TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Saturday 18 May, 2013

Scary Newspaper Front Page of the Day

The situation in Greece has led some to predict just how much any eurozone exit for the country might cost the rest of us. And it’s not cheap.

THE SITUATION IN Greece continues to dominate newspaper headlines here and worldwide today but there is no headline we’ve seen so far that is quite as scary as this one.

The Guardian leads today with a story that the British government is making plans for a possible Greek exit from the eurozone with one estimate of the impact on the single currency zone putting the cost at some $1 trillion or as the paper puts it:

Guardian front page 17 May 12

Scary, huh?

Yesterday, a senior judge was sworn in as an interim prime minister of Greece. He will lead a caretaker government until the country can hold fresh elections, their second in six weeks, on 17 June.

Panagiotis Pikrammenos, 67, was reported to have said there was “no panic” according to the Greek president Karolos Papoulias who added “but there is great fear which could turn into panic,” according to Business Week.

The growing numbers of people who are withdrawing their deposits from Greek banks has also come into sharp focus in recent days. Yesterday, the Wall Street Journal reported that some €700 million was withdrawn from local banks earlier this week.

Though this is not considered a run on the banks, the increasing flow of money out of Greek banks is raising further concerns for European leaders on top of the political uncertainty.

Yesterday, Finance Minister Michael Noonan warned of the consequences of the Irish people voting No in the Fiscal Compact referendum, describing it as a “dangerous leap in the dark”.

Read: Minister Quinn: Govt will implement treaty ‘without delay’

Read: Noonan says rejecting EU treaty would be ‘dangerous’ for Ireland

Read next:

Comments (95 Comments)

• 1930s Europe; those who ignore history are destined to repeat it.

• All you amateur economists talking shite…. This is one simple fact, the whole planet is in debt, in a well run country debt should be 7% approx to GDP, we are over a 1000% in debt to GDP , America is 300% etc etc …. The vicious money circle has come back to bite us all in the arse….. All money is debt, no country can borrow money to get out of debt, your just getting into more debt,,, in a nutshell , we are facing a global financial meltdown, we should default immediately and start from scratch, hard yes but Germany did it after WW2 and please all you people who are gonna come on here and say its bullshit, it ain’t pardner, this is basic economics by someone who does to know the nitty gritty but what I do know, is that we are not producing enough wealth in our small country to facilitate the paying of even the loopy interest on our loans… We are literally fcuked , it’s time to,feather your nest as much as possible cos the next ten years are gonna be rough, I am not scaremongering, it’s the truth.

• made 17/05/12 #

Yeah the next 10 years will be tough but only tough on the ordinary citizen,not on the politician.

• Still voting N,000,000,000,000.

• There is a legal glitch emerging with the fiscal treaty. The treaty purports to use the EU Court of Justice for countries who breach the terms. However the EU Court of Justice is an EU institution. The fiscal treaty is NOT an EU Treaty. It is a treaty of 25 EU states, but not an EU Treaty, which would require 27 states.
    If it is not an EU Treaty then it cannot avail of EU institutions to administer its terms. David Cameron said as much when the deal was made.

• Correct. As the fiscal compact does not involve all member and is not a proper treaty, enforcing it via the ECJ is dubious, to put it mildly.

Then again, the treaty is not about europe, or stability. It is about Germany and german voters. It is no coincidence that germany is the only signatory who will not face extra austerity measures to be compliant with the terms of the treaty.

• Fagan's 17/05/12 #

I think because they know that the treaty will never be implemented. Just imagine the reaction if with the depth of economic disaster in the Eurozone, next January all the countries in Europe, bar Finland, started cutting their spending in line with the treaty. It would be a continent wide slowdown, the Euro would collapse in value.

If this treaty is implemented then the Markets are going to wash their hands of the Eurozone economies. It really doesn’t matter what way we vote, what way any country votes.

The ECB is going to have to break every one if its constraints if it wants the Euro to survive.

• No offence lads but this sounds like the ‘Freeman of the land’ kinda nonsense. Though I’ll go and check with people who would know.
      http://rationalwiki.org/wiki/Freeman_on_the_land

• I never saw that before , of course you are quite right . I am not a big admirer opf Cameron , but he has stood up for the people he governs. That in my opinion is true statemanship

• Very true. I won’t even be here to vote. Fook, there were a LOT of zeros there.

• petes, that’s possible but what’s also possible are multiple different scenarios. it’s changing daily. and if Greece leaves the Eurozone and bounces back fairly swiftly, it could be an attractive way to go for other countries facing years and years of no growth an austerity.

• Hey Declan, do you really think they could bounce back swiftly? I have no idea how they could. I suppose they could turn into a tax haven or something. Hopefully they won’t and we can. I always reckoned becoming a country-wide data haven with loads of privacy controls enshrined in the constitution might be a good way forward.

• Fagan's 17/05/12 #

It is a masssive problem but Greece has to go, the alt. is to stay in perpetual economic depression, or the EU to permanently subsidize them. It can’t grow in the Euro.

Greece has low personal debt, and the state debt would be wiped out by default. They would get aid from Europe and others, they’ll have it hard but they’ll have a future. In the Euro, they have no future and eventual social collapse and chaos. Might as well go for surgery and get better, as lie in agony for many years to come.

• Remember, the ECB was alleged to have induced a run on Ireland’s banks at the time of the bailout.
    Now the ECB has pulled funding from Greek banks.

http://mobile.reuters.com/article/idUSBRE84D07X20120517?irpc=932

• Alleged by who? Is this like yesterday when you were saying the Fiscal compact will change our corporate tax rate, when it clearly doesn’t.
      I’m alleging you’re stirring the pot to scare people into a no vote.

• Alleged by Colm McCarthy, Dan O’Brien, David McWilliams, in the Irish press, international press. Were you leaving in Ireland at that time?
      http://www.independent.ie/national-news/ecbforced-run-on-our-banks-led-to-bailout-2628449.html
      With respect to the treaty leading to Ireland losing control of its corporate tax rates. I presented with multiple sources on this yesterday. If you choose to ignore these that’s up to you. I’d like to know what Ireland is getting itself into.

• So Sean we’ve gone from alleged to “widespread suspicions”. Is there any evidence for this at all?
      Btw I’m not saying it’s impossible but just because someone says it doesn’t make it true, they need to back it up. And I expect better from economists as they should be using facts and figures if they want to allege this kind of thing.

• Brian Linehan went on BBC4 and stated that the ECB forced a run on Irish banks. McCarthy, O’Callaghan, McWilliams have repeated this claim. Yet the ECB has never slapped the down or even denied this to be the case.

The ECB abused their position then as they are doing now in Greece.

• Okay while there is no evidence for the ECB causing a run on the Irish banks I can where McCarthy, O’Callaghan and McWilliams are coming from. But I’m not seeing why the ECB would do this with Greece, it would be far far too risky.

• If the BoE issued a statement that it was witholding funds from Lloyds/TSB because it had concerns regarding it’s solvency, there would be a run on Lloyds tomorrow.
      BoE would not do this as it would be irresponsible to do so.
      The ECB is now blatantly yielding political power and attempting to influence political decision making. Democracy is ceasing to be even an afterthought in Europe now.

• Well I have no idea what really happened though turns out the ECB were entirely correct while our own government were claiming the opposite. I appreciate they wouldn’t want to cause a panic but I get the feeling FF were running around like headless chickens hoping the problem would go away somehow.

• The ECB’s German friendly monetary policies from the birth of the Euro and interventions during this crisis have been damaging for Ireland and particularly Irelands taxpayers.
      The fiscal union treaty is the beginning of a process to establish a similar unaccountable body to dictate fiscal policy. It doesn’t require much imagination to see how damaging this will be for Ireland.

• Exactly Kevin. If we default on
    Loans, potentially the whole system would collapse. Germany can’t afford to let that happen. So the only option would be to allow us have access to funds provided that we are being prudent in our budgeting and spending.
    A YES vote will commit us to a totally unachievable and unrealistic budget deficit and will commit our nations children to years of immigration or austerity, without ever achieving the required deficit.
    A NO vote will tell Germany that we have had enough and that we are not willing to accept their terms of a so called unified monetary / federal Europe.
    The problem is that we need politicians who are willing to go to the precipice in order to get a fair deal for us. The bunch we have at the moment ( and there are no better alternatives ) are yes men and are afraid of their own shadows
    Vote no and tell Europe who’s boss.

Tá ár lá imithe.

• Bang on!

• The more we go down this road the more I think everyone is wrong.

So what if our bluff is called? What if we default and those next few years are even worse than now. Will you still congratulate those politicians who took that undoubtedly brave decision to jump over that precipice?

I’m actually curious here. Not just being rethorical.

• A no vote still doesn’t address the 16Bn budget deficit, even if Paul’s scenario came to pass and Ireland was to receive funds after a No vote. Ergo, vote yes for austerity, vote no for austerity.

• While you are correct about addressing budget defecits whether we vote yes or no, a yes vote will require a further adjustment of 6 billion in 2015, followed by a further 20 years of additional adjustments to bring our debt to GDP ratio to 60%.

The killer in all of this is that no allowance has been made in irelands case for the banking debt we were forced to take on to save european bankers skins. This debt, which does not belong to the irish people, will be included in the calculations for meeting these draconian targets.

oh, and we’ll be fined if we mis them.

I’ll be voting NO. A second injustice lasting 20 years in relation to the banking debt is just as unacceptable as the first.

• As will the 11bn contribution to the EMS fund!

• Fagan's 17/05/12 #

We will have a partial default, that is a certainty. Thanks to the Bank guarantee treachery by Lenny and co. we have an unsustainable debt in a world full of unsustainable debt. Austerity will not save us or the Euro at this stage, the banks should have been wound down over the last few years, the pain should have been taken, with the ECB pumping new cash in to stabilize. Instead debt was piled upon debt, the ECB looks like being the first central bank in history at risk of insolvency. The economies of much of Europe still decline but now with many years of onerous debt on them, greater deficits and still bankrupt banks.

Greece is reported to be limiting daily withdrawls to 50 euro a pop. What will happen when Spain, is calling for a multi trillion bailout, never mind Italy, and Belgium and Portugal and a 2nd bailout here. Even France and Germany will need help with their banks. This is a currency crisis, the problems extend everywhere that currency is.

This is going to come to a stage, where the rest of the world is going to come in and tell the EU to cop on, that they are risking a global economic collapse and to start a process of managed disengagement for the countries not suited to the Euro, with IMF, American and Asian help.

• patrick 17/05/12 #

how, er, convenient that the headline uses dollars, rather than pounds or drachma. Preparation for there being no Euro?

• I think it was an interim Prime Minister that was appointed, not President

• Kevin 17/05/12 #

Fed up of these scare mongerung tactics. The euro zone will do everything in their power to make sure that Ireland stays in Europe; a no vote won’t change that.

• People harp on about scare tactics, but this is the reality for the Greeks at the moment, and if Ireland votes no, it won’t take long to be Irish reality too once a precedent is set! like it or not!

• The Greeks made a pact with the devil, as did we… They are suffering the wrath of the devil now because they are standing alone against him! together we stand divided we fall! This is the truth of it!

• Funny so that Greece are the first country after ratifying the Fiscal Compact? The stability treaty ain’t stabilising Greece, in fact the reverse is happening!

• You need to go back to the drawing board Petes Tuppence, Greece have already ratified the treaty, tell me, why ‘stability’ has it brought them? Why would Ireland’s fate be different? This treaty will see half the country thrown into the pits of indefinite poverty.

• Ah cmon Diarmuid and ailis
      The fiscal compact has nothing, NOTHING to do with Greece’s problems.
      You rabid no voters need to get a grip. Ireland is not Greece

• Thank you so much David, you’re of course spot in, nor has it anything to do with Irelands problems or solution. It is an insignificance to Europes problems and will not solve them either. But yes the YES side are the ones scaremongering with the Greek situation?

• Of all the British Papers, the guardian is the last one to scaremonger. This is reality folks!

• Choooon 17/05/12 #

If David Higgins is saying it, it must be true ;-) ;-) ;-)

• You’re right Diarmuid, especially about the scaremongering. The government think so little of the Irish people that they think they can scare us like small children with talk of bogeymen coming etc. the no side are pretty good at it too. What I want is someone to come out and with no bullshit, tell us the REAL pro’s and cons

• Absolutely David, just think of it this way. The “stabilities” treaty way of solving Greece at this very moment would be to start sending them enormous fines. That sound like a solution to you?

• *stability treaties

• Fagan's 17/05/12 #

This has nothing to do with the Treaty vote. The treaty if passed with 99% Yes, if it was considered the greatest economic policy of the last century, by all sides, then it still would not save Greece, Spain and Italy, the French banks and a hell of a lot of German ones.

The financial crisis here, is primarily down to a corrupt and incompetent Govt. over the last 13 years, we could have avoided the worst of it.

For the rest of Europe, there is a divide between those who are trapped in the overly strong Euro, places like Greece and Spain, Italy, Portugal, and even France and Belgium to a degree, and the others who are benefiting to an artificial degree like Germany and Holland.

Spain and Italy are going to need bailouts, when Greece goes, they will be the next to be looked at. The Euro will then be on the hook for trillions upon trillions, either print or break up. Either way the value of the Euro is sliding on the long term.

• So true Dave – I just talked today with a collegue about how to vote. Well how the heck do you know what to vote??? The columns YES are very good and the NO as well….this threating practice going on now does NOT help – why? Because you DO NOT know what is the truth! Is it really as bad lets say getting out of Europe or is it only that they are scared of their positions and wages…where is the TRUTH!!! You cant trust nothing, so I guess it ALWAYS comes back to your guts…as these are always right…still dont know what to vote though ;-)

• Kevin I have to admit I can’t follow how this British newspaper headline equates to Europe trying to scare us. All our debts only make a tiny fraction of total European debt so I don’t imagine they’d care enough. Our referendum on this Fiscal Compact is a non story in Europe.

• Gary, we don’t need a newspaper headline to prove europe is trying to scare us. We have the blackmail clause to prove europe is trying to scare us.

• Trueleft. Sorry but I find it very difficult to listen to your point that Europe is supposedly trying to scare us while you at the same time use the phrase ‘blackmail clause’. You obviously have a very selective opinion on what scaremongering is.
      Of course you haven’t explained why Europe would need to blackmail or scare us in the first place.

• Petes tuppence .
      You sayu you are fed up of scare tactics …..
      and then go on to use scare tactics . vbote yes do as you are told or else ….. kcuf ffo with your bully boy comments .
      We need to VOTE NO . Stand on our own abilities, stand up to the brutes trying to make us succomb to austerity . Vote NO.

• Dave Harris
      You are dead right of course, but Greece is a useful tool to scare the undecided here into a yes vote .

• Ah Susie Susie Susie. I’m actually going to agree with you for once (well in a way), it is Vote Yes for austerity but it’s Vote No for even more austerity. Not great choices I grant you. And you came in a down-voted me straight away, where’s the love?

• Gary Clowry
      What are you talking about ? down vote you ? Paranoid are you ?
      Anyway You are saying that the government are bullying people by using Greece as a scare tactic to vote yes ! No body I know has ever said that austerity can be avoided .
      I have always said that Austerity can not be avoided , but if we vote yes austerity will be written into our constitution forever and a day , whereas if we vote no , austerity will be short lived and there will be room for growth and recovery, That is why I advocate the vote No.

• Danny D 17/05/12 #

Britain was also preparing for euro collapse “within 10 days” in december…

• Fagan's 17/05/12 #

The Euro will either collapse, drastically reduce in size or be so devalued that it will destroy much of the debt problem, ie drop below parity with dollar etc.

What ever is going to happen, the 17 state Euro Zone is over. The Greek economy is looking at being in severe crisis in the Euro for at least the next 10 years. Never mind Spain, Italy etc etc. That is not sustainable, economically or socially.

• it doesnt matter if we vote no, they will just keep making us vote again until its a yes vote, our ‘government’ is being blackmailed by Europe, were Europe’s bitch now….sorry to be crude, and extreme, but am I wrong, there giving us the illusion of free choice by letting us vote, thats about the size of it…

• They can’t aoife. The treaty MUST be ratified by the end of the year. So all we need to do is vote No until the time runs out and its dead in the water.

• Fagan's 17/05/12 #

The treaty will never be implemented.

Bankia, one of Spain’s largest bank is down 30% in the last day. Cash is flying out of it it’s branches.

The treaty calls for restrained spending, well the reality at the moment is that the ECB is going to have to start creating new Euro’s and piling them in to the banks of Europe, spending that money on a massive scale, via investment and growth/demand boosting measures.

The treaty however will demand that all countries in Europe bar Finland, who is not breaching these uber strict rules, and those in economic prog’s like ourselves to start cutting spending next Jan. This will mean all of Europe will be aiming to grow via exports, as all its trading partners cut spending and thus growth.

It is absolutely bat doo crazy, even if several Euro zone economies were not on the verge of complete meltdown. For that reason the rest of the world are not going to allow the EU to implement this, as it will only bring the rest of the world down with them.

• Well no Aoife. If we don’t vote Yes we just get excluded from the ESM etc, other countries can just ignore us. This isn’t an EU treaty so unanimity is not required.

• One thing I don’t understand about all of these articles is that everything seems to be based on USD.
    Is Greece not using the Euro?
    Is Britain not using Sterling?
    Is China not using the Yuan?

If these papers are looking to make the figure looks astronomically huge (Which of course it is anyway) Why not use the Yuan, or the Yen??

• The euro has been set to fail for awhile, time to worry about ourselves time to start printing the punt again

• mcbab 17/05/12 #

You living in la la land? Printing the punt? Backed up by what ? The gold in the Wicklow hills!

• Mcbab, You mean backed with the same thing the Euro is?

• We are witnessing the slow motion crash of the Euro.
      It’s mindboggling, that some, lemming-like, want to cling to the sinking wreckage of this failing currency.
      Ireland has been treated terribly by Europe’s institutions. The ECB precipitated a run on Irelands banks to force us into a bailout. Ireland accepted punative rates for a bailout. Forced to pay 100 cent on the Euro to bondholders. Many who paid a fraction of this on secondary markets.
      Yet, like a stupid dog, FF & the rest of the establishment insist we lie at the feet of our master. No matter how badly we’re treated.
      http://uk.mobile.reuters.com/article/idUKBRE84G0DL20120517?irpc=932

• Fagan's 17/05/12 #

I think the Euro will survive but there will be 5-6 countries that will be leaving it over the next few years. Tiny little Greece, only half a percent of Global GDP is rattling the very foundation of the currency – Why? People know that the real problems lie in Italy and Spain, who combined are 14 times larger, that the banks of France and Germany are underwater and that to bailout the banking system the ECB is going to have to open up the liquidity tap via printing money on a truly massive scale. Turning the Euro in to a peso. Better to let Greece go, support them, support those takinghits and stabilize, then do same for Spain, Italy, Portugal and ourselves.

Time to take one for the Euro team people, the good little European shite won’t last a second when we are looking at permanent exclusion from the markets thanks to Euro membership and the currency is retrenching back to economies that are very similar in management, social order and style to Germany and Holland.

Presumably a very strong peg will stay to the Euro but the days of the 17 nation currency are well and truly over.

• No worries. Just up the price of fuel.

• So the Greeks should sell back all the arms and weaponry it bought off Germany and Israel at the height of this crisis. Although usually Germany and Israel offer a no returns policy. So expect a revolution any day now and a deployment of troops to declare martial law.
    How noonan can find any comparison between us and Greece. We where only 1/3 as corrupt as they where so expect it would cost us around 300 billion if we left the euro so I don’t think it’s an option nor would I want it to be. But least its a distraction from the real problem of the banks fraud perpetrated four years ago. So we bailed the banks out so were has all that billions and trillions of euros gone obviously it hasn’t all been pissed away has it? Switzerland hasn’t seen an increase in large deposits in its banks has it?

• Damocles 17/05/12 #

Yesterday Darren Gibney told us in response to my suggestion that Spain and Italy will go if Greece goes. “That’s still highly unlikely. ” This according to his “in the know” sooth sayers.

I wonder what his sources are seeing in the flights of birds today.

• Do you not mean interim prime minister?!

• Time to withdraw our cash from the useless Irish banks too.
    The euro is gone this is the endgame.
    Don’t be left last in the queue.

• Is that a trillion or 1000 trillion??

Add New Comment