TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Wednesday 19 June, 2013

Cigarettes and alcohol: New details of night before THAT Cowen interview

This month’s Hot Press carries a piece written by a barman at the Galway hotel where Brian Cowen was alleged to have spent the night drinking prior to his infamous interview on Morning Ireland in 2010.

Brian Cowen in September 2010 ten days after that infamous night in Galway
Image: Niall Carson/PA Archive/Press Association Images

IT HAS GONE down in Irish political folklore: the morning Taoiseach Brian Cowen was allegedly drunk or hungover or both during a set piece interview with RTÉ’s Morning Ireland.

Since then much has emerged about what happened that night in September 2010 before that morning radio interview at the annual Fianna Fáil think-in at the Ardilaun Hotel in Galway and just how much alcohol the then Taoiseach did or did not consume.

Cowen has always denied that he was either drunk or hungover on air but that hasn’t stopped the stories emerging from the night in question largely because of his performance in the interview and the Taoiseach did later apologise for his performance.

YouTube:

Cowen sounded hoarse – Fianna Fáil blamed congestion – and briefly confused the Croke Park Agreement with the Good Friday Agreement .

Now a senior barman from the hotel, Ivan Murray, has written in Hot Press magazine about that infamous night.

Shedding new light on the night of 13 September 2010 prior to the early morning interview on Ireland’s most listened to breakfast radio show, Murray writes about the tight security arrangements at the hotel and a growing bar tab as the night wore on:

I had just finished serving yet another gargantuan round of pints plus a mineral water for the Tánaiste, Mary Coughlan, when I heard a voice say “The Taoiseach would like some cigarettes.”

It was [Fianna Fáil TD] Mary O’Rourke interceding on his behalf. I addressed him directly. “What kind of cigarettes would you like, sir?” The response was gruff. “Benson’s, Silk Cut, whatever!”

Murray writes about how he brought back a packet of 20 Carrolls and was tipped €1.50 from the €41.50 change.

By the time the assembled throng were called for dinner, as the one who was dishing out the drink, I’d estimate our glorious leader had sunk something in the region of seven or eight pints of stout and a few gin and tonics.

“I was told to close off the bar tab before going to the function room to assist in the dinner service. A healthy figure it was too, somewhere in the region of €3,000.”

Murray writes that Cowen was “mixing drinks with gusto” having switched from wine to lager during the dinner.

I can say that I personally continued to serve Mr Cowen, and most of the rest of them copious amounts of alcohol all evening and into the early hours of the next morning.

On whether or not Cowen was drunk as was later alleged, Murray writes: “Well, all I can say is that if I had consumed as much as the man, and indeed numerous others who were there, then Id certainly still have been feeling the effects – in a big way.”

Fianna Fáil has declined to comment.

The full article from Ivan Murray is in this month’s Hot Press magazine.

2010: Cowen denies being hungover on morning radio interview

2010: “It’s well known that the Taoiseach suffers from congestion sometimes”

2010: Cowengate: round-up of world coverage

2010: Cowen apologises for radio interview

Read: Enterprise Ireland has no involvement in Cowen’s California course

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (127 Comments)

• Harry 24/08/12 #

I wonder did he go and stand outside the door in the cold to have his cigarette?!

• I had a certain level of sympathy for the man at the beginning of his tenure, he inherited a bucket of stale manure from Ahern but to address the public with contempt, lie, blabber out one excuse after another until he confused himself just served to prove that, as a politician, the peoples best interest were not at the top of his list.

Personal loans, property portfolios and rounds of golf with Sean Fitzpatrick would make you sick to your stomach knowing that this man was our leader.

He sat there and spoke to the nation hungover. He should have come out with his hands up and said, yes, I had a few drinks and I’m sorry. I can guarantee that this story would not be online today if he did so.

At every available checkpoint he failed miserably at displaying any degree of empathy with the general public, he was never fit to be a leader.

• and we are surprised by this because????

Look at the state of him…slovenly, fat, lazy, greedy & arrogant.

• What a w*nker of a politician, and what do the constituents of Offaly do? Vote in his brother. That’s what helps make our political system an absolute shambles. Parish politics and family “dynasties”

• Ah man. Imagine waking up in the horrors and then slowly remembering that not only were you Brian Cowen but you were also the Taoiseach.

“On in 5, Mister Cowen!”

“MMMGGHhhhgjvvvvvHhhh………”

• ?1.50!! Hungry ould bollocks!

• Brian Cowen sounded as statesmanlike and authoritative as a rhinoceros.

• No doubt we the taxpayers were the butt of their jokes and laughter on that night out… and we also paid the tab … Shame on all of you …. and to think you were also rewarded big fat juicy pensions… Karma awaits….

• If BIFFO had of come out at the beginning of the interview and said “I apologise in advance for my voice but I am feeling a bit unwell this morning”, would he have gotten away with it? I bet he would have. The so called reporters who were drinking with him that night did not come clean on his drinking until AFTER the accusation of him being drunk was tweeted. This begs the question how long was that sort of thing going on, and is it still happening?

• louise 24/08/12 #

Fat cats alright !!

• Even the photo of him makes my blood boil! This bastard should be in jail!!!

• If I went to work drunk one morning I’d be sacked and I’d lose my pension – so I think his pension should be stopped- but the problem is that Kenny for all the virtue that he spouts won’t take on any wrong doings by any politician – why because he knows he could be there himself one day and needs some safeguard – Irish politics a joke – corrupt- there is no loyalty here – just a club we are not included in- who paid for cowens drink- we did
    All expenses for politicians should be stopped and they made pay there own way from there generous salaries how many agree let’s see what people think
    If that was to come in I think people would start to respect decision making

• “What kind of cigarettes would you like, sir?” – I can tell you that there is no way in gods green earth I’ve have called him sir. Ignorant oaf of a man.

• It’s illegal to serve alcohol to a drunk person no?

• Damien you are correct it is illegal to sell alcohol to a drunken person, however with BIFFO being the size he is, I bet 8 point would not even put him over the legal driving limit.

• If he had refused to serve a FF Taoiseach who was paralytic drunk, in order to stop him making a fool of himself in the morning, they would still have demanded that he be fired and you can be certain that he would have a few more spanners throw in at him as well. FF ministers have a habit of making life awkward for people that they have fallen out with.

• I think the big news here is that Mary O Rourke likes a good knees up ..

• I am disappointed in Mary o rourke

• Those were dark days.
    But who would think that they would be darker now.

Maybe Enda should get blind drunk too.

It might make him forget about the couple of hundred billion (of other peoples gambling debts) that he wants us to pay.

• Popcorn 24/08/12 #

How does that old joke go again……… an American surgeon took a kidney out of one man put it into another and had him back at work in 3 months. A German surgeon took a heart from one man put it into another and had him back at work in 6 months. We took an arsehole out of Offaly put him in charge and we were all OUT OF WORK in a year!!!!

• The So called leader of this country spent OUR tax money on a night on the piss while our country was going down the drain, he then goes on morning ireland the next morning. If that was anyone else we would be fired immediately! So for the people sticking up for him cop on ff lovers!

• He’s also a mixture of shrek and some kind of hog! Just thought I’d throw that in too.

• How do you know it was tax payers money??? It was a FF event not a government one so therefore it was most likely their own personal money or else the partys!

• Keith, what little you know about how politics is run in this country. In this country the Irish Exchequor (that means the tax payer, in other words us), provides “funding” to each political party or indipendant elected TD.

Political parties received a total of €13,480,748 in state funding for 2010, according to figures released today by the Standards Commission. The money was paid to the parties under the Electoral Acts and under the Party Leaders Allowance legislation.

Five parties (Fianna Fáil, Fine Gael, Labour, Sinn Féin and the Green Party) received funding of €5,438,385 under the Electoral Acts and those five parties also received €8,042,363 under the Party Leader’s Allowance legislation.

Therefore it was our money that BIFFO and the rest of that shower used to get drunk on.

The figures are all there in black & white all you have to do is google it.

• Keith, Forgot to add

“Payments are exempt from income tax and are not reckoned in computing the income of a party for the purposes of the Income Tax Acts”.

• Warren they are in love with their captors

• Culm Im fully aware that parties receive funding and the amounts of which. That money is to be spent on specific items such as staffing, administration costs, building etc and last time I checked bar tabs didn’t come into it either!

It cannot be used for electoral purposes otherwise FF wouldn’t be in its 2 million debt!! If anyone paid for the tab it is the members of FF or perhaps the former Taoiseach himself.

• mcgoo 24/08/12 #

The Tee-Shook.

• Cowen and co ran the biggest shower of robbers that ever sat in Dail Eireann and Kenny is now doing the same. and while I’m on the subject who gave Mary harney permission to sit in Dail Eireann as tanaiste when she had no mandate or in fact no political party because the PD’s were disbanded it’s the house of horrors she should of been put into the ugly swine. According to jackie Healy ray she was voted in as an Independant cause I’ve asked this question before but I don’t recall any referendum. All your days are numbered.

• A ‘think-in’ for Fianna Fail? That’s hard to imagine, no wonder they resorted to drink, must have got bored.

• Brian who? Mary who? by 2. Wasters!

• Brian who?…..

• Brian “Ignorant Fat Fecker From Offaly who destroyed the national economy in one night through incompetence and who left us with a bill our grandchildren will be paying off” Cowen. Remember him?

• Tony Roche, you say “so many uneducated people on this “.
      Everyone else has a better grasp of spelling and grammar than you!

• You say this while posting on the wrong Comment?? You’re probably a prime example of one. its hard to text when i’m driving my 2010 3.16 Bmw and using my Samsung Galaxy 3 all paid for up front through the money i saved and didn’t squander like some of ye. Do ye all want to be baby sat when it comes to your own finances?

• You paid money for a new 316?
      Ha! Ye daft eejit. Did you like the €10k drop in the value of the car as you drove out of the forecourt? :D

• Ah yes, proving the uneducated part of my comment to be correct. where in my comment do i say new Mark? please elaborate i’d love to know.

• Always laugh at guys driving BMW 316s (of any year) – they clearly know nothing about cars and just go for the badge.

• Tony. So you drive a 3.16 BMW. What is that? Surely you mean a 316, but then again, no one here believes that you actually even drive.

You sir are a FF bozo and you words are only to be laughed at, as a result.

• Bozo? what are you 12??.. I amen’t FF either i dont follow politics and its working great for me now. Everyone needs to take their heads out of their backsides and get on with their life and stop whinging about the past, Life is what you make it are you too much of a child to get on with your own? And well done going to the trouble of setting up a fake twitter account to respond to me and make me realise i put a full stop in between 3 and 16. Im glad i wasted some of your day. Now off you go and cry about the banks and the Government about how they’re taking your money you waste of space :)

• Tony. You seem to forget about hospitals, education, infrastructure, business supports and countless other things that the Govt. are responsible for, and that don’t frankly care if people are full of get up and go or not.

As for the Govt. taking my money, that is called Taxes. I pay them because I work. I have no problem paying them, it is how they are spent. Taxes in this state for a very long time have been seen as a FF slush fund, for its members to pocket and spread around to friends and donors. Most countries use them for the benefit of the country.

Why am I even discussing this with you Tony, when I know deep down that you haven’t down a tap in life since the first time your reached for your mother’s tit.

• We have some of the best infrastructure in Europe, including our education system, our hospitals and our roads. Our standard of living is very high compared to most and we have most of the governments we’ve elected in to thank for that, Just cause i dont follow politics doesnt mean i dont avail of the services we pay for.

our taxes are very low compared to most countries, Nobody was complaining in the boom years when they were making thousands more than they should have been and buying everything they couldnt afford and now everyone is whinging about the Government .

And as for your last point… I bartended from 16 to 21 to put myself through college and save, when i was 22 i started my own business in app development with the help of a Government grant and through my savings and i am now 25 and i have 4 people working with me,your opinion means sweet Feck all to me im sure i wont lose sleep over someone who set up a fake twitter account to troll and try to make fun of me :)

• LOL Tony, could you be more wrong headed if you tried?

• LOL? are you from the only way is essex or are you an auld like trying to be hip. Im 100% correct in everything i say. I know more about this than anyone else here.

• “We have some of the best infrastructure in Europe, including our education system, our hospitals and our roads”

Are you sure Tony? Do they even let you out unaccompanied?

• Niall 25/08/12 #

Tony loves to embarrass himself publicly. Laughable amount of ignorance.

• Niall loves to hide his face because of his sheer uglyness and insecurities

• What sort of ahole is this bar man, as person who has worked in allot of hotels bars holding large business,
    political and sporting events, you never never comment on the amount they drink. If that is the case I could fill the Hot Press 10 times over with stories of sports stars, politicians and TV celbs . Bet he is not working there now.

• Looks like the barman is sour over no longer working in the Hotel or just looking to make a name for himself!

Why did no one ask him was it any different to any other big function held there like a family wedding etc! And judging by his use of “glorious leader” and “assembled throng” Mr.Murray is hardly an unbiased character when it comes to politics!

Finally if he was so concerned about the volumes of alcohol consumed, why didn’t he use his right to refuse to serve any of the “assemble throng”?

• Sure he’s only one of the “proletariat” as he describes himself. Very leading language indeed.

Yes, everyone is allowed a night off and if they want a few pints, then that is no problem. The function in question was not paid for by the government but by the FF party funds. Cowen should have had more cop on than to give an interview the next morning if he wanted to have a night out. That’s the thing that galls here. Poor judgement.

The “story” however is a prime example of silly season on a slow news day.

• Has Stephen Skearan benn on to blame the Shinners yet?

• Cowan was poor in the office of prime minister of this country. That’s the reason he should be criticised. The amount he drank on a given evening I don’t think matters as much as its been made out to. I would wager the most famous and successful politician of the last century, Winston Churchill would have drank more and smoked more before lunch on any given day than Cowan drank that night. This did not seem to hamper him in his defeat of fascism. In fact if modern politically correctness was prevalent in mid part of last century Churchill would not even get near the prime minister’s office at all. That this publicity hungry snake of a bar-man is been given a forum is a sad reflection on the editorial policy of “Hotpress”. More so, when you consider Olaf Tyaransen probably the best know “Hotpress”‘ writer of modern times almost never penned an article without mentioning how many (illegal) drugs he had taken on regular basis.

• Cowen and FF could have gotten away with it, if they had done a good job. They did an absolutely shocking one, and at great expense to this country. They were labelled “economic traitors” by Gilmore. Why he added in the economic, is anyone’s guess, consistently placing the country’s needs 2nd to their friends needs. That is why he is reviled, that is why this story is viewed so much, it just sums up what contempt he and his party have for the Irish people and what a waste of space he and they were as our leaders.

• awww look at andrew all frustrated. Cowen will go down in history as one of the greats that saved our nation by asking for assistance and maing the hard decisions.

• roche you are wrong this man sank ireland

• I have to say, from the big deal that was made of that interview – He doesn’t actually sound that bad

• He full.com

• andrew 24/08/12 #

He’s a gas man..

• Can we please move on !!!! Old news !!!

• Ah, the “it doesn’t count if you can keep it secret long enough” defense.
      How’re your taxes this morning Pauli?

• Reg 24/08/12 #

No we should never be allowed to forget the fools who were in government and destroyed this country.

• Correct, Rag. A clown like that in charge ? Jesus wept ! Still – he ( & others ) now enjoy lottery style pensions for running our country into the ground. It may be old news, Pauli, but it is important the electorate never forget it.

• Don’t worry Reg.
      We will never be allowed to forget,
      because rest assured,
      we always have fools in our government.

• Fools that destroy this country.

• Cowan.. what a legend!

• Mick 24/08/12 #

Padraig,

Do you mean leg – end, as in something that is at the end of a leg?
      Not the ankle mind you, the other end.

• Cop on to yourself Paul. Some people in this country think that because Ireland is not a Super Power that our Leaders don’t have to deal with issues of life and death. But they DO people have died on chairs and trollys in hospitals, they have (very) taken their own lives as a consequence of policies persued by those in power in this country. The least we can expect is that these people approach their jobs with a clear and sober mind.
      I don’t care what Party they are with thats the very least we as a people are entitled to.

• Im sure Brian has moved on so why cant the rest of yee??

• FF … Traitors then, and traitors now .. a leopard cannot change its spots

• That beer sodden slob is still receiving a massive pension from us, more than most leaders get for their day to day work.Not one member of his cabinet or party will ever be jailed. Given the countless destruction that the brought on this country, jail is the least the deserve.

It is important that people know what the likes of Cowen, Micheal Martin etc were up to, as Ireland’s economy went down the tubes they were drinking and partying. economic collapse is just for Paddy’s as far as FF’s leaders are concerned.

• He is Andrew and i’m sure he’s laughing at everyone here getting their knickers in a twist over it all while he’s in a nice house with a nice income coming to him constantly :D #winning

• Cpm 24/08/12 #

His arrogance and hubris are what drive him, Tony, not his pension.

Knowing he was a colossal failure at the job he had longed for for so long wiill leave him a broken man.

The damage he caused to the country will follow him to his death bed, and will go down in the pages of history, that will be his legacy – he should never be allowed to foget the damage he cause this country.

• ha im sure he’s doing alright now :D the destruction of the economy doesnt fall on one person, he’s laughing to himself id say! an opportunist one might call him.

• Cpm 24/08/12 #

I’m not sure what your point is, is it meant to be a rebuttal? Nowhere in my post do I mention him being solely responsible.

• “The damage he caused to the country will follow him to his death bed”

” he should never be allowed to foget the damage he cause this country.”

You are either Uneducated or just flat out simple :) you dont know what your talking about.

• Cpm 24/08/12 #

Uneducated? Simple? I’m not the one with the primary school-grade English, Sparky.

Anyway, I’ll leave you to it.

• Oh dear, Thanks for reminding me about my Grammar before the internet police come! go off and read a book for yourself or better yet a newspaper and get up to date on the world :) cause i’ve forgotten more than you’ll ever know

• Cowan… what a legend!

• I forgot you werent allowed a night out every now and then. I’m sure everyone on this is guilty of that on many an occasion just like myself. no matter what your job title is. A drunken Cowen didnt make the decisons his advisors did.

• As the then Taoiseach, Rory, the buck stopped with him. He has absolutely no excuse whatsoever.

• I dont put all the blame on Cowen, I blame the full system that allowed it to happen. The only mistake he made that night was signing up for an interview the day after he knew he was going to have a few too many drinks. We’re all entitled to unwind and have a few drinks whether you’re a taoiseach, the FAI president or even prince harry lately.

• I totally agree re having a few beers. I do. I’m not faulting him for that at all. He was Taoiseach & he should have known ( or advised ) better. As regards Prince Harry as u mentioned him – big fuss over nothing. A young lad being a young lad. Difference is, he is not P.M. Cowen was our Taoiseach & he did let himself & the side down.

• he let us down but on this occasion I can’t fault him. he went to work hungover, everyone has done it at some stage, having a few drinks wasn’t the problem , maybe he should have came out and said “look I’m not feeling the best after last night” but hindsight is a wonderful thing. there’s stress with every job and more than any with the role of the taoseach so he’s allowed a night off to unwind. Obama has done it plenty of times but he’s covered up by his advisors sure it shouldn’t be frownd upon.

• Cowen’s advisers did not make the decision, Lenihan’s advisers did not make the decision. All they did was present arguments to them, many of the top economists that were called in to advise them, from around the world, repeatedly advised them to do otherwise. They refused, seeking council from Sean Fitzpatrick and party donors first .No doubt FF screwed up and destroyed the country, the only debate at this stage is whether they did it for personal gain and to protect their friends wealth at expense of the rest of country. There is scant evidence to suggest that it was pure incompetence overall.

• She really is “Mammy” O’Rourke :p

• I have to agree with Tony’s earlier comments, although I think he lost the run and punch of himself self as he continued. He must be commended for creating jobs. I agree people need to get on with it. It makes me slightly sick that this same old garbage is tossed up over and over, we are all aware of what went on – still goes on. Some people have the need to stir it up, sniff the stale gases and have a good auld whinge. If that makes them feel more content, then go for it! The reality of it is Brian Cowen single handily didn’t bring down the economy – there were a few more factors in it than him! Greed of developers, property speculators, bankers, solicitors,etc and a select group of the ‘common’ people involved in ‘keeping up with the Jones’ undeniably had an effect. The only thing we can change is the future, while lots of people moan and whinge (now and forever), there are those that have realized the situation (that’s not going to change anytime soon) and just get on with it! I’m constantly changing my business strategies and structures, taking hits, adapting to new circumstances and the like, I’ve three times the workforce I had 3 years ago, contributing multiples of what I was years ago to the exchequer now. Its a case of ‘get on with it!!’ I see where Tony is coming from, like him I’m not bothered with politics (as many will agree, its the same corrupt nonsense repeating itself), just getting on with whats important and looking to the future. I would rarely waste my time commenting on something like this, its likely to go nowhere, I could take these five minutes to produce something positive, instead I’ll share my view. It amuses me as to why some people need to blame someone and constantly whine on . . . . and on

• Old news…no point bring it up again…moved on.

Add New Comment