TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 15 °C Sunday 19 May, 2013

Calls for Ireland to (finally) outlaw corporal punishment in the home

Corporal punishment was banned in schools in 1982 but is still legal in homes – despite repeated calls for it to be stopped.

Image: Child sitting in a hall via Shutterstock

THERE HAVE BEEN renewed calls for Ireland to follow the lead of other countries and make corporal punishment of children completely illegal.

Ireland is one of the few countries in Europe which has not yet banned corporal punishment in the home, along with countries such as Armenia, Estonia and Georgia.

Minister for Children Frances Fitzgerald has told the Dáil that Ireland has been found to breach the European Social Charter – which guarantees social and economic human rights –  because of the lack of an explicit prohibition.

Children’s charity Barnardos has said the law needs to be changed to protect children from any form of physical violence.

“We believe that the law is important in reflecting the values we hold as a society and our attitudes towards children,” a spokesperson told TheJournal.ie.

Despite increased efforts in recent years by the State to rectify past mistakes when it comes to children, a loophole in the law means that corporal punishment in the home is not outlawed in Ireland.

Corporal punishment, in which an adult deliberately inflict pain as a punishment for wrongdoing, was banned in Ireland’s schools in 1982 by the Minister for Education and prohibited créches, public care settings and other places under the Children Act of 2001. It became a criminal offence in 1996 – but it is still not explicitly banned in the home.

The United Nations and other organisations which protect children have repeatedly called on Ireland to change its laws to punish parents who hurt their children.

A spokesperson for Barnardos said that the law should be changed to protect children from any form of physical violence, saying:

While we understand the frustration that parents face when dealing with difficult behaviour,we believe that other discipline approaches, such as ‘time out’, being grounded, or withdrawal of favourite toys or activities promote positive parenting while teaching children boundaries and respect for themselves and others.

Minister for Children Frances Fitzgerald has told the Dáil that Ireland does not have any laws which specifically allow corporal punishment in the home, but the problem is that it is not clearly banned.

A limited defence of reasonable chastisement exists under Irish law – but the Minister noted that the State has taken a number of high profile prosecutions against parents who used excessive or unreasonable force against children.

In a response to Sinn Féin’s Mary Lou McDonald, the Minister told the Dáil:

There is a balance to be found between supporting parents in effective parenting, in particular, in use of non-violent forms of discipline, and the use of criminal law to impose criminal sanctions on parents who do not adhere to best practice in parenting

Research by the Department of Children has found that corporal punishment in the home is now relatively rare in Ireland.

Read: Look familiar? Irish school books through the years >

Read: French teachers strike over plans to work 5-day week >

Read next:

Comments (98 Comments)

• I have 4 children & there is a policy of not slapping in our family. I dont thinks its necessary & its a lot easier to parent without it. However I have friends & family that slap their children & I dont agree with it but it is their way & their children respond to it. The problem with these laws is it makes the family a legal apparatus & I dont trust the law or anyone else with my children or the children of the country. We have seen lately the performance of the legal system & we know all about the legislators. We dare not let them dictate our family life or what you see is families before the courts for minor offences & rapists & child batterers making bail continueously. I say fook off from my family & leave us be.

• Maybe parents should discipline their kids more, lots of spoiled little brats running around these days.

• thats for sure. watched a woman in a shop recently asking her son to “would he like to put on his jacket”. he just screamed at her and kicked her in the legs. bold little bastard. everyone stood there watching her plead with him. it was pathetic. he need his arse walloped.

• ‘Watched a woman in a shop’ , ‘everyone stood there watching’ nosey bastards, mind your business and walk on, don’t stand around staring at people’s kids! My friend frequently has struggles like that with her kid, her kid isn’t spoiled, they’re autistic! and she has to put up with nosey judgemental fools everyday. So think the next time.

• Try not to judge what you see. You only see a snippet of that persons life. The child might have issues or just be tired and cranky that day or hot and didn’t want to be there, but lacks the communicative skills to explain. The mother is only human too, she may be exhausted from work life balance and chronic lack of sleep, depression anxiety, bereavement, anything! We are always very quick to judge, I did it myself before I had children, but realise how naive and judgemental I was. Please try not to be so quick to judge

• Roisin 27/01/13 #

Totally agree with you. More discipline is needed but there are better ways to discipline a child without resorting to slapping.
      I was never hit as a child but my partner was. When we had our first child we decided to parent without slapping and see how it would work out (my partner was totally unconvinced that it would work). Our daughter is now 8 and has never been slapped. She is respectful and very well behaved. A lot of work goes into it but it’s well worth it. Never giving in to a tantrum, removal of toys for a day or a week, positive praise when she behaves very well are just some examples.

• Well said

• When is this going to stop, when we have to visit our kids on jails or at the grave. Children get slapped for reasons same way we ad adults get punished by the law. We are parents and we want our kids to grow up with respect and have a good life. Can’t be done if we can’t control them.. Life is tough so as kids we need firm direction and restraints. As parents we and only us no what’s best for our kids, another ploy by the gov to remove parental rights. And yes there IIS exceptions as there is with everything

• Study after study have shown that ‘spanking’ increases mis-behaviour in children. For exmaple:
      http://online.sfsu.edu/rone/Buddhism/FivePrecepts/spanking.html
      Nobody is saying that children do not have to learn about the boundaries in human society and relationships – the point is that they are kids and we are adults and we need to understand that it takes time for them to learn and is an ongoing process. A toddler is literally incapable in terms of physical and emotional development of seeing another point of view. Tantrums, uncontrolled behaviour, kicking parents, etc. is normal behaviour of a young child – perhaps we need to teach child development and positive parenting in school.
      I guess you can always control a child by fear or the threat of physical pain, but is it really going to have the outcome you want? All the evidence says that you can raise them with love and boundaries. That way they will develop intrinsic pro-social behaviour, rather than good behaviour only to avoid punishment and only when somebody is looking.
      The idea that not slapping a child leads to them being disrespectful is ridiculous. What you model as a parent is what they are likely in the end to copy. So if you treat them disrespectfully, shout, hit, etc. then they will likely model that behaviour – if not with you then with others. I know hitting them is easier than changing yourself, but is it good parenting?

• What about the kids beating up the parents!?

• Corporal punishment was allowed in schools when I was in primary school. But if I got a slap I would not dare go home and tell my mother as I would only get another one at home.,
    All of us at home , ŵhen growing up , receives slaps when we mis behaved . It was never excessive but it did give us a health respect for authority. None of my family has ever being in trouble with the law or in trouble in school. I don’t think this is coincidence !
    Verbal tongue lashings from parents or those in authority can leave scars that can be hard to overcome and can cause a lot more damage than a ‘slap’.

• Mary, I remember excessive treatment from some teachers, it taught us nothing but disrespect for their authority

• Agreed, verbal abuse can be as bad if not worse, and how can you legislate for that?

• jrbmc 27/01/13 #

I agree totally Mary , all respect for authority slowly went out the window after 1982, I understand that children need to be protected but a change in the law is going to stop a violent person from being a violent person

• Excessive is the word. Children shouldn’t be bruised. A smack on the hand by a parent does no harm to a child they love. The state intrusion into modern homes given their gross failure to protect children in their care in the past is indeed ironic. The UN have their own agenda for undermining the authority of parents in favour of the state. I often got a smack when I deserved it and I never doubted my parents loved me and wanted the best for me.

• JayK 27/01/13 #

“The UN have their own agenda for undermining the authority of parents in favour of the state.”

You wonder where they find the time in between hiding all the UFOs and adding mind-control gas to commercial aircraft.

“… all respect for authority slowly went out the window after 1982″.

No it didn’t.

• Cylon 27/01/13 #

As far as I know many European countries have not put a full ban on corporal punishment in the home. France for example and perhaps the UK and there are others. This does not make Ireland’s position any better but it might be helpful if a true appraisal of the current situation was reflected in the article.

• If France is anything to go by we may give up now… Went to Paris when pregnant with my first child and came home dreading the thoughts of being a parent!! the behaviour of some of the kids was unreal!! One family was asked to leave after the child started stabbing the mother with a fork and hitting her….. I couldn’t believe she didn’t do anything and was trying to talk him down calmly brat!

• http://www.endcorporalpunishment.org/pages/pdfs/hittingwrong.pdf
      I know that countries that have outlawed it have had as a knock on effect a significant fall in child abuse at the more severe end of the scale as well (which is interesting) because of the change in thinking of what is OK to do to a child and increased respect in society for the physical safety of the child. There was a lot of resistance from parents at the time the laws came in but they are now generally supported – the sky did not fall in, parents are not being sent to prison, and the incidence of extreme violence against children has dropped.

• Quite right – it’s a bit rich to cite Armenia and Georgia as comparable countries when the position in the UK, just over the road, is pretty much the same as in Ireland. The UK is criticised by the same UN committee, and for the same reasons, in relation to corporal punishment.

Certainly we should end the practice – it’s often noted that you can’t offer physical violence to adults in the same circumstances, so why should it be legal to attack children? But recycling a press release from Barnardo’s doesn’t really do the issue justice.

• @Conor: a significant number of the countries which have not yet banned it are in eastern Europe. Armenia and Georgia were simply mentioned as two examples of countries which are in the same situation as Ireland (and which are in the minority in Europe for not yet prohibiting it).

On your second point: not sure where you got the idea that this came from a press release. I found the parliamentary question on the Oireachtas website and spoke to Barnardos to get their take on it. There was no need for the casual attack on my professionalism.

• @Christine,

Looking back over this I have to apologise. Whatever about minor quibbles with how the story was presented, calling it a press release was not on. Quite apart from anything else, it’s great that the issue is being covered at all.

• I am not opposed to the odd slap I received, as much as I disliked it at the time I damn well respected my parents. Am I a Stockholm-syndrome-esque survivour where I empathise with my parents? I am in no means supporting excessive violence towards kids, but a gentle enough slap at least enforces the idea that this is not the right way to behave. However, I have seen it now where if a child acts up they are told they are going on the naughty step. They act up even more, give a pseudo-forced-apology. Do you think the child has really learned something from that exchange? What I see they have learned is they can act up, when threatened with punishment they act up even more, offer a paltry forced apology and escape said punishment. Seriously what have they learned, nothing in my eyes as they have not faced the consequences of their actions. But that is just my opinion as an observer. Each child is different, so all of this depends on the maturity and emotional intelligence of the child. I would be genuinely interested in other people’s opinions to this.

• I fully agree that the laws should be changed and corporal punishment of children in the home should be outlawed. However, legally a person doesn’t become an adult until they’re 18 years of age. If an awkward 14-17 year old decides to make a vexatious complaint towards a parent, things could get very messy very quickly.

• And here, some do that if they don’t get their way. But… There is a difference between corporal punishment and a spanking, which you got when I was a kid, and we turned out ok..a lot of kids nowadays are spoiled rotten and get away with anything.

• a slap on the arse never done a child any harm. outlawed in 1982 me arse. myself and others got thumped by our headmaster and hit with rulers in the mid to late nineties.

• Aidan 27/01/13 #

Nothing wrong with an oul spanking. Didnt harm myself or any of my mates.

• I don’t see a wave of malicious complaints by teenagers in the rest of the civilised world

• Do you work in a position that would enable you to see these complaints giovanni?

• JayK 27/01/13 #

It’s important everyone has respect for authority. You have to obey your headmaster. And the Gardai. And the Government. And your parents. And all your elders. And the clergy. And anyone with a reflective jacket with letters on the back.

Because if someone has authority its because they earned it and they shouldn’t be questioned. People with authority are never wrong. It’s important you learn not to assert yourself, develop your own opinions or learn to question authority. After all, they can hit you but you’re not allowed to hit them because they have authority and that makes it right.

You got a smack as a kid and now you’ve got a “healthy respect for authority”? That’s not something to be proud of.

• Liam 27/01/13 #

I was slapped as a child , it did me no harm and i have a lot of respect for my parents , its not as if i was slapped excessively more often it was the threat of a slap if you mis behaved that kept you in line

If you dont fear a punishment whats to prevent you from doing the crime (i can do what i like nobody can do anything about it)

• When I was a child and if I was bold I got a slap. My mother had the fastest slipper in the west! Ya wouldn’t see it coming! But , I love her for it. I got the odd boot in the arse from the local Guard too and it helped shape me. My mother taught me respect and put manners on me. Thats what missing these days. There is a big difference between discipline and beating. If a puppy pissed on the floor you would slap its nose until the dog learned. I have my own child now and when he was small he got the odd slap when he was bold. I didnt like doing it but i’m glad i did. He is eight now and he is the most mannerly chap and the need for discipline is rare now. Compare him to his friends who never get disciplined. Some of them are bold little feckers! For bad behaviour there must be a punishment and I don’t mean sitting on the bold step! That only teaches a child that ” I can do as I like and all that will happen is a stint on the bold step”
    If there is no law in the home how can we expect law on the street!
    People spend too much time trying to raise kids by reading parenting books! Piles of shite! Get a grip folks or the generations to come are f@@ked!!

• its not the pain of the slap that has the desired effect but it is the act of slapping. The child gets the message that the parent is really cross and that his/her behaviour is unacceptable, also the threat of a slap can also work just as well, slapping has an important part to play in rearing children and it works. Although it shouldn’t be used so frequent it looses its effect and never as the first response, slapping has its place.

• Its the nature of children to test the boundaries of the world around them when they are developing, a slap from a parent tells a child that they have surpassed an acceptable level. This is crucial to their developement. We are the first generation of humans in history where this is seen as an unacceptable act by a parent and look where our society is going already.

• EMD 27/01/13 #

Do you know what I always find saddest about this debate? Each and every time it is raised we have parents judging and criticising each other. I think it is really important to acknowledge that parenting is a skill and one that is learnt as we go along, I guess some take more easily to it than others but I think we can safely safe that most of us love children and want the very best for them. As parents we should recognise how difficult it can be to hold your head, not get angry, not say things we swore we never would and to remember to parent the ‘right’ way. I think we are all evolving from a society where corporal punishment, regular & sometimes severe, was the norm and it is very hard for that to completely change overnight. Parents are not supported in this area, you get classes about minding the newborn but pretty well no support on dealing with a strong-willed toddler, opinionated chid etc. I bought books about parenting but it wasn’t until I spoke to a PHN about my eldest sons temper that I discovered the best book of all http://www.amazon.com/Incredible-Years-Troubleshooting-Parents-Children/dp/1895642027/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1359299558&sr=1-1&keywords=incredible+years+a+troubleshooting+guide+for+parents+of+children+aged+3+to+8 It really helped me deal with the behaviour that had occasionally ended with me smacking him. I used to end up in tears when I did smack and made me feel like a failure as a parent. I guess my point is that we are all trying to do our best and maybe supporting rather than judgement would be much more useful on discussions like this.

• There are a lot of cheeky spoiled little kids out there that are just short of one good b8n. Telling them off is not going to do the job. I only got slapped once and I’m all the better for it.

• This decision to outlaw corporal punishment has come about since the passing of the new legislation from the referendum. Having read almost all the comments above, the seems to be an underlying ire amongst those of you who are against this proposal. If its the case where you didn’t vote like the majority of the country, you missed your chance and all this complaining and justification that its ok to smack your child is just crying over spilled milk. We as a society have evolved alot since the days of corporal punishment. And the spoiled brats we have today has actually nothing got to do with them being spanked or not( for all we know they couldn’t be beaten all the time by a parent).Those that didn’t respond to “physical ‘ education ( to use Dylan Morans comedic satire) in school and continued to act up and were thought to be retarded or shipped off to schools like letterfrack and we all know what happened there! When we become parents its the most important thing, more than our jobs, money, homes laptops etc, and you all as parents know your own children best and all want the best for them and are probably a great parent, however and i apologize for my sanctimony, may I suggest and by all mean ignore if you want, it wouldn’t do any harm to do some research on the negative impacts of smacking a child before settling on the ‘it never did us any harm” evidence.

• The assertion that ‘sparing the rod’ creates undisciplined kids assumes that smacking is the only effective form of discipline. I would say it’s actually the least effective. I’ve got a very well-behaved 3-year-old and we’ve managed the tantrum stage without physical discipline. Toddlers lose control of themselves very easily so our job as parents is to help them learn how to control their emotions and impulses. That’s pretty hard to do if you don’t stay calm and in control yourself. The only time I did smack her was when I lost patience to the point of losing control of myself. Neither of us took anything positive from the experience. I just can’t see the benefit of smacking when there are – in my experience at least – easier ways of teaching a child self-control.

• It’s a shame that we live in a world that requires legislation to stop adults hitting children.

I’m sure many people will claim that they were hit as children and it “never did them any harm”, but before we descend into the four Yorkshire men sketch (“our dad and our mother would kill us and dance about on our graves singing Hallelujah”) it did do you harm … it made you think it was okay for adults to hit children. It isn’t.

• Finally! Someone gets to the point!
      Nobody should ever be hit or spanked or slapped or clipped or bait up or whatever. That includes children.
      You wouldn’t do it to a dog, why would you do it to a child?

• CABK 27/01/13 #

The flip side to this argument is where would you rather see ‘harm’. I have no issues if you want to see that I am ‘harmed’ because I believe it is okay for a parent (not any adult) to give their child (not any child) a smack on the bottom when they are bold.

For me an odd slap with a wooden spoon when younger in our family caused no issues – we are all well rounded, successful adults now, we enjoy a great relationship with our parents that is more a friendship at this stage in addition to having good manners. If my own family are as close knit and well brought up as myself and my siblings are then I will be delighted with that and am sure that even though you continue to ‘see harm’ that my children will have the same opinion as me – that it genuinely didn’t do any harm but taught valuable lessons about discipline, not always getting what you want and in general avoiding spoilt bratty children who will throw tantrums in a shopping centre because they know mammy and daddy can’t do anything about it except give into them.

Personally I see alot more harm and ramifications for a child as an adult in situations where parents try fruitlessly to discipline their children and end up giving into them – resulting in spoilt children who believe a tantrum will get them whatever they want, who have no respect for their parents or adults and no knowledge of boundaries or of behaving a particular way in different situations. I also see alot of harm in parents who do not slap their children but instead result to verbal abuse – I believe this also has a far worse impact on that child when grown up.

I see this as harming children much more than a gentle slap to remind them they can’t do whatever they want (and this is a valuable lesson for life in general).

Additionally, James, it is common practice in dog training so tap a dog firmly on the nose when it has been bold so it learns discipline – it doesn’t do them any harm either as attested by my two dogs who come running over to my car to be petted every time I come home like they haven’t seen me in about ten years.

• Yeah. I remember getting clipped around the ear or whatever, and that was fine. I didn’t turn out too badly (I don’t think!).
      The problem is if you allow it in certain cases, why shouldn’t you allow it in others? What’s to stop a parent giving a smack around the temple of the forehead, ultimately killing the child, when another can bash a child up and down the house with nothing more than a few cuts and bruises resulting?

• CABK 27/01/13 #

I agree with your point as to how it can spiral. I agree that this loophole should be closed. The only point I was making was in relation to how Damocles said that it harms people to get an odd smack on the bottom when young, which I strongly disagree with. I believe alot more harm is done to an adult who learn as a child that throwing a tantrum and not stopping is how to get what they want.

• It takes more effort and energy to develop strategies to discipline children without using force. Hitting, slapping, swatting and spanking are the most unimaginative and reactionary ways to teach children ‘right’ and ‘wrong’. I have two toddlers and can attest to the challenge of gentle discipline but I can”t see the rationale in hitting=teaching.

Both of my parents did not believe in hitting us (my 9 siblings and I) as children. Love and understanding went much further in teaching us how to respect ourselves and others. It saddens me to read others justifying being hit. It is not necessary in the pursuit of raising healthy, happy, responsible and respectful children.

• I agree with you – all too often children think that a tantrum holds the key to success, and that’s most certainly not the case.
      (I do have to say now that I’m not a parent!)
      I think parents nowadays are far more aware of how they may be perceived if they say no and stick to it. I have a brother whose children I mind regularly – I would be far stricter than either their parents (parents acknowledge this), and their children know that if I say no, I mean no, and you can throw all the tantrums you like, but I mean no, and that’s final.
      I do agree, it didn’t do me or most of my generation a bit of harm to get the odd tap, but I think there are far more profound ways of getting your point across as a parent that would stand to the child’s making far better than a smack ever will. I guess though it’s different strokes for different folks!

• The problem with 2days kids.they weren’t slapped enough!(or not at all!) Discipline, lack of respect, almost non existent now. Society is suffering due to all these rules. Kids have never heard the meaning ‘No’ before….
    Keep on making these rules and it will remain this way.society will get worse. A slap as punishment can be justifiable, how ever hitting with intention of damaging I disagree with.

• I agree with the lack of discipline is on the rise in society. Though I feel there are other ways of saying ‘no’ without slapping. I think the subject is very grey area, I also think parents feel guilty for both working and not seeing their kids all day because both have to work and don’t want to spend the only few hours of the day disciplining their children , they might also have had a stressful day at work or sleepless night and it may seem just easier for them to say yes all the time than energy to fight a tantrum . I don’t think parents want to deliberately spoil their children. Alot if parents are also quiet isolated from friends and family, without going tooth off the point I think the law is to protect those who are severely beaten

• Liam 27/01/13 #

How about a miniature ” child behaviour adjuster – tazer” cant imagine any kids would step out of line !

• Rkmr 27/01/13 #

Slapping children for misbehaving only tells your child it’s ok and acceptable to hit someone who has done something they don’t want them to do or something they disagree with. What happen if you as a parent uses slapping or spanking as a punishment, then your child is in school and hits another child? How to explain or expect them to understand why it’s ok for you to hit them but its not ok for them to hit??

• Violent School Corporal Punishment of Children, even disabled, Kindergarten through Twelfth Grade by Mandatory Child Abuse Reporters, School teachers, coaches and administrators hitting them with wooden boards/paddles to inflict Pain Punishment for minor infractions (assault in public) with No Safety Standards remains Legal in 19 US States, AL, FL and TN among states that Do Not Require parental consent or notification for children to be hit in school! See brutally violent injuries to schoolchildren from US Public School Corporal Punishment at YouTube video trailer for Documentary Movie “The Board of Education” by Jared Abrams. The ACLU recommended enactment of Federal Bill HR 3027 “The Ending Corporal Punishment in Schools Act” Cost $0, at the Groundbreaking Senate Hearing to End the School-to-Prison-Pipeline held 12/12/12. Search “A Violent Education” 2008 Study by Human Rights Watch and ACLU for disturbing facts. School Corporal Punishment is already Illegal in Schools in 31 US States and Prohibited by Federal Law for use against convicted Felons in ALL US Prisons! dont hit students dot com

• Very highly emotive topic here, many people getting their back up with very defensive comments along with an autobiographical synopsis, don’t express your opinion if you can’t handle another’s counter argument….

• tracey 27/01/13 #

i’m not A.D.H.D, i’m B.O.L.D.

• @CABK , I wasn’t responding to your comment btw. I must clarify something. im not saying at all that if you slap your child you dont love them, if course parents love their children i just feel that slapping a child is not an ‘act’ love, as it a momentary loss of control just like shouting at your child etc. we are all human, I am not trying to being sanctimonyous, I’m am guilty of shouting and being frustrated at my child that it is only my opinion. If you feel I have distorted views, fair enough that’s your right. I was slapped too the odd time as a child, can’t say it was a fond memory though

• Mjhint 27/01/13 #

David its not about naughty steps. That is a part of it but its a lot more detailed & involved. I suggest you go on a parent coarse & stop making throw comments. Your shopping center example above drew me to one conclusion. The mother had no control. I was in a shop with my 3 year old yesterday & he threw a strop. Within 10secs it was over without him getting his way or being slapped & Im his father far from his best parent.

• the child was a lot hairier than 3. naughty step was tried and tested. it failed to have desired effect. i dont need a parenting course so dont condiscend me. you go ahead and continue ignoring your childs behave theres a good lad.

• But that is the problem unfortunately, parents are not in control, or at least in that example she wasn’t, neither verbally nor physically. Trust me, when my father raised his voice we froze. Some parents lack assertiveness, and kids are quite clever in figuring this out quite quickly. You obviously can assert your control over your kid(s) verbally, which is great. You don’t resort to physical slapping, nor do you condone it. It doesn’t mean it should be banned either. If you don’t agree with it, don’t do it. Plain and simple.

• Mjhint 27/01/13 #

More throw away remarks. Your watching too much tv. I guess your way above a parenting coarse. I have nothing to ignore my children for. They are well behaved bright & intelligent according to their peers. I will stick with the scientific view & maybe you will be successful with hitting your children. Their confidence may not though.

• So who is the child’s best parent?

• Mjhint 27/01/13 #

I would say his mother.

• How can you slap a child and then expect them to understand that hitting others is unacceptable in any other situation? I saw my little girl stand in shock when one of her friends slapped a younger child in creche. She’s never been slapped and knew it was wrong. The other child was physically disciplined and could not comprehend why a child of 4 could not slap a 2yr old who had done something “wrong”. You want to talk about teaching respect for authority, what about self-respect and respect for peers?

• if a child wants to put his/her hand on a hot stove in the home i’m simply not going to spend hours trying to explain to the child that it is bold to do so just to have him/her get burned as soon as my back is turned. The childs safety is at stake and a slap on the hand is appropriate as it gets results.

• Ok, so how about lifting the child away from the stove, going down to their eye level, explaining that the stove is very hot, and that they shouldn’t go near it because they could get burnt.
      Children are versatile human beings, you can reason with them.
      Besides, if you smack a child’s hand as they reach out to a hot stove you run the risk of actually burning it.

• that’s all well and good but i’ve yet to see a one and a half yr old that will understand reason, but a little slap on the and a few cross words works a treat, thats the way nature intended it.

• Aleo48 27/01/13 #

In that event, Eoin, a firm “NO!” followed by removing the child from danger is enough.

• In that case, I’d have to ask why on earth a 1.5yr old toddler was in such a position of danger. They’re toddlers, they know no better, if you let them roam… Well guess what…?

• Wow.

• James’ view; tell the child not to touch the stove because it will hurt you.
      Eoin’s view: tell the child not to touch the stove because I will hurt you.

They both seem to require that this one and a half year old has the same understanding of cause and effect to be affective, though James’s view doesn’t require you to be willing to hurt your child to, paradoxically, prevent him hurting himself.

• bait the shit outa the kids.

• The law as it stands means it ok to hit a child who is much smaller than you wit a belt or to slap them. If you went up to a stranger on the street and did this you would be seen as having assaulted them and they are in a much less vulnerable position because there is other people around to try and stop it and it would be adult to adult. Why is it assault if its to a stranger and something that is acceptable when its you child. That’s just my thoughts.

• Aleo48 27/01/13 #

Aideen and Rachel – well said. Corporal punishment is not discipline; it is the absence of discipline. It does indeed instil fear and hatred into children, and shows them how to bully others. It also reveals a complete lack of self-discipline on the part of the adult inflicting it. The institutional child abuse of the past, which we now rightly condemn, and which has left such a legacy of bitterness and damage, was fuelled by the tolerance of corporal punishment.

• I dont know, there is an old saying. Spare the rod, spoil the wife.

• Agree that we need to separate slapping and smacking from corporal punishment. I, and all others I knew, growing up in the 1980s and early 1990s were disciplined by smacking (wooden spoon or wavin pipe) and it did none of us any harm but it did instil in us all a respect for our elders. Also when we were out playing if one of us got unruly it was the nearest adult who was in charge and if he/she saw fit to hit you a clout then that was how it was.
    I think there is too much fear around disciplining children and we are paying for it with the amount of anti-social behaviour.

• The very idea of smacking a child to discipline is all about instilling fear and hatred into the heart if a child. A child should not behave because they fear being slapped. Previous generation have treated children appallingly . Children don’t mean to be naughty , most of the times it is out of frustration as they cannot communicate properly what they are feeling or what they want. Children respond better when shown love and compassion. We as adults when we ‘misbehave’ or do something belligerent would feel outraged and abused if someone in authority slapped us- we would call it police brutality and sue! im not saying let them rule the roost. Discipline and respect for elders can be achieved without violence. it’s much easier to love your child:)

• CABK 27/01/13 #

“The very idea of smacking a child to discipline is all about instilling fear and hatred into the heart if a child”

Eh what? I was slapped the odd time when bold as a child as were my siblings. As I said in a post above I enjoy an excellent relationship with my parents and talk to them on the phone once or twice a day in addition to spending two out of the four weekends back home (with all of my other siblings there too), as well as going on holidays with them even though we are all in our late twenties.

Also see alot of other comments from people in this article who were the same and have great relationships with their family. You seem to have somewhat distorted views on life if you believe that a parent who smacks their child on the bottom because they have been very bold to alert them to how this is not how they should behave doesn’t ‘love’ their child.

• Stockholm Syndrome.

• CABK 27/01/13 #

Common sense, perspective and not being prone to melodrama actually.

• Indeed Aideen, and of course you have the full weight of every evidence-based parenting programme and study behind you… as well as the experience of so many parents who are positive with their children, model self-discipline and co-operative behaviour, understand that kids are learning, and end up having truly pro-social, kind and thoughtful young people like my teenage son. I think the issue is that we are not aware just how strong conservatism and authoritarianism is rooted in the Irish psyche – our history says it all…

• Corporal punishment leads to order and respect, if used properly. For instance, a few children get caned at the start of a year for not doing their homework, fear and respect is the order for the remainder of the year without needing to bring out the cane again!! Children should be learning anyhow and should not have time to misbehave. Bring back the 80′s !!!

• Because of course there was no bullying in schools in those days.
      The fact is that corporal punishment was used so often and for such trivial offense and even genuine mistakes that it was imposible for even good students to avoid of it and it became an unfortunate fact of life like rainy days.
      Bring back corporal punishment won’t help improve schools, all it will do is add another reason for children who hate school to hate it more and children who are afraid to go to school to be more afraid.
      Ask any victim of bullying and they’ll tell you that schools more often punish the victims for standing up to bullies they they punish bullies for bullying, a situation that would be made all the worst if that child is going to get a caning instead of detention.

• Who said anything about bullies? You only need to look at how Irish kids behave in restaurants to see that there is a real problem in good old Ireland

Add New Comment