TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Friday 24 May, 2013

Callinan: Gardaí will not lose contact with community due to cutbacks

Commissioner Callinan said that he is committed to “policing through people and not through buildings or bricks and mortar”.

Minister for Justice and Equality Alan Shatter (left) pictured with Garda Commissioner Martin Callinan
Image: Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland

GARDA CUTBACKS WILL not affect the relationship An Garda Siochána has with the community, Garda Commissioner Martin Callinan has reassured people.

Speaking at a press briefing for Tispol, the European policing initiative, he was questioned on the recent spate of burglaries in Donegal. He said that he is “satisfied that there [are] sufficient resources on the ground” and that in the context of the Donegal burglaries, there were already significant arrests in connection with these cases.

“We are in a situation where we have to reduce resources but we are providing a very effective policing service,” he said. Speaking about the reduction of numbers in the traffic corps, he said that there is still a “very sizeable number in the context of the force”.

High standard of policing

Commissioner Callinan spoke further about the standard of policing in Ireland, saying:

What we must bear in mind also is that every single member of An Garda Siochána is trained to a very high standard in terms of policing. So you have 11,000+ gardaí on the ground dealing with enforcement issues.

He said that his job as Commissioner means that he is to deal with this as effectively as he possible can, and that is what he intends to do.

Commissioner Callinan said that it was flagged “all through last year” that there were going to be further reductions in the number of garda stations in the Republic, and that the garda force is to provide “the type of smart policing and intelligent policing that we are obliged to do in terms of being effective”.

He said that recent roster changes meant that an additional unit and additional shift had to be resourced, and that this “required reconfiguration and reconstruction of how we use our resources”.

So I am fully committed to policing through people and not through buildings or bricks and mortar. And in all of these areas where stations are closing, the plan is to put in place a more effective policing service, not reduce it. And I want to assure the public, and reassure them, that we will not as an Garda Siochána… we will not be losing contact with the community.

He said that a number of community-developed projects, and initiatives like the Joint Policing Committee, “help us to keep the relationships we have enjoyed with the public since the foundation of the State”.

“That is where we intend to go into the future providing a better policing service,” he concluded.

Read: Public meetings scheduled ahead of garda station closures in Cork>

Read: Donegal: Man arrested after woman (69) threatened and house burgled>

Read next:

Comments (32 Comments)

• You mean get out of there 1.4 ford fiesta or 1.6 avensis/focus while the criminals are in 2.0ltr (plus) cars. What good is the beat when your in the middle of nowhere in Donegal or any other rural part of Ireland for that matter. This isn’t the 50′s anymore!

• “Look no hands” exclaimed the Master Puppeteer as he systematically Shattered the Irish Police Force.

• “We are providing a very effective policing service.”
    Yeah right!
    When eventually citizens get together and begin to police their areas, the Government will announce a huge increase in the numbers of Gardaí.

• I might be more inclined to believe what this commissioner says if his highly paid job wasn’t given to him by the minister. The minister even extended his contract beyond the legal retiring age for a further two years. It feels like he got rewarded for playing along and not rocking the boat. Surely these jobs should be independently appointed.

• Was just thinking the exact same myself. Especially with his answers to reduction in police numbers :

“We are in a situation where we have to reduce resources but we are providing a very effective policing service,” he said. Speaking about the reduction of numbers in the traffic corps, he said that there is still a “very sizeable number in the context of the force”.

So reducing numbers delivers “a very effective policing service”. Complete balderdash.

What a compliant Commissioner we’ve got. Gagged from speaking out about the reality of less Gardai. Alan Shatter must be proud of him.

• What he doesn’t tell us is that out of that 11,000, he’s also counting non-operational gardai, admin staff, reserve gardai. Then when we take the rosters into account, the number of Gardai on the street so to say is less a third of this. Factor in annual leave, maternity, sick leave. The result is not a whole lot of police presence in Ireland. These numbers are sugar coating the situation, only codding themselves, ridiculous.

• Absolute rubbish talk callinan . Psni chief constable matt baggot looked for more recruitment in the north yesterday because of all the recent violence up there . What does callinan do ? Sing the tune shatter And others. Instead of saying how it really is , typical yes man .

• Fools 25/01/13 #

Pure lies.

• Bill66 25/01/13 #

Give them a car ,a phone, a laptop linked to a central station and a patrol car that is equipped and go and patrol the area as I believe this would be much more efficient that a station in a village open for form filling.
    This is what police should be doing and not form filling.
    And before all these guards come on slagging me off , this is what most people want and and what criminals don’t want.

• I’d say that too if they were paying me €200k a year, doesn’t make it true though!

• The cutbacks won’t reduce the communities’ *need* for the Gardai. The closure of stations will mean a free-for-all. What really irks me is that smarmy oil rag Shatter is closing stations in areas like Cabra and Finglas and *increasing* staff numbers in his own local station. Mé féin, stroke politics. His leafy suburb is kept safe – the great unwashed in tougher areas can “eat cake” while their houses are ransacked and yobs are allowed to terrorise the community. I know that will strike some as over dramatic but my elderly neighbours are genuinely frightened.

• Shatters police poodle supports shatters cutbacks

Shocked I tells ya…….shocked

• Lu 25/01/13 #

Yes they will, you halfwit!!! How are they supposed to interact with the community with no cars and no bikes??? Jeeeeeeesus.

• bacoxy 25/01/13 #

When I was growing up in the eighties the country hadn’t a pot to piss in… but I still knew the name of the guard who used to walk around the community. I know times are hard but they were harder back then and we seemed to manage it all a lot easier.

• I’m the coordinator of the local community forum in our county, networking 480 community groups. I know the name of ONE Garda in my county only because I go to him! Running a series of listening surveys across our county in 2012 this is found to be a common occurrence in all areas among many groups. Gardai and community are not working in partnership actively!

• It’s rare to see a Garda nowadays, sad state of affairs.

• Is this what happens? http://jrnl.ie/770297

Ar dheis Dé go raibh a anam

• Your a liar jeff

• This commisssioner would want to get his head out of his ar– go find out for himself because the only time a garda is seen up where I live is once or twice a week in a car driving by when they are called you have to wait some hours the time you will lots of gardai is when a match is on at Shamrock rovers then any amount of them standing around.

• Does this mean they will get out of their cars and actually walk the beat

Add New Comment