TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Wednesday 19 June, 2013

Sinn Féin minister found guilty of religious discrimination

Conor Murphy has been found guilty of discriminating against a Protestant applicant by Belfast’s Fair Employment Tribunal.

Sinn Fein's Conor Murphy
Image: Julien Behal/PA Archive/Press Association Images

A SINN FÉIN minister and his department have been found guilty of discriminating against an applicant on the basis of religion.

The Fair Employment Tribunal has said that Alan Lennon was overlooked for appointment of chairman at Northern Ireland Water by Newry/Armagh MP Conor Murphy because he was Protestant.

Lennon was interviewed for the position by a selection panel and approved as a suitable candidate, along with four other applicants – three Protestants and one Catholic, UTV reports.

In March 2011, Murphy appointed the sole Catholic applicant, Sean Hogan, as chairman.

In its ruling, the tribunal said there was “considerable doubt” as to whether Hogan had indeed been the most suitable candidate – and that it was satisfied that Hogan was selected because “he was not from a Protestant background and because he was known to the minister and his ministerial colleagues”, reports the Guardian.

The tribunal noted that during the time Murphy was Department for Regional Development minister (2007 – 2011) there had been “material bias” against the appointment of candidates from a Protestant background.

However, Murphy released a statement last night, saying:

I absolutely refute any allegation of discrimination against Alan Lennon on religious grounds.

I stand over all of the appointments I made as the regional development minister and adhered to all the set criteria for such appointments.

The department have six weeks to decide whether to appeal this ruling. Having read the ruling myself I would be urging the department to utilise the appeals process.

While the tribunal found that Lennon had suffered unlawful religious discrimination by the Department of Regional Development, it rejected a further claim of unlawful political discrimination on the basis of his political opinions – saying that there was not enough evidence to support that assertion.

Lennon welcomed the ruling, saying: “I brought this case to shine a light on what I feel is a selection system that is not fit for purpose… I am very pleased that it appears that this case will put in train changes and improvements to the processes around public appointments.”

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (90 Comments)

• A fairly bad week for Sinn Féin. I hope their members don’t come on here again with their dogma and try and defend the indefensible (again)

• I bet the SF bots will be all over this thread like flies on s**t! haha

• Your the first commenter and quite often state the same “I bet the SF bots will be over this…” Who’s the SF bot?

• Does it need to be spelled out Damhsha?

• Whats funny is the SF bots know they can’t defend this so instead their just giving a thumbs down to all our comments. Chuckie ur lar and all.

• Tbh, i find the tribunal judgement a little questionable.

Reading their press release:

“The minister maintained that he appointed Sean Hogan on merit, and that he did not know whether the 5 re ommended candidates were Catholic or Prodestant.”

“In reality of the political and religious situation in Northern Ireland, the tribunal finds the minister’s evidence on this point is implausible and lacks credibility”.

This judgement seems to infer that because of the “political and religious situation” in NI, NOBODY from NI could appoint someone on merit rather than religious pregidous. They dismissed the minister’s evidence for this very reason!

…I think the inevitable appeal will be interesting…

• is this about the whole sinn fein party voting not to give Mr Lennon the job because this is what is been said..right Sinn Fein as a party are to blame for not appointing the in the opinion of the tribunal the right man for the job..right lets see what FF/FG/L have done as a collective party..no because its too depressing..MR Murphy will get the deserved criticism..but yere grasping at straws here lads with the ruination of Sinn Fein..next election will be interesting..P.S .yes what he did was wrong for anyone who will breeze trough my comment…making another point too

• ….Funny how SF “promote” an all inclusive “United Ireland” of Catholic/Protestant and Dissenter. Showing their true colours with this. A leopard never changes its spots….

• sf should be ashamed of themselves, they have wasted a golden opportunity to give the electorate a viable option besides the usual civil war politics, just one scandal after another, they are no different than ff/fg/labour, i will not vote for anyone in these 4 parties ever again, idp looks like a fresh approach

• Toorkeel its hard to take your views as liberal and just regarding this matter when you have a picture with the Reverend Paisley behind a union jack is he an icon of yours ..im not been smart just curious ??

• I’m not liberal or conservative, somewhere in between. I tried and wanted to use a 1970s pic of McGuinness and Adams together in paramilitary drag…but I couldn’t fit the rocket launcher in….

• you settled for the British Army instead ..nice

• …British army? Where exactly? Now I’m curious…

• Ian Paisley beaming in front of a union jack might be considered alligence to the queen who’s the commander in chief of the British army..im a shinner but i would never want to provoke people that were hurt in the conflict and then come on saying how bad another crowd are when your clearly symbolizing a regime that was no better..but whatever uno different strokes for different folks..

• Ah now Brend…..lots of ifs and buts and coulds and woulds there. Come on son, I thought you Born Again Shinners want to treat everyone the same, you know, mutual respect for all traditions, symbols etc. Obviously not. While you are on the subject of symbols, would the Easter Lily not be considered offensive to the Unionist tradition who you are apparently so desperate to “reunite with”….yes SF are big on symbols alright, no one else’s though just their own. Also as far as far I’m aware, HM Government wouldn’t be considered a regime. Slightly exaggerated now Brend.

• ….also Brend, how do you know I’m not from the Unionist tradition….

• it doesnt bother me if you are or not all im saying that you could be misrepresenting yourself as just Anti Sinn fein and so what if you are but you cant debate with someone if they are just anti everything you say..toorkeel tis grand..is there any other stories going on..is there a soccer match on tonight im going to watch it ill even call it football for you haha..take it easy

• I wouldn’t call myself anti anyone, I just never have and never will support Sinn Fein. Why? Because I firmly believe they are the greatest threat to democracy in our country. They are devious, dangerous and cunning. They will stop at nothing to achieve their “aims”. They care about no one but themselves and will walk over anyone who stands in their way….beware of Greeks bearing gifts!

• @Brend Egan,

Sorry for cutting in on your discussion, but didn’t Martin McGuinness swear alligence to the Queen a couple of weeks ago? when he became the leader of something or other? Is that not the same?

• so you dont support devious dangerous cunning parties and your not anti anything..who do you support and if your not anti anything why are you so obviously anti sinn fein..yere on condeming shinners but never nail yere own colours to the mast afraid to maybe because yere all fg/f/l/ but no one wants to admit it ..devious cunning dangerous look who’s in charge .gimme a break

• a unionist/loyalist paisley loyalist/unionist is loyal to queen and british union…martin mcguiness is loyal to the queen haha ask him hill tell you himself and if im wrong and if he is loyal isnt that a good thing for all that think he’s a gun tooting provo..

• @Brend: Yes Brend,You are dead right, I dont. I would be what is often called a floating voter and I dont have allegience to any party. I do tend to lean in a certain direction. However since you are so anxious to know, I voted No1 and No2 for two different parties in the last election. Both of these parties are currently in Government. I can tell you straight that I have never voted SF and I never will for the reasons I have already outlined. SF/IRA have killed, injured and maimed more people on this island in the 50 years than any other organisation be they paramilitary or government. They are destructive and dangerous. It is your own business if you are happy to trust the likes of Gerry Adams, Martin McGuinness, Martin Ferris and Dessie Ellis in running our country. I certainly will not support them or never ever will. You are naive and foolish if you believe these individuals have the nations interests at heart.

• Why don’t they just rename themselves New Fianna Fail and be done with it?

Appointing buddies
    Fiddling expenses to pay party members
    TDs pushing the parish pump.

They’ve identified a massive gap in the Irish political landscape and are rushing to fill it.

• Chris, they can’t take the title FF Bua, that has been taken up by FFg. I think theer would be a copyright infringement case if they did that, taken by the real FF Nua party, lead by Enda Kenny.

And, i think you are either deliberately lieing or ill-informed. Pearse Doherty did not use expense money to hire party members. But FFg/Labour will always lie their way to blacken the name of other parties in order to try and drag their own names out of the dirt ;)
      And you are right, FFg/Labour would never use expenses to hire someone one. Every member of that party use all their expenses for their own personal pleasure, and to sustain their ivory tower lifestyle. Taking someone off the Dole would never occur to them.

• Quck question for you Chris?? Have FFg taken any action against FFg TD Mitchell yet? Mahon clearly singled her out as taking Bribes from developers, in order to help them get approval for planning permission?
      If not, why not?
      Bllody corruption is the core of FFg/Labour.
      No matter what you say about the wrongs of Doherty hiring 2 part-time staff, using 8,000 euro of expenses to do it, the fact that he did it, took one of the employees off the Dole. Tax payer ended up not paying 20k Dole costs to that person. Doherty paid employer tax for both part-time individuals. So, it ended up saving the state 12k per year.
      But FFg/Labour/FF don’t care about that. Its just an excuse to go after Doherty. Not one of their partys would take someone off teh Dole. None of them would even know anyone on the Dole. They don’t mix in the same circles.

• I know you can’t judge a book by its cover, but he does have a Fianna Fail head on him too.

• Are you telling me that Sinn Fein employed people who weren’t party members as party workers?

That sounds very, very unlikely.

As I’m not a member of Fine Gael nor a Fine Gael voter, I won’t defend the Olivia Mitchell thing in the slightest, just remind you that “What about” is not a defence.

As for the idea that what Doherty did was for the good of the state… As a taxpayer, I would prefer that he had been honest with his expenses and that any money saved had gone towards provision of services that are useful to the country as a whole (You know, employing teachers/doctors/nurses, investment in state infrastructure, that kind of thing). I don’t really like seeing my money put towards employing someone whose main role is to promote Sinn Fein’s electoral chances.

• Hi Cal, any craic?

Please provide evidence for your assertation that “bloody corruption is the core of Labour.”

A link to the findings of a tribunel or a link to news story will be sufficient.

• Brendan, the most obvious display of corruption, is the fact that Labour are supposed to be a socialist party, yet we saw last night, every Labour TD voted against the repeal of the Household charge, in case it brought down the Government, which would put their salaries, perks etc at risk. They lied through their teeth to the electorate, to get into power.
      Labour supported handing over 1,100,000,000.00 euro of Irish next week to unsecured Bondholders in foreign banks next week, yet they have no problem inflicting their Financial terrorist Household Tax on their own electorate.
      If that isn’t corruption, then i don’t know what is.

• Clearly then Cal you do not know what corruption is.

You may find this in use in formulating your response.

http://elaine.ie/2009/07/31/definitions-and-types-of-corruption/

• Also your belief that a repeal of the Household charge would bring down the Government is pretty optimistic to be honest.

• Who’s FFg? Is this a new political party?

• Brendan, tell you what… At the next election, we will see what the electorate thinks… Based on recent opinion polls, most former labour supporters conform to my view on Labours lieing, cheating, traitorous corruption, versus your own restricted version of corruption ;)
      I will stand corrected if i am wrong… But i am confident i won’t have to eat humble pie on this one ;)

Faceless Man … FFg is Fianna Fail Nua, or the party formerly known as Fg. Fg combined with FF, gives you a pretty clear FFg party, bent on self-serving politics. I think they have their origins somewhere near Londonderry. not sure where that city is, its not in any Irish Geography book or Irish Atlas, but they keep referring to it.

• blah! 21/06/12 #

A lot of the electorate who voted for FFg hoping for something other than what we have could now in their disappointment and anger turn to Sinn Fein/IRA in the next election.

• Unfortunately I can’t claim ownership of this ‘restricted’ version of corruption Cal.

Elaine Byrne, the Statute books, and the Oxford English dictionary all have a stronger prior claim.

• Barry 21/06/12 #

Not surprised by this at all,

For those that believe that some how SF are no different, then just wait till they get more access to money and they’ll go to town. Hell they barely have access to any and we already have one screwing us for 50k in printer ink…..this will be small change to what they will manage to do in the future

• Brian 21/06/12 #

To those who are thinking about casting their vote for the shinners at the next election because they’re seen as an ‘alternative’ I would think very carefully about what you’re going to do. Sinn Fein are trouble with a capital T.

• As time goes on , the rest of the country are getting to see and understand what Sinn Fein are exactly about .

” A leopard never changes it spots ”

Time for the rest of the country to wake up and see them for what they really are ! !

• I’d argue about the incompetence and moral corruptness of Sinn Fein but they seem to be doing a great job at it themselves.

• They haven’t gone away you know………the sectarian bigots I mean.

• mcbab 21/06/12 #

The high moral ground is turning into a landslide beneath their feet. Open your eyes people and see them for what they are, devious and cunning.

• united ireland anyone the defense of a citizen from across the border is compelling maybe there is a case for unification after all i commend the above commenters for their sincerity in the plight of the demonized man..Minister Murphy let himself down in this situation and will get the deserved flack for it..

• The Silence of the Bots.

• The worm has turned.

• Murphy looked pensive when questioned about this earlier today.

• Their IRA buddies have a history of discrimination too. Like when they told the only Catholic on a workers’ bus at Kingsmill to get off and shot his 11 workmates, killing 10 of them, all Protestant. And when they bombed a bus carrying Protestant workers at Teebane in 1992 killing eight of them. No apologies. No remorse. Not a word from our current Shinner representatives apart from their usual, limp ‘regret all deaths’ shite

• A group called SARAF claimed responsibility for Kingsmill and the IRA always denied involvement.

Those “Protestant workers” at Teebane were employees of a British Army base. There was a war on and that is why they were targeted, not because of their religion.

• From Wikipedia:

“A Historical Enquiries Team investigation into the incident found that members of the Provisional IRA had carried out the attack despite the organization being on ceasefire. It also found that the victims were targeted simply because of their religion.[4][5][6] The report said that the attack had been planned some time in advance[6] and the weapons used in another 110 murders or attempted murders.[7]“

• Mark, there was no war. Just murder. your dismissal of those deaths is disgusting. You are one warped excuse…

• There’s no doubt Kingsmill was an atrocity that should not have happened. However, to not set it in the context of the ruthless sectarian murder campaign that Loyalists were waging at the time would be ahistorical.

In the heat of war, the Provos thought they would put a stop to the targeting of random Catholics. It was the wrong move.

As for Teebane, they were not unaffiliated civilians. They were in the employ of the Brit military.

• Ah Paddy do you not get enough time to bullshit in that right-wing rag of a newspaper. What do you find so objectionable to “regretting all deaths” that occur in a conflict? On a side note, I find it ironic that you are defending workers at all, seen as you take pot shots at those who represent workers interests every week.

• O Reilly, of course there was a war. Do you think the Provisional IRA just together one Friday evening in 1969 and said “Ah here come on we start an armed campaign for the laugh?” While it would of course be wrong to condone every action that occurred in the war, The Provisional IRA on the whole executed a successful guerrilla campaign against hostile enemies, who when it suited them had little time for dialogue. I’m sure the people of Ballymurphy and the Bogside could testify to that.

What should people have done O Reilly?, continued to march into RUC batons and British guns, and wait for the Free State to help them?

• 1) Working at a British Army base is not a capital offence. Why quotes on “Protestant workers”. They were workers. And Protestant. SARAF was a cover name for the Provisional IRA. If you don’t know that, you know very little.
      2) To attempt to justify the IRA’s sectarian massacres by citing atrocities committed by their twins in the murderous loyalist gangs, is as ridiculous as it is sick.
      3) I find ‘regregretting all deaths’ objectionable because the cowardly Shinner leaders will not meet with the relatives of those the IRA killed. Gerry and Co. have all done nicely for themselves, haven’t they? A million expenses Gerry took from Westminster. I suppose he had to pay for that holiday home somehow.
      4) Criticising a trade unionist does not make one right wing. Far from it. Sadly, many unions have turned away from socialism and become self-interest groups, getting the maximum for their members regardless of the effect on others.

• @Mark O Maoldomhnaigh

You are one of many arrogant narcissistic arseholes that come on treads like this, coming out with ‘ah ya, but that wasn’t us that did that one, that was the ABC’s.! All of you are murderers. What went on in the North for the whole of my childhood and some of my adulthood was pure hatred and arrogance. Where did it get anyone. All those mothers’, children, men from all sides, dead. How dare any of you that hide behind the Sin Fein title come on here and argue that ‘sure they were prods workers working at a British Army base.

The 6 counties was and is still part of the United Kingdom. Many of us would like 32 counties at some stage but I doubt very much it’ll be in mine, yours, McGuinness’ or Adams time. I hope not. The new Ireland, young people need to deal with it, fresh faces, fresh hope and none of the bigotry that is still on all sides that are hanging on.

• Sheila, there is no defending the murder of civilians.
      By the by, yesterday the British Government rejected requests for the murder of 12 civilians by the British Army back in 1973 in Ballymurphy. The Queen saw fit to give the leader of the murderers a medal for the slaughter. I hope you will join me in condemning the murdering British Army and the Queen for awarding medals for shooting dead a Mother, a priest and many young men also.

• How much of the apointees money did they demand. To keep him grounded like. So he doesn’t get notions, ambitions.
    Sinn Fein, a party with its own climate – a micro North Korea…

• Were is Cal Mooney and the rest of the SF apologists? Even professional fool Frankie Faldo stayed under his bridge on this one.

• Quote is with reference to the Provisional IRA massacre of Protestant workers at Kingsmill.

• Two things I find ironic this week n1. Discrimination against a protestant in the north n2. Ffg/labour complaining about SF taking someone off the dole when their manifesto seems to be see how long it takes to put the whole country on the dole.

• Toureag 21/06/12 #

Ant you and your like is why there should never be a united Ireland. I don’t like the way the SF supporters on this site get so personal about other people who comment, mentioning what they do for a living etc. not good.

• mcbab 21/06/12 #

Sinn Fein, FF, FG, Labour all follow the same pattern. Different voices, different faces but the play remains the same.

• Without condoning the actions of either person, I find it strange how when Darren Scully refused to represent constituents of African origin it was “Darren Scully is a racist”, but in this case Conor Murphy overlooked a protestant candidate and it’s “Sinn Féin are all the same, don’t trust them”. I don’t see why it should be seen as one rogue Fine Gael member in the wrong in one case, but one Sinn Féin member is representative of them all in this one?

• How many Protestants do Sinn Fein employ? How many of their councillors, TD’s and MLA’s are non-catholic?

• how many catholics do the UUP employ..double standards again just say you hate Sinn Fein for your own reasons and be done with it..cloak of neutrality is deminished on here

• Well I know for example that Billy Leonard who used to represent Sinn Féin as an MLA in Stormont is a former RUC officer and a member of the Orange Order

• Steve, Don’t mean to break it to you, but there mare many Protestants in the SF ranks.
      That is what is so infuriating about this article. If Murphy fails to win his appeal, and all the details of this case are made public, then Murphy has no choice but to resign. This is totally unacceptable behaviour in my opinion (if its true).
      SF have recruited folks from all persuasions in the last decade. There is no room for sectarianism in the organisation.
      But the difference in this and when we had the racist FFg’s saying that they dont want to represent Blacks, is that I am man enough to acknowledge the wrong. FFG just close ranks and say Racism is OK.

• cal ;) hard day at work tuff day here too :)

• Cal 1 every one of the SF supporters I know personally, in Monaghan it should be added for fairness sake, are to a man and woman sectarian equally I’ve never met or heard of a non-catholic supporting SF.

• Oh for god’s sake..

• If yet more evidence was needed that the Good Friday Agreement is nothing but a sectarian carve up…..

Clearly if those whose rhetoric is “equality” can’t abide by it in the Orange/Green GFA divide then something is wrong.

Religious antagonisms will only be done away with in a pluralistic all-Ireland Republic, and the GFA is not the way to get there.

• GOOD Friday agreement is working isolated misjustices are always going to occur on both sides but there building bridges in the North after so much violence and hatred the people have had enough and took their own higher ground showing the way for politicans and lawmakers and enforcers CatholicProtestant issue in the north is a sign of hope to all of us who are looking for some unity and dont want to be segregated from others just because of different beliefs we all have different opinions but everyone wants to live in a better country bickering has to stop and common ground for good of the peoples well being has to be found..bridges are hard to build but easily demolished ..lets keep building

• The six-counties are as segregated as ever. More physical walls have gone up since 1998 than ever before.

In terms of housing, the recent Girdwood fiasco springs to mind

“Nelson McCausland, at the launch of this plan, said that they, the political representatives of the DUP, UUP, SDLP and Sinn Féin, were ‘sending a powerful message to north Belfast’ and indeed they were. The message was that the Orange State, where houses were allocated on the basis of creed over need is not quite shattered yet.”

In fact, the Housing Executive, founded in 1971 to remove, in theory at least, the political and sectarian influences from the housing allocation process, which had for decades reigned supreme in the Six Counties has been undone by the various parties based at Stormont, not least by those that make claims on the legacy of the Civil Rights Movement.

The question that must be asked of those claiming to represent the equality agenda is, if you are unable to deliver a north Belfast of equals, what chance an Ireland of one?”

http://www.eirigi.org/latest/latest290512_2.html

• theres positives and negatives to all stories Kerron and i will admit you would probably have your finger on the pulse you pointed out the negatives and i was only pointing out the positives which is an end to the death and destruction and apeace that no one would have predicted when i was a child..palestine/israel will only have one winner in the north at least its balanced and its up to the people and politicans now there has to be positives taking from Good Friday..i bid good day to you

• Where are you from Kerron!?! Jus outta curiosity!?!

• Much as a hate to agree with eirigi the Stormont government is the facilitator of a broken sectarian carve up. In the North I believe the Deloite report estimated that the cost of maintaining the divided society was over £100bn per year. nnSinn Fein and their running buddies the DUP thrive in such a society as they offer no real politics, just us and them bickering. That’s why I left Belfast and came to Cork in a country of us and them guys like me have no side or proper representation. nnYou can complain about political corruption all you like. Atleast the Republic has real politics to corrupt and not the embarrassing social retardation the North experiences.

Add New Comment