TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Friday 24 May, 2013

Taoiseach ‘has no intention’ of re-opening Moriarty Tribunal

Enda Kenny was asked by Fianna Fáil leader Micheál Martin about reopening the Tribunal following an article about Michael Lowry published at the weekend.

Former Fine Gael minister, Independent TD Michael Lowry
Image: Leon Farrell/Photocall Ireland

TAOISEACH ENDA KENNY has said that he has no intention of re-opening the Moriarty Tribunal – or any other tribunal.

He made the comment during Leaders’ Questions today, when questioned by Fianna Fáil leader Micheál Martin.

Re-examination

Deputy Martin asked him if he would facilitate re-examination of new issues related to the Moriarty Tribunal, by a tribunal of inquiry. He made the comments in relation to an article in the Sunday Independent at the weekend that contained a transcript of a conversation between Deputy Michael Lowry and land agent Kevin Phelan that mentioned a previously undisclosed sum of between €200,000 – €250,000.

However, the Taoiseach said that when a tribunal is set up by the houses of Oireachtas, the Oireachtas has no further function. Kenny said he agreed with Martin that if any information comes to light it should be forwarded to the appropriate authorities as well, but that whether there was any validity or veracity to the transcript “it’s not for me to judge”.

While Martin said that “there is enough new material there for this house to revisit the issue”, and questioned if the new information means that the tribunal “might have been fatally undermined” and if that concerned the Taoiseach, Kenny said that the comments he made could have been applied to a number of other personalities in other tribunals also.

Martin said no one has denied the veracity of the transcript and that he believed “there’s enough new material there for his house to revisit the issue”.

The Taoiseach said he has “no intention to re-open the tribunal or any other tribunal”. “If there is information out there that somebody has access to, I would suggest they bring that information to the appropriate authorities,” he said.

Read: Lowry: Payment in taped conversation was tax compliant>

Read next:

Comments (46 Comments)

• If there is a case to answer, surely it’s a matter for the Gardai. I presume statements made to the Tribunal were under oath.

• There would only be a point if it could lead to criminal convictions, including fines & time. Otherwise what’s the point. It’s a waste of time & money on a legal gravy train.

• Was there not a third party mentioned at the weekend……or are journalists afraid to speak of him?

• Of course he won’t open this tribunal …..maybe he is afraid of what will ‘fall out ‘ .
    Those who hide nothing have nothing to hide and vica-versa !

• Michael Lowry’s response statement, on his website, is unconvincing. Where did Garuda get the money, what was Garuda, a refrigeration company doing buying speculative development land in the UK and why was this information not revealed to the Moriarty Tribunal? Why would Kevin Phelan seek to associate Lowry with the Doncaster site through the Glebe Trust?

To some extent this is academic because the Tribunal in the March 2011 Report concluded that Michael Lowry had had an unspecified interest in the Doncaster site and that information had been concealed. So, there is nothing actually new in this.

Look at the timing. All of this was well after the decision to award the 2nd GSM licence to Esat Digifone on the 25th October 1995. What happened is highly suspicious but there is no legal proof of wrongdoing.

Will Kevin Phelan give sworn evidence in Ireland? I doubt it.

• Some good points made Eoin. I find it more than a bit arrogant that the party which actively surpressed documents from the Moriarty Tribunal is now actively commenting on the possibility of it’s re opening. For the time being, this whole Lowry-Phelan affair is as good as hypothetical until a concise chain of events can be drawn up and critical documentation supplied to both the revenue comissioners and the office of members interests. All of this could quite easily cleared up with and independent investigatory committee which has had no interactions from or with Moriarty.

As for the banning of smart phones, well, don’t say in private what you’re not willing to stand behind in public.

• Reg 26/02/13 #

Kenny is right and this is just the usual populist nonsense from Micheál Martin. If there are allegations of wrong doing then the law enforcement agencies of state need to get people before the courts.

• mister 26/02/13 #

I’m not in any way defending Lowry here but if this tape came out a few years ago when FF was in government and valued the Lowry vote in the Dail I wonder how vocal Mr Martin would have been? Pure, cynical politics as usual.

• Kenny dodging bullets it seems. Lowry really stung by his own words and then we see James Bannon TF (FG Longfor-Westmeath) today calling for a ban on smart phones – just in case anyone else from FG’s recent past/present gets caught saying something they shouldn’t.

• Reg 26/02/13 #

Says the co-founder of Fianna Fail London.

• Doesn’t change any one of the facts I’ve written above Reg. Here’s the link for Bannon: http://johnnyfallon.wordpress.com/2013/02/25/outlawing-smartphones/

Furthermore, it’s an offence, under the Tribunals of Inquiry Act, to knowingly give false or misleading evidence to a Tribunal. Obviously he was/is hiding from the tribunal if his own words from the interview are true. This dramatically changes on of the key areas of the tribunal’s investigation.

• Also, check out Conor Ryan’s piece in the Examiner “Dear Mr Lowry, please answer the following…” for a clear outline of just what questions Lowry needs to answer in relation to the tribunal’s investigation. This all coming on the back of Elaine Byrne’s work exposing some other irregularities with regard Michael Lowry.

• So Bertie Aherne must have won that money on a horse then?

• Bertie still has a massive case to answer. DPP still looking at Mahon ruling, last I heard, to see what charges can be brought against whom.

• Dillon 26/02/13 #

Eoin- I know you like the voters to forget but you do remember how Fianna Fail courted Michael Lowry in the last Dáil to support that beloved Government and satisfy its insatiable lust for power and adherence to party over country? I ask because ye pretty much let him order off the menu for Tipperary at a time when Fine Gael had at least expelled him.

• No Dillon, I don’t want voters to forget because if they do, then politicians tend to forget as well and the same mistakes are made all over again. The same way that I don’t want them to forget that Lowry was FG’s scapegoat bagman that oversaw that party’s miraculous emergence from a huge debt to fiscally in the black in record time. Nor do I want them to forget the arrogance of the Ministers that lied to them before GE 2011. FG have been trying to re-write recent history even since they took power and where as I have no bother pointing out the mistakes made by FF and the unacceptable behaviour of ex-members, I’m also not going to try run away from accountability and the fact that they were in the party then. I’m also not going to allow anyone else away with hypocracy of the grandiose scale that you perpetually type here.

• Dillon 26/02/13 #

@eoin- “allow”? There’s something you boys need to get used to. The days of ye “allowing” anyone to do anything are gone. You didn’t address my point about Fianna Fails indulgence of Michael Lowry in THE LAST GOVERNMENT, though. You know- after FG expelled him and it was obvious to all the world what he got up to. Why is that? Your party leader was in the cabinet which signed on the bottom line every time Michael arrived with the parish pump demands that would ensure his reelection. The fact is that Michael Lowry is still in the Dail because Fianna Fail feathered his nest. The floor is yours. How does that not make you sound like an absolutely joke when you try to sling mud at a party that expelled him. No rhetoric. An answer to that question, please?

• FF London?!
      Could you organise a “function” for me?
      I need a digout.

(ps can’t take cheques)

• No rhetoric indeed. Taking Lowry’s support was not on. It wasn’t needed. But on a technicality it wasn’t the last government (30th, Cowen lead) it was the one before that (29th lead by Ahern) that signed the agreement with him, but that’s just a technicality. Now care to address any of the the points I made? Why did the CURRENT government lie to the people to gain power? Varadkar’s, not another red cent; Rielly’s Roscommon hosiptal downgrade pledge, etc. And what about the new way to do politics and real political reform? How do you feel about the CURRENT governments policy of feathering their own nests in throwing millions of Euros of exchequer funding at hospitals in their own constituencies and set up primary care centres on their buddy’s land? The sheer arrogance is of a scale that would have put even the bold Bertie to shame!

Also, why was Lowry the only scapegoat on that time? It’s clear that he wasn’t acting alone. What has he been promised for him to keep his council I wonder? FG always ran two candidates in Tipp North up until he went independent after all. Now ye won’t dare upset your boy and only run candidates from the other side of the constitency. A small price to pay!

• I believe thats Check…..and Mate for Dillon!!

• Eoin, It upsets me to see young guys like you sucked into the ‘cult’ that is FF… Only thing i can think of is that you have been brainwashed by years of parent pressure or perhaps you are an ambitious little fellow who thinks FF are his meal ticket…

• Dillon 26/02/13 #

Eoin. Your party bankrupt the country. “The Republican Party” surrendered our Sovereignty. You admit mistakes were made as though you’re apologising for accidentally standing on someone’s toes. You really believe you can put me on the defensive? Just how off the wall arrogant are you?

• Dillon 26/02/13 #

Charles Haughey. Ray Burke. Bertie Ahern. Liam Lawlor. Beverly Cooper Flynn. Pee Flynn. Ivor Callelly. Should I go on?

• Dillon 26/02/13 #

And on a point of order, Micheal Martins last cabinet accommodated Michael Lowry in exactly the same way as its predecessor so yes it was the last Government, all of two years ago, that happily wooed Michael Lowry.

• Declan, Dillon and dowthebow can’t take the heat nor answer the questions so they try a combination of shifting the goalposts and playing the man, not the ball. Sad! I’ll take that as ye personally are okay with corruption, as long as it’s “the right corruption” (ie: FG are the perpetrators a la Moriarty and those named in Mahon that were unpunished as they knew too much). Cheers for the confirmation of that lads.

• Dillon 26/02/13 #

Eoin- I didn’t play the man. I played the party. If I wanted to play the man I’d ask you how you’re enjoying life in the UK while the rest of us try to fix our Republic. But I’m not that petty. That would be small of me.

• I’m enjoying writing policies and getting them passed, writing political reform proposals and getting those adopted as policy. Feeding experiences and ideas back home to improve industries and promote more innovation in a range of engineering and energy sectors. What was that about you fixing the country? By the way, that’s 4 comments in a row where you are avoiding my questions. I answered all yours!

• Dillon 26/02/13 #

Ah, yes. The Republican dream. Following the United Kingdoms lead. I suppose it does show you’re consistent. You’re following FF doctrine- getting foreigners to run our country. It does explain the troika invite, I suppose. We “West Brits” in Fine Gael have this really old fashioned idea in our heads about self determination. Ironic, really. And you’re absolutely right. I’m not entertaining your points. Listening to a Fianna Failer lecture on propriety, honouring election promises, politicking and sensible economic strategy is like conversing with a prison guard at Auschwitz about religious tolerance. To engage would suggest a modicum of respect. And that went out the window with the last Micheal Martin Government.

• Actually I’m going off of my own research at some of the world’s leading Universities (Glasgow and Edinburgh Uni’s) and international best practise. Plus we have a thing call the EurCode standards but I wouldn’t expect you to understand anything about it. Your higher ups in FG don’t! They just do what ever their masters in the EPP tell them to do from the Commission.

You’re not entertaining any of my points……aka: you have no answers to the questions I posed as you clearly have not a single notion how to even approach them. I don’t blame you, the scale of the arrogance, back-handers and broken election promises of this the “change” government is truly staggering. Then you go and invoke Godwin’s Law to really kill off any hope you had of trying to defend your rotten to the core government. And to clarify, it’s mainly (but not restricted to) the FG members in government I have issue with plus a number of the backbenchers. There are some very capable members and indeed politicians in FG, just Enda can’t promote them because the likes of Reilly and Hogan, in the same ilk as Lowry, know where all the skeletons are buried. Thanks again for proving me hunch about you correct – completely happy with corruption as long as FG are perpetrating it. Now I’ve wasted enough time with a troll who stand behind a fake twitter account, set up solely to troll his nonsense on thejournal articles without the courage to put their name or face to their comments. Goodnight, and thanks again for showing up that FG arrogance isn’t just the sole possession of Shatter, Hogan and Reilly……it goes all the way down too!

• This is far too important a matter for party politics. There are some very serious and important questions to be answered.

I call for a Company Inspector to be appointed to Garuda Limited so as to establish the precise source and application of the £200k or £250k.

We need to know what exactly happened. We don’t know if there was wrongdoing but at least we need to know the facts and there are various ways of doing this.

Reporting this to the appropriate authorities is just a fob off. Imagine the authorities doing anything!

• Wow, you really have lost it now Dillon haven’t you. Your vitriolic abuse of me in quite shameful and reflects very poorly on yourself and your party. If you must know, my grandfather was a signed up member of Fine Gael. That’s a well known fact in West Clare. My family had no members in the Civil War as the last family member I had to serve in the fighting died on November 20th, 1920, Vice-Brigadier Peadar Clancy was his name. You might look him up. In fact you never even once asked me why I joined Fianna Fáil. It was to do with the industry of Lemass that brought us into the 20th century, the Constitution that is still held aloft as a model of democracy written in a time that Europe descended into extremist dictatorships. I see the provision of equality, particularly equality of opportunity in education. I see the greatest moves towards peace and reconciliation on this island with FF at the middle of it. I have seen every piece of legislation advancing LGTB rights being brought in by FF. I have seen them being the greatest custodians of our culture and language from a political point of view in our history. And I also note the foresight and vision from FF that brought us into the European project in the first place that has seen massive advances in standards of living, social justice and balanced, respective society. That’s why I got involved. I’m happy to put my name and face to the above. I’ll not hide it behind a pseudonym and blindly slate others for being upfront and honest about themselves DIllon.

Your abuse at me is understandable though. You asked me about corruption and I exclaimed how awful it was but when I showed you that it’s not the sole provision of FF and is actually endemic throughout the system and particularly FG (Moriarty, McCracken, Flood and Mahon………lets not forget the only sitting TD named by Mahon still has her seat on the government benches) and this shattered your fantasy and your forst reaction was to lash out. I have long said that corruption needs a cross party solution however it’s always the FG’ers in particular that want to shout down that suggestion. Wonder why (note: see thejournal article above)

• ^^^^ That probbaly doesn’t make much sense to most people since Dillon’s personal rant against using rather offensive terms to describe my mental state and my lineage. Thankfully it’s been removed as some of the terms may have upset other users even though I personally can take such abuse. The moderation here has always been top notch. Fair play folks.

• Get a room you two, save the bloody classroom debate for the dail. Message from an un-politically affilialted ordinary joe. See now your both united in your contempt for me, isnt it great to just get along.

• censored 27/02/13 #

tweedle dum and tweedle dee again. Didn’t take too long to get back to the civil war did it?

• Oh Mr Martin, a man of the people, the leader of a fake opposition would sole role is to pretend to care about absolutely anything that might make him and his party relevant.
    Great job if you can get it.

#Sociopaths

• Reg 26/02/13 #

What a shame, my experience of siting next to James Bannon on a plane has been deleted. I didn’t think I was being that harsh, just saying what many think!!

• Pablo 26/02/13 #

Ah gowan open it, gowan, gowan gowan gowan gowan gowan gowan GOWAN

Add New Comment