TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 19 °C Wednesday 19 June, 2013

Sinn Féin attacks comments linking party to paramilitary-style shooting

Sinn Féin says Peter Robinson’s comments, after the arrest of Seán Kelly, are “clearly ludicrous”.

The devastation of the Shankill Road bomb in 1993.
Image: MCCULLOU/PA Archive/Press Association Images

Updated, 18:47

SINN FÉIN has criticised Northern Ireland’s First Minister, Peter Robinson, after the DUP leader expressed concerns about possible links between Sinn Féin and a paramilitary-style shooting in Ardoyne.

Seán Kelly, who had previously been convicted of a role in the devastating Shankill bombing in 1993, was arrested and questioned in relation to the shooting of an 18-year-old male in Ardoyne on Tuesday night. He was released unconditionally this afternoon.

“The family of the man who has been shot has indicated the involvement of those associated with Sinn Féin in this attack,” Robinson had said.

“This connection raises potentially grave consequences for the process and we will want to meet with the Chief Constable to establish the background of this case and how the police are able to conclude that it is not paramilitary linked.

We will be monitoring very closely the facts of this case as they arise and the Sinn Fein response to them.

Robinson has sought a meeting with the PSNI’s Chief Constable to discuss the investigation and there have been calls for Secretary of State Theresa Villiers to revoke his early release licence, granted under the Good Friday agreement.

‘Frankly ludicrous’

Sinn Féin’s Martin McGuinness dismissed the DUP statements, describing the assertion the shooting could threaten the political peace process as “frankly ridiculous”.

He also condemned the shooting and urged the loyalist party to “keep their nerve”.

“The violence related to extreme loyalist protests in recent weeks represented a serious challenge to the political process. We in Sinn Féin kept our nerve.”

North Belfast MLA Gerry Kelly welcomed Sean Kelly’s release, describing the affairs as “an example of shoddy policing”.

“The only thing the PSNI told Sean Kelly was that this was an intelligence led investigation,” he said this evening following Kelly’s release.

At no time during any of the interviews was any evidence either forensic, eye witness statements, anything, put before Sean Kelly to explain why he was arrested. In fact when the PSNI went to court to seek an extension of his arrest they admitted that there was no evidence whatsoever against him.

He said Kelly had been released, without further questioning, less than an hour after the PSNI had been granted a further 24 hours to question him.

“The PSNI created political hysteria, which some in the media and unionist politicians latched on to and exacerbated by making clearly ludicrous statements,” he said, saying the events had undermined Republican confidence in the PSNI while also showing poor political leadership among Unionists.

Released under Good Friday licence

Kelly was convicted and jailed for his part in the Shankill Road bomb which killed nine civilians and injured dozens more. Kelly himself was injured in the botched attack, losing an eye and the power in his right arm.

He only served a couple of years of his term before being released as part of the Good Friday Agreement. However, there are still powers available to the authorities to revoke that early release.

This has already happened once when Peter Hain put him back in prison in 2005 as allegations that he was involved in dissident activity were investigated.

He was held for about four weeks in Maghaberry.

The 18-year-old victim of Tuesday night’s shooting sustained serious leg injuries and is being treated in the Royal Victoria Hospital.

Separately, two men have been arrested in Derry today on suspicion of dissident republican activity. The suspects, aged 43 and 44, have been taken to the Antrim Serious Crime Suite for questioning by detectives from the PSNI.

Additional reporting by Gavan Reilly

Man arrested following paramilitary style shooting in Belfast

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (89 Comments)

• #Tag 14/02/13 #

The DUP have a cheek saying its a threat to the ‘peace process’…especially when they had been supporting loyalist thugs over these protests.

• Well Sinead O’Carroll, any chance of an update on this story?

• Launch an Investigation if there is any truth in the allegations and he was involved then back into Jail with him .Sinn Fein are moving on with the peace process and power sharing in the North and Opposition in the South.

• Pathetic from the DUP, as always..

• Links between Sinn Fein and criminality?? Shock horror…

• They haven’t gone away you know

• @ Chris Massey:
      i think the Waterford Town Councillor jailed for fraud,recently, had …. ahem …… “links” with FG ??
      wasn’t he a FG Councillor, at one stage, Chris ??
      “Shock horror …. “

• The Shinners were central to both the vicious murders and the ensuing peace, and I think most reasonably minded people recognise this. Personally, until those directly involved in the former clear the decks and let those without blood on their hands run the party, they will struggle to win over a large proportion of the voters, and this guilt-by-association scenario will continue to plague them.

Oh, and they need get some policies that aren’t complete reactionary populist nonsense.

• Lets hope the “blood on their hands” stay guys at the helm; populist nonsense is all well and good for the opposition, but if they get into government we’ll end up like Greece.

• Won’t be long before FF and Mr Martin condemn SF for this.. Seems to be order of the day lately !!

• This story seriously needs updating and the disgracefully misleading headline needs taken down immediately. Very irresponsible.

• Julie 14/02/13 #

Sean Kelly was released, no evidence what so ever that he was connected to this shooting. When going to the judge for an extension of his arrest, it was admitted to the judge that they had no evidence. How are the media allowed run with stories like this when their is no evidence against the man and no charges.

• “…possible links…” “…indicated the involvement of those ASSOCIATED with Sinn Fein…”

I am associated with Chris Massey. We contribute comments to the same website. Therefore, whenever I do something, there should be an investigation of Chris Massey and his possible links with me, a known associate.

Weak, isn’t it?

• Perhaps the apology given in the Dail recently by Volunteer sorry Deputy Adams, was just a little bit premature?

• Same time this evening Seamus? You’re round, job on!

• The only thing that is weak is your argument.

• I’m glad you brought the representatives in the Dail up, Richard.

Glad to see they’re up and doing their job so late at night:
      http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q3RlOP-2aoc

• Big hugs out to ya, Chris. Keep the faith.

• Jimmy 14/02/13 #

Seamus. It’s a bit like “The artist formerly known as Prince” was still ” Prince”. SF are the same. They don’t change, either do their members or supporters. They never will.

• Julie 14/02/13 #

What is wrong with SF member or supporters?

• Jimmy 14/02/13 #

I think you have just answered yourself Julie….

• Julie 14/02/13 #

Don’t think I did, I would like your answer,I’m just curious.

• What’s wrong with Sinn Fein and their supporters is that they want change but the subservient paddy does’nt like that never has and there is alot of them in this country and look at the state of the place .Does that answer you question Julie.

• Julie 14/02/13 #

But if things never change, they stay the same and who in their right mind wants things to stay the same, politician who don’t care what happens the people it represents once it bows down to EUs demands and meet the criteria set out for them so they don’t get told off. Who in their right mind wants that !

• Richard R: premature is exactly what most SF bashers are in using this article as a soapbox to scream “I told ya so”. Links are weak and I’m sure ex cubscouts are doing time somewhere for something, should we blame the scouts for acts of there members.

Dib Dib fooking Dib!!

Ps I am not nor ever have been a SF supporter!

• No jimmy I think u just answered yours

“Never”. Shows the way u think my friend

• Jimmy 14/02/13 #

Ok. The problem I see with Sinn Fein…Here goes….Since our fledgling nation came into being, Sin Fein have been a threat and continue to he a threat to this State. They care about no one but themselves and will do anything to achieve their twisted aims. A roll call of its past members, current members and supporters is a who’s who or murderers, bombers, criminals and bandits. I genuinely believe they are the single biggest threat to democracy and law and order in this country. They spout populist rhetoric to appease the gullible into voting for them. They are quite simply wolves in sheep’s clothing, nothing more. They let on that they are the new and improved Sinn Fein, tell that to the thousands of skeletons in their closet.Thankfully the vast majority of ordinary people in this country can see through their manure and see them for what they are. That’s my view on Sinn Fein

• Sinn Fein have too many questionable characters as members.

Fg are liars and a gang of clowns who wouldn’t last 5 minutes in the real economy.

Labour are doing everything they weren’t elected to do.

The left are just a mess.

The independents I hqve some time for but don’t have the clout needed to make a difference.

FF should have disbanded as th past will always be thrown at them whenever they make any decent point or argument.

That’s the dail for you.

That’s why I live in Adebayo land . It’s nice here.

APF

• Julie 14/02/13 #

Show me evidence that they are a threat to democracy and to this state. That is funny , who do you think can sort out this mess, or are you one of the people that think everything is fine and the government are doing a good job. How many lives lost and destroyed by the state run government laundries. Enda Kenny in government since 1975 laundries closed in 1996

• Jaysus Jimmy could u try and be a bit more general!
      So who is responsible for the financial terrorism Ireland has/is currently being attacked with? Which by the as u so poetically put “our fledging republic” has never faced such a treat for its independence
      Past is the past (difficult I know) but if u want to move forward u have to look ahead (sure learn from the past but don’t be anchored to that past)

Divided we fall, united we Stand

• The biggest threat to democracy in this county is Enda Kenny. He won’t even answer Dail questions.

• He won’t even talk to Vincent Browne ffs!

• Jimmy 14/02/13 #

Julie. Take a snapshot of some of the current Sinn Fein members. Dessie Ellis, suspected of being involved in 50 murders….Inky O Snodaigh and the Garda uniforms…Gerry ” I was never in the IRA” Adams…Martin ” Gun Runner” Ferris, caught importing arms and explosives into Kerry for the IRA, if these individuals aren’t a threat to the State and Democracy I don’t know what is, would you honestly like to see these people in Government…..don’t even get started on the Sinn Fein crowd in the Northern Assembly….I don’t support any party in particular. I would be classed as a floating voter I suppose. To be honest, if a new party were to emerge, I would probably vote for them if I liked what they were about rather than the current parties…

• Whats that you said Julie about lives lost and destroyed? Wanna develop that theme a bit further? As an apologist for SF you should steer clear of the lives lost and destroyed thing!!

• Julie 15/02/13 #

Sean I am an apologist for no one, I am still yet to see evidence of a lot of acquisitions I see flying around The journal( without being removed) . I do not condone murder but their only 3-4 members with any connections. I will say it again I am 22 trouble up the north is not my past. Wreck less government FF are my past and at present the consequences of this corruption is immense suffering. I just put the past to one side, looked at Mary Lou and Pearse d ( who I think should be leader) I want people like that representing me. It’s that simple.its not about the salary for them it is about being able to make a difference and listen to Pearse, SF mandate is like a constitution to them, they believe that your mandate is like your offering to your voters and anything written into it cannot be ignored. They will stick with mandate so you know what you are getting, they will never do anything that goes against their mandate. I am also sick of media propaganda and my eyes have really been opened, and the blatant use of victims of the troubles by government to avoid question, really made me sick, insincere hollow and a disgusting way to avoid a question .

• @ Jimmy,
      Same applies to FF. FG, Labour,

• Q: How many shinners does it take to change a light bulb?

A: None, they would rather sit in the dark and blame everything on FG, FF, Labour

• They’d sit back and watch the other 3 make a fooking balls of it, then do it right

• Julie 14/02/13 #

I wasn’t a shinner I am now, and the lightbulb has come on , FF FG are self serving vile politicians. Their not sitting in the dark , they are switching on lightbulbs all over this country, waking people up to the truth, FF FG have never had our interest in mind when they set out budgets, legislation etc. SF plus independents are highlighting that.

• Julie, Sinn Fin is the most corrupt party in the country. Individual members of FF, FG and Labour have certainly commited criminal acts of corruption – but we haven’t financed our political campaigns by robbing banks, we haven’t, conspired to pervert he course of justice in MURDER cases (Robert McCartney, Jean McConville, the list goes on), and we don’t have a man who, despite much evidence to the contrary, denies he was complicite in acts of terrorism representing us in the Dil. Not to mention the fact that he still involved his brother in political campaigns despite knowing he was a sex criminal…

There seems to be a collective amnesia in your party about your own past. You’re willing to go out criticising (proportionally) small acts of while letting your own lot away with murder – literally as well as metaphorically.

I have a consistent record in calling for the immediate expulsion of Fianna Fil members involved in corrupt activities. Have you called for the expulsion of  Snodaigh? Of Doherty? Have you demanded that Adams come clean about his past?

Thought not. One standard for you, another for everyone else.

• My phone doesn’t like the siniu.

• Fiachra do you protest do you go out and protest ? Be honest.

• Julie 14/02/13 #

Can’t find your comment but I will respond , can you name to me one corrupt thing SF did to cause the current crises we are in?
      FF,FG as parties are corrupt , Look at the laundries the ran how many lives destroyed by that, gal ways tents, brown envelopes etc and FG sat in opposition doing nothing.
      No ye have not supported yer political campaign through robbing banks ye have done it through robbing people and protecting the banks.
      As for the past, maybe if given their basic human right this never would have had to come about. I do not condone murder but I have seen a peace process, SF no longer being banned GA calling for a truth and reconciliation process and your government saying NO, Why?
      I am willing to criticise small acts, it is these acts which I wouldn’t call small, have hundreds of people right now, tonight suffering immensely over these small acts you describe.
      Call for explosion of Snodaigh why because of ink , Doherty, why ? If we were to expel over small thing there would be no party called FF,FG wouldn’t that be great.
      It was the past, I am living in preset I advise you join me, you will get a shock

• @Julie- no distractions. No misdirection. I would like you to furnish me with one piece of concrete proof that the Fine Gael party is corrupt as you contend. Not a FG TD 15 years ago. Or a councillor now. Proof that Fine Gael party is corrupt, please. Or shut up.

• Julie
      For f**k’s sake, use your spellcheck.

• Julie 14/02/13 #

http://www.independent.ie/opinion/analysis/daniel-mcconnell-corruption-scandal-has-not-gone-away-for-fine-gael-26873402.html

Great response by the lovely Enda.

http://www.anphoblacht.com/contents/1393

http://www.publicinquiry.eu/category/fine-gael/

Just a few !
      Don’t tell people shut up Vincent it so rude , why you always attack like that when I write a comment no need for it really, I am a nice person you may be a nice person I don’t know we just have different political views doesn’t give us the right to be nasty and personal

• Julie 14/02/13 #

Replied to your comment Vincent but it appears to have been removed, just look at ye Mahon tribunal. Don’t tell me shut up Vincent I am getting sick of your personal attacks , I am a nice person, maybe you are too I don’t know just because we have different political views doesn’t mean you can attack me.

As for my spelling, stop being so petty and childish

• @vincent Dolan – James rielly&care units. Phil hogan and the upgrades to hospital in Kilkenny. Phil hogan helping sell Irish passports to foreigners he didn’t even know the nationality of. How about spouses of FG TD’s working as their PA’s?

• Vincent, check the horse meat thread.

• Jack Daniels – do I protest? Yes – both in writing and on the streets.

Julie – Fianna Fáil and Fine Gael are corrupt? I’m not sure if the message made it in enough the first time – you’re one to talk. At no time in the last 70-80 years were we financed through an organisation that challenged the authority of this state. At no time in the last 70-80 years did we conspire to cover up acts of murder by our own party members – in this state or in any other. At no time has it ever been proven than either party has ever systematically been party to the corrupt dealings of some of its members. Would you automatically blame an entire sports club if one member of the main team was taking steroids?

When Robert McCartney was murdered only seven years ago, Gerry Adams – Uachtarán Shinn Féin – refused to encourage witnesses to the crime to come forward. Rather than allow the PSNI to conduct a proper investigation into the crime, Sinn Féin preferred to have its armed wing shoot those responsible. Yeah, as late as 2005 (7 years after Good Friday) Sinn Féin considered extra-judicial killings to be acceptable. I could go back further and talk about the Teebane bombing in 1992, when 7 construction worker en route to repair a British Army base in Omagh were blown to smithereens, and another six seriously injured. Or the firebombings of businesses Belfast and London in 1994. Or London Docklands bombing of 1996 (which killed two civilians). Or the murder of Det. Garda Gerry McCabe in 1996. This is only a small amount of fatal attacks against civilians, and does not even try to include the amount of bombs that “only” caused property damage, and the murders of individual “informants”, or the attacks on police and members of the British Army, or the kneecapping and murder of drug dealers… I think the corrupt financial deals of any Fianna Fáil member in the last 20 years really pales in comparison to this (and bear in mind that Mahon was talking about the early 1990s). Murder and bribery are both crimes, but they in the same league.

RE: Magdelene Laundries – I think you’re mixing up “Fine Gael”, “Fianna Fáil” and “Labour” with “the Church” and “the State”. If you read the Macalese report you’d know that the crimes were committed by institutions under Church control, that there was a failure by law enforcement and welfare authorities to inspect and regulate the institutions in question, and that the numerous branches of the state (the courts, educational institutions, orphanages etc) referred individuals to the laundries without taking adequate steps to ensure their welfare. Yes these parties presided this entire period in our history, but ministers and TDs do not micromanage. To blame FF, FG and Labour is to ignore the more difficult fact that quite a substantial section of the society was in fact directly complicit – consciously or unconsciously turning a blind eye.

You might call Fianna Fáil’s handling of macro-economics during the Celtic Tiger “poor”, “short sighted” and thus brand the administration “generally incompetent”. But to elevate that to the charge of corruption is a complete twisting of the facts. Just like spending dole money on drink isn’t corrupt, just stupid. And don’t get me wrong, I’m not going to apologise for our handling of the public finances and our failure to ensure that the banking regulator did his job, it’s just that if every single Fianna Fáil member was in Seánaí Fitz’s pocket, I think that SIPO would have opened the lid on it a long time ago.

So let’s recap – Good Friday was signed in 1998. Northern Bank happened in 2004. Robert McCartney was murdered in 2005. The Provos ended their armed campaign in 2005. The charge sheet Julie has against Fianna Fáil involves corrupt acts that took place in the 1980s and 1990s and policy failures in the 2000s.

• Too long and boring yada yada yada.

• You seriously don’t think the FF of haughey, aherne and co were not corrupt. You need your head seen to. As for the north, war is never ever clean but you just cherry pick for your agenda. Peace is here and thank feck for that. Do you remember greysteel in Derry or massacres in the bookies? Jog on.

• @censored- what exactly are you implying about the horse meat thread. Are you suggesting something as off the wall stupid as I think you are?

• @Johnny- do yourself a favour and borrow your neighbours dictionary and look up the word “corrupt”, would you?

• @julie- if you’re going to be so touchy, might I suggest you exercise a little more restraint before throwing out accusations without any substantiation? Typical SF supporter. Will say anything without having anything to back it up. Wrong Dolan re: spelling reference.

• John, you completely misread what I said. Ahern and Haughey were corrupt, but their corruption – despicable as it is – pales in comparison to that of Sinn Féin.

• What would you call what I mentioned? You seem to be ok with it, whatever you want to call it

• Want to talk about Liam Cosgrave Jnr vinny? And his buddy Tom hand….

• censored 15/02/13 #

Dunno Vincent, what are you thinking I’m thinking? Would it be the same as what everybody else is thinking?

• Well in fairness Julie if youre only a recent Shinner then you probably dont have blood on your hands so. Unlike your leader.

• Great to see the same hate filled twisted commenters on this thread, as we saw and read on the night of Clare Dalys arrest for suspected drink driving… Even after it emerged that she was innocent, there same hate filled commenters, kept up their attacks…
      Vincent, you asked to name one FFG member in the last 15 years to be found corrupt..
      500,000,000 euro spent on 2 tribunals.. FFG members named and shamed for taking bribes etc. What did you gracious leader Kenny do in response to 500 million euro bring spent… Nothing, he never even sacked the FFG TDS …
      The only decent FFG TD is peter Mathews… The rest of FFG, labour, FF are all a bad as each other.. Corrupt to the core, and need to be driven out like the church.

• John am i corrupt ?

• Julie 15/02/13 #

Throwing out acquisitions without any evidence, FG are corrupt, FF well the dog on the Streat knows that they are corrupt. I see you and a lot more people say a lot of things on articles like this with no evidence what so ever to back it up. It pretty simple to find FG are corrupt, simply type in FG corruption into google= Mahon tribunals, James Reilly, FG TD in jail, Kenny leaves his own constitutes in jail over protesting against shell oil,one of whom helped him with his election. Protesters beaten and some hospitalised, quote Enda “they must obey the law” isn’t the law everyone has the right to protest. Vincent if SF don’t get the votes I don’t mind I just want someone different in there, someone who understand democracy and won’t let us down,and that clearly is not FF or FG.

• Cal1- I absolutely did not ask for one example in 15 years, I didn’t want my time wasted by isolated examples. You know. Like you did. I wanted proof that the Fine Gael party is systemically corrupt. None was forthcoming from any of you. No surprise there. It’s always a fools errand to look for any sort of substance from the “all politicians are evil” brigade.

• @ Johnny- largest party in the country. Inevitable that there will be a couple of rotten apples. If you’re looking for a 100% clean party you better make sure there’s not more than 5 members in it. So when you spit out a name, all you’re really proving is that FG is big. Julie’s assertion was that the party is inherently corrupt. Which is the rubbish that is routinely spouted on here and which goes unchallenged.

• Julie 15/02/13 #

Vin your gas , corruption to me is, rushing through legislation in the wee hours of the morning and changing private banking debt to long term bonds (40 years) and only giving 3 years predictions on the effect of this arrangement(not a deal) giving other Tds an hour to read it. Being asked 8 times to discuss massive increase in poverty(272,000 children in poverty in Ireland ) cutting frontline staff while keeping your own wage at €200,000, introducing taxes on something as basic as a home, not arresting bankers and ex politicians and present and locking them up for corrupt activities, some have just been moved around and given jobs elsewhere, giving these bankers massive salaries and pensions. Plus Mahon, Reilly etc etc etc add it all up = corrupt party, I have other words might describe them better but my mom thought me better than that.

• @ Julie- I know Shinners like to make up their own rules as they go along but you’re not allowed attach your own meaning to words. Do yourself a favour. Stop embarrassing yourself. Put den An Phoblacht for two minutes. And pick up a dictionary. Go to the “C” section and look up the meaning as corrupt. You’ll find its definition is not : “Corrupt- doing something Julie from Sinn Fein doesn’t agree with”.

• ….down An Phoblacht

• …of “corrupt”

• Julie 15/02/13 #

” Political or grand corruption takes place at the high levels of the political system, when politicians and state agents entitled to make and enforce the laws in the name of the people, are using this authority to sustain their power, status and wealth. Political corruption not only leads to the misallocation of resources, but it also perverts the manner in which decisions are made. Political corruption is when the laws and regulations are abused by the rulers, side-stepped, ignored, or even tailored to fit their interests. It is when the legal bases, against which corrupt practices are usually evaluated and judged, are weak and furthermore subject to downright encroachment by the rulers. ” I think you need to stop with the shinner and an phoblacht stuff, I have never bought or read that paper. Most people seem to know that there is corruption in the political system and the justice system it seems your the minority Vincent . If you knew anything about corruption you would know there are many different forms. Political corruption being one. Your comment is complete rubbish, to quote yourself ” stop embarrassing yourself “

• That will be the South African Olympic Team under suspicion too after today’s events down there

• Jesus Christ bunch of idiots!!! Good on ya Julie , and jimmy your a dick ! Moan bags if you want to talk about politics join the dail!

• Why should we be surprised by this? Sinn Fein have one agenda and will stop at nothing to achieve this. They have pulled the wool over a lot people’s eyes by preaching how much they have changed. They will NEVER change.

• It is sad to see comments from people who cannot see SF/IRA for what they really are. They have much more in common with the so called loyalists/UVF/UFF/UDA than they realise. Both sets of neanderthals see the other as the aggressor, both see the other as sectarian, both are usually ignorant and uneducated, both have been successfully indoctrinated by classical conditioning and unfortunately, both appear to beyond help.

Add New Comment