TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Thursday 20 June, 2013

Blow for Quinn family as legal team to withdraw representation on Monday

The family has blamed the former Anglo Irish Bank which is seeking to recoup some €2.8 billion it claims it is owed by the bankrupt former billionaire.

Sean Quinn jnr, Peter Quinn and Sean Quinn snr (L to R) outside the High Court (File photo)
Image: Photocall Ireland/File image

THE BANKRUPT FORMER billionaire Seán Quinn and his family face a search for new legal representation as their current lawyers will apply to the High Court to stop representing them on Monday.

The law firm Eversheds will apply to the court on Monday to withdraw representation. It is expected to be consented to by the family which is seeking to avoid liability for loans totalling €2.8 billion from the former Anglo Irish Bank.

The family said in a statement that the decision to consent to the withdrawal of legal services had been forced on them by “the financial position we have been placed in as a result of Anglo’s hostile takeover of our companies, and recent court orders obtained by the bank”, BBC News reports.

The bank, now known as Irish Bank Resolution Corporation, said that it did not wish to speculate on the reasons for withdrawal of legal services but said the court made “express provision for the discharge of reasonable legal expenses in connection with the litigation being pursued and defended by the Quinn family”.

IBRC is seeking to recoup the €2.8 billion it claims it is owed by Seán Quinn and his family. The family disputes this and claim that loans totalling €2.3 billion that were given to them are invalid as they were used to prop up the bank’s share price.

Quinn, his son Seán Quinn jr and his nephew Peter Darragh Quinn have been found in contempt of court for attempting to put assets beyond the reach of the IBRC.

While Quinn jr has gone to jail, Peter Darragh Quinn was not present in the court on the day of sentencing and an arrest warrant has been issued. Quinn sr has been given more time to comply with the court orders.

‘Misleading’

In its statement issued yesterday evening, IBRC said that the claims of the Quinn family are “misleading” and said it would continue to secure compliance and recover assets on “behalf of the State and by extension the taxpayer”.

The statement said: “On 14 June 2012 the Commercial Court made orders freezing the assets of the individual members of the Quinn family on foot of grave concerns raised by IBRC on affidavit regarding the actions taken to place those assets beyond the reach of IBRC.

“Subsequently the Court took the unprecedented step of appointing a receiver over the Quinn family’s personal assets. The Quinn family did not dispute the facts set out by IBRC in support of those applications, although they had an opportunity to do so, but consented to the orders being made.

“On 29 June 2012 the High Court, on foot of findings of contempt of court made against Sean Quinn Snr, Sean Quinn Jnr and Peter Darragh Quinn, made orders requiring them to take steps to undo the scheme to place assets beyond the reach of IBRC.

“Regrettably the Quinns have not done anything substantive to comply with those orders and their claims to the contrary are misleading. IBRC will continue in its efforts to secure compliance and recover these assets for the benefit of the State and by extension the taxpayer.”

The High Court will hear an application from Eversheds to withdraw its representation of the Quinn family on Monday.

Separately, Seán Quinn jr, who is currently serving his contempt of court sentence in the training unit of Mountjoy Prison in Dublin, will appeal his conviction and sentence in the Supreme Court on 2 October.

Aoife Quinn: We have no media advisors

Column: Why are people supporting Seán Quinn? Well, it’s an Irish tradition

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (59 Comments)

• Is the ship sinking?

• Looks sunk to me. They obviously haven’t a leg to stand on.

• It sank, they jumped into the lifeboat and the arse fell out of that also

• Delaying tactics I guess, it says elsewhere that the Quinns instructed the team to cease representing them. Buying time, nothing more. Lawyers don’t abandon clients – whether they win or lose, their money counter keeps ticking.

• Lawyers don’t abandon clients gastrophase??

The sad truth is that in this banana republic you feel as though a lot of these lazy, ”legal eagles” have abandoned you even when they are still supposed to be working for you.

The gravy train flowing from NAMA and the remains of our corrupt banks is the only show in town for our finest legal types,
      thanks to the taxpayers bailouts.

”In Corrupt Bankers We Trust”

• Oh they may abandon your case in their heads, but they won’t stop invoicing you. Who would have left the Quinns if they had any choice, as long as the money keeps flowing? And the Quinns have money allowance for legal expenses approved by the court.

• Can they not apply for legal aid like all the other scangers do?

• denism 01/09/12 #

The judge has allowed the quinns, reasonable legal expenses in connection to the litigation being pursued by the quinns, so ur wrong there buddy

• Will 01/09/12 #

A pretty obvious delaying tactic, they’ll be looking for an adjournment, anything to keep Daddy Nobucks out of the clink.

• denism 01/09/12 #

I must admit, Y.F. u are trying very hard to defend the undefendeble, wonder where ur from

• In this case the ship is sinking but the rats will stay on board .. Everyone else is running a mile!!

• denism 01/09/12 #

Y.f. Quinn was one of the big boys, afterall he was the bigest boy in the country , but got to big and greedy, prob thought he was unstoppable believed his own hype, it’s prob like an addiction, I am a tax payer as well , paying a lot more now because of greed, but I still believe in the courts and our judges.

• Y.F. 01/09/12 #

Denism,
      I’m sure Quinn was a ‘big-boy’ in that he had a lot of money, however, he cared little for hanging out with the real ‘big-boys’, and maybe he has realised since that this might have been detrimental in his demise. Maybe a few rounds of golf with Lenihan, Cowen, etc might have put him higher up in their priorities rankings and the result of rash decisions might have been different. The truth of which, we’ll never know. We’ll all pay for Anglo’s debt (33+ bn), yes, because the ‘big boys’ made that call. The fraction of that debt that disputedly belongs to Quinn is just that…disputed.

• Wait for it – wait for those defending them, espousing they did nothing wrong, they are all innocent!
    …Otherwise known as “The blind bats”.

• The Quinns did do some things wrong Biggins.
      For one, they should have built their businesses in a regulated jurisdiction , where regulations are actually enforced instead of this banana republic.
      If they did, they would be thriving and employing thousands of people as we speak.

I just cant understand why the people who are mostly to blame for this debacle are not being brought to task (and probably never will be).

• It’s just amazing how disillusioned people are,
      that they think that burnt out remains of a diseased, corrupt bank with nearly all of its original employees is going to bring them justice??

A bank that cost them €32 Billion and counting.
      A bank that ( with the assistance of our inept government(s) ) sentenced their kids and grand kids to financial slavery.

”The bank, now known as Irish Bank Resolution Corporation”?????,
      More like
      The bank that bust the country.

• Sorry typo
      the burnt out remains of a diseased

• Harry, maybe the irony of your comment is lost on you, so I’ll spell it out – if they lived in a jurisdiction where regulations were enforced, the regulator would have shut down Quinn Insurance years ago….

• I think what Harry is saying is if they built their business in a jurisdiction where the regulations where enforced then they would have been more cautious, less cavalier with their business and maybe wouldn’t have gone down that route in the first place.

• The Quinns are sitting pretty. The legal system operates so slowly allowing them plenty time to stash away fortunes. One or two of them might do a few months behind bars, but in a year or two, when the dust settles they will all be living the good life once again!

• Lawyers are like bankers, they will give you an umbrella on a sunny day and take it away when it starts raining!!

• denism 01/09/12 #

Y.f. So ur saying that Quinn didn’t know what they were doing when they/ Sean bought all the shares under the contract for different shares. Before the bank ever was publicly in trouble, why did he use that vehicle to buy the shares??, I’m afraid I can’t find any sympathy .

• Y.F. 01/09/12 #

I’m not saying that at all. Of course he knew what he was doing. Quinn didn’t get where he was from playing it safe. He was shown accounts for Anglo that were very positive,(Fictitious accounts, yes, but showed Anglo shares to be a safe bet). He took the gamble, given the information that he was given. (Not the truthful information of the bank’s accounts). He was betting on a donkey, whilst Anglo told him he was betting on a prize horse. This was unfair and illegal. Yes, he knew all about the CFD’s and how they work, but no, he did not know what he was buying into.

• Sounds like a gambler asking for his stake back because he didn’t realise the horse was lame…

• Y.F. 02/09/12 #

Sounds more like a corrupt bank that took part in illegal and wrong practices, involving Quinn, doing all they can to get away unscathed……and it seems to be working well for them.

• denism 01/09/12 #

By the way Y.F. You could include the taxpayer in ur Anglo/government conspiresy, that’s if ur still up..

• Jesus talk about defending the indefensible. You live in Ireland not in Sherwood Forest the ordinary decent criminal doesn’t work in the real world. He gambled, he lost and now he owes 3billion. He has admitted he was “wrong” and “reckless” himself but yet maintains this delusion of innocence.
    I reiterate, I hope he rots in jail.

• Dead right.
    Through their vile greed and corruption every Irish bank has gone bust and sentenced the country to financial slavery
    and to reward them for their crimes our bought out government turns around and lets these corrupt banks financially rape people on a daily basis and
    literally lets them write the new (long overdue) insolvency legislation.

This is a financial dictatorship.

• Quinn family are in the halfpenny place compared to legitimised corruption of Anglo/IBRC. Inept government put the fox in charge of the henhouse!

• God I’m sick of this Quinn spin,,, make room in mountjoy for the hole lot of them !!!!

• good enough for them they got away with 2 much for 2 long!!

• Sounds like we need to organize a whip around to keep the legal team in place. Any volunteers?

• How the fcuk could one man owe 2.8b to a bank every day in jail in this country is 100e of you debt
    Hang the hole lot of them by the neck

• Cara 01/09/12 #

Anglo and the government do not want this case going to court. The money was loaned to Quinn illegally, and in an interview Peter Quinn mentioned that they intended taking this case to the European court. If it had gone that far the case would surely have been won, as Anglo did lend the money to fix its own share price. Anglo and the government can’t let this happen, so how do they prevent it? Freeze the assets of the Quinn family and only allow them “reasonable legal expenses” to make their case. Who determines what expenses are “reasonable”?

• Exactly Cara. U hit the nail in the head.

• Welcome back Cara too. All we need now is Daffy and the Quinn 3 are reunited…

• If you read the article you will see that it is the courts who decide what is reasonable for legal expenses. They should know!

• Oh I’m not sure on that one ,

• Cara 02/09/12 #

@ Mattoid. “All we need now is Daffy and the Quinn 3 are reunited”??? I have no idea what you are talking about. Cop on. My opinion may not be the same as yours, but that does not entitle you to make immature comments in my direction. I happen to think that there is a clear orchestrated campaign against the Quinn family. All stops are being pulled out to sully his name. Suddenly Sean Quinn is enemy number one with the public, but in my opinion there are a lot more people and institutions who are more to blame. I don’t agree with everything that Quinn has done, but I definately don’t agree with what Anglo are doing to him now.
      Yes Mattoid, I did read the article, and understand that the courts decide what legal expenses are “reasonable”, but I am sure the Anglo lawyers are opposing a lot of their expenses. I would also like to make the point that after the referendum in 2011 one could argue that the independence of the judiciary has been undermined.

• mattoid 02/09/12 #

Cara, maybe the reason Quinn is being slated is that the ordinary decent hardworking people of this country are struggling to survive from day to day as a result of a corrupt corporate and banking system which was designed to enrichen a small golden circle at the expense of everyone else, and Quinn was a major high-profile figure in this system. There is a lot of justified anger out there which is only exacerbated when people see the likes of Quinn and others attempting to duck their responsibilites while the rest of us are forced to pay for their greed.

I’m not so sure that Quinn has been unfairly singled out – Seanie Fitz, Paddy Neary and David Drumm have all served time as public enemy #1 and continue to be slated in the media, and rightly so.

The point I was making by welcoming you back is that it is obvious to regular Journal users that there are a small number of commenters who only ever appear to comment on Quinn-related threads and post large volumes of pro-Quinn comments. This suggests to me that there is an orchestrated campaign by the Quinn camp to target forums like the Journal. I apologise if you are not one of these people.

• Cara 02/09/12 #

Mattoid, I use the Journal. I wouldn’t have said I had posted a large volume of pro Quinn comments, but yes, any comments I make are pro Quinn. I think there are two sides of a story and Quinn isn’t being fairly treated. I have watched your comments for a while, and found them fair – even though I don’t agree with them. I am very annoyed with your comment, and if you look I don’t just comment on Quinn!

• mattoid 02/09/12 #

Well then Cara I would like to sincerely apologise to you :-)

• Cara 02/09/12 #

:-)

• It’s about time the quinns got rid if the corrupt legal advisers and handle their cases themselves. The cudn make much more of a balls of it than them shower from the law society. When the legal profession and judges collude with the banks and change the rules as they see fit then the odds is poor for those defending their names, lively hoods and businesses.

• Y.F. 01/09/12 #

Let me get this straight….Anglo realise that the proverbial may well be very close to hitting the fan, in the courtcase against them that Quinn is taking on. So they freeze his accounts, along with those of all his family so that they are left with nothing to pay a legal team. What is it that they are so afraid of being revealed through the courts? I, for one would love to find out….

• Y.F. 01/09/12 #

Denism,
    As an Irish tax-payer, I am very interested in how this whole thing plays out. Quinn is not taking the tax-payer to court. He is defending himself, as an Irish citizen, against a very corrupt bank, and possibly a corrupt government. We all have the right to do so, but Anglo are throwing all they can in his path. When you take on the ‘big-boys’ you get your fingers burnt…and that’s what we’ve learned so far…..but what else will be revealed? My only hope is that Quinn has his day in court against them, to let us all know the truth.

• Have yous people nothin better to do with your time than slate a honest business man & his family

Add New Comment