You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Seán Quinn in tears at a rally held for his benefit in Cavan last year. Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland

Seán Quinn: 100 per cent of prison inmates felt I shouldn't be there

The bankrupt businessman has given an interview to the BBC just hours after his release from Mountjoy Prison where he spent the last nine weeks.

THE BANKRUPT BUSINESSMAN Seán Quinn has said that 100 per cent of his fellow inmates at Mountjoy Prison felt he should not have been there in his first interview since being released from prison today.

Quinn, who was once the richest man in Ireland, was released from the prison in Dublin today having spent the last nine weeks in jail.

The High Court in Dublin had found him in contempt of court for violating court orders preventing him from putting assets beyond the reach of Irish Bank Resolution Corporation (IBRC) which claims it is owed over €2 billion.

In an interview with BBC Newsline tonight, the 66-year-old described his prison spell as “tough” but said he tried to “fit in” to jail life.

“I could fit in with most environments and I fitted in,” he told the BBC.

“The staff were very good, very professional, but of course, when you find a door slamming at nine o’clock at night, it’s not nice. It’s not something I was used to and it’s not something I felt I deserved.”

Quinn said that he “wasn’t always mad about the food” but said that it was a “learning experience” to meet people who went through “different experiences over their lifetime”.

“I wouldn’t call it frightening but it was certainly one that would make you think,” he said.

‘Genuinely no idea’

Quinn, who had three days compassionate relief over Christmas where he returned home to his family in Ballyconnell in Co Cavan, said that he did not feel he should have been in prison in the first place.

He said the view was shared by his fellow prisoners: “I think 100 per cent of them felt I shouldn’t be there.

“I certainly felt I shouldn’t be there, after creating 7,000 jobs, after never in my life owing anybody a penny. Never in my life did I steal a penny or take a penny that didn’t belong to me,” he added.

Quinn said it was possible he could return to jail in the future and said he had “genuinely no idea” what the bank, formerly Anglo Irish Bank, would do next.

IBRC has been pursuing Quinn and his family through the courts in recent months alleging that it is owed more than €2.3 billion, attempting to recover that money through Quinn assets based worldwide.

IBRC lawyers allege that the Quinn family have attempted to put assets beyond its reach with the High Court finding Quinn and his son Seán jr in contempt of court last year.

Seán jr has already served a three month prison sentence but his cousin Peter Darragh Quinn, who was also sentenced to 90 days in Mountjoy for the same offence, has evaded a Garda arrest warrant having travelled north of the border and remained there since sentencing.

The Quinns claim that the Anglo loans were illegal and were used to prop up the bank’s falling share price in the months prior to its collapse and subsequent government takeover in 2009.

Read: Seán Quinn released from Mountjoy after nine-week sentence for contempt

More: Everything you need to know about the Quinn saga, but were afraid to ask

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

311 Comments
    Mute Barry Walsh
    Favourite Barry Walsh
    May 10th 2017, 3:49 PM

Always thought drug taking was illegal, Wonder when someone working in one will be attacked? One or two weeks?

Mute Neal Ireland Hello.
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello.
    May 10th 2017, 3:56 PM

“Just say no”

Mute CeannairBlue
    Favourite CeannairBlue
    May 10th 2017, 4:08 PM

@Barry Walsh:

You mean hours surely ????

Mute cholly appleseed
    Favourite cholly appleseed
    May 10th 2017, 6:04 PM

@Barry Walsh: the problem is these injection centres are being put bang in the centre of Dublin. One is going in the ana liffey project on muddle abbey street. Literally 25 metres from oconnell street and directly opposite arnotts.

Mute Karen Doyle
    Favourite Karen Doyle
    May 10th 2017, 8:30 PM

@Barry Walsh: Also, if drugs are addictive, how are they fueling there addiction? Or are people suggesting these people hold down regular jobs? Its through robbery that many pay for these and we are effectively telling them ‘ah sure shoot up over here!’ no bother.

Mute Ian Breathnach
    Favourite Ian Breathnach
    May 11th 2017, 5:39 PM

@cholly appleseed: an outrageous decision as usual by the relevant powers – push the problem into the city centre. I can see it now, there’ll be lines of people outside the place from the four corners of the country, resulting in further stretched services at night in Dublin. Tourists asking people why are they queueing up, is it a sale, a show, an apartment for rent? No, just going to bang up…..
    Will these addicts/users be allowed wander the streets once they’ve availed of the facility or are they kept there until the effects wear off? I just ask because otherwise we will have a revolving door zombie creation factory just off our cities main thoroughfare.

Mute Ian Breathnach
    Favourite Ian Breathnach
    May 11th 2017, 5:40 PM

And what about the Gardai? Their hands will now be tied. People buying drugs on our streets only to tell Gardai they have immunity because they’re going to the centre? It’s a joke. Drugs are illegal for a reason. You know the risks when you start, a needle didn’t just fall into your groin, a rolled up piece of tinfoil with a bit of burning heroin fell in between your lips and you happened to inhale? Please drug use should not be embraced and acceptance of such a facility not deemed a victory.

Mute Marcus Philpott
    Favourite Marcus Philpott
    May 10th 2017, 3:54 PM

Does this mean possession of heroin will be OK while possession of lesser drugs like marijuana remains illegal?

Mute Kate Flaherty
    Favourite Kate Flaherty
    May 10th 2017, 3:58 PM

@Marcus Philpott: only in Ireland Marcus!!!!

Mute Neal Ireland Hello.
    May 10th 2017, 3:59 PM

Jealousy towards heroin addicrsmt. That’s a new one

Mute Kate Flaherty
    Favourite Kate Flaherty
    May 10th 2017, 4:02 PM

@Neal Ireland Hello.: Hardly!..,,

Mute Marcus Philpott
    May 10th 2017, 4:09 PM

@Neal Ireland Hello.: I don’t understand how it would be fair to let a smack head walk on in possession of a class A substance whilst charging the local stoner for possession of a class b drug.

Mute Neal Ireland Hello.
    May 10th 2017, 4:11 PM

@Marcus Philpott: I understand how you feel. I was always furious with envy when the bad kid got suspended from school and got to stay home.

Mute Marcus Philpott
    May 10th 2017, 4:18 PM

@Neal Ireland Hello.: @Neal Ireland Hello.: I’m asking a genuine question as to what appears to be a gray area in the law. If you don’t know you can just say. You sound like you’re an overjoyed heroin addict.

Mute Neal Ireland Hello.
    May 10th 2017, 4:25 PM

@Marcus Philpott: Okay, keep your hair on. I was just making a gentle point.

Mute kevin
    Favourite kevin
    May 10th 2017, 6:29 PM

@Marcus Philpott: only when you’re on your second provisional

Mute Mick Costello
    Favourite Mick Costello
    May 10th 2017, 4:28 PM

But still no medicinal cannabis for little ava??

Mute Kate Flaherty
    Favourite Kate Flaherty
    May 10th 2017, 4:38 PM

@Mick Costello: nope!, a banging up room in the middle of town has taken priority, I can only imagine the walking dead queuing along the board walk now, as if the place wasn’t bad enough, this is the best they can come up with, beggars belief!……

Mute Shakka1244
    Favourite Shakka1244
    May 10th 2017, 5:36 PM

@Kate Flaherty:

The trailer for “March of the penguins” springs to mind…

Mute Stephen Finn
    Favourite Stephen Finn
    May 10th 2017, 9:49 PM

@Kate Flaherty: should have put them in new centre on the RTE grounds thats for sale, give the oul D4s a taste of the rabble you see every day in town

Mute Morizy
    Favourite Morizy
    May 10th 2017, 3:53 PM

Accommodating junkies the homeless will be fine.

Mute Soccer T's
    Favourite Soccer T's
    May 10th 2017, 4:28 PM

@Morizy: We can do both

Mute Morizy
    Favourite Morizy
    May 10th 2017, 4:37 PM

@Soccer T’s: of course we can but we won’t.

Mute Marcus Philpott
    May 10th 2017, 4:38 PM

@Morizy: this will likely intensify our homeless crisis as heroin use becomes a lot more accessible and attractive.

Mute Pappy O'Daniel
    Favourite Pappy O'Daniel
    May 10th 2017, 4:11 PM

I just came on here to read the comments. I thought it would be a welcome bit of news because the way things are/were was never gonna improve. This on​ the other hand has been proven to be effective in other countries.

Why not?

Mute Marcus Philpott
    May 10th 2017, 4:27 PM

@Pappy O’Daniel: because heroin is still an illegal class a drug.

Mute Soccer T's
    Favourite Soccer T's
    May 10th 2017, 4:29 PM

@Pappy O’Daniel: Don’t read too much into journal comments. They certainly don’t represent the opinions of the majority. Great news. Well done all involved

Mute Martin Critten
    Favourite Martin Critten
    May 10th 2017, 4:44 PM

@Soccer T’s: can’t support this half way house approach. As Russell Brand said in his documentary, only full rehab works to break the spiral. This is just more liberal nonsense and of course like anything here there’s no proper follow through.

Mute john doe
    Favourite john doe
    May 10th 2017, 8:59 PM

@marcus. Why is heroin an illegal class A drug??
    To save lives right..
    but here is the kicker, these centres have a track record of saving lives whereas the illegality of heroin sadly costs lives.
    So if lives will be saved by this initiative, which is the goal of our drug laws surely it is a good thing….

Unless of course you think drugs should be illegal just to punish those unfortunate enough to be addicted to them. In which case the status quo has been a massive success, by destroying thousands of lives.

Mute Stephen Finn
    Favourite Stephen Finn
    May 10th 2017, 9:46 PM

@Soccer T’s: what happens if this fails which will the junkies will still be on the streets, cats and dogs home could have done with the money

Mute Each Way Thief
    Favourite Each Way Thief
    May 10th 2017, 4:21 PM

Headline should read,

“A great day for drug dealers in Ireland”

That’s the reality.

Mute Jack Cassady
    Favourite Jack Cassady
    May 10th 2017, 3:48 PM

All the druggies need now is the money for the gear.

Mute Damo Doyle
    Favourite Damo Doyle
    May 10th 2017, 4:01 PM

@Jack Cassady: probably get state funding for them with discounted rates depending on prior convictions. Wonder what working class area’s they will be put in. Certainly not leafy suburbs cos there’s no drug problems there

Mute Jack Cassady
    Favourite Jack Cassady
    May 10th 2017, 4:06 PM

@Damo Doyle:
    They’ll still be robbin and muggin and duckin and divin to get the cash.
    Injection Centres are no more than state sponsored drop-in points for processing the proceeds of crime.
    An economic boost for those at the upper echelons of importation.

Mute Marcus Philpott
    May 10th 2017, 4:10 PM

@Jack Cassady: it will be available on the medical card before you know it.

Mute Jack Cassady
    Favourite Jack Cassady
    May 10th 2017, 4:21 PM

@Marcus Philpott:
    Careful, some liberal will accuse you of plagiarism.

Mute Just Me
    Favourite Just Me
    May 10th 2017, 4:43 PM

@Damo Doyle: I’ve a good suggestion seeing as Aodhain O’Riordain fouht tooth an nail for this project, I’m sure he would’nt mind it being located in his own constituency of Clontarf. Though probably not, afterall he want’s to be reelected.

Mute Blackwalker617
    Favourite Blackwalker617
    May 10th 2017, 4:52 PM

@Jack Cassady: I bet everyone in your family is just Fine. Knob head muppet

Mute Gav Quinn
    Favourite Gav Quinn
    May 10th 2017, 6:31 PM

@Jack Cassady: have you an my new ideas to help the drug problem? Honestly like, you’ve pointed out how it’ll all fail, any ideas to make anything work?

Mute Jack Cassady
    Favourite Jack Cassady
    May 10th 2017, 7:29 PM

@Blackwalker617:
    Bravo, you’ve strung a sentence together, well done.

Mute John Kennedy
    Favourite John Kennedy

Senator Aodhán Ó Ríordáin, some gob$hyte, for one gob$hyte

Mute Ivan Enoughofit
    Favourite Ivan Enoughofit
    May 10th 2017, 4:41 PM

Junkies get free methadone .yet cancer patients may have to pay for chemotherapy and cancer drugs .

Mute Damo Doyle
    Favourite Damo Doyle
    May 10th 2017, 5:12 PM

@Ivan Enoughofit: and anecdotal evidence would suggest some sell a portion of their physeptone and still shoot up

Mute Ian Moloney
    Favourite Ian Moloney
    May 10th 2017, 4:16 PM

Great to see years of work preventing aids by discouraging IV use, down the drain.

Mute TonyD2469
    Favourite TonyD2469
    May 10th 2017, 4:29 PM

@Ian Moloney: it’s the sharing of dirty needles that’s spreads HIV not IV use with clean needles which will be provided in these centres

Mute Soccer T's
    Favourite Soccer T's
    May 10th 2017, 4:31 PM

@Ian Moloney: Have you totally missed the point? “Clean” supervised injecting centres

Mute Marcus Philpott
    May 10th 2017, 4:33 PM

@Soccer T’s: clean…except for the patrons.

Mute Jack Bowden
    Favourite Jack Bowden
    May 10th 2017, 4:48 PM

@Ian Moloney: this will encourage people to continue injecting instead of moving back to smoking it. It will also encourage more people start injecting for the first time. It’s a great place to try it for the first time. Clean needles are provided. Staff who know what to do when someone has overdosed are available. It’s ideal. I can see these injection centres quickly growing in popularity.

Mute TonyD2469
    Favourite TonyD2469
    May 10th 2017, 4:56 PM

@Jack Bowden: bullshit

Mute Ian Moloney
    Favourite Ian Moloney
    May 10th 2017, 6:52 PM

@Soccer T’s: A bit naive there to assume that addicts are going to have access to clean supervised injection sites for the rest of their lives. Think about it.

Mute john doe
    Favourite john doe
    May 10th 2017, 9:02 PM

Ian in fairness you make a good arguement for full decriminalisation which will inevitably follow this initivave.
    In portugal decriminalisation of drugs has slashed HIV rates.

Mute Ian Moloney
    Favourite Ian Moloney
    May 10th 2017, 11:29 PM

@john doe: HIV rates have been slashed already in Ireland through the hard work of the addiction services and resources like Trinity court. The whole point of the methadone program which was responsible for this was to avoid intravenous use of heroin ,not encourage it.

Mute Declan Gartlan
    Favourite Declan Gartlan

A great day my arse if we had a supervised area to commit any other crime there would be war a supervised rape center or burglar center perhaps lunatics taking over the asylum

Mute Sean @114
    Favourite Sean @114
    May 10th 2017, 4:32 PM

@Declan Gartlan: I guess if you have a choice between walking your kid around the city and they witnessing addicts injecting themselves with dirty needles, veins exposed, blood splatters or having this contained indoors in a safe environment with sterilised needles then it’s an easy decision, open injection centres. This is a step in the right direction.

Mute Soccer T's
    Favourite Soccer T's
    May 10th 2017, 4:33 PM

@Declan Gartlan: Hoes that war on drugs going again? How much do the guards waste every year, chasing shadows, just to appease the narrow minded conservatives among us?

Mute Just Me
    Favourite Just Me
    May 10th 2017, 4:49 PM

@Sean @114: What happens when the users get barred, their back on the street injecting away.

Mute Declan Gartlan
    Favourite Declan Gartlan
    May 10th 2017, 5:45 PM

Sean@114 I agree 100% nobody should have to take there kids through that but this is no solution it’s not dealing with the problem .Arrest and conviction then a choice compulsory treatment or jail time. After the addicts inject you will still have to deal with the addicts out of there heads wondering round the same streets and the dealers hanging around the same area

Mute Declan Gartlan
    Favourite Declan Gartlan
    May 10th 2017, 5:52 PM

Soccer t’s well they spend a lot of time chasing burglars too do you propose we stop no get better at it . Lived in Usa for a long time wait and see what the weed legalisation is going bring home in the years to come.

Mute Honeybadger197
    Favourite Honeybadger197

@Declan Gartlan: Compulsory treatment will only waste money unless the person genuinely wants to quit.

Mute john doe
    Favourite john doe
    May 10th 2017, 9:07 PM

@Declan
    There is a MAJOR difference between the crimes you list (rape and burgalry) and taking a harmful drug…
    any idea what the difference is?
    Have you got it yet??
    No.. ok ill tell you… taking drugs doesnt harm anyone else but the taker. Rape and burgalry do and should be tackled with the full rigor of the law.
    Isnt that obvious?

Mute Declan Gartlan
    Favourite Declan Gartlan
    May 10th 2017, 9:44 PM

John joe maybe it’s not to obvious to you how do you think drug users get money couple of hundred euro a day to feed there habit mugging burglar,walk in to a shop with a syringe not to mention car crime anti-social behaviour and all the other mess yea just harming themselves !!!!

Mute Stephen Finn
    Favourite Stephen Finn
    May 10th 2017, 9:52 PM

@Sean @114: give them all them all want save the taxpayers a few bob, this wont make a difference outside merchants quay they are dealing everyday while whisky nose who runs it, looks out at them

Mute john doe
    Favourite john doe
    May 10th 2017, 10:09 PM

@ Declan
    And mugging and robbing are rightfully illegal and should be policed accordingly.
    Some people are just scmbags there always have been and always will be scmbags who steal. However there are many many drug addicts who don’t steal and they deserve to be treated as humans and not die on the street when something could have been done to prevent it.

Mute Declan Gartlan
    Favourite Declan Gartlan
    May 10th 2017, 10:18 PM

John joe treatment is the answer not to facilitate addicts .no heroine addict funds there habit legally.

Mute Dara Kelly
    Favourite Dara Kelly
    May 11th 2017, 1:11 PM

@Declan Gartlan: You got proof of that?

Mute Kevin Byrne
    Favourite Kevin Byrne
    May 10th 2017, 5:28 PM

I’m sure this will make little Ava and her parents feel a lot better

Mute Anthony Gallagher
    Favourite Anthony Gallagher

Some sad comments ,one liners that tell us all you have half a brain ,where is your humanity ,I hope in your life none of your family end up using drugs and in the process become zombies ,cut of from family ,normal society ,hiding in the shadows of a society that is loosing any sense of sympathy or understanding of the horror of this twilight existence .lots of these people were addicted young ,they deserve at lest a safe place to get their fix ,o k it probably wont solve the problem but at lest as a society we tried to do something .

Mute John Kennedy
    Favourite John Kennedy
    May 10th 2017, 4:50 PM

@Anthony Gallagher: You are dead right, it won’t solve the problem, you can’t solve an addiction by facilitating the addiction, madness

Mute Linda
    Favourite Linda
    May 10th 2017, 6:40 PM

@John Kennedy: You can’t solve the problem by ignoring it and treating it as a criminal offence either!

Mute Stephen Finn
    Favourite Stephen Finn
    May 10th 2017, 10:04 PM

@Anthony Gallagher: ah yes it everybodys problem no one asked them to put stuff up their noses or in their vains or any other part of there body, there are more important things to spend our taxpayers money on, protecting old people from these filth

Mute Stouts O Shea
    Favourite Stouts O Shea
    May 10th 2017, 5:46 PM

Here let me show you how to shoot up ,hi I’m Jim I have been trained and being paid by the taxpayer s of Ireland so you can have every comfort while your searching for a vein,
    Let me show you how to do it right, don’t be injecting yourself in the balls anymore.
    Plus we ll dispose of that dirty needle for you and make sure you have a clean needle n swap

The drug dealers must be laughing their heads off

Mute Mary Jewell
    Favourite Mary Jewell
    May 10th 2017, 7:21 PM

And they won’t legalise cannabis oil. To help a child with epilepsy…. What’s the point

Mute Morizy
    Favourite Morizy
    May 10th 2017, 5:19 PM

6 months to clean yourself up or in the sea you go.

Mute Joe Smith
    Favourite Joe Smith
    May 10th 2017, 8:01 PM

And yet Ava Barry’s doctors cant get permission or indemnity to prescribe medicinal cannabis to the child

Mute Aidan Power
    Favourite Aidan Power
    May 10th 2017, 8:46 PM

I am conviced this is a very bad idea. I thinks its encouraging drug use and also the centers will become places where dealers will hang out. We need to be opening treatment centers for addicts giving out the impression that taken drugs is okay.

Mute Kevin Slater
    Favourite Kevin Slater
    May 10th 2017, 4:53 PM

We can do both. Peter mcverry trust had opened several derelict properties and more to come. Gotta start somewhere

Mute Stouts O Shea
    Favourite Stouts O Shea
    May 10th 2017, 6:55 PM

@Kevin Slater: get real,
    It’s a druggies paradise

Mute Damo Doyle
    Favourite Damo Doyle

Clever ploy they should ask for receipts from the user and ask the seller for vat and taxes ‘.))

Mute Caroline O Neill
    Favourite Caroline O Neill
    May 10th 2017, 4:40 PM

This is not going to work it’s a load of bull crap not even 150 detox beds in the country but plenty of centres will be there to facilitate drug addicts they need help but not this

Mute Nick Allen
    Favourite Nick Allen
    May 10th 2017, 7:20 PM

Quite sad the comments on here. Are the days of looking after the weak and less fortunate in society gone?

Mute Joe Smith
    Favourite Joe Smith
    May 10th 2017, 10:40 PM

@Nick Allen: Very sad comments indeed, but you dont break an addiction by facilitating it.
    But there are other drugs that will help some very sick people in Ireland that cant be accessed at all.

Mute Blackwalker617
    Favourite Blackwalker617
    May 10th 2017, 4:56 PM

Everyone on the journal think there experts until there not !!!!!!

Mute Gav Quinn
    Favourite Gav Quinn
    May 10th 2017, 6:34 PM

@Blackwalker617: *they’re

Mute Simon
    Favourite Simon
    May 10th 2017, 4:03 PM

20,000??? ….

Mute Sandra Clifford
    Favourite Sandra Clifford
    May 10th 2017, 7:03 PM

Waste of money

Mute Nick Allen
    Favourite Nick Allen
    May 10th 2017, 7:56 PM

@Sandra Clifford:

Any chance u could back that up with a reason or dare I say it some evidence

Mute Sandra Clifford
    Favourite Sandra Clifford
    May 11th 2017, 5:12 PM

@Nick Allen: it could be used in our health service for starters or a rehab facility to help people get clean

Mute john doe
    Favourite john doe
    May 10th 2017, 9:12 PM

Im not a FG or Labour voter but fair play to O’Riordan and FG for seeing this through. It is a no brainer which will save lives, reduce hiv infections, reduce injecting and related litter in public areas and help direct addicts into treatment.
    Well done.

Mute Kris Kendellen
    Favourite Kris Kendellen
    May 10th 2017, 7:14 PM

Does anyone know – do they just inject themselves then walk out to be off their faces on the street or are they kept in there? If its the former, How is this a good idea in centre of the capitol?

Mute Stephen Finn
    Favourite Stephen Finn
    May 10th 2017, 9:54 PM

can you cliam tax back…..MED 1 form, another load of tosh from the liberials

Mute Gavin
    Favourite Gavin
    May 11th 2017, 11:09 AM

“A great day for the walking dead”

Mute Keith carroll
    Favourite Keith carroll
    May 12th 2017, 10:44 AM

Love to see that outright stupidity still permeates Irish opinions. People commenting against this do nothing but showcase their own ignorance. This isn’t just “Liberal nonsense”, it is a proven method of harm reduction for cities facing drug problems. Whether you agree with it or not, statistics don’t lie. This isn’t about accommodating junkies by giving them a “safe space”, it gets them off streets, needles out of harms way and a genuine chance at rehabilitating junkies so the public doesn’t have to put up with them. seek to understand the problem before you chime in with comments based solely on personal opinion.

Mute Gav Quinn
    Favourite Gav Quinn

@Marcus Philpott: but that’s not a good enough answer, legality doesn’t help the issue at large.

Mute Bryan Duggan
    Favourite Bryan Duggan
    May 10th 2017, 7:02 PM

@Jack Cassady: enjoy few pints do you? You druggie

Mute Neil Mc Donagh
    Favourite Neil Mc Donagh
    May 10th 2017, 4:07 PM

This is gas, we can legalise injecting centres but yet we can not grant permission for a mother to get medicinal cannabis for her sick child.