TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Monday 20 May, 2013

Number of non-Irish nationals doubles in a decade

Immigrants to Ireland come from 199 nations, with Polish and UK nationals representing the majority.

Polish football fans on O'Connell Street, Dublin.
Image: Mark Stedman/Photocall Ireland

THE NUMBER OF non-Irish nationals living in Ireland has almost doubled in a decade, according to new figures from the Central Statistics Office.

There were a total of 544,357 non-Irish nationals living in the country in April 2011, up from 224,261 people in 2002. According to the CSO, the growth in numbers has continued since 2006, albeit at a slower pace than earlier years.

They come from 199 nations, with the majority speaking a language other than Irish or English in the home. Polish was the most common language, with 112,811 speakers, followed by Lithuanian, Russian, Romanian and Latvian.

“Ireland has become an increasingly diverse society over the past decade and the different nationalities that make up the population of Ireland have an increasingly important impact on the economy and society” said Deirdre Cullen, Senior Statistician at the CSO.

The  number of Polish nationals living in Ireland increased by 93.7 per cent since 2006 to 122,585 in 2011, making them the second largest group in Ireland, slightly ahead of UK nationals who account for 112,259.

The majority of foreign nationals live in Dublin, with 88,038 and 49,517  living in the Dublin City and Fingal administrative counties respectively. 42,886 lived in Cork while Leitrim and Longford, with 3,703 and 5,477 non-nationals respectively had the lowest numbers.

One new emigrant every five minutes, according to latest CSO figures>

Read next:

Comments (138 Comments)

• They should smile more, but, maybe it’s the Irish weather, economy, Trap’s style of play, so probably couldn’t blame them

• This is mad Ted!

• They love it here!

• Fits I work in construction and I can only tell you what I see or the reason why ,,, I worked 5 x 13 hour shifts last week 12 euro a hour no overtime , I have only worked one day this week as they only bring you in when your needed , most of the employees are non nationals ,, the Irish lads are on stand by so if they only work a day or two a week they can not sign on , me my self think it’s the system that is wrong not the people

• Samuel by what you said above ,, one in five on the Dole are non Irish , so when you make comment are you talking about the one in five as well , just wondering

• @Aoife O’Connel, I’m sure you include your Mother and Father and the rest of your family in that idiotic generalisation about Irish people, unless of course you’re not actually Irish then the agenda becomes clear.

• Further immigration into Ireland is simply unsustainable. There are no jobs in Ireland to support immigrants and their needs, do we really need to import more people just so they can sign on the dole and become a further burden to the already over stretched tax payer? It is of no benefit to the Irish people to allow this madness to continue.

The only people who benefit from mass immigration of cheap foreign labour are the big business interests who use this as a method to force workers into competiton with each other in a race to the bottom in terms of workers rights and pay.

• JayK 04/10/12 #

Stop their benefits!

• The Irish government is actually only required to give EU nationals (which include Poland and the UK) benefits for 6 months. Not sure why they do it indefinitely, as it seems like a reasonable amount of time.

Of course, I’d enjoy watching Enda explain to the British government why he was limiting benefits for Brits.

• Tom
      The funny thing is that virtually all of these immigrants are in employment here which reflects very badly on the Irish who continue to say there is no work here.
      With immigrants exceeding emigrants in the past three years we must now look at the disincentives in our Social Protection System and remove them .

• There are reciprocal arrangements between the UK and Ireland in regard to welfare payments to citizens, health benefits, elections and travel.

Ireland can’t renege on those agreements.

• JayK 04/10/12 #

I hope the 26 people who agreed with my comment read the sarcastic tone. I intended to mock the ignorant outrage of the Daily Mail and such, not to actually take a dig at benefits. I was actually hoping to get voted down…

• @Paddy Rogers, you claim ‘most’ of the immigrants in Ireland are in employment, I seriously doubt that is true.
      If you have any evidence to support your claim please feel free to share it us, your opinion does not count for much unless supported by facts.
      But hey, dont let the truth get in the way of your bleeding heart, liberal leftist agenda.

Also, if it is true that most of the 500,000+ immigrants are in employment is this not cause in itself to prevent the further importation of cheap foreign labour into Ireland as this would be clear evidence to support the idea that it is leading to the displacement of indigenous Irish workers.

I know for a fact there are many unscrupulous employers who favour hiring foreign workers over Irish workers merely because the majority of foreign workers are easier to exploit, most of them have no idea of what rights they are entitled to or the basic salary scale for their position.

I have taken several cases before the rights commissioner and the employment tribunal on behalf of immigrant workers who have been exploited by Irish business owners.

I have no problem with very highly skilled immigrants coming to Ireland if they have a job offer before they come here, but the current situation is a farce, flood gates open for cheap foreign labour to pour in and it is always the ordinary folk both immigrant and native who suffer while the manipulators at the top reap all the rewards.

Wake the hell up before it’s too late!

• @ Paddy Rodgers

Try standing in a dole office mate !!

• I want to live in Ireland , from Chicago simply because I love it there ..

• Talk for yourself, Aoife.

• Dont forget !! most of the polish emploed here are employed buy greedy (IRISH EMPLOYERS), so if you cant get a job ,,dont blame them ,,look to your owen.

• Samuel, how did you, a Mexican without fluent English get a visa to come and work in Ireland when Ireland has an unemployment rate of well over 500,000 people and the rest of Europe is similar with Spain having an unemployment rate around 23%.
    How did a non European like yourself get a visa to come and work here?

• How do non Australasian people get visas to work in Australia and New Zealand. ! He got a visa because he applied and was accepted like all the Irish who go to America Canada or Australia

• Keith, how do you know if Samuel is here legally or illegally?
      What makes you so sure?
      What the hell has Australasia got to do with Irish immigration policy? Thats right, ABSOLUTELY NOTHING!

• Tom as I said mate I want to be an actor I’m going to act in a venue the next month if u want some tickets ;) and about the visa I’ll stay here until I finished my career if I’m not an actor at that time and mi visa expires I’ll go back home live in cancun open a small sea food restaurant and on my free days surfing and smoking weed ;) to get a working permit I need to earn €60,000 per year or get married and I know is easier get the €60,000 than be with someone that u don’t love for 5 years XD

• Not hard to double in fairness. Immigration was practically non-existent for most of my life.

• Only thing that bothers me is when in a shop asking for a bar of chocolate they lose their ability to speak English????? I was refused a Job as I didn’t have my Leaving Cert so how can they advertise a job and say good English required and they can’t string a sentence together at the end of the day they don’t bother me and I don’t bother them sure you can’t even say anything about them or your a racist so I leave it be!!!

• finbar m 04/10/12 #

Second point . In the uk there have been many strikes over the last few years over ppl working under the set construction price of labour , there are sections of ppl undercutting the price of local labour, in Wexford there is a new power station being built and the job has been closed down many times over not hiring labour at the set rate of labour by the construction federation of Ireland . It seems to be at thing that goes on all over europe not just in Ireland

• I sick of having this myth that foreign workers are way better than the Irish workers etc etc. they no better no worse. I worked alongside polish and romanians a few years ago on a building site and some of them were just as lazy and ignorant dossers as some of the Irish, sitting around pretending they cant understand English, smoking their black market cigarettes. Ah but you see by saying this I a racist, I am uneducated, I hate other cultures… gimme a break.

• I think you’re right, there is not much difference between Polish and Irish, etc. if we took average / general work attitude. You can get bad apples everywhere. Another thing is that immigrants who come here are getting usually bigger salary than in their home countries, so there is sort of that extra incentive and motivation to work hard if you know what I mean. For Irish who were used to comfortable lifestyle and working wages that extra perk of course does not exist. And it’s quite important to be honest.

• what’s being christian got to do with anything ? i’m irish born and bread and i’m an atheist religion is a personal issue don’t see why you should view it as a criteria for living here . anyway nationalism is simply a tool to try and divide workers and other low and middle income people from seeing the real reasons for their collective problems . were all workers dose not matter what country you come from

• There a lot of people that are one the dole Irish and non Irish I’m just tired of listening people. they are taking our jobs ok I gave around 300 CV to get a job I love Ireland I already say that. Just live and let live, I’m just hoping that if u have friends and relatives living in another country they don’t have to handle with this. And yeah I’m not Irish but I know the meaning of the flag, the 4 parts of Ireland and their flags too. Little bit of Irish history and a few words in Gaelic :) so have a good day

• Youre benifiting more from be able to work and study here than we are from you. Irish people have done the crap jobs every where. Stop making out that youre doing us a favour. There are plenty of irish third level and secondary school pupils who always took the waitressing and supermarket jobs but cant get them now.

• If someone’s ready to work, then good for you.

I’ve nothing against that.

I’ve only something against people who come here and don’t work (and I don’t mean people who were let go after they earned stamps).

• Samuel look through your comments you are slagging the Irish off ,, yes there are lazy Irish like every other race . When you were making comments about Irish I said if your not happy il give you a lift to the airport . Non nationals are very quick to use the racist card ,, fair play to you if you are making a life for your self in Ireland but don’t be so quick to slag off Irish ppl

• Sameul yes but I think your going over the top , yes there are a few but the most ppl here not care there too worried about there own lives ,

• So it’s 544,357 non-nationals, I think that number is way wide of the mark if you consider the illegal ones they don’t know about. I’d say if you told anyone that walks down through the streets of cities and towns in Ireland that it was this number they would disagree and say it was way more. The government needs to get a grip and retrieve more accurate figures(legal/illegal) and grow a pair of balls. I wonder if Troika would object if Ireland said it was going to stop giving out non-obligatory benefits to non-nationals in a bid to save money.

• Good news for the gene pool then!

• Tom, Finbar and Sean will be joining the team at Immigration Control shortly.

• A major Irish company left Poland last week ( John disk ) at a cost of 50 million because the polish government would not pay the bill motorway work ,it’ said but I’m not sure of the facts but it because they were flying Irish / British lads out ,,,

• Finbar: John Sisk and SRB civil engineering. Truth, and it’s probably more than 50 million. They tell it in zloty, not eur, but total payment including all processing costs, Irish companies are looking for nearly 1 billion zloty, so about 250 million euros. However whole situation is extremely unclear, Irish companies released statement in Polish press that they are withdrawing from the contract, because polish roads authority (investor) did not fulfill contract agreements, and polish say something similar about Irish companies. There is also 1 more polish company involved. In the end I think they will get their money back eventually in the court.
      Anyways finbar, what this has to do with sentiment to polish people in Ireland etc. this thing is just business and just dispute between polish government and some company, it does not make absolutely any difference that this was Irish company, could be anybody, don’t be ridiculous now this happened because this is Irish company. Is that what you are suggesting..?

• “THE NUMBER OF non-Irish nationals living in Ireland has almost doubled in a decade, according to new figures from the Central Statistics Office.”

Simple maths would tell you that 554,357 is significantly more than double 224,261, almost 2.5 times.

• Tommy C – How dare you judge polish people ??!who do you think you are?!!! I am absolutely disqusted with your comments. Your stupid comments reveal what a dumphead you are! You don’t have a clue about Polish people! 80% of the whole nation have third level degrees – mostly master degrees! So don’t judge a book by its cover!!!
    Especially when you don’t have a clue what you talking about! I have never read such an offensive comments from irish person! Shame on you!
    You have the right to have your own opinion, but reading your comments makes me sick!
    stereotypes are not going to change…

All over the world you have a lazy people who don’t want to do anything and you are the people who want to take a chance and take a steps further in their careers!

And just to let you know Mr. Ignorant -
    My name is Natalia. I’m Polish and I am proud of it. I live in Ireland. I like being here. Have lots of Irish friends who are lovely people! I have a third level degree in Criminal Law – Master Degree level! I do have Bachelor Degree in International Political Relations!!! I do speak English!!!I have a good permanent job! I do pay high taxes, I do pay rent to Irish landlord!I do pay money to Irish doctors, I do buy food in Irish groceries and shops etc!!!
    I make a contribution to Irish society.

Thank you! Bye!!!
    And good luck to you!!!!

• No country in the world has a population where 80% of it has a degree.. are you mixing up final school exams with university/ college qualifications? I think you are…..

• Fair play Natalia.

• well done !!

• Well said, Natalia; they don’t even represent most Irish people these bigots.

• From Nov 2009, Irish Times.

THE VAST majority (72 per cent) of people want to see a reduction in the number of non-Irish immigrants living here, according to an Irish Times/Behaviour Attitudes opinion poll.

Overall, a total of 43 per cent say they would like to see some, but not all, immigrants leave the State, while 29 per cent would like to see most immigrants leave. In contrast, just over a quarter (26 per cent) would like to see the number of immigrants remain as it is.

I suppose they are all bigots, eh ?

• @Kevin – Polls are crap; you can find polls saying the complete opposite. Yes they are bigots. Ireland should be of all countries the most understanding when it comes to immigration; Irish have been immigrating the last 500 years. Ever heard of the Know Nothing Movement during the famine era(1840s) which targeted Irish-Catholics and vilified them like what’s going on hear. A lot of Irish are quick to forget their own history.

• Tom go to O’conell street you will see load of hard working people dinking in the street messing with the Garda while the people that live by the dole and weren’t born here are the one who works in the shop of the same street, housekeepers, cleaners, night-porters, mc d cashiers etc. Sh#t jobs but someone have to do it :) I earn €800 in a good month while someone that is on the dole earn almost the same the difference is that I pay taxes. There’s a few Irish that will do this kind of jobs for the same amount of money, One question what will happens if all of the non nationals stop to work for a week ? So instead of b#tch an moaning let’s us work :)) I love this country and have a good day :)

• Samuel, we have all done those jobs. Stop moaning. Youre not Irish, we get it. So what?

• “what will happens if non nationals stop to work for a week”?

Yeah, because there were no shops and mcDs and cleaners before 1995…

• Samuel, first of all do not take what I said personally, this is not about individuals, I’m sure you are a nice guy and you’re probably a hard worker too, but all of that is irrelevant.

The issue here is that Ireland has an unemployment rate of 15%, an estimated 1000 highly educated and skilled Irish people are leaving Ireland every week, all because they can not find employment ANYWHERE.

I am a tradesman and spent years working hard learning my craft but due to the recession the construction industry in Ireland is finished but thats just the way it goes, I now work in what I would consider a low end job and I’m one of the lucky ones, and I know it.

So dont come on here with the arrogance to presume you are somehow doing Ireland a favour by working here, you’re not, and you wouldn’t be here working for €800 per month if it wasn’t a dramatically better standard of salary and standard of living to your home country.

In reality, you are taking up employment that an Irish person could and should have.
      Once again, it’s not personal, just a fact.

• The unemployment rate amongst non Irish nationals is 17.8% compared to 14.8% for Irish nationals. But don’t let that get in the way of your anti Irish rant. Its sad to hear some of the natives pushing myths about foreign people receiving free cars, buggies and what have you. But its worse again when foreigners start claiming the natives are lazy dole bludgers.

• And we wonder why we a labeled one of the most racist people on the planet, just a quick reminder of england not so long ago, no dogs, no blacks, no irish. I employed 10 guys while we lived in the property bubble, most were irish, not all, best man for the job I say(or lady too) , I see nurse tommy c ratchet is trolling again , ya gotta love that guy

• Trolling? Because I think there are far too many unskilled migrants here? Because I think we are saturated with immigrants? Remember, I work in maternity services and 20% of the population are having 25% of the babies. Our maternity hospitals are close to breaking point but sure feck all that, im a troll. Get your head out of the sand. Irish names like yours will be in museums pretty soon. A reminder that this country WAS a place where Irish people lived.

• Tommy C: think you overstate a bit, there are other countries in Europe with bigger immigration than Ireland.
      Have you been in USA, where some cities and towns are like 70% black or asian. Even UK is much more mixed than Ireland. Germany, France? You can’t win with that I’m afraid. Start looking at people as human beings not as race / nationality or you will go mad sooner or later ok.

• America was built by immigration which meant the native people suffered. I have been to the US several times. There have been race riots in the UK and some parts are no go areas for the natives. As for Paris, have you seen the riots there? Not to mention the dislike of Turks in Germany. We are too small a nation. Im sure when your home country is filling up with unskilled migrants you’ll see for yourself.

• It’s not racist to say there are problems with our immigration policies. Unfortunately most of the people who point these problems happen to be racist. Although free movement of labor is one of the core tenets of the EU, it looks like most countries are not as generous as we are but that’s not strictly an immigration issue.

Deasus, I agree with your view of “best man for the job”. I can also understand the perspective of those who are worried about the disintegration of Irish society when they look at these numbers.

• And the answer about my visa well I have to prove that to immigration €3000 pay €150 for the card my medical insurance and my tuition fees next year I’ll try to get to DBS so I’m saving all my money, and about my English I lived in Canada when I was 9 years old I also speak a little bit of French too :)

• John F 04/10/12 #

Sammy we don’t have any decent Mexican restaurants here, that could be your niche if the acting career dont take off, unless rte are looking for a mexican actor to replace tubridy on the late late….. now that would be an idea! :)

• They Durka Jobs!!

Seriously though I don’t care about the origins of people who live in this country and I don’t think we should subscribe to this petty minded “us” versus “them” mentality.

And nobody ever took my job. I started working at the height of the boom when immigration was in full flow and have never been out of work since.

• Tom if u want a can send u a picture of my Irish visa an my American too :) I came here to become an actor no joking and why not states well how many mexicans live there XD here I feel special :,)

• Welcome

• Finbar I live close the airport so don’t worry about the lift and if ur wondering if am happy here, well I have an arp tattoo on my ribs so yeah I’m quite happy don’t get me wrong I know a lot of Irish that are hard workers great Craic I love Ireland with all my heart, is just make me sad when someone told me to go back home. I always say that Ireland is a great country and the history of Dublin is writing on the streets of the city. The bullet holes in the post office, the statues in the Liffey for the ones that past away and left in the famine, railway street the place of birth of the guy that compose the Irish anthem. Yep I love Dublin :) but I hate the weather XD

• Whats an arp? Yes Samuel, the people who died for ireland. To preserve our people and our culture. To ensure that we were never replaced by another uninvited mass of people. If youre here and earning, good for you but Ireland and the Irish owe you nothing.

• Tommy C. The Irish who’ve gone to other countries throughout history have met with the exact same bigoted attitude that you are illustrating. Give it a rest will you?

Our immigration policies need some work. That said, most of people who’ve emigrated to Ireland have come from other EU countries. They are entitled to be here, and I say they’re welcome. The unscrupulous greedy Gombeen employers that some of you are complaining about are all *Irish*.

• Sham 04/10/12 #

Tommy C, da trolling is so sharp I almost fed ya! 8/10. Keep it up!

• Samuel if you’re working and have a bit of respect for us then i would never have any quarrel with you living here.
      The kind of people telling you to go home may not have a job now,but i can assure you that many of them didn’t have a job when times were good.

• Let’s face the truth : your particular mindset isn’t going to change. And I am not going to waste my time on you!

Have a nice day.

• I wonder how many of these nationalists voted yes to lisbon 2 are now giving out about their lot, its easy to scapegoat your own responsibility and wave the ireland for the irish flag, I dearly hope our sons, daughters, brothers and sisters who are leaving in their droves don’t meet the same amount of racist slur that I have read here, emigration is a way of life for millions and bar for a brief period of a decade and a half was something us irish had little option but to undertake, also tommy c makes mention of new zealands emigration laws and states english is a pre-requisite for entry, my wife is a wellingtonian, I have lived there on an off since 2006 and assure you of the opposite, many asians and pacific islanders reside there, I’ve met many who could not ,

• Tom I made 2 comments, so by your statement of the vast majority having no relevance infers there is logic in one or the other. Mr Lennon was definitley on to someting when he asked us to Imagine ….

• On another note, I wonder what is going on with this, that so many Irish people emigrate now abroad as they can’t find any work and at the same time there is still fairly strong immigration influx into Ireland (not as big as in the boom years, but still surplus) and many foreign people find job in Ireland every day.
    Does not make quite sense.
    Irish don’t look hard enough?
    Don’t relocate within Ireland where are more jobs?
    Jobs don’t meet their financial criteria?
    Jobs don’t meet their development criteria?
    Maybe not particular skillsets for profile of the jobs on offer?
    Interesting, but there must be some clear reason for it.

• The green are the Catholics the orange is because of William orange the white is the peace between them the 4 parts leinster, munster, ulster, Connacht. Three crowns munster, Connacht half arm with a sword and an eagle, Leinster an arp and ulster a White and red flag with a hand XD the words that I know I don’t know how to write it but is :/ goras maha gut connas ata tu Samuel is anom nom connas anom Dom XD how I try to write thank u, how ru, Samuel is my name and what’s ur name :) have a good day EIRE GO BRAGH :)

• Sorry forgot to add to my comment above: Potencial Polish employer expects……

• Deasun, the vast majority of your posts have no relevance to this issue. Irish people emigeating to other countries is no justification for Ireland being flooded with cheap foreign labour. Try a bit of logic and critical thought the next time you post.

• I am very impressed with Tom’s knowledge and articulate manner through which he argues his case. This country needs a proper mature political lobby group or party to allow us who feel strongly against uncontrolled immigration to have our concerns heard. To date anyone who tries to express an anti immigration opinion is immediately labelled racist and uneducated. I am neither. I am an ordinary professional who is concerned at what i see happening around me.

Quick personal experience… my younger sisters, late teens, looking for summer jobs in a local hotel. They are hard working young women who were always taught by my parents that you must work hard to get the things you want in life. Manager of hotel tells them there are no vacancies… disappointment for my sisters. They applied for waitressing and cleaning jobs.

Two weeks later a “pile” of polish girls working there. No proper English etc. I challenged the manager and he told me, exact quote..” they ten a penny and work like blacks”.

• So who is the culprit in this situation? The Polish girls who probably came here full of excitement at the adventure, or the manager? It’s a local hotel, what do the local people think of this fella?

• once they share their women, speak English, are Christian and work then thats great. but non Christian non English speaking and not working. then wer gonna.have problems.

• Gombeen Irish employers are only interested in dominating immigrants who are malleable, unrepresented by a trade union – and above all cheap. This is mass exploitation of mass immigration into Ireland, it is against all concepts of worker solidarity, and yet it is backed up and supported here and everywhere else by Gombeen socialists who are the enemy of all workers, both immigrant and native. The irish trade unions sold out long ago as did the irish labour party, ULA and the so-called leftist independents in Dail Eireann. I have never seen such hypocrisy anywhere in all my life as I have seen here in Ireland over the past twelve years while meanwhile masses of the irish workrers are driven out to become the underclasses in other countries. I don’t want to see another job in Ireland because it will be filled by a foreign worker brought in as a semi-slave and as a part of the new permanent underclass that the irish capitalist system is now building , and this after we thought we had eliminated poverty and ignorance in the country , it is so sad it is sickening, and all those who therefore subscribe to mass immigration in Ireland are traitors to the working class, economic liberty and social justice. No wonder Obama wants mass immigration into America, all these system politicians whose parties are paid by Big Business do! The EU itself is founded on Labour Mobility , that is the transfer of cheap labour along the line from one country to another. Workers are herded like cattle in cheap RyanAir shuttles while the irish Left has turned traitor on the workers and on their own country alike , all controlled by the capitalist media written by the Liberal Elite.

• Agreed absolutely! The irish governments should have learned from the mistakes of the Brtish governments since the 70′s in mass immigration. But at least Britain could always afford the health, welfare and education costss of the immigrants, the irish never could,and never will.
    Employers should all be made to pay into a fund for the immigrants they bring in to pay for their welfare when they let them off , then we’d see how many immigrants the employers would bring in and then make unemployed when they would have to pay for such immigrabts themselves, and not just shove it over on the taxpayer.
    Employers are totally irresponsible in first hiring , and then firing, masses of these immigrants, there should be a law against such reckless employers, that would stop mass immigration once and for all.
    As one of the poorest countries in the world now I think the irish are very foolish for themselves.

• ah, as I thought Samuel, you are using the tried and tested ‘I’m here as a student’ scam to gain entry to Ireland, only problem is, you have no intention of ever leavong Ireland, have you? You’re using the loophole in our immigration policy that allows non EU people to come here and study and work for 20 hours per week, but you intend on staying here even after your visa runs out, dont you?

• It’s only a problem to want to stay if you do so illegally. If he uses his education to apply for a work permit (there are still certain employment areas where there aren’t enough Irish workers), why is that a problem? Similarly, I fell in love with an Irish classmate and can stay through Irish family member provisions.

Is wanting to stay a bad thing if done so through legitimate means?

• How can I use the racist card if some Irish have the same treatment as my self in the UK, States and Australia just saying that there are a lot of people giving hard time to non nationals just because we work. And I also complain about the ones that are not Irish and they live on the dole so why u guys don’t defend them too ? They are EU citizens they can claim welfare as well XD And I’m really sorry that u lost ur job I really am. but the ones who take ur job were Irish fellas with expensive suits and cars not some fella from another country

• Just one word for you Samuel stop moaning and consider your self lucky the Irish people are a warm and friendly ppl , not the same in other country’s people are not as open as the Irish , my be if your not happy il give you a lift to the airport free of charge

• finbar m 04/10/12 #

Fitz ,, im just making that point by the way there were 3 Irish company’s wills brothers , road bridge ,sisk and I believe they had problems because they did not hire local labour but I can only tell you what iv been told by lads who were working there ,

• Finbar no, local men is definitely not an issue there, it’s maybe made up by some people to increase antagonisms…there are couple big chinese companies operating projects in poland and they bring their own people too. Of course there are always some people protesting that, but usually just goes as far as that. There were loads of German labourers building Wroclaw stadium for euro games etc. No issues. This rumor reminds me another rumor doing rounds in irish internet about signs at polish sites “no irish apply” – complete b…. nobody saw these signs, not one picture in internet etc. but yet everyone talking. Not sure who makes up these stories but looks like the goal of them is to create hate.

• I’ve got half Irish and Chinese cousins with a hint of Scottish!!! I have half Irish and Norwegian cousins and half Irish Canadian cousins I can’t be racist or else it’s putting my own family down!!!! If the people coming here don’t try and force their religions and beliefs on me or do me real harm I leave them be!!! I applied for a job as a cleaner and they wanted to know if I had my leaving cert????? It annoys me that people who have bad English can walk into a job and those that don’t aren’t qualified so they say????

• Up the poles

• No I didn’t mix anything. I am talking about education in general. Polish people are well educated people. Having leaving cert in Poland means nothing. You have to have at least one degree if you want to get a good job – that’s the problem in Poland, while in Ireland you can get a manager job without having any degree.Potencial employer expects from the potencial employee to know at least one foreign language, to have at least one degree and extras as extra qualifications like courses etc. ECDL etc…

I have to say that you Irish are lucky : it’s easy to get a job in management. You don’t have to have any special qualifications really. It’s enough if u are creative…

• Oh yes we Irish have it very easy…. get a grip. And qualifications are paramount today for everyone.

• Natalia, the tragedy is that we’ve already been there. You found plenty of people with degrees doing very basic jobs in the 80s. It’s only recently that people have been able to get semi-decent jobs without very good qualifications and I think that’s pretty much changed now. As a country, we do benefit enormously from most of the Polish people who’ve come here.

• Yes Natalia and this is one of the reasons why I left Poland. Because it’s a kip where shop assistant needs degree to get a job and most jobs were after recommendation and protection. This has changed now in recent years for better, but still is far from being smart. Ireland took much more sensible approach to people based on experience, actual skills and personal eagerness, not just diploma parchment.
      I generally agree with your comment, but there is no way Polish have 80% people with higher diploma… you way over estimated that. Out of curiosity I did bit of research and you will be surprised to know by percentage there is more people in Ireland with higher diploma than in Poland :) Interesting, isn’t it ? Also, this educational spread would be slightly different in Polish community in Ireland – more people by percentage with higher education than in Poland – for this reason that many of young Poles who emigrated were educated and skilled.
      And, don’t worry about Tommy C I don’t really find him offensive and even if so, just go by that, I used to boil when I heard racist remarks, etc. now I brush them off. If someone has an issue let them tell me face to face then I can discuss, otherwise I ignore such… And same like you, I live here, spend loads of money in local Irish economy (I don’t support 10 cousins and brothers in Poland lol as don’t have them), pay taxes, run family, travel, live… Ironically Ireland who sometimes (only sometimes) was hostile to me (and only very few people) thought me to drop prejudice towards other people I had before coming here I can say I’m more open minded now. Thanks for that. Live and let live the others, that’s it.

• Natalia, nobody is arguing that Polish people are not smart, pretty, hard working etc. I know many of them are and I have dated many very nice Polish girls but that is irrelevant.

The point is whether Ireland needs more immigrants or if it’s time to put some restrictions in place.
      As I’m sure you are more than aware, unemployment in Ireland is reaching an all time high, highly skilled and educated Irish people have to leave Ireland at a rate of 1000 at least per week because they can not find work here, maybe you should take some time to reflect on the situation and imagine what would happen if this was Poland.

I was just recently in Wrocklaw and I was shocked at the tiny, tiny number of non Polish immigrants that are there. lets put it into perspective, it is estimated that around 20% of the Irish population is now non Irish immigrant, lets imagine 20% of the Polish population was made up of non Polish people competing with Polish workers and willing to work for less than the industry rates, that would be 8,000,000 non Polish workers that went into Poland over a period of 10 years. What do you think the Polish people would do about that?
      What do you think the Polish government would do about that?

Dont take these things personal because they’re not, I’m sure you are educated and probably a nice person, but should that matter ? I’m sure there are billions of nice, educated people in the world but that does that mean they should all be entitled to come to Ireland in search of work or a better life?

• As a businessman and landlord I think it was great so many were allowed to come. It has greatly increased my annual income. This is ireland Inc after all, those brazilian, south asian and chinese lads who work in my factory and stay in my accomodation have made me rich!!! Now if only noonan would reduce the minimum wage…

• I now I called a call girl the other night she was 20 extra cos she had a phd

• And I know about those black suit fellas because I used to work in a pub 14 Irish me and a girl from Latvia the best job I ever had, hard workers Irish from Sligo, Galway, Dublin and Wexford the day the pub was closed I was on duty some fellas talking about taxes and properties my self and my colleagues were unemployed :/ so the ones that they’re taking the jobs are not the migrants

• finbar m 04/10/12 #

Lol come I cracked one joke

• All the Africans should be sent back to there mud huts….that’d be a good start.

Add New Comment