TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 5 °C Friday 24 May, 2013

Call for Gardaí to investigate insider NAMA deal

It was revealed yesterday that a former employee of NAMA bought a house from the agency’s property portfolio.

Chief executive of NAMA Brendan McDonagh and chairman Frank Daly (File photo)
Image: Sasko Lazarov/Photocall Ireland

THERE HAVE BEEN calls for Gardaí to investigate how a senior executive at NAMA was able to buy a house from the agency’s property portfolio.

Fianna Fáil finance spokesman Michael McGrath said that the revelation exposes the agency to “the most serious allegations about how it does its business”.

Yesterday it was revealed by an investigation in the Sunday Times that the senior ex-employee bought a five bedroom house in Lucan in Dublin from NAMA’s portfolio.

“It is clear that the compliance procedures within NAMA did not work in this case,” McGrath said. “This raises the question of how many other times such private purchases have occurred involving NAMA staff or persons connected to them”.

RTE reports that the employee was a portfolio manager for NAMA when he bought the house in 2011. He is reported to have asked his employer whether there were any compliance issues before he went ahead with the purchase and was told that no issues would arise providing the house was his principal residence.

A NAMA spokesperson said that the agency is conducting an investigation along with its internal auditors Deloitte into how the transaction took place and whether there was any wrongdoing involved.

NAMA to investigate ex-employee over transaction >

High Court rejects Treasury challenge against NAMA over receivers >

Read next:

Comments (37 Comments)

• I have a funny feeling that a few years down the road there will be an investigation into the entire project and guess who will be asked to pay for it? This isn’t the only case where questions have been raised about the dealings with NAMA.

• Shur NAMA is the new Galway Tent, Bankers, Developers, Politicians all in each others pockets. We are no longer surprised by such headlines, it;s been the norm now for decades.

The toxic bank is one of the most secretive state organisations and is specifically excluded from the Freedom of Information Act. Owned by the Irish Taxpayer, for the Benefit of the Elite. Previously protected by FF, now protected by FG/Labour Blueshirts….!!!

We can no longer trust either our Political or Banking institutions. Every rock that gets turned is rotten with corruption..!!!

• Sure why not have a tribunal investigate it? Poor barristers are missing their place at the trough……

• Two chances of anyone being brought to book over this!!!

• Oh I had such a long winded comment but at this stage I give up….. Pigs at the trough again and how comes he is an ex employee???… He was obviously a ” ninja purchaser” get into NAMA, worked for a year or so, picked the plumpest property for value on the books , purchased and scarpered… we are surely the greediest , little bastard nation in the world… Roll on two years, adios.

• If only from the point of view of optics, this shouldn’t happen. In the end I’ve no doubt it’ll be found to be just on the right side of the line legally.
    Same old story.
    That doesn’t mean it’s right though!

• mafia

• Sure they are all rotten to the core,

• Imagine whats going on behind closed doors in NAMA.

Shut this White Elephant down.

There is nothing NAMA can do that any half decent estate agent with a mobile phone couldn’t do.

• It is the duty of the Gardai to investigate suspected breaches of the law. They should act immediately, although judging by the comments here there is not much confidence in Irish democracy.

• Goes to show that the ” Greedy Pigs of Ireland” are still alive and grunting.

• what’s all the fuss about, nama sold millions of euros worth of land around cork privately without advertising or even putting up a for sale sign, they can do what they want with no one to answer to. was it not illegal to lobby nama or make representation to nama well that has now totally changed and there is a dedicated phone line for politicians to call on behalf of there buddies

• Exactly Danny. What’s all the fuss about??? Corruption is alive and well and thriving in Ireland despite Austerity, and financial turmoil.

In fairness now lads, and lasses, you knew from the very birth of NAMA that it was just a mechanism to provide discount property to the “lucky few”, why the hell are ye all moaning about it now??? It’s too late.

Instead of wasting your pathetic lives thinking you can defeat corruption and political sleaze by typing rants and baseless accusations on an internet news forum, why don’t you actually get yourselves organised and stand up to this elitist bullcrap???

Yaysus the Quinns, by all accounts, are as bent and twisted as a 7 euro note but they have managed to garner more support than any group, party or individual who has spoken out against Austerity, corruption or social injustice. Figure that one out.

Come on, somebody get off your backside and do something. I’d do it myself but to be honest I’m incredibly busy just now trying to keep my own head above water, but more importantly, I know deep down it would be a totally worthless, and thankless, enterprise and the end result would be pathetic failure because the people I would be trying to defend would be too bloody lazy or or ignorant or impartial to realise the seriousness of the situation to even bother to support me.

Anyway, if somebody else wants to take up the gauntlet I promise to support them as much as I possibly can. I have a couple of hundred euro to donate, a van at my disposal, am free on Saturday afternoons until 7pm, also Monday and Tuesday mornings, and I could possibly serve 2 or 3 weeks in prison if it can hard line tactics were necessary.

What more can I do?????? :)

• I honestly donn’t see what a garda investigation might achieve. There has been no suggestion of fraud as far as I know, from what we do know it would appear that a house purchase by an employee of NAMA was ” facilited” by NAMA with this house apparently having not being offered to the open market. If there was proper procedures and a good decision process in place for this then there would be no talk of investigations. The fact that there is talk of investigations (NAMA’s own statement) seems to imply that there is either a lack of procedure or that the decision process was not clearly defined.

• im surprised this has come to light so soon i was wondering when something like this would happen.

• Beware of falling for the righteous indignations of a Fianna Fail politician. So far, all we know for certain on this is that there may have been a procedural oversight. There is no suggestion that the property was bought at less than market value.

• What’s the problem with this? Did he get it for free or something?

• non story.

• How is he a greedy pig? He bought a house at market value paying over 400k. Should be grateful to the guy for buying up one of thousands of empty houses. Swear he got the house for nothing!! Another example of jumping on the bandwagon. Time to move on.

Add New Comment