TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Monday 20 May, 2013

Calls for Coveney to step away from horsemeat investigation

Minister Coveney has said that the investigation is independent – and if Deputy Éamon Ó Cúiv would like a briefing on it, he would happy to facilitate it.

Fine Gael Minister for Agriculture Simon Coveney
Image: Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland

FIANNA FÁIL DEPUTY Eamon Ó Cúiv has called for Minister for Agriculture Simon Coveney to step aside from the horsemeat crisis, and for an independent investigation to be established into the issue.

In response, Minister Coveney said that the Special Investigations Unit (SIU) in conjunction with the gardaí are conducting a detailed and complex investigation that is independent and feeds into the Department.

He said the investigation is “progressing well and getting to the bottom of the issue from an Irish perspective”. He added:

If the Deputy would like a briefing on the investigation at this stage to get a full understanding of the complexity involved the Department would be happy to facilitate that.
This issue needs strong political leadership as well as a detailed investigation and a strong policy response at both a national and European level. Ireland is leading that response and will continue to do so.

Fianna Fáil agriculture spokesperson Ó Cuív called on the Taoiseach to establish an independent investigation, saying that recent revelations:

demonstrate minister Simon Coveney’s inability to come to grips with the situation. Since this disaster began to unfold, the Minister has consistently sought to minimise the significance of the problem, rush to declare it solved and evade straightforward questions about when he first became aware of allegations about irregularities. Hoping that the problem would just go away was never going to work.

He said that he has been calling for an independent investigation to establish the full facts of the situation.

Ó Cúiv added that he intends to press the party’s motion to this effect in the Dáil this week.

Earlier this week, operations were suspended at the B&F Meats plant after it was discovered that the company was despatching some horsemeat to a customer in the Czech Republic via a UK based-trader using a label in Czech that referred to beef.

The Agriculture Department’s Special Investigation Unit continues to investigate this discovery.

Read: UPDATE: Horsemeat containing harmful drug ‘entered food chain’ in France>

Read: Horsemeat labelled ‘beef’ sent to Czech Republic from Ireland>

Read next:

Comments (52 Comments)

• Here we go again FF solution to everything inquiry paid by the tax payer

• I’m not Coveney’s biggest fan but even I can realise this isn’t a problem of his making. The horsemeat scandal is also an international issue and other countries are struggling as well to find the origin of the problem. Eamon O Cuiv should put forward some ideas to find a solution instead of trying to score points. This could end up costing lots of Irish jobs so there should be united effort to bring it to an end, but I think jobs and the welfare of the Irish people ranks low on some politicians priorities.

• Not his making, I agree, however statement that this a labelling issue is presumptuous at best, sheer folly would also be good. Where did the horse meat come from? If we do know that, all the meat that contains horse meat has to be condemned and sent to the knacker yard. Who knows, it may have come from the knacker yard in the first case. This is a health and safety issue, it is also a possible criminal issue.
      If Simon Coveney already knows it is a labelling issue, why are the Gardai investigating the matter.
      This is a European wide health and safety issue, time to take It serious.
      Calling it a labelling issue is minimising the issue to the point of deliberate cover up

• There is no suggestion that the horse meat was not fit for consumption or slaughtered illegally. All that is known for sure is that the labelling was wrong and potentially fraudulent, hence the Gardai investigation.

O’Cuiv is, and has, for some years, been an embarrassment.

• Ben, you nor I nor anyone knows if for sure that meat was fit for consumption or not.

• Unless the hygiene authorities certify the horse is hit for human consumption, before it is slaughtered, and inspect an stamp the meat as fit for human consumption they have no option but to condemn the meat, and if it has been mixed with other meats, the lot has to be condemned as unfit for human consumption. That is the law, and rightly so.
      Until we know that the horse was properly processed through licensed abattoirs and boning plants, the meat cannot be sold for human consumption . As I understand it, we have no clue how horse meat got into the food chain. It has to be condemned and sent to the knackeryard.
      This is much more serious than a labelling issue, it is a food safety issue that brings the entire industry ( rightly) under the spotlight.
      Not to put too fine a tooth in it, the horse meat could have come from a horse killed on the road and processed in a barn or worse.

• I wish it were that simple Ben. The regs demand that untraceable meat (horse, beef, pork, lamb or whatever) has to be condemned along with any other meet it has been in contact.
      Calling it a labelling issue before we know where the meat came from is very presumptuous and prempts all the investigations going on.
      Our minister started very well and now needs to broaden the enquiry to put the safety issue up front, the fraud issue is under way, we need a panel of qualified people to investigate this, it needs the power to investigate it.
      Eamon O Cuiv is right,

• O’Cuiv is clearly puffed up with FF’s nominal increase in popularity, and simply cannot restrain himself from a spot of peacocking. Coveney is doing a excellent job.

• I thought only a few weeks ago Eamon O Cuiv was urging Coveney to shut up, box it off and sweep the issue under the carpet ie. ‘minimise the significance of the problem’.

Thankfully Coveney behaved like a minister and has done much to limit the damage to Ireland’s reputation in the (meat) process. Ireland has established a firm credibility overseas when it comes to food standards. Our FSAI blew the whistle on something that has likely been going on internationally for decades.

• O Cuiv “come to grips with the situation ” Jesus that’s a laugh ,pot kettle springs to mind

• Shut the phuck up eamonn…. Actually journal, could you, for one day, stop highlighting stories where ministers and opposition are paying lip service, really am sick of reading this tripe daily…

• Simon, was the person who alerted Europe. He is doing great job, asking the right questions and, basically, saying the source of the problem is mainland Europe. In addition, he has not delayed action in this country including, seeking the assistance of the gardai. We are taking the correct line.

• Since when was Carrick-on-Suir in mainland europe?

• @ Dick, you wouldn’t happen to be in Simon’s constituency would you? You seem to follow a lot of FG on your twitter account. Your paper was always pro FG anyway. Just asking like.

• Great credit is due to him for having the courage to go public with this. That was the right thing to do.
      He now needs to stand up to Euro interests and call the meat unfit for human consumption as it cannot be verified as having been certified as fit.
      The meat hygiene regs make it clear that it must be stamped as fit or condemned for safety reasons.

• Jim Ky 23/02/13 #

Would this Dev Og clown ever go away and stop making a fool of himself–Coveney has handled this matter in a highly competent manner as he have every other aspect of his brief including fisheries.Dev Og was a member of the worst Govt. in the history of the State and he bears full responsibility for driving the economy into the ground.

• Coveney has done reasonably well. He is dealing with a difficult situation situation whereas Ó Cuív
    is a difficult person who is trying to create difficulties.

• O Cuiv did not create any difficulties with this,
      There is a huge issue here that needs investigating by people qualified to investigate it
      People who expect our elected men and women to be ‘expert’ in every field are always going to be disappointed.
      What we have a right to expect is that the people who represent us avail of the best advice available.
      I fear Simon Coveney is not getting good advice, or not asking for it would be a bigger worry

• Used to like O Cuiv until I realised he had one main interest – HIMSELF! making a political football out of this just to get noticed is another example.

• I’m no fan of this so called government but Simon Coveney is doing quite a good job here and in fairness to him he is keeping on top of the crisis and he seems to have a damm good team behind him.
    (will someone get Vincent Dolan a bottle of smelling salts lol)

• Take a “run and jump ” Eamon
    Say something constructive for a change

• The pure nerve of Dev Og. Stunning

• Aside from that, there is a very troubling aspect to this scandal, which has been largely ignored by the media (The Guardian being a notable exception), and that is the continued reliance on cheap food. It seems likely that the only way supermarket chains can keep selling these products at ridiculously low prices, is if their suppliers likewise reduce theirs. One way of doing that would be to… And the simple fact is that there’re millions of Europeans, already living at subsistence levels, who depend heavily on these products in order to survive. Food prices are rising, and look set to continue to do so for the foreseeable future, which leads one to surmise that this particular can of worms will not go away any day soon.

• Maybe they found Eamons balls with the all the meat seeing he could not find them a few months back when he had the chance to go against the FF party policy

• I don’t agree with O’Cuiv. In 2001 during the foot and mouth disease crisis the then Minister for Agriculture, Joe Walsh, of FF himself, took a very high profile and lead role in tackling that crisis. His leadership and the swift measures put in place in regard to that situation led to significant acclaim and sent a message that Ireland was in control of the issue. In this instance I don’t have any issue with the Minister, Mr. Coveney, taking a lead role provided he can quickly and decisively put measures in place to restore public, consumer and international confidence in our food/agriculture industry. Why should we hold costly independent enquiries when we have a Minister with supporting department, ready to deal with whatever enquiries are deemed appropriate.

• Did only O’Cuiv call for this?
    The Journal headline says ‘Calls’ – was O’Cuiv speaking in an echo chamber or were you just trying to make the article sound less like a FF Press Release and more like journalism?

• O Cuiv !!! Go and help please..rather than sitting on your hole offering nothing more than criticism ..

• Simon Coveney is probably the best minister of agriculture we have ever had in this country. He has a deep understanding of the industry and the issues. This horse meat scandal was uncovered and investigated under his watch. O’Cuiv has quite a task to match Coveney for credibility

• Or can of horse meat. Ahem.

• FF – Cheap politics, this is not what Ireland needs when such an affair occurs. All politicians and parties should work together to protect the hugely important food/meat industry and not use it as a political football to try to win some votes.

• They are. What you are asking for is the old “be reasonable, do it my way”
      When he is wrong , he is wrong.
      If he declares it a labelling issue, it can be repackaged and sold as meat burgers, lasagne containing meat etc.
      Condemn it because we do not know it is safe to eat it as we do not know where it was processed.

• He is right, do yo want to eat knacker yard meat? When we don’t know where the horse meat comes from, all the meat has to be condemned and sent to the knackeryard

• Any type ofinvestigation uncovers can upon can of worms. If someone can’t “get to grips” it’s because it’s an issue getting bigger all the time. Stop bickering o’cuiv, let the man work. I’m sure you’d do much better but you’re not in government. Tough.

• 28th of Janurary Final Update on Authenticity of Meat Products Investigation http://www.fsai.ie/news_centre/final_update_meat_investigation_28.01.2013.html

Major Breakthrough on identifying the source of Equine DNA – Irish Ingredients tested clear
    http://www.agriculture.gov.ie/press/pressreleases/2013/january/title,68551,en.html In conclusion, the Minister said that the intensive investigation is now winding down.

• testing my constitutional right to free speech with this post!…. My facebook account was closed down so it seems there is a bit of omerta between the journal and the facebook!
    In y opinion Sion Coveney should resign!

• ah good we’re up and running again …correction facebook account was suspended ! ……
      with regard the beef …… I think it’s great that the truth is still coming out now six months later after the first consignment was found in Newry in august ( source Irish independent !…just for clarification )
      I wonder what Minister coveneny thinks of his brother’s stewardship of Greencore and the Irish Nation’s “golden Ticket!”….I’d ask him but he’s a politician so I can probably guess his answer ! …..

• What does his brother’s job in Greencore have to do with this? Coveney has been on top of this from the start. O Cuiv was a disaster as a minister.

• ‘Source Irish Independent’ -says it all really!!! Maybe you’ll be quoting from the Daily Mail next!

• With Mehole Martin calling Covney to step aside that’s all the more reason to drive on.

• lots of fianna fails red thumbing

Add New Comment