TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 8 °C Wednesday 22 May, 2013

Shatter: Closure of Stepaside station will not result in fewer Gardai in area

The Justice Minister says the station’s closure will not result in a loss of Gardaí in the area, as the 34 Garda members currently stationed there will be based in Dundrum and Blackrock.

Image: Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland

THE MINISTER FOR Justice Alan Shatter has said this evening that the closure of Stepaside Garda Station, in Dublin South, will not result in fewer Gardaí patrolling the area.

Shatter’s comments come amid at least 1,500 protesters gathering at the location today to demonstrate against its closure.

Supported by TD Shane Ross and Sinn Féin, the rally was attended by men, women and children of the locality, holding banners that read: “Don’t Shatter Stepaside Garda Station”. About 20,000 people live in the Stepaside area in county Dublin.

“Stepaside Garda Station, in my constituency of Dublin South, is the largest Garda station to be closed in the implementation of the Garda Commissioner’s Policing Plan for 2013.  The objective of station closures is to enhance the effectiveness of the Force – increasing Garda visibility
and patrol hours, improving Garda mobility and flexibility and using Garda resources to the best possible effect,” Shatter said.

He continued:

The closure of the Stepaside Garda station will not result in a loss of Gardaí in the Stepaside area.  The 34 Garda members currently stationed in Stepaside will be primarily based in Dundrum Garda Station with some also stationed in Blackrock station.
As a consequence of additional Gardaí being freed up from desk duties, there will be an increase in the number available for frontline policing duties in the community, investigating, detecting and preventing crime.

While recognising that constituents in the Stepaside area were “concerned” about the station closure, Shatter said that – as the Minister for Justice – it would be “entirely wrong” for him to second-guess the Garda Commissioner’s judgement and expertise on the issue.

“I have not done so in the context of Garda Stations to be closed in other parts of the country and neither will I do so in my own constituency,” he said.

Shatter said that nationwide Garda station closures in 2013 will result in an extra 61,000 Garda patrol hours. Some 39 Garda Stations around the country were closed in 2012 which, Shatter said, was a contributory factor in 167 Gardaí being were freed up for frontline operational duties.

“The Garda station closures in 2013, 100 in total, are the result of a comprehensive operational assessment carried out by  Garda Commissioner
Martin Callinan over the last 12 months,” he added.

Read: Crowds gather for rally against Garda station closure

Read next:

Comments (162 Comments)

• Shatter uses condescending language when addressing the public through the media. It’s as if he is only informing us of the important matters within the dept of justice because he is obliged to. His tone says – “we in the government acknowledge that you the public may have an opinion, and of course you are entitled to, none-the-less, your opinion is completely and absolutely irrelevant”.

• Ya know what nobody is being critical of the commissioner. He is told by shatter can we close 100 stations and commissioner says yes sir absolutely. Any for FG that put me in this position. It’s a political appointment of a yes man and he needs to go NOW.

we need a commissioner elected to position by completely independent body. He is a disgrace so is this minister

• Apparently a civilian can be appointed to the role of Commissioner! Surely there’s someone highly educated and adequately skilled for the job. An ex-officer of another police force perhaps for a different take on all things Irish & fu*ked Up!

• Callinan joined the Garda Síochána in 1973 and has served in Waterford, Blanchardstown, Cabra, the former Central Detective Unit, Pearse Street, Terenure, Swinford and the Crime and Security Section at Garda Headquarters. He has been assigned to the National Support Services, the Garda National Drugs Unit, the Garda Bureau of Fraud Investigation, the Criminal Assets Bureau and the Operational Support Unit.

Pathetic to go after him and class his record as comparable to an outside civilian being potitically appointed. And he advised the Minister these closures would result in better and more effective policing.

• I fear that the 34 Gardaí moved from Stepaside will be quickly absorbed by bolstering the already depleted numbers in Dundrum/Blackrock. Stepaside can now look forward to a reactionary fire brigade service. Vital everyday interaction with the local community lost.

• Oh n shatters local garda station happens to b………. yes folks uve guessed it DUNDRUM

• He’s going against decades of research and consensus that community policing is one of the best ways to deter crimes in individual areas. Even if a Garda station is open only for 2 hours every second day, it gives people a sense of security. People pop into talk to Gardai, get forms signed and discuss criminal activity in their areas.

If people feel abandoned and by extension; unsafe in their communities, crime prevalence will start to mirror that fact. It’s been shown to happen in countries all over the world, and it’s why most nations are embracing this particular form of policing.

• Well it’s his constituency so maybe the local people should ring him if they feel threatened or see anything,after all we all know where there will be at least two armed Garda 24/7.

• @martn- I’d feel much safer knowing the Gardai are driving around my area than sitting behind a desk. I’d certainly prefer them performing that function than being there for people to drop in & have a chat with.

• One man stations scattered everywhere was based on the RIC model of policing in 1921. We still have far more stations per kilometer squared and per head of population than Northern Ireland and the UK. Serious crime has been falling over the past 3 years in spite of all the media hysteria.

• Burglary has risen by 10.3 percent, I’d consider this serious enough.

• Vincent it’s not just about dropping in for a chat, it’s about feeling secure and connected.. This policy only serves to isolate people and make them feel vulnerable.. Why is this happening? The population is increasing, and the govt. are closing stations and reducing Garda numbers and hammering morale.. Why? Because the Troika told us?

• Latest CSO figures show for headline or serious crime revealed that, of the 14 crime groups categorised by the CSO, 11 showed a reduction.

• Ah for God’s sake don’t be so naive in comparing our police force with that of the north and the Uk. I’m sick of that rubbish. They have much better resources and equipment and they also utilise civilians better. I don’t pay a whole heed to crime figures. A lot of crime isn’t even reported and the fact is there will be a hell if a lot more of it unreported when the smaller stations close as people won’t even bother calling the guards out from miles away. Closing Stepaside is a joke. It’s a vast area and anyone who believes that it won’t affect the quality of service by Gardai is gullible to the spin Shatter and co are throwing out there. That side of the country was always quite vulnerable to crime.

• There will be more money available from this much needed reform for equipment and to upgrade the garda vehicular fleet. The GRA have been consistently opposed to greater utilisation of civilians for administrative duties, so that guards are freed up to engage in patrols.

• But burglaries are still up by 10.3 percent, I think you will agree that this statistic is staggering and it is what frightens everyday people the most.

• @joe

You really are hell bent on believing everything the newspaper tells you. Can you tell me where you think all this extra money is going to come from?

• @jamie- we have no money. I don’t know how many times I can say that on this site. Do people not believe that? They think there’s a stash of cash hidden somewhere? In an ideal world, every community would have a Garda barracks and a friendly Garda who knows everyone’s name. Ours is not an ideal world at the moment. You think Shatter reckons closing Garda barracks is a vote winner? That he wants to do it? Please.

• €3 million has been allocated to new vehicles which brought 212 new vehicles to year end of 2012. There is no “all of this money”, it’s simply about managing what resources there are more efficiently.

There was a 25% decrease in burglaries, arresting the increase, for the last 3 months of recorded figures, due to operations targeting prolific offenders.

The Garda Commissioner is the one who advised the Minister for Justice what changes and reforms would result in more gardaí being available to be on the beat. It is he and higher ranking garda officers who have the most in-depth knowledge of policing, and who came to this conclusion.

• hi joe. still spouting this stuff thats untrue. I completely debunked you on the previous garda topic you posted on to such an extent you could not reply. Not in mood of doing it again, i tend unlike you to repeat myself over and over. But when you know nothing about how to police better not to comment,

• tend not to repeat myself ;)

sorry one eye on superbowl buildup

• jrbmc 03/02/13 #

Vincent if only you knew the truth , you think all these extra Gardai will be driving around these areas now , wrong ! They will just do the same job that they did but in a bigger station 20 miles away . The fact is that at present there is a massive shortage of squad cars and no new ones being rolled out. So continue to dream on in your own world there and hope when you wake up your house has not been robbed cause the robbers see your house as an easy target now because the nearest station is 20 miles away now .
      There again maybe you don’t find fault in the closures because it doesn’t effect you !!

• Stewie, I could not reply to your complete and utter tripe because thejournal.ie disabled my replies for the article in question. I’m sure the author of the article in question, Christine Bohan, will be happy to confirm.

As I just stated, higher ranking Garda and the Garda Commisioner are the ones who recommended these closures. But of course, your expertise trumps those of the highest ranking police officers in the State.

Go back to posting on boards.ie with all the children.

• http://www.thejournal.ie/garda-appeal-adrian-donohoe-shooting-779750-Feb2013/

there you go Joe instead of repeating you can see there.

nite joe

• Remember Stewie, you know more about policing than the Garda Commissioner. Off to bed now, good boy.

• jrbmc 03/02/13 #

That’s not for extra cars , it’s to replace the old ones

• Well Vincent all I know is that we seem to have billions to hand over to the faceless bondholders, but no money for services at home..

• “Bondholders” should be the new Godwin’s Law.

• @jrbmc- clearly I have underestimated you. Obviously you were privy to the discussions between the Garda Commissioner and the Minister. This is how you know “the truth”. Does the J at the beginning of your name stand for “Jim” and the C at the end for “Corr”, by any chance?

• @jamie- that’s done. Dusted. Deal signed. All people on here want to do is live in the land of “I wish it weren’t so”. We’ve signed up to the Troika bailout. We are where we are. Had we turned down the bailout we wouldn’t have the money to pay any Gardai, let alone have to close a few stations but that’s an argument for a different thread. We’d be better served making the most of our new reality rather than bemoaning our fate.

• I just might know more then you know Joe. Certainly more then you do on topic in question. Could it be your comments were immature and liabilious?

Stew is right. Reading post he expressed exactly what is the situation. On the street guards do the policing not higher ranks. The guards are the ones that should be listened too. When was lash time commissioner death with actual policing and arresting and dealing with local communities? Yep exactly.

So Joe tottle off your ignorance is evident. When you police the streets come back then.

• By the way what’s Yvette author going to confirm ? That your comments were inaccurate , off topic and unfit to publish.

Indeed comments get deleted but to get actually barred from a forum you must have been some beaut.

Sadly it’s a day we can all mark down that we will not see as many patrols in effected areas. I’m sure for first months guards will be ordered to be there to give the public a false sense. But as resources dwindle and cars go off road not being replaced we will see a massive decrease. Criminals will be delighted no recession for them.

• What is the author going to confirm **** predictive text, the curse of the modern age

• @youdontknowme

None of my comments were removed and the ones made are still all there. Simply the reply function was disabled by I presume, the author, Christine Bohan.

Shatter said that nationwide Garda station closures in 2013 will result in an extra 61,000 Garda patrol hours. If the figure is achieved it looks like better resource management to me.There is a reason why police have a command structure – rank and file have a very limited knowledge of overall strategic policy implementation in the garda force.The gardai have been caught in the jaws of debt like everyone else in society and are aggrieved by new roster changes. They have too much dust in their eyes to be objective in this debate.

Commisioner Callinan said a “number of stations, in effect, are closed and have been for many years” and that these were “no-brainers” in terms of permanent closure. You’re grasping at straws if you’re saying the higher ranking garda officials know less than rank and file members because they havent arrested someone for drunk and disorderly recently.

• Joe is bang on the money. It’s so easy to spot the keyboard police from the real ones.

• Phil 04/02/13 #

It’s really sickening closing down the very heart of community policing. He’s actually weakening communities by this. And all that spiel he’s feeding us saying it will actually strengthen the Gardai is cods wallop. He’s breaking down society and he knows it.

• Phil 04/02/13 #

Joe o Shea. Your wrong my friend serious crime is up and murder has increased year on year for last no of years. Look up CSO for statistics.

• Civillian staff do not complete files…. The so called desk duty performed by gardai is taking statements and putting the associated file together….

• Phil 04/02/13 #

@joe o Shea… Your some troll.

• @Phil Most recent staistics from the CSO show homicides have fallen by 52 per cent from a peak of 138 cases in 2007.

Overall crime rates have fallen by 13 per cent since its peak in 2008, after previously increasing consistently for a decade and a half.

• jrbmc 04/02/13 #

Get off the stage you toolbag !!

• Phil 04/02/13 #
    • Oh lord Joe. Really you astound me: ) again what you say about closing stations was debunked. I stand by the absolutely accurate statement that on the found gardai know more. The higher ranks deal in numbers. Political appointments. You hardly thing the current commissioner got there by not being in with fg. seriously look how many red thumb every comment. Your either a troll or very misinformed.

• In fact youdontknowme, nothing I said has been debunked. I have posted facts and CSO statistics. The only response to such figures has been comments such as “troll”, etc.

Keep harping on about the Commissioner and higher ranking gardai only being political appointments. The reality is they got where they are because they are experts on policing, and they have recommended these closures – not aggrieved gardai who have unwisely strayed into political arguments again.

On this website, I take more red thumbs as reinforcement of my arguments.

• Wow. Joe, stewie completely blew you out of the water andyou don’t see.

As for commisoner being expert on policing. He is expert at keeping finger in all pies. The experts are on the ground the ones who secure the convictions.

We can be certain of one thing joe that you don’t hold any position of authority in private sector. That name tag must be heavy.

Actually best place for you is the journal facebook page. That where people who love tin foil hats hang out. Oh please joe their just dying to meet you, kindred spirits and all that

• jft96 03/02/13 #

Where is this “desk duty” lark coming from. Where all the Gardai in stepaside behind desks???????????? Shatter, its getting very old all these buzz words, smart policing, desk duty etc etc. Them Gardai will be absorbed into the new station party, where their main patrol concern will be the new sub district ie blackrock. If per say there will be three cars out at one time there will be times when all three will be tied up in their new sub district, therefore when crime is happening in stepaside there won’t be a garda available, and this will be a regular occurance trust me. Fair play to all who protested, applaude you all

• Policing is not the problem its the fact that the people who commit crimes get light and suspended sentences! Prisons are old!! We need new ones with more space! To meet EU Law also that if a criminal deserves an 8 year sentence its not suspended because we have no room to house him! If they commits the crime they do the time.

We need a maximum security prison for drug gangs, where there are no phones, no tv!!!!! Its supposed to be prison!

Our police force need to be on the streets in unmarked cars!!! Buy second hand 200 horsepower cars so then can actually chase them! Not the terrible 1.6 petrol cars they currently have! And not doing office work or catching speeding cars! We as a country should look at what new york state are doing to prevent crime and not do nothing like the minister is currently doing! Don’t hide the fact that we got a big problem with crime in Ireland!!!!!

• Dundrum and Blackrock are going to have a superb Police service……..(sarcasm)

• Why not just have one big Garda station in Dublin and have all the Gardai in the country working outta there.. That will free up nearly every guard in the country for front line policing…
    Is this not a bigger version of the shite shatter is tryin to spin….

• Remove shatters 24x7x365 garda security which needs 3 full time gardai to man. This is a legacy from the troubles and is no longer required.

• Stepaside was a fine well positioned station providing a great service to ever expanding local community. Enniskerry is also a fine station that’s only 15 minutes down the road but thats 15 minutes of a head start for all sorts of thugs. Shatter should learn to be a little flexible and reconsider the closure of Stepaside station.

• Does he not realise that it will increase response times and therefore putting people’s lives in danger if they are in trouble or allow people who have committed a crime more time to get away.

• jft96 03/02/13 #

Absolutely, he is so out of touch with the needs of the people out there its actually frightening. Where is he getting his advice from, that has to be made public soon because he for one isn’t acting on his own.

• Rubbish. More regular patrols moving around your area rather than Gardai chained to desks stamping forms will reduce response time and represent a much greater deterent to criminals.

• @Vincent, that makes a lot of sense on paper & in theory but the ststion in particular would mean Garda walking around the area as opposed to passing through in a car.
      The foot patrol has proven to be very effective and indeed comforting to residents in an area.
      I have also noticed a few Garda patroling estates in my area on mountain bikes but they have limited range from a central base.

• Vincent in theory what you say makes sense. But unfortunately all the forms and paperwork are still going to have to be signed and stamped by the gardai. Closing Stepaside will remove the garda from the desk in Stepaside but you will probably have two gardai at the desk now at the nearest station to cope with all the additional extra work as a result of closing Stepaside.
      If the minister was serious about freeing gardai from desk duties he should be looking at ways of decreasing paperwork in the gardai, what he is doing now will have no effect and will not free up any gardai.

• @paul- that paperwork will be handled in the other Garda stations by Gardai already doing that job. It’s inconvenient, but we live in inconvenient times. There’s an emotional attachment to local Gardai. I understand that. But we can’t afford it.

• @vincent

You think the paperwork will be handled by gardai in other stations already doing that job? Hahaha, the more comments you leave the more apparent it becomes how utterly clueless you really are. You are consistently unable to answer any questions put to you. You seem to think you know it all. In fact, are you Alan shatter in disguise by any chance?

• He closes all the police stations and has 24 hour Garda outside his house!!!.The awful thing is we are paying for all this.What about the older people who are living in fear of being broken into,rumour has it the Garda don’t even have the petrol for their cars.

• Oh well if rumour has it, it must be true.

• @vincent

Can you rationally explain why serious charges are being dropped against major criminals because the government won’t pay for their security detail in court? And don’t give me the usual bullshit line of “we.have.no.money”

• @jim: We. Have. No. Money. Ah, free will……. Anyway, when you have an argument that factors in that sad reality rather than conveniently ignores our bankruptcy I’ll be all ears.

• @vincent

You seem to be all ears for the rubbish that fg and minister shatter spout for you and if that’s what you chose to believe then fair play to you. 3 million euro has been allocated to try and replace some of the clapped out Garda fleet. 20million euro had been allocated to renovate the national museum. Does this make sense to you Vincent?? Do you think it’s a good allocation if state funds?? Even though we.have.no.money?

• Back to your rat hole shatter.

• Real mature, good contribution to the debate.

66 green thumbs and 16 down as I type.

The general quality of commentators on this website really is quite retarded.

• It’s liveline for people who got their first broadband connection in 2010. Welcome to the internet everyone.

• That, oh great one is my opinion of Shatter, one that I am entitled to. If you don’t like it…tough. :)

• That’s right Mr Shatter withdraw funding and hand us over to the burglars, rapists and other common criminals so that you can hand our money over to pay for the crimes of your criminal elite friends.

• Are you antisemitic chilli? A rat lives in a rat hole and Shatter is clearly not a rat. You can only be using the term “rat” as the common racial epitet for jewish persons.

• I really object to the use of that word

• And why do you choose to call yourself the mule as mules are extremely stubborn and very seldom listen to instructions or orders from their masters….but you are the opposite if that..perhaps your next name should be lassie. Good boy. Do exactly what your master tells you to do, never question it and never disagree with him . You can Insult me all you want my dear sir but I will continue to voice my opinion in my way.

• @gathering- you didn’t read the 61,000 extra patrol hours figure above, no? Has reality no role to play in debates on here? You’d prefer Gardai sitting in a small Garda station stamping car tax forms rather than driving around housing estates and villages around the country?

• You really buy into that tripe?

• Vincent, reality is but an illusion, just because there is a promise of extra hours on the beat, doesn’t mean this will actually follow, like many other promises governments routinely make and break. The perception of many people is that these stations provide them with a security that there closure takes away, this is there reality, regardless of what anyone else says, this is there reality

• You really would swallow a brick Vincent.

• jrbmc 03/02/13 #

The Gardai themselves don’t agree with it and know he’s turning this into one big almighty Cluster f**k !!!

And when the big feckin gobsh*te does realise it not a great idea , how much will it cost to reopen them again !!

• @chairman- in the midst of economic Armageddon I’d prefer if our elected representatives were legislating based on realities rather than perceptions. Pandering to the electorate, doing the popular rather than the right thing….that’s how FF got us into this mess.

• @jim- I can but aspire to be a visionary like your good self.

• @Jrbmc- you show me a civil servant and I’ll show you someone who doesn’t want ANY change to working conditions.

• Fair enough chili, I took a look at who you follow on twitter.

You don’t appear to be a particularly smart person and seem to show an interest in the most inane of topics.

All back to the rat hole! Good one!

• chilli16 04/02/13 #

Dear sir, you are obviously nothing more than a troll who gets his kicks from insulting people who don’t have an Oxford dictionary on hand to translate their comments. You mean nothing to me, troll me all you want as that seems to be all you do with your days but you won’t bully me off this forum. Keep changing your name as you obviously have multiple personalities and chat to each other on a regular bases.

• Oh well that’s ok then. Inspector clueless says it will be ok…
    Jeasus Mary and Joseph,what sort of a deluded and detached clown is he.
    This person sneers and makes jokes as he single handedly dismantles the security of this country and has the neck to say Garda morale is high !!!!!!!!!.

• What would policing expert Mike Clinton do? Here is your brief Commissioner Clueless.

Spending has to be cut by 15% over the next 5 years and crime has to be reduced. What do you do?
      Would you open up lots of new stations to make everyone feel safe and secure?

• Ah the muppet troll otherwise known as paddy /richard/mark/etc and now mule (quite apt seeing your so full of it).

• There is one sure fire way to reduce crime; more prison places,longer sentences, no suspended sentences.

• You have yet to respond to a single point I’ve raised. I’m aware than cognitive functions deteriorate rapidly after 40 but surely your lifetime experience of past economic and political situations have given you some useful insights into our current problems. I want you to develop on some of your political points Mike.

• Mike just answer his question instead of just throwing hyperbole and insults around.

A bit of constructive debate would be welcome.

• Hard labour , work camps , no dole when locked up , need I go on,

• And no concurrent sentences. What’s the point of a sentence if it’s tacked onto another one and not a day of it is served. As for remission of half a sentence for good behaviour don’t get me started!
      Alan Shatter knows well what he’s doing, cutting Garda numbers, but it doesn’t matter to him because he has full time security.

• The truth of the matter is that no new guards have been trained in in years to replace outgoing Garda so the only option is to re-station existing members to the next town and close stations! Madness!

• Step aside Shatter then step down, you are single handily destroying policing in this state. You are destroying the security of 4 and a half million people. Health and Security should not be diluted. The Irish people deserve that much.

• Utter bull, stepaside will be a big target for robbers now.

• It will of course now that the Garda station force field is shut off. Dundrum is very safe because every criminal knows there is a garda station in the village and they only target places that have no garda station within 2 miles, the extent of the shields power.

• There was only ever one garda station bound in stepaside so fair play to him by closing d station hes freed up one garda per tour of duty!

• Paddy/Richard/Michael mark has two new names!! Jim shark and the mule. Dear jebus save us.

• New job for him, Shatter, in 2016 if they last that long! People won’t forget this.

• The man is simply clueless!

• “It would be entirely wrong for me to second guess the Garda Commissioner”

Thats code for “I wasn’t really expecting such a reaction, it was the Commissioners idea really”

• Getting back to the headline of this post.
    Yes it will.

• Shatter .. Get a life !

• “the objective of station closures is to enhance the effectiveness of the force”???? jesus jesus jesus. Shatter just stop will ya. you’re as well try tell us the sky is black and 1+1= 374482.

• What mr shatter is not telling the worried people of ireland is as to how many gardai that are leaving the now closed barracks.is the amount that are retiring .

• I live on a road that has never seen a squad car before our local station closed and when I say local I mean next village! I used to know the names of the local gardai and they knew me! Now my nearest station is 15 miles away with a town and a number of villages in between! The guards don’t know me and probably don’t even know my road exists! My local elderly citizens club rang this Garda station back in November to ask A guard to come and talk to the group about crime and safety in their home! The guard never came and they’ve rang numerous times since and still no guard to talk to an elderly citizens group for 1 hour about their safety! The station hasn’t even bothered returning the phone calls and now we’re expected to believe some tripe that this is about “better policing”. Try telling that to the elderly citizens who’ve been waiting over 2 months for a guard to talk to them about their safety concerns! Slash and burn!!

• Anyone know how many Garda stations are closing near this clowns home? None I’d imagine and probably has his police security at the front door all the time. One rule for them and one for us because we allow it.

• A reliable source tells me he wears fake tan, has to be some truth in it….

• johnny 04/02/13 #

Its simple, this man is a liar

• Sinn Fein were not supporting this protest, as they have no support in tgat area. They just latched onto the opportunity as usual, stood at the back with their banners and disappeared fairly quick.

• Regan was always complaining to Haskins of all the paper work he had to do when he could have been out shaking down a few criminals. Maybe Shatter is right. Regan was one hell of a DI.

• I’m just wondering what his motivation could possibly be. The public at large and the serving members of the Guards are clearly against his methods and proposals. Some previous grudge against the guards has been suggested before, but that seems unconvincing. Still, the erosion of the feeling of safety continues. What possible benefit could a minister accrue from this action?. None on the the face of it. All logical explanations having being exhausted, we are left with the seemingly impossible and disturbing truth. According to professor John O’ Keefe, approximately two to three per cent of people are psychopaths. Most appear to be socially adept and non violent. One of the traits of the non violent psychopath, is the trait of wanting to make ordinary people suffer. Whether the suffering is physical, sexual, or financial is immaterial to the psychopath. They hate normal people and they love to make them suffer. Of course, the more than one hundred thousand psychopaths in this country could never aspire to high office, or could they?.

• Does it make no sense at all that that a Minister could simply look at the number of gardai doing desk jobs and the number out on patrol (providing a real and relevant presence in the community) and conclude the ratio is all wrong and aim to increase the patrolling gardai numbers substantially to improve policing.

If he can’t hire more gardai, he has to reduce the number doing desk jobs.

When I am tucked up in my bed at night, 5 miles from the nearest neighbour, it matters very little to me that during the day, for several hours, there is a lone garda behind a desk in the village 8 miles away.

Even if there are more patrols 24/7 I’m still a sitting duck.

• It’s a form of step aside policing.

I would like to see the remaining stations doing some crime prevention instead of making a mountain out of a molehill over passport photo certification.

• We all need to cop on.

• “given a 2 year extension to his contract so he could remain on as shatters “yes” man.”

who needs real facts when jim can interpret it for us!

• Any station on the list was put there by Gardai. This personalised venom for the Minister is unjustified. The man didn’t sit down with a list and a pen & start putting lines through them. The force has to move on. And so do the public. Everyone wants a station on their doorstep. Nimbyism in reverse…

• If he didn’t close Stepaside, you’d all claim that it was cronyism. Damned if you do, damned if you don’t.

Add New Comment