TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Wednesday 22 May, 2013

Occupy Galway: the last day of the Eyre Square camp

Galway-based photographer Patrick Dinneen visited the camp yesterday.

WITHOUT KNOWING THE camp would be dismantled within hours, Galway-based photographer Patrick Dinneen visited the Occupy Galway camp at Eyre Square yesterday to photo-blog the movement.

On Day 215 he found “a good set-up” a meeting room, kitchen, living area and storage room – all with solar power. There were also plants growing, as well as a sleeping area. Everything has since been removed after a Garda operation in the early hours of this morning.

Occupy Galway was the last group still camping out in Ireland as party of the global movement.

Occupy Galway: the last day of the Eyre Square camp
1 / 7
  • Occupy Galway

All photos from Patrick Dinneen. Check out his website here>

Unoccupied: Gardaí remove protesters from Eyre Square>

Poll: Were the Gardaí right to dismantle the Occupy Galway camp?>

Read next:

Comments (16 Comments)

• Pointless movement, achieved nothing. eyre square will look better with them gone

• Say the solar power setup got feck all use anyway.

Good to hear they are gone, ruined the look of the square

• In the words of Eric Cartman, god damm hippies

• This is the whole point/major problem of the Occupy Movement. They say that they act on behalf of the community (i.e. us poor plebs who are too enslaved by capitalism to know what we think) but actually it’s just left-wingers who have hijacked an interesting movement filled with different people from different backgrounds (in it’s inception) lazing about in public places, spouting self-indulgent and fantasy-land ideals. Hoping Belfast gets clamped down next, tbh.

• what a f**king eyesore. Shut em down, clear em out.

• I was in galway as a visitor the last race stop over and the people of Galway did a fine job – how would a bunch of makeshift cabbie houses look to the world media?? They were an eyesore on the Mall in Cork too – taking over park benches that my tax money pays for but couldnt use because they surrounded them now gone thank god leftie politics never works period

• B7584 16/05/12 #

Cheerio cheerio cheerio!

• Hopefully now they will stop that Che Guevara statue too.

• I hope they just get themselves a nice peaceful island where they can live in harmony and away from us civilised folk. Occupy Aran instead!!

• Our total lack of protest is sad to see but the abuse the occupy movement got is shameful. 200 guards in full riot gear for 7 young people who can see how hopeless our situation is before they emigrate. Shame on you nasty spiteful posters

• Cynic 16/05/12 #

42 dislikes, 10 likes makes you about the 20% by my misguided calculations!

• Well done to Occupy Galway!!! You are shinning light of protest in a sea of moaners that will not get up off their sad ignorant asses and anything about the mess we all are in, unlike the fine people of Occupy have done!

More power to Occupy Galway, this honorable struggle is now 1 year in the making and continues to grow strong and spread awareness the world over

To the rest of you moaners, and Begrudgers above, you’ll all happily put down these fine efforts whilst the bankers and politicians laugh at your ignorance. No wonder NOT ONE person, not one white collar criminal or corrupt politician has gone to jail over the crises in this country and the findings of all the tribunals…..why don’t you get up and stand up for yourselves and your communities you shelf centred gombeans!

• The occupy Galway campaign accomplished nothing. They set up an illegal structure and eye sore in the middle of the city centre. Now fair enough if they accomplished anything in the 215 days they were there but they did nothing. There was a bit shed and about 10 to 15 tents enclosed at the top of eyre square. If this was to occupy why we’re there only 6 people there? A bunch of lazy hypocrites who were home in bed and wanted to look like they were doing something. Pitch a tent in town and go home and sleep in your bed. Occupy my hole! Good riddins!

Add New Comment