TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Saturday 25 April, 2015

#Road Safety

# road-safety - Tuesday 21 April, 2015

‘Alco-locks’ could be on the way for those that continue to drink-drive

The Road Safety Authority are thinking outside the box for a new plan on road safety.

Council wants to crack down on rickshaws speeding around Dublin city

Galway city councillors have already voted to ban the vehicles from pedestrianised streets.

# road-safety - Sunday 5 April, 2015

This simple can could help save cyclists’ lives

Cyclists: You should all get this.

# road-safety - Sunday 29 March, 2015

63-year-old pedestrian hospitalised after being struck by car in Louth

The incident occurred yesterday evening and the woman has been transferred to Beaumont Hospital.

# road-safety - Monday 23 March, 2015

Mayo’s roads are being blessed – but there are no miracles expected

Mayo is following in the footsteps of Australia, where the blessing takes place in certain areas each year.

# road-safety - Monday 2 March, 2015

Did you witness this car crash? Gardaí want to talk to you

Two people in the car sustained minor injuries in the crash yesterday morning.

# road-safety - Saturday 28 February, 2015

27-year-old man killed in Longford car crash

A 22-year -old man who was a passenger in the car, was taken to hospital with non-life threatening injuries.

# road-safety - Thursday 12 February, 2015

VIDEO: This is how dangerous your roof box can be Explosive This post contains videos

VIDEO: This is how dangerous your roof box can be

If poorly packed, these boxes can explode on impact and spew their contents with the force of several tonnes.

# road-safety - Wednesday 28 January, 2015

Getting your NCT soon? Good news. More inspectors are working than ever before

There have been criticisms about delays, but the RSA says appointments are available.

# road-safety - Friday 23 January, 2015

‘There is no hiding place for anyone who cancelled penalty points’

A new report claims points are still being unfairly cancelled.

# road-safety - Tuesday 13 January, 2015

Elderly man killed in Wexford hit and run

A woman who was a passenger is in a serious condition in hospital.

# road-safety - Saturday 10 January, 2015

Could virtual reality help reduce child road deaths?

16 children under the age of 15 died on our roads in 2014.

# road-safety - Wednesday 7 January, 2015

Drivers told to give cyclists some space when they overtake

Campaigners want a minimum overtaking distance.

# road-safety - Sunday 4 January, 2015

Watch your step: Icy paths and roads after freezing overnight temperatures

It’s a cold one this morning but it will get a little warmer as the day goes on.

# road-safety - Friday 2 January, 2015

Get the thermals back out: Temperatures will drop to -3 tomorrow Brr

Get the thermals back out: Temperatures will drop to -3 tomorrow

There will be widespread hard frost, icy roads and fog tomorrow.

# road-safety - Thursday 1 January, 2015

Double the number of children died on our roads last year

One in four passengers killed were not wearing a seatbelt.

Drinking last night? You might not be ok to drive this morning

And you might be checked.

# road-safety - Monday 15 December, 2014

Learner drivers jailed for driving alone this year

Over 630 people have been fined so far in 2014.

# road-safety - Sunday 14 December, 2014

These morgue workers don’t ever want to meet you

So be careful on the roads.

# road-safety - Saturday 13 December, 2014

Woman in her 20s killed after being hit by car

The woman was hit by a car in Glasson, near Athlone on Wednesday.

# road-safety - Wednesday 10 December, 2014

Speed cameras to be reviewed as system ‘clearly isn’t working’

The Oireachtas Transport Committee isn’t impressed.

# road-safety - Monday 8 December, 2014

Here’s everything you can get penalty points for from today

Drivers will be applicable for points under 14 new offences, with increased penalties for a further nine.

# road-safety - Friday 28 November, 2014

The number of cyclists killed on Irish roads has doubled this year

A woman who was struck by a bus in Dublin died last week.

# road-safety - Thursday 27 November, 2014

The 9 at 9: Thursday

Catch up as you wake up

New drink driving laws come into effect from today

The laws close an old loophole.

# road-safety - Friday 21 November, 2014

30 cars broke a red light on this junction in half an hour

Motorists are being urged to pay attention to the lights.

Woman dies in early morning car crash

The woman was the only occupant of a car that struck a lamp post.

# road-safety - Monday 17 November, 2014

Teenager killed in Roscommon road collision

Another three men were injured in the crash.

# road-safety - Thursday 13 November, 2014

Two men in their 20s killed in Louth crash in early hours of the morning

The car the men were in was the only vehicle involved.

# road-safety - Tuesday 11 November, 2014

New RSA Chair told to ‘name and shame’ local authorities that fail to maintain road standards

Liz O’Donnell appeared before the Oireachtas Transport Committee today.

# road-safety - Saturday 1 November, 2014

Twomey family tragedy used for garda training

Elber Twomey will also appear on the Saturday Night show tonight.

Two men killed overnight after car hits a ditch

The car was only discovered at noon today.

# road-safety - Friday 31 October, 2014

Motorcyclist killed in Donegal collision

A man in his 30s was also injured.

# road-safety - Wednesday 29 October, 2014

Meet Gay Byrne’s replacement as chair of the Road Safety Authority

The former deputy leader of the Progressive Democrats will hold the position for five years.

# road-safety - Wednesday 15 October, 2014

Speed limits in housing estates to be reviewed after tragic death of Jake Brennan

Jake’s Legacy Campaign was set up to promote increased safety on roads for cyclists and pedestrians.

# road-safety - Saturday 11 October, 2014

Man seriously injured as car hits wall

Gardaí are appealing for witnesses to the incident.

# road-safety - Tuesday 7 October, 2014

Phones, children and even car mats are distracting drivers – making crashes more likely

Road Safety Week is highlighting the increase of deaths on our roads this year.

# road-safety - Monday 6 October, 2014

The medical condition that makes driving “incredibly dangerous”… Thousands of us could have it

The medical condition that makes driving “incredibly dangerous”… Thousands of us could have it

Sleep apnoea, which results in increased sleepiness behind the wheel, affects middle-aged men in particular.

# road-safety - Saturday 27 September, 2014

Aaron McKenna: We need to deal with the dangers of older drivers as much as young ones

Yes, it may be politically unpalatable to target older drivers (ie solid voters) but is that a good enough reason to allow dangerous drivers onto our road?

# road-safety - Wednesday 24 September, 2014

Elderly man killed in Offaly car crash

The man’s car struck a ditch this morning and he was fatally injured.

1 2 3 4 5