Welcome to our Public Beta Site - What does this mean?
Dublin: 9 °C Thursday 24 May, 2012

Opposition TDs walk out of Dáil over lack of discussion on Anglo bondholders

Sinn Féin TDs leaving the Dáil chamber in protest

SINN FEIN AND United Left Alliance TDs have walked out of the Dáil in protest at the lack of debate over today’s €700 million payout to Anglo bondholders.

The opposition TDs had sought a debate and a vote on the payout to the bondholders, but the government voted not to hold the debate.

Gerry Adams then spoke in the Dáil chamber to say that Sinn Féin TDs were going to leave as a result of the lack of debate over the issue. ULA TDs followed shortly afterwards.

Earlier Gerry Adams had repeatedly pressed the Taoiseach during Leaders’ Questions over why the State was proceeding with the controversial payment.

Enda Kenny had  defended today’s €700 million payout to Anglo Irish Bank bondholders, saying the government plan is ‘based on growth, not on default’.

Speaking in the Dáil during a rowdy Leaders’ Questions earlier this morning, Kenny blamed the previous government for negotiating the deal.

He said that he had ‘no intention’ of turning Ireland into ‘some kind of sub-Saharan state based on reckless decisions’ by defaulting on the repayment, saying

We are not going to scuttle this ship.

Kenny also said that neither he nor the Government knows the name of the bondholders in the zombie bank.

The Taoiseach faced fierce criticism from the leaders of the opposition parties who questioned him over the payout.

Fianna Fáil leader Micheal Martin criticised the government for making pre-election promises to ‘burn’ the bondholders but failing to raise the issue with the European Central Bank during negotiations.

Kenny blamed Fianna Fáil and the previous government for agreeing to the deal:  ”I’d love to stand up here and say to you that it’s not necessary to pay this money. It has not been possible for this government to unravel the agreement made by your government with external parties.”

Independent TD Shane Ross said that the government had a choice over what to do but that it had ‘decided to go down exactly the same road as was went down by the last government’.

Ross also raised the issue of bondholders who had bought bonds in the former Anglo Irish Bank at a low price earlier this year, saying that such bondholders have made a profit of nearly 70%.

Over €700 million ($1 billion) will be paid by the State today to unidentified bondholders on an unsecured five-year Anglo Irish Bank bond.

Read me: 3 reasons why we shouldn’t pay the Anglo billion-dollar bond>

Read Next:

Comments (88 Comments)

• Patrick Kennedy 02/11/11 #
    Report this comment

Ah takes me back to the 1920′s! (kind of!)

• Damien 666 02/11/11 #
    Report this comment

If the photo above is accurate then where the hell were the rest of the TDs?

• Mark Malone 02/11/11 #
    Report this comment

Lat time they walked out was 1922 and we all know how that turned out. Pity they didnt have the same principles across the border where they are shutting schools and hospitals.
    Funny that we managed to’find’ €32,000,00,000 down the back of Noonans couch the day before they hand over €700,000,000 to unguarenteed. In today Irish Times Kenny has an opinion pieces someone no doubt wrote for him saying the horses have already bolted. Thats horseshit, its the stable boys handing over everything to the race track owners, while we get straw for our futures.

• Report this comment

Sinn Féin have no fiscal power in the Northern Executive and cuts are laid down by London.

• Cormac Flanagan 02/11/11 #
      Report this comment

Funny how when sinn fein say they have no power over fiscal cuts in the north everyone agrees with them but when the gov here say the same thing(let’s face it we owe so much money that we don’t have a say) there is up roar. Don’t see sinn fein walking out of the assembly

• Orion 02/11/11 #
      Report this comment

E32,000,00,000 ???????? I think you’re figures are off slightly.

• Report this comment

Eh Cormac fiscal power was given away in the south. SF in the south are working to get fiscal power, its not comparable in anyway other than it shows up FG who are doing nothing to get back powers!

• Eire 02/11/11 #
    Report this comment

Traitors one & all ! That’s to those who stayed in the Chamber & allowed this day light robbery of the Irish Tax Payer to go ahead ! Hang your heads in Shame! Hats of to Sinn Fein & the United Left Alliance tokenism it might be but it sums up the vast majority of people ……

• Philip Bellew 02/11/11 #
    Report this comment

I’m not a Sine Fein supporter, but I agree with them on this. Essentially, we, the people of this country, are being asked to pay dividends to financial speculators, whose identity the government refuses to disclose. Democracy?

• Terry Turner 02/11/11 #
    Report this comment

Well done, Sinn Fein. Fg/Lab are just carrying on old rejected policies. It seems to be true that the bondholders have a sinful profit from our weakness. Let’s get strong somehow.

• Howard Cooley 02/11/11 #
    Report this comment

As I have said more than once before. Enda grow a pair.

• Rita Wild 02/11/11 #
    Report this comment

it’s time to throw things i think, eggs, tomatoes, shoes or some feckin thing, disgraceful contempt for democracy show by government.

• Niall Mulligan 02/11/11 #
    Report this comment

Sincerely hope this thread doesn’t degenerate into another round of Sinner bashing. This has nothing to do with the troubles or the IRA – they’re absolutely correct to insist that the government justify their decision.

Much and all as I think that Fianna Fáil bear ultimate responsibility for the entire mess, I don’t think that the government can hive off responsibility for their decision on them.

• Graham Harkness 02/11/11 #
    Report this comment

I wish I could take an early lunch

• Aidan Molloy 02/11/11 #
    Report this comment

Empty Dail. says it all really.

• Simon O Flaherty 02/11/11 #
    Report this comment

Yeah it’s great that you can go in and claim a full days pay for sitting on your hole talking shite. This government is just a marionette government for are real rulers in the IMF/eu/ecb are the ones pulling the strings. Dance puppets dance. The budget will be the next big show when enda and his two financy men will put on a performance to appease are masters as his nose gets bigger from all the election lies he told.

• Ian O'Gorman 02/11/11 #
    Report this comment

I thought the payout was 700 Million not 700 Billion as stated in the article?

• Simon O Flaherty 02/11/11 #
    Report this comment

That 700 billion is the imaginary money of the future that Ireland owes to imaginary men that exist and threaten to overrun are country if we don’t pay them…………

• Oskar Fritsche 02/11/11 #
    Report this comment

Enda Enda Enda I’m afraid you are the weakest link as you can’t blame the last government always, this was a foolish move on your part.

• Evert Bopp 02/11/11 #
    Report this comment

Too little too late…

• David Cullen 02/11/11 #
    Report this comment

why didnt the government buy the bond at the discounted rate and save 70%

• Cal Mooney 02/11/11 #
      Report this comment

Because that would take brains and leadership … our current government have neither vision or strategy. They are leading us down a very bad path. Sarkozy, horrible little git that he is, stood up for French tax-payers and said he would not impose the French exposure to Greece on the people of France. He has gotten away with it. our Enda, only wants to get gold stars from the European leaders, so that he can have more photo ops with Sarkozy and Merkel. Its pretty sad really. We need strong leadership, and i dont think anyone in this country voted for the type of leadership every TD in FG/Labour are showing right now. We must get legislation into our Dail procedures that allow individual TDs to vote without the threat of Party Leader Whips expelling them etc. Otherwise, they are all as useless as an ashtray on a motorbike. Fair play to SF for highlighting that not every TD in the Dail is willing to kow-tow to Merkel and Sarkozy. If this country is still in existence in 3.5 years, then the people will have their chance to tell FF/FG/Labour what they think of their European policy. The Greeks rejected the 220billion debt policy of Europe and after playing chicken with Germany and France, they got a reduction of 100billion in the space of 3 weeks. We need to do the same here. But zero chance of it, as long as FG/Laour are at the helm.

• Daire Kennedy 02/11/11 #
      Report this comment

Good Question David and I have a theory on that…..
      The same guys that work in ECB/IMF/Financial circles work in or invest in investment funds and/or hedge funds. As Ireland was struggling to borrow again to pay back these bonds in 2010 the bonds that were maturing later were selling at 30-60% of original value. Ireland couldn’t buy them back because of the expensive interest rate we had so these guys snapped them up, gave Ireland the bailout and the liquid funds to pay the bonds when they matured, this is the reason why these bailout payments are given in tranches and not all at once. In the meantime they insist that Ireland pay these bonds at 100% so they can, in some cases, triple their money while threatening to cut off the very money that is used to pay them back!!
      Is this a bit far fetched?

• Paul Breen 02/11/11 #
    Report this comment

If it’s any consolation, many of these bondholder institutions are pension funds. Whether people’s pensions should be gambled in the international casino is another matter.

• Cal Mooney 02/11/11 #
      Report this comment

Thats a gamble, pension fund managers take. They spread the risks around the world in different funds, not just Anglo. So that is a pretty weak argument. Yes, some pensions may be impacted slightly. And yes, some individuals in this country may be impacted. But paying out in full, the way the Government are doing it, means EVERY tax payer in this country is going to feel the impact of the Governments strategy. This is just plain nuts.

• Martin Mc Cormack 02/11/11 #
      Report this comment

I hope mine is in there for bit of that, it wasn’t such a gamble really given the overtures coming from brussels last year, doubt if they will reinvest in similar though. Buying Irish bank shares a few years ago would have been considered very prudent.

• Niamh Byrne 02/11/11 #
      Report this comment

Thats what I thought too but they aren’t…mostly banks, read above post from sean where bondholders are named, makes depressing reading, we are robbing the poor to give to the rich.

• Niamh Byrne 02/11/11 #
      Report this comment

Sean o’keefe post…

• Sean O'Keeffe 02/11/11 #
      Report this comment

You could always put it in a fund here and have the state pilfer your nest egg.
      Ask the Tara miners.

• Philip Bellew 02/11/11 #
    Report this comment

The bond repayment by Anglo Irish Bank will net a windfall profit for the unidentified high risk investors, who bought the bonds in the secondary market.
    The bonds were trading as low as 52 cents on the euro in recent months, said Suki Mann, credit strategist at Societe Generale. That means any investors who bought them at those levels are poised for a windfall. The offer “represents, quite obviously, a fantastic return for holders,” added Mann.

This is from the Financial Times.

• John Murphy 02/11/11 #
    Report this comment

Our relationship with the EU has always been characterized by a sycophantic, forelock tugging deference to our so called ‘European partners’. For ‘structural fund’ and ‘CAP reform’ payments etc. (along with the European Parliament gravy train for Pee Flynn and his like) we sold out our fisheries and natural resources to wider capitalist interests. We made a few token gestures towards liberalizing our outdated laws and constitution to make ourselves look grownup in the wider European light.
    This payout to bondholders is just another step in line with our previous cow-towing for favour. At least the Greeks are respected by their Government and are allowed to ballot on tokens handed out by a self appointed Federal authority.

• McNultyitis 02/11/11 #
    Report this comment

No loss, they’re useless anyways. All Sinn Fein ever does is oppose everything.

• Noddy Mooney 02/11/11 #
      Report this comment

Are you suggesting we shouldn’t have an opposition? Are you suggesting that SF should not represent the views of those that voted for them?

Report this comment

Face. Palm.

• Conor Foley 02/11/11 #
      Report this comment

Opposition Party Opposes government!

Good grief.

What next? A bears sh1ts in a wooded area?

• Martin Mc Cormack 02/11/11 #
      Report this comment

they are in power in the north, but also in the lucky position of being not responsible for fiscal matters, they can blame london when there’s no money

• McNultyitis 03/11/11 #
      Report this comment

Of course we should have an opposition, I just think Sinn Fein only ever says they’re against everything. They say they’re against cutbacks, taxes, the bailout etc. I think we need more genuine solutions from opposition not sound bites like “bailout the people, not the banks”.

• Conor Foley 03/11/11 #
      Report this comment

When did Sinn Féin say they were opposed to cutbacks and taxes? Perhaps you should to do some research before making such silly statements.

• Michael Nolan 03/11/11 #
      Report this comment

Such a lazy and facile comment which just goes to highlight the level of ignorance that passes for political discourse in this sad little country of ours. No wonder another generation of Gombeen men and women have been elected as our government here in the 26 counties – carrying out the exact same policies that were roundly rejected by the people last February. Please at least read up on the policies of all political parties – including Sinn Féin – before posting comments that make absolutely no sense whatsoever! For the record Sinn Féin is the only party in Leinster House to have produced substantive arguments and fully costed alternatives to the ‘austerity’ measures being implemented by Fine Gael and Labour and before them by Fianna Fáil since the beginning of the financial crisis. The party isn’t ‘opposed’ to everything. It is opposed to reckless economic policies that will punish the most vulnerable in society and further depress the economy while rewarding those who caused the economic crisis in the first place – domestic and international speculators and gamblers.

• Fred FedUp 02/11/11 #
    Report this comment

This may be the original bond agreement and it looks like it was Citibank who took out the bond http://www.ise.ie/debt_documents/Anglo%20Irish%20339_13601.pdf but like said by so many it may have been sliced and diced and sold on god knows how many times (and my understanding of the bond agreement may be wrong and if so please correct me)…What is interesting though is that just last week Citibank paid out $285m to settle a fraud case – they didn’t say they were guitly but paying 285m certainly paints a picture.. http://www.financeenquiry.com/tag/citibank-civil-fraud-charges/ If they do still retain any of that bond I’m sure someone should point out to Enda, that we, the Irish people, whilst being defrauded, are facilitating fraud..

• Shay Murphy 02/11/11 #
    Report this comment

Fine Gael / Labour failed too
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/xshayx/5211461215/

• olive skin 02/11/11 #
    Report this comment

shame on you enda kenny shame on you

• Daniel Doran 02/11/11 #
    Report this comment

I am waiting for SF to offer up an alternative. They never offer any suggestions, just complain.

The ECB’s position on this €700 bondholder payment is”trenchant”. They are our paymasters and we can’t run the country without the loans they give us, because we are BROKE. This is the reality of the disastrous actions of the previous government.

If we took SF’s advice and defaulted on this payment we’d piss off the ECB and lose a lender, then what would we run the country with? Do SF plan to fund the exchequer by selling Bobby Sands T-Shirts to Americans? SF and posters on here need to get real, real quick.

• Kerry Blake 02/11/11 #
      Report this comment

In fairness we might have found out what alternatives SF have if the government had agreed to hold a debate on the payment of the the bond. I doubt very much the ECB would have stopped lending even if we had defaulted. They will be paying over something like €8 billion to the Greeks later this month and that’s even after the new plan for the Greeks to have a referendum on the bailout.

The reality is that the EU can not afford any country to go wallop as the threat to such countries as Italy or Spain is too great. Bottom line is the ECB would have continued paying. Of course the bright sparks in our government haven’t copped that.

• Cal Mooney 02/11/11 #
      Report this comment

Daniel, its not just SF that have advocated reneging on unsecured debt. SF has acknowledged that it must pay off secured debt (that was rightly or wrongly secured by the last Government). Unsecured debt is not a pre-requisite to any loan agreements we have with the Troika. Its is not written into any legal agreemtn full stop. FF/FG/Labour are being told verbally by their EU masters, that the must pay unsecured debt, all the while France is getting EU funds to bail out French banks that have exposure to Greek Bank fallout. So, its a case that the French are telling us to do what they say, but not what they do.
      All the senior international econmonists are rubbing their eyes in disbelief at the actions of our Government. They are saying it doesnt make any sense whatsoever. Even independent Irish economists are saying that the Governments plan is crazy. The alternative is to tell the EU that we will honor all Government secured debt, but that is it. On top of that, we must ask the EU to reduce this secured det burden, in the same manner they have reduced the Greek debt burden. France would have been in exactly the same boat as us in the last 2 months, if the French banks had not received a massive bailout by the EU Central bank. The French banks were at hig-risk of collapse if this had not happened. The only difference is that the French situation and ours, is that sarkozy emphatically told the EU that the French people would not pay for the bailout.
      If you listen to the Government, we hve no choice. But we do … We are still complying to our loan agreement from the Troika, even if we dont pay the unsecured debt. So our banks dont run out of money, the way the Irish Government parties (FF/FG/Labour) are telling us they will.

Report this comment

@ Kerry there is nothing stopping SF from going to the media or publishing alternatives on their website. During leader’s questions Gerry Adams could have (but didn’t) offer up an alternative. The fact that the debate was voted down means other TDs weren’t inclined to give them time to grand stand and, complain, insult, and offer no constructive alternatives. This has been the trend established by SF when they are indulged.

You doubt that the ECB would have stopped lending? You DOUBT? Is that a risk you’re willing to take, to gamble with the funding of our country? How about getting some evidence first. As far as the Greeks go, that default was negotiated WITH the ECB, not without them like you are suggesting. Enda and this government went to the ECB, they said “no”.

The E.U., can and will cut out member states it can not afford to bail out.

@ Cal mooney

Cal, with what money do we run the country with if we default. It is a very simple question.

• Cal Mooney 02/11/11 #
      Report this comment

@Daniel, we have a legally binding loan agreement with the Troika that says we must pay secured debt. its also says that we must reduce our spending deficit to sustainable levels by 2015. We are on course to do this, through the Austerity regime we have embardhed upon. We are expecting to be at approx 8.6% in 12 months.
      The Troiks has agreed to continue lending to us, as long as we continue on this journey.
      So, if the Government decides not to pay unsecured debt, what justification would the Troika have for pulling the plug on a legally binding agreement?
      Are you saying the Troika would stop giving the money out of spite? How would they justify that to the world bankers? Seriouly, tray and explain to teh world, that while the Irish Government met every milestone on its bailout plan, the troika decides to pull the plug mid-way. How do you think the world markets will react to that? The French will never be able to borrow a penny on open markets for at least 10 years.
      Please tell me where you see the flaw in my argument.

• 02/11/11 #
      Report this comment

yeah, their solution is to not burden the taxpayer with this bull, and tell the unguaranteed bondholders to take a hike, this little gamble didnt pay off!

Report this comment

Daniel – to be clear from the outset, I’m a dismayed, wavering lifelong Labour supporter.

I do think that this warranted a debate, there’s an important point at issue – should we, the taxpayers, blindly fund the gambling debts of a global elite?

Under what circumstances should we renege or insist on a haircut?

What portion of the “national” debt is possibly negotiable, per Troika?

You may look at it as Sinn Féin grandstanding, but I would be very interested to see the government justify paying unsecured speculators out of the public coffers. I remain to be convinced that there are any cogent reasons as to why this should be done.

• mike 02/11/11 #
    Report this comment

Who are these Bondholders we are Bailing out? And how come they will take the money when the banks make good. Name th epeople the taxpayer are paying for……more Fat Cats i suppose.

• James Dunne 02/11/11 #
    Report this comment

I am so sick of Sinn Fein, all they’re interested in is pulling stupid stunts so the can get top billing on the Six One news. The ECB whether we like it or not is enabling the state to function and as Minister Noonan and the Taoiseach have said they are firmly against Ireland not paying this bondholder payment, I’m sure they could shout and scream all they want at Mr Draghi but it won’t make a blind bit of difference. SF need to grow up and start acting like adults and deal with the reality of the situation, that is the country would be flat broke without the ECB, but I suppose reality is not their strongest point.

• Paul 02/11/11 #
    Report this comment

What is it when enda & co where in opp if they where to get in to government how they would tell europe what to and guest what they get into government and all they have turn out to be is yes men for europe we in Ireland should do what Greece is about to and have referendum

Report this comment

Point of order Enda Kenny and Fine Gael reduced the interest rate by two percent and renegotiated the terms, as they campaigned they’d do. They never said they’d “tell Europe what to do”. They never even implied that! They are a pro-Europe party, as are Labour. If that’s news to you then you haven’t been paying attention the last odd 30 years. How about this slogan “Europe, lets be at the heart of it”.

The only anti-Europe party we have in Dail is SF, and they can’t offer up any alternative, let alone a realistic one!

• Noddy Mooney 02/11/11 #
      Report this comment

Point of order?

• John Murphy 02/11/11 #
    Report this comment

Unfortunately there is no alternative – that has ever convinced me in any case.
    We have allowed ourselves to be sucked so deep into the whole Euro project through political and financial affiliation that we can’t get back. That’s the dilemma that faces any Government that attempts to solve this problem. Of course SF and the Independent Alliance are going to be populist in their actions and can afford to. The government however, don’t have that luxury and like any rabbit dazzled by the headlights, can only wait for the bloody mess.

• Mark Rodgers 02/11/11 #
    Report this comment

Ok let’s stop this utter nonsense about Ireland reneging on it’s sovereign undertakings. Sinn Fein is appealing to the lowest levels of a society on this issue. They understand little on these matters other than Bank withdrawals and offer no sane solutions other than a huffy and childish walkout from the Dail.
    Given their years of abstentionist policies we clearly are not going to miss them.
    Can we pause for a moment and visualise the consequences of Ireland defaulting on this payment in the context of a democratic State like Greece about to collapse. For years successive Greek Governments have lied about their economy to ensure their membership of our Euro group only to falter at a time of generosity by partner States.Gerry and his pacesetters wants us to join in their collapse.
    God help us

Report this comment

Unsecured creditors don’t get on great in any bankruptcy/liquidation, I think you’ll find.

If we can get away without paying tranches of “national debt” such as this, then let’s not. Or if there are pressing reasons, let’s attempt to negotiate more favourable terms.

But, I think the onus is squarely on the Government to justify paying out this money, and it is very worrying that there was no debate or persuasive argument put forward … to quote Enda, “Paddy likes to know what the story is”.

• Eileen Gabbett 03/11/11 #
      Report this comment

Mark Rodgers@ ” the lowest levels of a society ” What an appalling comment !

• David Cullen 02/11/11 #
    Report this comment

Banks to get no more money not a penny !!! Lol

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5LTCT7QIeP8&sns=em

• Chris Mcdonnell 02/11/11 #
    Report this comment

Enda and Gilmore both campaigned on a burn the bond holders ticket, yet they bend over to pay unsecured bonds that belong to the criminals in Anglo.
    If paying this bond was the right thing to do then why can’t the people elected to run our country debate this? I suggest it’s because they can’t rightly come out and say “we are taking it up the bum as we always do “

• David Green 03/11/11 #
    Report this comment

I just can’t help wondering if members of FG are some of the bond holders and that is why they insist on paying them. Just a thought !

Add New Comment