Welcome to our Public Beta Site - What does this mean?
Dublin: 12 °C Wednesday 23 May, 2012

Criticism of Taoiseach’s ‘mad with borrowing’ comments is ‘a bit silly’ – FG TD

Damien English (L) with Enda Kenny in 2009
Image: James Horan/Photocall Ireland

FINE GAEL TD Damien English has insisted that the Taoiseach does not need to apologise or clarify his comments that “people went mad with borrowing” during the economic boom despite criticism from opposition parties.

Enda Kenny has been condemned by Fianna Fáil and Sinn Féin for saying at the World Economic Forum in Davos yesterday that “what happened in our country is that people simply went mad with borrowing” and adding that it was a system that “spawned greed” prior to the financial collapse.

But Meath West TD English believes criticism of the comments as “offensive” is “a bit silly”.

He told RTÉ’s Morning Ireland: “Everyone knows Enda Kenny is the most unoffensive person out there – inoffensive person out there.

“It’s not something he would say. He was trying to say this is bankers and a certain character of people who lost the run of themselves, in relation to developers and so on, who left this country in the mess that it’s in.”

English said that Kenny represented Ireland at the forum in Switzerland “extremely well yesterday” and accused the opposition of “jumping up and down trying to find something wrong with the Taoiseach on the world stage”.

“The people in this country are very sensible,” he said. “They know exactly what Enda Kenny meant yesterday and they’re not going to take offence to that because they know he meant a group of people who did cause this and that included, I must say, some politicians that let this happen.”

He went on to say that the opposition’s criticism was “a bit desperate” and that they were getting “excited about nothing”.

Asked if he thought the Taoiseach should clarify his remarks, English said: “Absolutely not, no way”

Taoiseach slammed over ‘people went mad with borrowing’ comments

Read Next:

Comments (104 Comments)

• Maria Moran 27/01/12 #
    Report this comment

In his state of the nation address he said “we are not to blame” where is his mention of the “mad lending” by the financial institutions to developers for inflated land & property prices without questioning any ability to repay. No Enda we did not go mad, we are paying back other peoples debts “we are not to blame” How dare you!!!

• sean finn 27/01/12 #
      Report this comment

90% of the mortgages given out here from 01 to 07 were well above the normal level of 3 times the highest earners salary. this is an internationally used benchmark which was abandoned here. yes it was the banks and the state that allowed it happen. but saying that, the majority of mortgage holders borrowed out of their realistic repayable league. no one forced people to take mortgages 4 times the joint salary of the household yet they did. i think to say anything other than people went mad borrowing, whilst acknowledging the role the banks and state played, is the problem in ireland. its denial. yes, you or me didnt go mad borrowing but the we as a populace did. and personal debt levels back this up conclusively. relatively few borrowed or catered with the rainy day in mind.

• Tim Henchin 27/01/12 #
      Report this comment

There is a large element of truth. It takes 2 to tango, for every bad borrower, there has to be a bad lender. The pressure that herself and I were under to buy property was absolutely massive. Everyone was doing it and there was something wrong with you if you didn’t. When 26 year olds are telling you that they have 3 houses bought. What he said on a daily basis. A large no. of people did go loohlah, encouraged by FF criminals who wanted to enrich themselves and their donors irregardless of the risk.

The level of private debt in this state is genuinely shocking, there is going to have to be large scale write off’s on this debt.

Won’t go in to bankers excess here, no fan of them and admire people who shoot bankers.

• Peter 66 27/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Sean,
      The only difference is I have to pay back my mortgage,credit card & all my other “mad & greedy” bills aswell as the bankers,developers & politicians debts. He works & represents us & he should remember that he is not in front of a blackboard talking to his pupils the world is watching & he has embarrassed us by using such derogatory terms about Irish people.

• Kirk Delaney 27/01/12 #
      Report this comment

@Sean
      yes, you or me didnt go mad borrowing but the we as a populace did. and personal debt levels back this up conclusively. relatively few borrowed or catered with the rainy day in mind.

That may all be the case, but could you point me at any newspaper article which shows all of this debt being forgiven ? I think you will find them hard to find, because those ordinary joes that did over borrow, are, by and large, paying it back.

Its not the personal debt that is the problem (not yet, although it may be in the near future), its the debt of banks and developers, who have handed that debt over to the state.

Enda would have been right to highlight how wrong it was to allow such personal borrowing to continue, however, he was wrong to infer that Irelands economic crisis was a result of that personal borrowing

• JustDieter 27/01/12 #
      Report this comment

What is clear is that this yellow bellied ‘man’ has absolute contempt for his people. Everything this traitor does is designed to appease his European friends in the EPP (European Peoples Party) He will inflict more pain and suffering upon his people to ensure he is elected as the next EPP President by his life long friends Merkel and Sarcozy et al and that the banking elite remain protected and prosper. This man is a idiot, it makes one cringe every time he opens his mouth. Unless his long-time speechwriter Miriam O’Callaghan and advisers Angela Flanagan and Paul O’Brien inform him what to say, he falls apart and waffles nonsensical uttering’s whilst mocking his people even further. He is a simple minded buffoon without principals, morals, intellect or pride, the perfect puppet for his EU masters/friends and banking elite. This traitor will continue to lie because he knows he can, he knows he governs a people who sleep. Last week your portly finance minister (who owns German bonds) promised German bankers that they would be saved whilst Irish people would continue to suffer, he got a standing ovation before he left. How on Earth could any nation elect this man just to gain revenge on a previous government, then how one asks is it possible that he still governs? Stand up, or continue to lay down and be walked upon. It will get worse, this I can assure you, a lot worse Ireland.

Ireland RIP

• Jack Eagle 27/01/12 #
      Report this comment

@Sean finn,
      Sean you are mistaken in the calculation of max mortgage levels. The old system of 2 x Main Salary (higher) and 1.5 x Second salary was an outdated system. For this reason the calcuation system was replaced with a system that is used in the UK (possibly the world – but that is an assumption on my part) which is based upon affordability rather than mulitplys of salary. Provided the cost of the mortgage (ie. the monthly repayments) does not exceed 30% to 35% (at a push) of ones (combined salary where it is a joint application) take home pay (after tax) then your income level passed the affordability criteria. That is the system used, the way of adjusting the affordability level was to push the loan term for a longer period ie. 30 or 40 years.

What was a worring trend during the boom was the affordibility calculation was a moving goal post to suit the banker/mortgage lender, if a client was exceeding the 35% affordabiilty threshold the lender would either ignore or would extend the mortgage term. Stress testing was very much ignored too, the lender very often only stressed tested for a 1% uplift in interest rates. Where as now, it is gone the other extreme stress testing is as much as 2% to 3% interest up lift and afordability must not exceed 30% of take home pay following stress tests.

• Daniel Hunt 27/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Oh that’s right, how silly of us to pay attention to the words he said, instead of the intention he had.
    Or seems to have had. In December. When he told us it wasn’t our fault.

• Aisling Cahill 27/01/12 #
    Report this comment

I’m not the opposition, and I’m offended. Our elected representative told the world that the Irish people “went mad borrowing” and called us greedy.
    That’s offensive to people who did not get up to their necks in debt. It’s also offensive to those who are, through no fault of their own.
    As for the mental health implications of stating that we “went mad”, well, there are other people more qualified to argue that point than me.

• Gordon Lucas 27/01/12 #
      Report this comment

I’m also offended
      The media has being saying that the problem is he didn’t say “some” people and that it should be taken in context. While I believe it’s true to say that some people went mad that’s not the point.
      His comments *should* be taken in context. The context is that he is saying this to the world. He is saying it to people who blindly invested and to those who are surprised that Ireland is paying them, despite having bet on a loosing horse.
      The leader of our country is thereby blatantly not representing the people. He is at a forum that is meant to be about exploring the failure of capitalism under the banner “the great transformation: exploring new models”. To do that you need to accurately analyse the failure of the old model. Saying a nation (or significant amount of it) is mad, is far too simplistic.
      Of course, he could well be right – the people might be mad – they did vote for that eejit

• Philip Wilson 27/01/12 #
    Report this comment

But people DID go mad borrowing! What’s the problem with a politician calling it as it is? Granted, we were encouraged by FF to go mad, but at the end of the day, nobody was holding a gun to our heads, forcing us to buy that 2 bed apartment on the outskirts of Ahascragh…….

• sean finn 27/01/12 #
      Report this comment

boom. finally someone who knows what theyre talkin bout. too much mollycoddlin people here. not our fault they all chirp. but then whose fault?!

• Raynond Cahill 27/01/12 #
      Report this comment

I did not take any offence in what enda said, Now I borrowed within means and took stick
      off friends who went from regular people to owning holiday homes, trips to exotic places,
      So I think he is right alot of people lost the run of themselves. I watched Vincent Browne
      last nite, To see credible journalists act like gutterpress hacks dissapointed me, we can
      expect it from the scare tactic people in sinn fein and some smaller parties,but fianna fail
      should stay quiet,they lost that right along time ago to act credible.

• Michael 27/01/12 #
      Report this comment

I don’t think every man woman and child in Ireland went mad borrowing, Steven Donnelly TD. was much more accurate when he said that the vast majority of the banking default is confined to a small number of well connected men you could fit into an average sized room.

• David 27/01/12 #
      Report this comment

People bought those apartments because they couldn’t afford to buy homes in their own town or near their family. Prices were inflated by banks who wanted us to borrow more and pay more interest, making them more money. People paid those prices because they had no choice not because they were greedy. I’m not taking about developers, I’m talking about ordinary people who needed family homes. To say people wanted to pay inflated prices is ridiculous, ignorant of the subject, and insensitive.

• James Walsh 27/01/12 #
      Report this comment

@Michael – Irish personal/household debt is way higher than any other European country so we have to look at why that is.

I think that mortgage holders who bought during the boom have a certain leeway because it was impossible to buy a house if you didn’t borrow large amounts of money. But I too know lots of people who took on vast amounts of personal debt buying new top of the range cars, having two of three foreign holdiays, buying bigger and fancier TVs. There’s no doubt the amount of cheap money that banks made available fuelled the crash but we have to accept that it takes two to tango.

We constantly criticise politicians for not telling the truth. So are we now going to criticise them when they do? And in fairness to him he didn’t say that EVERYBODY was doing it.

• Christine Downey 27/01/12 #
      Report this comment

On the outskirts of where?? the a******e of nowhere? or is it even in this State? I have bought no two-bed apartment house or plot of land, but I still have to pay back the W***** Bankers!

Report this comment

True many did go mad borrowing and bought into the boom. I guess a lot of them are same people who voted this fool in…..
      The problem for me is that he is doing this on a world stage. If he said this on a domestic stage, it would not be as bad. Instead he choose to tell us it’s not our fault when in Ireland (I know it’s not mine – I’m not in debt) , then go to Davos and say to the WEF that the Irish went mad.
      The Newstalk coverage is saying that Enda should have put the word, “some” in front of the word “people”…. not the feckin point. Guess Denis O’Brien is interfering again. (http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2012/0127/breaking5.html).
      It’s a disgrace that a Taoiseach should represent Ireland in this way….. and worse, be supported by his Labour bum-chums and the Irish media. I wonder is Denis or RTE going to take responsibility for having promoted the buy-now culture?……….. that’s a rhetorical question… of course they won’t!

Report this comment

@David That’s the “rent is dead money” argument or perhaps it’s the “get on the property ladder” principle…. People paid the prices, they didn’t *have* to, they only thought they had to because that’s what the media, politicians and society were promoting.
      @Philip
      True many did go mad borrowing and bought into the boom. I guess a lot of them are same people who voted this fool in…..
      The problem for me is that he is doing this on a world stage. If he said this on a domestic stage, it would not be as bad. Instead he choose to tell us it’s not our fault when in Ireland (I know it’s not mine – I’m not in debt) , then go to Davos and say to the WEF that the Irish went mad.
      The Newstalk coverage is saying that Enda should have put the word, “some” in front of the word “people”…. not the feckin point. Guess Denis O’Brien is interfering again. (http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2012/0127/breaking5.html).
      It’s a disgrace that a Taoiseach should represent Ireland in this way….. and worse, be supported by his Labour bum-chums and the Irish media. I wonder is Denis or RTE going to take responsibility for having promoted the buy-now culture?……….. that’s a rhetorical question… of course they won’t!

• Rosemary Ferguson 09/02/12 #
      Report this comment

i’m probably not going to word this properly, but the borrowing level you have just mentioned there, that wasn’t what led the state into dire debt…it was the substantial(millions) loans that banks gave out to developers and the like that caused it!. the people who were going getting mortgages or loans for normal things like houses etc could not have caused such a debt and most likely , in most circumstances where loss of employment has led to their downfall would otherwise have been entirely capable of paying it back. all you have to do is look around at the waste of housing estates that stacked up with borrowed monies, in towns and rural areas that even in good times would most likely not be sold(this a fault of the planning authorities also).

and as for him apologizing, there is no need, as he cant take back something thats out there, because he off all people should know the main reason for the problem and unless he citied that speech of the top of his head(which if he did, fair enough, ease off) any fool would know that saying something like that would/could be construed otherwise.

• Gordon Lucas 09/02/12 #
      Report this comment

@Rosemary
      Fair Point.
      However, people did borrow pretty madly. They wanted to buy “investments” in Bulgaria, Spain, etc., some even looked at their houses as investments instead of homes. Borrowers paid fair too much for their houses.
      What annoys me is when people don’t take responsibility for their choice of taking on huge debt. True government, media and banks encouraged people to borrow, but borrowers could have just said “No”.
      Being in debt is a horrible thing, especially when you can’t pay, so I do feel for those in that situation. If I were in it, I’d probably just stop paying, smash up the house, loose the house and retain the debt. Then I’d rent…… but I realise it’s easy to say when I’m not in that situation.
      Still… point taken. It was the banks lending to property developers that led to the crash

• Ballyer Rules 27/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Let’s say Kenny was right. That we all caused this mess by borrowing and being greedy. Ok. I will pay back what I borrowed but why should I pay for the bank or the bond holder losses. More importantly, why should my children have to pay for it. This fella is a clown.

• Aurfur 27/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Loads of people didn’t borrow either, or borrowed sensibly so why should they pay for other peoples greed and mad borrowing!

• Diarmaid Twomey 27/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Jaysus they’re after getting mighty arrogant. And they not in the job but a year!

• damien chaney 27/01/12 #
    Report this comment

“Quick if we dig more, we can dig our way out of this! Pass me that shovel Sherlock!”

• Réada Quinn 27/01/12 #
    Report this comment

What kind of man leaves his home and goes out slagging off his people? Would you accept it from your family? Well why accept it from your leader. Leader? Hah! Enda Kenny should be met at the airport and arrested for treason.

• Robert Lynch 27/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Was what he said incorrect Réada? If you take the sentence in isolation and all by itself then it is rude but it is not wrong. If you take the sentence in the context of everything else that the Taoiseach said during the question and answers session then what he said is painfully true. Of course it is not the people who took the mad amount of credit out that are to blame since how were they to know what they were doing did not make sense – they are not financial experts – the banks told them they were right, the media told them they were right and the likes of Bertie and Charlie were lovin’ it and told them to buy buy buy sure it will all be alright. And all the time our GDP went up, our employment went up, our budget surpluses improved and only people like David McWilliams were saying this does not make sense (e.g. here is what he said in 2003 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Gh7x57vGwLI). It did not make sense, it was almost all borrowed money – apparently real money created out of credit i.e. virtual money in a banking system that was not properly financed – in short a “scam”. Individually we did not go mad, but the truth is as a nation we did and it was driven by the banks and the FF/PD government and we did not stop it even though deep down we knew nothing could be so good!

• Neil 27/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Why can´t Enda represent the best in Ireland, just like Gerry Adams does?

• Réada Quinn 27/01/12 #
      Report this comment

The bould Robert. If a man contradicts himself he’s generally considered to be incorrect. His criticism would have been better aimed at some in his company. I’m sick of hearing him blame FF. He shouldn’t have gone for the job if he wasn’t capable. And incapable he is. How many more government gaffs do we have to have before we say enough?

Report this comment

I always love your sarcasm Neil :)

Report this comment

Come on Réada, what question was the Taoiseach answering? I think it would be dishonest not to blame the government who oversaw the housing bubble when asked for the reasons for the current situation. As it happens that government was FF/PD. We are all sick of hearing about it but FF are going to continue to be blamed until the past changes and that is not going to happen unless we discover the time machine. BTW Like you I would prefer to stop hearing about FF an the time machine would be my preferred solution to the current mess :)

• sean finn 27/01/12 #
      Report this comment

or shot

• Réada Quinn 27/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Robert. He was an elected TD at the time of the FF fiasco. Happy to collect his cheque and claim his expenses. What has he done since to bring reckless bankers to justice. You answer my questions Robert. I asked first. There’s only one answer to the questions I asked and I’ve been given one suggestion which I might be reluctant to take but it’s in my consideration file! Enda Kenny is a disgrace to his nation. I don’t need an excuse to detest the man, and I wish to Jesus he’d stop giving me more reasons.

Report this comment

I don’t need an excuse to detest the man, and I wish to Jesus he’d stop giving me more reasons.

I suppose I could put it to you that, because you detest the man so much, your anger has blinkered your ears from the truth. We borrowed, the money was imaginary….

To answer your questions: If a family member said that I had done something mad I would be jumping with the anger but if what the family member said was true I would hope that I would calm down and realise that I had being mad. So, when I heard what Kenny said I was angry just like I was angry when I heard what David Williams said in the the link I sent you. However, what they both said is true… so….yes I will accept it from the Taoiseach and I will kindly ask him, as I would ask my brother in your hypothetical situation, to continue speaking as honestly as he just did.

• Réada Quinn 27/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Well seeing as we’re all brothers in crime Robert, why don’t you listen to what you’re brother Alan Dukes had to say. He was a lot more accurate in his explanations for the crisis. They’re no brothers of mine. I’d have disowned them long ago. I hope you’ll take your blinkers off soon Robert. I really do. Bye for now. :(

• Réada Quinn 27/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Feck. That we’re in the first line was meant to be ye’re. Bloody auto correct forgets I’m Irish.

Report this comment

Réada, I do not know where the brothers in crime reference comes from and I do not know what Alan Dukes said. He says a lot of things so you will have to give me a link or a hint – I would prefer not to comment on something I have not heard.

With regards to the auto correct, I think we’re is probably more accurate than ye’re since we are all in this molasses together whether we like it or not.

• Réada Quinn 28/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Robert. I say brothers in crime as I have a sneaky suspicion  you may be a FGer.  Re Alan dukes, I’d assumed you’d seen Enda on primetime. Alan dukes also had an interview and he must be following me on twitter cos he echoed much of what I’ve been saying. Forgive me for making the assumption you knew what you were commenting on. Now where would I get that impression…? :P

And Robert we are all in this together but forgive me if I don’t break into the High School Musical song. I’ll be happy to give you a rousing chorus of Bold Robert Lynch tho. 

Now Robert I kinda like you in a FG kind of way and I promise I won’t say I told you so after we’ve won this economic war. Peace! ;) Goodnight. 

• Paulie walnuts 27/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Is he just trying to annoy the country or is he actually that much of a clown!!!

• Kerry Blake 27/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Damien English another clown makes an appearance. Here’s his email address for those who want to let Damien know he is wrong totaly wrong damien.english@oireachtas.ie

• Adrian O'Donnell 27/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Inbelievable, i mean, unbelievable!

Muppet..

• G. Smith 27/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Some people did go mad with borrowing. The people with no property experience who overnight decided to own a string of homes all daisy chained and thus financially secured off each other. Sure what could go wrong?

All the people who released equity from their homes to go on holiday cruises or to buy a car. Mental financial decisions. But the government encouraged it. Sure they brought in the saving incentive scheme but sure that passed most who really needed it by, many couldn’t afford one whilst saving a deposit for an overpriced first home. Meanwhile those who could, had several under various names of relatives etc who weren’tusing theirs.
    Again wasted on trivial purchases mostly.

So yes there was some mad borrowing but then as now there’s a huge disparity between those who never gained anything in the boom are suffering hardest. Successive reverse Robin Hood government policies have screwed the middle and lower earners to keep the rich, rich.

• Eamonn Connaghan 27/01/12 #
    Report this comment

People did go mad borrowing, but only because they had to borrow big amounts for the over priced houses that they were encouraged to buy.
    No mention off the greedy developers in his speech.
    No mention of greedy bankers in his speech, who were in bed with the developers. The bankers who gave 100% mortgages to people who should never have been given mortgages. The bankers who gave out pre-approved loans and higher credit card limits without people even looking for them.
    No mention of the regulators who failed to regulate the banks.
    And finally no mention of the politicians on both sides who stood by and let this all happen.

• sean finn 27/01/12 #
      Report this comment

its as much the fault of the individual who cannot afford the 100% mortgage for taking it as it is the bankers for offering it or tge state fir encouraging it. responsibility

• Noddy Mooney 27/01/12 #
      Report this comment

No it’s not as much the fault of the individual. When you employ a plumber you trust him/her to know what they are doing because you cannot be expected to know yourself. Likewise, when you purchase a home you (should be able to) trust the various parties involved such as estate egents and lenders. We cannot all be experts at everything. It’s how society should work: experts in their respective fields providing trustworthy services so that we all can prosper.

• John Murray 27/01/12 #
    Report this comment

You haven’t seen MAD yet enda!!!!!

• Paul Dempsey 27/01/12 #
    Report this comment

“It’s not something he would say. He was trying to say this is bankers and a certain character of people who lost the run of themselves, in relation to developers and so on, who left this country in the mess that it’s in.”

Damien English – FG interpreter.

Unfortunately – even if Mr. English thinks this is not something Mr. Kenny would say – he still said it. If he meant something else then he should have said whatever it was that he meant to say. For example: “It’s not the Irish people’s fault. This situation was brought about by an elite few who went mad lending, borrowing and governing recklessly.” His comments yesterday were completely inconsistent with what he said in his address to the nation. Why clearly tell the people of Ireland one thing and the world another? The point is not what WE understand or know Mr. Kenny meant. The point is that what he said implied to anyone who is on the outside looking in, is that WE ALL went mad borrowing. Not correct sir!

If Mr. Kenny is not able to make himself clearly understood, or is not able to deliver a consistent message on the one topic and if he needs interpreters running around trying to limit the damage he does every other time he opens his mouth then perhaps he is in the wrong job?

• Mel Piscator 27/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Wouldn’t it be so refreshing if some day in an alternate universe a politician actually spoke to the truth of an issue instead of trotting out what ever shite was required to pander to the audience that they we’re in front of , sadly this will never happen . Funny when they really step in the sticky stuff and forget that we , the little people , actually live in the information age they trow out the sand bags like this Damien English to protect our ‘glorious’ leader form the great unclean .

• Sharon Larkin 27/01/12 #
    Report this comment

What annoys me is that he’s so two faced. A few weeks ago when he addressed the nation he told us we weren’t to blame. Now we’re greedy and went mad borrowing. Some did, not everyone. Its like he’s got one persona for the Irish people and another for the international stage.

• Francis Foran 27/01/12 #
    Report this comment

this guy should have another state of the nation address and apologise to the people of ireland , enda i didnt go mad borrowing i worked paid my taxes and contributed to this economy ,so stop with the “people went mad crap “.

• 1 Human Being 27/01/12 #
    Report this comment

The cause of this crisis was not the people’s fault it was a number of things including the government( both sides) blowing bubbles. The bankers being unregulated as the regulator was not even enforcing light regulation. The media having a directing influence on the populace and continuing the bubble and telling everyone they should get on the property ladder. The property developers upping prices on houses and apartments that where made substandard as the bubble continued. And the solicitors who lapped up all the commission from dealing with buying and selling houses.
    Mr kenny has his rose tinted glasses on me thinks.

• hibernia2011 27/01/12 #
    Report this comment

firstly we, i.e the ordinary person, as a nation probably did over indulge in spending but we did not cause the crash. secondly. mad to me is paying 1.2 billion to unsecured nameless bond holders and at the same time reducing health and education services. thirdly we have had Bertie. biffo and now enda and his gang. no change, they are all career minded politicans. but we as a nation keep voting in the same gang of wasters.

• bert mccann 27/01/12 #
    Report this comment

It was Quinn, Dunne, Barrett, Ronan, Fitzpatrick and others whose borrowings and debts fuelled this crisis and not the borrowings of the everyday mortgage holders. The aforementioned still live in the lap of luxury and continue to avoid their responsibility for their avaricious actions and the consequences thereof. Kenny either doesn’t understand this or is attempting to provide them with a distraction. Either way he is unfit for office.

• Gerry campbell 27/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Why does Mr English’s description of the man we have entrusted to nogosiate with the Germans, while we slowly drown at home as ‘the most inoffensive person out there’ not fill me with confidence about our future,

• Gerard Dillon 27/01/12 #
    Report this comment

How much is the Enda led government going to borrow this year € 50bn, € 60bn € 70 bn ???

When you borrowed you were MAD, MAD I say ! Now that we are doing it as a government we’re on the right track.

Help !!

• Pete Glavey 27/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Some people / a lot of people etc that’s all he had to say, One brush stroke. Not in my name Enda

• John Wooldridge 27/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Kenny is a gutless, lying and useless git.
    100 days, 5 point plan my ass.

• B7584 27/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Head off for yourself Kenny, you arent fit to lead a dog.

• Noel Mannion 27/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Well, on this occasion Enda is right! bonkers mad! off the radar mad! but maddest of all crap journalists who kept their compromised little mouths shout. they are still at it! Were still mad but look it suits some of us… fat cat public servants with fat cat pensions. Imagine if their Croke Park little bit of fraud was redirected to job creation? Can anyone write about that? ah look sthay quiet ya might get an oul bit of quango down da road.

• David Higgins 27/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Criticising the Taoiseach for not using the word “some” is a valid criticism.

• David Jackson 27/01/12 #
    Report this comment

I’m not a big Enda fan but why is he getting hassle for telling the truth, am I missing something. People did go ‘mad’ borrowing.

• Keith Flood 27/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Enda is a total and utter dickhead , of course he needs to make an apology , but will he , will he Fu…….

• Joy Glynn 27/01/12 #
    Report this comment

The argument here is really over semantics. We have to hope that he meant to say ‘some people’ because, even though I think this government lives in another universe sonetimes, I can’t imagine that our Taoiseach really believes that every single person in this country went mad borrowing. Some people did. But there were a lot of other people who couldn’t. Or wouldn’t.

I understand the anger. I get angry too when people everywhere pick up a paintbrush and paint a whole group of people the same colour. But it happens all day every day. Even here in the hallowed halls of thejournal’s comment section. I hope that the comments I read here on occasion like ‘People on benefits get everything handed to them and are just too lazy to go out and get work’ or ‘Asylum seekers just come here to take advantage of our welfare state’ are also missing the word ‘some’ before them.

• Kevin O'Sullivan 27/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Okay so we all know it wasn’t phrased very well but we also know two other things;

1) Its Enda! He is well known for mincing his words.

2) We are fooling ourselves in thinking that a large amount of people didn’t excessively borrow. Nobody is stupid enough to think its just the bank, fianna fail or the regulators fault. There are many at fault.

If I recall, people were going ape after the state of nation address because of what he said. It just seems we want to complain regardless. A lot of people were commenting on twitter last night it was exactly right and we even had Vincent Browne muttering an agreement!

• john g mcgrath 27/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Mr English part of the back bench lobby fodder regularly pushed out to defend the indefensible.He
    was on vincent Brown the other evening defending lies told by Leo Veruca on Danish debt position but he was dispatched by Vincent in summery fashion as Vincent had e mail from Danish central bank stating that Leo V assertion was not the correct position
    I am sure Mr English is nice chap but he has the tape inserted into back of his head and just presses play
    He offers nothing except rejection of any criticism of government.
    I would say if Cowan had him in dying days of government he would have been pleased at his “your all wrong were right ” mantra.
    Continuity F F rolls on !!!

• Floodzie 27/01/12 #
    Report this comment

What Enda should have said was:

“Many politicians, myself included, encouraged the kind of reckless borrowing that has saddled a large number of Irish people with unaffordable mortgages, or mortgages that are difficult to pay and consequently taking a large amount of money out of the real economy. For my own part, my party sought the complete abolition of stamp duty – somehting which would have made an extremely bad situation even worse.

However, the real problem with Ireland is not personal debt, it is the debts of private investors in private banks that we have agreed to make the responsibility of the Irish public.”

• Réada Quinn 27/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Will you write his speeches in future. I couldn’t bear even to write for him. ;)

• Floodzie 27/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Thanks Réada! :-)

Actually I once met Enda, he seems like a nice enough chap, but he won’t be getting my vote. The bondholder payment is the final straw and he seems hopelessly out of his depth on the issue. Any politician in my area who opposes it will get my ‘X’ by their name at the next election, guaranteed.

Enda the teacher should sit down with Joseph Stiglitz the Nobel Price-winning economist and talk about what to do with the Anglo speculators. He would hopefully ask Mr Stiglitz to write a speech for him…

• Réada Quinn 27/01/12 #
      Report this comment

For gods sake don’t use an “X” Floodzie. Voting in general elections is numerical not alphabetical. ;)

And don’t mind whatever face Enda had on that time you met him – he branded us all greedy and stupid yesterday.

• Floodzie 27/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Ha ha, yeah – no worries!

• Damien Ruth 27/01/12 #
    Report this comment

He made a comment, build a bridge and get over it!! Not a fan of the man but what’s the alternative?? Ye all seem to be experts so start spitting them out!!

• Right so thats “Kenny Burton Noonan Sherlock Varadkar so far that have insulted us this week time to fook off labour and fine gael you are a bumch of lying back stabbers Where ARE THE JOBS??? Cut your wages shut your faces and keep your opinions to yourselves, Its high time we the general public took a vote on every decision these fools make because most of these decisons do not effect them only us the gerneal public. But sure its a lifestyle choice to be redundant and sure its a lifestyle choice to go in search of work. This is some serious slander!!

• Martin O Donnell 27/01/12 #
      Report this comment

think its time to make these fuckers resign ….time to go kenny…. and take sherlock …veradkar and bond holder noonan with you….fuck of you are a shame to your country …..

• Keith Twamley 27/01/12 #
    Report this comment

I tell you what’d be a bit silly, voting for this lot again in the next general election.

• Report this comment

It’s not like Anglo were providing personal mortgages and look how much that shower have cost us. Mr. Kenny, stick to the facts!

• Inda Kinny 27/01/12 #
    Report this comment

I agree with Enda Kenny on this point. I think individuals were greedy and borrowed too much money. The fact that they were able to borrow is another point but it’s time individuals took at least some responsibility for their choices. It always seems to be someone elses fault when someone is in debt.

• finbar m 27/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Are we mad !!!!! The people of Ireland need to stand up to these pr@cks ,,,get out there ….make phone calls ,,, emails ,,,,, this can’t go on we need to stand up to these wank@s

• KarlMarcks 27/01/12 #
    Report this comment

As Ivan Yates pointed out on Newstalk this morning, by taking this approach Kenny did nothing to dislodge the view abroad that it was a borrowing spree that caused our crash and fiscal misery; in fact it confirmed what all these people think of us. Instead of trying to counter this false view, he joined their stupid club and abandoned his previous views.

What has us in such desperate straits now was Lenihan’s bank guarantees, especially to Anglo, and the subsequent failure to let the risktakers pony up.

Yates also pointed out correctly that this represents the politicians getting in line with the senior civil servants and so-called regulators, who want to avoid any responsibility for their own failures in NOT regulating, encouraging speculation and borrowing, and failing to employ more than a few economists. History is being re-written by these kind of remarks. It’s not just insulting to us, it’s a clear and deliberate strategy of burying the truth of the situation.

• Rob 27/01/12 #
      Report this comment

as a rule when you find yourself quoting Ivan Yeats you should rethink your position!

this is along the same argument that Tesco selling cheap beer is why we’re all alcoholics! blame anyone except me!

surely it was our employers fault for paying us the money to go to the bank with?
      or maybe our teachers fault for giving us an education??
      maybe we should never have come out of the cave??

are these all contributing factors? yes

does this mean we have no responsibility?? afraid not!

• Floodzie 27/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Rob, you’re missing the point.

The major problem is not the mortgage holders who bought during the boom at unrealistic prices, or even the lenders who lent to them (although that is a significant problem).

The major problem is the 100% bond payments to Anglo bondholders, who bought that debt from the original owners at 20-50% of the original value.

The mortgage problem would have made things bad, but the Anglo payments have us done for, I’m afraid.

• Rob 27/01/12 #
      Report this comment

but we’re not repaying 100% of Anglo debt! we’ve substantially bunrt subordinated debt holders. the issue now is where they have debt which is subject to a legal government guarantee.

obviously these free market gurus like Stiglitz will say that debt takers should take the losses – but its purely hindsight talk to say that we shouldnt have guaranteed the debt. it hasn’t worked out great – but that doesnt mean it was either stupid or wrong to do at the time.

my point is more to say that there is a spread to the blame here – and if we can acknowledge that they at least we can see some proper debate on the issue – with less of this crap re burning or not burning!

• Floodzie 27/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Sorry, I meant to say we are repaying the unguaranteed bondholders.

Lenihan went against good advice on the night of the bank guarantee, and it was stupid and wrong to do it.

Stiglitz is more than just a free market guru, he is a Nobel Prize winning economist who has been proven right time and again.

• Rob 27/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Stiglitz is a nobel prize winning economist! so he operates in the theoretical mathematical world of his own! I’m not saying he’s an idiot – i’m saying he operates in a vacumn – so he doesn’t gauge impact or fallout from his actions. he just spouts economic realities as if economists have never ever been wrong!

• Karl Cranny 27/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Can’t paint all with the same brush, but I would comment that there were a loads of nice , new, expensive SUVs driving around during the Celtic Tiger period.

Some people definitely went overboard, not everyone though (people buying themselves a family home is IMO not going overboard).

Have been living over in Germany for about 5 months now and would simply comment that their mentality is “if you can’t affort it, don’t buy it” and you certainly don’t see people bending backwards to give someone the credit to do so either.

With all that being said though, the main source of the problem in Ireland was not the ordinary Joe’s living beyond there means (I think most of those would be suffering now…). The big fish letting a couple of billion go walkies here an there would have had a bigger impact (funny that they probably won’t pay back a penny or go to jail for what they have done).

This was missing somewhat during the Celtic Tiger period.

• Paul O'Keeffe 27/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Spin fail. Kenny’s comments were crystal clear yesterday. No amount of ‘taken out of contexting’ and ‘misinterpreting’ will turn around the fact that his pandering to the financial terrorists in Davos is disingenuous with his cajoling of the Irish people. Simply put Mr. English the man is untrustworthy with the best interests of the country.

• sf ca writer 27/01/12 #
    Report this comment

http://wp.me/28tG9
    Political satirist from Ireland finds an international audience. Doesn’t agree with Enda.

• Eileen Gabbett 27/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Enda Kenny

You are MAD with arrogance

• William O'Shea 27/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Jeez I dunno…….. I have bin mad wiv me votin’ alright!

• Alice ORiordan 27/01/12 #
    Report this comment

So Enda thinks we all went mad …spending ..well here’s some news for you dear Taoiseach..do not insult the Irish in front of the rest of Europe. You want to insult us do it at home.

Not all of us went mad as you say and you know what now I’m sorry I didnt..

• Geoffrey Collins 27/01/12 #
    Report this comment

He makes me sick. Tellin t country “its not your fault…” and then out in Davos sayin “Ah sure they went mad borrowing”. As for that patronising English calling electorate “silly”, you obviously interpret the anti FF vote as an endorsement of FG/LAB. Well just you wait till t next election and you ll see the reality clearly. Pity is that Irelang will be mired in bank debt ran by European puppets of the international bankers. Europe taking us to court over septic tanks, pollution, carbon emissions, gas infrastructure, selling Coillte and Bord Gais, this EU project is tyranny. Our future is as a slave state to our Bilderberg masters. Peter Sutherland wins..

• Ciaro 27/01/12 #
    Report this comment

He’s a total disgrace, made worse by the fucking stooges he’s sent out all day to defend him.
    Moron.

• fitszpatrick 27/01/12 #
    Report this comment

THE CRITICISM FROM FIANNA FAIL IS ABSURD. THEY WERE THE ONES ASLEEP AT THE WHEEL , PUMPING THE BUBBLE IRRESPONSIBLY , NEVER EVER FORGET THAT. IF YOU ARE LOOKING FOR ALTERNATIVES IT CAN NEVER BE THE SOLDIERS ON DENSITY

Add New Comment