TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 5 °C Thursday 23 May, 2013

Ireland is Crap at Planning Map of the Day

The at-a-glance report card for local authorities’ planning departments. Not ONE scored an ‘A’ or a ‘B’.

AN TAISCE HAS published a roundly critical precis this morning of the planning system in local councils over the past decade and beyond.

As detailed in this article, Donegal was rated the worst for its planning decisions – but only 3 out of a total of 34 councils were given over 70 per cent out of 100.

To make it easy for you, this map from An Taisce gives an idea of how dismal the report card for local authority planning department is. Not one council scored either an ‘A’ or a ‘B’ grade:

planning

The 9 worst councils in Ireland’s planning system>

Read next:

Comments (46 Comments)

• I haven’t seen so many d’s. , e’s and f’s since my leaving cert results

• Clare CoCo-mind boggling ineptitude.
    Responsible for the rape of my hometown by developers during the boom, and not satisfied with that, permitted the construction of some of the most godawful one-offs west of Albania.

• Wow!

Fingal (home of Ray Burke and Charlie H) and South County Dublin (home of all those fields on which money was paid) are among the best rated local authorities in the country.

One wonders what was going on elsewhere.

• I am actually shocked that fingal got a c….really??? The coco with the largest urban sprawl, and most building on green field sites….services built after estates…and sometimes not at all….’new’ villages built miles away from train stations…
      I have to wonder wot was going on in longford and leitrim too, there are some obviously stupid planning decisions made there too…stupid to the point of suspicious.

• I notice Kilkenny/Carlow is included in this list of fraudulent/incompetent local authorities. Well Herr Hogan, I’m wondering if this is part of the reason you stopped the independent investigations into planning irregularities at several authorities, including your own constituency? Hopefully there’s a principled investigative reporter that might chase up your involvement, if any, in local developments! Many seem to interpret your strong-arm tactics as that of a bully, but looking closer at you methinks the man doth protest too much?

• Is this Benchmarked ?

• I know it’s wrong to laugh but it really is hilarious to look at. That said it does confirm the beliefs I have regarding the Irish planning system and it is good in an odd way to have my beliefs confirmed.

• Reg 16/04/12 #

No surprise about Donegal. Some of the most scenic countryside in the country has been polluted by holiday homes, ribbons of mansion along country roads and sprawling towns like Letterkenny. A real shame.

• And these are the Councils the Troika have ordered us to hand our money over to. Well they can feck off!

• Give it a rest, Jesus. Do you ever sleep, eat, live, have a healthy life? Non stop whining. You will make yourself sick.

• You must be joking toorkeel I’m having a ball! Days off aka “keep manners on your lot days” ;)

• If this is your idea of having a ball, I suggest you go watch a funny movie, meet funny people or simply get out for a while. Thankfully your idea of having a ball and mine are very different thank god. You don’t need to “keep manners” on me as you put it. I think its “your lot” that need manners after having witnessed “your lots” violent behaviour at an otherwise peaceful protest last weekend in Galway

• What are you talking about violent protests? Are you talking about when I torched the university? Or maybe it was all the cars I set alight on my walk back to the bus? Or maybe it was all the Gardaí I injured and sent to hospital?

No I reckon you’d want to get real. What happened in Galway does not constitute a violent protest. ;)

• I’m nominating you as leader, when this imminent revolution begins Reada! I for one will follow you!!!

• Of course Reada, I forgot you only see with one jaundiced eye. My apologies. The protesters in masks and balaclavas who decided to break through barriers, the ones who dragged a young Garda along the ground. The violent minority which you are obviously happy to support and maybe even lend a hand to. Not the vast majority who attended to protest peacefully. Your type won’t be happy until you have another Greece on your hands, widespread violence….be careful what you wish for! Your minority are not democratic, the exact opposite in fact. That’s why thankfully you are a small minority and will remain so.

• Man up toorkeel. Man up! The only Garda I saw on the ground was being helped up by a protester. The Gardaí would want to start thinking about who they’re meant to be protecting. I told them to go in and arrest Eamon Gilmore. Politely, of course!

Mike. It will have to be a bloodless Revolution on our part anyway. I’m a pacifist and won’t kill anyone. Toorkeel likes to test my patience but he’s safe as houses! Perhaps an unfortunate analogy given our current situation but I promise I won’t hurt him! ;)

#IrishRevolution

• Wierd comeback and quite an odd statement but anyway Reada. It’s not about manning up, you obviously have zero respect for the law, that’s pretty obvious and have no problem with back slapping violence, that’s your look out. Considering your apparent family tree of Gardai, your viewpoint is strange…

• If I hadn’t seen and heard what I did I’d still be a fool too. Don’t worry about it toorkeel.

• I never painted u as anything. I grew up in a one-off house on a road with one-off houses.

so u are telling me that the 50,000 one – offs built in the past decade and the 170,000 permitted over the same period are ‘bailte’ ..come – on you are delusional man! It is simply super low density sprawl and middle class flight. Have a look around.

Also have a look at Table 42 of Census 2006. Prior to 1970 there were 155,000 one-offs. Since 1970 about 280,000 have been built. This has nothing whatsoever to do with a ‘traditional settlement pattern’. Its the widespread availability of the private car.

http://www.cso.ie/en/media/csoie/census/census2006results/volume6/Volume%206%20Housing%202006.pdf

• This map can also be used to find the most corrupt county councillors out there accepting brown envelopes.

• @Paid i wondered when the mythical ‘Clachan’ – the ‘Atlantis’ of the one-off housing debate would rear its head!

So, go on to http://www.myplan.ie/viewer/
    in the layer list click ‘address points’ and zoom in

Show me where that ‘traditional settlement pattern’ is?

My ‘bias’ is available on my website http://www.oneoffireland.wordpress.com. I have plenty more than one-line to say there.

The report by An Taisce is strongly supports Ireland’s ‘traditional settlement pattern’ – our dying small rural villages.

• cimada 16/04/12 #

Crap ha crap at everything not easy being Ireland!

• And this is a surprise because?????

• @Paid, Jesus you would think that people are proposing clearances, rather than at least some kind on planning of resources. Could you cut the hyperbole? As far as development in that last few years Ireland looks like it has measles. Do you hate your ‘neighbours’ that much?

• Love the headline! ;)

• Im surprised galway isnt a Z. Worst trafficproblem in ireland.

• “Show me where that ‘traditional settlement pattern’ is?”

There’s loads of them. A local one here for example E488216, N721677

Go to any of the Aran Islands. Have a look around. Very very few holiday homes. And next to nobody living in villages or towns.
    So you tell me where the Islanders should go live on your map.

I know that there has been abuse of planning by landowners, and I don’t defend it.
    But not only in rural Ireland.

There is no history of ‘village’ living in large parts of Connacht and west Munster and Ulster.
    There is no ‘village’ between Spiddal and Roundstone for example, but thousands of people live there,
    as they always have. Where are they supposed to go?

And it’s not fair to paint those of us who live in the bailte as unsustainable irresponsible selfish people blighting the landscape, anymore than it is acceptable to blame the inhabitants of soulless unfinished housing estates in Leinster for their environment.

• I wonder if centralising the power of planning, taking it from Local Government and giving to Central would make any difference, the further a county is from Dublin it gets worse anyway! Brilliant photo to help visualise the extent of the problem.

• Why does the West of Ireland always seem to get the short end of the stick?

• Begrudgy gets my vote for best comment of the day on this topic

• I look at this map and a thought occurs to me, that the counties marked in red are also the same counties that returned FF candidates in the last election. Coincidence?

• I’m sure that An Taisce would agree that the North would score ‘higher’, therefore keeping to the island pattern of the most planted Anglicized counties being the ‘best’.

Ulster and Leinster tending to conform more to Anglo-Saxon notions of good planning.

I acknowledge Donegal was planted, but I suspect further investigation would show an east/west split there.

What never appears on An Taisce’s ‘town and countryside’ radar is the notion of a valid indigenous settlement pattern, which is a shame.

• get off your hobby horse! – the results used independent data sources. Park your bias and read it.

• You are spot on.

If a tourist wants to see real unspoilt Irish countryside go to Northern Ireland.

If they wan’t to go bungalow spotting…go to the west coast. This is why tourism is dying a death in these areas.

• The day we depend on tourism to decide where to live is the day I’ll let ye call my country Ireland Inc (Yuck!)!

This country used to be covered in houses. The housing Market that brought this country to its knees wasn’t one off housing in the country – it was developers with politicians in their pockets!

• @ Reada Obviously never been to Cavan so…..

Being an objector to a property tax I take it you probably favour irrisponsible planning as a source of council income?

• yes Reada the country used to be covered with mud thatched cottages with people living in dire poverty, squalour and worked the land..they didnt live in 250 sq. m houses, with 2 cars, washing machines, dish washers, broadband, telephone, ambulance, fire brigade, paved roads, postal services, bin collection..etc etc

apples and oranges

• One-off Ireland (no bias there then!)

I did read it. And how and why you think that I’ve problem with independent data sources is a mystery to me.

I’m commenting on the story, which says ‘dismal’.

Even you might agree that this is a subjective comment, and worthy of challenge.

The point I’m making is that An Taisce do not have any space in their vision for a traditional Irish settlement pattern. If that’s a ‘hobby horse’, then it’s one that is relevant to the sttory.

I await your arguments against this view , or why not go for the one-line killer response?

• ” traditional Irish settlement pattern’?

You mean ‘clachans’? Groups of 30-40 houses or did you mean something else? E.E Evans study of 19th century settlement patterns in Donegal found that “the single isolated farm is a relatively recent form of settlement”

Studies of Irish Rural Settlement, James H. Johnson, Geographical Review, Vol. 48, No. 4 (Oct., 1958)

Or did you mean scullogs? ‘Nicholas Taaffe, writing in 1766 (and primed by Charles O’Conor of Belanagare in the middle of the grazing county of Roscommon) also lamented the decline of the ‘scullogs’: – communities of industrious housekeepers who in my own time herded together in large villages and cultivated the lands everywhere,

Settlement in eighteenth-century ireland ed Terry Barry, Routledge 2000

So what “traditional Irish settlement pattern” should An Taisce have in thier vison? 18th Century, 19th Century or 20th Century bungalow blight?

• Well Richard I’m open for debate.

I get the feeling though, that because you refer to 18th Century bungalow blight, that you don’t much like us and how we live, and how our forefathers lived.

A highland-type clearance would be in order, I suppose.

• Hi Páid planning and settlement patterns should be based on social needs and the behaviour of the population and should take environmental and especially landscape protectino into account. We should base planning on “tradition”. Why should the settlement patterns of the neoltihic Ceide fields be used as a model for 21st century planning?

I have no problem with someone living in the countryside if they live and work there. I do have a problem with the speculation that alot of farmers were taking part in the last 10 years, by selling sites for profit. We now see the consequences of this all over the irish countryside but particularly on the western seaboard. Alot of people living in one off houses drive to work, often long distances to towns and cities and need to drive to schools and shops. The provision of rural public transport is alot more expensive when people are dispersed here, there and everywhere as opposed in more centralised clusters in towns, villages or hamlets. It is more expensive to supply all sorts of goods and services with this dispersed settlement pattern. The countryside had alot of people living there in the past as there was more jobs in agricultural labour. The mechanization of agriculture has done away with alot this work and people left. There are of course other reasons for the exodus too.

I would disagree strongly that the strips of houses and giant one off houses is a “traditional settlement pattern” but one of the last 10 development mad years.

• Apologies my comment should have read “We should not base planning on “tradition””.

Add New Comment