TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 7 °C Thursday 23 May, 2013

Varadkar: ‘If the government made a mistake we accept that’

The Transport Minister has insisted that the children’s referendum will go ahead tomorrow amid calls for it to be postponed in the wake of the Supreme Court ruling about the government’s information campaign.

Leo Varadkar
Image: Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland

TRANSPORT MINISTER LEO Varadkar has said that the children’s referendum will go ahead tomorrow and said that if the government made a mistake in relation to its information campaign it accepts that.

Varadkar, who is Fine Gael’s director of elections for the referendum campaign, was speaking on RTÉ Radio this morning following the Supreme Court ruling that the contents of the government’s referendum website and information booklet was “not fair, equal or impartial”.

The ruling yesterday forced the government to significantly amend its website – twice – and make moves to withdraw and cease distribution of information leaflets distributed during the campaign ahead of the polls opening tomorrow.

The Supreme Court case did not deal with the validity of the referendum which means tomorrow’s poll goes ahead but there have been calls from the No side and a number of TDs, including Shane Ross and Finian McGrath, for it to be postponed.

On Morning Ireland, Varadkar said this would not happen: “The people make the final decision on this matter and the people will make the final decision in this matter tomorrow.”

He accepted that there may be a legal challenge to the result but pointed out that there had been a legal challenge to the divorce referendum in the 90s which resulted in the McKenna judgement whose principles the government were found to be in breach of yesterday.

Varadkar said that the government had sought advice on its original information documentation from the Attorney General’s office but acknowledged that this information had been “wrong”.

“Legal advice can be wrong,” he said.

Varadkar did not directly apologise for the the government’s mistake, but said: “If the government made a mistake here in the information booklet we hold up our hands up and we accept that.”

On the same programme, solicitor and No vote campaigner Malachy Steenson said that the Supreme Court would be undermined if the referendum went ahead.

“We have moved from being a democracy to being a dictatorship because what role now does the Supreme Court have?” he said.

The Supreme Court is due to issue the full details of its judgement on 11 December.

Voting in the referendum gets under way at 9am tomorrow and polls close at 10pm. A broadcast moratorium comes into effect from 2pm today.

Read: Minister: Government acted “in good faith” on referendum information

Read: Children’s Referendum website corrected after omitting part of amendment

Read next:

Comments (103 Comments)

• If? If? The court said that the government made a mistake. “If”.

• “if” doesn’t sound like acceptance.

• Leo is quite correct with his English. If the Government made a mistake then they made a mistake. This simply suggests that the a government doesn’t always make mistakes!
      I think too many people got out of bed on the wrong side this morning. Now, if people……….

• The government have been proven in a court of law, the Supreme Court to have misleading information that favours a yes vote. They are bias and in-impartial this is FACT or do you want to state…..IF the Supreme Court was right?? I see you may have got out of Leo’s bed this morning…

• hahaha Ryan comment of the week!!!

• So getting out of the wrong side of the bed this morning makes all this governments cock-up more acceptable. The problem here is they don’t seem to care that they made a mistake, they will press on and do as they wish. This result will be challenged and the government parties should be made pay back the taxpayers the money that was knowingly wasted on this illegal campaign.

• No mistake Garry

The are professional LIARS.

The legal system caught them at it. Even the judges are getting tired of the spindustrial revolutions.

I was going to abstain in disgust.
      You’ve persuaded me to vote.

Guess which way.

• “a” mistake? As in singular????

• Martin 09/11/12 #

How come it wasn’t a mistake last week in the high court and they were shouting from the roof tops that their position had been upheld, now suddenly its a mistake. IT WAS A LIE ! We now have a government that lies to us to get what it wants.

• Another referendum farce…

• If they accept this mistake not after a Supreme Court ruling told them to do so how many more unchecked mistakes have they been making? Both knowingly & unknowingly….

• In a situation where anybody admits they made a mistake then the must accept it. Not much room there. The Supreme Court has held there was a breach [ mistake ]. At least , I hope it was only a mistake ! Be a man. Just admit it it.

• The government make a mistake?Impossible.

Our Troika, which art in financial heaven, NEVER makes mistakes.

Repeat after me, Let us prey

Our market
      Which art in turmoil
      Hallowed be thy game

Freedom be thy cloak
      Under which we operate
      Promoting thus thy growth
      Carcinogenic though it be

Sanctify our task
      Enhancing thus thine image
      Forgiving our adjustments
      Give or take a slushfund
      Till the coming of thy boom
      Let the poor be always with us
      But never quite too close
      And provide us ever platitudes
      That we may mask our actions
      In the sacred national interest
      Aligning thus our focus
      To cover up thy vagaries

Now
      And at the hour of liquidation
      Till we garner in thy kingdom
      Bucks without end
      Aye, men.

• Sibhs 09/11/12 #

The government are the mistake.

• Tossers

• JakkiB 09/11/12 #

I actually think this government have got to the stage where they think they are above the law, This is frightening stuff…

• IF… so the man is so deluded that he thinks the government are still right. I think that the result should and must be challenged. If it is not then the validity and credibility of our Supreme court has been called into question by this dictatorship we call Fine Gael / Labour. We have a government that are now prepared to ride roughshod over the constitutional laws of the land. The people must say ‘enough is enough’.

• dna30 09/11/12 #

A linguist would have a field day with the statement: ‘If the government made a mistake we accept that’. By adding ‘IF’ to the statement, its clear that the Government have not accepted the Supreme Court ruling, which is definitive.

• Irish politicians are the most dismissive and arrogant elected leaders on the planet.
    They only look out for themselves and the super wealthy or corporate weasels

• tom 09/11/12 #

Ignore the Supreme Court sure the Goverment know best. Just proceed as if nothing is amiss.
    Reminds me of the old Carry On films

• Poor oul Leo just can’t help himself. He has to get involved in every little thing!

• Pure arrogance and high handedness.

• He’s director of elections for fg on this isn’t he? Not saying he isn’t a tool, mind you, just that he’s a tool in the right box this time.

• Leo is the director of elections for this referendum. This guy just is so arrogant that he will not accept he made a deliberate b*lls of it

. http://www.thejournal.ie/childrens-referendum-varadkar-hits-out-at-the-no-side-660859-Nov2012/

He actually blames the attorney general for wrong advice ?
      Arrogance .

• SeanS 09/11/12 #

Why is it arrogant to blame the advice given though? If the government sought the advice of their legal advisor (the AG) on the issue and made their decisions based on that info, is he/she not in some way culpable if that advice subsequently turns out to be wrong? The AG is supposed to be a trusted authority on these subjects, it’s not unreasonable that the government would trust his/her advice.

• Because he said “if”. When the Supreme Court tell you that you were wrong, you were wrong. Doesnt matter whose advice you got. Also, no apology for the mess that has now been created, or to refund the misspent money from party funds.

• SeanS
      Leo said “IF”. That is the point. The highest court in the land tells the Government they are wrong, but the Government still believes they are right. This is not how a democratic Government should act. FG is returning to their Blue Shirt ways of the 1930’s. Next thing you know they will try to limit political oversight of their operations. Hold on a minute they are, they want to get rid of the Seanad Éireann. Michael Collins is turning in his…

• ….and because the Supreme Court do not agree with his point of view, he is calling them dictators. Cant see through his arrogance that others might have a valid opinion that differes from his. Meglomania.

• SeanS 09/11/12 #

I accepted the point that his use of “if” was arrogant, but then that wasn’t what I was challenging. My point was aimed at eileen who said “He actually blames the attorney general for wrong advice ?
      Arrogance.” As if somehow him lamenting the advice of the AG, which is presumably the advice the government based it’s campaigning on, was somehow arrogant.

Also he didn’t call the supreme court dictators. It was Malachy Steenson that mentioned a dictatorship, although he was talking about the government, not the SC.

• SeanS 09/11/12 #

Hard to get rid of political oversight that doesn’t exist. What political oversight powers does the Seanad have other than to discuss the legislation to death. All it can do is delay it, meaning, in legislative terms at least, it offers little other than another layer of bureaucracy.

• Tell me . What is wrong with Leo saying ‘Sorry , we got it wrong .’ No he said ” If the government made a mistake here in the information booklet we hold up our hands up and we accept that.” NO apology there . They used taxpayers money to promote the Yes vote and no funds for any one who wants the No vote . I believe that people were afraid to object to this referendum because it was promoted so well as a good thing for children , but it is not good . It is an absolute disaster. When I saw Leo was director of election for FG . I said to myself this is going to be a disaster , because Leo can never get it right , not his fault . Just the way he is. I remember saying it that the Gov must not be worried if it is not passed because they put Leo in charge . No political party will come out against the children , they wont risk it politically. So it is up to individuals to decide for themselves and vote NO to protect children from the clutches of the State. Please vote NO. It is not a good referendum for children or families. Leo will be left holding the baby either way . A No vote or a spoiled vote due to the arrogance of doing it wrong in the first place .

• JUST VOTE NO!! Simples ;)

• Arrogant and high handed…dangerous combination for a public representative….HE is the mistake!?!?

• Sorry eh? That means FG will be reimbursing the money out of their own coffers. I won’t hold my breath

• LOL, if the government made a mistake.. THE GOVERNMENT ARE A MISTAKE

• Who made the mistake in electing them……but then again…what’s the alternative

• The alternative is demonstrated in Iceland.
      Then we need to look to Scandinavia where they realised that liberty without a measure of equality can never create anything resembling democracy.

• @Paul
      The people that wanted “change” and voted for a crowd with the same policies… the mistakenly thought that different faces is a significant difference

• Damien,
      Please do have a look at Iceland!!! & maybe Argentina as well because they were help up as some kind of example…You ever been to Iceland btw??

• Not sure of the point of that question, Declan. My visiting Iceland has no bearing.

I mentioned Iceland because of their commendable political integrity and gumption in evicting the white-collar criminals who colluded in the split-derivative bundled sub-prime ponzi-scam, and refused to kiss the bankers’ rod.

The stable needed cleaning. They didn’t just go in and give it a lick of paint and a change of straw-men.

The people of Greece, Spain and Italy are demanding the same, and it will continue as state repression deepens. We saw over the last half-century in the north how stubborn refusal to allow peaceful evolution will lead to violence. How long do these yes-men gombeens think they can squeeze us before it erupts. But for emigration we would be experiencing our own little spot of Greece.
      The planet cannot sustain the current economic model with its parasitic and gluttonous elites. They are like intellectual ticks, fastened on an outdated laissez-faire ideology of competition uber alles neo-conservative nonsense. I’ve been following it for a while. Get a copy of Naomi Klein’s Shock Doctrine for a succinct overview, if you are not already familiar with it. Michel Chossudovsky’s The Globalisation of Poverty gives a more detailed breakdown of IMFery. No need for boots on the ground, books on the shelf are the route-map.

• The only real answer to this type of issue is for the government to publish no information.

• The constitution is actually quite legible..but the lawyers don’t wan’t you to know that, so they create liturgical arcana to obfuscate and dazzle ..its a form of verbal hypnotism…rhetoric on stilts.
      Another prieshood of inside fast-trackers, like all exclusive profe$$ional cabals(just fancy words for golden circles, don’t be intimidated: you are literate, use the dictionary function).

• Micheal 09/11/12 #

“If you tell a lie big enough and keep repeating it, people will eventually come to believe it. The lie can be maintained only for such time as the State can shield the people from the political, economic and/or military consequences of the lie. It thus becomes vitally important for the State to use all of its powers to repress dissent, for the truth is the mortal enemy of the lie, and thus by extension, the truth is the greatest enemy of the State.”

• Any other country and the likes of Leo would resign over a mess up like this

• Who do we turn to? They are all as bad as each other. Mayb i’ll run in the nxt election, i couldn’t do worse and ya’s wud b giving a poor unemployed student a job

• Personally I’m voting get for the only party who haven’t had a go yet!

If they mess it up even more, or ‘forget’ their electoral promises myself and family will emigrate

• Turn to your local library and study how the Scandinavians run an egalitarian democracy.

It requires participation, vigilance, commitment and unpaid work. And it will take some time to install.
      Your patience and co-operation are requested.

Oh, and much opposition is to be expected.

• THEY LIED AGAIN!!!!!!

• SeanS 09/11/12 #

How do you know it wasn’t a genuine error as opposed to a deliberate one? What motivation have they to deliberately produce information pamphlets they know to be bias, when it’s generally accepted that either way the vote would be a yes vote?

Incompetent maybe, but liars? That’s a different kettle of fish.

• The tnhing is Sean that its a habit with them.

Thats how they got in. By pretending they were going to do something like the Icelanders did, and then diving into the remains of the FF/PD broken trough.

• SeanS 09/11/12 #

I’m not disagreeing with that, I’m saying, that in this instance, there is no real motivation to lie, at least that I can see. So when someone says “THEY LIED AGAIN”, it seems to me that people just twist the information to suit their own opinions.

Is it not more likely that it’s incompetence than a deliberate lie? There’s a world of difference between the two.

• No Sean..its not incompetence.

These lads are supremely competent.
      And you have point about the lies(although I believe they do and regularly and quite cynically for the simple reason the contradictions in their stances are so blatent they are either habitual liars or clinical schitzophrenics).

The problem is that they are programmed into a failed and outdated economic myopia of ideology as poisonous as the proletarian dictatorship of Stalinism. Theirs is a blind acceptance of the prevailing dictatorship of the global coporatariat which feeds their ego-vanity as surely as the former fed its politburo.
      So really what they do is regurgitate the herd-think of a cultivated school of econometricians on the corporate payroll without question.
      It is a form of mental lockstep as unbreakable and blinkered as the wehrmacht’s headed for its Moscow appointment.
      We have to build outside of it and prepare to clean up again after them..just like ye olde FF/PD axis of virtue..in a fresh blue shirt. That will require self-education(individually and collectively), or it will continue to loop endlessly.

• They Lied again because that is what they always do .
      I am sick of them .

• @ Sean – Varadaker would never resign from government, he is simply blinded and deafened by his own ideology

• Are I right in saying that some of the Legislature on what we are voting on has not even been written yet?

• For the record, I think the AG should resign if it was a case of her advice being this wrong.

• After the decision in the court yesterday it shouldn’t be going ahead at all, there’s a serious rush on to get it through just to make labour happy as at least that’s one election promise that they can’t be accused of breaking. It should be postponed and whoever is responsible for the booklet sued for every penny it will cost to rectify. Varadkar was on the radio this morning basically saying ‘I know we made mistakes but we shouldn’t be judged for those mistakes’… I wonder if a parent facing their child being taken away in the courts can use the same defence.
    The government are asking the people to trust them in looking after children when they can’t even look after an unbiased pamphlet.
    Rant over.

• Accept that you broke the law you mean.. Leo Pinocchio.. Now what about accepting the consequences for breaking the Law…

• Maybe next they could apologise for wasting €50,000,000 of taxpayers money on going ahead with a hospital’s plans when they were not in bed with the planning people. Imagine a private company doing that? The CEO would be a gonner. One dept of the company wasting €50,000,000 because it didn’t consult with another dept.

• We the people should join together and have this shower of wasters thrown out. We need a civilian government very badly.

• It really shows how incompetent this government is…they have damaged their own campaign more than any of the opposition to this referendum could have dreamed of…Im sure a Yes vote would have won up until this fiasco but now any yes voter has to wrestle with their concience and ask themselves if the state can make mistakes like this can they be trusted with doing the right thing by our children

• This Government is relaying on incorrect legal advice on this matter. How many more pieces of legal advice have they received that is incorrect? Need I ask was it the same people who gave legal advice about not being able to touch pensions? You can bet your sweet life it is. If they are not the solution to the problems they must be the problem. It’s time for Leo & his idiot pals to go.

• IF the Government made a mistake! The Highest Court in the land makes a unanimous decision and Leo Varadkar, a politicised D4 yuppie, dares to doubt it! Such an attitude can only be punished with a resounding NO tomorrow.

• This referendum is about the rights of children.Read the referendum commissions pamphlet and arguments from the Yes and No side then make an informed decision.People here don’t seem to understand there are is much more information available on the referendum than the pamphlet that the government sent out.The government received legal advice and were told the pamphlet was in accordance with the McKenna principles.Why should they question the legal advice they receive from then Attorney Generals Office?The High Court judge agreed with this whilst the Supreme court didn’t.Different interpretations reached different conclusions.Overall the government should have just let the people read the Referendum commission and ran a normal campaign without producing there own pamphlet and leaving themselves open to legal challenges.Challenges like the one in the Supreme court yesterday are nothing new and the government would have been aware of this.Anyone who plans to vote no in arrogance of an abundance of information that is still out there in regard to the referendum is stupid.Referendums are not about punishing governments, that is what elections are for. If you have time to rant here you have time to read the information that is still available and make a choice.The government had no need to try and ‘lie’ to us.Has no one here ever received advice that turned out be wrong?

• Cathal.
      The proposed referendum includes the phrase “as far as practicable” a number of times. What does that mean? I’ll tell you exactly what that means. It means multiple legal challenges from both sides of the issue. Each challenge will end up with the Supreme Court deciding because lower courts would have “Different interpretations reached different conclusions”. In other words this amendment is flawed.
      By the way “as far as practicable” is another way of saying as long as we have the money to do the job correctly, otherwise we will continue on with the shoddy way we have being doing things for years.
      Finally you say “Anyone who plans to vote no in arrogance of an abundance of information that is still out there in regard to the referendum is stupid”. The point that some stupid people fail to realise is some of us have read not only the information but also the proposed amendments, and what we read scares us.
      That is why we are voting no and not because we are “stupid”.

• Am Colm If you read again what I said, I meant anyone who votes no because of the pamphlet that was biased as a means of punishing the government is stupid. I encouraged everyone to read the referendum commisions leaflet and make an informed decision. I merely stated anyone who is going to vote no because of yesterdays happenings without reading the vast amount of information available is stupid.And am ‘as far as practicable’ is to make sure citizens cannot demand excessive rights from the constitution.This phrase is already contained in the constitution under article 40.3. which deals with vindicating and defending the personal rights of citizens.This has been dealt with restrictively by the superior courts.So maybe you should check that out.The No side is trying to whip up fear that the state for some obscene reason wants to take away their children.

• Cathal I think the biggest fear for people who are undecided is that while they might agree with the yes side of the referendum they are not so sure that the state is up to the job…the headline above reads if the government made a mistake etc etc….now even the most fairminded contributors on the site agree that they did make a mistake and heres where the problem lies….what happens if mistakes are made with the children in their care will they admit it then or will it be covered up and to what detrement

• ‘Stupid’ is a very strong word Cathal and I’m not sure there is any need for its use within these comments. One could argue though that the government was stupid for not trebble checking details with their vast legal teams prior to publishing the ‘clearly biased’ information. The fact that they have such vast legal teams makes me wonder if it really was a ‘mistake’. How dare you say; “Has no one here ever received advice that turned out be wrong.” You have a cheek to even attempt to put this highly unethical and illegal government behavior into the same category as everyday Joe Soap mistakes!!

• Oh ya because I was referring to advice received in the pub from your average joe soap!!Obviously I was referring to professional advice i.e. doctors,solicitors,barristers.Also read the context of the way ‘stupid’ was used.I said anyone who just decides to vote NO without consulting information available is stupid and I stand by that.Whether they vote YES or NO after making an informed decision based on information is their democratic choice but voting NO over this pamphlet is ridiculous when an abundance of infomation to make an informed choice with regard to childrens rights is still available. And obviously it was a mistake!Why in the world would they even think of distributing information it they thought would be considered biased by the courts, thus throwing the referendum into controversy, when all along the referendum had support from all parties and childrens groups.It had no need to do that.Legal challenges such as the one that succeeded are nothing new and are always considered a possibility.So dont be getting all righteous with your use of ‘unethical’.They received legal advice that Supreme Court disagreed with.They were not the first and they sure as hell wont be the last person or body that this will happen to.People on the Journal just jump at any chance to jump all over the government.Very fairly in lots of cases but also unfairly in some cases such as this where the government believed on advice given that they had adhered to the McKenna principles as did the High Court but the Supreme Court didnt.Im sure the president of the high court would be considered to have a good grasp of the law but even he failed to see the bias.

• Cathal, that statement you made about ‘mistakes’ did have a pretty casual vibe about it, and yes it did seem like you were comparing government legal advice to that a punter might receive in the pub. Regardless of the context in which you meant it, it was a ridiculous thing to say!

In your last comment you are defending the government by saying: “Different interpretations reached different conclusions.Overall the government should have just let the people read the Referendum commission and ran a normal campaign without producing there own pamphlet and leaving themselves open to legal challenges.

That argument doesn’t stand, on the basis that the High Court case should have been a sufficient enough warning sign to stop distributing the relevant publications. Instead they ignored the warning signs. How you can sympathise is beyond me. There was clear ‘the law can’t touch us’ motive behind the madness from government in this case. It’s not logical to lay the blame on legal advisors!! The government made the final decision and knowingly published biased information.

• How exactly is it ridiculous?They relied on what is meant to be expert advice.That is not there area of expertise.Thats like saying the doctor recommended I have surgery.Then when it turns out to be poor advice someone says to me sure why would ya listen to someone who has expertise in that area?surely theyd be wrong?would ya stop would ya.And considering they won the high court case why should that have been a warning?Also you would swear this has been the first constitutional challenge against the state.What are they supposed to do just back off once someone pursues litigation against them?especially when advised that in this case they acted in accordance with the McKenna principles.They didnt knowlingly publish biased information.The Supreme court deemed it to be biased.They never inferred that it was knowingly biased.Wait until the judgement is released in December and it will clarify that it wasnt a case of case of ‘ara sure just give them this biased information they wont know any better’.The state know if they publish biased information the courts wont have it so they get advice to make sure it is in accordance.The advice was wrong.Simple as.As much as people might wish Fitzgerald didnt type out the leaflet herself and then have it distributed.The final decision to publish the information was made on the advice received.Is that not simple to understand?

• Oh it’s simple alright (in its vegetable theory-esque entirety!) Cathal. Give yourself a pat on the back, keep up the self righteous government spokesmanship. Sure why not go all out and seek commission!?

I will say it again. The government acted ignorantly and unethically, especially considering the very nature of this particular referendum. The so-called mistake alongside the blatant unwillingness to take action following the High Court case is very wrong.

In one of your earlier posts you said: “Overall the government should have just let the people read the Referendum commission and ran a normal campaign without producing there own pamphlet and leaving themselves open to legal challenges.” Now that would have been the rational thing to do eh!

In your most recent comment you said: “And considering they won the high court case why should that have been a warning?”

I find these two statements very contradictory Cathal. Its as if one one hand you can see the blatant corrupt campaign move and on the other you feel obliged to back the government.

The behavior outlined here might be up to your standards, and good for you being so easily pleased and forgiving. It certainly is not up to the standards I would expect from the very government who are asking me to trust them with my son’s best interests!

• How is that contradictory?Explain?..Yes that would have been the rational thing to do to avoid any legal conflict or controversy.They could have left it to the referendum commission. But that doesnt change the fact that the legal advice given to them told them the pamphlet wasnt biased.DO YOU UNDERSTAND THAT?OR ARE YOU INCAPABLE OF UNDERSTANDING IT?…What i said in know way says that i saw some kind of corrupt campaign.Your point with regard to the high court case makes no sense.Have you never heard of someone litigating against the state on a constitutional matter and not winning?Is the point you are trying to make that if someone litigates against the state then that automatically means pull the plug on whatever they are proposing?Sure there was a challenge to the Stability Treaty as well.As for me government spokesperson ya thats a good one alright.See its I can think logically about a situation rather than a ‘hang them all’ attitude.If you understood the process prior to publishing such a pamphlet you would understand they would require advice to make sure they are in accordance with the McKenna principles.They followed this process and received wrong advice.Why cant you get your head around dat?Maybe the best legal advice would have been that they should just leave it to the referendum commission but that didnt happen.Do yourself a favour and read the judgement when it comes out in december and see where you see the words you use such as ‘corrupt’ ‘knowingly’ appear.I can guarantee you they will not appear.

• Whatever the result tomorrow, how the hell can we measure the impact of these illegal actions on the voters. David Davenpower seems to think it won’t change anything – but he would say that wouldn’t he?

I’ve changed my vote from YES to either NO or SPOIL.

• Yet another referendum where the government has been too inept to put together a proper unbiased campaign. Can these guys do anything right?

• As Beckett said,
    If my aunt had a mickey shed be my uncle.

• Good oul Leo ‘The Heartless, Shameless Robot” Varadkar!!

Please click on the link below. Its an article illustrating some Dublin’s opinion on the referendum and the referendum posters. Some interesting opinions!!

http://sarahmargaretreilly.wordpress.com/2012/11/08/dublin-opinion-the-childrens-rights-referendum-and-campaign-posters/

• Am I reading this right. The highest court in the land tells the Government that it is not complying with aspects of law correctly and one Minister says “IF we made a mistake”. “He accepted that there may be a legal challenge to the result “. Well Minister there were people in this country who cast their vote prior to the Supreme Court ruling on this issued. How many of them would have voted a different way if they knew the truth? Unless these voters are willing or forced to give up their legal right to a secret ballot, there is now way to know. Therefore in all likelihood any challenge issued under this point alone could succeed.

• At least he’s willing to accept, that arrogant buffoon Shatter was as smug as ever on six one last night!

• As much as you all love kicking the Government, this is not the time to do it.

The Supreme Court had the opportunity to injunct the vote and didn’t. This means that the vote will stand.

• Leo is the modern day face of the definition-hubris.utter contempt for Irish electorate. This supreme court ruling brings into question was similar tactics used in achieving the fiscal treaty result.

• You’ll pay for it, soon enough!

Add New Comment