TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 15 °C Tuesday 18 June, 2013

Irish citizens not recognised as ‘native’ English speakers in Thailand

Citizens from the Republic will have to take a test to prove they can speak English in order to teach the language in Thailand.

A typical kindergarten English class
Image: seetefl via Creative Commons/Flickr

THE TEACHER’S COUNCIL of Thailand (TCT) has updated its list of recognised native English language speakers – and the Republic of Ireland hasn’t  made the cut.

Under the new rules introduced earlier this year, citizens hailing from only five countries can automatically be considered native English speakers and therefore be entitled to TCT provisional teaching permit – those countries are named as: “The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, The United States of America, Commonwealth of Australia, New Zealand and Canada”.

As the Republic isn’t included on the list, Irish citizens (along with South African citizens) wishing to teach English as a foreign language in Thailand must take a TOEIC test to prove their proficiency.

The fee for TOEIC tests vary from country to country, however the Center for Professional Assessment in Bangkok charges Baht 1,500.00 (€40) per test. As prospective teachers would typically need to take a number of tests (in order to prove listening, reading, writing and speaking skills) the costs mount up.

Read: ¿Lo entiendes? Michael D enrols in Spanish language course>

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (114 Comments)

• So apparently Northerners have better native English than Southerners…wait til they hire someone from Fermanagh :-)

• Since when does American English count as actual English.

• To be a nurse in Australia you have to take a similar exam. I don’t think it’s to do with them not recognising Ireland as native English speaking country but more of a money making racket. But either way it’s ridiculous.

• So nursing in Australia is another example where Irish people have to prove that they are native English speakers by taking an additional exam ( that’ll probably involve expense) that Canadians, Yanks, Kiwis and Brits don’t need to take?

I’m sure plenty of other examples abound the world over.

Clearly, this is something that our Department of Foreign Affairs should be rectifying by informing these countries of the fact that English is the native language of the Irish.

• Looks like their teaching council is money grabbing, just like ours!

• The South African one isn’t unreasonable. Only a small minority of South Africans speak English as their first language, with Zulu, Xhosa and Afrikaans all being more common.

Whatever about the official status of Irish here, it’s strange that we would be treated differently from Canada, when the proportion of French speakers in Canada is much higher and it is also an official language.

• It’s because there has been a far higher proportion of Irish non-teachers with no certification or a weekend certification, and who don’t know their ar*e from their elbow in their supposed area of expertise. The schools and other parts of the industry haven’t imposed regulation, and the government is sick of the complaints from ripped-off students. Pity the teacher has to bear the costs, but regulation of some sort was sorely needed.

• Chris, that’s a load of nonsense! You aren’t a Saffie, are you?

• I blame cork.

• Great to see the Department of Foreign Affairs was keeping an eye on this situation and inform the Department of Education of the new circumstances to ensure that our interests were protected as native speakers :-/ You do have to wonder what they’re doing sometimes!

• They don’t do anything, they’re extremly unhelpful. The Dept of Foreign Affairs are only interested in getting investment into Ireland, but seem to have their blinkers on with the other actual responsibilities of diplomacy.Basically, the mercs and percs set enjoy brown nosing wealthy clients, but don’t want to know or care about concerns of ordinary citizens

I read about one Irish guy who was in Egypt during the revolution and how he was horrified to discover the Irish embassy had no contigency plan fior evacuating its citizens. They actually told him, with a sneer, that “you’ll just have to stock up on supplies from a shop”.Funny how the shops were all closed, and gun battles were raging. All the other European countries had desks and stands set up at the airport and docks to get their citizens out.

I too have found that dealing with Dept of Foreign Affairs people is very un-irish; there’s an attitude of contempt, a sort of “who are you?” sneer, an arrogance probably inherited from the Bertie and Harney days, that hasn’t left our diplomatic outposts given that the staff are for nearly five years. While we’ve loosened ourselves of the delusions of grandeur that were rife in Celtic tiger years,our lads and lassies abroad still probably fancy themselves as little princlings.F— em is what I say. Eventually they’ll have to come home, and it’ll be a hard landing for them all. Pompous good for nothings

• wasn’t there an article about educating their kids, a number of weeks back claiming huge amounts of money for educating them abroad?
      Think they need a good kick up the A%$e or clip round the ear!!
      Should we not charge any people from these countries that put unfair charges like this obviously stupid one on people entering this country to level the playing field and then repay our own who have been charged these stupid fees!
      I for one am sooooo sick of trying to listen to doctors ect that NOT JUST I can’t understand!
      In theory something like this makes sense but only if your language is not actually english so i say what goes around comes around!!

• It may be a money racket, but any English teacher afraid of an English exam shouldn’t be teaching it. End of story

• Me speak no good English? Thats umposible..!!

• Cpm 28/08/12 #

Based on the quality of English from a large percentage of the people commenting on this site, I’d say it’s a good call by the Thai’s

• I have a degree in English and a number of TEFL and TESOL qualifications, and if I have to take this test when i move in Thailand in 5 weeks it is exactly a money making racket!

• Just wait until you see the standard of some of the teachers out there. It may make you change your mind. The gobsh**es and chancers claiming to be teachers are the ones that are ripping you off.

• Oh I agree, the amount of people passing off as teachers over there who can barely spell their name is crazy. But surely with all the papers to show I have done all my training in teaching they can believe that I can speak English to the required level. It should be either/or, either produce sufficient qualifications or do the test.

• Unfortunately, many schools worldwide don’t check qualifications, whether valid or even existent, and many teachers simply lie about their certification. They don’t regulate, because regulation would push up costs and these schools tend be about eaking out profits from tight margins.

• But its not just Irish teachers that do that. People from all around the world do. Just makes no sense that Ireland is not on the list but places like Canada and Wales are when they use other languages a lot more than the Irish use Irish.

• True, but like I said, Ireland’s gone from having a very good EFL name in the nineties to having an extremely bad name today. The standards of other nationalise has remained steady in comparison.

• Karswell 28/08/12 #

Nationalities.

• Actually I think I know what might have caused this.

A guy I know is out there now, and his mumbling unintelligibility and general lack of diction (even when sober) may have created an impression that has been extended to the rest of you.

• The testing of teaching ability is already in place with international teaching standards such as in the CELTA.; and Ireland already has the ACELS/Dept of Education accredited CELT to rival the CELTA (though that even isn’t always fully recognised abroad.)

And so this really has little to do with the Irish language being our first official one (I doubt anyone Thailand or in the other countries where this is a problem is checking that) or is it to with our pronunciation (few learners, officials or schools can tell regional English accents apart anyways). Thisis really an issue of national recognition. I had the same problem a few years ago when Indonesian schools wouldn’t process my application due to the fact Ireland wasn’t part of the five recognised native speaking English countries. No one had told them we spoke english, or explained our legal separation from the UK. A bit shocking for a nation with such an investment and history in the English language.

The issue is the Irish state, and department of foreign affairs doesn’t promote Ireland has an English speaking/teaching nation to the extent that other countries do e.g. The British Council. Or to the level of general recognition that other countries have promoted themselves to internationally, e.g. Hollywood and the US state department, the Goethe institute for Germany, French embassies and their food and cultural programs. The confusion over our political and cultural status doesn’t support or highlight our legacy in the English language. Sure we’re known for Guinness, fighting, pubs, st patricks day, leprechauns , U2 and “fighting the Brits” and westlife in some major markets, but little else. And these are tired, old stereotypes largely created by a diaspora a century ago. Where are our embassy supported language schools? I’ve heard of Irish trade fairs to China but I’ve seen little state promotion on the issue of our language or culture abroad. Trinity is part of the TEFL world through Trinity college Cambridge, yet Trinity college Dublin is the third oldest university in our Isles and Dublin a phenomenal city for it’s contribution to language and literature. Our accent and Hiberno-english can be no better or worse than most other English dialects, in fact that all adds to the richness that is English and ours often has the benefits of close to American pronounciation yet with a varied knowledge of US, UK and other Vocabularies. Our education standards should attest to the rest. Our writers are one of the things all Irish men of our various histories and creeds can be unequivocally proud of yet we haven’t developed this reputation as world standard, and so too our standing with world universities and ESL teachers or as a English learning destination.

I’ve travelled extensively and taught ESL in the UK, Europe, South Asia and South America over the last few years and on the whole we are either a mystery (Does Ireland speak English?) or part of the UK to most of the people I’ve met around the world. Island of saints and scholars we are not.

• Totally on the same page as you…..got soo tired of explaining I was not English or American in many parts of the world I simply stopped trying…the department of foreign simply seems to exist to guarantee a pension to political appointees……people know where Iceland us in most places but mention Ireland and you’re met with blank stares…very frustrating

• Bunracht na hEireann: Article 8. 1. The Irish language as the national language is the first official language.
    8. 2. The English language is recognised as a second official language.

So, you see how the Thais might have formed their opinion?

• This is good, despite the way it sounds. EFL schools tend not to vet their teachers well enough, so you can end up with unqualified pretenders passing themselves off as teachers without much knowledge of the mechanics of English. Lower standards mean lower pay. All teachers should minimally have a “respectable” qualification and should be able to prove that they understand grammar. Otherwise it’s just half-ars*d.

• Agree totally with you :)

• It’s a good point about minimal qualifications for ESL teaching, Karswell – teaching really isn’t as easy as some might think. However, the TOEIC isn’t a teaching qualification – it only measures a person’s ability to communicate in English. So if a school requires its teachers to be native speakers with an approved teaching qualification that means a person would have to sit the TOEIC *and* a take part in a training course. Expensive stuff!

• Karswell 28/08/12 #

@ Jennifer – it isn’t fair that the teacher has to pay for this out of her/his own pocket, it should be the school’s responsibility to maintain a minimum standard industry-wide. But they don’t. In most countries, you don’t need any qualifications or certification to set yourself up as a teacher or as a school, and those countries that do have minimum requirements rarely enforce them. Every industry needs some form of regulation to ensure a minimum level of quality. Without this it’s the students and the skilled teachers who suffer.

• I know – some schools don’t enforce the need for qualifications and it does a disservice to the students (who, after all, are usually paying quite a lot of money for the service), as well as meaning teachers get paid less and work in worse conditions.

You raise an interesting point about who should pay for the English proficiency test. If English isn’t a person’s native language then they would have to provide for their language classes and the test, which seems fair enough. If a person’s native language is English (as is the case with most Irish people) then they obviously won’t need language classes… and paying for a test to prove you can speak English just seems ridiculous.

• Market forces decide it seems. If the test costs more than the job would bring in, people wouldn’t take the tests. Overall there must be a benefit if people are still willing to go through the process. If they want more teachers to apply they could easily suspend this seemingly poorly conceived testing process. Obviously there are enough people applying that they feel comfortable that they can hit them with this surcharge and still get enough applicants. Deffo frustrating though…

• Karswell 28/08/12 #

@ Jennifer – late reply. I’d disagree with you on your suggestion that only non-native speakers should have to take and to pay for the competence exam. I’d far rather see a situation where anyone who applies for an English language teaching position must take the exam. As for the matter of payment, I’d follow on from what the commenter above has said, it may be unfair to expect the teacher to pay for the exam themselves, but on the other hand I wouldn’t be against this if it deterred chancers from bluffing their way into a job they’re not capable of doing. As I wrote below, I’d be very interested to see a cross-section of Irish people taking the exam, and the grade they would be rewarded. there’s an assumption here that there is no chance whatsoever that a native-English speaker and self-proclaimed teacher wouldn’t achieve an almost perfect score. I’m not at all sure that such an assumption is valid. It is possible that there may be in fact a small minority of failing grades. Think global, act local? If I was you? In comparison to?

• Would have Loved to see a D4 reaction to this as they read it…

• I’ll hazard a guess based on my time living in SoCoDu…

“OMG, totes not impressed by this focking discrimination loike! But Doddy will pay my, loike, fare there anyway so it’s no biggie. Not as if I actually, loike, need to teach or anything. And I’m only going because of the Full Moon Porty anyway which will be totes amazeballs!”

• Lol @ Ryan, worst part is while reading it, i did it in a D4 accent.

• Jaysus dats mad like! Sure i taught my english wos grand like.

• Our Constitution, proclaiming Irish to be our first official language, was first written in ENGLISH and subsequently translated into Irish which gives a little bit of perspective on its status even then.

• Go Raibh….l. Forget it

• I think it is a good thing that the Thai authorities are enforcing stricter guidelines with regards the recognition of English speaking teachers. The role of a teacher in Thailand is quite a respected one, it should not be available to all and sundry just because you happen to speak the language.
    However despite what Bunracht na hEireann, may state, English is our primary language, it is the first language of the majority of people, and the day to day language for most, if not all business carried out within the land. Dept of Foreign Affairs and consulate in Bangkok should be pushing the TCT on this point.

• Why shouldn’t you have to take a test to teach it as a foreign language . Not every native speaker has good grammar or syntax, and not every native speaker would make a good teacher . I don’t see a problem with this at all

• If you going to teach, you should be a qualified teacher. That’s it. I can’t work as a physiotherapist just because I can walk, run and lift things. An English speaker is not automatically an English teacher.

• . . . and a qualified teacher is not necessarily a good teacher.

• @ Sean – An unqualified teacher is not a teacher. Not everyone with a driving license is a good driver, but as a general rule it’s safe to assume that a person with a driving license is more likely to be a better driver than a person who doesn’t have a driving license.

• censored 28/08/12 #

The same applies to the other native English speaking nationalities. I think you’re missing the point. This is not about teaching qualifications, but simply about which nations apparently have to prove they speak English natively.

• Karswell 28/08/12 #

It’s clearly not fair, but Irish EFL teachers are suffering from their own success. In the 90s, many of the Irish EFL teachers were fully qualified teachers, usually with a Bachelor’s degree and HDip – they were fully trained teachers with a knowledge if their subject and if teaching methods. This tailed off during the boom years, and now the market is full of people claiming to be teachers but without any teaching knowledge or even competence in the language. I’ve been involved in this business, and still ave many links to it. I’m not criticizing the Irish as a people, I’m one if them myself, but the two nationalities swamping the industry with people who are incompetent are Ireland and South Africa. It’s dragging down standards and forcing the skilled teachers to accept lower pay levels and lower working conditions. This exam is no long-term solution, is a botch-job fix for a larger problem of an unregulated industry. , but, as payment of the exam fee does not guarantee a passing grade, it might hopefully make people think twice about thinking TEFL is money for old rope.
      I’d also be very interested to take a group of random Irish people and get them to take this competency exam. People here seem to be assuming that, as native speakers if English, the exam is just a formality without any possibility of failure. It would be very interesting to see if that is in fact true, or if there is a significant failure rate for native speakers. It wouldn’t surprise me to be honest. I think many people have a false sense if entitlement towards this profession, to the point that they equate it to manual unskilled labour. This is quite insulting to those people who ave spent years studying and improving their skills; they are trained professionals.

• So, someone from Co. Fermanagh is recognised but someone from Co. Leitrim isn’t!! I’d say it’s merely an oversight by the Thailand Teaching Council. Lots of people abroad, even often those who should know better, think Ireland is part of the UK and get confused over the ‘Northern Ireland’ tag.
    It’s up to the Dept of Foreign Affairs to get their finger out and actually do something about it!

• @Karswell
    That’s exactly what I mean, it Is an insult to imagine that simply because you are a native speaker entitles you to teach it as a foreign language. I’m only seventeen, but I would like to think I am good at English, I read a lot, certainly more than most of my peers, and I got an A in higher level English in the Junior Cert, but there is no way I would consider myself at the level of being able to each it to a non native speaker. Besides the actual linguistic knowledge required, teaching itself is an art in my opinion, which needs to be learned, and is very rarely an inherent ability.

• I guess, like, there is a bunch, of like, lots, of Americans, teaching…stuff….to like loads of dudes, and shit. lucky Thais’ …..

• Correct me if I’m wrong, but is that not a case that just Ireland has non English language as official 1st language from mentioned group countries? I suppose everyone in right mind knows that Irish are no worse speakers than these others, but maybe this is how they based that decision? Also I think they shoukd do test for all nationalities who want to teach english there, no exception. That will ensure good standard and remove chancers.

• ribbons 29/08/12 #

It doesn’t explain the American situation. There is no official language declared for the USA and in theory you could only speak Spanish (as some do in the States) and would not have to take the language test. It sounds like they’re really only interested in teachers from the exempted countries and want to discourage other nationalities.

• Two years ago, at an exhibition in Frankfurt, I got a call from my American colleges asking me to come back to our stand. There was someone at our stand who they couldn’t understand. It turned out to be an Irish farmer, slightly drunk, who then complained to me that no one at the whole exhibition could speak English. I could hardly understand him. Maybe he was a teacher in Thailand?

• I’m sure the gael gores are over the moon with this.

• The pic gave me a giggle. He’s holding his ear and also holding a picture of his ear. Why o why does he need a picture of the ear.

• @jenniferwade apologies for my ‘slow news day comment’, clearly a lot of people are interested by it. Again, apologies!

• Reg 28/08/12 #

At first I was surprised by this but when you think about it, the standard of spoken English of many Irish people is appalling!

• Sure I do be speaking english all the time!

• Reg 28/08/12 #

Along with the rest of ye/yous ;-)

• the standard of spoken English of many English people is terrible “I fink, innit” ?!!?

• Some news readers in RTE don’t know how to say the letter “R”. It is meant to be pronounced as “are”. Every other English speaking country pronounces it correctly. It is a letter of the alphabet so the pronunciation should be standardized really.

• @Jack In England, they pronounce it “aah” so you’d be wrong there. Equally, the letter h is pronounced differently here to the UK and U.S.
      The way we speak English in Ireland (Hiberno-English) has developed with a number of influences (Gaeilge, Norman, Middle-English etc.) and it’s all the richer for it. And anyway, you don’t hear the same English in London as you do in Cardiff or in Glasgow either and it’s great! ‘Twould be pretty bland and boring if English was the same all over. Better it be bastardised than standardised!

• Roisin. The English do not pronounce the letter ‘R’ as aah. They pronounce it like the word “are”. I’m not suggesting we standardize our accents but we should pronounce the letters of the alphabet correctly. Especially if we’re teaching English as a foreign language.

• Perhaps if we had a full blown Thai embassy in Thailand rather than just a Consulate, then this misunderstanding would not have arisen. I am afraid that the Republic of Ireland’s many Social Conservatives (who would do Mike Huckabee proud) will insist that reopening the Vatican embassy is a more pressing priority.

• @Karswell
    Exactly :)

• Ironically if you look at the percentages of English speaking countries we rank slightly higher than any of those recognized countries, including the UK. At least according to wikipedia http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_countries_by_English-speaking_population#List_in_order_of_total_speakers

• Amazing!! Consider that only 70,000 to 80,000 Irish people (outside of education) out of total population of 4.6 million speak Irish on a day-to-day basis. Clearly, English is our first language.

• I’ve recently returned from teaching English as a second language in China. There was a time when it was touch and go as to whether they would accept Irish people as Native English teachers. I was saved by the fact that, in China, they think that Ireland still belongs to the UK. Phew! Never thought that would be a good connection : ) I’ve now returned to Ireland to be told that my TEFL international Cert and 6 years TEFL experience is not enough to teach English in Ireland – who’d have thought it?.

• Niall F 29/08/12 #

Everyone no matter where you’re from has to prove their standard of spoken English in my profession which is graded with 6 levels, below level 4 and it’s night classes time. Irish is down as our first language so get over it, do the ‘engrish’ test and all will be well afterward. From what I’ve seen our teachers have a top class rep abroad and are well respected, I know in the UAE they do anyway and are in high demand. However I do reckon that there definitely is a money making racket at work in this case. The dept of foreign affairs can throw all the toys out of the pram and it won’t matter one bit.

• The Department of Foreign Affairs needs to get off its arse and inform the Thai government of the facts. We speak English as well as the Canadians, Yanks, Kiwis, Aussies and Brits.

• We speak English better than the average Canadian,Kiwi,Aussie or Brit.

• Can you back this statement up? I’d believe that Canadians would have the best language level of all the countries you’ve mentioned.

• Smiley 28/08/12 #

Evidence please, Paul.

• @Karswell, large parts of Canada are french speaking and about 10% of the population are classified as French speakers only.

• Karswell 28/08/12 #

@ John – Yes, I’m very much aware that Canada has a large French-based culture. That in no way changes my opinion that of the nationalities named above, Canadian speak and write in English the most clearly, concisely, and with less grammatical errors and parochial slang. Just simple things like “I drove well”, not “I drove good”, “Think differently” not “think different”, “of course” not “for sure”, the difference between “then” and “than”, etc. just simple, basic stuff, but it’s not acceptable to claim to teach a language if you yourself don’t use the language correctly. Many students are studying for internationally recognized exams, it’s unacceptable that they lose marks because their teacher didn’t know his/her subject. Canadians are pretty good at this, the other nations’ variations of the language tend to be more garbled and let certain standards slide. Not a good thing if the aim is to teach people “international business English”. Perhaps it’s because they have a strong bilingual culture that they are more careful with their words. And before you say it, yes, I’m aware I’m making some sizable generalizations.

• @ Karswell I agree with everything you say. However, may I point out that ‘think differently’ and ‘ think different’ are both grammatically correct! :) It’s also like ‘drive safe’. These are known as flat adverbs. Apple are right in their slogan!
      The American English ‘for sure’ is just informal usage for ‘certainly’ or ‘of course’ and isn’t actually incorrect. Of course, it shouldn’t be used in business English!

• Smiley: I don’t need to provide evidence. Its self-evidently true. An official from the Thai Teachers’ Council would only need to walk down Grafton street or O’Connell Street or down the main street of any town in the Republic of Ireland, or through a Connamara village or any other village in the Gaeltacht and he’ll/she’ll realize within a minute that English is the native language of the Irish.

• What is the percentage of Irish people whose *native language* is English? Answer: 100%. Some people will say it’s 98% or something by excluding some of those in the Gaeltacht and elsewhere. Sorry, not buying it. English language is the native language of the people of Ireland *everywhere*. Eamon O’Cuiv’s native language is English.

I suggest that the Minister of Foreign Affairs get on the phone to the relevant authorities in Thailand and his counterpart in Thailand and inform them of this fact.

• Why, oh why are you attacking Irish speakers AGAIN Paul? Did we have some sort of influence over the decision made by the Teacher’s Council of Thailand? No, we didn’t. It simply reflects on the poor investigation concluded by the TCT into which countries are native English speaking countries (I personally don’t think that official languages has anything to do with it – the UK has only one official language and that’s Welsh, with English simply being a de facto official language without any legislation; Canada is officially bilingual – French and English – and with tens of other languages afforded official status in their respective territories and provinces; the United States has no official language with English as the native language of only 78% of the population; New Zealand has three official languages with NZSL, English and Maori, etc.) and reflects poorly on the Department of Foreign Affairs here. It has nothing to do with us Irish speakers. And for the record, I know several Irish speakers who find it very difficult to speak English (granted they are all 55+). As an aside, why are other native English speaking countries not on the list, such as Jamaica, the Bahamas, Belize, etc. I think there was more to this decision than simply picking on one small country in the north west of Europe simply because Irish is mentioned in the constitution. Somehow, I doubt they even read the constitution.

• I think it’s plausible that the Teachers’ Council of Thailand read Article 8 of our Constitution which states that Irish is recognized as the first official language and English is recognized as the second official language. In the absence of countervailing statements regarding the facts on the ground from our Consulate in Thailand or our Embassy responsible for Thailand which is based in Malaysia, the Teachers’ Council of Thailand will draw the logical conclusion.

• Niall 28/08/12 #

They mixed us up with yanks. They can’t speak proper english, as everyone who can knows!

• Robert – all good TEFL teachers are suitably qualified. Most enlightened countries now require a TEFL teacher to have a recognised TEFL qualification and a degree. There is no suggestion that any person should set themselves up as an English teacher abroad. Countries, like Ireland, need to have a wider understanding of internationally recognised TEFL qualifciations. Niall – you say ‘any English teacher afraid of an English exam shouldn’t be teaching it.’ I agree. It’s called a TEFL qualification and a commitment to ongoing learning. Your comment is fine if it applies to all TEFL teachers and not just a few, based on an erroneouls understanding of the meaning of Native English Speaking Countries. Under the new Thai ruling, Dundalk is out and Belfast is in. How crazy is that?!

• There seems to be some mis-understanding here.
    The article staes that ‘ THE TEACHER’S COUNCIL of Thailand (TCT) has updated its list of recognised native English language speakers – and the Republic of Ireland hasn’t made the cut.’
    To me this has nothing to do with Irish people being qualified to teach English in Thailand. It means that our race are not native speakers of English. We are considered non native speakers the same as filipinos, Indians, Malaysians etc.
    In my opinion this is not accurate as many Irish people work in the media in the Uk, including the BBC. Many Irish native speakers speak English to a standard above those native speakers in Scotland, Northern Ireland or parts of Northern England.

• allan 29/08/12 #

I totally agree with the TCT, other countries should apply the same method. This article just made my day…

• That’s ridiculous…we should bombard the Thai embassy with calls to persuade them of our English speaking abilities…..I for one will be messaging everyone I know with that embassy s phone number and the phone there will hopefully be jumping off the hook…I spent 2 years teaching English in Japan and routinely had to explain to my Japanese colleges what others teachers from exotic places like London and Manchester were trying to say…….in English….how dare the Thai not recognise our English language skills

• Another slow news day at The Journal..?

• Sh@t, I really wanted to be the first today to use that comment” another slow news day at the journal”
      Ah well, maybe tomorrow.

• May be a slow news day for you, but to others, this is considered news-worthy.

• Actually, I think Jennifer has reported a very important and consequential development. And, this, I fear is just the tip of the iceberg. Reams of governments the world over are possibly thinking that English is not our native language when, in fact, it is. These governments are then formulating policies and regulations which mean that Irish citizens living in those countries will have to prove that they’re native English speakers in order to work in certain jobs which will probably involve additional expense and inconvenience.

• Well Paul, a large proportion of the Canadian population speak French! So it is not necessarily to do with official languages, as Canada is legally just as bilingual as Ireland is.

• I found the article interesting and I feel that our many TEFL qualified people thinking of going abroad to teach would also…

• Idea: if you are not interested, suggest you don’t read it? Saves time all around.

• What is the definition of a good government in the Republic of Ireland? A government that stands up to and faces down our cosseted institutions: the GAA, the Irish language, the Gaeltacht and the Catholic church.

Our boxers brought our country glory in the Olympics. I salute them. We took 4 medals. A great achievement. A Irish guy took a fifth medal in horse riding but I don’t recognize it as he’s a disgraced athlete. The manner in which he was introduced within days of the opening of the Olympics is public relations at its worst and amounted to appalling treatment of the Irish public. 4 medals is okay. But New Zealand, with a similar population, took many more medals.

Our Olympic boxers, with Katie Taylor at the forefront, have brought honor and pride and recognition to our country in a way that the GAA will never achieve. It’s time to recognize that, going forward, by reallocating the lion’s share of our sports money to international sports and not the GAA.

MEP, Phil Prendergast, criticized the GAA the other day for not doing enough to counter homophobia. What was the GAA’s reaction? Over the top, they said.

As for the Irish language, we spend a billion euros a year promoting its use. It’s time to cut back especially so in these recessionary times.

And then there’s Catholic church.

One thing is for sure, if Fianna Fail ever get back into power, all these institutions will continue to be defended and embraced and spoiled rotten, as they already have been for decades.

• A state exists to serve the people. Today, Irish people exist to serve the State.

• @ Paul – you’re simply incorrect regarding spending on the Irish language: “As for the Irish language, we spend a billion euros a year promoting its use.” In reality, only 2% of government spending is on promotion of the Irish language, as TV presenter Manchán Magan showed in his research.

• The Founding President of the University of Limerick, Professor Ed Walsh, said we spent a billion euros a year teaching Irish last year.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Status_of_the_Irish_language

• @ Paul, English is the de facto language of the state.
      O’Cuiv’s native language is Irish – without doubt. To suggest otherwise shows ignorance, disrespect and calls him and his like liars. Because native speakers will often speak English to facilitate a guest or tourist doesn’t mean they dont carry on speaking Irish when the person leaves. That most of them can also speak equally good English isnt in doubt either.
      Not teaching Irish isn’t going to save a billion. The teachers (which make up the bulk of this money) are going to have to be paid anyway. And most of the grants in Gaeltachts go to job creation. Granted we can teach an alternative but how that would radically improve the educational system is fairly doubtful.
      Paul, you are an Irishman lacking any Gaelic aspirations.

• This is the result of promoting the Irish language. Foreign people think we speak it.

• Some of us do speak irish. And many who dont speak it, respect it.
      And lets not forget that enabling and protecting those who want to use Gaelic was among the reasons for the establishment of the Irish Republic – Perhaps, and correct me if i’m wrong, but would you prefer to go back to being part of the UK?
      By the amount of anti-Irish language commentary south of the border i really feel the DUP would be able to make quite an impact in elections down here….

• I am glad that I speak English and I’m proud to be a fluent English speaker. Some people want us to be ashamed of it. ( including you probably )
      You probably think it’s a good thing that we can’t teach English in Thailand.

• I speek englis reel gud lol ttyl

• I think a lot of these comments are going a bit off the point- of course it’s important to speak proper English and have good grammar if you’re applying for a teaching job, but the point is that EVERYONE should have to take it, not just people from a certain country! It’s not fair that people from the US, UK, Canada and Australia don’t have to take this exam, while we do (and have to pay for it!!) They shouldn’t discriminate between countries, especially when English IS our first language, the one we first learn to speak when we’re young, and Irish is just something we learn at school, that no one really uses! They should get their facts straight before they set down rules like this!

• pakelly 28/08/12 #

Thais can be a little silly an incident that happen last march might of caused some of this problem
    http://www.thaivisa.com/forum/topic/542263-irish-man-got-beaten-up-brutally-by-bts-guard/

Add New Comment