TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 6 °C Thursday 23 May, 2013

Poll: Should Ireland hold a referendum on EU membership?

Today British Prime Minister David Cameron said there would be a referendum on EU membership in the UK in 2017. Do you think we should have one too?

Image: European union flags image via Shutterstock

BRITISH PRIME MINISTER David Cameron promised today to hold a referendum after the next general election on whether or not Britain should remain a member of the European Union.

Cameron said that if the public decided the country should exit the union, “it would be a one-way ticket” and the French government has warned that the move is  a “dangerous” one.

Last week, in an interview with Euronews, Taoiseach Enda Kenny said it would be “catastrophic” for Britain to leave the EU but calls for the Irish government to take the same action have been made here in recent years. We want to know what you think.

Should Ireland hold a referendum on European Union membership?

Poll Results:

Read next:

Comments (93 Comments)

• I struggle to see what the point would be. If the nation voted in the ‘wrong way’, we’d only be told to vote again anyway..

• Michelle, I am guessing that the vast majority of people who voted ‘Yes’ and ‘No’ really should have voted ‘I’m not sure’ for the simple reason that the information isn’t out there to tell us in black and white what would happen in the event that we did follow the UK’s impending exit in 2015. I would like to see a comprehensive piece of independent research carried out that addresses what would likely happen in the event of an Irish exit under the catagories of Political, Social, Economic. We can all be armchair analysts when we want to be but not economists. If anyone has any link to up to date research on this please leave a link.

• That’s not true Glenn. The poll is not about whether or not we should leave Europe. The poll is about whether or not we should have a referendum on remaining within the the EU. The only real genuine method of discussing the consequences of an EU in/out result would be when vested interests are at stake. Only when there is the possibility of a referendum will we get to discuss the pros and cons of EU membership. Until then, it will only ever be opinion pieces by people who do not have the full picture.

• To describe it as “the UK’s impending exit in 2015″ is quite a stretch. It’s unlikely there will be a referendum as it requires the tories to win an overall majority at the next election and that’s not looking likely. Even with that it would have to be carried and once the campaigning starts it would not be that likely to succeed. I’m not saying it’s impossible, just unlikely.

• Apologies Brian your absolutely right of course and very well said, but would you agree that in the lead up to these referenda the public generally have not got a good understanding of the issues at stake either because of political parties pushing their own agenda or because the facilities are put in place too late to allow people to learn the facts and form an opinion? I really believe that the information should be easily accessible in the public domain now rather than in three years time and also that the info should come from independent sourses is essential.

• I completely agree Glenn. There are far too many opinions and not enough facts out there about the possible pros and cons relating to continued Irish membership of the EU. Indeed, many people are easily influenced by short-term factors and their portrayal in the media. I myself am guilty of being influenced by such factors. I would describe myself as Eurosceptic, not because I want Ireland to leave the EU, but because what I see is an entity which has far too much influence in our daily lives considering the democratic deficit that exists within that entity. Reform would be preferable, but many people on the street don’t even believe in the concept of reform (see the debate over the existence of the Seanad).

As an aside, an interesting point relating to the UK’s referendum drive would be the effect that has on the Scottish independence debate. We should be looking very carefully at this. Currently, EU membership is quite popular among the Scottish electorate. If it looks likely that the UK will leave the EU in 2015-2018, Cameron’s referendum on EU membership could spell the dissolution of the United Kingdom as Scottish voters vote, not necessarily on Scottish independence, but continued involvement in the EU. With support for independence currently in the 30-40% range, it’s not too far-fetched to see that figure increase as businesses and Europhiles opt for continued EU membership.

• Yes we should, twice in fact, as is tradition.

• Cameron’s speech is merely him lifting his skirt to those voters who went with or intend to vote for the UKIP (or even the BNP) at the next election. Ireland will not be voting on EU membership in the near future and I doubt the UK will either.

• The link to the euro means we are incapable of making fiscal adjustments ‘ this puts the stronger countries in charge .Basically we are a small company working for a bigger company and we were managed bad and the managers put the blame on the workers and gave themselves rises for their trouble Our politicians are running the country like a family business IE sure you can’t be sacking relations ‘ there are companies bigger than Ireland and I know it’s different but the basic principles apply

• Maybe a continent wide referendum…might lead to a more acceptable and democratic system.

• A referendum on Soverign Debt would be better

• Anyone else feeling a bit of referendum talk fatigue?

• A 23/01/13 #

Britain does it… so we have to too?
    If it makes sense for us to have a vote on it, then yes, we should. Regardless of what Britain are doing. We come off like the annoying little brother of the Brits sometimes.

• whats the point? we would still have the same gombeen political parties, and the same sheople voting on it

• ireland doesn’t debate EU membership the way they do in Britain. There is no significant section of the media here opposed to EU membership- whatever about opinion among the public- unlimje in the UK. This largely ensures that when the Govt try to re-run referenda, there isn’t a public outcry. remember how Declan Ganley was savaged for trying to open up a serious debate.

• On what terms?

Simple In/Out or get Irish politicians like Enda Kenny and Michael Noonan to negotiate (ROFLMAO) a better deal for Ireland and then vote on that basis?

• No we shouldn’t have a vote. From the electorate who voted for Bertie 3 times you can’t trust the electorate to do the right thing.

• I think we are in a different situation here. Our written constitution forces the government to hold referenda on EU treaty proposals that transfer sovereign powers to the EU. The gradual sharing of sovereignty as occurred with our consent.
    The British electorate have had just one referendum, in 1975, and that was a simple in or out question. At the time it was the European Economic Community largely a free trade area. The EU as changed beyond all recognition since then and any in Britain believe this has been imposed on them without their agreement, given that the three main parties have been pro Europe to a degree.

With the support of an extraordinarily anti Europeam section of the press, the rise of the ultra right wing UKIP has encouraged the little Englander tory backwoodsman to come out into the open and kick up for Cameron, the same problems they created for John Major.

It is likely that, unless some major domestic issues intervene, the British will vote to stay in, as the did in 1975 against all predictions.

• The Irish vote yes to everything the Government want, they have you in the palm of their hands. The Irish are a nation of Sheep, Docile obedient sh*t takers. If I offended any of you by speaking the truth, GOOD. The older generation destroyed this country with their greed.

• Dave 23/01/13 #

our politicians dont have the balls

• If they don’t take that bank debt off us maybe we should rethink eu membership. Sharing is caring remember, spread the debt I say. Not liking the EU lately. Seems more like the German union and everyone else shuts up. Not very democratic anymore.

• Jesus!!!!!…the GERMANS ARE PAYING THE PIPER? if nothing else respect their commitment.

• Honestly, when they stop the country from going completely bankrupt because Irish people walked mindlessly into Irish bank promotions led by Irish governments voted in by Irish people, I think they have a right to have a bigger say than Irish people.

We can talk about what should have been done til the cows come home, facts are that Irish politicians were too corrupt to care and the Irish people were to blinded by money to take notice of warning signs years before the crash happened. We’ll never know for sure, but some reports suggests that without the EU bailout this country would have struggled to keep the lights on in hospitals and any Gardai in employment. So maybe it’s time we stopped blaming the Germans and started examining why we were unable to govern ourselves properly (that pretty much means from the start of this failure of a Republic).

• The Irish taxpayer is the one ultimately paying it, the Germans are getting paid and with interest. It was bad lending by German and French banks to Irish banks that got us into this mess in the first place, the Germans are no white knights.

• The Germans are no white knights I know, they were/are presiding over a Euro currency which was/is so flawed it beggars belief, but it is the Irish who are at fault for our woes and it is the Irish we should mostly blame and not the Germans. It seems we all just want to point the finger at everyone else and not accept that the Irish public are as big a part of this mess as the Irish financial regulators and Fianna Fail. Until we learn from our mistakes we’ll be doomed to repeat this process in 20 or 30 years time.

Without the EU we’d still be just a tinpot country living off the coast of Britain, without the EU we’d be back to being just a tinpot country living off the coast of Britain. The only way we could survive without them would be to rejoin the UK, so if we’re having a referendum let’s put that people instead.

• You’re missing the bigger picture. When it comes to Anglo the ecb gave us promissory notes not Germany. Germany and other countries funded the bailout which will be paid back from us. Germany won’t loose out in the end. The Irish state were made pay for the banks because otherwise the whole eu would have been screwed. Germany didn’t give us any charity by giving a bailout it was for their benefit as much as it is ours. The main beneficiary of the euro is Germany. Rates are set for the German economy which in turn fueled the Celtic tiger here. Of course we have inept politicians and they are to blame as well. But it was lack of regulation in both Ireland and the EU that caused the burst bubble. Germany doesn’t have our interest at heart they have their own and will do their best to make sure we pay ever cent of bank debt. We saved the whole eu banking system from collapsing when we didn’t have to and the burden should be shared. It’s a union after all.

• I am no way saying Ireland is not also to blame for the sh*t storm we find ourselves in. Each member of Fianna Fáil should be tried for treason in my books as well as the bankers. That bank guarantee scheme destroyed this country. But the fact is if you are in a shared currency you need more integration and responsibility sharing. You cannot have a single currency with several independent states, if you want the currency you have to fix it between you’s when it fails. At least France recognizes this Germany needs to cop on and stop blocking Ireland’s debt deal.

• We may have saved the banking system for the EU but they, by all accounts, saved our country.

If even any of this is remotely true, ‘this country would have struggled to keep the lights on in hospitals and any Gardai in employment’, refusing to take the bailout was simply not an option

• They contributed to the bailout funds along with all other Euro countries and separate loans from other countries. They didn’t single handedly save our country. That’s the way it should be when your part of a union. You help each other out. Same way as we contributed to greeces bailout. If we went down the tubes the whole euro zone would have followed. In America if a state is in trouble the government gives it more money to help it out.

• @David
      I agree completely with everything you have said and you have put it in a very clear manner +1
      How Patrick Neary is walking around this country a free man today I do not know. The media seem to be blaming the late Brian Lenehan for everything but there were two people in the room that night. Why Brian Cowen has not been questioned on this matter is deplorable. Why there has not been a bank enquiry is also deplorable and why Michael Noonan has put the 2 letters from Triochet into stororage for 30 years is disgraceful. There is a cover up going on and it stinks to high heaven. The people of Ireland are have been used as cannon fodder by the very people who represent them.

• The main beneficiary of the Euro is France. Germany never wanted it, as their currency was doing quite nicely. It was forced on them as a part of the price of reunification.

• We benifieted greatly from EU membership for many years – from structural funds – and from CAP [ Common Agr . Policy ] – but once Glas – Steagll was done away with – letting the casino bankers loose – that was the beginning of the End . Many experts saw this disaster coming – few people heeded them .
      The usterity is to ensure the German banks get their money back – as they too — as has been said gave irresponsible loans – which the Irish Banks toook up – and they too got into the gambling game as it was a Bubble that would last forever . It was as if no-one had heard of Boom /Bust – .
      Now the Germans want their loans back – via the Irish banks – and the govermnet have decided that we should pay for the whole farce .
      We owed a lot to the Germans before – as they bankrolled the CAP to a very large extent – but not since the casino banking began .
      The Germans are not paying the piper now —— ” We , The People ” are .
      And as has been said how Cowen and Ahern and many others are still walkg around – takes some understanding . Even in US – some fraudelent bankers have been jailed . Sadly – they have been quickly replaced .
      We should have foolowed Icelands example – but thats gone now . The politicians are too tied to Failed US Economic doctrine [ Neo-liberalism ] to have done so . They lacked those round things .— as do the present crowd .
      Tthere is no end to this Austerity – and Greece is being held up as an example to all who do not obey the Troika .
      Lagrade said Austerity in Greece could continue for 10 years . Cameron in UK says 2018 – . Reality of that means – they have no intention of ending Austerity – it is the greatest robbery of all time . Rob the Poor to pay for the Rich who made fatal [ for us ] errors . A never ending robbery.

• Jim
      very well summed up.
      I am sick to death of pro government supporters blindly following the governments lead on the banking debt crisis.
      Ah sur we went mad, ah sur we cant burn the bondholders,
      The one person in the Fine Gael administration who knows what hes talking about is Peter Matthews and even he advocates not paying the bondholders.
      Noonan attending bilderberg raises serious questions as to where our governments loyalties lie and the fact that the Triochet letters have been put away under lock and key makes it even more questionable. I am sure given time that these letters will miraculously disappear
      The Irish people have been scapegoated in order to satisfy the greed of the Rothschilds

• Whilst I am Euro-sceptic to a degree, I really don’t see the point in pulling out of the EU. What we should concentrate is renegotiating the terms of our involvement and an end to the single currency.

• Judging by recent EU referendum and bearing in mind the quasi religious adoration seemingly every political party here has for the EU the referendum would be worded so that yes means eternal bliss and happiness, jobs and financial security for all…. no will mean war, pestilence famine and centuries of harsh budgets.

Cannot trust any person from any political affiliation to deliver an unbiased argument containing both pros and cons.
    Hardly an exercise in free democratic vote, vote this way or else…(both sides)

• Why would it matter, if Brussels didn’t like the outcome they would ask us to vote again.

• As it stands no but if Britain did pull out, then there may be a valid argument to consider it. Like it or not the UK is by far in a way our biggest export market.

• Stephen
      You have heard of the EFTA of which the EU and countries such as Switzerland and Norway are members? They happily allow the free movement of people and goods without barriers such as trade tariffs. Why would we have to reconsider our Membership if the UK decided to leave? Wouldn’t it make Ireland somewhat more attractive to be the only English speaking country as a Member for Foreign Direct Investment from other English speaking countries?

• If he UK did pull out do you think that they would put blocks on Irish trade with them??? No way so dont eev use this as a possible argument.

• Mark, as far as I’m aware Norway and Switzerland still have to comply with most EU regulations to achieve this status. Also they both pay into the EU budget. So no say in what the regulations are and pay for the privilege of complying with them.
      Doesn’t sound to enviable a position to me.

I don’t understand Cameron’s logic. If he were to get out of something like the Working Time Directive, that means UK companies have a competitive advantage in the trading block. The other countries are not going to accept that.

• We shouldn’t have a vote…
    translation – how dare we we seek the right to determine our position within the EU, they are our masters, without them we’d be no better than cave dwellers, we’re too stupid, better have unelected officials run the country than ourselves.
    Ironic seeing as it’s mainly FF/FG apologists who would prefer us not to have a say, an admittance of fail.

• There’s a difference between debating membership of the EU and debating the kind of EU we want. In the UK, all the difficult questions are childishly condensed into an impossible ‘in/out’ debate that only serves to shut down real discussion about the vision European citizens have for the continent.

But if we had a real discussion about this vision, I’d imagine people would want the EU to be more democratic, a strong defender of people’s rights, an institution that raises our living standards, promotes greater social equity, sustainable development, greater transparency and accountability, etc. All of which it already does.

It’s incredible, after a long twentieth century, that old enemies have put their differences aside in the pursuit of peace and prosperity. But, for some reason, Britain still insists fighting the good fight against their traditional enemy and the hun.

Grow up and move on, guys.

• No. Ireland as an open economy will benefit more from the EU. Its better to part of it than out of it. All that its need is an EU that will confront the challenges of the future with speed. And Ireland can play a part in it.

• We should leave the EU. Trade with them. But never allow them to get a strangle hold on our Country again.

• Give it 3 years and we’ll be begging to leave. At least the Brits have something to look forward to.

• Yes.

• Any short term gains that the UK would get from leaving the union would be eventually wiped out. How? by it’s marginalization on the sidelines of a continent trying to lessen the effects of that continents relative decline on the world stage by amalgamating it’s remaining powers….the UK s “special”relationship with the USA is also threatened as the USA focuses away from the old world towards Asia and the bric countries. Am not having a pop at the UK here but they need to be careful as empires fade and die and God help a country whose voters vote according to the sensationalist headlines of the red top tabloids

• We are now saddled with most of the worries ‘scaremongerers’ warned us about before joining the euro we seemed to be moseying along nicely,although later we got governed into putting our eggs into a couple of baskets ,we were in a much healthier financial position.the fraternity and united ethos of solidarity we were sold by our European cousins has been exposed as nothing more than lies to financially strangle us and make us an example,whether intentionally or not,its still happening! I like being a European ,it’s catchy ,makes me feel cosmopolitan but I don’t see any element of friendship or unity within this purely financial union and the lack of sympathy for our situation leaves me with no desire to remain connected to our ‘friends’.cant find a reason to stay!

• patrick 23/01/13 #

A no vote would be a knee-jerk reaction to the past five years, forgetting the massive improvements that Ireland underwent since joining the Common Market. EU grants, financing and cohesion funds are only some of the financial benefits. Increased trade is of course a no brainer.

• We should get out now while it would be our decision instead of waiting until 2015 by which time Europe will have stripped us of all our assets and kicks us out! Saying that, I doubt we will would get a yes vote to leave. Our government, on numerous occasions, has shown us that it has no regard for democratic fairness.

• Yes… And while we’re at it we can include abortion and marriage equality. It can be called the ‘no-brainer treaty’

• We could,

but they would probably ask us to hold a SECOND Referendum once we vote NO ;)

• When Ireland send most of its exports to non Euro zone countries like the UK and USA the reasons for staying in the EU is redundant. Norway and Switzerland do MORE TRADE with EVERY member of the EU than Ireland.Irish exports of butter goes to Germany and lamb and beef to France and Italy in the euro zone and that’s it our total major trading in the EURO area.not much diversification since we joined when 60% if goods goes to the UK and 23% to the USA with the remainder towards the EU and rest of the world combined.troika Bailout court case in Dublin may throw up an interesting result due over the next few days. interesting to see the result will sit with the gutless euro lackey elites in FG/LAB/FF if the judge deems it was illegal .

• Let Cameron play Nero…England Scotland and Wales are not the same thing anymore. I doubt the Scots will want a return to almighty London, and even if the UK as a whole decides to leave Europe, The European Union will survive as it has survived the ‘mythical’ Union with the UK when it suits them….Ireland has so much to offer and to gain from our presence in the community of nations which make up this peaceful energetic union which celebrated its first baby steps yesterday with the Franco-German treaty of Versailles 50 years ago. Lets look forward and not backwards towards the bellicose nation states of the last centuries when Empires ruled and colonial power was the norm…We only need to contrl the greedy bankers and find a way to use our resourses and talents to the advantage of all and not the fat cats.

• Do you honestly think the EU has any notion of turning away from it’s banker friendly, fat cat stance?
      That it will just suddenly become a democratic paradise?

In order to inflict change we need to play them, by just playing the servile slave not questioning them then they’ll just carry on to the detriment of every EU member country.

Just where has our servility got us recently?

• Sparxz1 23/01/13 #

When I saw the Poll results just now, this was the first thing that came into my head to explain it !

Stockholm Syndrome
    Definition:

Stockholm syndrome refers to a group of psychological symptoms that occur in some persons in a captive or hostage situation. It has received considerable media publicity in recent years because it has been used to explain the behavior of such well-known kidnapping victims as Patty Hearst (1974) and Elizabeth Smart (2002).
    The term takes its name from a bank robbery in Stockholm, Sweden, in August 1973. The robber took four employees of the bank (three women and one man) into the vault with him and kept them hostage for 131 hours. After the employees were finally released, they appeared to have formed a paradoxical emotional bond with their captor; they told reporters that they saw the police as their enemy rather than the bank robber, and that they had positive feelings toward the criminal.
    The syndrome was first named by Nils Bejerot (1921–1988), a medical professor who specialized in addiction research and served as a psychiatric consultant to the Swedish police during the standoff at the bank. Stockholm syndrome is also known as Survival Identification Syndrome.

Description
    Stockholm syndrome is considered a complex reaction to a frightening situation, and experts do not agree completely on all of its characteristic features or on the factors that make some people more susceptible than others to developing it. One reason for the disagreement is that it would be unethical to test theories about the syndrome by experimenting on human beings. The data for understanding the syndrome are derived from actual hostage situations since 1973 that differ considerably from one another in terms of location, number of people involved, and time frame.
    Another source of disagreement concerns the extent to which the syndrome can be used to explain other historical phenomena or more commonplace types of abusive relationships. Many researchers believe that Stockholm syndrome helps to explain certain behaviors of survivors of World War II concentration camps; members of religious cults; battered wives; incest survivors; and physically or emotionally abused children as well as persons taken hostage by criminals or terrorists.

Most experts, however, agree that Stockholm syndrome has three central characteristics:
    The hostages have negative feelings about the police or other authorities.
    The hostages have positive feelings toward their captor(s).
    The captors develop positive feelings toward the hostages.
    [Continues.......]
    Source: http://medical-dictionary.thefreedictionary.com/Stockholm+Syndrome

• Why?

What would the benefit be of holding a referendum?

• There would be zero point in this, Would be extra money too the state too run the referendum that would come out the same as i don’t think we could afford too leave the eurozone for the foreign trade side of things.

• I think its healthy to re – assess the situation from time to time and see if it (the EU) still serves the best interests of Ireland and the Irish people, personally I would like to remain in the EU as i agree with the over all concept but would really push for a referendum on membership of the Euro currency, as an economics student I think its been more of a Hindrance than help, its also better if we have control of our own monetary policy.

• John Fry 23/01/13 #

This is a funny question in that it can be looked at in at least two ways: should there be a referendum on whether or not Ireland should stay in the EU; or, should Ireland leave the EU without a referendum on the subject.

• I think we are all suffering from Stockholm’s syndrome….leave this economic prison and bring back our punt, fishing waters and oil fields and let the good times roll !!

• Would Ireland be a better place to live if we the people ran and organised the country or if technocrats from EU institutions and lobby groups did it for us?
    The EU wants us to help create a US styled federal Union and for us to enjoy austerity while turning the workers(people) of europe in to powerless subjects..
    Technology and science say that we can work less days and grow our own food and build cheap houses(e5000)…its proved how for the last 100 years…robots,hemp,permaculture,co-ops,bio-gas,internet,sharing,no bosses,bartering…
    The EU is based on exploitation of us and future generations(people) and nature(home) and never-ending-infinite growth where one day everyone on the planet is magically not poor..
    The country could be based on common-sense and people’s needs….the EU is against peoples real human needs.Stay or go?

• Asad Jan 24/01/13 #

I am also interested to study there in canada but i have been searching low fess or govt funded colleges there in canada sorry for that i can’t afford expensive fess of colleges that’s why i am searching cheap colleges i am from pakistan i am also worrying for my better fuutre if your college can give me chance to study first of all i want to learn 6 or 8 month english language after the english i will keep continue my further study there in canada i will need to partt time job during my study thank you so much god bless you all

• cabbage

• We didn’t vote on the same referendum twice. We voted no to one, renegotiated better terms and voted yes to another. I’d be happy to do the same again on any referendum if it meant better terms, I don’t understand why others are complaining or wouldn’t be happy do the same again.

• Feck off UK

• I hope this doesn’t result in the EU doing something daft like making French or German the official language!

• lol why bother ,,,oh we could have ,a best out of three !! this time .

Add New Comment