TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Wednesday 19 June, 2013

Gilmore’s speech in full: ‘Our Republic will be fair, just and renewed’

Read the full address by Labour leader Eamon Gilmore, who is speaking to delegates in Galway tonight.

Image: Julien Behal/PA Wire/Press Association Images

THE LEADER OF the Labour Party Eamon Gilmore is addressing the delegation gathered for the party’s annual conference tonight.

Here is his speech, in full:

Ireland is a great country and it is going to recover.

There will again be good jobs and opportunities.

This country will be the best place to raise a family, to work, to live and to age with dignity.

Our Republic will be fair, and just, and renewed.

We will pull out of these tough times.

We will succeed.

And tonight, I want to talk about how we are going to do it.

A little over a year ago, the people of this country asked the Labour Party and Fine Gael to form a new National Government. To suspend our party rivalries and to work together in partnership to fix the crisis, repair our country, and restore hope and confidence.

Every day since then, we have worked the long hours to honour that trust. Two parties, two traditions. But with one single minded goal. Recovery. An Ireland that is prosperous and fair. An Ireland which will provide w ork, a decent living and a secure future for our children.

On the day that the Taoiseach Enda Kenny and I led our two teams into Government Buildings, we were handed the biggest heap of debt ever to land on the lap of a new Government .

But worse than that, the bad debts of the banks had been saddled onto the State and the taxpayer. The country was being run at a massive loss – spending €10 for every €7 being taken in. The difference was being borrowed, but because Fianna Fáil could no longer get anyone to lend to us, they had handed over our economic independence to the IMF and the ECB.

This good country, which had been built up by the hard work of the Irish people, was teetering on the brink of bankruptcy and ruin. There were times in those first few weeks, when I feared that we would topple over the cliff, and that it might take generations to recover. That we might go the way of some banana republic.

But we have now succeeded in pulling it b ack from the edge, stabilising our economy and our finances, restoring our international reputation and laying the foundations for recovery. And tonight, 13 months into the five year life of this National Government, I am confident that our strategy is working. We will succeed and our country will recover.

I will not exaggerate our achievements, nor will I underestimate what is yet to be done. Neither will I ignore what has been left undone, or done badly, but in difficult times we can report progress.

The economy is growing again. Small growth, but the first growth we have seen for almost 4 years.

We are increasing our exports and trade; attracting in new investment and jobs; opening up new markets, such as China.

We have renegotiated the EU/IMF deal; got the interest rate reduced and replaced the crippling Anglo Promissory note this year with a long term bond.

We had to bring in a difficult budget but, unlike previous times, there was no increa se in income tax for working people, no cut in basic social welfare rates, and we were able to provide €2 billion for new schools and money to start the shift to universal health care. And we restored the national minimum wage.

But that is only a start. We have so much more to do. Because there are so many households in mortgage distress; workers who can not get a job to match their qualifications or skills; families whose children are emigrating; businesses that still can not get credit from the banks. Resolving these problems is what recovery is all about.

We are working hard at it, and we are working to a plan.

Firstly, we are restoring our international reputation. Ireland depends on the outside world, probably more than most other countries.

We export 80% of everything we produce.

We rely heavily on foreign investment to create jobs.

And we are now dependant on loans from international institutions to pay wages and pensions and to k eep our public services running.

Our living standards depend on our reputation.

A year ago, that was in tatters. Today, after a concerted diplomatic drive, we are on the way back. Jobs are coming into the country again as more investors are heeding President Clinton’s advice that now is the time to invest in Ireland’s recovery.

Second, we have set out to increase our exports and grow new markets. That is happening. Exports are up €3.7 billion last year, and we are making progress developing new markets.

Foreign direct investment and trade are critical. But they are not enough. We have to boost confidence at home to increase spending and create jobs. Our plan to do that is detailed in the Action Plan for Jobs, which includes funds to help start-ups and small businesses. And Pathways to Work , providing the crucial link between those jobs, and the education and training needed to help unemployed people get back into work.

But more is needed. L abour has always argued, and it is the policy of this Government, that it will take more than budget discipline to get the economy moving again. Building on the stability we have achieved, we need to do more to create jobs, and stimulate investment. We need to see more stability in the property market. We need the banks to lend for mortgages and to small companies. We need public enterprise to play a stronger role. In the year ahead, we will build on the Strategic Investment Fund established last year, to promote investment in companies and infrastructure. The Government is already talking to the Pensions Industry about how they can do more to invest in Ireland, and we will use proceeds from State Asset Disposals as well.

That then is the third plank in our recovery strategy…stimulating the domestic economy.

Fourthly, we have to tackle the problem of distressed mortgages. The biggest fear any of us has is not losing our job, it is losing our home. No recession lasts forever. Those who are today behind with their mortgage will eventually be back at work or back in business, and able to pay their way again. That’s why we have brought forward a road map in the Keane Report aimed at keeping people in their own home. And it is why we are including in a new Personal Insolvency law, radical new measures to strengthen the hand of householders when dealing with their banks.

But I have to say I am deeply frustrated by how slow progress has been in this area. We all know that it is complicated, legally and financially. But we must do more to help families who feel that, for them, time is running out. Families who are making a genuine effort, but who are still falling behind with their mortgage. That is why the Taoiseach and I have taken personal responsibility to drive this agenda forward.

Fifthly, we have to manage the country’s own debt problem. “Don’t Pay” may sound good as a slogan, and look sharp on a placard. Bu t it is neither smart, nor sensible, nor a solution. Because if you refuse to repay today you can hardly expect to borrow tomorrow. And right now, this State has to borrow to keep our schools, hospitals and public services going. Anyone who pretends otherwise is not being straight with people.

We won’t promise the impossible. But what we can do – and what we are doing – is the hardnosed business of renegotiating the cards on the table, to get a better deal for the taxpayer.

We have already succeeded in getting the interest rate on our debt reduced, which will save us €10 billion, and we have replaced this year’s payment of the Anglo Promissory note with a long term bond. And we will continue to fight Ireland’s corner. Making it clear that this country will pay its way. But we will do so in a way that is sustainable for our taxpayers, and which does not put our prospects of recovery at risk.

Finally, and not a moment too soon, we will reclaim our economic independence and say goodbye to the Troika. Our objective is to be out of the EU/IMF programme within two years, to be able to sell Irish Government Bonds on the financial markets, and to stand on our own two feet again. But to do that, we have to get our budget deficit down.

This is not a matter of choice. It’s simple maths. We simply cannot continue to borrow €44 million every day in order to run the country. We will need two more difficult budgets. But remember most of the hard work has now been done. We are already well on the way to meeting our deficit target. And remember, it’s the result that really matters here: an end to the crisis. Back in full control of our economic affairs. A managed and manageable debt burden. A prosperous growing economy again. Jobs. Good living standards. And a secure future for the next generation.

Our Government has a clear strategy and a road map for recovery. No more muddling through or hoping that something will turn up. But a plan we work to every single day.

Ireland is recovering. And to speed up that recovery, we need Europe to recover and the Euro to be stable.

One of our biggest difficulties in recent times has been the uncertainty plaguing the Euro. The Euro is our currency. The money that we are paid in, the money that we spend when we have it, and the money that we save, when we can. Its value and its future affects all of us.

That is why it matters, personally, to each of us, that we pass the referendum to ratify the Stability Treaty. This Treaty is about bringing stability to the Euro.

We do not claim it is the sole answer to Europe’s economic problems, but it is a crucial part of the solution and it is necessary to restore confidence in the Euro.

Economic recovery is our Government’s primary purpose, but it is not an end in itself. It is the means to an end, to making Ireland a fair and just society.

That is why recovery walks hand in hand wi th reform. We are not returning to the old ways. You never get far, if you walk backwards. We are remaking our economy, not to reward those who caused the collapse, but to make a better and fairer Ireland.

Our team of Ministers are leading that reform, working to create jobs and drive change

Brendan Howlin, our lead negotiator when it comes to re-shaping the EU/IMF Programme, is driving ahead with a programme of reform in our public services.

Ruairí Quinn is already one of the most reforming Ministers for Education in the history of the State. Because, Labour believes that every child in this country has a right to read, one of his first acts in office was to launch the National Literacy Strategy. And because we believe that no boundary should be set to a child’s imagination, Ruairi is working with Pat Rabbitte to deliver high-speed broadband to every secondary school.

Long over-due reform in the social protection system is being driven by Joan Bur ton, and both Joan and Jan O’Sullivan are playing their parts in providing solutions for those who find themselves in arrears on their mortgage.

This year too we will fulfil our commitment to establish a Constitutional Convention, as we set out at our last Labour Party Conference.

These are difficult times. Times that test us, but also times that tell us something about ourselves, about our character as a people.

We have not been found wanting. Even in our most difficult economic crisis since independence, we have not forgotten those who are immeasurably worse off than we are ourselves. We have kept faith with the world’s poorest people, during the worst famine in Africa in decades. We stood up for the people of Syria, as they were being slaughtered by their own rulers. And, as I told the United Nations last September, Ireland will stand by the Palestinian people in their quest for a state of their own, and the simple, equal dignity that comes with it.

Those who are denied the means to live and those who are denied their human rights. Theirs is our struggle too.

I want to pay tribute tonight to all those who work on our behalf around the globe: our small but talented diplomatic service; the staff of our trade promotion agencies; the members of our Defence Forces and Gardaí serving in Lebanon, Afghanistan, the Balkans, and elsewhere; the staff and volunteers who deliver our aid programme. They all represent the best of what it is to be Irish.

This is a time to talk about the values that matter. We are a proud people – a risen people. At our best, when we look out to the world, and say these are our values, this is what we stand for.

It is easy to do good things in good times. But it is in moments of crisis that you can really see into the soul of a nation. There are decisions that we can make now, in the midst of a crisis, that will speak to future generations of who we are, and the values that matter to us. Even with all of our problems, we have found the wherewithal

To progress a national literacy strategy.

To begin the first phase of universal GP care.

To forge ahead with building a national children’s hospital.

To end the practice of locking up children in adult prisons.

Not everyone will agree with all the choices we make. We are often criticised, and sometimes the criticism is justified. Politics and governing are human and imperfect endeavours. But there is one thing about the Labour Party and this Government that nobody can deny: whatever decisions we make are made in the public interest and no other.

The recent report of the Mahon Tribunal is yet another sickening chronicle of corruption, bribery and lies at the highest levels of previous Fianna Fáil Governments. A sordid saga of influence bought and sold; a poisonous creep of political corruption which infected our institutions and our psyche, bred cynicism, strangled idealism and corroded our democracy.

I am proud that after twenty years of Tribunals, no wrongdoing has ever attached to the Labour Party.

And whatever we may be criticised for, nobody can doubt the integrity and probity of Labour’s public representatives, on both national and local authorities. Long may that standard continue.

But we have inherited the consequences of corruption. The economic mess we now have to clean up is due in large measure, to the toxic triangle of bad planning, reckless banking and corrupt politics.

It must never happen again.

The administration of justice must always be independent of the political system. That is only right. But we are all frustrated at the slow pace at which the wheels of justice sometimes turn. When we see, every day, how the crisis is affecting innocent people, while those who were responsible seem to suffer no consequences.

If our criminal justice system secures prosecutions, and the criminal assets b ureau seizes the proceeds of corruption, we may have some restitution. New laws to regulate political funding and lobbying and to protect whistleblowers will make it harder for corruption to rear its evil head again.

But the surest way to keep corruption at bay is to lead a new kind of politics in our country. Politics with one single, unwavering principle: to serve the people, all of the people, and only the people. A style of politics which is no stranger to the Labour Party.

We owe that to ourselves and to our children. But we also owe it to those whose sacrifices founded and built this State.

This year, we begin a decade, commemorating the centenaries of the historic events which established our State and which shaped our movement. The 1913 Lockout. The First World War. 1916. Independence and the tragic Civil War which followed.

At this very moment one hundred years ago The Titanic was only a few hours from its doom. 1912 was the year of the Ul ster Volunteers and Covenant, the Home Rule Bill and the year in which James Connolly and Jim Larkin founded this Party, the Irish Labour Party.

Their motivation was both aspirational and practical. A Labour Party to pursue their dream of a Socialist Republic, but also a Labour Party which would represent working people in the new Home Rule Parliament.

That fusion of vision and reality is best captured in Connolly’s flag, the Plough and the Stars. One hundred years on it remains an inspirational image for our times. We constantly strive for the stars, for a better life and a fairer society, but we know that to achieve it requires the persistence and effort with which the ploughman turns the heavy sod on a cold winter’s day.

These days we are ploughing through very rough soil. It is hard work. Especially for those who are burdened with the loss of a job or business, who can’t pay the mortgage or make ends meet. But we must endure and we must persist.

The people who set up this party, and the people who joined it, came from humble origins. They were people who possessed almost nothing, except the courage of their convictions. And what they wanted, was simple. Liberty. Freedom.

The freedom to work. The freedom to have a home. The freedom to learn. Freedom for women. Freedom from poverty, hunger and disease. Freedom.

And that is the cause to which we are called again. An Ireland where freedom and fairness are stitched into the fabric of our economy, and our politics. An Ireland where opportunity is the birthright of every child. An Ireland which makes and keeps a simple promise – that every child born here, can grow here, learn here, have opportunities here, make a life here, and grow old in the company of their friends.

And to achieve that, we have to work at it every day. Inch by inch. Bit by bit.

No overnight remedy. But getting people back to work, nursing the economy back to recovery and buildin g a better, fairer Ireland.

This is a time for effort and endurance. Persistence and patience. For serious application to the job.

A time for courage. The courage to see it through. For us all to draw on our rich Labour history, on our collective resources, on our solidarity and comradeship, and to work with and for our people.

To face into the challenge.

We shall overcome!

We will succeed.

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (88 Comments)

• Oisin Quinn a Dublin City Councillor was recently found to have breached 4 codes of ethics by the Ethics committee on by lobbying his fellow councillors to decide in his favour for planning on one of his property development sites in Mount Street. Start. With fairness in the Labour Party and expel Oisin Quinn.

• “A little over a year ago, the people of this country asked the Labour Party and Fine Gael to form a new National Government.”

Actually Mr Gilmore – we didn’t ask, you lot put yourself forward with promises of change and a new version of Irish political governance and too many people bought the spin only to see a continuation of failed FF policies, cronyism and cowardice when dealing with the EU bullies who are adamant that the *economic treachery is continued.
    *your own term.

• Absolute Boll*cks. That’s five minutes of my life i’m never getting back. He has some neck talking about slogans when they break their promises and now claim they were nothing but slogans as if that makes it all ok then. Quinn has reformed education alright. He has ensured that pupils today will be under educated and saddled with massive debts if they can get into college even after their slogan during the election. It makes my blood boil just thinking about what he has the nerve to say here. F*king weasel. Is he that deluded to think that this sham will last for five years and we’ll all thank them with our vote? Well no matter what lies they tell us any idiot knows the EU don’t need us to ratify the fiscal compact so I’m voting NO and if the government can’t sell us down the Troika river again because of it all the better.

• About as fair as fighting a one legged man. Nobody cares Gilmore, we’re sick of your shite. No go back and make Enda a nice cup of tea, like the good fella that you are.

• Yawn. Spin gone mad. The people of this country are burnt rather than the bondholders. Nice one labour.

• Doubt he even believes himself anymore.

• Left wing politics is non-existent in Government policy. Gilmore slagged the greens for selling their soul in last Government – take a good look in the mirror you ape!! More taxes, less fairness!!! Should be ashamed of yourselves!!!

• Quote – A little over a year ago, the people of this country asked the Labour Party and Fine Gael to form a new National Government. Unquote.

We did because we were promised this government would be fair.
    What did we get?
    A government who broke every promise they made, Gilmore gave himself a nice big expense increase of 20.000 euros!!!!!!!! Yes people 20 thousand euros.
    They uncapped salaries introduced taxes to bate the band and left the bond holder off the hook.
    I hate to be crude but that’s pure sh*t poring out of Gilmore’s mouth.
    If this guy was a witness in court he wouldn’t be credible.

• ‘Expense Increase’.

What do you want? Our public representatives working for minimum wage?

• No Steve you clown!
      I just want them to earn their money!

• yes steven,
      thats exactly what i want.
      Yes, let them work for the minimum wage while this ‘crisis’ lasts.
      Yes, most definitely. Let them demonstrate true leadership,
      ya know that quality that makes leaders leaders?
      The one where they leader from the front? And by example?
      How much money has Eamon Gilmore, Joan Burton, Enda,
      the whole shower of them earned during their political ‘careers’?
      Go on, take a guess? Its millions each, of tax payers money FFS.

Sure, let the ones only in office 5 years or less keep earning their current salary,
      but the big wigs, YES WORK FOR THE MINIMUM WAGE,
      truly lead and people will follow FFS!!!!!

• I often wonder why people would ever forsake a regular, standard job where 40 hours graft would return €50,000 when they could put themselves forward, canvass for years and eventually compete to be elected for a chance to work in excess of 60 hours a week for less.

• @Tim. If I had a flower that sprayed water on my lapel I would point it in your face.

• Well Steve!
      Gilmore is pissing down your neck and telling you its raining, looks like the jokes on you kid because your liking it.

• Holy Bat Man Steve, you’re serious!

You genuinely wonder why politicians would “put themselves forward” in the first place???
      Sounds like you may be one of those very rare species that actually believes that they
      put themselves forward in order to serve the country and public……
      You Sir should be preserved, gently looked after, like an innocent abroad.

Ill accept that 2 or 3 from each party and the independents are the genuine article,
      the rest, sadly, are power hungry egotistical ass-chaff.

• Mr McGee
      Well said , a few genuine individuals , sadly the rest can be power hungry and greedy, I love to hear people speaking from their hearts and it is so recognisable as genuine. What we heard from Labour and FG and FF was all SPIN . All reading from the same doctrine. What we need is honest and practical people . Rare commodities in politics .

• Steven,
      Hard to tell if you’re being sarcastic. If you are, bravo. If not, then I shudder to think what you feel “minimal living costs” are – these bums are earning over 200k a year, well in excess of senior executives in the biggest businesses. BEFORE their recent increase (!!!!) they were earning over 20% more than their UK counterparts. That’s 20% MORE to do LESS work!

So clarify if you could… because I’d like to know if you’re being a d*ck or not.

• Steven,
      I work for a little over that – I do over 80 hours a week, am on call weekends, and am required to do my job correctly in accordance to what I agreed with my employer.
      These guys earn over 200k a year, get expenses in the tens of thousands of euro to boot, have so far broken every single agreement of employment and are not even looking after the average worker, but instead are looking after the wealthy with tax cuts to high earners (yes, they have).

Get real mate.

• SeanR 14/04/12 #

Spent the evening watcing ‘Teachers’ on Netflix… I appear to have missed nothing, and I’m ok with that.

• its sad to see people sell out their beliefs and their soul for a bit of power. as usual the working class suffer while we pay for the elites excesses.

• I am glad I did not have to sit and listen to that load of bullshit, I actually think they enjoy listening to themselves.

• More showboating and grandstanding from Gutless Gilmore. Grow a pair you lying traitor!

• Delivery was excellent, no doubt about that. But Connolly would be turning in his grave at his beloved movement supporting the gifting of our economic sovereignty to a bunch of unelected European bureaucrats. Labour’s way or Frankfurt’s way, how are you. Funny how power can assist in justifying the indefensible and distorting the moral compass.

• gilmore sickens me more than any of them. such a slimey little bugger.

• I think Mr. Gilmore wants to get his blood pressure checked he dont look well.

• “James Connolly and Jim Larkin founded this Party, the Irish Labour Party. Their motivation was both aspirational and practical. A Labour Party to pursue their dream of a Socialist Republic, but also a Labour Party which would represent working people…” and you ruined it Éamon Gilmore.

• Never trust anything a politician says, pure and simple. Lying feckers the lot of them no matter what party their from….

• More labour lies No we don’t ask you to form a national government. Gilmore’s and the labour lies are mounting up. Long list of broken promises, Frankfurt’s way, health cuts, schools cuts, USC charge. The people are waiting for the labour party. The people of Cork SC are waiting for Ciaran Lynch.

• What complete asinine bs from a feeble all talk and no action tanaiste Frankfurt’s way it is eamon you liar.

• I for one Can’t wait until their extinction as a Party following the next election.

• What, and have Fianna Fail and Sinn Fein in coalition next time? Maybe supported by a rag bag assortment of hard left nutter independents? I’m sure that’d lead to a ‘fair’ Ireland anyway.

• @PJK
      Actually, a blind, mentally retarded nun with a speech impediment would do a better job, imho. Although, comparing them to such is insulting… to the nun in question.

• Cant we sack them? Theyve gone against every promise they made pre-election. They never mentioned the household charge either. If the rest of us f*cked up that badly in work, we’d be sacked.

• a. They are in a coalition (I appreciate that might be a long word for you).

b. In a coalition, you don’t get everything your own way.

c. Better to get small wins than no wins.

• I gave Labour my vote so dont even try and be a smart arse with me” Mr. hidden face on a forum”.
      Very brave.

They have kissed FGs backside since getting into power and have done nothing for the working people of this country. They can only push people so far so they need to actually stand up for the people who put them where they are today. If you lie to get into a job then you got the job under false pretenses and should be sacked.

• Gilmore’s notes show a slightly different text. The most recurring phrase was: Pause For Applause.

• jimbo 15/04/12 #

Any politician will say what the public want to hear now to get them on their side,it wont work,we need to see things going our way,not dress them up the way we want to see things but actual action and things going the way we want them,words are nothing things happening for the irish people is action, until we see this actually happening what these politicians say is worthless..

• Your full of shite Gilmore go away and crawl under the rock you came from

• How dare you desecrate the memory of Connolly and Larkin on the day ordinary working people protesting your betrayal were pepper sprayed outside your very doors while your ‘labour’ colleagues watched the gi gis on the telly in the bar. You are not fit to lick the boots of such men, much less lead the party they formed into the abyss.

It’s easy knowing you’re an athiest Eamonn, because you’ve obviously no fear of burning in hell.

• If you’re going to insult people over their religion or lack of it, perhaps you should learn how to spell “atheist”. But at least you’re painting yourself as the bigot you are…

• An agnostic being bigoted towards an athiest for saying he’s no fear of burning in hell? Explain please, I’ll just strap myself in, in case I’m blown away by your answer………

• @David Robert Grimes
      What has his spelling to do with the point Too makes? I note you carefully avoided his point about pepper spraying those protesting the current attack on the working man; yet try to discredit him by calling him a bigot.

• Labour are history! End of!

• Oh yes our supreme leader. Labour party politics representing workers. Im a worker & I never understand a thing they say. Sounds like a propaganda statement from North Korea.

• It’s mainly the bond holders that say we can’t burn the bond holders.
    Must’ve been a lot if them in the room.

• i wonder that did the imf write the speech and they have asked gilmore to deliver it?

• Clicked on this article because I knew there’d be some classic journal.ie readers comments. I practically base my votes on the opinions of you people. Appreciation please

• Like the Greens – yet another bunch of complete sell-outs.
    Wasters and I suspect a lot of their previous supporters are either embarrassed by them or just contently blind to the what they have become because they have squirmed themselves into power like good lapdogs to their just as bad master!

• “Frankfurts way or pepper spray” – Labour 2012. Not much of a proud centenary celebration. Can we have a leadership challenge now please?

• jimbo 15/04/12 #

Oh by the way how much did it cost to get that speech wrote for him..

• > The Euro is our currency. The money that we are paid in,
    And boy do we get paid! Heee-yeah!

• Glad to see the usual malcontents ranting without actually addressing anything that was said in the speech. Much of our politics annoy me but this was an excellent speech that well expressed the difficulties we are facing and why simple answers are no answers at all – salient points promptly ignored by populists who offer no credible solution in its stead. In any case, there are signs of recovery on the horizon which is important.

• Come on now, are you really glad?

• I admit to a certain amount of sarcasm :)

• Signs of recovery on the horizon ???????
      What channel are you watching?

• In case you haven’t noticed, the household tax etc are minor issues; our international standing is paramount. And we have increased exports and increase investment. People seem to forget this is what makes a country like Ireland liquid. As these are on rise and our bond rates are going down, the numbers say improvement. But people, being reactionary, prefer to rant over the household charge or the cutbacks, which while harsh are needed.

• Eamon Gilmore gave a great speech in 2010, I voted for him and canvassed for his party on the back of it, did he deliver on the vision of his speech?
      Did he f**k!
      This is more style without substance.
      I’m no longer a Labour Party member, I’m not ranting this is just matter of fact

• Our biggest exports are the moment are people!
      I have a neighbour who came back from the UK to raise his kids but cant get back there fast enough.
      Property tax, universal service charge, PRSI just an other tax now ect pushed him over the edge and he just cant afford to work and live here anymore.

• Ah here now lets get a bit of perspective and welcome the positives where we can get them, exports are doing well at the moment.

• Well said faceless man; I’m emigrating in June to a great position in the UK. In the 1980s my entire family, including me, emigrated to Saudi Arabia and stayed 11 years. Ireland has always had this problem, as do many small island nations. I’m glad to see our expats doing well abroad, and then coming home later if they choose – it beats sitting on the dole I assure you.

• Most of the profits from these exports are repatriated to the home countries of the multinational’s, so while the figures look good,the country derives little from them.
      More spin

• David, as a former exile

• @David Robert Grimes yes our exports have improved greatly Families are broken because of those exports yea you are dead right a huge number of our young well educated are leaving our shores to work in gainful employment in other states where maybe most will never come home to work in their homeland because the powers that be (politicians) will never sort out the problems here at home all that fine fail did to this state fine Gael /labour are continuing to destroy it further and faster…. Fine Fail destroyed our Country and all their pensions and assets should be taken from all those mentioned in the Mahon report …..
      Fine Gael and Labour came to the People of Ireland at a very low time in everyone’s life a time of uncertainty and feelings of loss ….. A Loss of security and certainty and unfortunately fooled by liars and BIGGER TRAITORS than the last shower… YEA were elected on lies and false promises and 1 Year on we are WORSE now that ever Give up Labour and Take your bed partners with yea

• Are you having a laugh David. How can you say there are signs of improvement when people are already going hungry and losing their homes as a direct result of this government’s policies. Two more of these budgets to come. I don’t think that useless shower of bastards, who obviously look after your paycheck, will last that long.

• “I don’t think that useless shower of bastards, who obviously look after your paycheck, will last that long.”

You’re right actually – they do look after my pay cheque. I’ve been on job seekers allowance for a few months. Thankfully I’ve found employment abroad recently, as have many of my young professional friends. My brother trained as a teacher, and as been out in Kuwait for 2 years as it’s a closed shop over here. Yes, Ireland is in major trouble. But truth is, this isn’t even the worst recession we’ve had in living memory – my family had to up and leave to the hellish Saudi Arabia for 11 years when inflation in Ireland hit 23% in 1985. But you know what ? They came back, and they did well over there.

I imagine I too will come back, but you know something ? I’m not annoyed at the government. I’m annoyed at the Irish people – WE let FF stay in government for years, we ignored their corruption because sure, CELTIC TIGER lads! What did that even mean ? Everyone was getting rich because property kept going up! But it was painfully obvious our seemingly huge wealth was based on property, which is bubble like in nature. It didn’t stop people being incredibly stupid, and banks were more than willing to lend them money to be so. But they couldn’t have got away with any of this if we hadn’t encouraged them – Bertie was the most popular taoiseach ever for gods sake! In 2007 I railed against people voting for that shower, and people told me to shut up, sure, they were doing great things for the country. We IGNORED the incredibly obvious signs, and warnings from the ECB that we were in a dodgy position from as far back as 2004.

And now everyone is cynical, which I understand, but for heaven’s sake, increased eurozone and international exports plus increased consumer spending are very healthy indicators things are improving. We also have continued multi national development, which we rely on and several new tech starts. I do not agree with everything FG and Labour have done, but they’re being mature and reasonable about it, and they deserve the chance to repair the damage done since 1994. Misdirected anger is counter intuitive. And burning the bond holders isn’t an option either, as we were be locked out of the bond market. I did not agree with blanket banking guarantee but that happened under Cowen and FF if you recall and once such agreements are made, they can only be renegoiated, not broken – exactly what Gilmore and the boys and trying.

In fact, when I was doing my research which was partially government funded, I was told there wasn’t enough money left and had to accelerate my work and get my PhD in 3 years rather than 4. I *could* sit her

• As Martin Luther King said, “Human salvation lies in the hands of the creatively maladjusted.”. Yes I am malcontent.

• Excellent speech maybe but it’s content is pure fantasy. Gilmore is a power/money craving little man who cares about no one but himself and I won’t call him a liar but he doesn’t tell the truth too often.

• “I respect Just Authority, but Rebel against Unjust Authority.”
      In every situation, work to distinguish between those in authority who, because of their expertise, wisdom, seniority, or special status, deserve respect, and those unjust authority figures who demand our obedience without having any substance. Many who assume the mantel of authority are pseudo-leaders, false prophets, confidence men and women, self-promoters, who should not be respected, but rather disobeyed and openly exposed to critical evaluation. Parents, teachers, and religious leaders should play more active roles in teaching children this critical differentiation. They should be polite and courteous when such a stance is justified, yet be good, wise children by resisting those authorities that do not deserve their respect. Doing so, will reduce mindless obedience to self-proclaimed authorities whose priorities are not in our best interests.
      Philp Zimbardo (The Lucifier Effect)

• Challenge accepted. Here you go then:

“But we must do more to help families who feel that, for them, time is running out. Families who are making a genuine effort, but who are still falling behind with their mortgage”
      So, in order to reduce this burden, the government have allowed the banks to veto insolvency, have supported mass evictions, and have landed burdens that the average family from middle class down to lower class be unable to feed themselves.

“And it is why we are including in a new Personal Insolvency law, radical new measures to strengthen the hand of householders when dealing with their banks”
      See above. And to add to that, Mr. Shatter has already stipulated that he expects families to sell granny’s heirlooms, fiscally worthless but emotionally priceless wedding rings, etc before even asking for assistance.

“we have to manage the country’s own debt problem. “Don’t Pay” may sound good as a slogan, and look sharp on a placard”
      You forgot the first part of the statement: “Can’t Pay”. We cannot pay, we don’t have the money – no, not even a tenner a month.

“Labour has always argued, and it is the policy of this Government, that it will take more than budget discipline to get the economy moving again”
      Oh, and this is why ministers are getting a 5-10% raise in their income on the eve of a new budget..?

“Our living standards depend on our reputation. []A year ago, that was in tatters”
      No, a year ago there were a few companies failing over a month due to economical hardship. Now there are dozens a week.

“help unemployed people get back into work”
      And yet Target Express, with 390 employees, who had made arrangements to pay their tax debts under a year, where shut down instead of negotiated with. This helps the unemployment figures how exactly?

“And we are now dependant on loans from international institutions to pay wages and pensions and to keep our public services running”
      Should I touch this one? Because as I read it, that means the loans are paying ministers, not to get us working as a country again..

“But to do that, we have to get our budget deficit down”
      Easily done. Stop paying UNSECURED bondholders who don’t deserve to be bailed out. Stop spending on toxic banks who aren’t even loaning money to the very businesses that need their assistance. Stop allowing banks to keep ratcheting their interest rates on existing mortgags…

“We do not claim it is the sole answer to Europe’s economic problems, but it is a crucial part of the solution and it is necessary to restore confidence in the Euro”
      Iceland. Simple.

More lies, deception, and outright blatant anti-Irish sentiment from this baboon.

• I think Gilmore is all that is good in Irish politics

• gilmore is to socialists what Adams is to republicans , power hungry , and traitors to their cause, they forgot where their journey started but they certainly arrived in first class , no steerage here please

Add New Comment