TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Wednesday 19 June, 2013

Gender quotas bill welcomed by women’s groups

The legislation will halve the funding for political parties if they don’t run at least 30 per cent of candidates of either gender.

Female politicians in 2008 celebrating 90 years of women in the Oireachtas (File photo)
Image: James Horan/Photocall Ireland

NEW LEGISLATION WHICH encourages political parties to run at least 30 per cent candidates of either gender has been welcomed by women’s groups.

The new bill is aimed at increasing the number of women in the Dáil.

Under the planned legislation, parties will have their funding halved if they fail to run at least 30 per cent candidates of either gender in general elections.

Ireland currently ranks 77th out of 133 nations for women’s political representation.

“This legislation will address the gender imbalance which has been so persistent in Irish politics,” said Katherine Dunne, Chair of Labour Women.

“While it will probably take a couple of electoral cycles before the much improved outcomes will be seen, by then we should have a situation where women candidates are firmly part and parcel of how the political parties do business,” said Dunne.

Six EU countries already have similar gender quotas legislation.

Almost half of Ireland’s 43 constituencies don’t have a female TD, and men currently hold 85 per cent of the seats in Dáil Éireann.

On Twitter, The 50/50 Group, which advocates for equal gender representation in Irish politics, tweeted that the legislation was “a true equality measure”.

Former Fine Gael minister Gemma Hussey tweeted that the legislation was “great news” – but added that it not be confined to general elections and should include local elections too.

Gender quotas have been criticised from several sides however – including from Labour Party TD Joanna Tuffy, who described them as “anti-democratic, discriminatory and potentially unconstitutional”.

The Electoral (Amendment)(Political Funding) Bill 2011 was introduced in the Dáil and will be published before Christmas.

Column: For a new politics, we need more women in the Dáil >

Column:  Gender quotas do women no favours – and undermine democracy >

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (86 Comments)

• This is stupid. Surely it should be about who is best up to the job? What if we end up in a situation where a man who is far more qualified than a woman for a position can’t run because of quotas. This is going to create equality, the only thing its going to do is water down democracy.

• This isn’t equal rights though. The equal rights is been allowed to run in the election. In your typical 5 seater general election. If a party is competing for 3 seats one candiate has to be male/female. What if at the party selection convention 3 people off the same sex get the highest number off votes ? Encourage women and minority groups into politics but this is not democratic.

• That was my initial reaction when I read about these measures coming in to Norwegian businesses last year. However, I’ve since changed my mind.

I think the problem is that we’re all idealising the situation. You are all completely correct: it’s not democratic. Assuming that people make perfectly logical choices, it’s not a good idea. Sadly, we are not this rational. I think that we, as a global society, are still at a point where we have to be forced to treat men and women more equally. The imbalance is more subtle and ingrained than you might think. Think about it the next time somebody calls a woman they disagree with “ugly bitch” or whatever.
      Women are generally treated a lot less seriously, by men and women alike.

I’ll get thumbed down to oblivion for this, but what harm.

• So at a party selection convention if they are 3 places on the ticket. One has too be a woman, and one has to be a man. What happens if 3 women/men have the most votes. I want tall people to be properly represented and gingers too…. Its upto the parties too attract more women into their parties and it should be a level playing field

• I wonder what will happen if women don’t get the votes having been nominated to run. Maybe they will make us all keep voting until “we get it right”!

• Pilib, I’m all for ‘the best most capable candidate should win’ but I think we all know in this country, local politics reign and the candidate that has done or promises to ‘help you out’ when you need it in your constituency is the one who tends to get the vote regardless of party or policies.
      When you say have equal representation of tall, ginger or other characteristics.., remember women make up almost exactly 50% of the population (in fact slightly more females than males in the lastest Census!) so this is by far the most unequal category of representation in the political system.
      But ultimately I agree, it should be based on ability as opposed to gender, sadly this is not the case now.

• Does this apply to independents too? In the last election the proportion of female independent candidates was similar to party ones..

I would deliberately not vote for someone who’s only there to satisfy a quota.

• Electorally, this will favour bigger parties like FG most – They can run multiple candidates in individual constituencies, “sweepers” and so forth to attract a vote but not win.

For smaller parties it’s far more difficult if they don’t have the female candidates who’ve built themselves a vote, as running additional candidates can split your ticket and lose a chance of a seat in the marginal PR-STV system, where small swings win and lose seats.

There’s always something behind a move like this.

• I wonder would women’s groups similarly support university quotas to assure equal admission and graduation rates from key faculties…law, medicine, business?

Or would they regard that as sexism?

• Sexism …..

• Eligibility for election should have absolutely nothing to do with one’s genitalia or reproductive organs. One should be selected or elected on merit alone.

• I do not want our money to be used to enforce sexism.

• I am cringing! this is an example of a strategy that discredits equality. People should be given equal chance of running for election irrespective of gender soon we will have to update the leglislation again to cater for the other 7 grounds for discrimination!! When will the politico get it right … It’s not the gender of a candidate that counts l it is the quality attitude understanding knowledge qualification and experience of a candidate that counts … surely we know this after the state the country is in after being run by moppets.

• Máirín. I know I’m going to annoy you and I’m sorry but why does this make you cringe? What’s so wrong about it? These aren’t people working in any other industry. The Dáil is meant to be a representation of the people of Ireland. Do you not think it’s time it was?

Look at the moppets. Look at them laughing on tv programmes. How out of touch and arrogant are they? All men or tough hard women. They have no empathy for what’s going on in the real Ireland. This quota might make it easier for a few normal women to be noticed.

• I am puzzled as to why 5 would thumbs down the idea that the importance of knowledge and experience should supersede the gender of a public servant…clearly the lib purists must think knowledge and experience is solely a male trait !!!!

• Not to worry. There seems to be 7 of them now. O dear…

• What about all the candidates who only get elected because they are part of a political family…Lenehens, Cowens, Aherns, Bradys, Flynns etc.. There’s never been anything remotely relevant to being best for the job about them. I’d take a bit more gender equality than nepotism any day.

• Well said @Julia…… People a constantly on the journal giving out about the “moppets” in the Dail and how we keep getting served the same sh1te but when a policy to increase the demographic of our leadership is tabled it gets torn apart.

Although I do agree that ideally the best person should get the job, based on merit but this isn’t the case as it is so what is the harm in trying to change.

Also people claim this will water down democracy … but this is already the case when you consider the proportional representation system – where our new president can claim the over 1 million people felt he was right the job….. even if the figure was achieved by using transfers. I voted for Michael and I think he will do a good job, but I use the example to highlight the dilution of democracy that already exists.

• What muck, serious muck. That is all.

• Should every school that doesn’t have 30% male teachers be penalised?

• I hope you do realise that there is a very real effort to get more men into primary teaching, to the point that young men are finding it much easier to get jobs than young women.
      But apparently, that is OK and this is completely unnecessary…

• I have no issue whatsoever with trying to get more women into politics, and with making the profession more woman-friendly as far as practicable to advance that process. I don’t like the quota system.

• Half the Irish electorate are of either gender.
    No Irish politician has ever been elected because of their gender.
    No Irish politician has been refused a nomination by their Party because of their gender.
    All Irish political parties are equally open to either gender.
    No politician in Ireland has ever been described as successful or otherwise because of their gender.
    No evidence exists to suggest that more representation of either gender would improve democracy.
    All previous political failures could be blamed on one gender due to over representation of that gender.
    Either gender would consider such a finding as preposterous.
    All Irish Political Parties will be encouraged to discriminate to avoid losing funding as a result of this legislation.
    None of this will motivate either gender to participate politically as underlying support measures are absent.
    Please consider the foregoing as POETRY.

• Your results are in Mark. You got an F. You were saved the NG by the 7th line in your poem.

Thank you for pointing out that balance never achieves harmony. :)

• Our 2 female presidents are seen to have been a lot more successful than the male ones though. I would prefer more female choice. My vote won’t be based on gender however but I’ll be glad of the greater choice.

• @Julia – that is a hard one to judge as for most people under 30 as all we have seen in our adult lives is female presidents. The 2 you in fact mentioned. – side note the presidency is too long!

• Muc Beag 15/12/11 #

@Réada

Sorry, what the fuck are you on about? I think you’re taking the 7th line out of context, considering the 8th is “Either gender would consider such a finding as preposterous”. Maybe I had a little too much faith in women, if we’re going to generalise like you’ve just done with your quote-mining towards men.

I’m not taking the blame for a global economic crisis that I had sweet fuckall to do with just because I was, by sheer chance, born male. I’m not having my democratic rights infringed upon because women inexplicably won’t enter politics, despite having every opportunity to do so. I’m not having the playing field arbitrarily tipped in favour of one particular half of the population because “not enough” women are in the Oireachtas. I’m sick of gender imbalances elsewhere – such as teaching, nursing, medicine, law, the public service, retail, childcare, family courts – being completely ignored because women dominate those sectors.

This crap that pollutes the effort for gender equality has to end.

• Muc beag. I was referring to the fact that his 7th sentence implied harm can be caused without a balance. It wasn’t aimed at either gender in particular. I’ve made it quite clear I don’t have a problem with men. I just wanted to clarify that’s what the feck I was talking about. All getting too ugly now. Bye. Thanks Mark and Jim.

• If your the only Black, Gay, Female, Islamist in the area, hold tough there cupcake, as soon you’ll be guaranteed a spot on each of the parties ticket. You could be a “rainbow” candidate!!!!

• 15/12/11 #

I find gender discrimination to be rank in the workplace in ireland, I have personally experienced it and seen my highly intelligent and able female colleagues subjected to it. however, I cannot agree with this move. it does seem to be a contrived process where the outcome might in the very least be undemocratic. if a woman wants to be a part of politics, it should be allowed to happen without restraint, and based on ability and the people’s word. But this move might harm such women, when people will say, oh well she got elected because they needed to reach the quota. When nothing should distract from the fact that it was merit, not because she has a vagina!

• Next they will want women driving instructors…… This is getting dangerously outa hand!!!

• This is nearly as moronic as one of it sponsors , the fine geal one , mitchell the lady who tried to drive into Leinster house. Reality is women need to get more interested on politics , lets face it there is no shortage of smart women in Ireland , they have been wiping the floor with boys in school and third level for years now,but there does seem to be an aversion to politics , maybe it’s justified apathy but lets not cheapen ourselves with a retrograde step and introduce stupid quotas

• This is a step backwards. Don’t see how other women cant see that! Instead of being there because they are the best candidate they’ll be there because they’re women.

• But they are not there! That’s the point, if the “equal opportunity” system is working where are they? Gender quotas are not a good thing, they are a bad thing, their use means that the society they are being applied to has a history of gender bias-
      But what do we do? Sit around waiting for the system to suddenly spit out balanced numbers? Lots of people are commenting that its not equal to bring in quotas? Wake up! out society is not equal but when the people charged with shaping it reflect that flaw how can things ever change! It’s not about vaginas or penis’ as some have jumped to point out- its about humans but the majority of humans I see in my government are men! Please suggest another way of changing this rather than just slagging quotas!

• Of course we’re going to be behind men. Having been opressed for so long it’ll take women longer to strike a balance. If u were suddenly included purely because u were a woman & for no other reason would u be ok with that? Because i wouldnt!! & what about other forms of discrimination. Should there be a race quota? An age quota? A religious quota? Its daft is what it is!!!

• I dont think there is any lack of ambitious women running look at Lucy Creten – more balls than most of the men in the dail but lacks a brain. Mind you she also has a neck like a certain Beverly Flynn( now there is a few necks rolled into one big brass neck)
    Do we need more Beverly’s? Comment please.

• 15/12/11 #

yes, define them by their looks rather than presenting detrimental policies they may have been involved with, or quotes expressing why they are not capable. but no, beverly is inept because of her neck, and Lucinda is pretty so therefore a bimbo!

• Waffler 15/12/11 #

I fear this will make life harder for female TDs as their opponents will say “don’t listen to her, she’s only here to make up numbers”. Quotas are just another form of sexism. Equality means judging people as individuals not by their sex!

• easy… easy now…….. surely it’s a bit late the Mna wish to retrain the pups!

• What if you only field one candidate?

• But why would it be for no other reason? Its only 30% do you really think there are that few women out there? Thy wont be able to show their value? I know the quotas aren’t perfect but the percentage of female representatives is going down not up, I agree with most of what you are saying and if the numbers were going in the right direction I would be inclined to agree totally but they are not. And as for quotas for race/faith/sexuality as have been mentioned in many posts I would just point out that these are minorities not 50% of our population.

• I’m not saying the right candidates arent out there. What i’m sayin is if they have to have 30% regardless of anything else they’re not going to make the right choices. It will no longer be a question of “who’s the best candidate?” it’ll be a question of “how can we hit our quota?”. & it goes for both men & women!

• It’s terrifying how childish and patronising this debate has become. People say they don’t want to be forced to vote for one gender or another? When I look at my voting card and it’s 90% male where is my choice? People are saying women are allowed to join the parties, we have equal opportunities? If so why have we got one of the lowest gender balances in the world? There is more to equality than legally allowing someone to participate, there has to be a cultural of support for that person. We aspire to be what we can see for the most part and if our girls and young women only ever see middle and upper class men participating in politics how can we encourage them to see it as a system which is open to all citizens, yes there are plenty of intelligent and committed women in Ireland so if the legal right to enter politics has left them unrepresented in our government we need to ask why? At the end of the day we live in a patriarchal society, this means sometimes we need to structure systems to rebalance what appears on the surface to be an organic lean in one direction, until society can correct itself and operate without that structure. No one will be forced to vote for a “token” woman and to give the example of a party with 10 great female candidates having to take 3 token men is really not helpful, this is about getting the best person for the job, so unless you believe that we have seen the only suitable female candidates in our government or that in a constituency of 50% women you would have to accept token girls, how else do u suggest we change our culture of male dominated politicians.

• This is categorically *not* about the best person for the job.

This is about the best person for the job, unless you’re a woman. In that *special* case, you don’t have a place on the polls because you’re a better politician or leader.
      You have it because you don’t have a penis.

It couldn’t be further from best person for the job.

• Agreed Daniel, as many of folks here have said I would welcome more women to the Dial, but this is not the way to go about achieving this, this is just more of the short-sightedness of people already in Govt. trying to appease a female equality group.
      I’m trying to think about this from a female commenter’s point of view but I can’t understand that you still want to see a min of 30% female representation on the voting card even though in general more men run for candidature and say out of 10 people, only 1 woman puts her name forward and wishes to seek election.
      Do we have to go out and find 2 other women to fill the quota to meet this new target? It’s not democratic or even makes sense.
      Maybe it’s harder to run if one is female, if so this needs to be address correctly and openly as why this is and try make rules or corrections in this respect, but this is a blanket fix, a poor one at that and should be undone.

Now Niamh you can see a minimum 30% choice to vote for a female candidate but ask yourself where they came from and were they summoned like jury duty to make the requirement.

If those truly in favour of having a choice to vote for more women, then more women need to run and be supported from the ground up, not at the final stage there’s a sign saying 30% must be of the opposite sex yet 30% haven’t ran or didn’t get this far in a campaign. This is typical of our Govt. and its pandering to a vocal not always correct opinion group.
      This is just a ridiculous solution to what people would clearly wish to see change in and wont bring anything more possibly more unqualified people into parliament.
      I’d like to be wrong, but this just isn’t how to go about it.

• @Damhsa Dmf: I think your argument is actually self-defeating.

“in general more men run for candidature”
      Yes. This is the problem.

“more women need to run and be supported from the ground up”
      So your solution is the simple task of changing the fabric of society. OK, I can’t fault you for the effectiveness of the solution, but it is substantially harder than encouraging women in by enforcing quotas. You seem to imply that women will be taken at random from the street to fill quotas, which is just laughable. Obviously, the women will come from the pool of those who nearly run, but decide against it. These women will be given that final push to get themselves on the voting cards.

@Daniel: I don’t see how this is worse than the patriarchal system we’re recovering from. You know, where you’d only have it because you do have a penis.

The bottom line is that this will force more women into politics in this generation, so that the next generation has a different idea of what is “normal”. For the time being, if someone is told to draw a politician, I’d bet a tenner they’ll draw a fat guy in a suit. Added to that, this will put more pressure on the men in government to keep their places.

Two more things bothering me:
      1. There’s a prevailing assumption that there are far more men than women worth considering for the job, and I’d like to know where this assumption comes from.
      2. If there are 10 candidates of one sex, you then need 5 of the other, not three. Work it out.

• Thanks Mark for taking the time to post something positive re the quotas on this thread. I was fairly crushed (only word i can use to describe how i felt) last night and this morning from the reaction from some of the comments here from my fellow men and women. Your posts and those of Jim mckessy helped restore a bit of hope in me. Thanks a million for being able to see past the PC BS that seems to determine some people’s pov. It is really appreciated. :)

• Lucy Creten hopefully is a one off. If we were to be left with more like her as a result of the quota system then I suggest an amendment to the proposal.
    Any woman being proposed for election must go through a test to determine that they have some sort of brain and an test designed to test appetiser for the job EG 1+1 = ? Lucy is challanges on the intellect and integrity stakes. She also has the potential to end up like the rest of the Fat Cats – Fat on the sacrifices of the poor people. Bring back Mary Robinson – a real Lady with integrity and intelligence. The test should apply to the men also.

• There seems to be an assumption here that women will always be less qualified than their male counterparts. There also seems to be an assumption that there is gender equality in politics in Ireland and that it is just as simple for women to run as it is for men, yet if that were true why is there such a dearth of women in Irish politics? It is not because women naturally have less interest in politics than men but because women face more barriers in life than men. Nobody is thrilled that we live in a world where we have to resort to quotas to force people to accept equality but we need to level the playing field somehow.

As a side note, a vagina does not a woman make.

• Gender quotas. Where to begin. Been here and said it all already. Well aware I’m in for a bashing but that’s never bothered me tbh.

I’m delighted quotas are going to be introduced but fgs I’m not going to start men bashing, I’ve always made it quite clear I love Irish men and am an equalist (my word) and would defend men’s rights too. I believe in equality but not sameness. It’s the differences in people I love.

I don’t think Irish men judge a person by their sex. I have always believed this and believe it even more reading comments on the Journal. Read the comments on the recent thread re sportsperson of the year where all the men voted for Katie Taylor. Read the comments above and for them gender is not an issue.

More that more female representation in the Dáil will lead to more balance. There is not enough balance at the moment. I want to see more normal women in the Dáil and not just the “push to the front” tough ole birds, not the Thatchers and Harneys. No more of them please. I can’t even bear to think about them!!! This might force the parties to look beyond them hopefully. Ye don’t have to vote for them. No quotas in the voting booth!

Just saying I’m delighted…

• You’re right, we don’t have to vote for them.

But we do have to consider them.

We have absolutely no choice whatsoever, but to consider them.

Democracy. In. Action.

• Thanks Daniel. I don’t think it’s the men need convincing. It’s the women so busy pretending we’re the same and they’re insulted by this move I’m trying to convince. I think women are much harder on other women than they are on men.

• I think you misunderstood me.

I was being sarcastic. I this k this move is *incredibly* undemocratic and is, absolutely, and morally, wrong.

• You only have to consider them though Daniel. And the Dáil is meant to be a representation of its citizens.

I knew posting on this thread that I was leaving myself open. But I’ve always been prepared to wear my heart on my sleeve and be honest in what I say and speak my mind. I’d rather be caught out now and then, than be distrustful of people. Sorry I misunderstood you but that’s the way it goes.

• I have no problem at all with you holding on to your viewpoint. it’s what makes debates interesting :)

Why couldn’t we have considered these women without the quotas? Why aren’t they going forward for election themselves, without being undemocratically preselected for us?

And most importantly, why are women afforded this magic 30% regardless of ability? Equality is not equality if one side is more equal than the other.

• @Daniel Hunt – that is not quite accurate – men would also benefit from the 30% …. at least 30% of either is the policy being tabled…… just it benefits women more because of the ‘Jobs for lads mentality’

• Let’s go back to the beginning of this thread. Half the electorate in Ireland are Women and in election after election have never ever shown that they are prepared to vote on gender grounds to assist in redressing the obvious imbalance in our Parliament.
    This proposed legislation is totally incapable of doing anything other than damaging the finances of Political Parties while also offering a massive insult to democracy through discrimination at selection conventions.
    In many respects it reminds me of the smoking ban which was created by the thought police in response to personal bias and the gross misuse of an artificial majority.
    Much of the debate and even the legislation has been developed without the slightest scintilla of reasoning or sociological study as to whether Women have the slightest wish to enter representational politics in Ireland or the type of supports that may be appropriate given any barriers that are identified.
    No let’s just crash through the barriers and let the damaged bystanders find their own trolleys in the corridors of our current National Emergency System.

• I am surprised at the resistance to a very good idea expressed by comments here. Why should I be though – there was as much it more resistantance to giving women the vote, saying it was undemocratic, not good for women etc. As they say in some Journal quizzes ‘Why can’t we all just get along’ and give women a fair chance of engaging in the political process. They may not be any better but at I an sure they will not be any worse.

• Wake up! It’s a brilliant idea. They are talking about 30% for both genders! There is something wrong (which can be addressed) when 85% of seats are filled by one gender. Balance is beauty. I’m delighted.

• But it’s not democratic. At the moment men and women equally have the freedom to run for the Dail if they so wish. More women in the Dail is fantastic, this ruling however is not only very bad it’s a complete insult to all the female td’s who wanted the job, worked their arses off to get it and by doing so proved they were the most capable person for it. Gender quotas undermine them completely because from now on people will just assume that they weren’t the best person for the job they just slipped in because of a technicality in numbers.

Ultimately there aren’t enough women in the Dail because they either haven’t run or haven’t proven themselves to be the most capable candidate in their constituency. In the former case you can’t force someone to do the job and in the latter case you can’t force a constituency to accept a less capable candidate because of their gender. This goes against the very foundation of democracy and equal rights.

• How is it. Take for example – if a party is running, say, 10 candidates, and it has 10 OUTSTANDING female candidates, and their male oppositions for those candidacies arent as good as the females, the party HAS to rund 3 male candidates anyway. So instead of a party being able to put forward 10 outstanding candidates, they are now left with 7 of them, and 3 less than outstanding candidates. Therefore we are not getting a chance to vote for the best of the best, just some of the best. (I cringed typing this by the way thinking about what we’ve elected in this country over the past 20 years, but you get my point.)

• I’m not a bit insulted Chris and you mightn’t know by my name but I’m a woman. You don’t have to vote for them if you don’t want to. It’s just giving you a choice. I won’t vote by gender either. I’ll vote by whomever matches my ideals.

• If women wish to stand for election then they should. For many women politics is an undesirable career choice. For women who have a family it would be difficult to travel up to Leinster House. Yes women should hold the same rank as men. Maybe if we had a female Taoiseach then we might not be in this mess. This legislation is a waste. Should the Government be introducing legislation to deal with the banks etc.

• Niamh – thank you for your comment. I agree with you & I hope you and others won’t be discouraged by the fact that the majority of voters & commenters here express their opposition.

You ask a powerful question: “… why have we got one of the lowest gender balances in the world?”
    And you rightly refer to the need for a “culture of support” – which I take to be shorthand for a society which is not stuck in outmoded assumptions & patters of power which have existed ever since parliamentary democracy was first introduced in Ireland.

I have a 6 year old daughter – do I want her growing up in a society where men control all the law-making? Do I want her growing up in an Ireland where she’ll take in subconsciously & consciously the notion that the political realm is for men? What sort of a parent would I be if that was the legacy I wished for her?

How many here understand what you mean by a “patriarchal society”? I suspect that many accept their society as it is. Many probably don’t question their own assumptions. If we were to start with a blank page & design a political system for Ireland that required late nights, away from home and new entrants to overcome the difficulty of a different gender dominating all decision-making, we would be accused of bias, I think.

You say “This is about getting the best person for the job…” I have a different view – I think this is about reaching for a situation where men & women will equally take responsibility for our laws. Men and women in equal proportions determining the fundamental framework within which citizens live…

I regard all chatter about “the best person for the job” as a figleaf for view that seeks to perpetuate the tradition of male domination of Irish politics. [I hasten to add that I know you're not in that camp.] Those who present themselves under the banner of “the best person” may not be aware of how easy it is for people to see where they stand. We are used to people presenting conservative views under the guise of radicalism.

You end on a great note: “how else do you suggest we change our culture of male dominated politicians.” Let’s see what people have to say to that challenge. Those who mean well & are genuinely in favour of greater equality must have realised already that their strategy has failed. After the fiddling around has failed, after the political parties have failed to achieve a half-satisfactory balance, the time for quotas has come.

Tough. Yes, it’s tough. Quotas are a crude measure that seems to be the only way to leap forward in my lifetime. I’ll be dead otherwise before my daughter will have a society fit for her to influence fully. She is entitled to better. And I don’t want to die ashamed of the culture that prevailed in Irish national law-making.

• It’s a pity to have the last word here – gender quotas are on the way for Irish national elections – the big issue may be whether Fianna Fail will push strongly for quotas in local government elections?
    I met Michael Martin while we were both doing Xmas shopping in Cork : he said it was most important to get quotas introduced for local elections.

Let’s hope citizens have a big debate about this.

• God the sexism here. Everyone knows its far more difficult for a women to get to a high level in politics. Think this is a good start but doesn’t go far enough

• This is rubbish! What is far enough? Maybe we should scrap elections and just appoint some , would any of you clowns think that Mary Robinson , mc aleese ,harney needed a helping hand? Love the or hate them they were all very smart driven women ,cop on !

• Don’t see the point if quotas. The candidate should have the necessary skills and knowledge for politics and not be of a specific gender.

• What I find repugnant about this measure is that it may force parties to overturn the results of their own democratically convened selection conventions. It’s an elitist, academic measure which can’t but damage grassroots democracy….

• N

• Ian 15/12/11 #

What is vincent browne doing in that photo?

• As I was cleaning the kitchen, I remembered a key point. Without it, my position on the question of gender equality in Irish political life is unclear.

Men have been poorly served by the domination of politics by men. Men have a huge interest in change. We men stand to gain from the increased entry of women into politics.

I realise that I am simply asserting my case – rather than support it by argument. This is deliberate – I’m interested in finding out whether there are others here for whom this case resonates.

Frankly I am bored by such a crowd of male politicians: the conversation of much less interesting than it would by if there was normal diversity of gender. I want to turn on the TV and see women & men in the chamber and committees. I value diversity.

Men are used to having to deal with women. We have to listen to the views of women in many arenas, especially at home. But the political caste isn’t used to hearing the voices of women in the chamber, the council meeting, and sub-committees. Obviously I’m not thinking of what it’s like to listen to one or two women – but having to listen to as many women as men. We’ll all be served better when we live in a system that smells of equality of representation.

As Kathleen Lynch, Minister, said recently at a public meeting organised by The 50:50 Group: “I’m fed up voting for mediocre men, I want to vote for mediocre women”.

• PS – May I add that I also agree with the points made by Nichola Salmon, Mark O’Neill, Réada Quinn, Julia Smith, Jim Mackessy, Andrew McGabhann & Niamh White (hoping I’ve not left anyone out).

Add New Comment