TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Wednesday 22 May, 2013

Gardaí expected to withdraw from Croke Park talks

The Association of Garda Sergeants and Inspectors said the cuts to allowances that were put on the table today are unacceptable.

Image: Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland

THE ASSOCIATION OF Garda Sergeants and Inspectors (AGSI) is expected to withdraw from talks with government officials tomorrow as they have failed to reach an agreement on cuts to pay and allowances.

Speaking to TheJournal.ie, AGSI General Secretary John Redmond said that today he told officials that he did not expect to return to the talks after a meeting tomorrow morning.

“Given what’s on the table, our members don’t seem to have much choice,” he said. “They’re angrier than I’ve ever seen sergeants and inspectors and they’ve told me that they expect me as General Secretary of the AGSI to forcibly bring this message to the government and leave the government under no illusion that there most definitely will be action taken should they continue with the cuts.”

In today’s meeting, specifics were given to the association on planned cuts including allowances for working nights, weekends and bank holidays.

“Theses allowances make up a very significant proportion of our members’ pay,” he said. Though the association does not enjoy the protection provided to trade unions, Redmond said it will not prevent them from taking action.

It is expected that the association will announce it has withdrawn from the talks tomorrow afternoon and that it will discuss future action with other emergency service groups like the Garda Representative Assocation and the Irish Nurses and Midwives Association.

Related: Payment of Garda allowances and overtime delayed until new year>

Read next:

Comments (253 Comments)

• All falling apart id say chances of public sector strikes are pretty high

• With crime on the rise why are we spending less on fighting crime and putting the brave frontline garda under so much pressure..no hope of any gards been removed from outside the top government officials

• A country cannot spend money it doesn’t have.

• Tell that to the bankers mark.

• David,

Who voted FF / FG into power?

• The rapes/robberies/muggings still seem to be happening. How long do you think it takes for a gardai response to a 999 call? Meanwhile, the sergeant and other, essentially line managers, in the guards are thinking of striking to protest at some frankly ridiculous allowances (I.e. allowances for not getting an allowance – the journal covered this before). Like front line and graduate nurses, the beat cops will be asked to protest to keep the perks of the higher ranks. And if allowances have been made a significant part of the pay, then there is a big problem with how pay has been structured, and now is the time to put a real value (not emotional, like I’m sure your point was meant) on police work.

• Alien

Do you know what allowances are and what their for. I don’t so I won’t say if they are ridiculous.

These PEOPLE worked for their positions. They earn their pay. They don’t get something for nothing.

I am not in favour of those who put others down because they are not happy with their own lot. They would be better served working on improving themselves.

• It’s not about the cuts its about my safety been put at risk while others remain over pertected..I’m not that much of a target no new car etc but for anyone who is well to do its only a matter of time before your robbed beaten if your Lucky…less garda less chance for you

• In Germany, Police officers earn about 20% less than Ireland.

• Maybe it’s time to let the Public Sector strike and break it. Enough of the tail wagging the dog. They’re meant to be working for the tax payer not the other way around.

• @danny,I’m sure there are other countries who’s police get paid more…its Ireland not Germany…
      Obama gets less than enda Kenny

• The cuts are to ALLOWANCES.

• @mark its still in with the pay packet and used to pay bills etc..

• Danny Can’t comment on the accuracy of the 20% stat but I would reckon that the cost of living is far lower in Germany and don’t forget the 7-8% of a pension levy which is off gross and not removed for comparison.

• Well as far as I have read there is a €90 p/w rent allowance to those posted away from home. As most house share that is 270p/w for 3 bed house in rural areas where rent is closer to 140 p/w. so utilities and grocers well covered by allowance. Nice if ye can get it.

• @danny, they also have better working conditions, equipment etc… The 20% is way off target, it’s in the region if 10 per cent and police in Germany pay a different tax rate to the rest of Germany. Factor in the city allowance they get and it’s bang on target

• Cost of living is probably 20% cheaper too.

• SPP 24/01/13 #

Most people house share?????

• @Mark Dalt. “The country has no money”.

That’s a wonderfully pithy statement Mark. A statement made time and time again here, there and everywhere.

Well. If the country has no money, then I’m afraid the country has no police force.

Very similar to the private sector ‘service industry’ Mark. If its customers can’t pay, business becomes unviable. It goes out of business. It’s workers move to social welfare.

No difference here Mark.

Please think before you board the populist band wagon.

• Vincent

Be careful what you wish for. I for one am old enough to remember bin strikes in Dublin. Firefighting strike in Wexford. Bus strike.

None of this was much fun and was on an individual basis. Imagine an all service national strike. I’d rather not.

• And you know this for sure do you!

• Did someone just say Obama gets paid less than Kenny???
      Seriously; who still believes that rubbish?

• Ya but there’s about 80% more police per ratio to here

• M Bowe 24/01/13 #

Yeah most of the young gardi posted to rural areas away from home do house share.

• Cost of living is 20% higher in Ireland – check Eurostat and purchasing parity index – plus – employers in Germany and all over Europe pay a much higher rate of PRSI equivalent which provides a host of savings such as subsidised child care amongst other things which qualifies as a “social wage” – if Irish employers paid the same rate it would raise 9 billion for the tax payer wiping out the structural deficit – but yeah waffle on about some superficial stat that distorts reality

• Obama earns $400,000, which is around €300,000. Enda Kenny earns €200,000. Do the maths!

• Precisely Nigel!

• “All service national strike”
      I don’t get that. (Not saying that u want it but in general, why?)
      in the article he said they are looking to talk to the nurses unions for joint action.
      That is holding us to ransom. throw in the teachers and the street cleaners for extra fun, anyone who gets paid by tax payers money. Aren’t they all lucky to have a JOB. Alot of people don’t. Everyone has to budget in hard times so across the government sector 5% cut. Judges,TD’s, teachers, everyone. Fair yes/no?

No hate meant btw

• @david- strikes are dependant on public goodwill. That would be in short supply for any Government employees striking at a time of national emergency. Too many people remember Nurses striking during the Celtic Tiger looking to share in the good times. Guess what? That goes two ways.

• Ok.

Here’s something for the public at large to think about.

Is it right that a registered charity that is working out of a street shop has to pay same rates as a business? Water rates, council rates, business electricity rates etc…

When, a local TD or councillor who has his constituency office on the same street is exempt from these charges and rates?

Yet that TD gets an ALLOWANCE to pay these non-existent expenses? And they all claim it? Is that fair?

The government should get their own house in order before attacking those that really serve the public, often with the loss of their lives…,

• “Aren’t they all lucky to have a JOB”

No. Its not luck. Its hard work and traning and a dedication to public service.

By the way ‘just be thankful you have a job’ is usually the phrase trotted out just before working people have their pay and conditions attacked by unscrupulous employers and governments.

• An allowance I receive is on the chopping board too, ( MSA )if and when they cut it from my weekly salary I will be on roughly about €350 weekly,it’s called an allowance but miss worded in my opinion,it should be included in my salary but military service allowance is graduated depending on the amount of service a person does. My wages are shite,it’s no state secret and are freely viewed on gov websites,whilst on the other hand allowances which are in there entity allowances ( rent,clothing,nightwear cleaning ) they all need to go, Not bad for a full time employee of the government.

• ” A country cannot spend money it does not have ” Mark Dalt….. where do you think the 3 billion is coming from in March to pay a ” dead ” bank. plus the billions that have already been paid in the last two years. The lowest paid in government gets 90.000 plus. Bankters are creaming 250/600eu. The rich have got richer since Kenny lied his way into office, while the ordinary people have got poorer. Ireland is the rich man’s haven.

• 110% right Vincent. But just look at all the la la land people who gave red thumbed you. Let them strike. See how long their strike funds last. Lots of gardai have several properties and moon light as bouncers (although they are prohibited from doing do). Time we cleaned away the real filth from our streets.

• @ Mask. You utter fool. You proved the point the previous commentator made.

• Property in Germany is about twice Irish prices so its actually more expensive to live here. Oh and while I’m at it, my take home pay is less in Germany than it would be in Ireland. So if you think you have it tough, look abroad for comparisons.

• They would be back in a week with their work shy tails between their legs. They gave it so rosy now they can’t afford to strike.

• @ Kevin. I live in Germany. And u can confirm you are talking out your arse.

• rusty9 24/01/13 #

Says a lot about a group who are supposed to be upholding justice. More concerned about their ridicilious allowances etc.

• Vincent that is a highly ignorant comment relating to who they work for. They work to protect the state. They too are tax payers just as much as the next working person. There’s Gardai , fire fighters, paramedics, etc who don’t have money left by the end of a week when paid. These people go the extra mile on a regular basis for those they don’t know and get little thanks for it. That’s more than some do…. So when the little things that make day to day life manageable are being removed from them, surely you can appreciate why they would feel this way.

• “Dedication, hard work, training”. Sorry that sounds like any job I’ve had but when the boss man says I’m getting a pay cut, I’m getting it And like it because the other option of being SACKED is worse. Put that on the discussion table and see if they will strike!. Sorry for u if u think everyone outside of a public sector job isn’t doing the three above
      They need to take the pay cut and that’s that. But in fairness it needs to be across all public sectors
      If that has pissed u off again for some reason, sorry. Gotta be said

• I’m in private sector and see the work being done there too; it’s dog eat dog. But these are essential services that have a whole different requirement of its workers including the risk of life. Let’s face it they aren’t going out to tell people they have won the lotto. These things clearly don’t have a price but their pay and allowances are one of the only tangible rewards they get for their efforts.

• Read the article. The allowances they speak of make up a significant part of their pay. The ridiculous allowances everyone seems to harp on about are generally minuscule.

• So? Canadian officers earn 20% more. What’s your point.

• @simon,you sorry excuse for a human..mind your own business and stick to your local German site..you deserted Ireland so you have no right to comment..FYI I wouldn’t be insulting people just because your in Germany just saying like

• What is the point of working unsociable hours and nights which can severely damage your health, lifestyle and social life. What ya on about. This article did not mention any of the other allowances you speak of and there was no mention of striking or action in relation to the one you mention,
      Your an absolute idiot

• Where are your statistics to back up this house sharing ?

• M Bowe. Stats. Evidence ? Of this house sharing. Or just mumble garbage

• *Kio. ‘Lucky to have a job’. That’s rubbish. A lot of people joined the public sector during the Celtic tiger for the security of a steady and modest wage and security. A lot of other people got greedy and went other paths. Just because it may not have worked out in the end and they lost a lot of not everything. That’s doesn’t mean public sector workers are lucky. Why didn’t other people join???? Because they thought there was more money out there ,
      Meh

• Lots of gardai moonlight as bouncers. Haha. Horse shit

• At Simon – sorry mate stats re Germany are objective fact and not open to debate – Eurostat compares cost of living scientifically and includes all costs including housing – They report that Ireland is 20% more expensive – just cos u live somewhere does not mean you have the faintest insight into reality – that requires intelligence, honesty and research

• Why uphold justice when they’re being paid next to nothing to do so? Luckily that’s just my opinion and not theirs because I certainly wouldn’t be doing it. And not only do they uphold justice, who is called to the scene on every tragic accident and every death? They deal with more than most could imagine. And they’re protecting you from scrotes right now even though you’re so ungrateful to them.

• @ Kevin. ‘Mate’? What are you, Phil Mitchell? You are the sort of fool who believed the other ‘intelligent’ statisticians who said we were in for a soft landing. Intelligence son is taking knowledge and information and applying it to real world situations not following it blindly like a moron.

• M Bowe, how many politicians are house sharing? None. Why? Because they don’t need to. And I’ll bet you’re not house sharing, nor are most of your colleagues.

• Relying on gardai and not society to reduce crime is destined to fail.

• And they have the respect of the public because they behave professionally. None if your “loose the hahitude” crap.

• Watch this space….Gardai, nurses, Teachers’ unions very worried about balloting their membership about further cuts, the insulting remarks about nurses, the threats of further pay cuts. This government wants Croke Park 2 to fail in order to unilaterally impose bigger cuts than any agreement would allow. They’re not serious about negotiating, they want to dictate.

• I would say the Garda are in terrible trouble with property as the banks pushed money in their direction as a result simply of their jobs being secure. Now they like a lot of people will need a bail out.

• It is easy for people to Garda bash. Walk a mile in their shoes before you make a judgement about what their job entails and how the situations they deal with affect them.

• The allowances that Gardai, like most public servants are taxed too. They pay their tax and they pay their social charge. They also pay a pension levy too. They have also taken a pay cut. Not every guard gets all these allowances which have been mentioned.

If you work a night, a Saturday or Sunday/ bank holiday you get paid for working these days and rightly so. You are working when most are off. Now some will say well I’m in a private sector job and I work shift and don’t get these. Well that is up to you or your rep body to get them. If I call a Plummer on a Saturday night out to fix something they will change you too.

• Yeah yeah yeah – they pay tax blah blah blah. Here we go again. Simple question: where does the money to pay their wages come from?

• Taxes which they pay too. Gardai like most public servants have paid their fair share and if your response is blah blah blah than please don’t comment on what I write again. If you are going to have an intelligent discussion than please don’t be childish.

• censored 28/01/13 #

The point is that it’s not an intelligent discussion.

As we’ve seen so many times, people who work for the government really don’t seem to have a clue about where their wages come from …. I pay taxes (on your pay which derives 100% from taxes generated on the wealth producing sectors of the economy – duh!)

• Government know all too well thy Gardai have no union and are free to be cut time and time again. A former minister for finance was overheard a few years ago afte cutting Garda pay and allowances bragging, “shur’ the Gardai were so easy to take money off, why wouldn’t I go there again?!” It really has to stop. The anti Garda lobby will bash and bash but Gardai have been cut to the bone and are only being cut again because of their lack of protection. They are not millionaires as has been claimed.

• They’re better paid than Police in the UK and indeed the PSNI in Ulster.

• And worked far less

• PSNI get full pay from day one in training. Gardai work for a year on less than the dole. LESS

• Yes but the rest of us are on close to that as a permanent wage Max

• Different jurisdiction has different minimum wage and living expenses. Can’t compare with the PSNI. And anyhow their starting wag for new recruits is over £28k. Future new Garda recruits will be starting at just over €21k. Do a bit more research before commenting

• As I’ve said before private sector workers are completely outnumbered on the journal. Look through the thumbs, pro public service comments have green thumbs. Every negative comment towards the public sector get red thumbs. No point! Cue the public service red thumbs.

• @ Aoife
      I think you’ll find the red thumbs are a mix of public sector along with people with at least half a degree of common sense! People who are related to, married to or friends with Gardai, Nurses & Firefighters! Just because you don’t agree with other’s opinions doesn’t make them invalid! I’ll expect the first red thumb from you so Aoife!

• Some years ago , Pre economic crash the “irish independent” ran an article about how gardai, Firefighters and Nurses could not afford to buy a house , All of a sudden the same paper claims the above are being paid small fortunes. forhttp://www.independent.ie/national-news/nurses-and-firefighters-cant-afford-own-homes-79304.htmltunes .

The media are on a witch hunt to vilify all public workers and its the new cool thing to do with lots of people it seems !

• johnny 24/01/13 #

Vincent, NO THEYRE NOT

• @Aoife, and @Nuffsaid – that’s because the private sector worker (the taxpayers) are becoming out-numbered in Ireland.

Somebody recently said here that if you rob Peter to pay Paul, at least you can count on support for Paul. The PS workers will never get it because it’s not in their (short term) interest to “get it”.

The whole country will soon be on the dole, or dependent on EU handouts – as the PS already is. I’m starting to think the place is finished.

• Aren’t public sector workers so lucky to have a job…ye gotta love that chestnut…aren’t those on the dole all their adult life just as lucky with their secure “income”?? Knock a few more euros off lower public service wages and you will be workin for dole money….Public or private we gotta stop fighting each other… most people try to work to earn a decent living but there are those who never worked in boom times those who commit crime and get the taxpayer to cover their court fees and those who are happy to live off the sweat of others in free houses with massive families spending the child benefit in the pub and bookies…If we want changes then start with these degenerates….oh wait…sorry…these are society’s vulnerable underprivileged….my apologies…

• If negative equity was written off in line with payouts there would be acceptance. It’s when people are in danger of losing family home they ll make a stand. Think we re close to that now.

• I am amazed by the ignorance shown to our public servants. All this talk of allowances . . . It’s quite obvious that the comments being made by a select few on this page are people who are ill informed regarding the public sector. To break things down and simplify things – allowances are not bonuses on top of salary. They FORM the salary and the reason they were introduced originally was because public sector workers were paid so dismal . . . Next during the so called ” tiger years ” you could not fill a position in the public service , people were far happier working in the private sector , for the most part in clean surroundings , nice hours ( for the most part not all, working a normal Mon – Fri week ) and getting great holidays . They were paid far superior , collected bonuses and commission. Yet the public servants went in on all days and nights of the year , working unsocial hours in dangerous hostile environments in some cases and got a very basic pay. Yet when things go belly up all these private sector workers that complain about the public service get a dose of the green eyed monster, if things are so good for the public sector why did you not sign up when there were jobs galore during the ” tiger years ” ???

• Padraig o diolun ur an idiot I know loads of Garda and nurses who work long hours- gardai work 60hrs over 6 days – and before u say what about the time off try working the 60 hrs first through the night or maybe get a call 20mins before home time nd then drive 1hr home be in bed for 9am and try sleep and so on not every weekend off not seeing ur kids for days try work it first before u come out with ur crap

• The difference between the gardai and government is this.

Gardai have never renage on their promise to protect and serve the people of Ireland .

Nor will they and that point is not lost on government

• If we had a proactive rather than a reactive government we wouldn’t be having these endless negative debates. The longer they keep people distracted from the issue that they are pro banks and anti citizen, gardai, nurses , doctors and anyone on the frontline of public service is fair game for abuse . The cost of living is as high for them as it is for anyone else in employment. First responders and Gardai in particular deserve to be highly paid and shouldn’t have to rely on allowences or overtime to boost their pay. Just because this government have no respect for the rank and file gardai , the wider population should’nt follow suit. Afterall we are the ones that most need them most of the time

• the guards the doctors the nurses and the fire brigade are all necessary in our lives, their pay should not be touched, they uphold the front line, to every single person that commented on this thread if you needed any of the above services and rang them you would expect them to respond quickly and do a good job about it, cutting their pay is just going to give them less to work for and less enthusiasm, these are brave educated people who we might all rely on some day and we should support them!

• They’re bloody right, and the rest of the public service should do the same. The idea that the government can put one hand out looking for money from a public service that has seen crippling cuts in both pay and numbers, and use the other hand to hand billions to unsecured bondholders, is beyond contempt.

• we do need gardai in our communitys, we do need to feel safe, its nice to have someone to turn to for advise, its great to see them on their bikes and chatting away with kids, its wonderful to see them involved in our local sports, youth clubs, and great that teens can trust them to turn to, my kid got stuck in dublin, aer lingus could not land in shannon,, they did not care i was snowed in down in limerick, as a last resort i called the gardai in dublin, who thankfully took over the arguing to no avail and asked me for permission to send her down on a train, that is service for a mother stressed, we need them,, we need nurses,, we need our public servants, we do not need, to be paying 700,000 out on pensions for tds,, that is a crime, they need to stop being leeches, they are public servants, i feel no pension for a public servant should be anymore than any other pensioner that has worked all their lives, our farmers work 7 days a week, all hours when calving, up with sick cows, up to milk and its still dark,, and they get crap pension at the end,,, that is where the cuts should start, but wont as we have a bunch of leeches running this country, steal from the poor and put in their fat pockets, what is bertie going to do with 150,000 a year,, while poor joe gets under 250 a week,, this is where our problems start, borrowing to pay pensions that are from the celtic tiger not from austerity,,, save our gardai and nurses, we do need them when in trouble or sick,, and lets make a stand against tds overpaid pensions,,

• cuts being made to the wrong areas front line should never be touched tackle the wasteful spending first

• Overall, crime is falling in Ireland. Ireland is safer than Germany.

• Yes wasteful spending in all areas is shocking. Can someone tell me why we pay millions to legal firms for advice when there are many hundreds of solicitors without work? 30 briefs at 100k a pop is way cheaper than paying the huge legal firms millions to waste.

I know a man who works in the civil service. If his new super computer work system goes bust he has to ring a call centre, log the call, explain the problem etc. The call centre ring the ‘service engineer’ to get them to fix it. What’s annoying is that the ‘service engineer’ is sitting beside the civil servant logging the original call and they can’t communicate about the issue till the call is logged.

Unreal, mind boggles!!!

• Good story. Have you heard the one about the civil servant who blah blah blah……. And yeah I know you’ll come back its true because your friends cousins sisters brother in law works there. Public sectors wages first followed by similar cuts to private sector leading to calls from private sector workers to cut public sector wages and round and round we go while employers laugh at us.

• If I had the time Ronan or the diesel to get there I would bring ye to show you.

• The private sector people shouting for cuts to public sector wages need to wise up. As soon as the public sector is cut private sector wages will fall also. This is what happened after the pension levy. You shout for ordinary people to lose money and you will lose yours too, while the richest managers/ employers laugh all the way to the bank. Ordinary people should stick together, and decent jobs should be desired not shameful.

• I am shocked at the anti-garda sentiment in this thread. Gardai do a very difficult job 24/7 & 365 days a year. They have taken their wage cut & pay the same high taxes, prsi, usc as everyone else. Its time to say no to the gov and no to cpa2. I am not a garda nor am I related to any garda I just think it’s gone too far. When will the politicians give up their expenses? Their pay is ridiculously high & they can still claim expenses for everything from phones to flights. Totally unfair & unacceptable.

• All the emergency services gardai nurses ambulance personell and also teachers people working in councils trades shops etc are been cut to the bone including the unemployed, children’s allowance carers etc etc for the fe?king banks who get tax payers money to pay back mortgages and still don’t give us any break in what we owe without adding on interest. Good on the sergeants and inspectors about time the ordinary guards joined them, where is their rep body they should follow the good example. All the services should go out together. Enough is enough we can’t take any more

• Most allowances given to guards over the years were a roundabout way of increasing their pathetic basic pay without having to give a similar increase to every civil servant in the country, it wa the wrong way to go about it but fact is these allowances are their pay and to reduce them further is wrong for the job they do

• Lovely stuff just shows what the government think of us, now u can see why we’re called mules the government think they can keep saddling us with this burden and well take it. Well I for one will change my work practices if they do cut our pay anymore. What’s the point in working anymore when ur broke three days before payday. Where’s the incentive to blue light it to an armed robbery when your gettin paid shag all. I’m so sick of being told I’m lucky to have a job particularly by my mates that were making three times more than me in the boom, I don’t feel very lucky and I worked damn hard to get where I am. The Gra better stand up against these animals! Fair play to AGSI..

• AGSI don’t give a dame about GRA members. An Garda Siochana would be better served if there was only one representative association but that’s not going to happen. We both know the GRA are pretty much a toothless tiger. They threatened strike a few years ago and backed down immediately. They can do absolutely nothing for rank and file members. It’s a horrible situation and members know this. I wish it would change. Gardai deserve representation that have the clout to take REAL ACTION.

• AGSI have as little power as the GRA. If they walk out on the talks it won’t stop the cuts coming. Bottom line, neither of them are unions.

• the nurses union should take a leaf out of the Gada stand and pull from the cpa as well ,
    seems that the goverment on there part had an agenda from it,s conception time to abort

• Pádraig your photo says it all!

• Why are our UNIONS and Public Sector workers taking this ? Up till now the Government have treated us with utter contempt and degradation and have purposely pitted the Private and Public sector against one another. They have cut our frontline services to shreds and in most cases have endangered the very staff that form this line with their wayward snip snip approach. They look on us as sheep , but surely enough is enough , we should fall in behind one another and show them all they have achieved to do is awaken a sleeping giant . It is obvious that this Government has no regard for its people and are as far removed from reality and the suffering that they have imposed on its people. I for one would gladly like to see the FULL PUBLIC SECTOR take this fight right to the front gates of Lenister House and and bring this Government to its knees once and for all . If every sector marched on the streets of Dublin and stayed there for how ever long it takes we will secure victory – our elderly people have showed us the way in times past , now it’s time for our stand and I for one would like nothing better than to see Enda having to explain to the EU diplomats that unfortunately on arrival they will have no security detail or transport and god forbid if they fall ill there will be no staff in our hospitals to deal with any issues.

• Employers have us “the employees” between a rock and a hard place………this applies to everyone not just Gardai!! As soon as they jump off the “Recession Bandwagon” and start paying for work done the sooner this country gets back on its feet!!

• Hopefully the GRA do the same . Disgraceful treatment of our national police force . Bring on Blu flu .

• Lets hope the unions take the same stance as the AGSI, and don’t sell out their members by imposing more pay cuts on lower and middle income public sector workers.

• They should have another blue flu the day of the household charge/ICTU protest that coming up. The army too. inda might sit up and take notice.

• Could someone please do an article on why in constitutionally ok to cut the pay and pensions of civil and public servants who all have very clear cut contracts of employment. However there are legal difficulties with the government legislating to cut the pay and pensions of politicians and bankers. Are some contracts more binding than others? I’m not a legal professional so perhaps someone could explain this to me?

• Christopher-bravo for your comment.they are trying to reduce all ofus(public and private) back to 1950s working conditions and living standards.we need to take example from our grandparents era and strike.it will be financially painful for us all personally,and as someone mentioned earliersone of those looking for promotion will scab.if we stand together and staunch it we’ll win.
    It says a lot for a society when the enemy is its police force,teachers,nurses,firemen,prison officers and soldiers.it sickens me.
    I’m no sociologist,but shouldn’t the enemies of society be criminals,tax dodgers,parasites,and abusers of power?

• It would be interesting to see what terms were tabled by the government

• Unacceptable ones Jay, I saw the outline passed out to public servants. Broad sweeping demands with no details or analysis about the impact to the public. Its almost like they’re sabotaging the deal and hoping for everyone to remain docile, relying on the public/private sector devide to get away with it.

This government are simply a debt collection agency for debts that aren’t ours. Hence bilderberg noonan and puppetboy kennys actions thus far. They’ll push as hard as they can to recoup as much money for bondholders as quickly as possible, no matter the cost to our society.

I

• As usuall werejammin you rant about the bondholders but shy away fron the issue of te 20billion per year the country is running in the red bond holder money wont sort that well it will but only for about 2 years then what??? Keep running a deficit untill we go under to the tune of a trillion. Cuts need to be made i dont belive gardai are where to start the cuts but untill ive evidence that what was tabled was unreasonable ill reserve my judgment on it

• Jay, our defect last year was 18 billion, including the cost of our banking debt which was 18 billion for the year.

Would you like to borrow an abacus?

• Links to this info please and

• From a reliable website

• It’s hilarious that people keep commenting that we can’t spend money we do not have. We borrowed 64 bIllion to bail out insolvent banks, that affected everyone, not just gardai, nurses etc. if it takes a stand off between public servants and the government to highlight this AGAIN then so be it, it’s about time. This talk about us not having the money has been ridiculed by our banking bailout. Why can’t we bailout our health service and justice department, I can guarantee you it won’t cost a 64 billion loan.

• Strike.
    And while they are at it, they should stop fighting angry protestors, stop protecting ministers and the next time the minister for ‘justice’ reports a break in….make him wait like everybody else.

• Exactly!! Even Bertie has a garda sitting at his house 24/7, they want protection from the very people they’re robbing. If they were a decent crowd they wouldn’t be living in fear and in need of protection. Anyone who thinks they’re well paid, have you ever asked a garda what they get? No, you just other moans who haven’t a clue. Its shocking how ungrateful people can be.

• Just listen to other moans**

• Lets hope the unions take the same stance as the AGSI, and don’t sell out their members by imposing more pay cuts and longer working weeks which is technically a pay cut on lower and middle income public sector workers.

• Lets hope the unions take the same stance as the AGSI, and don’t sell out their members by imposing more pay cuts or longer working weeks which is technically a pay cut on lower and middle income public sector workers.

• Can’t stand to be part of this conversation thread any more. People are so unbelievable cynical and absolutely delusional with the dribble that’s being written here .

• Thats the aim of these propagandist soundbites – keep the public distracted while we make like bandits with taxpayers money – the more we divide ye the more we can impoverish ye

• mart_n 24/01/13 #

Okay, we’ve got the secret vigilante handshake. Now, we need code names. I’ll be Cue-ball, Skinner can be Eight-ball, Barney will be Twelve-ball, and Moe, you can be Cue-ball.

• man that’s two cue-ball’s, let’s not confuse things.. Moe needs a different name..

• All the government want I’d more public V Private sector the majority of the public sector work hard and the pay ain’t great everything we got in the in the boom had been giving back and more besides. Were married to many people who lost there jobs. And scrape by like most. If the government want us to work harder we already are and many understand that we need to work longer but there’s little point until the management of the public sector reformed . If the government wamy bigger cut they most lead withlarge pay cuts to themselfs abolish the upper house and deduce the dail by at least 40TD

• Mr Shatter, An Garda lost a member this evening in the line of duty..Doing his job as per his temit to the state..a state who wants to take money off him and his comrades..as to You Shitebags who have been Ranting on about Public Sector Staff..Can you Fill His Shoes????

• Unite all front line staff don’t worry about the public the Government are relying on ye not to withdraw yer labour out of loyalty to yer Public / Patients / house fires / accidents / A/ E etc. it’s time to think of Yer Selfs. Yer loyalty has cost ye dearly over the years don’t let it happen again. Fight this puppet Government Stop them Taking Money and conditions of Ye to Give it To Corrupt Bankers / Unsecured Bond Holders. Fight Them Tooth and Nail Enough Is Enough.

• This is madness.

• Think or Ireland as a company. A company has a fixed pot of money to spend. Ireland bleeds people dry to raise more to spend more. The time has come when there is no more money to be found, and those in the employment of Ireland Inc must take cuts or face redundancy like many in the private sector already have.

• and so have people in the public sector. why do we fall into the trap of public v private sector. we are all in the pit together. let brendan howlin, etc, survive on my wage before they go cut mine again.

• Not really Paddy. I don’t like the attempts to divide us either, but it’s certainly not the case that we are all in the same boat.

• @paddy- people in the private sector would take quite significant cuts in exchange for the job security you have.

• Think of Ireland as a company? Ok so. Companies don’t pay people to do nothing, so unemployment benefits gone. Companies don’t spend money on things that don’t make profits for them, so bang goes the health service and the prison service… Now where else should we take this ridiculous comparison?

• Spoken like a true civil servant Ciaran…..

• No Shaun I won’t!! Because we are a country made up of people, not a company focusing only in the bottom line.

The mindset/ the manipulated mindset

• @ciaran- in the UK the Private Sector successfully and profitably runs both prisons and hospitals- and far more efficiently than the NHS and NPS. So your point was….?

• And you know everybody in both sectors Vin!

Divide & conquer the people,, always works, tested and trusted method of control, works every time too!!

• Vincent explain how they run prisons profitably. They run prisons at a price, paid for by the government. The government makes no money from it. Those from Shaun’s way of thinking they should stop paying for it. Keep up vinny….

• Charlie you speak like someone who depends on the state for nothing at all. I hope you stick to those principles when it comes to child benefit and tax credits – state makes no profit from them either – axed…

• @ciaran- what Shaun was saying that if the same norms and best practices in place in the private sector were observed in the public sector it would be a whole lot more efficient.

• “Think or Ireland as a company”

Shaun, a company is run primarily for profit, a country is run for the good of its citizens. Your comparison is usually thrown out by the type of people who have us in the mess we’re in.

• What job security? You know nothing! Almost 45% of teachers are part time,without the full benefits of full time employees. Stop talking out of your arse and spouting the indos propaganda

• Vincent, when I worked as a part time cashier in Dunnes stores I made more than an average Garda. Their jobs might be secure enough but what does that matter? Basically they’re stuck in an underpaid job that doesn’t pay the mortgage or bills, who wants to be guaranteed that for life?! Why does everyone wrongly assume all of the public sector are highly paid?! Do you ever ask people with regular jobs who aren’t at the top? And Gardai deserve more than someone who stands at a till scanning things all day, it’s the most boring, unchallenging job with no risks involved whatsoever, so how is it fair to pay someone like that more? People who risk their lives to save others should be paid accordingly. Pick on the TDs and insist they take ridiculous cuts that mean they can’t live instead of the heroes. It’s the upperclass scrotes and the bottom of the bottom class scrotes who all have money thrown at them for sitting on their arses. I’m private sector, my job is secure, easy, money is better than the average public sector worker, so I wouldn’t take any cuts for their ‘security’.

• Forcibly? Or forcefully? Freudian slip?

• Sympathy from the public and most in the Public sector will be small for the Sergeants and Inspectors. The pay is incredible even before all the allowances and overtime.

• When your pay has already been cut by 17% and once guaranteed overtime evaporates you quickly go from reasonably comfortable to struggling. I know of Guards having to sleep overnight in stations as they cant afford the petrol to drive home. The Gardai have willingly given their share and then some. These further cuts will be fought. Its gonna get dirty.

• Stephen,
      you say the pay is incredible even before all the allowances and overtime. Well guess what, so is the tax.

Most public servants are paying in the region of 52 to 54% tax when they include the PRSI, PAYE, USC, and then that “fantastic” pension that the private sector keep giving out about? Well every week there are three deductions taken from wages for the one pension, which by the time most public servants will retire in the future will be worthless. and I’m sure they’re being taxed with other deductions I don’t know about

I personally know three Gardai that have qualified for medical cards or GP visit cards. You DON’T get them unless you are practically broke. So cut the bullshit

• I meant so say they pay the higher rate of PRSI PAYE etc, I know everyone pays that anyhow.

• I agree Falstaff….. In order to be Paying 54% tax you’d be earning 9K a month before tax… I think they might be able to live on the 5K a month their getting… Thats the quivelent of two wages coming into a household of private sector workers…. You can see why we have a problem including you in our boat… Cant you?

• Incredible how much?

• Find a Garda on 5k a month BEFORE tax etc, and I’ll hand you 100k Charlie.

• How about not replacing Garda hats when their old ones wear out or their heads get bigger/smaller? This would save significant funds going forward.

• Blah blah angrier, demoralised, blah, blah

• If I learned anything from comments on The Journal it’s that people will not stand for any new taxes on their wageslip and at the same time will go nuts if any cuts to the public service bill or social welfare are even mentioned.

You can’t argue or debate with people showing willful ignorance to today’s harsh realities when the government is broke, especially when nobody here appears to have any alternative solutions that will allow people to earn 2008 public sector wages, retain 2008 social welfare allowances and pay no new taxes.

• A country cannot spend money it doesn’t have.

• Mitch 24/01/13 #

Don’t forget Garda can retire early with substantial pensions unlike private sector , 53 year old Garda retiring on a 36 k a year pension with lump sum , that just laughable

• I guess another blue flu is on the way and the and then we can all be held to random again.

• What about wiping off penalty points, or turning a blind eye as the church reaped children for the best part of a century, or the blatant violence we’ve seen scattered all over youtube, the McBrearty case???

• They should be grateful to have a job. Try living on the dole. İ have to work in the uk and im lucky to get home every fortnight. İ now working for 50% less than what i used to earn. İm glad that İ have a job under the circumatances. God love them. (NOT)

• They are lucky to get an allowance in the first place.and they spend it in their local chipper

• Garda find the Croke Park deal is arresting their ability to earn.

• The Gardai were on a very sweet deal for a very long time.
    Can’t say I feel sorry for them one bit.

• Toby would you do their job? I know I wouldn’t, not if they paid me double what they get now. I know a lot of the work they do is relatively easy but they never know when they are called out on a 999 what they will face.

• I tink by all ur negative comments about gardai and the fack they should get over the pay cuts what would happen if they walk away altogether and leave ye mind yourselves would that suit ye.

• Marshal law ha

• until you need them, and they can’t respond as their numbers have been cut or they don’t have a patrol car as is the case in many area’s, then you’ll have a little sympathy.

• Declan. I would do their job if I had an Uncle or a relation to get me in like the majority of them do.

• Stop trolling Toby

• Fair play to you Toby, you’re a better man than me. I’ld much rather be in a job where I know I am fairly safe, not in one where my next callout could result in me being stabbed or physically assaulted for doing my job. We all know the obnoxious lazy cop who wouldn’t get out of their own way, you’ll find them in every job, but the vast majority are decent hardworking people out to do a good job. I for one am grateful for them.

• Toby Parker. You are obviously one of the ones that didn’t make the cut with the Garda entrance exam and blame that on the fact that you assume someone’s uncle got them into the job?!

Either that or you thought to yourself that garda pay was crap when everybody in the private sector was making 2-3 times more than they were.

Not so long ago when Gardai were recruiting people would be heard saying ” Join the Garda, sure the money is peanuts”

A lot of people joined the Gardai for 2 reasons. 1) Job security or 2) they felt that it was the only job they could see themselves doing.

Now people like you want gardai to take a pay cut because you feel aggrieved by the fact that Gardai have relatively stable jobs.

I hate resentful, narrow minded people like you. You can see it in your posts.

• A bit bitter toby by any chance?
      There are a few gobsh1tes in the guards that if they did have a uncle or relation to speak up maybe the force would have been saved a few embarrassing moments.
      But they’re in every job, as is the aunt and uncle.
      Get over it

• Dermot. A lot of people entered the Gardai because it was a job for life I will grant you that but a lot of people joined the Gardai for the power trip and the ability to look down their noses on other. It is very funny really. People that swear to uphold the law, actually acting outside of it on many occasions.
      You were the Govts henchmen when they needed you. You didn’t give one iota of a damn for the constitution or for the rights of anyone except those that paid your wages. How many cover ups were made for politicians or people of influence by the Gardai? More than one?
      Now the Govt don’t need as many of their little doggies any more and are reducing numbers. The meal ticket and the power trip is coming to an end.
      Enjoy it while it lasts and please don’t ever think for one second that anyone considers you heroes or even actual Peace Keepers because you are not, you are policy enforcers in blue suits for a corrupt Govt that thinks nothing of you.

• Sorry Toby don’t dare to speak for me. I do consider the majority of them as heros.

• Your showing your true colours there Toby! why did you assume I am a Garda? I am in fact not but do have a lot of respect for them and what they do.

• Toby.
      Time for bed. School tomorrow. There’s a good lad. Nite nite.

• Glass Half Full. Night night. Best of luck in Croke Park. LOL. You’ll need it.

• Up the Banner!

• Twas in the year of 95, in the middle of July. All of Munster suffered sunstroke and the grass was all burnt dry….

Sorry, I’m getting emotional and aroused at the same time now

• The quicker we get to the strikes the sooner we can see some real pay cuts!

• So, we’ll have to let you go gardai.

You’ve dug your own hole, sadly.

• pardon?!

• I wouldn’t get into it with the ignorant and stupid Paddy. Let all the begrudgers and moaners walk a mile in an AVERAGE FRONTLINE public servants shoes and let them see who deserves pay. Interestingly a lot of people who say we can’t spend money we don’t have…the US in the 1930s, Roosevelt spent everything the US had in keeping the frontline and the future of the US safe, clement Attlee established the welfare state in the UK in 1947 to protect the PEOPLE and to hell with the finances. Get real people, what’s more important money in a ledger or people’s lives?

• @gerry,obviously the money in the ledger is more important than a life not my opinion however but seems to be accepted as will the red thumbs will show “cash over life”

• Agreed Paddy. The country doesn’t have the money – until the banks need it. We are a capitalist society – until the banks are about to go bust – then their mistakes become ours. We get the balance sheets waved in our faces as some excuse for the pilaging of the livelihoods and lowering of standards of living (and any expectation of such). The bottom line is not really the bottom line!

• Here we go here we go here we go ⬅we have reached tipping points thank god for all the nurses for saving us yet again fair days pay for a fair days work it’s a simple enough concept and cut out all those stupid allowances

• i find most garda ,lazy ,rude,ignorant,and unhelpfull , so i dont mind !! its a good time to do a bit of weeding .

• good, i will join them on the streets so maybe next time they’re policing a civi protest they might think twice before going in heavy handed

• When the Gardai go on strike……..I have no problem putting on the riot gear as long as they are in bed by eight!!

• LOL i am sure the Reserves wont have a problem either should it come to that, after all thats what they are there for to step into the breech just like the army done for the fire strike or the petrol strikes, or even the bus and bin strikes. people always seem to forget there is always someone to do your job, remember the number on your pay packet well that is all you are to any employer, replaceable by another number :)

• PDFORA the army reps stated quite clearly that if the Fire fighters go on strike that they will NOT provide cover, Try a country with no fire ,police or ambulance cover and maybe the keypad heroesion here might realise that frontline workers are not overpaid layabouts

Those who knock emergency workers on here would NOT have the BALLS to do the job of Firefighters / Garda/ Paramedics/ Nurses or Prison officers

• @Michael All said before, was said about the bus strike and the bin strike, as they say the pen is mightier than the sword.

People looking for promotion will be the first across the lines to take up position, they know which side their bread is buttered.

Add New Comment