TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Wednesday 22 May, 2013

€5.5m tourism investment announced in Kilkenny

The money will be invested in a new “Medieval Mile” project and is just the first phase in a €15 million development package planned over the next four years.

Kilkenny Castle
Image: Yellow Book via Flickr

MINISTER FOR ENVIRONMENT, Community and Local Government, Phil Hogan today announced a €5.5 million investment in a new “Medieval Mile” tourism project for Kilkenny.

The Medieval Mile will stretch from Kilkenny Castle to St Canince’s Cathedral and Hogan said it will position the city as a “must see” destination for overseas visitors.

The Minister said approval has been secured for investment by Fáilte Ireland in projects along the route including a museum at St Mary’s Church and a Great Garden along the River Nore.

Outlining the details today, Hogan said he was delighted to announce the funding which he said will provide Kilkenny with an economic boost.

“Kilkenny is steeped in rich culture and history, and is already one of Ireland’s top tourist centres,” he said. “This investment will reinforce the city’s position as a major tourism hub and will make it more attractive for people to do business.”

Kilkenny City and County Manager Joe Crockett said the Medieval Mile Project will also strengthen the city’s retail mix and make it more attractive for IT companies and corporate headquarters locations.

The €5.5 million is phase one of a strategic development package worth €15 million to be delivered by Fáilte Ireland and the Kilkenny Local Authorities working with Kilkenny Tourism and local arts interests over the next four years.

The number of international visitors to Kilkenny rose from 206,000 in 2010 to 214,000 in 2011 which represents 30 per cent of all visitors to the southeast region.

Read next:

Comments (57 Comments)

• Tourism is a great source on income for the country, hopefully some of this 5.5m will be used to benefit locals, i.e with heritage centre so that people can learn something new or remember something old. This kind of activity is hugely beneficial to all kinds of communities, even for school trips from other counties etc.

• Barry 30/10/12 #

Great news for Kilkenny, the place does well with tourism and showcases its history well

• Cronyism of the worst sort. Hogan downgrades Waterford City, the south-easts oldest & biggest city to save a few Million but finds it in his budget to throw 5.5 million into the town of Kilkenny. Walk a mile from anywhere there & you’ll be in countryside. Absolute example of the worst in Irish politics. Makes the Healy Raes look subtle.

• Waterford may be old and big, but it is not the sort of place tourists want to go. Can’t put lipstick on a pig.
      Kilkenny makes sense.

• Kilkenny is a “City” City for over 400 years since the granting of city status in 1609. There is a rumour out there we’re a town but that’s just silly ;0). But seriously there is a lot of under exploited history in the city, we have no museum or heritage centre to speak of. In fairness Waterford is Beautiful- services by a few museums/ heritage centres, the quays and the parks are lovely etc. Kilkenny’s history is really under-supported for years and this investment will bring jobs to the “city” but also more Tourists to the entire region.

• Waterford is a beautiful city and attracts many thousands of visitors every year. So it’s safe to say there are plenty of people who beg to differ with you there.
      There is far more to do in Waterford. You can walk from one end of Kilkenny to the other in about 5 minutes.

Don’t get me wrong they have a beautiful castle and the grounds around it are lovely. But there is just as much history in Waterford if not more .

• Barry 30/10/12 #

Reginald’s Tower, nobody has downgraded Waterford City status at all and there’s been no factual proof given by anyone to show that the government is doing this

This isn’t some plan against Waterford, both Limerick City and County councils and Waterford City and County Councils are being merged to save money. Off hand I believe Carlow and Kilkenny councils are being merged as well.

Its about cost saving and it makes an awful lot of sense.

Seems the government is damned if it does and damned if it doesn’t on one hand we have a massive amount of overlapping positions in a city and county council in the one county and its a waste and if the government tries to do anything about it then you bitch and moan.

Kilkenny has done well from tourism and its very important to the local economy, it would be foolish not to invest in it. Would you not agree?

Perhaps Waterford should have learned from this sooner……., it has lots of history but for decades it just depended on the Waterford glass to bring people into the city…..its only in recent years Waterford started investing properly into the whole Viking Triangle thing.

Lets not forget that Waterford is getting 1.9million this year towards its Viking Triangle, the same Triangle that got 9million back in 2010 while this country was still in trouble money wise.

Handy you forgot that Waterford has got alot of funding recently for tourism, but yet because alot of people in Waterford appear to have an chip on their shoulders about Kilkenny City you moan about Kilkenny City getting funding.

• Under the local government act 2001 there are five cities Waterford, Cork, Limerick, Galway and Dublin. Likening is allowed to use the term city but it is in fact a town.
      ( have a look at the sign on the way into Kilkenny by the car garages TIDY TPWN WINNER, also I should point out you have a town hall not a city hall)

Kilkenny is a nice place I’m not disputing that fact but the issue here is a minister abiding his power and trying to over develop a town and get everything he can for it while taking from others. Galway was lire more then a town 30 years ago and look at it now this is exactly what phil hogan is trying to do in Kilkenny but at the expense of Waterford

• Barry 30/10/12 #

Karen Bolger, I’d agree Waterford does have history but it has neglected it for decades and its only since around 2009 that they started to invest in anything other then “the glass”.

Bottom line is the numbers speak for themselves, Waterford is no where near as popular as a tourist destination compared to Kilkenny and its not as popular with the locals in Ireland either….Kilkenny is much better known for nights out.

As for your silly comment that you could walk from one side of the city to the other in 5min,

Well thats nonsense, limit to limit…so hotel kilkenny to castlecomer road is a good 1hour walk, to compare Waterford is 59min walk from the cork road citylimit sign to just across where the citylimit sign is at the train station beside Mount Misery.

now your just trying to belittle another city that you have a chip on your shoulder about, very chidlish,

• This is part of the same initiative by government that saw Waterford receive funding. We have received funding very recently for Viking Triangle in Waterford, as we did back in 2010. Both Kilkenny and Waterford have a huge unexploited tourism market in terms of both great cities history and the government and local committees are doing wonders to promote both as great historic destinations. So to say that the government and/or Phil is looking after his own back yard only is very unfair.

Waterford was not ‘downgraded’ as a City either, despite popular outcry.

• You firmly have your FG hat on there Sully, everybody knows your loyalty is to FG first & anything is well behind. Karen is 100% right. The local government act states that Ireland has 5 cities, FG but more especially Labour are actively trying to downgrade Waterford & Limerick cities.

• Waterford has Tramore :)

• Nailing your cards to your fg hat there boy. Ask your boys what they intend to do with waterford regional hospital. We’re being hung out to dry down here but obviously party policy is the trump card

• Barry you’ll note I said you could walk from one end of the town to the other in about 5 minutes.. I.e. Patrick street to parliament street or Patrick street up to macdonagh (that may take about 7 mins)
      I’m not trying to belittle another town and far from a chip on my shoulder I have about Kilkenny. I spend 5 days a week driving to and from it for work. I have already said it is a lovely place so don’t start putting words in my mouth.

I am simply sick and tired of the City I was born and raised in being neglected the way it is. Little by little they are tearing us apart.

I see the usual suspects are on supporting there parties and saying this will also benefit Waterford. Frankly I can’t see how it will. Although Waterford might only be down the road people aren’t going to spend there time doing the tourist stuff in KK then want to travel onto Waterford.
      It’s just going to isolate Waterford even further.

• Beautiful city, great work done there in the castle. Its a credit to all involved. Best of luck with the new funding.

• If Kilkenny get the tourists then logic dictates that they will also migrate across to Waterford and Carlow, so everyone wins. Waterford got funding over the past 2 years and the Bishops Palace, the Mall, the key-side and Museum look incredible (and free). Everyone is a winner here with over €25 million spent between Waterford and Kilkenny so far.

• It’s about time Kilkenny got a break. A big thank you to all involved. Now lets hope that local skills will be used to create this Medieval Mile.

• What about all Martin Cullen done for Waterford and nobody here moaned about it? Typical deise folk, jealous and uneducated statements.

• Kilkenny is the best city in Ireland by far and we’re the best hurlers so fcuk the begrudgers up the cats

• At least it’s not bailing out the bond holders and anything towards tourism will benefit us hugely

• Good lad Phil, Don’t forget to refurbish the parish pump while your at it!

• This is part of the same initiative by government that saw Waterford receive funding. We have received funding very recently for Viking Triangle in Waterford, as we did back in 2010. Both Kilkenny and Waterford have a huge unexploited tourism market in terms of both great cities history and the government and local committees are doing wonders to promote both as great historic destinations. So to say that the government and/or Phil is looking after his own back yard only is very unfair.

Tourism is what will help get this country back on its feet and we should be welcoming any such funding.

• Kevin it seems to be the policy line your towing there seen as you have repeated yourself umpteen times. Once would have been enough we can all read you know.

It’s not begrudges ray I just think there are other places (not just Waterford ) that could do with the funding. As already pointed out its already bustling with tourists.
      In fairness Waterford has been hammered recently and a big part of the reason we got the finding was the closure of the glass factory and the relocating into the city centre to help
      Us keep what tourists we had.

Ye all seem to think I’m bitter about Kilkenny but if you bother to read I actually work here on a daily basis and have pointed out that it is a lovely place . Very we’ll
      Maintained and presented. I just don’t see where the €15 million is going to go. Since I started working up here there has been a lot of work done around the castle area already.

• Jealous much Waterford?

• 5.5 m€/ mile wow thats an expansive mile

• Blah blah blah Reginald your one miserable mother . I lived in Waterford for two yrs there feck all there

• I’d like to know, what exactly will the money be spent on & will it actually make a difference?5.5m is a lot of
    money. And what & where exactly did Waterford spend their money on?

• All that money should be spent in killarney the real tourist capital we could do with another pool we only have eighteen

• A good example of what is wrong with what is going on in Ireland today .

• Bitterness personified. Waterford took their chances on the factory scene. Failed miserably. Had the biggest hospital and college for the region. We didnt complain. Seriously kk people had the nickname ‘rob a job’ and still do for crossing the bridge and working in your ‘city’. Grow up and stop your bitch!ng.

• Ah I see now why minister hogan wants to merge Waterford city and county council and save €9 million euro so he can spend that and then some on his beloved Kilkenny. What about the rest of the southeast region which is steeped in history. There saying the county I’d broke but they can afford to spend €15 million on a TOWN.
    Parish lumps doesn’t even cover this stroke.
    There are plenty more places who could do with the investment more the Kilkenny but sure while ya give a Buffon like hogan pulling strokes they won’t get get it.

All he is trying todo is win back some votes as even the people of Kilkenny can’t stand the man

• sorry seems like good old fashioned begrudgery.

• Barry 30/10/12 #

Karen, what about the 1.9million that Waterford is getting this year for Tourism and the 9million it got in 2010 for tourism when the country was broke?

I have to agree with Mick here, seems like good old fashioned begrudgery..

Would you prefer that other area’s in the South Easy are ignored and that Waterford gets all the funding…would take make you happy?

• Karen; This is part of the same initiative by government that saw Waterford receive funding. We have received funding very recently for Viking Triangle in Waterford, as we did back in 2010. Both Kilkenny and Waterford have a huge unexploited tourism market in terms of both great cities history and the government and local committees are doing wonders to promote both as great historic destinations. So to say that the government and/or Phil is looking after his own back yard only is very unfair.

Tourism is what will help get this country back on its feet and we should be welcoming any such funding.

• if people go to Kilkenny, its only a short hop down the road to Waterford. it might entice more people to the whole region, including Waterford.

• well to be fare he wont get many votes in the lovely Waterford City wood he now.

• Unfortunately each Minister has looked after their own down the years, and Kilkenny has not had anyone for a long time. So let the good times roll here in the Marble City I say.

• At least it’s not bailing out the bond holders and anything towards tourism will benefit us hugely

• Balbriggan and Swords get a special mention, now Kilkenny gets a wagon load and Mayo tops the lottery spending charts and we were promised it would be different. Bring on a general election and we can all put ourselves first and vote for independents.

• Yep,

Because Mayo has got so much over the years from previous governments that the streets there are now paved with gold. Also I hear the taoiseach wants to build the Enda Kenny bowl out there in foxford because there’s such an excess of cash going into the county.
      Plus there’s news of some big spire thing being built in Ballina. Sure why would people emigrate when Mayo has ‘won the lottery’?

• The point here is that Phil Hogan who claims we need to cut back so “withdraws” 9m from Waterford in savings, while not touching Carlow/Kilkenny, but manages to find 5.5 m to invest in his own town. That’s on top of the “necessary cutbacks” & WRH but recent investment to “secure” St Lukes hospital in Kilkenny. This govts investment in KK is a fraction of what Waterford has gotten. In fact, they did zilch as Talk Talk & other companies went to the wall.

• It wasn’t big Phil that drew the balance for a start, but I am sure his influenced help. Since you are so bitter about the grant that Kilkenny got, I assume you will be calling on Waterford City Council to hand back the recent grant and the past grants they got for the Viking Triangle in the City?

Money that is being wasted needs to be cut. That means there is more money that can be spent elsewhere including tourism. Hence why nearly 10bn in the past year has been given to Waterford and Kilkenny to help improve both great historical cities and offer more for tourists helping the economy.

Its that very attitude from a select group down in Waterford, a City that I am from and very proud to be from, that is why its dubbed the ‘forgotten City’ and neglected by the IDA and so on. Some want it all and none for anyone else. Waterford got their funds and now that Kilkenny get theirs, the Waterford folk are up in arms.

The constant negativity is killing Waterford. Not Big Phil and his sometimes daft implementations of daft policies and looking after his very own electorate while he is at it. We had our day of Parish Pump Politics in Waterford and there wasn’t much complaining. Many are calling for the exact same from our local TDs now.

• The best thing in Waterford is the road to Kilkenny

• Without sounding like a begrudger, it does appear that Kilkenny is getting extra special treatment when it comes to “cutbacks”! The minister is merging county and city councils around the country and abolishing town councils yet last year minister hogan saw fit to spend €1million building Kilkenny county council offices at the other side of the bridge in Waterford city! Now forgive me but surely these ppl living a mile or so from Waterford city centre could do there business in Waterford! A few months later he announced that he is getting rid of Waterford city council! Now I’m not from Waterford or Kilkenny and very much like both cities! Kk has fantastic tourism potential but this minister has no credibility for such blatant stroke politics!!!

• Um you do sound like a begrudger just like Reginald and all the other Kilkenny bashers on here , go away and get a life the lot of ye .

• @ starry eyed . Without sounding like a begrudger is your opening line and then u start begrudging reminds me of Ricky bobby when he starts with , with all due respect and then disrespects its comical have you read back that comment to yourself .

• The fact of the matter is Waterford people ate sick of being ignored and forgotten about and now that we are fighting to save our city and pointing out the parish pump politics (not just in Kilkenny just look at James O’Reillly another prime example of parish pump politics) we get accused of begrudgary.

The fact of the matter is if what was happening in Waterford was happening in Kilkenny, Wexford, Carlow etc the people would be up in arms wanting to do what they can for the place that they live.

It may appear as if we are begrudging Kilkenny , however it just happens that they are our nearest neighbours with a minister doing a lot for them so ultimately get used as the example every time.

Waterford was once a very prosperous city and little by little things were moved away from the city for the good of the country and to help other areas prosper. All we want now is for initiatives to being some business back into the city. HSE is based in Kilkenny, VEC in Wexford, they want to move the council offices to dungarvan, they now want to take the cancer care unit from WRH and move it to cork, and that’s only a fraction of it.

Best of luck to Kilkenny and they do have a great tourist spot but as I pointed out it has already undergone alot of development in recent years. I’m sure there’s other places around the country who would benefit alit more from this type of investment.

The government promised us change but frankly they are no better then their predecessors. Get what they can for their own constituency, feck everyone else and walk away with a nice big pension at the end of it all.

Add New Comment