TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 17 °C Wednesday 19 June, 2013

Ridge’s FG resignation: ‘at least nobody can tell me what to do anymore’

Cllr Therese Ridge has told TheJournal.ie that she’s hurt and “very sad” about her resignation from Fine Gael.

Image: Photocall Ireland

CLONDALKIN COUNCILLOR THERESE Ridge has said that she’s “very sad” about her resignation from Fine Gael.

Ridge resigned from the party yesterday in the wake of findings of the party’s disciplinary committee, which said that her acceptance of a donation from Frank Dunlop in 1992 was “injudicious and unwise” and that her role as a public representative was compromised by her relationship with Mr Dunlop.

She has told TheJournal.ie that she decided not to appeal sanctions placed upon her by the committee because she felt that the party’s mind had been made up.

Ridge referenced comments made by the Taoiseach in the wake of the committee’s findings, when he said that he was happy with the outcome of the meetings. She felt that appealing the findings at that stage would be a waste of time:

The appeal would be to the Fine Gael council, and the head of that council is the Taoiseach, so I would imagine that I might get the same result as the last time.

Ridge stopped short of criticising the Taoiseach, but said that he should have waited until she lodged an appeal before making any comment.

I couldn’t see any group going against the opinion of the leader.

Ridge also said that she was disappointed by the lack of support shown by Dublin Mid West TDs Frances Fitzgerald and Derek Keating, but said her councillor colleagues have been very supportive, and that she has received nothing but well wishes from the people she represents.

Sometimes political parties forget that your main duty is to your constituents.

Ridge said that she felt that she was doing the right thing in voting in favour of the Quarryvale development. She said she told Fine Gael from the beginning that she was voting for it and that Dublin council had recommended that the private sector should come into the area to boost employment and infrastructure.

Fine Gael had asked her not to vote for the development because she knew one of the lobbyists for the developer. The councillor said she feels the Liffey Valley development has been positive for the area and reiterated that at the time there were no rules with regard to the funding of elections.

I’m never going to say that I shouldn’t have voted for it. I did the right thing.

Ridge said that she ran as a candidate in the 1992 general election she did it for the good of the party and that she knew she was “definitely not going to get a seat”.

A Fine Gael spokesperson said today that the party feels that the findings of the disciplinary committee were “robust”. Ridge said she has been very hurt by the reply. She said that she had felt that her meeting with the committee had gone well and that she was shocked at the outcome.

Asked where she goes from here Therese Ridge told TheJournal.ie that she is now in the happy position of being an independent councillor “so I won’t have to get permission from anybody”:

I’ll get over it. And I’ll be here for another two years anyway.

Read: Ridge resigns from Fine Gaekl in the wake of disciplinary proceedings>

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (62 Comments)

• maybe if she keep her hands in her own pocket she might still be in the party, sad thing is she is only one of many who are only there to line their own pockets,

• Sorry, but I cannot understand anyone like this councilor saying, ‘I won’t have to answer to anyone’. Yes, she may become an independent, but, yes, Madam you will, you will answer to the electorate that voted for you, your colleagues in your council chambers. You were put there by the electorate in Clondalkin. You work for them!

Many more need to be punished in Councils around the country that gave planning permission with no infrastructure, sewerage facilities, schools etc. ‘de frocking’ a few TDs’ would be the honest thing to do also! A report/check on architects, safety, etc. should be done immediately. Any of them involved in wrong doing should be immediately taken off their Traders listings until they can be trusted again.

• Would like to say another deluded politician, blaming others when caught with hand in the til, but truth is its hardly surprising, constituents in her local area are probably all making excuses for her, no wonder Wallace Lowry et al all feel they are wronged parties when people they represent give them get out of jail cars with their baking and national bodies never punish them. Must be great to be untouchable and”answer to no one”

• “backhand city”

• Dmc 07/07/12 #

Loads of corrupt politicians. Hence why no bankers arrested. Too many stories will get out

• Fine Gael are slaves to their European elites (ECB & EC).

1) Most of the “new” politicians in FG, to re-establish previous controls over the out-of-control investment banks that got turned loose to use our money to speculate on risky mortgages…
      2) Fine Gael is a toothless organization, suitable only as a whipping boy for blueshirts. The percentage of Irish unemployment now around 15%, the lowest since the 80′s, and much lower than the rest of the industrial world.
      3) Tax revenues (as a fraction of GDP) are the lowest in 10 years, and the least onerous on the top 1% for about the same time. If there is a class war, it is already over, and the rich have won it. They are the only ones whose income has grown over the past 20 years. I do not feel sorry for them.
      3) The government didn’t step up to finance the peoples plight when NO private banks would take the chance. The results speak for themselves. P.S. it was Kenny’s original plan, in one of his saner moments.
      4) The government cannot create jobs… unless you count teachers, soldiers, medical researchers, firemen, road construction companies, private defense contractors, etc. And that is where most of the jobs have been lost, in the service of government “austerity”. Oh, and those jobholders also pay taxes, when they have jobs.

I’d love to hear about the wonderful track record of the Fine Gael mafia in their role as job creators. We tried lower taxes and fewer regulations during Fianna Fail’s corrupt era, but somehow ended up in this Great Recession anyway. Enough said, there is a national protest on July 18 at the Dail.

• Unbelievable – no shame at all .

• Yet Olivia Mitchell remains a blueshirt TD and it’s leader sees nothing wrong with rubbing shoulders with Denis O’Brien in spite of Tribunal findings against him. Add in Forsey the councillor imprisoned the other week and it’s clear the blueshirts give Fianna Failure a run for their money for title of most corrupt party in the country.

• Taxi for Therese Ridge, disgraceful wench

• Meath 07/07/12 #

She was used as a scapegoat for Olivia Mitchell

• Good riddance!

• To Mark: Sorry, far from it, we just have a combined hundreds of years experience of doing business in this sad country of ours.
    The only people that can “take them out” is the electorate.
    Many commentators say we need a new new political party but no, that’s not the answer – we saw the PD’s disappear up their own backsides – they should have read George Orwell’s Animal House.
    What we need is a new ethos, a new culture. We don’t operate in a democratic / capitalist society, rather a bastardised democracy run by corporations and our Senior Civil Servants should be ashamed of themselves.
    We will never get leaders out of parish pump politics.

• What a crybaby.

• Maybe now she, as an ‘independent’ and thrown out of her precious party, she might drop a few of them in it. She says she doesn’t have to answer to anybody so let’s hear it all Ms.Ridge! All the dirt, anything you have, do it for the people in your constituency, the electorate, the people that are suffering because of you, your colleagues greed and short of the truth, because of the disloyalty among you all.

In any party, many, many have knives, to stab the other in the back for power. Do it Ms. Ridge.

• hurler 07/07/12 #

Good comment

• Agreed, you need a breed of politicians who are proud to represent their constituents (the folks who voted them in) and will do all in their power and energy to insure that their interests are represented.

Award and financial compensation come with doing a great job and are not to be taken for granted – you are a servant of the people.

Too many of these Politicians looking out for themselves and screwing over the people who voted them in based on their empty spin.

If only there was some form of accountability in Irish Politics, or consequences for screwing the population over…

• Love the way she sees absolutely nothing wrong with what she did (accepting wad for a decision) – just goes to show the quality of individuals we have involved in politics in this country… Very sad…

• And to back up her disgraceful, shameless manner and comment we have in first place – Pat “I make no apologies for how much I earn and I am not in the least bit embarresed” Rabbitt in his comment to Sam Smith on the Vin B show during the week. In second place we have Mary “because I was worth it” Hearney. Third place Michael how much money can I plunder from the tax payer in tribunal legal fees, Tainistes pension, TD pension McDowell. I could go one but theres an awful lot of carraiges on this train. Choo Choo.

• Olivia Mitchell is damaged goods. Different standards in FG depending on what is your position. Therefore party is damaged. No better than FF.

• Fianna Fáil had dealt with the Mahon Report within a week of its publication, but three and a half months on, FG haven’t expelled, or even tried to expel anybody.

• FF did everything they could to prevent the Tribunal getting to the truth. The reason the Tribunal cost 300million, was because FF did everything to delay it. FF are a shower of criminals and thieves. 300million, are they going to pay it back to the Irish people? I doubt it very much.

• @Cal1, are you ever going to get the chip off your shoulder? FF have dealt with Mahon 1 WEEK after it happened, when all the people named decided to jump before they were pushed from the party.

Fine Gael have said this week that it is OK to take payments up to 500 euro, just to avoid throwing out Mitchell I suspect. They had to take down someone to be seen to act, so they sacrificed this low-level representative rather than one of their current TD’s.

FG have a lot of skeletons in their closet, Fianna Fail have emptied the closet, and FG should have done the same within a week of Mahon.

• FF have emptied the closet? Only took them 80 years…

• Thomas, will FF return the 300million euro to the state? Miceal Martin, Willie O’Dea were all telling the country that there was nothing to investigate. Will you now return the 300million? Or do you think Paddy should pay for your corruption?

• Thomas, considering your facebook banner is a photo of the man whose golden circle cronyism brought our nation to its knees and consigned generations of our people to banker debt slavery, you should probably keep your head down and hope nobody reminds us all of the endemic corruption in your own bloody party.

• The point Thomas makes stands. Fianna Fail representatives did wrong and have since jumped ship (would have been expelled).

Fine Gael, don’t seem to want to deal with the corruption in their own party. The problem was endemic, corruption happened at every level in every major party. Obviously being in power led it to occur more in Fianna Fail, however, the fact it happened in FG as well shows just how widespread it was.

Cal, its amazing how you turn everything to Fianna Fail even when the articles have nothing to do with them. If your that infatuated with us, I have no problem sitting down with you and explaining how you can go about membership.

• Article on corruption and Mahon Tribunal has everything in the world to do with FF chap :-D

• FF and FFg/Labour are all equally responsible for the Mahon corruption report. They all have members caught taking bribes for planning. They should all be forced to repay the 300 million euro of Irish tax payer money. They are thieves and Liars. Until the leaders of FFg/FF/Labour agree to return our 300million, they are thieves and financial terrorists in my eyes.
      The Moriart Tribunal cost another 200 million. I as a tax payer, want FFg to return that money also, along with the 2,000 million euro they discounted to Denis O’Brien. I want my money back please.

• So are SF financial terrorists for taking their expenses to pay for their own ends? See Cal1, I can deflect away just as easily as you can.

Now, Mahon has achieved what it set out to do. If Fianna Fail were delaying the tribunal, then why did they set it up in the first place? Bertie delayed the tribunal, he was acting of his own accord and FF will stand behind him for doing that.

• ” Bertie delayed the tribunal, he was acting of his own accord and FF will stand behind him for doing that.”
      You are FF to the core… well done.. No principles…

Can you send me a link to one story where SF were found to have actually corruptly used expenses?

Miceal Martin went on Matt Coopers show and other radio /TV interviews saying that the Tribunal was a waste of tax payers money and that Bertie and the rest of the thieves were innocent. Are you going to defend that?

• Damn, typo typo!

” Bertie delayed the tribunal, he was acting of his own accord and FF will NOT stand behind him for doing that.”

• Thomas, if the definition of terrorism is to threaten and coerce for political ends, then weren’t fianna fail committing ‘financial terrorism’ by forcing us to accept crippling budgets under threat of the IMF having to be brought in?? (You know, before they were anyways)

• The budgets Fianna Fail bought thru lifted Ireland out of reccession in 2010:

http://www.tv3.ie/article.php?article_id=40058&locID=1.2.&pagename=news

We have slipped back into recession since FG came to power.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2012/0322/economy-business.html

There was nothing threatening or coercive about FF budgets, we came out of recession as a result of them.

• Tip of the iceberg ! And Ridge as an elected councillor you ARE answerable to the people of your constituency ….

• Do you actually believe the crap you’re peddling Thomas? FF brought us out of recession, i.e. the abstract, statistical and definitional type of recession. The sort of metric that has nothing to do with the lives of ordinary people like :)

• Sure don’t I know that, but the numbers do not lie. And the ordinary people, I am an ordinary person! Social welfare is there for families like mine who do not have an income in order to survive through the tough times. And that is being accomplished, and was accomplished by FF. Pensions, dole payments rose ahead of inflation, hence, there is plenty of help for “the ordinary person” if it is needed.

• Thomas, once more, can you send us proof of your LIBELOUS comment. I think you need to tread carefully making false accusations,

http://www.thejournal.ie/search/pearse%20doherty/

Or maybe you made the comment, because you just didn’t know the truth… which is Thomas.

• Dear oh dear Thomas, talk about clutching at straws. Your argument is the poorly spun equivalent of a drunk driver mowing somebody down and then looking for kudos for driving part of the way to the hospital pissed with their victim in the boot. YAY, lets pin a blue peter badge to the guy who picked the hit and run victim off the road and drove to the end of it with them in his boot.

• Thomas

The man on your FB banner should have gone to jail. Shame on him and you.

• Ah now lads, would ye look at Thomas’s face, he’s only a child and sure werent we all young and foolish once. He should be all grown up in about 8 years and he’ll probably cringe thinking back on how he once defended “The Party” on a public forum!! Thankfully when I was his age and just as delusional the interweb hadnt even been dreamed of.

• Congrats to the FG disciplinary committee for dealing with the fallout from Mahon against Cllr Ridge in a “robust” way. It’s about time (now what about Cllr Clenndennen of Kinnity who’s son claims the committee “cleared” him notwithstanding being named as a tax defaulter by the revenue?)

• Conor, do you think FFg might do the right thing and expel their TDs who were found corrupt? Or does FFg support corruption, even when found through the most expensive Tribunal in the coountry’s history?

• These politicians always put up the same defence.
    1) Express complete outrage at the outrageous allegations.
    2) Vow you would do the exact same again.
    3) (from the Bertie defence handbook) Defend yourself against accusations that have never even been made against you.

• The sooner Fine Gael are taken out the better. For the most part, they are behaving like clowns and idiots. They are showing unbelievable levels of incompetence and basically making it up as they go.
    They promised so much – where is the new ethos? Forsey and Ridge are but the low hanging fruit. Fine Gael continue to condone and protect white collar gangland. Neither have Fine Gael the guts or competence to take on the permanent government – the equally privileged and incompetent senior civil servants.

• Stay tuned. Fine Gael are the single largest job killing machine ever created. Michael Noonan did us bad by not imposing further losses on Anglo’s bondholders. So we’re stuck with a deficit of 32% of GDP from Fianna Fail.

Fine Gael raised taxes and the burden will devastate businesses of all sizes.

They have to be voted out of office.

Kenny for Ex-Taoiseach 2012

• Sorry Cal I don’t recall the Tribunal naming any Fine Gael councillor or TD corrupt or where either remains a Member of that Party.

• Olivia Mitchells reputation has been irreparabley damaged and as a result she sullied the party bib. If Kenny had the guts of his convictions she would be long gone. Given that she was one of Brutons merry disciples who was more than willing to overthrow Edna Kenny why he hasnt done so is beyond me. Unless….

• And the government want to give councils more power – it is their way of insuring we are left with the next generation of politicians from the same families. Something to look forward to more corruption from the Healy Reas, Lowery, Flynn’s, Quinn’s, Ahern’s, Lynches, Mitchell’s , Lenehans, O’ Donoghues, and all the in-Laws, relatives etc. can’t wait for our great future under their care.

• Yet Olivia Mitchell remains… Interesting…

• I.S.B.A. 08/07/12 #

Sad Mark, people need us to be together now. Happy to talk but stop de rubbish

• I wonder how many people posting on these pages this evening are in receipt of the average wage and operate under instructions from their Comrades?

• And if ye don’t vote for me …check repeatedly under your car!

• mel 07/07/12 #

No, only if they give you a few quid!!

Add New Comment