TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 3 °C Saturday 25 May, 2013

Gardaí examining clerical child sex abuse reports

Those who try to hide information on abuse can be prosecuted under the Criminal Justice Act, Minister says.

Image: Sasko Lazarov/Photocall Ireland

THE GARDA SEXUAL Crime Management Unit is examining the most recent series of reports into child sex abuse  in the Catholic Church, the Minister for Justice Alan Shatter has said.

“(Garda Commissioner Martin Callinan) has informed me that the Garda Sexual Crime Management Unit is examining those reports in the context of establishing what further action may be necessary on the part of An Garda Síochána in relation to them,” the Minister said.

The National Board for Safeguarding Children in the Catholic Church of Ireland (NBSCCCI) yesterday published reports into four Catholic dioceses and three religious orders. They were the dioceses of Clonfert, Cork & Ross, Kildare Leighlin and Limerick. The congregations were involved were the Sacred Heart Missionaries, the Dominicans and the Spiritans. The reports found that there were 378 allegations of abuse relating to 146 individuals.

Minister Shatter said that “very understandable concerns” had been raised in relation to revelations in the reports. He said he wanted to reassure the public that the Criminal Justice (Withholding of Information on Offences Against Children and Vulnerable Adults) Act 2012 made it an offence not to disclose information about child sexual abuse.

“All too regrettably, many of the findings of the reviews underline how necessary the introduction of this legislation was,” he said.

Earlier today, the support group for survivors of sexual abuse said that where possible, senior churchmen should be investigated to see if they were in breach of the Criminal Justice Act 2006.

Findings of child protection reviews published>

Read next:

Comments (32 Comments)

• We have read the reports. What is holding back the Gardai? If there is any semblance of truth in the reports , there must be action. Is it that the buggering of boys and the rape of girls means nothing? There can not be any tolerance of this behaviour in our society. Get those people!

• Nappy 06/09/12 #

whats new here same story played over and over again .listened to 4fm today and it was horrible listening to some of the victims WHO were RAPED by preist and their stories.seems like were back in the 90s again

• Yes it’s an absolute joke the Brady affair was swept under the carpet. Sometimes I have to remind myself it’s 2012, how are they still getting away with it.

• The arrest and sentencing of Lynn exposes yet again the twisted out of date sick mentality of the Irish government.

In america such people are brought to trail and given years in jail for their crimes.
      In Ireland they are still treated like royalty, allowed lecture the nation on morals and particular subjects and allowed to go free.

Welcome to the hypocrisy that is systemic to Irish politics and politicians that are afraid to tackle the twisted double-standard organisation!

A bigger bunch of political cowards you will not meet outside Ireland!

• @Biggins31

Thankfully in Ireland the government has no control over either (a) criminal investigations carried out by the Gardai and (b) sentencing of individuals convicted of a crime.

• @ James Dunne

Officially yes.
      Un-officially by back-channels ???

They still have the power to make formal requests as individuals, to question why nothing has been done in regard to some matter and/or why there is no further progress!

• Alien8 06/09/12 #

I have a report (actually a number of reports at this stage) that says 150 individuals raped children. I have a report that says large numbers of their peers perverted justice by hiding these crimes, or assisting with the perpetuated committing further acts with children. Both of these are illegal, and carry custodial sentences.

If the Gardai are not seen to be pursuing these cases, the department of justice has the authority to replace commissioners who are not following up on public cases of rape due to personal convictions or fears.

This is not interference, or politicians getting the guards to drop charges for their nephews – this is what they are supposed to do.

• Garda investigating…
    …Like they did about Cardinal Brady – who should be arrested?

It will come to nothing.
    Yet again there will be a bit of noise then the Gardi via the government will once again go quietly into the night and hope the topic and memories will fade away…

Meanwhile in America: in the news yesterday that Monsignor William Lynn, a priest in America, was sentenced Tuesday to three to six years in prison by a judge who said he “enabled monsters in clerical garb … to destroy the souls of children.” – we should remind the nation that our own Cardinal Brady is still walking around as free as he likes for having done exactly the same disgusting crime as Lynn, in our own nation, over many, many years!

Lynn did what Brady did – didn’t report the abuses and kept silent. Lynn got sent to jail!

Quote:
    …Lynn, who handled priest assignments and child sexual assault complaints from 1992 to 2004, was convicted last month of felony child endangerment for his oversight of now-defrocked priest Edward Avery.

…Lynn chose to remain in the job and obey his bishop – by keeping quiet – as children suffered, she (Judge M. Teresa Sarmina) said.

“You knew full well what was right, Monsignor Lynn, but you chose wrong,”

/quopte

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2012/07/24/william-lynn-philadelphia-priest-child-endangerment-sentencing-tuesday_n_1697864.html

What has Cardinal Brady got? NOTHING! He’s scott free without a fear of being prosecuted! The government of Fine Gael and Labour while further seeing that the Irish public are further screwed by more taxes, charges and cuts to services, are still saying nothing, doing nothing to see this disgusting person be held to account for his own crimes!

Remember this when the next election time rolls around!

• Nothing is going to happen to the Clergy. We need to separate Church and state. We need freedom of religion and freedom from religion where the supreme law is the law of the land.
    Get rid of the stupid primitive blasphemy law and tax all churches and religion. If the government need money so badly, leave the hospitals and educational funding alone.
    All religions should be regarded as private organizations and obliged to declare its income like everybody else. Our Government should serve the people of this country not the Church and some kind of god-sky fairy thingy.

• Alien8 06/09/12 #

Wooah! Don’t include fairies!

They’re a nice little story that there’s a tooth fairy collecting teeth when they fall out, but when the kids realise that it’s a bit silly, we tell them the truth, and they get on with their lives enjoying the memory.

If they came to the conclusion that it was silly, but the government made sure that 5 hours a week in school brainwashed you that not only fairys are real, they’ll be watching when you masturbate… Then that’s a problem. Sound familiar?

• Mjhint 06/09/12 #

I agree. Only complete seperation of church & state can resolve this. We are not looking for an atheist state but we have to have a secular state. If this was the case already this whole mess would have been solved long ago with people in authority in the clergy serving sentences for protecting these predators.

• Only now???? Shows how much the church controlled the Country!!

• Stanley it still controls this country, read the constitution and listen to the prayers at the start of everv Dail, Council and Senate sitting. Listen to Enda and the rest of them saying what good catholics and christians they are!
      These people will lie cheat and steal but when it comes to challenging the Vatican they all ,including the Gardai wet themselves.

• Joe, I never bother watching any politician. I never knew that! What a disgrace it is!

• What crimes do these people have to commit before the Irish people say enough is enough. The government hasn’t the balls to confront them because the vast majority of the population are still in thrall to the Vatican and its doctrines. The result of centuries of indoctrination is hard to eradicate. It’s laughable, a so called modern, technology driven European country allowing black clad predators to prey on children. Banana republic!

• Marist
      You have some brass neck to write that load of unadulterated tripe and rubbish when this present Government have brought an almighty onslaught against the Church and it’s Leadership for their culpability in hiding the evil child predators among their membership. Is this not the government that closed the Irish Embassy in the Vatican and is the present Taoiseach not the same person who accused the Hierarchy of committing evil upon our young.
      Are you suggesting that the Authorities are turning a blind eye to criminal acts? It is my understanding that legal charges have been brought against any and all clergy where there was evidence to do so.
      Put away your comics and computer games and just now and again read a newspaper or watch the news. You would surprised at what you might learn.

• @mickcollins. Mick, I detect a hidden agenda behind your reply. Are you an apologist for the wrongdoers? Simple answer is, if the government were really doing their job, Brady would have been in court by now and the organisations that harboured these criminals would have been proscribed by now. Closing an embassy at the court of a medieval statelet in the centre of a foreign city is just whitewash. The Irish government still has an official representative meeting and greeting these ghouls on a daily basis. I do read the papers quite regularly, at the moment 9 international newspapers each morning, and I do have experience, in the 1950s, of seeing some of my young friends being violently assaulted by these psychopaths. Like most Irish politicians Kenny’s and his ilk will always put ‘church before state’. The Irish Theocracy has a long way to run yet.

• Find out more about the Roman catholic churches child rape atrocities at http://www.bishopaccountability.org and also a little history lesson they really don’t want you to know about . http://www.jasenovac.org/principles.php They must be exposed at all costs spread the knowledge

• One shouldn’t underestimate the underlying power and influence of the Vatican state . The Roman catholic church has been around a long time , they are masters of propaganda and counterintelligence. They even have their own intelligence wing just like every other state. Why do you think they invented the confessional , to forgive sins ? Or Was it designed just so they could get s@#t on everyone. Is it possible through confession they glean secrets about influential members of our society or members of their families and use the threat of revealing those secrets to keep them in check.
    On the subject of confession I heard the reason the confessional box was invented was to protect the confessor from being sexually assaulted by the clergy. Apparently it was not unknown for women to be sexually assaulted in churches during the middle ages . It became such a problem that the confessional box with a partition was introduced. I heard this from an informed source but have yet to prove it myself. Makes sense though.

• These cardinal bishops and cardinals I believe are referred to as princes of the Vatican state and may hold diplomatic immunity . In fact I believe they’re also citizens of the Vatican state and hold dual nationality. One could perceive them as acting on behalf of a foreign power. Correct me if I’m wrong but the crimes they have committed against our citizens could be construed as an act of war.

• The whole abuse scandal and church is such a mess they should just announce the bishops will be put in charge of security at the next Phoenix park gig and then have a tribunal about the event , it’ll confuse everyone but the way things seem to pan out we would be no worse off.

• n365 06/09/12 #

Religion..

• n365 06/09/12 #

Gonna try again..Religion

• Well Minister, be getting on with it then!

• Religion (Roman Catholicsm) and nationalism the pillars of this corrupt republic. Th people accepted their ‘religion’ and their ‘history’ without question. How could one question the tenets of the one true and apostolic church or the ‘facts’ of ‘Irish history’? The monolithic status of ‘the church’ is crumbling but the ‘history’ is still ingrained in the receptive minds of the innocents who still believe that all others are bigots except themselves.

• Mjhint 06/09/12 #

Ah yes Paddy anything for a reaction. I agree with you on the religion bit. However we may differ on your views of the different religions. If you would to find out more about your religion & how corrupted it can be by people like you go on youtube & listen to Jerry Dewitt a former preacher & now atheist. He makes a lot of sence of people like you. Also theres a lot of things in this state & I & many others have endured hardships in this state but we are proud of this state because its open to all even those we disagree or disagree with us. In our beautiful national flag we have the colour to represent you. No where else have a seen a nation of inclusion such as ours. Maybe thats all we have but we are proud of it.

• Somewhat late !

• “Those who try to hide information on abuse can be prosecuted under the Criminal Justice Act, Minister says.”

But probably won’t!!!

Add New Comment