TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 13 °C Sunday 21 December, 2014

#Road Safety

# road-safety - Monday 15 December, 2014

Learner drivers jailed for driving alone this year

Over 630 people have been fined so far in 2014.

# road-safety - Sunday 14 December, 2014

These morgue workers don’t ever want to meet you

So be careful on the roads.

# road-safety - Saturday 13 December, 2014

Woman in her 20s killed after being hit by car

The woman was hit by a car in Glasson, near Athlone on Wednesday.

# road-safety - Wednesday 10 December, 2014

Speed cameras to be reviewed as system ‘clearly isn’t working’

The Oireachtas Transport Committee isn’t impressed.

# road-safety - Monday 8 December, 2014

Here’s everything you can get penalty points for from today

Drivers will be applicable for points under 14 new offences, with increased penalties for a further nine.

# road-safety - Friday 28 November, 2014

The number of cyclists killed on Irish roads has doubled this year

A woman who was struck by a bus in Dublin died last week.

# road-safety - Thursday 27 November, 2014

The 9 at 9: Thursday

Catch up as you wake up

New drink driving laws come into effect from today

The laws close an old loophole.

# road-safety - Friday 21 November, 2014

30 cars broke a red light on this junction in half an hour

Motorists are being urged to pay attention to the lights.

Woman dies in early morning car crash

The woman was the only occupant of a car that struck a lamp post.

# road-safety - Monday 17 November, 2014

Teenager killed in Roscommon road collision

Another three men were injured in the crash.

# road-safety - Thursday 13 November, 2014

Two men in their 20s killed in Louth crash in early hours of the morning

The car the men were in was the only vehicle involved.

# road-safety - Tuesday 11 November, 2014

New RSA Chair told to ‘name and shame’ local authorities that fail to maintain road standards

Liz O’Donnell appeared before the Oireachtas Transport Committee today.

# road-safety - Saturday 1 November, 2014

Twomey family tragedy used for garda training

Elber Twomey will also appear on the Saturday Night show tonight.

Two men killed overnight after car hits a ditch

The car was only discovered at noon today.

# road-safety - Friday 31 October, 2014

Motorcyclist killed in Donegal collision

A man in his 30s was also injured.

# road-safety - Wednesday 29 October, 2014

Meet Gay Byrne’s replacement as chair of the Road Safety Authority

The former deputy leader of the Progressive Democrats will hold the position for five years.

# road-safety - Wednesday 15 October, 2014

Speed limits in housing estates to be reviewed after tragic death of Jake Brennan

Jake’s Legacy Campaign was set up to promote increased safety on roads for cyclists and pedestrians.

# road-safety - Saturday 11 October, 2014

Man seriously injured as car hits wall

Gardaí are appealing for witnesses to the incident.

# road-safety - Tuesday 7 October, 2014

Phones, children and even car mats are distracting drivers – making crashes more likely

Road Safety Week is highlighting the increase of deaths on our roads this year.

# road-safety - Monday 6 October, 2014

The medical condition that makes driving “incredibly dangerous”… Thousands of us could have it

The medical condition that makes driving “incredibly dangerous”… Thousands of us could have it

Sleep apnoea, which results in increased sleepiness behind the wheel, affects middle-aged men in particular.

# road-safety - Saturday 27 September, 2014

Aaron McKenna: We need to deal with the dangers of older drivers as much as young ones

Yes, it may be politically unpalatable to target older drivers (ie solid voters) but is that a good enough reason to allow dangerous drivers onto our road?

# road-safety - Wednesday 24 September, 2014

Elderly man killed in Offaly car crash

The man’s car struck a ditch this morning and he was fatally injured.

# road-safety - Saturday 6 September, 2014

Poll: Do shocking road safety ads make you change your driving behaviour? Your Say This post contains a poll

Poll: Do shocking road safety ads make you change your driving behaviour?

The latest such ad shows one man’s final journey before a high-speed collision.

Mayo kids tattooed to remind parents to put seatbelts on them

With temporary tattoos, of course…

# road-safety - Friday 5 September, 2014

# road-safety - Wednesday 27 August, 2014

Number of children killed on Irish roads has already doubled from last year

Minister Paschal Donohoe called the rise “incredibly worrying.”

# road-safety - Tuesday 12 August, 2014

‘He was like a wounded pup’ – Mother makes emotional appeal over speed limits

Roseann Brennan’s son Jake died in June after being knocked down near his home.

# road-safety - Sunday 3 August, 2014

Explainer: Do pedestrian crossing buttons actually work?

TheJournal.ie takes a look at the question of pedestrian buttons acting as a ‘placebo’.

# road-safety - Friday 1 August, 2014

Higher child, cyclist and pedestrian road fatalities this year

Latest figures show an increase in road deaths overall for the first seven months of 2014 compared to last year.

# road-safety - Wednesday 30 July, 2014

Penalty points are being increased for some offences in time for the bank holiday

Speeding, not wearing a seatbelt, or using a phone will now incur three points.

# road-safety - Thursday 24 July, 2014

# road-safety - Thursday 17 July, 2014

Driving over the next few days? Here’s how to stay safe in that bad weather

A Status Yellow warning has been issued by Met Éireann for the coming days, with heavy showers and thunderstorms expected.

# road-safety - Tuesday 15 July, 2014

Drivers, cyclists urged to brush up on road safety to curb bike accidents

Eight cyclists have been killed on our roads in 2014.

# road-safety - Thursday 10 July, 2014

Moving to Ontario? You’ll be able to swap your Irish driver’s licence for a local one

New mutual exchange agreement reached for Irish people living and working in Ontario, and Ontarians living and working in Ireland.

# road-safety - Wednesday 2 July, 2014

‘It’s like an army general giving orders: You do what you’re told’ – Varadkar

The Transport Minister has been talking about the upcoming reshuffle, the Rugby World Cup and why he prefers Frances Fitzgerald to Alan Shatter.

# road-safety - Tuesday 1 July, 2014

Drivers told to slow down in estates after four-year-old knocked down

The girl was hit this morning in the John Sweeney Park estate in Carlow.

# road-safety - Thursday 26 June, 2014

‘We might need the stretcher for the reshuffle’: €200,000 boost for mountain rescue teams SOS

# road-safety - Saturday 21 June, 2014

Appeal for witnesses to fatal Dublin motorbike crash

The bike was involved in a collision with a car on Ballygall Parade, Finglas at around 5.05pm on Monday.

# road-safety - Tuesday 17 June, 2014

From Business ETC Will a ‘black box’ fitted into cars help improve road safety? Telematics

Will a ‘black box’ fitted into cars help improve road safety?

A new study, which is being run by Trinity College Dublin and CRASH Services, will fit a ‘black box’ into cars to see if such technology can help improve driver behaviour.

1 2 3 4 5