TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 16 °C Thursday 20 June, 2013

Coveney warns of difficult negotiations on fishing quotas

Coveney said proposed cuts to quotas will have serious implications for Irish fishermen and jobs.

File photo of Minister Simon Coveney.
Image: Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland

MINISTER FOR AGRICULTURE, Food and the Marine, Simon Coveney today joins European fisheries ministers in Brussels to determine  fishing quotas for next year.

Yesterday the minister warned of the potential difficulties of the negotiations at the EU Fisheries Council as he said they will be severely impacted by breakdowns in talks between the EU and Norway which means Norwegian waters will be closed to EU vessels from 1 January.

Coveney said the breakdowns affect the ability of the council to agree quotas for mackerel, blue whiting and atlanto scandic herring for 2013 and will also affect where Irish vessels and Norwegian vessels can fish next month.

In addition, Ireland is facing severe double digit cuts in almost 30 different fish stocks, which are vital to the Irish Fishing industry.

The minister said the proposed reductions would amount to a direct income cut for fishermen of €16.9 million and the full cost when the effects on fish factories and others are factored in are in the order of €54 million. He said between 450-550 full and part-time jobs could also be lost under the proposed cuts.

“The Commission proposals have been fully evaluated in Ireland and where the level of cuts are not justified I will be making a strong case for a more reasonable approach, taking account of the serious potential effect on jobs and incomes at this time,” he said.

He said this will be “one of the most difficult Fisheries Councils in years” and that it is essential to obtain “a fair and positive outcome to these discussions from Ireland’s perspective.

Negotiations at the Fisheries Council will run until 20 December.

Read: Objections to proposed Galway Bay organic fish farm>

Read: MEPs vote to close loopholes in shark finning ban>

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (38 Comments)

• that’s the way cut the Irish back on fishing Irish waters but let foreign vessles wipe the sea bed clean..bunch off sell outs

• Its absolutely shocking alright. One of our few natural resources and we give away our rights to it. I am sick of hearing about the Spanish vessels being detained in Irish waters illegally fishing because I know for each one caught, at least two probably get away with it.

• more than 2 get away with it,I seen 4trawlers dragging for muscles in a exclusion zone which was ment to be recovering

• In case the EU hasn’t noticed, we’re broke.
      How about imposing new tarriffs on anyone entering our waters.
      Between us and Norway we have it sown up.
      And don’t tell me it can’t be done, deals change all the time in the eu.

• Vinnie and Olaf, I think you’re mistaken, there hasn’t been that sort of activity for a few years now. Where did ye get your information – the 80’s?
      Ireland exports most of its fish anyway, Irish aren’t big into seafood unless its cod or salmon.

I wouldn’t trust a fisherman much when it comes to conservation of sea stocks. Sea fishing has more in common with mining than it does farming in terms of their attitude towards the resource.

• @tom I’m involved with the marine sector and my info is true yours sadly is misled..I have been watching the local fishermen come in with less and less..
      the navy regularly detain illegal non Irish vessles

• http://www.military.ie/search/?cx=002081102009708133800%3Aan3dx1jx62o&cof=FORID%3A11%3BNB%3A1&ie=UTF-8&q=fishing+vessel

Here ya go Tom, there are a fair few reports of foreign fishing vessels detained for illegal fishing in our waters. Irish people might not like fish very much anymore, but that shouldn’t mean it becomes the property of other nations.

• Olaf: I checked that link, 6 detentions since July, 3 of them Irish vessels, 2 Spanish, 1 French: hardy a rape of our natural resources by foreign vessels.
      Vinnie, if you really cared, why didn’t you report the illegal fishing vessels to the Navy or SFPA?

• Until we march, this stuff will continue. Country is in the hands of idiots. I think we are foooked.

• Perdu, its probably a little bit late replying now after so many hours but while there may have only been a couple detained since July. I was replying to someone else who said there hadn’t been any illegal fishing activity.

There are no figures for Ireland, but if you look at any reports for the icelandic or norwegian coast guard/navy, they acknowledge for every vessel they detain, several others get away with fishing illegally.

We have a severely underfunded navy that has just 8 ships, of which on average only four are actively patrolling, to protect an area of 652,000 square kilometres. We only have two aircraft capable of fisheries protection also. I can pretty much so guarantee you that vessels from other European nations are definitely illegally over fishing our stocks.

• This is the same Coveney that is going to grant a license to BIM to build the largest ever salmon farm in Galway bay which will decimate the population of wild salmon coming to our rivers in the next few years.???… Have a look on the mirror Coveney and get your own house clean before we can take you seriously……

• This is the same Minister who was lauded by the fishing industry for his negotiations which resulted in a good deal. Stop trying to be negative about everything .Let him do his job and then comment. It would be worth keeping a record of all these comments and publishing them when the negotiations are complete.

• We might be left with only five fisher men. But, at least we will be able to import Irish fish from Europe.

• about time quotas have been cut,the fishing fleet have been raping the sea for decades and now they whinge when the fish stocks are almost extinct…norway has the right policys on fishing and has seas FULL of fish because they MANAGE there fishing fleet…and every fisherman is happy over there and their fishing tourism is THRIVING…..

• The one advantage the Norwegians have though is that they make their own decisions about how to manage their own fishing stocks. We gave away our right to do that,

• Send that comment to the Spanish and the French who’s trawlers come into Irish waters break the law fish for what they want ram and intimidate smaller Irish vessels and steam home scott free because the Irish navy are too busy searching 35foot Irish boats for everything they can think of.Raped again by the bigboys in Europe whilst blaming our own people go figure.

• We’re not innocent either. The Atlantic Harverster and Atlantic Dawn were deemed too big to fish European waters, are quite a few EU supertrawlers, so steamed off to swallow African fish stocks, often driving local fishermen into designated conservation areas where they are then criminalised, or else destroying stocks so they take to piracy in desperation.

I’ve just watched another video of deportations, this time in Netherlands of non-EU refugees. Our capitalists can pillage at will, border-immune. When they come here to try to feed their families they are spat upon. Meantime 100,000 Irish are vacating each year. How many ways do you want it?

• ..and meantime, inshore, the same resource wars of the 21st century..build their big beachhead

http://www.globalresearch.ca/america-invades-africa-the-resource-war-and-the-invasion-of-mali/5315477

• Damo if Irish waters were not being ravaged by Foreign vessels then the aul paddy could work away out of his own patch.Irish supertrawlers see what’s happening to them and decide he if that’s happening to us and its ok we will just do it to someone else i.e Africa which is totally wrong i accept that.But you have to trace it back to the people who start the whole mess in the first place and its Spanish & French trawlers illegally fishing in the ever restricted Irish fishing grounds that previous Government sold for a price of a road from Limeick to Dublin.Great deal for us.

• Jack, I’m aware of that end(I’ve done a bit of fishing off the west coast meself; 25 years back half the haul on the Porcupine Bank was just rubbish, and I mean garbage).
      But its too late for unionist-style flagfights.
      The seas are acidifying from carbon-soak, stocks are collapsing and the industrialised fishing is racing down the food chain as top stocks vanish. Meantime mangrove and coral nurseries are poisoned and bleached into sterility and everyone wants more carcinogenic ‘growth’ from the depleting resource bank. There is an island of plastic in the Pacific twice the size of Texas and as it degrades and breaks up it mimics microplankton causing further genetic toxic effect. From turtles to albatross, the casualties mount. As global warming effects currents and temperatures with stock-effects the supertrawlers are tailgating the oil and mineral vultures into the Arctic to further compound the gathering megastorm. Since at least Rachel Carson’s ‘Silent Spring’(1962) scientists have been trying to break the PR shell(with or without capital)of silence and disinformation.

Time to burn all the fracking flags and get terrestrian.

• Corporate nationalisms are the PR-velvet-gloved fascistic problem. Economics remains ‘war by other means’.

• I’m thinking we should just leave the EU. They are rightly screwing us over on a constant basis. Ireland holds 16% of EU territorial waters but just 5% of the quota. We are going to always come out with the raw deal. Lets watch Britain and follow suit.

• This govt are a fishy bunch anyway. They couldn’t get a deal if a deal was going. Look at the mess of the bank debt talks.

• Just an extension of the same euro lick arse policies pursued by part of the troika traitors in Dail Eireann since 1973.euro stats agency report shows since 1973 to 2005 show that €160 billion has been taken out of Irish waters but if Ireland had fish processing would have been DOUBLE the amount to €320 billion.need to LEAVE the EURO & EU and reclaim back our fisheries and other national resources and infrastructure and REMOVE the EUROLACKEY parties of FG,FF,LABOUR,GREENS from any levels of power in this state.

• Darren 18/12/12 #

Well if we’ve learnt anything of the way this Irish government negotiates fishermen won’t be able to use anything more than a rod and reel ….

• We’l get even less with this chump and he’s even stating it before he goes so fair plat to him for being honest.

• Can I ask that everyone actually goes out and buys some Irish caught fish. Show your support that way.

• Simon Coveney couldn’t negotiate himself a fish supper on a Friday night. We’re going to get screwed again.

• Maybe we will just eat the loaves!

• In other words, We will bend over again!

• The Norwegians have proven their self worth by keeping a healthy distance fro the EU. Not only have they managed their other natural resources well, namely oil, with proper tax returns for the nation now they are looking after their fish. Ireland Inc has already been sold out by our respective governments – bye bye fish, oil, gas – hello cuts galore. Add on a property tax to people who paid savage stamp duty and there is no fairness to be had at all. Why should fish be so damned expensive here!?

• There should be no difficult negotiations! Increase the size of the navy, blow the Spanish and Japanese out of the water…and become the número uno fish exporting nation in the world!?!?

• I’m sure Simon Coveney will say.
    “Ah lads don’t worry, sure don’t we have natural gas & oil now, so we still have natural resources”.
    Nauseatingly overpaid Government appointed advisor whispers in his ear, “Simon. We sold off those rights as well”.
    “Doh!”

• Maybe he wants to keep the waters free for his RCYC buddies.

• He said this will be “one of the most difficult Fisheries Councils in years” and that it is essential to obtain “a fair and positive outcome to these discussions from Ireland’s perspective.

Essential…perhaps, however a sense of urgency in this regard is not mandatory. An Irish politician is required to get off his knees to achieve such an end and lets face it nobody does supplication (or is it genuflection) better than an Irish elected representative.

Add New Comment