TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Thursday 20 June, 2013

Confusion reigns over no homecoming for Ireland’s Olympic athletes

There will be no official event for Team Ireland when they arrive back tomorrow afternoon – but no-one is quite sure why.

Image: Julien Behal/PA Wire

MAJOR CONFUSION ABOUNDS this afternoon over why there will be no official homecoming event when Ireland’s athletes return from the London Olympics tomorrow.

Reports in newspapers today suggested that Dublin City Council and the Olympic Council of Ireland were unable to agree on shouldering the costs of an event in Dublin city to honour the athletes.

However the OCI has also said that the majority of athletes want to go straight home once they arrive at Dublin Airport tomorrow afternoon.

Sonia O’Sullivan, Team Ireland’s chef de mission, said that neither she nor the athletes had been consulted about firm plans for a homecoming event.

Speaking on RTE Radio One’s This Week programme this afternoon, O’Sullivan said that a plan had been in place for a long time for athletes to speak at a press conference in Dublin Airport when they arrive back in the country.

When asked if she had ever been involved in any discussions about an event in Dublin city centre, O’Sullivan replied: “Never”.

She said that she had not spoken to all of the Irish athletes but said that the consensus from members of Team Ireland was that they had beeen away from their family and friends for a long time and wanted to get back to their homes.

The press conference at the airport will still go ahead as planned.

“I heard that there were some people trying to organise something [during the week] and so then I asked around what was going on… but it’s one of those things that, I think, everybody needs to want to do it”. She added:

If the performers don’t want to go on the stage, there’s no point doing it.

Junior Minister for Sport Michael Ring said that “we have to respect the wishes of the athletes that they do not want a homecoming”.

Paddy Barnes tweet

Bronze medallist boxer Paddy Barnes tweeted about the homecoming

Taoiseach Enda Kenny has weighed in on the issue and said that he will “respect the wishes” of the athletes, the Irish Times reports. The Taoiseach has proposed holding a reception in Farmleigh House in the Phoenix Park later in the week.

Despite the lack of one major event, thousands of people are expected to turn out to towns around the country to welcome Irish athletes home tomorrow.

Bray will see an open top bus, live music and a fireworks display to welcome boxer Adam Nolan and gold medallist Katie Taylor back to the Wicklow town.

Poll: Would you like to see a homecoming for Irish athletes? >

Live: London 2012 Olympics, day 16 – the final day >

Read: Details of Katie Taylor’s Bray homecoming revealed >

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (78 Comments)

• An elderly British gentleman of 83 arrived in Paris by plane. At the French immigration desk, the man took a few minutes to locate his passport in his carry-on bag. “You have been to France before, Monsieur?” the Immigration officer asked, sarcastically. The elderly gentleman admitted he had been to France previously. “Then you should know well enough to have your passport ready.” The British gentleman says, “The last time I was here, I didn’t have to show it.” “Impossible. The British always have to show their passports on arrival in France!” The elderly gentleman gave the French Immigration Officer a long hard look. Then he quietly explained; “Well, the last time I was here, I came ashore on Juno Beach on D-Day in June 1944, and I couldn’t find any Frenchmen to show it to.”

• If it’s because the athletes all told the OCI and DCC that they were knackered and wanted to see their families, that’s one thing.

If we’re not doing this because nobody will pick up the tab… well, that’s a whole other thing entirely. And I’ve a feeling that the money is the more likely explanation.

• is it not that to most of the athletes ‘home’ is their own town, such as Mullingar for John Joe Nevin, or Bray for Katie Taylor? if i was one of the athletes coming back from being away for so long, whether with or without a medal, i think i would want to go back to where i live, and to be welcomed and celebrate with my family and friends in my homeplace, not be forced to parade down the main streets of Dublin which for the majority of them is not home at all.

Bray had long signalled their intention to have a homecoming event with fireworks, open top bus etc for Katie Taylor on the evening that she returned, and i’m sure other towns are the same. Would they be expected to give this up for DCC to have their event? If it was me returning home i’d be unhappy with my town having to cancel their event just for the councillors of DCC and every TD in the land to get a chance to get their photos taken with me..

• Somebody should ask the athletes if they want one, if they do then grand, if they don’t that’s grand to. Congrats to everybody involved for all your hard work and dedication.

• They did ask them and most wanted to go home to their families. However, I feel sorry for those who won medals, who are now being deprived of a proper national welcome home.

• From what has been reported, the athletes don’t want one. This is a shame in more ways than one -
      1) They recived a huge amount of support over there & this should of been viewed as a way of showing thanks for that support.
      2) With another hard budget looming it would be a great opportunitie for them to show how important sport can be to a country & to leave their funding alone.
      We are talking a few hrs here no more & then they can spend all the time they want with their loved ones. I think its a missed opportunity which they should of grasped with both hands.

• I agree wholeheartedly. The athletes should be asked what they would like, as for the disgraced comment?? disgraced would be being sent home for doping or cheating in some way.. like handling the ball in football.. thats disgrace..

These men and women done themselves and the country proud and have put their heart and souls into their sport amid poor support and funding which they deserve.

If anything the IOC should take this as a sign of good things to come and invest in these people.

• We will finish roughly where gb finished in 1996 its up to up to use our funding, especially lottery funding, the way they did after that. We can easily get into the top thirty and near to twenty.

• Dead right Tom I have been posting comments most of the week about a winning mentality and have bee criticised for it. The prevailing attitude is the taking part that counts .If we are happy with this ok but if we want to win then the old mentality needs to be kicked out .Appoint professional organisers and coaches from outside of Ireland if necessary,then decide what we can afford and channel that funding where we can get the best results.Will this happen probably not because vested interests and cushy jobs for the boys will keep the present disorganised lampoons in power so in four years time we will have this conversation all over again.

• If the athletes want to go home, that’s a good reason not to have an event. Nice idea to invite them to Farmleigh. I think the argument over who would pay for an official homecoming (Dublin City Council or Irish Olympic Committee) is irrelevant.

• Jean DuVal – I don’t think you understand the meaning of the word in English. It is offensive and insulting to a native English speaker.

• If we really want to support our Olympic athletes, then perhaps we should attend the Stadium more often to see our boxers in domestic competitions or Santry stadium to see our track & field etc. I wonder how many people who saw Katie Taylor perform in London will go to see her fight in her next boxing match ? This is the real support our athletes want & deserve. I am guilty myself of not providing this real support, but that I hope to correct this going forward.

• Just wait till the special olympics are over. You will need the army to escort them back with all the gold, silver and bronze they will bring home. Then we can have a true celebration.

• I am sure all the Irish athletes will receive a great welcome and celebration when they walk through their front doors from their families and friends.

• Our athletes are bringing home 5 Olympic medals, this is an achievement which should be celebrated. If more resources were put into sport then maybe our medal count would be higher in the next Olympics. As a nation we need to take competitve sport seriously and it should be encouraged far more in schools – this might also help the current rise in obesity levels if more children and adults were encouraged to participate in sports.

• And there is the difference between the Irish and French. We are proud of all of them we know they all done there best.

• “Dublin City Council and the Olympic Council of Ireland were unable to agree on shouldering the costs of an event in Dublin city to honour the athletes” good ole Irish always make a drama out of something simple.

• mcbab 12/08/12 #

What about waiting until the special Olympics are over and then having an event in Farmleigh honouring ALL the athletes?

• I think the team have done ireland proud but I find it kinda ironic that having trained for years to push themselves beyond their physical and performance limits that they’re supposedly too drained to submit themselves to an afternoon of being lauded by the very people they’re representing and whose taxes have allowed them pursue their dreams.
    Team Ireland is surely not just about the athletes but also about the 4 million plus people on this island
    There’s a debt of gratitude owed on both sides and a celebration of some sort is in order

• Just remember (trolls), that in many events the “losing” times / scores this year would have seen gold medals in previous Olympics.

Anyone capable of competing at that level deserves recognition!

• This is not acceptable…. No official reception but the politicians will spend 9,000 for a day trip… the Athletes who are out flying the tricolour are fantastic ambassadors for our Nation The represented us with great pride and dedication and honour Well done lads Yea deserve better recognition congratulations to all of you

• “Members of the public are requested not to come to Dublin Airport on Monday but to wait until the Wednesday event.”
    That’s the line tonight. Fair enough.
    Bray beach-front is going to be amazing at around 5!

• On RTE earlier , mick dowling stated he spoke with Pete Taylor, he states he has never been asked or approached about an official homecoming, if that’s the case how many other haven’t been asked?
    I think Sonia has also come out saying she has never been approached either!!
    If it is the case that DCC and Olympic council can’t share the cost then it’s disgraceful ,,,,,,,
    From a personal point of view the Irish athletes have been amazing,
    To qualify for the biggest sporting event in the world and to compete has to be the biggest achievement in it self
    Getting a gold , silver, bronze must surely be the bigger bonus .

If Enda Kenny and the like’s have an official bash in Farmleigh , then that’s fair enough but that’s not an event the public can take part in, for most of us that would mean watching from our sitting rooms!
    If the athletes have decided they just to go straight home to their families , I can fully understand that, it’s been a long road for most of them but there a another little part of me feeling ” an official homecoming for the fans, so all the fans could so how proud they are, would probably only take another few hours! Give all the kids of our future Ireland something more to inspire to !

• Laughed at by who ?? I only hear praise for the Irish fans in soccer and boxing and all our other sports. The only people that are laughing at us is people like yourself and I’m willing to put up with that

• Ok, I am as proud of the effort that the athletes have put in but I feel that the Irish public really need to grow up as regards when and what should be celebrated.

In this instance we performed moderately at best and I would think it completely inappropriate to parade the athletes through the streets to feed the need for some immature ‘fans’ to go out wearing the green, gettin’ pissed and generally acting like children. That’s what’s embarrassing.

Seriously, I thought Euro ’88 and Italia ’90 would have seen us grow out of this behaviour?

• Its understandable team Ireland would want to rush home to their families & friends after spending a month away from their loved ones, but its another thing for Farmleigh House & our selfish Government to stick its nose in and hijack our heros official homecoming, “a photo op” for Kenny and Co, being the source of this truly ignorant decision made by Enda and his Wife. The Good People of Ireland should now make their voices heard by condemning such selfishness.

• Well done katie taylor but a national home coming is a bit much. Im very surprised at the wagonist councillors and TDs by not organising one

• not a great message to send out to the youth and to future Olympians, sorry but we barely have the funding to get you there and we certainly not have the funding to throw a celebration if you actually do well. to be honest, its only a silly headline to steer us away from the truth, we don’t have the bobs!!! disgraceful if you ask me, even Grenada will be celebrating their first ever medal.

the last time we got five was 1956, come on like bad excuse, ever country will have a celebration but our poor athletes are tired, who the hell are the gullible ones? a weeks rest should suffice…

• Well after all the hot air of the past few days on this site, RTE report that an event will be held on Wednesday.

• Try this http://www.medalspercapita.com.

1 medal per 900,000 people that puts us 18th in the world. Better than most and better than you know who.

• I commend the decision makers behind the decision to NOT have a celebration. Ireland hardly made a mark at the Olympics except for Katie Taylor and to parade disgraced athletes in front of the masses of people in the street would be silly.

• How are the athletes “disgraced”? We are a small country and maybe we need to do a better job of funding our athletes, but referring to them as “disgraced’ is insulting both to them and the thousands of fans who supported them.

• Michele – By strict definition, the Irish athletes have, yes… been “disgraced” — This is not meant to be an insult. It is the definition of their performance… disgraceful. Look it up in the dictionary. I am not Irish so I can be objective. That said, the French are dancing in the streets :)

• Representing your country is an achievement in itself. You are trolling.

• Disgraced.?

Have you never heard of the Olympic Spirit.

Yes, I’d like them to have done better, and we are definitely behind other nations, but the athletes we sent all did the best they could and you can’t ask for more than that.

Your post is more of a disgrace to be honest.

• Just so you are aware France have won far less medals in this Olympics than they did in 2008. Is that a disgrace? All of the athletes can be proud of their performance’s.

• Per head of population, Ireland are bringing home more medals than Team GB – hardly a disgrace by any standards.

• Irish organisation and transparency at it’s best.
      Well done

• Again jean you show yourself to be a simpleton and a troll we have done better than we have in a long time every athlete did their best in Ireland we celebrate effort and pride pride is obviously an alien emotion to you get back under the stone you crawl out from under

• @Jean: Disgraceful in my book would be something like Thierry Henry scoring a goal with his hand. I’m not one to hold a grudge!! Now where did i put that vudu doll?

Thinking about your comment jean didn’t France have a lot of disgraceful football players in the world cup?

The Irish Olympic team at least respected their county by trying their best.

I can now see why you use the word disgraceful. In your case Its a French association word to your athletes for when you lose. Irish people tend to respect the fact the our athletes try their best.

• Umm.. a whole host of athletes who are good enough to be even considered for the Olympics, regardless of where they were placed ,deserve to be honoured. It seems it is unclear though whether they want this event themselves. Let it up to the consensus of the athletes, but if the will is there, the pittance required to host some sort of homecoming should be found. No need for grand set pieces or fireworks, but a welcome home. I have no doubt a fair crowd will descend on Dublin airport anyway. Also, whatever the outcome here, let’s get it right the next time so that our Para Olympians get the welcome home they deserve, and want, in a few weeks.

• How many Olympic medals have you? Be it gold,silver or bronze an Olympic medal is an Olympic medal. To say somebody is a disgrace for not winning gold is just ignorant to the amount of effort and preparation that these athletes put into their respective sports.

Sure everyone wants to win gold but there can only be one winner and unfortunately there is always more than one competing for it, just because the lads didn’t get gold doesn’t mean their any less the athelete. Just to get to this level needs a Trojan performance.

I and everyone I know is very proud of the performance team Ireland put into the Olympics.

Back home to France with you and push your trolling comments and see how far that’ll get you.

• Down to the boxers again to bring in the medals well done athletes for completing the race u were involved in prob the least we could expect because we are a small country bla bla bla same old excuse

• what about the 2 bronze and silver the boxing team brought home as well,cant really disagree with u 2 much about the rest but aboxing team of 6 that bring back four medals are hardly a disgrace

• 205 countries took part in the Olympics! out of them less then 90 won medals! considering Ireland’s size and population we have done very very well.

We actually won the same amount of gold as Canada! who have a huge amount of funding. Imagine how much we would win if we had the same funding for our athletes.

Well done to all the medal winners and athletes, they gave it their all for Ireland.

• “Jean DuVal” that’s a great made up French name Mr.Troll LOL! Vous êtes un menteur!

• Apologies if anyone though I excluded boxers in my comment. They are well and truly athletes and were included in the term, I just didn’t want to list out all the different sports :)

• Your lot keep turning up at victory ceremonies ww1ww2 (why ) what are you celerbrating . the French have always been a laughing stock. Not to mention football / tour de France
      A—- rate nation

• @Gene DuVet , Branleur!!!!!!

• Shut up kermit ya troll

• Good on you there Jean! Don’t listen to these sheeple! I’m Irish and I feel we have been disgraced.

• Ireland 1g 1s 3b population of 4m
      India 0g 2s 4b population 1.2bn!

In no way have the athletes that we sent over disgraced our country, themselves or anybody else. And I am not saying that the Indian athletes have…… I just wanted to put it in perspective!

I think the athletes should go back to there home places to celebrate it is where they have received most of their support!

• @Jean, you do realise that per capita Ireland did considerable better then France? :-)

• we should celebrate the medal winners and the atheletes that set Personal or Seasonal bests in the Olympics but to celebrate somebody who finishes 20th and is delighted or somebody who finishes 5th in her heat and a full 15 metres behind the winner then claims this was her plan all along and in her opinion exceded her goals is crazy. Dont forget our football team played in the Euros and all we talked about was the fans but if you gave out about the team you were called a whinger and we should be happy to be talking part. Celebrate winning but equally dont just except failure.

• Shoe Bop 12/08/12 #

http://shoehasnews.blogspot.ie/?view=magazine

My winners and losers of the London 2012 Olympics. Check it and comment!

• John 12/08/12 #

LAURA REYNOLDS HAS expressed her satisfaction after finishing 20th in the women’s 20km walk today, saying she was “absolutely delighted” with the outcome.

That is actually what one of the Irish atheletes said……….

Humiliatingly enbarrassing, the only people in the world who celebrate losing and losers

• John you have alot of hatred inside you, i would seek some help. I wish you luck. You need it.

• John 12/08/12 #

I have no hatred inside me, not sure where you see that…strange. I just think its embarrassing to see athletes ‘delighted’ to lose, its a phenomena only seen with Irish athletes. I also think its humiliatingly embarrassing to see people applaud losing or celebrating coming last in anything…especially athletes. Only in Ireland.

• I see the hatred in your comments….. I bet you are a sore loser.

• Just perusing some of the articles on Journal.ie and it appears “John” has been trolling for at least two days straight now, he must have no life at all. I suggest we all ignore him in the hope that this encourages him to seek out some actual human contact, which must be a completely alien concept to him.

• John 12/08/12 #

Typical predictable ‘trolling’ replies that some throw around when they cant actually debate or reply to a comment…Just retreating to their corner with personal insults to a strange on a screen. Sad insecure Irish attitude, like little children hiding in the corner, unable to take criticism when it comes to the very unique culture of celebrating failure and defeatist attitude that just taking part and coming last is enough. Grow up you imbeciles.

• John 12/08/12 #

There are always a few insecure Irish village idiots…its tiring, stop being so bloody backward

• What about Eddie the Eagle

• Meh !! Don’t mean to be cynical but the only real truth here is that the city can’t afford it and the rest is just clever PR spin to prevent any backlash !! I’m sure some athletes would like to go home but I’m also sure that some athletes would like to celebrate after all the hard work they have done!! bit manipulative on the governments part if you ask me! Anyway what better way to prevent this being a negative story the to say it was athletes idea :)

• What an ungrateful bunch,
    They were funded by the Irish people to
    Attend and they should have good manners to show up for whatever lame
    Event homecoming is planned.

Add New Comment