TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Saturday 18 May, 2013

Several thousand a day paying the household charge

The final deadline was at midnight last Saturday when an estimated 800,000 people had paid – but how many people have paid the charge now?

Phil Hogan looking at mailbags filled with household charge registration forms
Image: Leon Farrell/Photocall Ireland

THE DEADLINE WAS midnight on last Saturday night but people are continuing to pay the household charge at the rate of several thousand per day.

A total of 641,918 properties have now been processed by the Local Government Management Agency, which oversees the €100 charge,

This is an increase of almost exactly 20,000 on the figures from midnight on Saturday night when 621,717 properties had paid and been processed.

The LGMA estimates there are around 159,000 applications at the bureau waiting to be processed.

An estimated 888,751 properties have now been registered, of which just under 14,000 have registered for a waiver as they are exempt from paying the charge. By midnight on Saturday a total of 805,569 properties had registered altogether, of which 12,677 had sought a waiver.

Anyone who pays the €100 charge now will also have to pay an €11 penalty for late payment.

Read more: full coverage of the household charge >

Read next:

Comments (78 Comments)

• would people stop saying that they will be brought to court or sent to jail. if you don’t pay they will try add it to your bill if you ever sell your house. seeing as Im in negative equity and the place is falling apart already. not really that worried.

• I still stand resolutely against this FEE, but I’m sick of of the manner in which those opposed are referring to those who have paid as, gobshites, tossers( yes you Fred) and gullible fools. I for one will not serve time in jail for this and question those who “bravely” keep informing us here in print that they look forward to time in prison. Many red thumbs to follow I’m sure and the regulatory “twat or gobshite” comments. If so, my point is made.

• “This is an increase of almost exactly 20,000″
    Almost exactly ?

• I see Phil has added X-Ray vision to his list of talents.

• I wonder has Phil paid his Portugese one yet. Hurry up Phil. Those late charges will be adding up!

• Can we have one day without a household charge story?

• So Phil has started opening all his sacks of mail at last. I’d love to know how many “Feck Off Phil” letters he got! ;)

Don’t be worrying. We have more meetings coming up in next few weeks, including information on the Austerity Treaty.

• The title should read “Several Hundred Thousand every day still refuse to pay the charge”

• lol, this could be a perfect example of how the fiscal compact might work – “what do you mean you can’t afford to pay 100 Euros???? OK, you must pay 111 Euros!”.

• Try paying the €100 in cash – they charge you an extra €10. Why is that? Could it be because with your credit card details they can just take that out each year and not have to chase you any longer? Is it that your credit card has your full proper house address so now they “have you” for all future taxes?

I have no bother paying my fair share of taxes but let it be fair. €100 across the table is unfair. On top of which for me to earn that €100 I had to earn also €175 (give or take), so when the property tax comes out imagine how much that is really going to cost you.

Can we afford it and continue to have a “normal” life in Ireland? I don’t believe so. You just can’t tax your way out of a recession. The people just don’t have any more to give.

Cut the government salaries, pensions (after 4 years what a joke!), expenses.

There’s a lot more ways for the Government to save money without attacking the Irish people continuously.

• All lies and scare tactics. I don’t believe them for one single second!! And here’s one household that will take it to the very end! hulk hogan can go and whistle, any move on those promisery notes yet? Any bankers jailed for their white coller dodgy dealings… Any developers caught for building unsafe housing , and any past or present politicians held accountable for unacceptable corrupt deals ing in brown envelopes ????? No , well then they can fu*ck right off !

• it shows here how the media are trying to bully people into paying it says at the start of arrival that 621000 have paid and 159000 postal payments that does not add up to the 888000 it says a paragraph later in the artical looks like the journal take the maths skills from the government

• @Vinnie Mulvihill

All propaganda! The bull hogan thinks that we’ll be drawn into what he is saying and that stupid picture (I can only assume someone from F Gael took it, because a professional photographer could not go as low as that). Most of those bags contain messages like “go and take a run and jump for yourself”!

I still did not get an answer from anyone as to where the leaflets were printed. Ireland, UK, where? Did an Irish printing company get the contract, where will the referendum leaflets be printed?

• It always seems to be a bald old white man trying to get into me pockets and take my hard earned. But not this time. I’ve sown my pockets shut.

• the problem with ireland as a society is we are a selfish nation in the context of we are afraid or just wont stand together against a common foe, let someone else do it { while i talk the talk but giving in and paying up } let someone else fight the fight and then ill reap the rewards of their fight or their stance against a wrong and unjust measure that is pushing so many people to the brink and beyond, shame on US.

• mcbab 06/04/12 #

Karl “a common foe”! Why on earth are you calling your democratly elected government a common foe? You should try living in Syria then you might have something to complain about instead of a €100 household charge.

• @ mcbab, a common foe, the ordinary citizen of ireland should not be afraid of its government as the gov is elected by them and as such the gov should be afraid of its citizens and do what is right for them incl the little old lady who lives on her own as its those citizens who define us, our gov is now at the beck and call of germany and france and due to this new gov more and more families are on the brink and many have already past that point, suicide is through the roof fact!!!!!!!!!!!!, fathers and mothers leaving children behind due to the turmoil of financial stress and all the gov can do is add to the stress and bend to the will of their new paymasters, universal social charge, pension income levy, petrol and diesel through the roof elec and gas through the roof all adding to families struggle, the common foe is doing nothing.

Click here!

• censored 06/04/12 #

The common foe is the economic crisis. We elected this government to represent our interests, not the interests of the ECB and foreign creditors.

• @ censored, i agree to a degree, you are right in a sense it is the ecb and the banks as it is the foolish actions of the ecb and the banks led by the so called intellects and our collective govs that have gotten us into this, we the citizens listened to the likes of bertie and cowen these elected people, the sign of a good leader is a person who can surround himself with experts in all fields, banking, economics etc and steer a country and its banking system in the right direction and as such in the best interests of its citizens, we the citizens listened to these people as they should have been steering the ship on the right course but we learned too late and now the true common foe is our inaction as citizens a collective and letting those we again elected to steer our ship in the best interests of others and not its own people.

• i cant believe people paid after the deadline. hope those who paid have a better backbone when it comes to the referendum. like iv said before time for people to stop thinking of themselves and think of what it will mean to their kids down the road if we rectify the treaty. look at that poor man who killed himself in greece. well i refuse to go without a fight. il do all i can to stop my kids ending up like that poor man or many of our own irish who committed suicide out of complete despair. no no no all the way. and dont anyone bother asking me where will the money come from if we say no. there are plenty of options offered up by sf and the left. just because u mightnt like them doesnt mean they are not right. burn the bondholders and tax those who can pay it. cap the pay at the top end and there is no reason why we cant return to the markets. dont let the gov fool u into thinkin that we will be out of the euro if we say no. spain have already said they wont abide by it. we cannot sign our future generations to a life of poverty because of fear of what may happen when we know the severe austerity will happen if we vote yes

• I will have my day in court or week in jail thanks anyway but I stand by my principles. No way won’t pay.

• @Louise Hanney,

People will make up their own minds whether to pay or not pay, whether you tell them to pay or others telling them not to pay. Hopefully they make the right choice!

Can I ask you, what is your opinion on Lowry? On the178,000 people waiting, just waiting to see a consultant. Cancer patients being told to wait for 9/12 months to see someone, while in the meantime the damn cancer is spreading and no way of killing it at that stage, and poor soul maybe dead?

Have you any idea what it’s like to have a child with special needs, what it’s like to be there 24/7. No break, no help, getting fon calls from school telling you to take your child home because he’s disrupting the rest of the class, because Ruiri Quinn decided it not important enough to let the child have his/her carer/SNA in the class?

• Yes I do know what its like to have a child with special needs and I also know what its like to have family in a house supported by the hse for special needs and to be quiet frankly they do a fantastic job there, I also have opinions on our health service, I’m not impressed with the waiting list thats there, but I have te say unfortunately our health service is far better than some in other countries, now dont get me wrong, it is a disgrace, my aunt had a heart attack on a Sunday night three weeks ago and was still on a trolley in a and e at Tuesday lunchtime, yes thisis a complete disgrace and needs to be sorted, my father himself is one of those on the list waiting to be seen, so no im not living in a dream world, no I dont agree with what’s going on in our country but this has nothing to do with the household charge, people are just using it as a way of putting two fingers up to the government, the IMF have told us it had to be introduced and unfortunately we answer to them now, all I was saying was im sick of the dont pay side constantly saying dont be bullied into paying, while them themselves could be blamed for bullying also, I have paid because its the law, I dont need others saying im a fool for paying let everyone have their own opinion and make up their own minds and stop the personal attacks on the ones who have paid.

• censored 06/04/12 #

We only answer to the IMF if we choose to.

• Pure propaganda!if your the government it’s very easy to just tell the media anything and they will run it… those stats are complete lies

• Don’t register don’t pay don’t be bullied into paying a unjust tax. Stay strong.

• Dont be bullied into not paying it either if youd perfer to. Im pick of everyone from the dont pay side forcing it down our throats, its our choice, the dont pay side is worse nor bullying than the government.

• jimbo 06/04/12 #

Still not paying it it’s great to see people are. Caving in by fear,roll on the referendum…
    Don’t pay don’t worry..

• louise 06/04/12 #

Irish people are sooooo gullible! The smug grind on those who paid I’ll be in the other side of there faces when it increased & increased! Just look at Greece

• They were soooo gullible to vote Fianna Failure in again and again …

• Well put Dexter. We put ourselves in this position by voting for Fianna Fail repeatedly. The Greeks put themselves in their position by who they voted for and how they themselves behaved.
      We don’t have sustainable taxes, we queued up to elect Fianna Fail when they promised to get rid of them. Now we don’t like their reintroduction when we need them most. Perhaps we should reflect on our previous choices. There’s no doubt this property tax will be increased, none whatsoever – property tax is a tax on wealth. So I really don’t see why people are shouting about it like it’s some conspiracy. We have 14 billion this year alone we need to find.

• censored 06/04/12 #

Gary: you keep talking about the deficit, but you’ve never explained how you think we’ll get out of this. Reducing the deficit gradually over a period of years is not going to work. Have you checked what we’re paying in interest already?

• All lies…. why would we believe anything this government tell us they lied in the election to get in so should we believe them now… And they are probably lying about the referendum also… Scare tactics…….

• oh and we already pay tax on our houses when you buy it its called stamp duty which is fairly heavy.if you build your own house you have to apply for planning and when granted you have to pay a large sum…its stupid to pay tax twice…

• I am getting pretty sick of the Journal’s one sided pro government reporting stance.
    I was hoping this particular news outlet would be left leaning and more “Plain People of Ireland” friendly…
    I might as well be watching RTE or listening to one of Denis O’Brien’s stations

Sad

• I won’t pay simple as..the car and nct your trying to argue is stupid I already said its a minority who don’t pay it 1million out of 1.8 million have not paid the house tax and won’t..who ever was foolish enough to pay next year it will be by house valu and won’t be a 100 more like 1000 how’s that?..PEOPLE STAND STRONG AND TOGETHER WE WILL WIN…DON’T GIVE IN TO THE WEST BRITS

• @ mcbab, a common foe, the ordinary citizen of ireland should not be afraid of its government as the gov is elected by them and as such the gov should be afraid of its citizens and do what is right for them incl the little old lady who lives on her own as its those citizens who define us, our gov is now at the beck and call of germany and france and due to this new gov more and more families are on the brink and many have already past that point, suicide is through the roof fact!!!!!!!!!!!!, fathers and mothers leaving children behind due to the turmoil of financial stress and all the gov can do is add to the stress and bend to the will of their new paymasters, universal social charge, pension income levy, petrol and diesel through the roof elec and gas through the roof all adding to families struggle, the common foe is doing nothing.

• stand firm dont register dont pay we will persevere we will overcome the people will win

• Yes we will, people, together, standing strong! We will abolish this ridiculous tax from the EU (I see the services rhetoric has stopped btw). I will not pay so thanks Declan333 for paying for me sucker!!!

• @ryan, you are probable naive enough to think the dirty shinners can get us out of this mess too by means other than assassinating the IMF and burying them up a mountain.

• @ declin its a bit different from car tax as nearly everyone pays this.roughly 1million people have not paid out of 1.8 million and a lot that paid were pensioners who were frightened not to pay but support the cause this is fine traitor Gael way..we won our country from the brits from standing strong we will win again…tiocfaidh ar la…

• John 06/04/12 #

Fantasy. Nothing more than that. Are we so stupid that we dodge paying €100, just so we can €111.

• Stupid is paying it at all!

• Aidan 06/04/12 #

You sound far more stupid

• They need us to register for this so next year they can catch everyone for property tax and the year after that for water charges. No one is mentioning that the house hold charge is for this year only, most likely that will continue on so now by 2014 you be paying over 1200 or more. Can’t wait to see how much it will be in 5 years. Imagine how hard it would be for a lot of people to pay an additional €100+ each month in their mortgages and this is exactly what the government expects us to do?

It was Enda himself that stated it would be unlawful and unjust to tax a person’s home.

Minister Hog is refusing to pay his own property tax in Portugal

And the best of all “residential properties of ministers of state are exempt from the house hold charge!”

A minister of state on the late late show, stated in front of everyone that they know it’s unfair and unjust but tough! This from the party that made so many promises prior to the election and then broke them all within the first year.

Shame we don’t have a reset button to start over with our government.

I’ve lived and worked in Ireland for 41 years, I honestly don’t believe I will still be here by the time I’m 50. I don’t expect any of my children to remain in Ireland once they graduate. What a shame……

• censored 06/04/12 #

If you will not fight for right when you can easily win without blood shed; if you will not fight when your victory is sure and not too costly; you may come to the moment when you will have to fight with all the odds against you and only a precarious chance of survival. There may even be a worse case. You may have to fight when there is no hope of victory, because it is better to perish than to live as slaves. – Winston Churchill

So we’ll just keep digging ourselves into a hole John?

• Point made, now it’s time to pay up and not be branded a tax cheat. The property tax is inevitable and a good idea to stabilise our tax take for future generations. Nobody likes paying extra taxes but we cheered on Fianna Fail for 3 terms of madness and this is the price we must now pay for our stupidity.

• @ shiela your dam right

• Won’t be paying this HOMEOWNERS tax until everyone has to pay. The so called services that this is for are used by all and all should pay. We are being penalised for buying a house. Paid €19k in stamp duty, what happened to that??

• a thought, in germany a politician represents approx 250,000 people, in ireland its approx 26,000. if england had the same ratio of politicians to people as ireland they would have approx 16,500 politicians. enda went on about cuts in in no of TD’s in the election hype and then its only the seanad, id rather keep the seanad and cut TD’s in half or more and the seanad there to keep and eye on them,

• You will all pay, in the end. And the Gov will make an extra $8m in fines…

• All those so called “revolutionaries” who “can’t pay wont pay” are deluding themselves. You in the majority will pay no matter if you like it or not. Not one of you are driving without paying car tax and will pay future increases. . why? Because of fear of loss and because the state has a means of penalising you. If you think the government will not see this through you know nothing. They have the will now that the numbers are over 50%. If they give up now they might as well hold a vote of no confidence in themselves & resign. I dont like paying taxes at all but pay as that is one of the rules here. I was in the pub on Saturday night last and was the only one from about 20 people who said “I have paid”. From the figures who have paid this would suggest 9 people lied or all those who have paid are teetotal. If you own a house you will pay! End of! No number of red thumbs will alter this fact . . oh & the moon landings were real and Al Queda, not the CIA were behind the Twin Towers tradgedy. Whats my point? The people who think they wont pay are as delusionary as Jim Corr. Get real!

• FFS! “tiocfaidh ar la” . seriously? My head hurts from reading this sort of crap. You are not a latter day working class hero. The tax is here for real and will be paid. . .by you! Same as you pay car tax and get your NCT. Just or not in the end the state fails if the citizens dont pay. They will not allow that. Get real.

• No it won’t, I won’t pay end of :) stop reading if it hurts your head! End of trollio bu bye

• censored 06/04/12 #

@declan332: I don’t really understand people like you. You paid the charge. Ok, that’s your choice. I’m disappointed in you because I think you don’t really seem to understand what’s going on here. That said, your choice fair enough. I think you’ve missed an opportunity to protest in a democratic way against the way this crisis is being handled. I believe our current policies will kill this country stone dead over a period of years, and we must change our current course.

You believe …. what? “the tax is for real, obey the law”. Either you’re a dyed in the wool FG “obey the law of the land” robot, or you’re a coward, or maybe you can afford to pay and you just don’t care about the wider implications.

• Shut up, Pay up.

Add New Comment