TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Tuesday 21 May, 2013

This gadget prevents plane seat in front of you from reclining…

…But is it fair to use it?

The Knee Defender - fair or no?

FOR AIR TRAVELLERS who hate having their scarce legroom invaded by reclining seats, there is a solution that goes beyond asking fellow passengers to remain upright: forcing them to do so.

The Knee Defender is a gadget that uses two small pieces of plastic (just a bit bigger than a house key), which are clipped on to the arms holding up the tray table. If they are placed snugly against the seat back, that seat is blocked from reclining, keeping the users’ knees safe.

The little gadget was invented by Ira Goldman, a 6ft 4ins resident of Washington, DC, USA who put it on the market in 2003, according to ABC.

It has been generating controversy ever since.

In the debate between those who defend their right to recline their seats and those who think everyone should remain upright, which was re-ignited by a passionate Dan Kois at Slate on Tuesday of this week, the Knee Defender is the ultimate weapon for the upright contingent.

Except when it’s not allowed.

The gadget does not violate any FAA regulations (it can’t be used during taxi, takeoff, and landing, when the tray must be upright), but airlines have the right to forbid its use. Northwest, American, and Continental Airlines have done so, according to the Globe and Mail.

The Knee Defender is on sale via GadgetDuck, for $19.95.

Here’s a 2007 video produced by FareCompare (featuring an elf and Santa Clause) showing how it works:

via farecompareblog/Youtube

Do you think it is fair to use the gadget on a plane?

Poll Results:

- Alex Davies

Published with permission from:

Business Insider
Business Insider is a business site with strong financial, media and tech focus.

Read next:

Comments (109 Comments)

• If only they could come up with seats where the bottom part slides forward, angling the back at the same time. Sacrifice your own legroom for the pleasure of reclining.

• Or you could just fly Ryanair. No chance of those seats reclining!

• Simple solution – turn around and say ‘excuse me. Would you mind if I reclined the seat?’ Consideration and courtesy seem to be forgotten strategies in many walks of life

• Three have been circumstances where I would’ve loved a gadget like that. I don’t mind people reclining their seats but some people have no consideration for people sitting behind them.

I was on a long haul overnight flight a few months ago. Before serving breakfast the cabin crew asked everyone to put their seats up so people could use the trays. The woman in front of me didn’t move her chair so I asked her politely to do so but she refused. A member of the cabin crew has to ask her twice to move her seat up.

About a week beforehand was on a four hour bus journey (day time) and the person in front of me kept reclining his seat. There was very little space so the back of his seat was crushing my knees (I’m 5’7 so its not like I have exceedingly long legs). Anytime I asked him to move it forward he would but after a while he would just move it back again. Not only that but he was leaning back with his bare feet on the shoulders of the seat in front of him. His mother (he wasn’t a child he was in his mid-20s) who was with him kept giving me dirty looks every time I asked him to move his seat.

• I’m a small guy. But I can understand tall people wanting to use this.

• Anyone voting against this has obviously never had someone do this to them on a 12 hour flight in daylight to the point where the screen on the back of there chair is 3 inches from your face!

• Agreed and limbo in and out to toilets adds to the entertainment …..

• That person has paid for the use of the seat so should be able to recline if the seat is designed to recline .

• I’ve had the luxury of being on a plane that can do that…. It’s just Ryanair quality for me…..

• Meant to say “Ive NEVER HAD”
      Too early for me to be posting comments…..

• Now that I know about it if it happened to me I’d just pull them off. Who do you think the hostess would side with?

• I don’t understand this. Is Robert saying that he would not recline his own seat even once, on a 12 hour flight?
      I find that hard to believe.

• Ive flown around the world many times and up until recently all of those flights were in economy class. Legroom is at a premium so IF my seat allowed me to recline i feel im fully within my right – as are those in front of me to choose to do so!

The audacity of those believing its perfectly fine to interfere with another passenger’s seat is simply staggering!

If someone behind me used one of these devices i would have no hesitation drawing it to the attention of a flight attendent. Whats next!? Its ok for others to rearrage or move your cabin luggage to suit themselves??

Oh and some simple remedies to your problem of the recliner in front…
      a) dont fly economy b) pay that little bit more for a seat by the exit or c) recline yourself!

• I doubt most airlines would even let you interfere with the plane in anyway. So just report it and they’ll be more than likely be removed.

• I’ve done long flights without reclining my seat purely out of courtesy to the person behind, I’m 6,2 and you don’t hear me complaining about sitting up!!

• @Gerry, I would not recline my seat on a 12 hour flight unless it was night and was sleeping in which case I beleve it is acceptable to recline your chair. @Alan most of using economy are there because we can’t afford business class. Therefore I beleve we should all help each other have as comfortable a flight as possible. Obviously you have a right to recline your chair but there are many things in life I’m within my rights to do but don’t out of consideration.

• You can sit upright all you want but if I’m trying to sleep or even just relax that seat is going back.

• So true. I had a huge guy push his seat back so far, I couldn’t even see the screen..twelve hours from Brisbane!

• @Terry does it genuinely not bother you that you are making an already uncomfortable experience even more so for somebody just so you can “relax”?

• Stand up and stretch your legs every five minutes, grab the top of the seat in front to leverage yourself up, if there is a complaint, apologise and say that, with the seat reclined, you need to stretch your legs the airline has not provided you with enough space to get up without using the seat in front as a lever. If it doesn’t work, at least the inconsiderate SOB has just as bad a flight as you.

• As soon as the guys seat in front of me goes back…so does mine, they recline for a reason….politeness gone mad!

• @ robert why should he feel bothered? It was ur choice for flying, ur choice for booking economy, ur choice for not selecting an exit seat and ur choice for not reclining yourself!

This is utter lunacy. Its entirely up to the discretion of each passenger if and how much they want to recline. Whatever decision they make they should never feel any guilt or shame utilising a basic function on their seat! It is their seat after all isn’t it?

its commendale how considerate you are (overly imo) but based off my experiences and the results above, you are very much in the minority

• Not in the slightest. Why should I be uncomfortable? If you asked I would definitely put it up half way but why I would sit on a plane for 12 hours with my back as straight as a pencil just because a tall person wouldn’t pay a bit extra for an exit seat?

• I’m 6’6″ and I book the exit seats when possible. But they are the first seats to be booked on flights and a lot of the time occupied by people of average height or smaller. The person in front of me is entitled to recline their seat of course, but I’m not going to make myself even more uncomfortable trying to keep my legs out of the way. The passenger in front I’d going to have to put up with two knees sticking into their back.

• I wish someone like Terry was sitting in front of me. I can’t help it, if walking past him, I accidentally spilt my drink all over him. I suppose I should be more careful, seeing as its happened me before.

• If you done that I’d probably know if you done it on purpose and then I’d make your life hell for the rest of the flight. Ill take it you’re a bit of a coward because that’s exactly what one would do and then shriek like a little girl that was all an accident if confronted about it.

• Shane. I’ve tried that on many flights but after an hour or so I’d notice the person behind has reclined their seat. Those who prefer the use of this gadget would more than likely be the one to claim the extra arm rest.

• Derek 24/02/13 #

Or as your being served drinks, twice now I’ve had the seat in front kick back on me as I had just received my coffee and the other time a glass of red wine. Hot tea down my lap and a wet table and a reclined chair in my face. I was raging.
      Courtesy would go a long way or even a heads up!

• You can’t reason with the argument of ‘im fully entitled to recline’ they are, and once a person has that complete self serving attitude to recline 100% of the way, its not politeness gone mad its common courtesy. I will rarely ever recline 100% of the way. The times I do is when I see the person behind has done it, or they’re of a shorter nature. But realistically il have to get out of my seat quite often if the one infront is fully reclined and using the back of that seat is the only possible leverage to do that. The best way I deal is to sit in an isle seat gives you that bit more leg room.

• Do you recline your seat on a plane?

• Ciara 24/02/13 #

I’d use it. Especially on the people who recline their seats on 40 minute flights

• Wish I had it on a train from Cairns for Brisbane (33 hours). This young lad reclined his seat so far back I couldn’t even get out of mine. I asked him to move it up a little and he told me to F off. Eventually I leaned over, hit the button and rammed him forward and put the seat further up than it should be. Had my feet against it so he couldn’t straighten it. He turned around and asked me to let him sit back and I told him to F off. Gave him a couple of minutes and told him he can sit normally if he wants but if he reclines again I’ll throw him out of the seat altogether. It worked! :)

• If you’re the person sitting behind, just hold your newspaper so that the top edge of it is brushing the top of their head, eventually they’ll get the hint; they created the problem after all….

• I don’t mind anyone reclining if they want a nap, but pushing the seat back and then sitting forward is just acting the maggot.

• Northwest & Continental Airlines no longer exist. Northwest merged with Delta a few years ago and Continental merged/rebranded as United early last year. Just saying

• Pity there is no way to subdue noisy whiny hyperactive little brats who persist on dancing or your seat back for the full 12 hour flight…

• I was woken by an air steward on a night flight as the man behind me had asked her to ask me to put my seat upright as he was uncomfortable. I did as requested, turned to give him a dirty eye and realised he was reclined himself! Back I went as far as I could go!

• On a recent flight to New York an Air Hostess offered to to move me after the person in front reclined their seat. It needs to be abolished through out the airline industry. While its there now i guess people have the right to recline!!

• ISSA 24/02/13 #

poor me … am 6″1 tall ….. Am always in trouble when someone recline his seat ….. My long legs wouldn’t fit

• Rusty just because you can do something do something doesn’t mean you should. You should try to balance your sense of entitlement with a little consideration sometimes.

It’s logic like yours which leads to people thinking it’s ok to talk down to waitresses or answer your phone at the cinema.

• Was on a flight once and having a cup of tea when this woman in front of me reclined her seat – tea splashed all over me and when I tapped her on the shoulder to tell her she started having a go at me telling me she was perfectly within her rights to adjust her seat if she wished!

• My dad is 6ft 3 tall and legs goes right as far as the seat in front and one time somebody kept trying to push their seat back but couldnt because my dads legs were in the way, air host asked my dad could he put his legs out on the aisle, were people were walking and the trolly was going and he refused

Anybody who says emergancy seats, they cost extra and my 6ft 2 brother as a 16 yr old wouldnt be allowed sit their as its 18 or older, how important is ot to recline your seat? Been on plenty of long flights and i dont do it because i know how inconsiderate it is for tall people or a young child who sits behind and will be jumpimg up and down behind (ever tried to keep a 3yr old still on a flight? Some guy whose seat was on top of my brother when he was 3 gave out about my brother for standing up and down and hitting head of seat when the solution was for him to have some cop on and compromise and put seat up!)

• Not a problem in my learjet. So long suckers!!! :-)

• In my opinion, people have the right to recline but should do so by at least letting the person know that you are about to. In most cases, the staff on the plane will defend this right as long as the person is not being obnoxious. This doesn’t sit well with some people as the airline has failed to provide facilities that allow a person to recline while not impeding the person behind them. Is it not the airline you should be complaining to and not the person in front of you? Maybe if a enough people complain then something would be done. Some airlines have added a new category of seat that provide extra legroom for a more modest price than business/first class. These are usually available a week or two before flights (at least in my experience).

• It’s very simple anyone who reclines their seat into another person’s space on a long haul flight is an inconsiderate, selfish person. Those who don’t, are decent & considerate people. I’m a tall person, one time a person, reclined their seat so far that that my legs were swollen for days afterwards. I asked the person to let up their seat explaining about my height and they told me that they paid for their right to recline their seat. I asked them if I paid the same money to be completely squashed?They also sat in the exit row. I’ve asked people numerous times not to recline their seat into my face & have been completely ignored. I just couldn’t wilfully make another human being uncomfortable because I paid to do so & anyone who excuses it is a selfish person. Airlines should remove the option from seats or allocate sections and price accordingly. It says so much about the nature of complete strangers.

• I often need to work up to 20 hours straight the day before I travel on holidays, I get to the airport straight from work and meet my other half there with the luggage.

So I am in your eyes inconsiderate as I recline my seat to try to sleep before my holidays?

I can’t sleep sitting up and if I did I would be crippled over with neck pains afterwards.

Cannot see any sense in your argument whatsoever

• I think you’re proving my point perfectly, you put your own well being & comfort above someone else’s. Because you are a selfish person! The person behind you may too have finished a 40 hour shift and in need of rest, their life might be in grave turmoil, but do you ever think of this? I doubt it, cause you’re too busy thinking about yourself.

• If someone puts there seat back, I just dig my knees into it. If they’re going to make me uncomfortable on a long flight, the least I can do is repay the favour. On a few occasions the person in front has actually turned to me and said they can feel my knees through the seat! Just tell ‘em to move their seat back and they won’t.

• Colin C 24/02/13 #

Here’s the unspoken etiquette from someone sitting heathrow right now. 3 flights down, 1 to go.

It is rude to recline:
    -your child’s seat
    -on short journeys
    -during meals
    -abruptly
    -before take off after the hostess has checked

It is not rude to recline;
    -on long haul flights, particularly ones that are overnight

• t t 24/02/13 #

yes, they should be free to use. Justice for tall people. Short people got no reason to live!

• I always fly Premier Class and book the two seats at the back of the cabin ensuring I don’t inconvenience anyone by reclining my seat.

• Just pay the extra (roughly) €40 for exit row seats if it’s a big issue for you. Loads of space there and the seat in front of them can’t recline

• What if someone reclines in your face and then someone behind you has used this thing on you so you can’t recline? That’s the type of people I can see using this.

• For fcucks sake show a bit of consideration – everybody has the power and need to recline on a long flight.
    Why cant we all just get along?

• Everyone has paid for their seat, which reclines. So recline your seat, fly a different airline if legroom doesn’t suit you, or stump up for a business class seat.

• Allowing use of this means someone can use it against you! It may only be 3 inches, but I’ll keep it thanks very much! I value my reclining freedom….

• People wouldn’t need to use it against me because I wouldn’t be inconsiderate enough to shove my chair in there face! It is however acceptable if it is a night flight and people are sleeping.

• Why do you get to decide when its acceptable for someone else to sleep?

• @ yes robert why do you feel solely qualified for judging what is acceptable or not? You do realise that not everyone gets the oppurtunity to sleep during the night dont you? why shouldnt a fireman, air traffic controller or a doctor who have toiled all night not be able to recline to improve their chances or quality of rest? Are they subject to ur judgement?

Are they the ones inconsiderate or you?

• I never said I should decide when someone should sleep. I have repeatedly said that if someone was sleeping it wouldn’t bother me. I happened to be on a long haul flight recently, Singapore to Helsinki. During the flight the while I was watching a movie the guy in front reclined his chair to the point my screen was 3 inches from my face and his chair was almost on top of me and he wasn’t even lying back, still sitting upright! This made the flight considerably more uncomfortable and watch the movie almost impossible. Personaly I wouldn’t want to intentionally make someone that uncomfortable. I don’t beleve this to be politeness gone mad and beleve that most decent people would agree with me.

• I believe it’s installed on all Ryanair’s aircrafts…
    The shittiest company in the industry by far.

• Don’t fly Ryanair if you don’t like them. Simple.

• @Daithi, you’re right, I don’t. I did try them a few years ago and still carry the trauma…
      Thus, as a service to the public, I remind everyone who’d listen how bad Ryanair are.

If you don’t like my comments, just move on and don’t read them. Simple.

• Mack 24/02/13 #

@dublincylisit, I once had a bloke on a pushbike cycle at speed through a pedestrian crossing just as I was crossing, dreadful experience since that day I too pass on my experience for the safety of the public, you might have met me on the roads I’m the Guy shouting out safety /abuse at cyclists who use footpaths, ignore red lights, under take on the left when no cycle lane. Swings and roundabouts.

• @Mack there are plenty of selfish ignorant cyclists out there. After all they’re drawn from the general population…
      Anyhow, you’d probably want to have a look at the safety category in Dublin’s Cyclists: http://dublincyclists.blogspot.ie/search/label/safety
      You can shout at the screen as much you want…

• Mack 24/02/13 #

@Dublin cyclists, get off your high Nellie re-read your first comments you called a company shitty yet your next comment said you have only flown with them once, my comment is a piss take using one small problem / case to taint my outlook on everything to do with them. I do believe your a cyclists by choice as it allows you to give out to all drivers.

• I’m also a Dublin Cyclist but I didn’t realise someone was so up their own arse that they would take the title for themselves. As far as Ryanair, I would not fly with them if I had an alternative, but I still admire what they have done in the Aviation Industry, even if that admiration is waning more and more as time goes on.

• @Mack believe it or not, I realised your intentions before I wrote my previous response. Witty and sophisticated, you’re not. I simply invited you to shout somewhere else.

So I understand you’re a passionate loyal customer of Ryanair. Good for you. Even better for people like me. As long as there enough people who fly Ryanair, other companies keep their price low while the service (and seats) is superior.

@Gerry Healy, I’m glad you’re cyclist. Well done! The twitter username is a choice purely based on the blog’s name, which presents pictures of cyclists in Dublin (hence Dublin’s Cyclists). This, BTW, never includes your humble servant.

• I love Ryanair.

• Forget about the leg room for a second… also stops you from getting a face full of plastic for an hour.

Great invention. Saves me from having to discretely pushing against the seat in front when I notice their trying to recline.

• I’m going to buy a set always some arsehole in front wanting to recline there seat into my space I usually ram my knees into the back of the seat bars to stop it reclining but that hurts a lot as they try and force the chair back. Now if only there was the something to stop idiots in row z jamming up your overhead compartment!

• Several years ago when I was pregnant and travelling with my husband, I let the chair back not realising it would go so far. The woman behind me hit my chair so hard I was thrown forward. When I turned around the barrage of abuse from both her and her husband was shocking. At this time I didn’t realise my letting the chair back would have an effect on the space behind me. I immediately put my chair forward but had to listen to them giving out (loudly) for ages. So just bare this in mind the next time you travel and the woman in front lets her chair back.
    Now before people start saying, your not supposed to fly if your pregnant, I was within the recommended time.

• I was on a flight re entry with a broken seat and it kept slowly slipping back. I spent the entire flight straightening it up. Because I’m not an inconsiderate bell end. Also, I’ve or 36 inch legs so if your seat goes back, sorry, my knees are going into the back of it. I shouldn’t have to pay ridiculous amounts because you are inconsiderate. Also an inflatable neck pillow for sleeping is how I get comfortable.

• F**k you guys that push your seats back

• Will b paying for that on the nxt Ryan air flight
    Seat sharing that will also be coming- sharing ur seat over a flight- u stand u for an hour and a half and then sit
    Charge more for seats closer to the window- so u pay for the view of clouds
    Opening seat belt charge- a euro must be placed into the belt like a trolly to open it- in this case u don’t get the euro back. A euro must be applied everytime to open . Always keep a euro handy for u and ur family in case of an emergency always see to urself first before attending to children
    And finally the €5 leaving the country charge and the €10 getting back in charge proceeds direct to M Noonan to be used to keep the Govt jet running

• Haleluja the world hunger problem has been sorted by this. If this is the only problem we ever have where our knees are uncomfortable on a flight well lucky us. Have a nice day.

• This is why Economy Plus is so good!! Good if youre over 6 feet tall and good if you just want to get away from people who whinge that you want to put your seat back!

Honestly, if I went to recline my seat (on a long flight) and found those things in the way I’d break them off. If youre over six foot tall you belong in a bulkhead, Economy Plus or Exit row seat on a long-haul flight. That is your responsibility.

• Ok so.

Add New Comment