TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Sunday 19 May, 2013

84-year-old woman pepper-sprayed at Occupy Seattle protest

Dorli Rainey, 84, says she won’t stop demonstrating despite being pepper-sprayed and almost trampled in protests supporting Seattle’s Occupy movement.

Dorli Rainey, centre, is assisted after being pepper-sprayed at the Occupy Seattle protest.
Image: AP Photo/seattlepi.com, Joshua Trujillo

AN 84-YEAR-OLD woman who was pepper-sprayed in the face by police during angry confrontations between authorities and Occupy Seattle protesters last night says she is determined to continue demonstrating.

Dorli Rainey had been involved in Seattle politics for decades and once ran for mayor, but dropped out of the race after saying she realised “I am old and should learn to be old, stay home, watch TV and sit still”, the Seattle Times reported in 2009.

She said she checked out last night’s protest in support of the city’s Occupy Wall Street movement while en route to a transport meeting. She told The Stranger:

Well free speech does have its limits as I found out as the cops shoved their bicycles into the crowd and simultaneously pepper sprayed the so captured protesters. If it had not been for my Hero (Iraq Vet Caleb) I would have been down on the ground and trampled. This is what democracy looks like.

The Seattle Post-Intelligencer reports that a pregnant woman and a priest were also pepper-sprayed at the Occupy protest in Seattle last night.

The Occupy Seattle movement posted a message online saying it was “saddened and outraged” at the police’s reaction to the protesters yesterday. They also thanked the city’s fire service “for their assistance with the injured”.

Police said that demonstrators were blocking a street intersection downtown and that six people were arrested. Protesters had marched to the Pine Street and 5th Avenue intersection downtown from their camp at Seattle Central Community College and a number of people refused to move after being ordered to do so by the police.

In a statement today, Seattle Police Department said that pepper-spray was only deployed “against subjects who were either refusing a lawful order to disperse or engaging in assaultive behaviour towards officers”.

- Additional reporting by the AP

Read more: Occupy protesters allowed return to Zuccotti Park >

Read: Christy Moore visits the Occupy Dame St camp >

Read next:

Comments (47 Comments)

• So, let me get this straight, a priest a pregnant woman and an 84 year old woman were “refusing a lawful order to disperse or engaging in assaultive behaviour towards officers” so they got pepper sprayed? Yeah those priests are tricky, and pregnant women… don’t get me started, but the ones you really have to watch out for are the 84 year old ladies, they’re downright nasty, geriatric ninja’s, they sneak up on you and BANG! Before you know it you’re an officer of the law and you’re assaulted, getting carted off to hospital with a case of ASSOL (assaulted by an old lady), your career in tatters, your lung in your pocket. Yeah, never turn your back on an 84 year old lady.
    Are they for fooking real??

• Horrible stuff, the cops are not doing themselves any favors with this sort of carry on. How could anyone do something like that to an 84 yo lady..

• seems that the police feel no shame overthere

• They’re following “orders”

What we should be asking is where these orders are coming from and from whom?

Terrible carry-on from the police – what a great lady to be still so active – hope I’ll be as able if I reach her age.

• As much as I agree with you that this is most likely the case, the “I was just following orders” line is the most pathetic excuse for justification on the planet. If your orders are to do something immoral, then perhaps you should rethink your membership of that body.

In the case of the police, they have a difficult and unenviable role, but they should still have the brain power to be able to tell when their actions are going too far. There are plenty of ways to interact with and contain a peaceful protest.
      Spraying an 84 year old woman with pepper spray wouldn’t be one of them..

• ““I was just following orders” line is the most pathetic excuse for justification on the planet”….

Couldn’t agree with you more Shanti.
      Disgraceful carry-on

• The good police get a bad name because of these power tripping bullies. Shame on them but it is a worrying growing trend around the world.

• RDX862 16/11/11 #

This is the main problem with these non-lethal weapons. The police will use a tazer or pepper spray much faster than they would beat somebody with a baton. If you look at the pictures on the Seattle Times link above you see the cops just casually pepper spraying into the crowd.

• U cannot tar all police with the same brush they r people wev all workd with dickheads aswell as nice people its the law of averages

• I would love to read that ‘recent study’ u made up.. Sorry, that was conducted

• Err folks this is exactly as described, the police used push bikes to push the protestors and corral them, they began to spray them willy nilly with hand held cannister type CS sprayers. See for yourself.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dLWvAZC7dwU

• Dead on Brian, that guy talking to the camera, must of been sprayed with piss. It certainly wasn’t Pepper spray. You wouldn’t be giving an interview for at least three to fours hours after the event.

• Disgusting.

• As someone who is totally against these protests i have to say i am shocked at the police behavior in this case. I support the police 100% as a law abiding citizen but to spray an old woman is just abhorrent. I hope she recovers well.

• Would also like to hear more about the 2916 rising, what manor of creature was that against?

• @neille well said! I would guess the crowd was pepper sprayed and granny in the middle refusing police orders!! Press grabbing!!

• Eaxactly, press grabbing. The article should read ‘crowd pepper-sprayed’. The crowd just happened to include an old woman. This woman who was there of her own free will and refused to move, the police intervention wasn’t without warning.
      Some people seem to think that an officer walked up her her for no reason and sprayed her in the face.

• well done mister policeman
    your a credit to your police force…
    i wonder did they kick all those people when they were on the ground …..

• They do sadly.. Sure even over here passers by are ripe for a beating if the cops are out dealing with a peaceful protest, and in comparison to the US our guys are a bunch of teddy bears..

• @ Neille
    Spot on, Congrats on speaking perfect sense and understanding the situation realistically

• I loved her comment –” if you screw with us,we multiply”

• Regardless of her age, it has been all over the news all over the country for at least a week or more that at almost every “occupy” site there have been troubles and sometimes violence. She willingly went to this protest and clearly had marched with them from their camp site to the intersection in question. It seems you all assume that some police officer, who is most likely half her age and (whether any of you like it or not following orders to clear said intersection) looked this woman in the eye and thought “Oh crap I had better take Granny down before she gets me!”. Accept facts not just knee jerk reactions.

A: In cases such as this the pepper spray is usually dispersed from a water cannon type instrument not a personal pepper spray can, there is no eye contact, the police do not even know who is being hit with the stuff.

B: This woman voluntarily walked to that intersection she was not dragged there by the police just so they could teach her a lesson. If she is so up on the news she knew full well there was a chance of danger and put herself willing in the midst.

C: Those of you calling for the officers to question their orders, really? Really? That is what you want? A police force full of officers who obey the orders they feel like obeying and not the ones they don’t personally like? Talk about a fast track to anarchy.

D: More than half of this so called police harassment is instigated by the protesters in order to keep this farce in the news and to get sympathy. All they had to do was move to the sidewalk out of the street. However, as a group they refused and more than likely goaded more than a few off of the sidewalks onto the streets.

• When I said they should question their orders I am speaking of morals.

I was on Dame St the day a load of cops not wearing their ID numbers came out and started beating people indiscriminately with batons. A friend was brought to the ground by a foot to the back of the knee, he was then hit on the back of the head. All this as he was passing by on his way to the pub.

A bearded man not too far away was shouting “just sit down, and stay quiet – do not react!” and he was smacked over the head with a baton, I saw blood.

People were badly beaten that day and I saw with my own eyes that it was unprovoked.

You say she went to the protest knowing violence had erupted at the others – but much of that violence has originated on the police side.. If you think you are getting the whole story from the same media that maintained an all “black out” on the protests for the first portion of them then there is a high probability that you are mistaken.

The movement is not perfect. There have been infiltrations left, right and centre, I am not suggesting that this is not a factor.. But really – have you ever actually witnessed this sort of behaviour first hand? It is a rather shocking eye opener.

If the police forces opened fire on the protesters with rubber bullets, tear gas, or actual gun fire – would “they were just following orders” be a good enough excuse? (it has happened in other countries).. There are more positive and effective ways of dealing with peaceful protesters. Perhaps attempting to open dialogue with them would be a better idea, after all, it is the point of peaceful protest.

• There was a name for these kinda ‘police’ in Germany in the Late 30s/Early 40s…… Fascism has come to America. They protect the mafia on wall street.

• All I know is if she were my 84 year old relative I would be furious. I would be in place next to her and support her. Amazing woman.

• Ah come on, that’s a LITTLE bit funny!

• i for one understood what you were saying, nevermind that character from batman, id love gotham city for himself

• The 2916 rising! that typo kind of sums up youre ill informed rant

• Like they feel shame here? F**kin scummers either way

• BJ 16/11/11 #

Only two weeks ago an off-duty Garda was pulled out of the river having gone into harms way to assist his community.

Was he ‘scum’?

You, pal, are an idiot!

• BJ get back in your box I was calling the police involved in this incident, and as for Garda Jones, people like him no are exceptional citizens regardless of their occupation

• Another example of over the top nonsense and over reaction from the police. They should give them a dose of some common sense salts!

• Never going back again, took 10 years from 9/11 to destroy personal rights.
    It’s finished, even commentators like Genk Yugur have finally have come go Jessie Ventura’s understanding that there is no democracy in the US anymore, just lobbyist interests and corrupt politicians.
    Any event that would threaten these corporate interests must be put down.
    Really quite sad, was a great country live in.

Add New Comment