontline workers at the rally in the National Basketball Arena, Tallaght, Dublin at 6pm tomorrow.

The meeting will see over 2,500 members come together in the latest stage in the Alliance’s campaign to protect the income of its members.

This national rally will agree further initiatives, in the campaign, including a nationwide lobby of all back bench TDs and Senators which the Alliance said will commence immediately.

Read: Shatter ‘as angry as gardaí’ at financial situation>

Read next:

Comments (115 Comments)

• Well Paul, just some of the highlights of a week as a public servant in the emergency services for ya! Try arrive into a house in the early hours of the morning were a couple have just discovered their 6 month old child isn’t breathing, do your best to resuscitate the baby while the parents are screaming at you, because your the one who’s come to help them! When you know there’s no real chance of survival. Then off to the overdosed heroin addict in the dingy flat, surrounded by their strung out mates, with the place covered in needles and human excrement all over the floor. Start ventilating the patient and draw up some lifesaving drugs to be given intravenously or intramuscular, when the strung out mates are constantly in your ear to bring their mate back! Did I say the highlights of a week? Sorry that’s just in the space of 2 hours last Friday night! When I started doing it I found it somewhat rewarding and pay wasn’t that bad, but now taking home a lot less than I used to and listening to the bullshit from the likes of you Paul, its a different picture! So to the majority of people who like to bash us..keep going till you need us! And before you ask, I was an electrician taking home over €1000 a week when I gave it up to do something more “rewarding”

• Well said. Keep up the great work.

• Respect is due in truck loads!!

• So where will this magic pot of money come from? Any suggestions?

• The magic pot was there for the banks, is that no longer magic

• @Regonald Timpson

Simply put, ‘no money, no frontline service’.

You will receive the same response no matter how many times you propose this shambolic argument.

• I didn’t advocate no frontline services. To spell it out: all government workers need to be on the same type of wages and retirement plans as the productive sectors.

• @Regonald Timpson.

Are you having a laugh?
      Let me ‘spell it out’ for you. You may not use the public sector as some kind of fiscal easing mechanism. The public sector frontline is the lifeblood of a functioning society. Without it you cannot expect the services you require to maintain some semblance of first world existence.
      The ‘public sector’ are people. They are not an ‘extravagance’ that the private sector, or Government can elect to ‘dumb down’ in order to avoid higher taxes.
      Very convenient to adopt the high moral ground when it suits you.
      The Public Sector have taken enough austerity. They won’t take any more.

• Define a “productive sector”?

• Thank you Eoin.

Was seething so much I neglected that question…

• Government workers are entitled to annual wage increases, and, (in Teachers cases) about three months of vacation each year. That’s in addition to paid sick days, emergency leave days, and paid personal days.

Not to mention every holiday is paid and off. You are supposedly paid over time if you work on the weekend (whatever happened to time and a half?)

You know, I don’t blame the unions for these sweetheart deals.
      I blame those that sign the contracts. Union members are there to get the best deal possible. Politicians seem to not be able to say no.

It reminds me of the screaming 5 year old in the candy aisle. Do I blame the child for asking for chocolate? or shall I blame the parent for purchasing?

• Teachers unions agreed to have payment for 9 months paid over 12 months for their members in the past. All teachers do not get paid holidays.

You didn’t answer my question about what your definition of “productive” is?

From your other comments I’d imagine it is something that garners a material profit for those involved?

Are you suggesting public sector workers partake in “unproductive” labour?

• “Government workers are entitled to annual wage increases, and, (in Teachers cases) about three months of vacation each year. That’s in addition to paid sick days, emergency leave days, and paid personal days.

Not to mention every holiday is paid and off. You are supposedly paid over time if you work on the weekend (whatever happened to time and a half?)

You know, I don’t blame the unions for these sweetheart deals.”

I know, right? It’s almost like they’re being treated like…employees or something, with their demands for basic work rights.

• Complete bullshit regonald.
      3 months holidays – actually 23days
      Paid personal days – never heard of it
      Off every holiday – worked every Xmas for past 7 years
      Paid sick days – if I even take 1 sick my line manager is on the phone to me.

You should get this idiotic notion of the public sector out of your head…

• James 18/02/13 #

Cut social welfare for the following:
      The long term unemployed who don’t want to work they give long term unemployed who want to work but cant get a job a bad name
      People serving prison sentences
      People who don’t pay their court fines
      Children’s allowance on houses earning over €100k
      Foreign nationals who came here just to claim social and have never worked
      Dock parents social welfare who’s children are trouble makers and constantly before the courts
      Privatise the health system and make med insurance compulsory take it out of their welfare if they don’t sign up themselves
      And this whole thing of the public sector v the private sector is stupid and exactly what the government wants all workers who pay taxes regardless of what sector should stand up and say my money is been wasted by government on the wasters of our society and we should stand together to say it.

• Apologies my comment did not refer to the medical professionals, they do a to class job with very limited resources.

• MrKnow 17/02/13 #

I was admitted to hospital at the start of the week, i was there for the 5 days and i have to say, they were brilliant! The nurses and doctors that took care of me were outstanding and its only when you spend time in a hospital you understand how important they are and how much they work. I have always said that they are the most underrated of all public servants.

• Yes BUT we are also spending money we don’t have. Do you realize that we have a budget deficit?

• Nobody is doubting there is a deficit, stop going after the same section of the workforce every single time is the point.

• @Regonald Timpson.

No money, no service.

• It’s not black and white.

Having my income taken from me as taxes, used in order to lobby the government for increases my taxes in order to pay for wages, allowances and retirement plans, is not fair. And to hear some government “workers” shriek in horror as they cruise into retirement on retirement plans is just as bad if not worse. To draw pay/benefits annually for some government workers.

The government could be brought back down in line with the private sector. Once we see no disparity in pay and benefits. Presently, you don’t see many quitting government jobs. You see people scrambling to get government jobs (in many cases).

• I had an emergency last night the ambulance were out to me in minutes reassured me. The hospital was like something from the third world with the nurses completely over run and trollies in every corridor the elderly with no family were left to fend for themselves as there was just not enough staff. Nurses taking all sorts of abuse and doctors taking blood from the wrong patient as he was so over stretched and Reilly wants them to do more for less its time to stand up and defend our health staff

• The third world conditions in our hospitals should have been addressed during the the “celtic tiger” ere. Where were the protests then? I support the protestors, because it’s time for us all to take a stand against the political hierarchy – but I don’t just want to see even more money disappear into wages. The whole mess has to be reformed, and it’s long past time the citizen’s interests were put first.

• @ BETTY

The public sector pay levels are financially in deficit. Where do you think the money will come from? The majority of the public support cuts to public sector spending. Otherwise, it’s higher taxes.

• @Regonald Timpson

Simply put, ‘no money, no frontline services’.

…your move…

• What the economy needs in order to grow is less regulation and lower taxes. Trying to justify big government because of the “frontline” makes no economic sense at all.

• Strange regonald that the majority of people on this thread are supporting frontline staff. In fact, you seem to be in a complete minority of public service bashers here.

• no, the majority on here are appear to be Union members and their extended family. All with the same common theme: ‘done cut me, don’t cut thee, that the one behind the tree’.

• It’s great to see the support for the emergency services. Thanks lads and lassies.

• It’s about time people,nobody wants this but enough is enough

• Try a week in the private sector Simon! these people need to wise up, they are guaranteed their wages every week, lucky them! and the majority of them incompetent mediocrities!

• Idiotic ignorant comment…….

• Bit unfair.
      Although there is a lot of wasters in the public sector,but the frontline staff go beyond their job description.they are out there everyday protecting the citizens off this island.
      Fair play to them for standing up for themselves.

• Good man “lucky to have a job, i would do it for half the money” that rant is used up now. If we are going to go that route how many banks were run by the public sector how many financial institutions were run by public sector before they came crashing around all of our ears. Mistakes in the past are crippling our now and our childrens tomorrow. The public sector pay scale is a yard stick used by private sector break that and hotel/factory workers will be on 2euro an hour very soon. People have to wise up and unite, the Private V’s Public sector is orchestrated by the wealthy private sector big wigs and government, keep them divided and at each other and we can do as we please. DIvide and conquer

• That is a particulary stupid statement. I like most of my collegues have worked in the private sector before we joined the job. I worked in the private sector for 15 years. You had the same chance to join the public sector as anyone else but you chose not to so stop crying about us wanting to defend ourselves.

• Guaranteed a wage that’s reducing year in year out!! Next time you need to be cut from a crashed car, pulled from a burning building, just remember the crap you are coming out with an be sure to mention it to the fireman cutting you free or saving your life! Mention it BEFORE he saves your life come to mention it!

• @Paul At Saveelectrical Its precisely this sort of abuse, and much worse, that the average frontline PS has to take every day. We are not guaranteed to be paid our correct wages every week.
      You clearly own and run a business, if you went to your staff and told them you were demanding an extra hour per day of unpaid work from each of them, they are no longer to be paid for overtime and due to the current situation one person now has to do the work of two or three, regardless of how safe it is. In addition they may be assaulted in the course of their job on a daily basis, face injury and contract various serious diseases from those they come in contact with in the course of their daily work. If they do become ill you will persecute them, regardless of how they acquired their illness, in fact you probably don’t care. Try that with your employees and see how long they last.

• Paul if the public sector are paid peanuts it has a knock on effect on the private sector as there’s no money to spend anywhere. So these drastic wage cuts will affect both the private and public sector

• Well said Martin

• fair play to them,people have enough of pay cuts and extra taxes and charges on there income

• Spoiled brats, I’d say. With a bit of luck they’ll bring down the government though.

• Aside from the unsustainable cost to the taxpayer, what “pay cuts” were imposed to government workers? 14%?(compared to 60% in Greece and 30% in Latvia).

Government works best when it is limited and small.

• @Regonald Timpson.

You are possibly the most uninformed, selfish, self interested contributer to this thread.
      Life stopped being fair on a cold night in 2008. Time you started dealing with it. Public Service recognised this some time ago.
      Maybe the future is just not that comfortable. Maybe you just have to get on with that fact.

And maybe, just a semblance of humility?

• Ger c 18/02/13 #

I am a critical care nurse. My wages are down 30% , not 14%.
      Are you seriously suggesting that it would be ok to expect me to take a 60% pay cut as mentioned like Greece?
      While you were with your kids ( if you have any) on Christmas morning. I Didn’t see My little ones for 3 days over Xmas eve, Xmas day & St Stephens day as they were in bed when I left at 06.40 and in bed when I hot home @ 9.45pm.
      Yes , this is the career I chose, but if you had any idea of the tragic , sad cases that I work with,and the responsibility of taking care of critically I’ll patients , I think you would agree that even mentioning a 60% pay cut is ridiculous .

• Again, even though members of the Deforces Forces are not allowed to attend these marches as an organisation, let this be known. Our Representatives @ PDFORRA have hid under the tables and agreed with whatever the hierarchy say.

Its about time these people who are out for their own personnel careers stand up for who they are there to represent. Just like the Guards, Nurses, Prison Officers and Fire Fighters – soldiers, sailors and aircrew have paid their fair share, its time to brake the silence!

• Fair play to them! I stand by their motives 100%

• about time! ..right beside you lads/ladies …

• Completely behind them, enough is enough. Go on the lads n lassies.

• These are our services and I demand that they by protectet. Everybody deserves a fair wage for the work they do!

• Well done Emergency services.

• Will be there in spirit because as a 24/7 worker l will be working.

• Well done to the men and women of the frontline services of Ireland. Your courage and commitment to the people of Ireland all too often goes unrewarded and unappreciated. Stick together and fight for what is right.

• 100% behind the Gardai and all emergency services ..and as for the ____ that said “try a week in the private sector “….just wondering do they put their lives in danger everyday ??…Try a week with the Gardai and get back and make the same comment !!

• sorry I wont make it tomorrow night, as im on nights.but if shatter has his way I ll be working for nothing next time im nights.. #frontlinealliance

• Notice all the red thumbs but no comments tut tut tut please show support and solidarity for our services you never know when we need them

• Great to see so much support for the work we do ( apart from the usual trolls).

• Coppers will be heaving tomorrow night!! Well done lads get out in force.

• Its amazing to see how much time Reginold actually spends on this forum! He obviously needs to find a hobby or a job that demands his attention. Ignore his comments guys, behind you all the way

• United we are strong

• @paulatsaveelectrical

judgin by your comment, you wouldnt last ten mins in a public sector job pal

• Go on the front line workers leading us all

• @regonald timmons …..so annoying, not supportive and anti everything that’s not in your own barrow.

100% support for 24/7 alliance. Good luck to them for their rally tomorrow.

• I don’t get the point where how many cuts been showered on public sector worker and do we really making any difference in National income so far.Exceedingly having further cuts to the front worker like Cops and Fire Fighter is fallen too low putting the common citizen at risk of getting mugged and assault from the criminals.

• Every person that work in the private or in the public sector need a fair payment. That’s it! Unfortunately all we know, that after the recession Post celtic tiger generation is working more for less. They are learning wrong. Salary cuts and low cost are not the solution.

• Frontline service Workers… All together ye will be Strong… I Support Ye 100 per cent… Show this Parasite / Puppet Government that Enough Is Enough… The People
    Of Ireland Need To Get Off Their Lazy Arse And Show Support For All Front Line Service Workers Before We Lose Them Altogether… People shake off the Yellow Streak From Yer Backs and Fight For What Ye Need And are Entitled To. It Will Be Too Late When there Are Not Enough Guards / Nurses / Doctors / Fire Personal / Ambulance Crew / Medics / Air Sea – land Rescue Teams. When a Loved Family Member Is Dying and In Need Of One Or More Of These Professionals and There Is Not One Or More To Attend Your Emergency Because They Are No Longer There It Will Be Too Late To Ask Why Was There No Assistance Available To Help My Baby / Brother / Sister / Mother / Father. There Will Be No Point Asking These Questions When You Are On the Way To The Grave Yard To Bury Your Loved One. Show these Front Line Professionals You Respect Them and Need Them. Tell This Vampires In Government That You Will Not Stand For Any More Cuts To Their Services Tell Them To Stop Sucking The Life’s Blood Out Of This Country. Tell Them Enough Is Enough We Will Take No More Suffering So They Can Keep Paying Their Corrupt Friendly Bankers / Unsecured Bond Holders Who Gambled And Lost On Their Investments.

• smudge 17/02/13 #

About time

• how much do you think is the difference in pay scale between a public and private nurse with the same years experience?

• Having recently had experience of both the public and private health sectors….I hope that the nurse in the public sector was earning more for working longer hours in smaller teams and getting a lot more abuse from the usual citizens who expect all on a plate !

• I have a close relative who has always went to our local hospital, this hospital has been given a somewhat unwarranted bashing (I feel) in the media over the years. When she was diagnosed with cancer recently she opted to be treated in a lah-di-dah private hospital, never again she said.
      Having seen what its like in this other hospital, and she has been a patient in several others once or twice, she told me she now knows the care she gets from Public Servants is second to none and feels they get a very raw deal from the media and the government. I won’t go into details, but she maintains she received better care on a public ward in our local hospital than in a private ward in a lah-di-dah hospital.

• Solidarity and support from the North Kildare Ambulance Cuts Campaign! We fully oppose the cuts to the working conditions of our ambulance drivers!

http://www.facebook.com/StoptheNorthKildareAmbulanceCut

• for what died the sons of Roisin….

• Its really great to see the Gardai taking a stand against that “well spoken Fool shatter”

• Everyone who pays taxes has taken huge hits.It is not confined to any single sector.

• Thee amount of ‘RED THUMBS!!’ ..sign of lack of education……..

• People in frontline services made a serious wage during the good years,largely thanks to O/T,they must realise now that things have been cut right back as we don’t have the money,but they will see good times again in their jobs for life.

Add New Comment