TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 13 °C Wednesday 22 May, 2013

Gardaí launch investigation as video of Cork schoolgirls fighting goes viral

The footage shows two first year girls fighting in a field in Co Cork as a large group of spectators cheer them on.

Still from footage

A GARDA INVESTIGATION has been launched after a phone video of two secondary students fighting in a Cork field went viral last night.

The video of the altercation, which involved two first year students, was shared on Twitter and viewed thousands of times. It shows the two teenagers kicking and punching punching each other in a Douglas field as a large group of onlookers cheer them on.

The topic is still being discussed on Twitter this morning.

While the girls, who are clearly identifiable on the video, grapple with each other on the ground, spectators can be heard shouting “hit her, hit her”.

The footage shows the fight lasting about two minutes before the girls are pulled apart.

Gardaí have confirmed to TheJournal.ie that they “aware of the footage and are investigating the alleged incident”.

Christ the King Secondary school issued a statement to express disappointment that some of its pupils were allegedly involved in the incident -describing the scenes in the video as “appalling”. The school said it would try to identify anyone involved in the incident and apply appropriate disciplinary procedures, according to the Irish Examiner.

Read next:

Comments (114 Comments)

• That video looks bad but I remember the same thing growing up, thankfully everybody didn’t have a cam back then.

• Classy chicks alright.

• has anyone considered that one of these girls may be the victim of bullying and may have not had any choice in being involved….and now that same girl may now have to also face this humiliation, (probably filmed unknown to quite a few people), just think about it??…..it could be your daughter who you love so much and who you know would never behave in such a manner unless they were being bullied and may be under severe emotional pressure by their peers to “defend” themselves…..such bullying has led to many of a beautiful daughter (or son) taking their own lives……. so before anyone re-posts this video for entertainment they might just want to consider the wider possible implications..

• I’ve noticed In recent years that theres an increase in violence from the fairer sex, this is particularly noticeable on a night out where the level of aggression from some women is staggering.

• How lady like. They should be so proud that they behave like total barbarians.

• Ahhhhh here, leave it ouh!!!

• That’s awful.

• Perhaps its was done as part of yesterdays international girl day. It’s an equality thing.

• Sorry now lads but its the passive attitude to crap like this that sees it happen so frequently in the first place. You can see that neither girl wants to fight from the start of the video and that they’re pushed into it, quite literally in one case. We complain about bare knuckle boxing and “young fellas” battering each other on a Saturday night yet no one thinks two girls tearing the heads off each other surrounded by a bunch of Neolithic apes should be investigated? Why? Cause it’s girls? Cause they’re from a good area in cork? This is like something you’d see on the national geographic channel and goes to prove we’re nothing but animals at the end of the day, but I’m still shocked ppl are so passive about it. Parenting clearly leaves a lot to be desired in this country, as is evident from both this video and the reaction to it.

• That’s awful.

• Ok…clearly this is unpleasant….but a garda investigation? Is that really necessary? No weapons…..it lasted two minutes….looks like lots of hair pulling….no mention of any injury. Why not let the school and parents deal with it. Should gardai investigate every schoolyard scrap? I dont think so!

• Next they’ll have the Guards doing sting operations on the smokers behind the bike sheds.

• Agree totally cops were never involved in any fights that happened when I was in school, if you got caught u got a smack upside the head from the principle and when u got home another smack up side the head from ur parents. It’s a school yard fight surely the cops can make better use of there time

• once a complaint is made gardai investigate… more and more people complaining all the time … fights in and out of school and on and off the pitch at sporting events… a lot of a garda time is spent taking a lot of statements for varying assaults

• Used to be a weekly occurance in the church at our school. Nothing new so stop wasting time.

• My daughters school had an issue with this last week, a teacher overheard first years talking about this big fight that was going to take place, and the guards were called. All first years were taken into a room and given a talking too. Things like this are always going to happen the problem is if one is being pressurised or bullied into it, some kids fight for fun but bullying is not on. Sometimes though a bullied child sticks up for themselves and fights back, because they have to not because they want too. The reasons for the fight should be explored and if bullying is involved.

My own 13 year old daughter does kickboxing with me once a week and there is plenty of contact, it is controlled and not out of anger, its fun.

• School yard fight between two dads in D6W yesterday over alleged racist comments. Gardai called and make arrests. Who says kids nowadays don’t get a proper education?

• Dont know what school you went to Roy Race et al…I NEVER saw that at school, its disgusting behaving like animals, if they’re like that in first year god help us.

• Roy Race 12/10/12 #

thank your lucky stars you never went to my school i suppose – but it did happen frequently.

People are suggesting all sorts of things here that we don’t know for sure – bullying etc – there’s a bit of 2+2=5 going on in this thread. If we think a bit of hair pulling warrants garda attention then fire away but i’d sooner have them out investigating serious cases.

• Roy..

a lot of garda time is spent on such incidents..

• Thats Cork Women for Ya!

• sparky 12/10/12 #

That was extremely tame as female fights go I’ve seen a lot worse. This has always happened and happens in schools up and down the country weekly and finally the gardaí you’d think they’d have important things to worry about.

• Garda investigation? What a joke – they would have been permanently on duty in my primary school if that was the case back then. Its 2 girls pulling hair for god’s sake.

• whats up with the link to video??

• It is terrible to see this, and yes there is no doubt it’s a result of some sort of bullying, with all the taunting it’s just not right. If you’ve got children you would never want them to be bullied in any way let alone be recorded in such a Vile manner and posted on the net……………well done to the journal for posting a link to the video, classy journalism

• A bit of hair pulling and a few smacks.
    Great case for the Gardai. That should keep them busy for a while.

• Today’s outrage of the day. Just listened to NT where someone had to spend ages looking for this video, with the help of her daughter, so she could be suitably horrified by it and Screechy Carol Hunt did her best Ned Flanders impression.
    Awful behaviour by all the kids involved but it could have been dealt with privately by the families and school had it not been for the national media telling the whole world about it. These kids will now have to put up with the notoriety for a long time not because they made a stupid mistake but because the media needs reasons to be OUTRAGED.
    Meanwhile Sam Smyth disappears into thin air and virtually no mention of it.

• School children have fights after school – and unseemly as it is to see two first year school girls, or school boys, fighting on the Internet this goes on all the time, even in the best of our schools.

Can all of those judging really say when you were in secondary school you never witnessed a fight between students?

And what exactly are the guards supposed to do? It made me laugh to read ‘Gardaí… (are) aware of the footage and are investigating the alleged incident’ – have we come to a point where two twelve year old children could face prosecution for some rough-housing in a field? I think not.

To be clear here, I am not condoning their actions, merely condemning the over-reaction.

• I only ever remember 1 fight between girls in school and it was far rougher than any of the fights between lads. The most amusing part was a 30cm diameter hairball that was blowing around the schoolyard after it. It was like the wild west.

• Well… It looked like Aoife had it, but I think Nicole clinched it in the end!

• that’s a disgrace,
    they both need to improve their ground and pound skills

• Apparently there is even worse footage to be released……it shows one kid in 3rd class giving another kid a chinese burn….horrific stuff.

• While I think most people agree this is unacceptable behaviour but all part of todays society the real disgrace is that the whole thing was orchestrated for the camera. As someone commented earlier these girls had to be pushed together to fight and then goaded on, ala dogfighting, or badger baiting. While the Gardai are stretched to the limit with organised crime, this type of carry on is really deplorable . Kids fight they always have , but videoing it for pleasure and then publishing it is probably where the Garda investigation will concentrate not with the fight but the promotion of it. Mind you, when sections of the political set up break the law with little consequence it doesn’t breed confidence for the future in general

• Ok every one is like what a disgrace or whatever, raise your hand whoever has never been involved in a fight. I would never start a fight but would always defend myself. We don’t know what led to this so let’s get all our facts before condemning these two girls. We would know nothing of this only for it was recorded

• Brian o’Grady, I have never ever been in a physical fight with ANYBODY and furthermore I don’t know anyone who has been! Fighting like that is never the way to settle a dispute, that’s why the worlds in the state it’s in!

• How sad. Excellent point earlier about bullying and being forced to fight. Bottom line is, everyone in this video is a victim including the spectators. Victims of a crap education and crap parenting. Sickens my stomach to the core.

• Barry 12/10/12 #

You’ll find its education by the parents is the issue, if the parents instill self respect from a young age their kids are very unlikely to get involved in such nonsense.

I wouldn’t blame the school for this, likely it took place away from school grounds for a start….I blame the parents of everyone involved.

• What a load of nonsense. The only possible victims of anything in the video are the girls fighting.

• well said Sean……people obviously watched with blinkers,…they only saw the violence and not the victim!!!!

• Alien8 12/10/12 #

Absolute rubbish. Children spend the majority of the day in school, with the remainder for parents to instil morals in them (and remove any classroom/street misinformation). It is 100% down to the school and the education system to help children resolve disputes in school without violence, for boys and girls. The school principal may be shocked and appalled, but they should have their ear to the ground for disputes in classrooms. Whether it is in their contracts or not, they are in charge of minors, and they have to know how to deal with them.

The other point is that this is an obvious case of bullying, and while guards should not be involved in petty school fights, this example looks like one perpetrator (the girl in the cream hoodie at the start) influenced one girl to attack the other, and she is the one that should be made an example of by the school.

The two girls who were fighting, it is hard to say if there is any blame, as the pressure to organise a fight and then to turn up is so high if the school doesn’t give guidance – I’m not saying a rule that if you are at a fight you will be suspended, but rather through a bit of guidance.

• Barry 12/10/12 #

Alien8, maybe you depended on schools and teachers to teach you everything but I certainly didn’t.

Parents thought me self respect, the difference between right and wrong, you can’t depend on the school for this as really its not their job. Parents have a responsibility when they have children, its important they teach them stuff as well.

• @Barry. That is a shocking thing to say. How are the parents the ones to blame? When I was in school, one of my best friends was bullied from the day we started school until the day we left. She was beaten up a few times and would always try to defend herself. If some moron had filmed it, a 2 minute fight out of 5 years of abuse, people would have wrongly assumed that she was just as bad but she was a good girl, from a good home, with good parents. Bullies don’t target other bullies.

• Barry 12/10/12 #

Andrea Rock Massey, the parents are blamed for the bully and to a much lesser extend the victim,

Nobody forced the victim to go into an arranged fight, I was bullied in school from end of primary up and many people over the years tried to get me into an arranged fight. i had more cop on then to do so and that cop on was thought by my parents from a young age.

Being bullied is bloody awful that I understand first hand that i can assure you but even if you are the victim you can avoid certain situations like arranged fights.

• @ Barry that is the biggest load of nonsense i have heard so far on this issue……..all of your point are based on assumptions….how do you know nobody forced one of these girls to take part??, …………blaming the parents is an easy cop out, there is definitely a victim in this whole scenario and the core issue is definitely bullying….are you are a parent???….if one of your children was put under peer pressure and heavily bullied to partake in such behaviour what would you do??…..go to a corner and give yourself 20 lashes??…because you as a parent would be seen in the eyes of others as a bad parent?….well,I would’nt…and I don’t think you would either!!!!

• Barry 12/10/12 #

John Kavanagh, your saying blaming the parents is a easy cop out, thats funny because by your own logic so is blaming the school. So who’s left to blame…the kids…society as a whole?

Your saying nobody forced the girl to be involved in an arranged fight, really?

So you think that people physically brought her to some field restraining any attempt for her to get away and made her stand there against her own will, they then made her stand there and await the fight? Utter Nonsense.

She could have walked away the same as any of us if we were in the school, sure she would have had to put up with name calling etc but nobody forced her into a arranged fight she had to agree to it.

Just because a person is bullied doesn’t mean they have to take part in arranged fights,

• Barry…I am not blaming thee school….it took part away from the school and the uniform is the only link…..they may have not brought her physically to the field but they may have mentally pressurised her through bullying..she may not have had the strength or courage to walk away, why are you blinkered to this point…..there are graveyards right throughout the country with chhidren who tried to have the courage to walk away but could not cope!!. do you blame their parents too??!!!

• Parents and Schools either have a policy/ethos on violence or they don’t. Both have a duty of care. If no policy exists, children are being failed. If a policy does exist in this particular situation, it’s not working and again children are being failed.

• Roy Race 12/10/12 #

This is beyond a joke – 2 girls pulling hair in a bit of a dust-up and people are hopping on their high horses going on about bullying (which, unless someone has inside info was not mentioned in the piece) – I have seen tens of scraps like this as a kid (and been in a couple which had nothing to do with bullying) – over reaction on a massive scale.

Suggestions of a Garda investigation is completely laughable……if they want to investigate every case of hair pulling then we will be needing more Gardai…….and my sisters better hope there is a statute of limitations or they will be doing serious time.

• Garda involved in a school fight. They are going to be busy if they start investigating these. Suppose have to be seen to do something never mind the real criminals

• In my day there was no recording on mobile phones, you could have your fight in decent privacy and it didn’t become a worldwide hit if only for a couple of minutes. Have to say I don’t miss those days at all …… been there, done that, not going back.

• a) The hair-pulling is bang out of order

b) shocking camera work

• The girl in the white/grey top at the beginning pushes the other girl into the fight, she is the instigator of the fight, should be the one taking the rap. Anyone who filmed the incident should have their mobiles removed.

• Girls are the dirtiest fighters. Much worse than lads. After lads fighting the situation is usually resolved. These two will be at it for months after it.

• A couple of schoolkids fighting? So what? Has always happened and always will. I can remember being involved in various punch-ups myself but luckily there were no camera phones back then. This fight has been blown out of all proportion. Move on, people, nothing to see here.

• God it bring back memories of when the girls used to fight over me…. Now they do their best to avoid me.
    Seriously though girls – this sort of thing is totally UNCOOL!!!!!!

• That was fairly tame as school fights go (as far as I recall, tis a long time since I was in school) so unless one of the girls or their parents made a complaint, I don;t see why the Gardaí would investigate? Possibly because they need to be seen to do something now that it is all over the internet?
    Sure myself and my siblings probably did a lot worse to each other as kids in the front room.

• Oh you and your siblings battered each other, ok then, call the guards off and let all teenagers at each other. Hell, that fight was so tame lets give out weapons, after all it is just part of growing up….. Mother of god are you for real and I hope you’re not a parent!

• Seriously, kids fight all the time. If the Gardaí were to investigate every school yard scrap, they’d have no time for anything else. It is a matter to be dealt with by the school and the children’s parents, not the Gardaí, in my opinion.

• You don’t see the irony in what you’re saying. You say it’s a tame fight and that nothing should be thought of it, yet that parents with attitudes like yours are going to stop it by being the sole intervenors? These are young girls pulling the heads off each other. If you’re wondering why our streets are awash with violence on weekend nights, that video is your answer. Cause you, ppl on here and parents excuse violence from a young age and even label it tame. Wake up ffs. Violence breeds violence! Personally I would drag the lot of them before the courts and scare the living s**te outta them!

• Diarmaid you really need to get a clue and move into the real world, sometimes fighting is the only way to resolve an issue, i was bullied for three years in school because I was seen as an easy target, I would never fight back or defend myself cause I knew I would completely lose it if I did. Eventually it got so bad one day that I was goin to commit suicide when I got home one day. As I was leaving the school grounds two of them started laying into me, I snapped, I fought back and eventually had to be pulled of them. The moral of my story is that sometimes good people have to do bad things.

• Brian there is a massive flaw in your argument, by letting off the victim, you too let off the perpetrator. Nothing a victim does is ever going to scare a bully off and if you took the time to actually read my comment I said one or both of these girls are victims and my issue is more with the onlookers. Fact remains, higher intervention is required to sort out this rubbish and if your honest belief is that violence should be the first port of call to stop violence I also feel sorry for you.

• All video recorders on phones should legally be as crap as the video recorder on my phone, that would sort it out these tasteless movies

• Front of the herald what a joke it shouldnt have even made the papers its a childish fight im sure theres a lot worse happening around ireland come on!

• Good job there was no internet when I was at school!

• Yoyo 12/10/12 #

Redheads for ye.

• Paul 12/10/12 #

Absolute trash. Disgusting animals.

• Kids fight. It’s what they do, because they are exactly that, kids. It’s 15 years since I was in school and it happened regularly then. The only difference was, we had no phones. IF a weapon had been used then the gardaí need to be involved, but it was 2 girls pulling hair so it’s a job for teachers and parents. Guards are stretched enough without wasting their time with this. I’m not condoning it by the way.

• I presume the guards are involved as a deterrent. It’s all over the news. What if one of the kids brought a knife or other type of weapon? I know a man that got into a fight, he hit another man, that second man fell as a result, hit his head off the ground and died.1st fella got a prison sentence.

Ah but sure it was only a scrap. Awful consequences come from fighting.

• this is one of the reasons why my husband and i home school.

• Chris I’d say its been taken down….

• stay classy langhers

• Whoever filmes this is likely in cahoots with / or is the bully inthis matter
    The filmer is obviously a bully either way

• Mjhint 12/10/12 #

Thank goodness for the internet. While this is disturbing, we at least can address this from a witness point of view. Its no harm this stuff is on video for all to see so that we can deal with it properly. This went on when I went to school but nothing was done about it.

Add New Comment