TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Monday 20 May, 2013

UN slams France as crackdown on Roma accelerates

Forced evictions are placing Roma families in “highly vulnerable” situations, according to UN human rights experts.

Roma gypsies rest in a camp in Evry, outside Paris, Monday Aug. 27, 2012
Image: Jacques Brinon/AP/Press Association Images

UNITED NATIONS HUMAN rights experts have slammed France for evicting ethnic Roma from makeshift camps across the country without any attempt to make alternative provisions for them.

In a strongly-worded statement, the UN’s Special Rapporteurs on minority issues, migrants, housing and racism made it clear they believe France is in danger of breaching its commitments under international human rights conventions.

“Evictions continue and threaten to place families in highly vulnerable situations,” said Raquel Rolnik, the UN Special Rapporteur on adequate housing.

Human rights standards

“Forced eviction is not an appropriate response and alternative solutions should be sought that conform with human rights standards.”

The UN broadside came hours after police in the Paris suburb of Stains expelled around 500 Roma from a camp that was then razed by bulldozers.

The operation, carried out on public health grounds on the basis of a court order, lifted to around 750 the number of Roma made homeless in different parts of France this week as a result of their camps being dismantled.

French authorities have justified their actions on the grounds that the often squalid camps represent a threat to the health of their inhabitants and, when they are located near roads or rail lines, can be dangerous.

The UN criticised that approach, saying legal safeguards should be in place to ensure children, women and those with illnesses or disability were not left homeless or vulnerable.

“Though these acts are being justified on the basis of unsanitary conditions, few if any visible efforts are being developed to find alternative solutions for these communities, such as improving housing conditions,” Rolnik noted.

Accelerating clearance

France’s Socialist government has defied its critics by accelerating the clearance of camps which are home to an estimated 15,000 Roma across France.

Despite the reservations of several of his colleagues, Interior Minister Manuel Valls has pursued a policy of dismantling the settlements and offering free flights and financial incentives for the Roma to return to their countries of origin.

As well as being criticised on human rights grounds, the policy has been attacked as futile since repatriated Roma can easily return to France under European Union freedom of movement rules.

Valls argues that primary responsibility for the Roma should lie with their countries of origin, where the ethnic minority has faced discrimination and marginalisation for generations.

- © AFP, 2012

Read next:

Comments (63 Comments)

• Dmc 29/08/12 #

Great to see the UN doing what it does best; Writing angry letters!

• Pity the UN don’t step in and do something where people are really in danger of life and limb, Syria comes to mind!

• Why don’t any of the UN officials take a Roma family into their home. I’m sure they have large homes. See how that goes.

• France & any other country do not owe Romas anything.

• “A welfare state is frightened of every poor person who tries to get in and every rich person who tries to get out.”
    Harry Browne

• Well Done France

• they’d be given a house and the dole here .. come in come in we”re broke but f@&k it

• That’s the spirit !

• Absolutely agree.

• The UN smack France on the wrist..wow!!….Bet when It comes to asking France for its soldiers to go and police some Fkd up country in need of assistance…..it will all be forgotten.When it comes to asking France for its money to keep the UN going….it will be all forgotten.When it comes to dealing with a real humanitarian problem, it will be forgotten.When it comes to remembering what the organisation was set up for in the first place…well that is definitely forgotten.

• I live next door to a family of Roma, these ones know every trick in the book however I will say that they do work hard for very much less than minimum wage (when there is work) and they have managed to build a house back home in Romania (despite being refugees from that country) with the help of the Social Welfare, the family is also increasing nicely in size.

• Romas are a very large minority group and they are citizens of various EU counties. Here’s what I know from friends and people that worked in Romania. Romanian Romas were refugees when Ceausescu was president there (like a mini Hitler, wanted to isolate and possibly exterminate). However, after 1989 and certainly since 2007, they are no longer refugees. And they are not a 2nd class citizens. The majority choose to live in their ancient ways, although there have been made efforts to give them access to education. My friends living there tell me romas tend to behave badly on a larger scale in their country of origin. They are people like the rest of us and when the solution to the problems they create everywhere in the world ( not only Europe, many crossed the oceans long ago) has a somehow “violent” coating, the consequences are never good and productive. And,so you know, I believe Ireland is the first and biggest in humanitarian response, not France really. The French don’t want to learn about the Romas just in case of finding a solution; besides, if it is swept under the rug, the problem is like it never was. Some are really poor no matter where they live; also, the poor ones are not leaving the country of origin without financial assistance and the option of paying back the debt with interest. Just watched on 3e a show called Ireland’s bogus beggars. Somehow illuminating.

• Leaf and book come to mind….

• Was in France in June and right beside where I was staying a gap was forced in a fence and within 20 minutes the locals had new neighbours, about 50 vans and caravans of Roma type travelling people.

Just like here, nobody wants these temporary campsites in their locality. The local people were afraid to leave their homes and their children were stopped from playing outside, etc etc.

So, what have the French done that any other nation wouldn’t have. Send em packing and keep them on the move until they head for home. Vive la France.

• “rats”, “sub-humans” – You agree with that?

• Nappy 29/08/12 #

travellers are glad there in country they Give them a good name

• Great news viva la France

• Popcorn 29/08/12 #

Remind me again….. is the UN not the organisation set up because its predecessor the League of Nations was joke? Great to see things have changed.

Big countries like France couldn’t give a shite about the UN.

• If they worked and payed their way there wouldn’t be half as much hatred towards them .they are not disliked for no reason.no country on earth wants them It’s their problem and unless they try to improve their rep and start paying their way then nothing will or should change

• William, bad human behaviour does not make them inhuman. Every one of those examples you have cited can be applied to dozens of other cultures and to the Irish some time within the last century.

Mick, many people aren’t like you or me. That doesn’t mean they aren’t people.

Seriously lads, I hate to prove Godwin’s law but if you honestly cannot see any similarity between these attitudes and the rhetoric being spouted here then you need to redo your junior cert history course.

Membership or descent from a culture with sexist values or a history of bad behaviour is not merit for deportment or excommunication. It is merit for provision of education along with every other man, woman and child that lives in this country. Your first thought on seeing a Romani child begging or stealing at a luas stop should not be “bloody subhumans”, it should be “why is that child not in school?” and if you can come up with an answer that the state should not have a solution to then you need to wonder about the hundreds of other children of Murphys, Delaneys, Morrisseys, Fitzgeralds, McCarthys & Dunphys that are also not in school that day or the next or the next or the next.

You cannot, I repeat cannot, dismiss an entire people in this manner. It is ignorant, selfish, dismissive and it is, at best, dangerous and, at worst, criminal.

• Well said, Stephanie. I’ve never thought I would have to defend Roma’s rights to be considered human beings and this is certainly the first time I have done so but seeing so much blatant hatred towards a group of people and with some much green thumbs up for such comments I feel compelled to remind my countrymen that it wasn’t long ago we were depicted as “subhuman” and “pests” and faced discrimination as refugees and immigrants.

• @Step

“Your first thought on seeing a Romani child begging or stealing at a luas stop should not be “bloody subhumans”, it should be “why is that child not in school?” and if you can come up with an answer that the state should not have a solution to then you need to wonder about the hundreds of other children of Murphys, Delaneys, Morrisseys, Fitzgeralds, McCarthys & Dunphys that are also not in school that day or the next or the next or the next.”

Its the parents fault at first that there kids aren’t attending school.I was talking to a few friends from Romania they told me that in their country Roma Adults teach their kids how to beg and Rob from a very young age,Yes I agree many Irish kids skip school but never really see any begging and harassing people on the streets.I have had many experience with people robbing and begging while I was running a shop.I’ve lost count of many of time it was mostly Roma gypsies stuffing there netted skirts with everything.At one stage I had to move nappies and baby food behind the counter,then customers got scared of from Roma Ladies begging the customer queues.

A few months ago my Father was surrounded by around four Roma on O’Connell St crying with cups asking for money,My Father was at this stage a bit frighten told them “No”,Then he got an awful abuse and one “Lady” spat on his back.

Never see any other humans as Sub-human or as Rats.I say there is decent Roma people in this country but everybody I’ve talked to have had nothing but bad experience’s with Roma Gypsies either from Harassment,Begging,Robbing and Theft and settling on private property and making a mess.
      I’m not sure how Roma Gypsies can fix people’s views against them but as things continue things will never change.

• Eugene, I can’t say I’ve ever had a positive experience with a person who appeared to me to be a Romani person either, because I haven’t. But like you I don’t discount them as a people and I agree it’s their parents fault that these children aren’t in school. The problem is that the parents were never sent to school either. If anything can be done to put a halt to a cyclical culture of poverty like this then it can be done through education.

The state needs to adopt a system to cater for these kids and for the kids of travelling families. Travelling communities have always existed in Ireland and the fact that we haven’t come up with an education system that caters to them is baffling to me, it’s not like the country is even that big for feck sake. My biggest problem with the conduct of the French here is their failure to offer an alternative. We cannot simply criticise the way a culture works without even attempting to offer a solution.

How hard would it be to host a distance learning classroom for traveller children? Give every family a dongle and a laptop and hold internet classrooms, the laptop isn’t even necessary, we could set up one room web schools in towns throughout Ireland.

• I’m fairly horrified at the racist bile that has been posted in response to this article. Did a web search for all of the previously mentioned prosecuted crimes “committed by Roma”- lots of Irish names coming up for intimidating older people & stealing their money for example. Of course there’s also Marioara Rostas, a young Roma girl who was kidnapped , tortured and murdered by, yep, one of our own home grown psychopaths. These comments are appalling :(

• What about Syria yas UN plonkers!!

• I’d sooner be robbed daily than have to put up with sharing the same air as someone who refers to another person as ‘sub human’. We’ve heard that rhetoric before.

• This is why the EU sadly fails. France, one of the largest and most influential nations that drives EU policy, defies EU law by kicking out EU citizens (from Eastern European nations the EU encouraged to join) that can easily return again, all to make a cheap populist win for the French electorate.

• Or is it just possible, having realised their mistake, the French have said “mon dieu, what have we done? Could the other European countries be right in what they are saying about these Roma, get rid of zem.”

• Problem with that is “these Roma” are citizens of these “other European countries”.

• These Roma that we refer to are, generally, gypsies from Romania and it’s no coincidence that they cause the same problems everywhere they go. They are known internationally for their “light fingered” abilities and are often proud of this so regardless of where they’re from most people would want them sent back and not have their country’s problems exported.

• If this article was specifically about Roma crimes then you would have a point but this is about Roma as a people in general, and how they, as EU citizens of Romania, Czech Rep. and other EU nations are being kicked out by opportunistic French politicians, the same ones who went full gusto into enlarging the EU into such nations in the first place (so France and Germany can buy up as much as they could). This isn’t just, this is breaking EU law we should all be adhering to just to make a cheap political victory.

Yikes, I’m no fan of political correctness but the amount of Antiziganism on this page worries me.

• Dave 30/08/12 #

Agreed Stephen, it is worrying. I’m no fan of political correctness, but as you say, fact is they are breaking EU law, and contemptuously so it would appear.

• To be honest, I’d rather you and Stephen McPartlin left the country. Two vile disgusting bigots.

• Don’t know whats worse, the blatant racist comments that Heidrich himself would be proud of, or the amount of people who think thats ok. Shower of ignorant Nazi clowns. Seriously Journal, does “sub human” and “rats” not qualify a comment being deleted.

• Nice to all that bigotry on display..seems we’re well on the way to a united Ireland…under the greenwashed orange order…now go with your thumbs down, ye rancid racist fascists.
    Ignorance I can live with..but pride in ignorance is a decidedly Irish speciality.

• howzat 31/08/12 #

Live beside then numptie you havnt a bog when you do we can compare horror stories

• Horror stories?I know a few of them, and have lived among them in Europe. Civil, cheerful and clean neighbours they proved. I would choose their company before an ignorant bigot like yourself. But then I met plenty of neo-fascist racists on the continent also(they share your need for anonymity)….relax a little..judging by the thumbs, you are in the majority…might smooth your ruffled xenophobia.

• “The UN criticised that approach, saying legal safeguards should be in place to ensure children, women and those with illnesses or disability were not left homeless or vulnerable.”

Nice to see that the UN don’t mind, then, if Men are left homeless and vunerable……

• Hitler would have been proud of the racist bigots commenting on here tonight. The Roma are actually human beings – just like you and me!

• Are they? They don’t behave like it.

• I’d be hard pressed to categorise your comments as human either Jonathan, but since you’re (probably) a living breathing human being then I am forced to reluctantly admit that you are, in fact, a human, even if you are a terrible excuse for one.

• Stephanie, your comments are inaccurate. Jonathan effectively said they don’t behave like most other people and in that he’s correct.

Is it human to attack other humans with slash hooks? Is it human to marry off your children at 16 years of age? Do you think women in these sects are treated with respect? A large proportion of crime is committed by so called gypsies, far greater than among the rest of the population. Is it “human” to torture some 80 year old bachelor farmer in the middle of nowhere to get him to admit where the money for his funeral is hidden? Do you want me to go on?

• No they are not like you or me they have a completely different set of values and a completely different thought process, if you want to know them go live with them I think you will change your mind about them fairly quickly.

• They are not human

• Pathetic racism, Stephen.

• They are EU citizens,they should be treated to the same rights as all EU citizens,not kicked from pillar to post and sent back to a country that treats them like 2nd class citizens.

• Then let them live like European citizens by paying taxes, not squatting on other peoples land etc!

• Well said tony, just like the gypsies here too

• Dave 30/08/12 #

I don’t understand how Croistoir’s comment received so many thumbs down. He simply stated that they should be treated with the same rights as all EU citizens are entitled to. They are very easy to knock. It’s exactly this same apathy to the way in which they are being unilaterally and unsympathetically treated today that lead to the murder of some 20,000 Roma Gypsies in Auschwitz alone during WW2.

It’s also Ironic that a minority group such as we Irish that has been derided and discriminated against in many countries to which we have emigrated over the past 150 years could direct the same sentiments to another minority group so readily. It’s tantamount to casual racism. Who cares if they don’t pay taxes, they still don’t deserve to be mass migrated against their will, and if someone thinks they should, they would do well to have some foresight as to the potential final repercussions of such a thought, and it’s hypocrisy.

• howzat 31/08/12 #

Please god you get to live beside them I’m saying a prayer hers hoping

• JTHM 29/08/12 #

So nice to see that the ideals of national socialism are so loyally supported in today’s Ireland. Sickening.

• Please try harder….maybe one day you will get it right. Reply to what is said, not to what you think has been said.

• JTHM 29/08/12 #

And thus spake the combined voice of all commenters made flesh in a single form. Bit of an expanded ego, I think. You elected you the spokesman. As for the comments and thumb-action here, do ‘t even try to justify the unjustifiable. There an obvious outpouring of bigoted, callous, malignant filth. If you agree with it, at least stand up for your position and agree with it. If you disagree with it, condemn it. For such a self-assured individual you are very quick to feel slighted. The only thing worse than a hater is a dishonest hater. Watching the Jay and Silent Bob Live London show right now, ten words of which is more life-affirming than any of the “poor us being screwed by the mean and nasty ECB but let’s all get together and sh*t on another European culture” drivel here. It’s all acceptable as long as it’s not me, isn’t that about the size of it?

• Dave 30/08/12 #

I’m actually shocked that someone would be so brazenly racist and receive such support. To assume a persons worth is determined by their contribution to society’s utterly ridiculous. Why don’t they just get rid of all disabled, religious, elderly and perhaps Jewish also? Although by your estimation, the Jews by enlarge are contributing to society, so I’m guessing their fine? However the elderly are no longer contributing, so why tolerate them?

Please do right a letter to the Irish Government to let them know how they can take head from France’s brilliant example of how to stamp out the same ‘problem’ in our society.

Perhaps you might be so good as to suggest a sight for the construction of the gas chamber and crematorium also?

Add New Comment