TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Saturday 25 May, 2013

Michaela McAreavey trial verdict: two accused found not guilty

Sandip Moonea and Avinash Treebhoowoon were acquited by the nine-member jury of killing the 27-year-old on her honeymoon in Mauritius.

John McAreavey outside the Supreme Court in Port Louis, Mauritius during the murder trial
Image: Nicholas Larche/PA Wire

THE TWO MEN accused of killing 27-year-old teacher Michaela McAreavey on her honeymoon have been found not guilty by a court in Mauritius.

The nine members of the jury acquitted both men of murder after just over two hours of deliberation. The decision was unanimous.

The jury said it had not been convinced by the prosecution of the guilt of Avinash Treebhoowon, 31,  and Sandeep Moonea, 42, over the course of the eight-week trial.

The verdict was welcomed by an loud outburst of joy from relatives of the two accused men. Members of the McAreavey and Harte families who were present in the courtroom left as soon as the verdict was announced.

The two former hotel workers had been accused of killing Michaela McAreavey in her hotel room in January 2011 while she was on her honeymoon with her husband John.

The judge had instructed the jury that they had to deliberate for at least two hours before reaching a verdict.

The jury had also been told that to focus on the facts on the case rather than coming to a verdict on the actions of the police during the case.

Michaela McAreavey case

Sandip Moonea (in striped shirt) and Avinash Treebhoowon (in pale pink shirt) being brought to court by officers during the trial. (Photo: Paul Faith/PA Wire)

Devastation, desolation: The McAreavey and Harte families’ reaction to verdict>

Full coverage of the Michaela McAreavey trial >

About the author:

Read next:

Comments (168 Comments)

• God help the McAreavey family, I hope they find justice and closure.

• sad for her family., but the trial was a disgrace

• That was always going to happen the prosecutions case was shambolic, absolute disgrace

• This is a very similar story to that of the West Memphis 3, only they were convicted of the murders of three young boys. Lack of evidence, loss of evidence, lynch mob mentality, police incompetence. They were put away for nearly 20 years, an absolute disgrace. Thankfully that didn’t happen here. I’ve heard it said before that it’s better to have ten guilty men walking free than to take away the freedom of an innocent man

• You can’t really blame the jury cause there was lots of “reasonable doubt” but where do the Harte’s and McAreavy families go from here?? Disgraceful really! RIP Michaela

• Fizi, it wasn’t clear as a bell. That’s why the jury found them not guilty. The police made a huge number of mistakes and omissions when gathering evidence, and I for one was not at all convinced they had the right suspects on trial. Whole thing had an air of ‘let’s get someone – anyone – on trial quick before tourism suffers’. Sympathies to the bereaved families.

• I believe that, unfortunately, Rob is spot on. When there were arrests for this I thought “oh oh, that was a bit quick”. I hope they’re not grabbing the nearest suspects and throwing the book at them to prevent an immediate withdrawl of tourism.

Then, as the trial began, I heard a correspondent on newstalk say something along the lines of:
      ‘While there is no forensic evidence, the prosecution will present a lot of circumstantial evidence which they believe will, in conjunction with witness testimony and the (now retracted) confessions, present a compelling case for murder against the defendants’.

Then as the trial went on, even that circumstantial evidence unraveled. The story with the most holes, for me, was the guy who supposedly heard the crime, hid in an adjoining room as he was afraid, saw the accused leaving the room, and initially claimed not to have seen or heard anything?

Those poor families have been dragged through this for nothing.

• Rob thanks I rushed with my previous comment as did not know all the facts that I know now, my knowledge stopped when they supposedly confessed to the crime, did not know they were forced to, etc.

• The whole thing was a farce.

• Poppy 12/07/12 #

Gutted for her husband & family

• hbenroe 12/07/12 #

Mattoid, I think that most people here believe the police cooked up. Whether or not it was in putting a case together against these two men or finding any other person involved in this poor girls murder.just a sad day all round for her family.

• hbenroe 12/07/12 #

Mattoid, I think that most people here believe the police cooked up. Whether or not it was in putting a case together against these two men or finding any other person involved in this poor girls murder.just a sad day all round for her family.

• Scapegoat is one thing and living in a small community where anything and everything get to be known one way or the other is a completely different thing. It was only flaws from the part of the police that has allowed what has just happened today. Information is easy to be obtained, the only thing was to collect evidence and present a massive solid case, which wasn’t the case. Sadly so but Pure and simple. You would have known this had you had a better perspective about how the system works over there.

• mattoid 12/07/12 #

@Fotocrat
      So basically what you’re saying is “they’re guilty because everyone knows they’re guilty”…
      A bit like the Ian Bailey case here…

• Wasp 12/07/12 #

What a farce of a trial, Mauritius won’t be in my holiday plans.

• So, you are finding the whole country guilty? Boycott Mauritius because of a court verdict that you disagree with, so ordinary people who depend on tourism for their livelihoods suffer? That sounds fair alright…

• Going by that logic, why bother go to any other country, and why should people come here?

Oh i forgot, we have a perfect legal system here, where only the people who go to jail are the ones who deserve it 100% of the time, the police investigate things the right way and never make mistakes and the law is properly enforced the whole time.

By the way, i was being sarcastic.

• Are people just upset that nobody has been punished? There’s no point in putting the wrong guys away just to get “justice”, while the guilty party walks free. Let the investigation continue, and if they find more evidence to prove that Avinash Treebhoowon and Sandeep Moonea are guilty, lock them up.

• Shane 12/07/12 #

Every cop involved in that investigation and prosecution should be fired. They collected no evidence whatsoever from the scene..disgrace to think murderers roam free over there.

• I really thought from day 1 that they had the wrong men. Michaela had DNA under her fingernails and it didn’t match either men so I truly believe it was the guards and prosecution who were to blame. Hope that someday they will get the ba@tards that done it

• Wow… So much for innocent until proven guilty! As for them confessing, so did the Birmingham Six and Guildford Four and it took many years for their sentences to be overturned. What good would it do the Hartes and McAreaveys to see innocent men go to prison? Where is the justice for *anyone* in that?

• Surprised at some of the above comments, is it not that they arrested and charged the wrong people? as seemed more and more the case during the trial. Sounds like the Mauritian court system is working.

• Seems that way to me Graham. Perhaps it would make more sense for people to direct their anger at the bumbling idiots to ran the investigation than the Judge for his verdict.

• Glad to hear someone talking sense. This case against them was extremely poor. I became increasingly convinced of a fit-up by the police as the case progressed. DNA evidence that didn’t match the suspects, statements against them obtained under duress (the threat of prosecution for murder), the withdrawal of their confessions (which the claimed where obtained under torture) and the evasiveness and hostility of the Mauritian police witnesses. That all adds up to a lot more than reasonable doubt in my mind.

My heart does go out to the families who have no resolution today, but I do think justice was done.

• It is sad to see that nobody has been convicted of the murder. But it was a very flimsy case. The abuse of the police towards the accused and towards Michaela’s husband were terrible.

The Police messed this one up. I’d be looking towards the hotel worked who was given immunity for giving evidence that did not correspond with DNA evidence from the hotel room.

• Well are we sure they were guilty? The case seemed all over the place, police seemed cruel, un professional and incompetent.

• Yep. Beyond reasonable doubt is a difficult thing to prove. I don’t think the verdict confirms them to be innocent, there was enough for the defense to do their job of casting doubt. The outcome will provide no solas to the family of Michaela and I hope the killer(s) are caught and tried fairly.

• For all you people looking for blood, where is your compelling evidence that they did it? I for one didn’t hear or see any. What I saw was a police so desperate to keep the tourists coming that they rushed to arrest the first people remotely suspicious. I am relieved that the jury did not worry about politics or tourism and made their judgement based on the evidence before them. If they were “protecting” themselves as people have suggested they would have found them guilty locked them up, forgotten about them and got back to business. The real disgrace is that the real culprit will probably never be found.

• Won’t be going to Mauritis anytime soon.

RIP Michaela.

• Feel extremely sorry for both the hartes and the McAreaveys and the trial was a farce but i didnt believe the two men accused did it. Hopefully justice will be done.

• Some of the comments here are quite scary. The criminal justice system is not about victims or their family but whether the prosecution can prove guilt beyond a reasonable doubt against an individual. They didn’t in this case. I hope that those who can’t accept that, never get to serve on a jury.

• Its very sad for the family. However the fact there was no DNA evidence in the room of the two suspects was very very strange. It is possible that these were the wrong suspects or somehow the DNA was swapped. Surely it is close to impossible to not leave DNA at the scene especially in a struggle?

• Looks like some people expected the defendants to be convicted simply because they were accused of this horrible murder. But there is a much bigger picture. The authorities instructed the police to arrest and accuse somebody ….. anybody ….. and make it look as if the police were able to deal with the crime. After all, Mauritius’ reputation as a peqcefu paradise and tourism revenue are at stake.
    Having lived in numerous African countries for 25 years I am well aware of the methods used to obtain ‘convictions’ and justice doesn’t enter the equation. Consider for a moment what it must have been like for two innocent men to be picked up, terrorised and tortured by police thugs and then put on trial for their lives. It may not, sadly, have brought closure for the Hartes and McAreaveys but would they have wanted two innocent men to be hanged for a murder they did not commit?

• Question for those posting saying this is a disgrace? Would you rather that lip service was paid to justice in some backwater so an Irish person could sleep at night or would you rather that the lack of evidence was rewarded with the charges being quashed? It’s the right verdict, clear the police are corrupt and incompetent and it’s unlikely the actual killer or killers will ever be found.

• Aidan, the hotel was full of people at the time and there was no DNA evidence of either suspect on the body. Thats reasonable doubt in any country.

• @Aaron broughhill Her husband was never in the frame. He had an alibi. What a stupid thing to say!! Shame on you

• The evidence was completely circumstancial. A number of witnesses gave conflicting evidence in the witness box that was at odds with what they said in there original statements. The preservation of the scene from the outset was a debacle. The Police investigation was shambolic. The verdict wasn’t going to be anything else.

• I’m not surprised. Disgraceful verdict.
    My thoughts are with the mc arevey’s.

• Disgraceful prosecution, actually. From everything I read about the trial, I’d have delivered the same verdict. Aside from a confession beaten out of them, there was f*ck all evidence to suggest they did it. No less heartbreaking for the family because of that, but two injustices don’t equal justice.

• Did you actually follow the trial? It would have been a disgrace if they had been convicted as there was no reliable evidence suggesting they were guilty. The longer the trial went on the more likely it seemed that they hadn’t done it.

It was the police that are to blame here, from following the trial it seemed they just grabbed the handiest patsies they could and set about getting them convicted. I would like to think it was more incompetence than malevolence but I obviously don’t know.

I feel dreadfully sorry for the Harte and McAreavey families. It will obviously be even more difficult for them to move on given the lack of closure.

But it would have been an even greater tragedy had two innocent men been convicted of this murder. All in all this is a horrible mess that it seems will fester for many years.

• Then who dunnit?

• Let’s face it, none of us knows who actually did it. All that is certain is that the investigation was massively cocked up.

• Totally agree. Some Investigating officers have made a mess of the case. Now there is one question to be considered! How are some detectives recruited to join elite teams? There should be independent enquiry set up to investigate this matter. The Prime Minister and the Commissioner of Police should be held accountable. As being an ex detective in the Mauritius CID, I know that some people don’t deserve to be on such teams as they are not experienced at all and just seek a referral from ministers/deputies so as to be transferred on such teams because of the image it carries and also because of the extra money that’s involved. All views my own here. It is just not possible to take someone who has been looking after petty contraventions, vehicle clamping and working in a regular police support team, without first hand experience in investigative work and statement writing to be transferred to Criminal Investigation Dept. It can’t be allowed to have an officer deponing in the supreme court in such a serious case and the latter can’t recollect anything!!! What’s the point of being an investigating officer!! Am going to Mauritius on holiday soon and am sure I will have to go to court for all my pending cases and am sure I will recollect all the cases that I’ve been investigating 5-6 years back. This corrupted practice should end. It took only that particular case to bring those practices to light. It’s very sad to see 2 men, who I strongly believe to have committed the crime to walk away free due to inconsistencies in the investigative work. Today is a shame for the Mauritius police as a whole. My heart goes to the Harte’s and McAreavey’s family and on behalf of the Mauritian Nation and Mauritius Police, am asking them for forgiveness in what I can translate to be a gross miscarriage of proper criminal investigation.

• It’s a shame u think that! If u followed the case, assuming u have a bit of logical thought process and some intelligence, u would have realised how flawed it is!

• I feel sorry for the families, all they had to go through in the last two months for nothing, the police out there are a bloody disgrace.Seems like a very corrupt country.I hope us Irish people now will stop going there. All these island paradises are not what they are cracked up to be.I hope that John and the Harte family will find they strength to go on and find some happiness in the future.

• Amazing how many people on here are conviced the pair were guilty, despite a total lack of evidence. If you think the treatment of the Guildford four and Birmingham six was wrong, how can you think that that a conviction here could possibly be right??

• mattoid 12/07/12 #

It will no doubt be hard for the relatives of Michaela to take as they also appear to be convinced of the pair’s guilt, however it would have been a tragedy if two innocent men were jailed and the real killer was still walking free.
      Hopefully the real killer(s) will be caught and prosecuted someday…

• @Aditya That’s exactly my point. I’ve been following the case since its opening and what I want to point out here is that it’s the police’s fault, which should be independently enquired as to how they can have such incompetents working in a respected and highly effective team. If you are familiar with the Mauritius Police, then you will probably know about Late Mr Radhoa, former Superintendent in Charge of CID and MCIT. I use to work under his command and if he was still here, all such incompetences wouldn’t have been allowed. One can never involve politics in police work. This particular case is a major one and should have been flawless.

• You clearly haven’t a clue about the case. It was obvious from the start that the two accused were being used as scapegoats

• Furthermore, the incompetences go well above the frontline investigating officers. It goes right through to DCP Crime and through to the DPP as well. All similar cases, after investigation, the completed case file has to be submitted to DCP Crime through the Officer in Charge of the enquiry, who will then decide if there is anything missing or not and then the case file will either be sent back to the investigating officer for further enquiry or if satisfied with all the evidence on hand to be above reasonable doubt, he will then submit it to the DPP for a decision. So, I can guess there were flaws all along the chain. Let’s us guess about the competences of top management of the police and prosecution service. Again politics, as these guys are placed there not for their knowledge and competencies but for allegiance to politics. If I can rightly recall, earlier today I’ve read in an article that the sitting judge, Justice Fecknah mentioned something about not being influenced by politics and to leave tourism industry to politics. This is a great phrase as he knows how things tend to work out and warned against this. I am probably right or wrong to the eyes of certain readers, but my views are my own and I stand by them.

• I know the trial seems to have been farcical but I can understand why the jury had to give that verdict- the law has to be on the side of the accused because it’s better to let a guilty person go free than put an innocent person in prison.

• They can expect their tourism to suffer in a big way because of this, disgraceful decision

• Well its the only decision to be made seeing as how the cops investigating it screwed up. If they had done their job properly they it would have been different

• Aidan did you ever hear the quote innocent until proven guilty..The jury listened to the evidence and found the two accused not guilty.What is so disgraceful about their decision….Too many occassions innocent people have been sent to prison for crimes they did not commit purely on the basis of getting a result.We as a country have seen enough evidence of this behaviour during the 80s.Least we forget one witness was given inmunutity to prosecution if he appeared on behalf of the prosecution even though he was arrested on suspicion of committing this murder.As someone who has followed this trial i would have found it very hard to return a verdict of guilty due to the fact that there was no fingerprints,dna etc from either accused on the body.So wether you like it or not justice has prevailed and two innocent men have escaped been fitted up for a crime they did not commit just to protect the island industry…Maybe now a proper investigation into this murder will take place and the real culprit will be apprehended….

• Too right Aidan…I purposely avoided Murderitius as a destination for my honeymoon last September. The bungling police force there are as scary as the possibility of getting murdered in your own hotel by the staff. The international media attention today will copper fasten this…

• All the disgrace crew – how can it be a disgrace, there was not enough evidence to prove guilt and anything that was reported in the media pointed to two innocent men facing trail.

• I do apologize that statement was harsh, rush of blood to the head and all that!

• if the case was on this side of the world it would have never have came to trial due the the lack of evidence cause there was not a shred of evidence in the case

• As someone else has pointed . Our own police force did something similar in the investigation of Sophie Toscan Du Plantier. Not sure we would like to whole population of France to Boycott us and our goods
    Some of the reactions on here border on the extreme including those from a Dublin Shock jock who I presume did not sit through the trial or get a copy of the trial transcripts and read through them all to make such outragious comments

• So would you now allow your daughter to holiday there alone?? Or even with company??

• Anybody know what happened to the Garda in question in the Sophie Toscan Du Plantier case or will we ever hear about anything happening to the incompetent morons in the Mauritius police force?
      I doubt it.

Policing the police is not popular anywhere. Neither is reporting on their mess ups; taking pictures and interviews of family member of victims sells a lot more papers and gets more website posts.

• @Tom, would you let your daughter go to Donegal? London? Birmingham? Mauritius isn’t the first place to have dodgy cops.

• Tom, Of course not . I would not let her go to West Cork or Mauritius much safer to keep her locked up at home …
      Are you for real !

• Tom I suggest you keep your daughter in your cellar. Possibly chained up :)

• Martin, it is very easy to be flippant but this happened to a family, a husband and a whole sporting community who are very dear to the hearts of all GAA supporters in this country. The case was obviously handled with total incompetance and indeferance to the people affected in the hope of smoothing over their tourist industry. I, for one will not be contributing to their precious tourist industry as a result and it is obvious from the comments here that most people think the same.

• The British Government need to get access for the PSNI to investigate this like the French police are with the Sophie Tuscon du Plantier case.

• Our record with people being attacked and killed in Ireland is not too great regarding convictions. I would think it is all politics as the police were told to tidy this up for business reasons. We have a lot in common with our friends in Mauritius.

• I remember thinking at the time that something wasn’t right with that investigation but for the sake of the family involved hoped it was. Now I seem to have been proved right. Seems to me the cops wanted to wrap it up very quickly for some reason.

Somebody somewhere knows something. Hopefully they’ll have the heart to disclose that information.

• It’s a court of law with an outcome that was not expected (wanted even). But law is law. If you have a beef be reasonable how you speak it.

• The trial was a mock trial thrown together for political purposes and has failed. If i was a member of the jury i would have voted not guilty as well. Its a terrible ordeal for her husband and family but locking up 2 people who most likely are innocent is not going to solve anything.

And to the idiots saying to boycott the country that is just ridiculous. Cop on and think logially

• It’s disgusting

• The cops mucked up. Reminds me of the OJ case where the cops just really made a hash of the whole thing. Terrible result.

• No surprises there. This is what police get for using such interrogation tactics. They were very possibly guilty, but because of their laziness, the jury were justified in being extremely cautious regarding any confession evidence derived from a situation with strong evidence of torture. It would be interesting to see if it would have been a different result if the victim was not a foreigner.

• The evidence against them was circumstantial with a heavy reliance on confession and one statement by a second witness.However it is wrong to say that there was proof of torture by the police. There wasn’t.

• Its so so sad for the family, but at the end of the day you cannot lock up 2 men if the evidence to prove them guilty is not there.The police messed up big time.

• That is just a terrible comment, do u not think her poor husband has been through enough. My heart goes out to him and the Harte family

• Feel sorry for both famlies (Harte’s/McAreavey’s), but having followed it from a distance, there was always an air of inevitability that it would end in this way, from the Police/lack of evidence etc, unfortunately.

• I can only imagine how the family is thinking… where to go from here?

• Very tough for both families. My heart goes out to them. If the evidence was not clear then the two men should not be convicted, though. a quick fix and rounding up the usual suspects is not the answer. Somebody knows the truth but it’s not clear yet. I hope someday it will be.

• Since it was first announced that these guys were her murderers something fishy was going on. In my opinion and many other people’s too, these guys are 100% innocent and because they are inferior to those “well known/high in society people the blame was out on them. Body language, methods of interrogation, constant supervision over every last thing they do and SAY shows they were playing puppets to these superior respected people and something was being hidden. I don’t believe that her husband had anything to do with her death. For a situation like this there has to be a clear motive eg money/affair etc but that’s not the case. The jury’s decision in my eyes was the right decision and these guys should be able to live the rest of their lives in nobodies shadow. The real criminal should be brought forward because it is obvious they know who it is and are covering it up.

• And why would they arrest the man who has just witnessed a circus of a trial and is still grieving the death of his wife .

• Outragreous.
    A completely inept investigation leading to a farce of a trial was only going to bring one verdict.
    RIP Michaela

• No matter what the out come of the case it was going to be controversial. On one hand there was obvious police incompetence and allegations of police brutality however the defendants claimed to have received injuries from being tourtured that a doctors examination appeared to disprove. This doesnt mean they weren’t subjected to some sort adverse treatement. A lack of DNA evidence doesnt mean someone is automatically innocent either. I do believe the defence’s ‘grandstanding’ throughout the case behaviour was a disgrace, demanding that the police prevent Michael McAleavey from leaving the island because of the cctv they claimed showed the McAleavey’s fighting, which turned out to be a completely different couple. The defence were basically claiming that Michael McAleavey committed the murder despite him having an alibi for when it occured. I feel very sad, upset and angry for the poor Harte and McAleavey familys however I fear that it may just be the case that the two accused men may just have beaten the system and gotten away with it. This doesn’t justify incompetence and wrong doing by the police I just hate it when people get away with a crime they committed that is if they did in fact do it

• What a useless bunch of coppers they have over there. It appears the whole investigation and prosecution was bungled. Apart from the worrying way in which confessions are obtained. Commiserations to the family for their pain, it is wretched that this should be added to their loss.

• Mjhint 12/07/12 #

Jaysus thats just more pressure for this womens family. Our thoughts are with them.

• Brat 12/07/12 #

Why would they arrest him you bloody moron? If you paid attention to the trial you’d know he was clearly innocent and all the evidence was against the two who were on trial. They should arrest you too for being an A1 Muppet.

• I truly hope this family will get justice and peace ,so very sad
    Mauritius won’t be in my holiday plans either.

• My heart goes out to Michaela’s family as for them there iid no justice and no closure. My thoughts are with them.

• Let this be a lesson to all, justice is coincidental. My thoughts go out to her familly.

• It’s so sad that this couple had their lives destroyed in such an unprecedented & horrific way. The strength and character of both family’s is to be commended. If the person or persons responsible for this crime are ever caught, It would bring closure for these family’s so they could try to move on in some way with their lives.

• Just gutted for the family-not because these guys got off, but because they haven’t found the culprits. The buck stops with the police who royally screwed up the investigation-they had people trampling through the crime scene, messing any evidence that might have been there.

Special mention to the ASSHATS that were the defenc team-yes they had a job to do, but dragging the poor girl and her husband through the mud was not part of it.

• I honestly think that if this was a citizen of mauritus that was murdered….those 2 guys definitely would have been convicted of murder regardless of the investigation been a shambles, just because foreign eyes were watching they wanted to do the “right thing”
    I hope they find the real killer/s.

• vanessa 12/07/12 #

I doubt that Micheala’s husband and family will ever see justice done. My heart goes out to them.

• vanessa 12/07/12 #

I just want to add that I also feel very sorry for the families of the two men and the men themselves who had to go through what must have been a terrible ordeal over the past year or so. I just hope for all involved that someday there will be closure on this case.

• Base on what they were not found guilty?Lack of evidence?
    There was a crime two accused and no justice!

Blame the one who make law, who couldnt do justice!

The system itself is wrong.

My thought are with Michaela family and justice will be when the killer pay for his deed.

• My view is these guys have literally got away with murder. The authorities made a mess of the case and their case floundered. They are a disgrace. Justice will probably now never be served.

• What special inside information do you have which proves these two are guilty?

You should really talk to the Gardaí about that.

• I have to agree with Michael the two accused were working in the hotel at the time of her murder. Whoever did was definitely working in the hotel as they gained unforced access into her hotel room and they also knew that she wasn’t in the room…come on guys it doesn’t take a rocket scientist to work it out it may not of been the two accused but I bet my bottom dollar it was someone working in the hotel.

• Disgraceful verdict her poor husband an family…

• Hotel rooms all over the world are robbed by those who work as cleaners. | don’t mean all cleaners, but it happens.I was in my room in a amsterdam hotel with a do not disturb sign but he let himself in without knocking either.

• So are the family now to rely on that bunch of muppets to find the killer?? Feel so sorry for them. Its not a safe holiday destination when we now know how things work and there are for sure killers walking the streets there!! Absolutely should be boycotted until they get their policing in order!

• Aarum 12/07/12 #

The police did a terrible job and this is the result, heart goes out for them, I hope no Irish people travel there again as a result, they might get some decent police if there tourism industry suffers

• another fine example of the African justice system.

• I said it before and will say it again, her husband has had something to do with it. The court case was a shambles from start to finish. Thank god two innocent men haven’t gone down for something they did not commit.

• One could just see a the “OJ” trial right through this one. The defence team sure studied that one

• Mockery of a legal system and country… Making sure they keep there tourist industry in tack… R.i.P michaela

• Aarum 12/07/12 #

The police did a terrible job and this is the result, heart goes out for them, I hope no Irish people travel there again as a result, they might get some decent police if there tourism industry suffers

• justice has not been served!! famiy is left with no closure for the death of an innocent woman! shame on the jury!!

• Should they have had two innocent men sentenced for murder so that the family would have closure?

They were found not guilty: there was not sufficient evidence to say that they committed the murder. The jury sat through the entire case so they know the facts better than any of us. You can’t just throw someone in prison to make yourself feel better.

If you imprison someone without reasonable proof, the victim is still dead, the real culprit is still free, and an innocent person has been put in prison. I wouldn’t call that justice.

• Are you kidding me? These men have been found innocent, their prosecution was a farce, they were beaten in police custody. Are you really saying you would rather two innocent men were sentenced to life in prison so the family could have ‘closure’?

• i take back what i said about the jury..i regretted saying that as soon as a i posted it but couldn’t edit the statement.

ido still believe justice has not been served though because the prosecution didn’t provide sufficient evidence. i actually don’t believe the two men who went on trial actually did it but the whole trial was an absolute farce so we’ll never know who did it because the proper steps weren’t taken in the beginning to get proper useable evidence against whoever committed the crime. i just feel sorry for the families because they were given the false hope that someone might be charged for this when they just arrested the wrong men from the beginning.

• You can’t charge and sentence suspects simply to ease the suffering of the victims, or provide ‘closure’. There was doubt in their convictions.

Really, after a loss such as this, I don’t believe a family ever has this closure that everyone speaks of. The grief is with them always. That is their sentence.

• Justice was served missy

• Oh and shame on u

• pjbrowne 12/07/12 #

how do you mean shame on the jury they gave the verdict on the evidence they were presented and they gave the right verdict not guilty

• P Wurple 12/07/12 #

I expected a mis-trial. Awful for the families.

• Absolute BS, boycott that place, global warming can’t come any sooner and swallow that island up!

• Disgraceful another Madelene Mc Cann Story, A lesson to learn no proper Policing in the Islands so at this Point let us all say a prayer for the two grieving families at the loss of their beautiful Bride, Wife, Daughter, etc. Such a loss such a system by the Police. Wonder about our Politicians, Our Police, who do we trust ????????

• They should have got the death sentence or at least life with harsh conditions, disgusting lack of justice, suppose its not the first world for a reason!

• Well in order for that to happen they need to be found guilty.

And you can thank the investigating cops for not doing their job properly that lead to a sham of a trial

• But they may not actually have done it. It could very likely be the case that the police might have got it wrong too. It was up to the prosecution to show beyond reasonable doubt that these two men were the ones that murdered Michaela and convince the jury of that. It is likely that the jury didn’t want to put away two men who may have been innocent either. Maybe the jury thought that the police handled it badly and that affected the outcome of the trial. The whole thing is an utter mess: from the arrests to the trial. I hope one day the Hartes and McAreaveys get closure and justice is done. God bless them, it is an awful situation to be in.

• Kevin cos Ireland dishes out first world justice all the time! Bigotted comment! Funny I seem to think Ireland as lot less first world than u think

• The whole trial was a farce. A further crime would have been committed if these men were found guilty.

• Kevin, you reckon that putting citizens to death is a hallmark of a first-world country? I would have thought that was the hallmark of a country that doesn’t respect human life, a ‘barbocracy’ if you like….

• I sincerely hope it is impossible to contact a travel agent as there phones are red hot with people cancelling their holidays to hell,sorry,it was called paradise.

• I find it interesting a lot of the comments are saying in there comments the words they were “most likely innocent”
    What does that tell you. You are defending them 2 in one way but a lot of the comments can’t or won’t say 100% they are innocent.Very strange. I would bet a lot of money they were involved somehow. Do any of you remember there was one guy who worked in the hotel and the police wanted to call him to give evidence and all of a sudden he is out of the country and they can’t locate him. let me tell you something, over there they don’t have a lot of money to live don’t mind travel and all of a sudden a witness disappears, what does that tell you! This is an small island and they look after there own. Just my option.

• Hold on for a second, how is this even possible?
    I thought it’s clear as a bell they killed poor woman and it’s just about how many years they can get.
    Can somebody enlighten me what is going on here as I did not follow that much?
    She surely did not kill herself did she. What a joke.

• There are two possibilities:

One, they did it but the behaviour of the police during the investigation in their haste to get a quick arrest and confession tainted any possible prosecution beyond repair.

Two, somebody else did but the behaviour of the police during the investigation in their haste to get a quick arrest and confession arrested the wrong people, making the chances now of finding the real killers extremely slim.

Either way, the police seem to be to blame for this verdict, not the jury: they seem to have discharged their duty properly.

• Thanks Peter Nolan. The last I heard was weeks ago and thought they confessed to the crime. What a nightmare then for the family. All these weeks talking shi…e in the court to imprison wrong guys? Seriously how hard can be track guilty person in 5 star resort clearly somebody is covering someone. What a mess…

• #boycottmauritius

• Should have been tried In USA there able to deal with the Muslim thoughts and prayers are with both families

• Nobody else was there to do the crime! They didn’t have enough evidence to say it was them but if they were the only ones present then who else could it be? Doesn’t that elongate reasonable doubt?

• According to RTE’s Tommie Gorman, another couple reported seeing a person acting suspiciously near the McAreaveys’ room. He says this information was not presented in court.

• According to the sound bites from Tommie Gorman these guys were guilty from day one while it was a terribly sad and a tragic case. Tommies coverage of it was completely biased due to I presume his close involvement with the Irish families who were in turn very involved with the prosecution team.
      I would say his reporting on a daily basis was one of the most unprofessional and one sided pieces of garbage I have heard in a long time .

• The question i have, if they did not do it who did? I followed the case and although it was flawed in some ways it “sorry a lot of ways” i thought it still pointed in the accused direction. Very very sad day for all and will damage tourism industry which they live from.

• Has no-one noticed the body language of the 2 accused and their supporters/Lawyers reactions. Guilty and got away with it flawed investigations, tried and fooled the jury, As for DNA they were wearing gloves. Its a long road home for John

Add New Comment