TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 7 °C Thursday 23 May, 2013

Here’s what the world thought of that Time breastfeeding cover…

Magazine’s photo of mother breastfeeding three-year-old son criticised as “exploitative”. What did you think of it?

Front cover creates debate over 'attachment parenting'
Image: (Image via Twitter @TIME)

TIME MAGAZINE’S FRONT cover has sparked a global debate about breastfeeding.

This month’s cover features a 26-year-old mother breastfeeding her three-year-old son. The mother, Jamie Lynne Grumet, holds her son Aram to her breast while he stands on a chair. The article explores the issue of attachment parenting which encourages mothers to breastfeed older toddlers so as to establish bonds between mothers and children.

The news magazine featured the photo and article to coincide with the 20th anniversary of the Dr Bill Sears book who advocated attachment parenting. Grumet is to appear on The Today Show in the US today to discuss the cover.

However, news outlets around the world have been contemplating whether the front cover is a step too far.

The San Francisco Chronicle asks that very question saying that the boy featured in the photo “looks old enough to pour himself a glass of milk” and claims that the the cover was clearly picked to attract media attention. The Sydney Morning Herald says the cover is “confronting”. They write that the Australian Breastfeeding Association said that women should be encouraged to make their own decision about breastfeeding.

The Mirror questions whether the front cover is “perfectly natural or child exploitation” while The New Zealand Herald said the article has “underscored a cultural rift between traditional childrearing and what some have deemed extreme parenting”.

The Los Angleles Times describes the cover as “the head-snapping checkout-stand stopper of the season”. According The Guardian, Gillian Tett of The Financial Times told Time Magazine’s executive editor Rick Stengel that it was a “cheap shot” adding that the article was about Bill Sears and not an “attractive blonde woman breastfeeding”.

Mothers have been venting their anger through social media at both the picture and the headline question. Actress Alyssa Milano, herself a new mother, echoed many of the mother’s complaints. She tweeted to her 2 million followers:

The actress was not the only one who was critical of the front cover. Comments trending under #momenough accused the magazine of pitting mothers against each other in ‘mommy wars’:

Others tweeted that they saw no issue with attached parenting:

So what do you think? Is the cover too much? Vote below:

Poll Results:

(Image via Twitter @TIME)

Read next:

Comments (91 Comments)

• JayK 11/05/12 #

Is it possible that this is a complete non-story? Want to breast-feed your kid for 6-months? Good idea. What about for three years? That’s probably fine too. One thing is for certain, being breast-fed until your three won’t be half as damaging as having it plastered across the front of an international publication.

• I’m 100% in favor of breast feeding and both of my kids were but when a child is 3 and can get nutrition out of a balanced diet you need to question who is she really doing it for. Bonding starts from birth and should be well established. Children need support, care and love from parents but they also need to gain a sense of self and independence.

• I’m very much pro breastfeeding,my first son was breastfed to 14 months and my second will be the same. But this picture being on the front of time magazine just seems almost arrogant or something. Why use a 3 year old? I don’t really know if breastfeeding should go past 2 to be honest as there is a point where it becomes weird and unnecessary……totally open to having my opinion changed but that’s how I feel at this moment in time

• In total agreement with you, at the end of the day it’s the mothers’ decision at what age they breast feed their children to. I have my own opinion as to what age that could/should be but seemingly it doesn’t harm kids in fact the only argument I have heard against it in ‘older’ children is “it looks weird”.

• Certainly doesn’t harm the kids except that someone further down here has tried to say a dentist blamed breastfeeding until 4-5 destroyed a child’s teeth…..find that hard to believe though unless that kid was latched on all day everyday. They tend to slow down and only want it once or twice a day after they hit a year old. But then I never encouraged,I just let him wean himself really…..

• If breast feeding is the only way a mother can bond with her three year old son then I’d be concerned about her parenting abilities and her sons future relationships.

• That image is purposely made to be controversial and talked about. The articles on Dr. Sears and attachment parenting on the magazine are actually very interesting.

• Old enough to pour himself a glass of milk? He’s getting it direct.

• I’m all for breast feeding, it’s beautiful and natural but no, a three yr old child is too old to be breast feeding

• That kid is going to regret that in about 10 years.

• Storm in a D Cup if you ask me.

• That kids like 12 !!

• franco 11/05/12 #

reminds me of little britian bitte bitte………

• Transparent attempt to generate controversy, and guess what, it worked! Time execs are now busy clinking glasses and patting backs. ” “Don’t feed the trolls” doesn’t just apply to online media it seems…

• I find it really depressing when I see breastfeeding referred to as “sick”, “disgusting”, or when it is implied that breastfeeding is a sex act or a form of incest.

One of the most common fears expressed by new mothers is the reaction from other people to breastfeeding, and attitudes like many of the ones expressed above do little to encourage mothers and in fact can serve to make them feel more self conscious.

Breastfeeding is normal, natural. Anything else is sub-optimal nutrition for an infant or toddler. The World Health Orgaisation recommeds breastfeeding for at least 2 years. Breastfeeding is so much cheaper, friendlier to the environment, healthier that I find it astonding that people could be so vocal in discouraging it.

However, that does not mean that women who are unable or who have difficulty breastfeeding are “bad” people or inferior mothers. Because of this, I don’t like the use of the “Mom enough” slogan.

• Turns out he turns 4 next month.. Sorry but nah its a bit fecked up.

• A friend of mine was a dental nurse and told me a horror story of 4-5 year old kid coming in with palate deformities. She thought that the kid was still sucking a soother and advised the mom to stop as it’s deterimental to the healthy development of the palate. The mom said that he didn’t suck a soother but was still on the breast. Mental.

• its wrong all mammals wean their young once they can eat food why are we any different

• Thats 1 lucky kid. Damn.

• That’s. His. *Mother*. Imagine what’ll happen to that kid in his teens…..

• Comment fail!not cool.

• Aidan 11/05/12 #

LooooooL

• Vile

• Ah..why can’t I post…Anyway third time lucky? THis is response to above picture and article by comedian Jason Goode, read it and grow up…There are too many issues related to the recent Time Magazine cover for me to address them all. Is the photo incendiary? Yes. Did the boy have a choice about whether to be in the photo? Probably, but I doubt he understood it. Do kids really stand on chairs to nurse? Who cares, but I kind of hope so, because it’s hilarious. Are you a bad mother if you don’t breast feed your child? No. Is attachment parenting better than other kinds of parenting? No, it’s just different. Will I buy Time Magazine? No, I will steal it. Do I enjoy breasts? Yes. Do I like heavy metal music? You bet. Does that have anything to do with anything? No it does not.
      I was breastfed as a baby. Honestly, I feel squirmy even typing “breast.” Twelve years after I stopped nursing, breasts became boobs, and then in high school they became tits (and a plethora of other names), and now, as a husband and father, they’re back to breasts. I’ve come full circle. I see them as a means of nourishing children, and as sexual objects. I’m not sure how I feel about that. The fact that I sexualize the one piece of female anatomy from which I once fed, makes me feel grotesquely simple. I think that feeling is at the heart of why people are uncomfortable with the recent image on the cover of Time Magazine.
      There are plenty of reasons people have strong knee-jerk reactions to seeing a 3 or 4-year-old boy sucking on his mother’s breast, the most prominent of them is a general feeling that it’s “wrong” or “weird.” When you ask someone what they mean by that, their most common answer is, “Well, it just doesn’t seem right.”
      Think about how you might feel if, instead of a boy, the cover showed that same mother breast feeding a 3-year-old girl standing on a chair. It’s different, isn’t it? The sensationalization of the photo isn’t only based in its ridiculous composition, but also on the gender of the child. If you haven’t already, consider the possibility that one of the reasons people find the idea so unsettling is because a boy of that age sucking on his mother’s breast looks and feels sexual.
      I understand that we don’t often see pictures of “big kids” nursing. I even do a joke in my stand-up that children should stop breast feeding when they start wearing shoes and jeans. Watching my child nurse while in his halloween costume was surreal. My wife feeding what appeared to be a limp Bob the Builder puppet was funny, sweet, and yes a little weird, but not gross or wrong. And it certainly wasn’t even remotely sexual. We aren’t really sexual beings until after puberty (don’t get all Freud on me here). And no, I’m not saying that kids should be allowed to nurse until they sprout an underarm hair. I’m simply pointing out that if you feel the photograph is vaguely sexual — and I think many do, whether they’re willing to admit it or not — you’re dead wrong. If you extract the misguided sense that the kid is old enough to enjoy a breast as if it were a boob, suddenly all those unexplainable feelings about it being wrong or gross, float out into the ether where they belong.
      Any age we might come up with as a cutoff for breast feeding is completely arbitrary. Should a kid drive a Camero to his mom’s house to nurse? Of course not. But should a child be weaned merely because it can walk, talk, eat solids, or change the wallpaper on your iPhone? The gut reaction is yes, but why? Is it because, as a culture, we associate sexual maturity with appearance? If the boy in the photo had been naked except for a diaper, would it have generated the same reaction? How about a tuxedo? Boxers and a wife beater? How about if he was wearing a top hat and a monocle? A fake beard? Holding a gun? Smoking a cigar? What if he was naked and had an erection? The last one is harder to read than the others, isn’t it? That’s odd, given it’s the only one of them that’s natural (and no, erections aren’t always sexual).
      Let’s remember that the child is 3. Don’t forget how litte 3 year olds are. It’s why the photographer had him stand on a chair. Otherwise, he’d be sucking his mother’s knee. And that, of course, would be funny and silly, and totally ok, because the knee isn’t something that becomes a sexual object later in the boy’s life. But but but, maybe if he sucks on his mom’s knee, he’ll develop some kinky attraction to knees, and one of his girlfriends might publish a story in Cosmo called “The Knee Sucker.” oh my God, the horror.
      It’s puritanical, and all based on highly subjective feelings. There are simply no facts (that I’m aware of) that show nursing after a certain age is bad for a kid. Since it’s such a personal thing, maybe we should just leave it up to the mother and child to decide what’s best. Women are already fighting enough battles over what they’re allowed to do with their bodies. Let’s not add another one.

• The picture is designed to get peeps talking/ posting, churning lots of free publicity and sell some copy. Very clever considering Time magazine is off the radar for most these days.

• I really don’t care about the picture it’s the tag line to go with it. How DARE they suggest that mothers who don’t breastfeed are not a good enough mother. I’ve Brestfed my new LO for the last 3 wks and its all I do.,my body just won’t do it. I am now formula feeding and my baby and I are better for it.

• Breat is definitely best, my son was on the breast for the first year and benifited alot from it, 14 months old now and off it 4 months, he still looks for it sometimes but that tap has run dry for him now!

• What should really be discussed is how nestle were allowed to parent breast milk and why? And what exactly are their plans with regard to patenting a human product and why also stem cells have been patented. Seems bizarre but absolutely true.

• That young lad will grow up to be the adult in the Fast Show bitty sketch.

• 40 plus comments, most of them discouraging of it. Personally I think it’s bad publicity for the breast feeding movement, they can’t really discourage or encourage it.

Damned if they do, damned if they don’t scenario… Mistake on Time’s part. Oh & I really can’t believe that no-one commented on the absolute milfiness of the mom!

• I just keep thinking that the poor boy will be slagged to bits when he’s older. Cause believe me that photo will b found by his friends etc. I have no problem with breast feeding but the poor child posed for a photo and has no idea of the implications! Has his mother even thought about his future and the bullying he could get!

• How the hell is that kid so big suckling on them?

• BITTY

• That kid is living the dream!

• Poppy 11/05/12 #

I’m very pro breast feeding…fed my 4 kids until they were a year old….but I think this is sick !! There is no benefit to the child at this age….what point is the mum trying to make ?? There was a women on the RTE 4 live show recently who was feeding two kids at the same time ( a 4 year old & a 6 month old)….if my memory serves me correct she referred to a friend or someone she knew of who went to her child’s school at break time so the 7 year old could be breastfed and she saw nothing wrong with that ?? Check out her blog…it’s called the mamas hip…

• Fairly certain that there are many benefits to breastfeeding beyond one, I don’t imagine you stopped providing milk for your children once they turned one.

• In the second year (12-23 months), 448 mL of breastmilk provides:
      29% of energy requirements
      43% of protein requirements
      36% of calcium requirements
      75% of vitamin A requirements
      76% of folate requirements
      94% of vitamin B12 requirements
      60% of vitamin C requirements

— Dewey 2001

Studies done in rural Bangladesh have shown that breastmilk continues to be an important source of vitamin A in the second and third year of life.
      — Persson 1998

• The WHO recommends breastfeeding until the child is at least two.

Its an insult to humanity that anyone would have a problem with a woman breastfeeding their child beyond the age of one or feeding two at the same time.

In other countries aside from the western world it is not uncommon to breastfeed up until the age of five and in some countries age seven.

• Poppy 11/05/12 #

@ Kitalpha & Ruth…. I merely said I did it for one year and don’t see it as a cut off point…it was a cut off point for ME as I was pregnant again when my babies were a year old & I felt it too much of a drain/strain on my body to be pregnant & breastfeeding & that the unborn babies needs took precedence over the breastfeeding baby….the last child just lost interest in breastfeeding when he was just over a year & stopes himself. I was so sad as its such an enjoyable experience & knew I’d never have it again as my family is complete. I still maintain that feeding a 4 year old is strange !! You have to let your child progress & move through the developmental stages instead of stunting their progression !!

• Thats not merely what you said though, you said it was sick.

It was a cut off point for you which is fine and feeding a four year old may be strange to you but to many women around the world it is perfectly normal. Its only the ‘civilised westerners’ who have a problem with extended breastfeeding or breastfeeding in general.

How exactly does extended breastfeeding stunt their progression?

• kitalpha if u wana go suck a tit cool but stop trying to shove the tit down anyone else’s mouths god. go put the same effort you do preaching into living your life. you would be quite productive:)

• Kital, infairness theres bo other source of nutrition in rural Bangladesh.

• Kitalpha 12/05/12 #

Well Ciara its a good job they have breastmilk to nourish the kids isnt it!!

@Francis, its hardly preaching if I am helping to educate someone on the nutritional value of breastmilk. Dont worry I put plenty of effort into living my life and raising my children, I really thought I was having a discussion with adults here. I am not trying to ‘shove the tit’ down anyone throat. Grow up.

• OrlaM8 11/05/12 #

I’m all for breast feeding till there that age if I get a body like that ;-)

• Breast feeding doesn’t bother me at all. The women that do it in public just hoping someone will say it to them annoys me. if I’m in a cafe etc and someone decides to breast feed, fair enough, its only natural but then you get the millitant ones who bang on about their right to do it. yeah grand, do it, but piss off if you get onto people for noticing

• Breast even!

• So many idiotic comments… I need to look away hahah

• It is sick. That child will be f**ked up when he grows up .

• when that young fella is finished I’ll do a shift please

• I was on a flight recently and the mother was Brest feeding her very hungry 10 month old, next to me, it didn’t bother me… The baby then started to touch my arm, and smile …. Its natural but the air hostess moved me eventually. The air hostess’s discomfort , not mine. But wait for it …a six year old on an irish train journey years ago being brest feed from his mother was a bit much :-)

• In fairness, not so long ago in rural areas of different countries children were breastfed for anything up to the age five or six – depending on younger siblings, supply etc. It wasn’t a big deal back than.
    It is weird now, but to milk a cow or to milk a mum – what is the principal difference?
    I think that people are not easy with the naked woman breast rather that a fact that three years old drinking mother’s milk.

What about bottle it and sell in supermarkets? :)

• That poor child

• Niiiiiiiice

• David 11/05/12 #

That child is overweight

• Thats sick…

• A “global” debate about breastfeeding? I didn’t see one word about it in our media. You have strange ideas about the meaning of “global”. (Predominantly USA, with some input from the UK and Australia. Stricly English-speaking.)

But it’s pretty obvious why TheJournal.ie has printed this “global issue”. And the cover twice.

• We all have ‘natural’ ages of weaning, animals, mammals and humans. For humans it is between the ages of three and four.

A Natural Age of Weaning
    by Katherine Dettwyler, PhD

http://www.kathydettwyler.org/detwean.html

• Which one of your fairies told you that?

• Kitalpha 12/05/12 #

Emma. Do yourself and your kids a favour. Read the article. do some research, get informed, its from years and years of research and study by anthropologists etc no fairies involved.

• And you need to get off your over opinionated pushy high horse. I’ve read previous comments from you on other similar articles. Your completely one sided. I’m all for breastfeeding too, but it doesn’t suit every woman, not every woman is able for it. As for breastfeeding at 3 and 4 years of age??? What kind of impact do you think that’s going to have on the Childs development? If you breast feed your kids at that age I pity them

• Kitalpha 12/05/12 #

I am sorry that you feel my horse is pushy and opinionated, I fully support any woman to feed her baby any way she likes, likewise, I would like the same support, or people to mind their own business if I want to breastfeed my children for any length of time. You have me completely understood.

Take this in the spirit that its meant, people take things WAAAAAAAAAAAAY too personally online, I mean this in the best of intentions, for yourself, and your children, do some research, you might actually find out that extended breastfeeding impacts them in a positive way.

• My honest opinion is that this is porn. Time magazine are doing a Sun.

• Paul, if you associate feeding a child with masturbation or think that this picture is porn I am seriously worried. A comment like that is highly questionable.

• Then report it.

• I think we should leave your comment there so everyone knows what ‘emotions’ a breastfeeding image invokes inside of you.

• That’s right, kitalpha. I’m a breastman.

• Well it personally disturbs me that you can link breastfeeding with porn and masturbation. You have sexualised an image of a child breastfeeding in your mind.

I will leave you with this:

“Well, we do have a peculiar obsession with breasts in this culture. A lot of people think it’s just the human nature to be fascinated with breasts but in many cultures, breasts aren’t sexual at all. I interviewed a young anthropologist working with women in Mali, in a country in Africa where women go around with bare breasts. They’re always feeding their babies. And when she told them that in our culture men are fascinated with breasts there was an instant of shock. The women burst out laughing. They laughed so hard, they fell on the floor. They said, “You mean, men act like babies?”

Carolyn Latteier, the author of Breasts, The Women’s Perspective on an American Obsession, in a TV program “All about breasts”.

• kitalpa lighten u u knob

• Teh Catholics won’t be happy.

• Is a reference to masturbation allowed by thejournal.ie?

Add New Comment