TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 15 °C Monday 20 May, 2013

No psychiatrists outside Dublin to assess suicidal pregnant women

Dr Anthony McCarthy of the National Maternity Hospital said that there is a wrong assumption that women will try to manipulate psychiatrists by saying they are suicidal in order to have a termination.

Image: Shutterstock/

THERE ARE JUST three psychiatrists in Ireland who specialise in dealing with women who are pregnant and suicidal, a situation which has been described today as “appalling”.

Dr Anthony McCarthy, Consultant Psychiatrist at the National Maternity Hospital, made the comment while speaking to RTÉ’s Morning Ireland. He will appear before the Oireachtas committee on abortion legislation and regulation, which  can be streamed live here.

Dr McCarthy said that the idea that women might pretend to be suicidal in pregnancy is something that women should be deeply offended by. He said that while there is a small number of women who will try to manipulate for different reasons:

the assumption out there is that nearly all women are like that in pregnancy and the reality is that the vast majority of women who will present to us in situations like this are not manipulating, are not exaggerating.

He said these women are “genuinely distressed, genuinely depressed and genuinely suicidal”.

The consultant psychiatrist also clarified that being suicidal doesn’t mean women want to kill themselves, but they may be terrified of having suicidal thoughts.

Pejorative

Dr McCarthy said there is a “pejorative mood out there” that psychiatrists will be easy to manipulate, and said that though sometimes they may get it wrong, in general psychiatrists are experts and assess risk in all situations.

He also said that a very small number of women will experience suicidal ideation, but that the “vast majority of women”, if they feel that a termination of pregnancy is going to solve their difficulties, are not going to go to a psychiatrist, “they are going to go to the UK, to Northern Ireland” to have a termination.

Dr McCarthy said that on rare occasions he has seen women who have taken an overdose or stabbed themselves to end their life and that of their foetus.

The vast majority of women are not going to go through a process of seeing one, two psychiatrists and an obstetrician, maybe an appeals process. If they really feel they are going to have a termination of pregnancy they are going to to do [it].

Dr McCarthy also said that it is “appalling”  that there are just three psychiatrists specialising in this area in the whole country, all of whom are in Dublin.

He concluded by saying that psychiatrists need to see each pregnant woman individually and in a “non-judgemental, compassionate” way.

LIVE: Oireachtas committee holds hearings on planned abortion law>

Explainer: why the Oireachtas is holding three days of hearings on abortion>

Read next:

Comments (129 Comments)

• Please think about this! If a woman is expressing suicidal thoughts because of being so distressed by her pregnancy, she will find some way to terminate the pregnancy, as Dr McCarthy states in the above article. Either by ending her life (and that of the fetus) or by going to the UK. Are some people really so distrustful of women that the law should be dictated by the vengeful thoughts of a woman ‘getting away with it’?

I think that the possibility of a woman who is so desperate to end her pregnancy in Ireland that she is forced to feign suicidality signals much broader issues of the desire for control over a woman’s body & the lack of value for a woman’s life, as distinct from preserving the life of the so-called ‘unborn chilld’. As it stands right now in Ireland, women are having abortions every day – suicidal, or not.

• Barry 08/01/13 #

You know what,

People can use and abuse any sort of tablet…for example you can kill yourself by overdosing on painkillers. Clearly all pain killers must be made illegal and nobody should be allowed have them regardless that they have have a benefit for people.

This is the argument put forward by many against abortion, it can be abused as such nobody should have it. Its idiotic when you apply it to anything else.

• There are often unintended consequences from things we do every day. Driving a car brings the potential for a crash but it is unintended to have to deal with the ACCIDENTAL consequence

• So are all psychologists sane?

• Agree 100% with Jessica Hyland:)

• All women will on the journal that’s no surprise lol

• Shane you will find that not all women will agree with my views!

Opinions are like arseholes everyone has one:)

I just don’t like men who don’t have a womb having any say on what a woman does with hers!! Nobody knows how they are going to react if they find out they are pregnant (unless its planned)

How many men have said they would be there for the women only to walk into the sunset a few weeks later saying they aren’t ready to be a father and the women has to go through pregnancy alone??? It’s alright for the men to walk away but a women has to suck it up!!

Abortion should be an option it’s the 21st Century for god sakes!!!

• Why would there be…..isn’t Dublin the centre of the universe?……puke

• Doctor McCarthy appears to be a lot more reasonable and open minded than Patricia Casey.

• Use protection! I’m 26 having sex since I was 16! By ur law of averages I should have got a girl pregnant by now! I havnt and do u know why? Because I’m properly carefull! Most unwanted pregnancies are caused true carelessness and no baby deserves to be destroyed for that

• Good for you, but you do know that sometimes contraception fails and that sometimes women and girls become pregnant after being raped?

And are you still using pregnancy as a punishment for ‘careless’ women? Do you think these careless people will make great parents then?

• You must be so proud of yourself Shane. Pat yourself on the back there.

• Just shows u care makes perfection Penelope

• That sentence makes absaloutley no sense. Learn to write correctly before you try discredit years of research concluding that there is no completely infallible method of contraception.

• No there is not as I said already but if I use a condom and she uses a contraceptive the chances of me getting her pregnant and nearly irrelevent! It’s about taking proper care on both sides! If u read the article and my responses I agree with abortion under certain conditions

• You admit that there are no completely and thoroughly reliable methods of contraception. So therefore, the couples that use these types of protection can, although rare, still become pregnant once they are both relatively fertile. Are you denying that is possible? Because if you accept that than I still don’t understand why couples who DO take precautions, who DO exercise responsibility must still be denied a choice because a few ”careless” couples might not. How does that make sense?

• Right if I use a condom and she uses the best form of contraception(some are better then others) and we both take care using them, to answer your question no she won’t get pregnant! I’m not been cocky but I have had lots of sex(since 16 I’m now 26) and by your negative aspects on contraception I should by now have had an “accident” but I havnt so no if both take care she won’t get pregnant

• She might get pregnant Shane. It’s rare but absaloutley possible. You are either ignorant of contraceptive statistics or just trying to outweigh it with your own ridiculous logic. Either way, I’m quite done here.

• Ah stop will ya lol it would want to be some mishap with a bar in her arm and me a condom on for her to get pregnant! Contraception is good and positive on both front! Why look at it mainly negatively?

• Jessica’s u should only have the right to end your pregnancy if pregnant if your life is at risk! If u become pregnant true consensual sex then u have created a life, a child inside u that never asked to be created normally or deserves to be aborted

• Nope, consenting to sex is not the same as consenting to pregnancy. For one thing, I use contraception(and would get a tubal ligation in a heartbeat if I could find a doctor willing to do so). If it failed, I would have an abortion, and luckily since I emigrated to the UK my wishes in that regard are respected.

If you go skiing and break your leg, are you duty-bound to do nothing about it? After all, you consented to the skiing, and that’s a dangerous business.

• Are u trying to say there is no women out there who would try con the area into thinking they were having suicidal thoughts just to get an avortion?

• No ill address my views simply! Under certain circumstances a women should be allowed an abortion, certainly not under all an eg been where she goes out has unprotected sex true carelessness and a child is created! That’s it in a nutshell

• Bullshit m Bowe! A women wouldn’t be pregnant without us

• I never said all women I said there is women out there very good at acting out a situation to get a result

• I see your totally avoiding the topic of having unprotected sex and dealing with the consequences! U do no that a consequence could be a pregnancy don’t you?

• If people are having unprotected sex and not worrying about becoming pregnant, that’s an issue for sex education, not banning abortion. No educated woman would choose to have an abortion over using a condom or taking a pill.

• See that’s where your totally wrong! Education doesn’t come into it for some extra pleasure does

• Being on the Pill doesn’t change sexual pleasure at all. Having a vasectomy doesn’t make sex feel worse. There are plenty of contraceptive options that don’t change how sex feels, and your continued insistence that ‘some people’ are careless hedonistic dolts is a bit insulting to those of us who aren’t but still see the need for abortion services.

• I’m talking about condoms! Both parties should use contraception not just one

• Condoms are just one option, even if sadly it’s still the only non-permanent method available to men. But there are, as I pointed out, plenty of ways to have sex and use contraception without affecting how it feels. If you want STD protection then yes, condoms are your only option.

It all comes down to educating people as to why they should be using contraception and STD protection. Banning abortion isn’t going to change that one iota.

• As I keep saying Jessica if your properly careful on the law of averages u won’t get pregnant

• Aine 08/01/13 #

Shane, could I suggest getting a hobby instead of worrying about hypothetical situations and what women do with their own bodies? Its exhausting to read your comments to be honest.

• Shane, your profile says your life motto is “I do what I want”. So you can do what you want, but them pesky little women better do what you tell them to?
      Also your other motto is “if in doubt, whip it out”
      Don’t even bother wasting time arguing with this immature little boy people.

• The law of averages? You do know those statistics indicate that women /do/ get pregnant while using contraception through no fault of their own, don’t you?

‘It’s really unlikely’ is a crap reason to outlaw women’s rights to bodily integrity.

• All jokes on a fb page do u read everything literally? Lmao

• So ur saying a women should allow a guy to ejaculate inside her and then say when she’s pregnant ” ah sure I can have an abortion”

• I have loads a hobbies Aine I just have an opinion on abortion like many others

• Yes, I’m aware they were meant as “jokes”. That’s why I said immature little boy.

• Plus u weren’t aware lol you read them literally and not how they were intended haha

• So enlighten me, what is the actual joke then?

• U took my comments on my fb page as literally EXACTLY how I do things in life not as 2 lighthearted comments lol

• Hence my comment do u read everything literally as its written lol

• I’m still confused. Still, at least I made you lol a lot, so my day wasn’t a waste.

On the topic at hand, I think your views are plain wrong, thankfully, I also think they are in the minority. But they are your views, you’re entitled to them.
      I’m glad people with the ability to see the grey areas are the ones making the decisions.

• Shane, you seem to have a very low opinion of people in general if you think men and women regularly have reckless unprotected sex and go ‘ah sure we can just have an abortion’ – Abortion is legal in many circumstances in most countries all over the world, and this still doesn’t happen. Educated women will never choose an abortion over an easier, safer and cheaper method of contraception.

The hypothetical situations you’re proposing are practically fantasies.

• Your not confused at all! You thaught my fb comments were exactly intended as written and not 2 lighthearted comments! Plus wait till the referendum that’s if there is one but I’d bet one thing, abortion will not be legalised here under all conditions

• Yes. I really thought you ran around with your willy out.
      Or perhaps I just think anybody who thinks saying that is their motto for life is an immature little boy.
      And, just to help you out, it’s “you’re not your”.

• all those young girls who “accidentally” get pregnant are educated 2 from school! Education doesn’t come into this common sense does! Both as I said already should use protection! A man a condom a woman a pill, coil etc etc! Also as I have said if u have consensual unprotected sex u run the risk of pregnancy something u should deal with after needlessly running that risk! Also It’s not like I don’t agree with abortion! As I have said I deal with it in certain areas!

• Shane, quit getting so excited. Put the exclamation marks down, consider going back to school yourself and improving that awful grammar instead…

Your mistake is that you’re applying your own morality to the lives of women you don’t know, assuming that a woman who wants an abortion is by default selfish, a liar, reckless or stupid. You don’t know anything about her, so kindly quit your excitable hypothetical theorising and let women get on with their lives in peace.

As for “something u should deal with after needlessly running that risk!” – that’s /exactly/ what abortion is. Dealing with an unwanted consequence.

• A consequence that would not have happened if u took proper care! As I already stated the majority of unwanted pregnancies are caused through carelessness whether you want to admit it or not! Bring in abortion under conditions! Some that spring to mind are rape, child detected with severe disability, life of mother at risk and genuine suicidal feelings!

• Or you just take everything literally and seriously as you just have with my fb comments lol! Lighten up a tad

• Actually according to research by BPAS in the UK, most women who request abortion were using contraception when they became pregnant, but it failed for various reasons. That’s not irresponsibility, is it?

Why do you believe in punishing women who made mistakes or just plain got unlucky in the contraception stakes by forcing them to remain pregnant against their wills? Why is abortion permissible in the cases of rape, foetal abnormality, risk to the mother’s life or ‘genuine’ suicidal ideation(vom, btw) but not when the pregnant woman just doesn’t want to be pregnant, doesn’t want/can’t raise a child or doesn’t want to face the risks to her health and her family’s welfare that pregnancy entails?

What is wrong with not wanting to be pregnant, Shane? I’m sure that as a young man you can tell me all of the pros and cons that I surely haven’t considered myself.

• One question u have answered for me yet as this is getting tedious! What about the life of the child growing inside you that you and your partner created?

• Havnt

• What about it? I don’t want it inside of me putting my health at risk, and I can’t just pop it out and put it in a womb-tank to let it grow in there and be adopted eventually, so I’ll have an abortion. That is what my reaction to an unwanted pregnancy would be, and my partner agrees with my stance on the matter. Your opinion has no bearing on /my/ body.

• So you have no problem in killing the life of a child formed through consensual sex?

• As I explained earlier, consenting to sex does not imply that pregnancy is also consented to. So yes, I have exactly zero problem with aborting an unwanted child, particularly when done as early as possible in pregnancy.

• Also that study statistic u gave! It said the female contraceptive did not work properly! Did it say how many of the males were using condoms? I bet not! There is contraception for 2 and this is another case of “unwanted” pregnancies, a woman lettin a bf husband whatever ejaculate inside her just because she’s on a contraceptive, big mistake

• Over 60% were using condoms, actually, and most of the rest were on the pill or had IUDs. It doesn’t say how many were combining condoms with other methods, but even a woman with an IUD, on the pill and using a condom can get pregnant. It’s a small chance, but it’s still a chance.

• And since you demanded I answer your question instead of answering any of mine, here’s one I would like to see your answer to:

What is wrong with not wanting to be pregnant, Shane? I’m sure that as a young man you can tell me all of the pros and cons that I surely haven’t considered myself.

• Exactly just gonna say very minimal, just read infact a 2 % chance so really it’s nearly a no chance! As I have said all along be properly careful male and female and u will be fine! Be careless and face the consequences

• Get your tubes tied or stop having sex or get your partner to have the snip. There is some solutions lol
      Not wanting to be pregnant? U go to every means possible to avoid it, get on the best contraceptive( think bar on arm is very effective) and have him use 2 condoms

• Well, you’re certainly giving me hope for the future of the human race. A lamentable lack of grammatical and spelling prowess and a complete failure to understand the concept of statistics.

2% is in fact a massive percentage. When you’re talking about a population of millions of people having sex, 2% suddenly becomes tens of thousands of unwanted pregnancies. What are you going to say to all those women finding themselves pregnant against their wishes, Shane? ‘Bad luck, you’re having a baby whether you like it or not’?

Continue refusing to engage with reality. Please continue using contraception, as many kinds as you can manage.

• I’d love to get a tubal ligation, but doctors generally refuse to perform them on healthy young childless women, so I have to wait til I’m at least 30 to be considered.

And… oh my god, did you actually suggest using two condoms at once? Did you really just say that? Do you know anything about condoms at all? Using two at once is incredibly stupid because it hugely increases the chance of them both breaking. Don’t do that, ever.

• I will no problem aswel as she does and in the last ten years I have got no girl pregnant and will continue to do so untill I want kids :)

• No condom was joke!
      I’d say ur just one of these women who hasn’t a maternal bone in her body are you? Just an impression I’m getting

• I’m not really the mothering type, no. You keep on not having kids til you want some, and I’ll do the same.

• Now I see why your views are so strong

• Well yes, I’m concerned that my right to control my own reproductive system seems to be completely ignored or sidelined by many in this type of debate. The idea that not only do some women not want children but that falling pregnant will not magically change our minds about it either seems not to occur to some people or is regarded as outright selfishness or inhumanity.

There’s nothing selfish or wrong about not wanting children, but for some reason women who don’t want to be pregnant are regarded as weird or broken – often by men who have no personal role in the whole process of being pregnant anyway.

• Would u tell a potential serious partner that you do not want kids before ye start a serious relationship?

• Absolutely. I would never sleep with someone, much less enter into a long-term relationship with them, unless I was sure they felt the same as I do about potential pregnancy. In my current long-term relationship my partner fully supports my desire not to have children and he feels the same way.

• Jaysus Shane, ten years of sex of and no pregnancy yet.
      Are ya sure you’re doing it right?
      Are you on your own when you’re having all this sex? Cause that doesn’t count ya know.

• That’s perfect so! Both of ye in the one position

• I’m just careful and sensible and so are the girls I’m with! Unlike those who have “unwanted” pregnancies lol

• Wow, you really don’t get it do you? Unwanted pregnancies happen to plenty of careful and sensible people. In fact, they mostly happen to careful and sensible people. They are not the sole preserve of irresponsible or stupid people – as you are so helpfully demonstrating.

I hope you never have to deal with an accidental pregnancy, your head might explode from the sheer impossibility of such a thing happening to someone being ‘careful’…

• Unwanted pregnancies don’t happen to the male and female who both use contraceptives! Going by your theory( as i have said allready I’d have gotten a girl pregnant by now but I havnt because I’m properly careful and they are and no carelessness is inhibited

• Once again: contraceptives can and do fail, and it has nothing to do with how careful you are whether they do or not. Unless you literally never have sex or are totally infertile, there is always a chance you could get your partner pregnant.

I hope you are both in agreement about what you’d do if it ever happens to you, and I wish you’d cop on and realise what an eejit you sound assuming it could never possibly happen to you and that everyone who has ever had an unwanted pregnancy is just careless.

• I no it could happen and for it to definitely not happen I should stop having sex and everyone at that matter but me using a CONDOM and her on a CONTRACEPTIVE both at same time the chances are very very minimal unless your a complete dimwit with the uses of contraception! And you saying most unwanted pregnancies come when both parties are takin care is bullshit pure horse manure

• Right, because you know for sure that all those thousands of unplanned pregnancies that happen every year are caused by sheer idiocy. In which case, I’m frankly astonished you’ve not managed it yourself yet.

• Caused by idiocy or only one partner using a contraceptive! As I said already I’m careful, I use it, she uses it, im careful with any girl and make sure she is 2 before going there! Might be tedious and less enjoyable when I use a condom but it stops pregnancies!

• Not good enough Colin! U would have women out there who can put on an act as good as any! What was it I once heard! “Carrying the life of your child inside you is one of the best feelings a woman can get”

• Of course there is, I have no doubt but u do have some who manipulate the situation! How do u tell the difference of who genuine and whose milking the area?

• A man and woman are married! She falls pregnant true consensual unprotected sex, he wants the child she doesn’t! A potential relationship destroyer! She had unprotected sex ran the risk of a pregnancy deal with the consequences

• I’m sure all women get depressed at a stage during a 9 month pregnancy carrying a child inside them for that leght and besides it supposedly being one of the best feelings for a women I’m sure there is a point of depression to for all!

• Not every woman wants children, so not all of us would feel like pregnancy is ‘one of the best feelings for a women’. It has its risks and downsides, which are willingly faced by women who do want to be pregnant – but shouldn’t be forced on those who don’t.

Dismissing serious depression as a ‘stage’ is what leads to suicides…

Add New Comment