TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Tuesday 21 May, 2013

Dublin Pride: Massive parade and party to get underway in the city

More that 26,000 people are expected to flood the streets of Dublin for the annual event and party.

Participants in last year's parade
Image: Photocall Ireland

TODAY SEES THE culmination of the Dublin Lesbian Gay Bisexual Transgender Queer festival with a parade through the city centre and a party in Merrion Square this afternoon.

The event has grown from a one day celebration in 1983 to a ten day festival this year. The first event was held in Fairview in March 1983 in protest at the levels of violence against gay men and women in Ireland.

The march was in reaction to the controversial Flynn judgement,  which handed suspended sentences to members of a gang found guilty of the manslaughter of Declan Flynn, a 31-year-old gay man, in 1982.

The first parade was then held in June of that year, organised by the National Lesbian and Gay Federation. It followed a route from St. Stephen’s Green to the GPO.

The theme of this year’s parade is ‘Show Your True Colours’ and it will assemble at the Garden of Remembrance at 12pm at will embark on its route.

From there it will head down O’Connell Street towards College Green, into Nassau Street, Kildare Street and will finish up at Baggot Street before heading to Merrion Square Park for a family picnic.

Gardaí are warning motorists to expect traffic disruption and road closures.

Last year’s march attracted 26,000 particpants and organisers are expecting an even large attendance this year.

The party in Merrion Square kicks off at 3pm with music from Brian Kennedy and Leanne Harte, while representatives from LGBTQ Pride, Marriage Equality, TENI LGNTNoise and BeLong To youth services, as well as Grand Marshall Panti Bliss will be speaking.

This is the first year that the official party will be held in Merrion Square, following licensing issues in the past. Particpants are reminded that alcohol will not be permitted into the park in order to ensure a family-friendly space. There will be a designated over-18s area with refreshments on site.

If you’re heading to the parade, send your pictures to us and we’ll publish them in our gallery later today. Tweet them to @thejournal_ie or email them to tips@thejournal.ie. You can also send us your photos directly from our apps by clicking on the camera icon on the top left of the screen.

See photos from last year’s parade>

Read next:

Comments (89 Comments)

• Gerard 30/06/12 #

Jaysus, there gonna get drowned out there.

• I would suggest its aim is awareness and acceptability : treasuring your exceptions; we parade our irishness on St Patrick’s day , our sporting acheivements after an athlete or team returns victorious; we parade to commemorate the dead; why should we not celebrate a group who were previously harassed and driven into hiding ? What damage can a colourful family parade and picnic possibly do to you or to the LGBT community ?

• Like I said, our nationality is chosen, our sporting achievements our earned, our dead have accomplished things. Sleeping with someone of the same sex is not exactly an achievement, it’s just your nature. The damage this pride festival has is to damage the image of the gay community by making it look like they are all camp and flamboyant.

• You choose your nationality? You don’t have to sleep with someone of the same sex to be gay. That’s like calling virgins asexual.

• Barry 30/06/12 #

Seanbeag,
      Thing is nationality the same as sexuality isn’t chosen by YOU when you are born, so if you are born in Ireland and you decided to shout about it then thats fine. If you decide not to shout about it then thats fine too.

The same can be said for your sexuality, if you want to shout about it or not the decision is YOURS.

In the scale of things there’s worst things people going be doing then taking part in a parade.

• It’s quite easy to change your nationality you know, and it doesn’t make much of a difference in the overall scheme of life. Do you think the same of your sexuality?

• Barry 30/06/12 #

Seanbeag, yes you can change your nationality in writing but that would not actually change the fact that if you were born in Ireland you are still Irish at the end of the day…even if you try change your nationality later in life. Its kind of a case of trying to deny what you are which many people that were gay had to do for years just so they could survive in our society.

As I’ve said, if you decide to shout about being Irish or not thats YOUR decision, my point is if people want to get involved in a gay pride parade thats their choice and its great they actually have that choice and can’t be told no by other people.

We don’t have to go far to see that people don’t have that choice, as i’ve posted below…if they were in Russia they wouldn’t have a chance at having a parade for more then a few min before you’d be attacked and arrested.

• Bryan 30/06/12 #

And what’s wrong with camp and flamboyant? Are you that afraid to deviate from the prescribed gender binary?? Masculinity is as much a performance as camp? You are not born masculine it’s a learned behaviour. nNo damage is done to the gay community because the only people it affects are the ones who are afraid.

• Nationality doesn’t represent who you are, it also isn’t where you were born. Someone born of two irish parents during holiday in china isn’t Chinese. In fact nationality is a virtual concept. Nationality is where you feel at home. nnHomosexuality is a biological fact, you want it or not you are who you are. Regardless of your parents, place, gender or mood…

• I would suggest anyone, gay or straight who thinks gay pride alienates gay people from main stream society should probably have a look at themselves. Why do you care? I’m gay, don’t March in pride, fully understand its importance and nothing the guys pr girls do today will embarrass or annoy me. Hope they have a great day. I’d go as far as to say, for as long as you give a crap thats it’s happening, it’ll continue and is necessary.

• An explosion of colour onto Dublin’s streets. Enjoy the day!.

• It’s a day to relax. It’s the one day my partner and I can feel comfortable enough to hold hands while walking around the city centre. I don’t see myself as being a stereotypical gay as I am not very flamboyant but pride is not just a day for flamboyance. Like I said for me it’s a chance to relax whilst with my partner in an open city environment. As every other day we walk around the city as “friends” afraid of social judgements or other still all to frequent hate crimes.

• Gay pride is a day where people can express themselves, to show the world that they are proud of who they are and are not afraid of the bigots and homophobic people. They have every right like other groups to be able to celebrate who they are. Sure don’t we have St. Patrick’s day? To celebrate our Irish Pride?
    I hope they have a fantastic parade and festival with lots of fun and laughter! :-)

• It’s not the same. Your nationality can be chosen by your parents for you. Your sexuality is part of you. Pride and shame should not be associated with aspects of your biology.

• Can we have a straight pride then? Because I’m proud of who I am. Seems a bit unfair :(n

• Seanbeag

“Pride and shame should not be associated with aspects of your biology.”

Whether it should or shouldn’t is irrelevant, the fact is, on a daily basis people are made to feel ashamed about aspects of their biology.

The stereotypes people are complaining about make up a small but welcome minority of the parade. I used to have the same opinion as Seanbeag but I’ve gone to this 5 years in a row now, the majority of the people marching are normal every day people, celebrating our refusal to be ashamed.

Let’s not forget where this originated, the pride march is about remembering the brave people who stood up for their rights fought for ours. People who stood up against terrible discrimination so we don’t have to face it.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stonewall_riots (apologies for the wikipedia link but it’s the best summary i could find)

• I see your point Sean but unfortunately there are so many people who choose to conceal this aspect of their biology for one reason or another, which quite often has a detrimental effect – days like today encourage them not to do so!

• John Ryan,

Of course you can have a Straight Pride parade. There’s no law against it. But it would involve you getting off your behind and organising it (as the organisers of today’s march did).

• Old Nokia Charger

Well said. People complain about the parade, and they are 100% free to organise a straight parade. But the essence of the parade is to show that the people taking part are no longer afraid, and are free to show their sexuality. If someone needs to organise a straight parade, what sort of costumes will they wear? If its not flamboyant, i suspect it would be a rather dull parade :D
      How many Church leaders are going to be at the parade today? Has the Church accepted the real world yet? Or are they still supporting medieval doctrine that says people chose to be gay and are Evil.

• I’m not much into organising events so I’ll leave to the people that do, which is probably the same as nearly everybody attending the gay pride. I suspect if someone did attempt to organise a ten day long straight pride they would be vilified. I’m not against it, each to their own but I think straight people should have one too just to be fair.

• @John,

Let’s organize one! Stop talking about it. If there was one, how would you dress? Me? I’d wear an outfit from the ’60′s. Play the music from the ’60′s and ’70′s all through the parade! ;)

• @ John

I didn’t think you’d be prepared to put the work in to organise the parade you wish to see take place. You just think “people should have one” but that somebody else should do all the work. If you really want to see it take place, make it happen. That’s what the organisers of today’s parade did. It doesn’t happen by magic.

• I’m glad I live in a country that embraces diversity.Iran anyone?

• Barry 30/06/12 #

You don’t have to go to Iran, try Russia…..you won’t see any gay pride parades there….well the first 5 were banned and they did manage to hold one in 2011 for a few min before an ultra-Orthodox protest group attacked the parade. Moscow police arrest over 30 participants involved in the parade,

You don’t have to go far to see how many people don’t have many rights

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Moscow_Pride

• I think that you are missing the point of pride because, and the comments I’ve read seem to bare this out, you don’t know where pride comes from. nnIn June 1969 police in New York’s Greenwich village raided the Stonewall Inn, one of several gay bars in the area. Now at this time homosexuality was illegal in 49 of the 50 US states.nnWhat would happen is the police would rush into the bar and arrest everyone who couldn’t escape out thru the back doors. nnYou would be taken to the local police station, charges, and if convicted have you name and photograph publish in the paper. This would obviously lead to you loosing family, housing and employment. nnBut this night was different, this night the people in the bar fought back. They stood up and said that we are no longer going to be treated like this. The uprising lasted for three nights. nnThis was the start of the modern gay rights movement. nnThe first pride march happened in June the following year to mark what had happened. To remember what had taken place and to announce that we are going to be proud of who we are. nnSo when we walk down the streets of Dublin today we are remembering those brave men and women who’s strength to stand up to oppression has made my life in Ireland possible. nnThat is pride.

• @

Watched an hour long programme on that subject the other night on RTE1. Wow, the fear and awfulness that gays had back then was just awful. People (straight!) going into primary and secondary schools around America scaring the hell out of young people. Same here in Ireland in the ’60′s/’70′s Must have been so hard to try and hide that one was gay and live a pretense of a life.

Thankfully people like David Norris and others have made it possible for gays to live a safer life and to feel so proud of who they are and the part they play in life.

• My wife, my daughter, her husband and kids and I will be marching with my son and his husband today, as we have done for quite a few years now. Year after year, there are people who “don’t get” Pride, I think that’s mostly because they have never encountered prejudice or the fear of what might happen if they spoke about their sexuality in school or the workplace. As for the cribbing about *some* (not all, by any stretch) of the marchers dressing flamboyantly, I think that actually underlines the need for Pride: if someone’s rights, opinions or respect levels are to be undermined by people’s attitudes to mere fabric and cosmetics, then we are still in a place where Pride, visibility and awareness are utterly necessary. Happy Pride everyone.

• Totally agree with you Alan it’s is all about acceptance and embracing the freedoms that have been won and fighting for those yet to be gained. Every walk of life has there flamboyant characters so what’s the harm in one day of celebrating who you are. The more visible we are the better as it shows those who are on the fringes or think that they are alone that there is a vibrant and accessible community comprised of people from all walks of life regardless of gender, age or nationality. We should be proud of this event and be thankful the days of hiding your sexuality and the associated guilt imposed by the Catholic church are gradually fading away.

• Best of luck to them, cant see the harm in it myself. Sure its a bit of craic and its great for the city. Its great to see the attitudes in this country changing we are a far more accepting society than we once were. Hope the rain stays away for ye!

• The other 364 days of the year are straight pride.

• Best Day Ever!!!!

• The point of it all is been proud of who you are, some people come out to there familys and friends and are not accepted because they are gay. Yes you are born that way obviously but you still have small minded people that dont understand it. Its one day a year i dont see what the big deal is. HAPPY PRIDE EVERY1

• Great stuff, a bit of good news in the gloom of recession – always nice to have happy folk out and about. There’ll be a nice economic kick for the city too. nnBest of all is the fact that lots of idiots will be very annoyed that the Pride festival a) existed and b) got favorable coverage.

• mcbab 30/06/12 #

The Gay Pride March is a sign of our growing up as a people and accepting diversity. Being part of Europe has helped us to move forward and throw off old narrow minded views and move into the 21st century. Any gay young person who is frightened about coming out can only be reassured to see being gay is something to be celebrated not ashamed of.

• Can’t wait! I’ll see some of you there maybe?

• It should’ve been left up, as a reminder that not everyone out there is tolerant towards other people. There are people that don’t believe bigots exist

• Paul 30/06/12 #

I wish I could be there for the Pride today. I remember being back in Ireland for it in 2009 and never feeling happier that I come from such a wonderful embracing society. Enjoy the day one and all and don’t let it rain on your parade!

• I’m en route on the train and looking forward to the day. Like everything, if you don’t want anything tonDo with it, don’t go. And it is very sad to see members of the LGBT community arguing over the purpose of the day. Alot of people have worked hard to organise it and it’s one day that’s a break from IMF and welfare and emigration. For that reason alone, it’s worthwhile.

• I don’t get the point of it. It seems so contradictory. It’s a week where people act as outrageously stereotypical as they can and look for people to be proud of what they are. But the message they aim to spread is that gay people are the same as everyone else and that your sexuality is not a choice. All these pride parades do is damage the image of homosexuals. And pride? Your sexuality is biological, not something you’ve chosen or accomplished. It’s like being proud of being born with two feet. Can someone please explain the point of it?

• I agree Sean, it would seem, if anything, that this march alienates the lgbt from the rest of the population and does more damage than good. Seems to be a hell of a party though.

• Barry 30/06/12 #

imho its as a result of years of oppression by the state and religious orders, hell the religious orders are still oppressing them and the state still needs to improve on a good few things.

Sure what harm is it doing if they want to do this?

• I think the point is that gay people still aren’t equal. Kids in school are still afraid to come out of the closet because the words “faggot” or “queer” are still the most insulting things you can be called as a teenager. Marriage still isn’t an equal status in the traditional sense of the word. The church still thinks the gay lifestyle, is wrong (in their eyes its not a sin to be gay, but it is to carry out homosexual acts!?!) And when you put it into perspective, homosexuality was only decriminalised in Ireland in 1993. So if a parade makes even one person feel its safe enough for them to come out of the closet because it’s not such a bad thing, then Happy Pride :)

• It’s the one day of the year when people can be who they are because they feel safe in large numbers. And after all it is a parade. How boring would it be without all the entertainment. :)

• @Seanbeag,

I understand what you’re saying, but people need to recognize that gays are born to be….. just like you and me. Many need to see that it’s nothing to feel guilty about. Be proud and live the life, the one life we all have on this earth. It is not for us to judge, but to understand and accept.

• JR 30/06/12 #

1. Pride is not a PR exercise. It’s not for the benefit of straight people. It’s for the LGBT community. Not you, straight people. It’s not about you. I understand it’s super hard to grasp, because everything, every single day of your existence has been about you, but no, Pride is not. 2. People who are butch or effeminate are not “perpetuating stereotypes”. They are being themselves. They are enjoying the one single day a year they can be as unapologetically themselves as they want to be with only a small chance of harassment instead of harassment being an absolute certainty. 3. We don’t necessarily choose to be gay (and so what if we do?) but we do choose to not hide. We choose to be out and that’s not easy. And yeah, PRIDE.
      People are welcome to have Prude parades if they have issues with people having fun and being proud of themselves for being brave and wonderful and honest. Today, proud people celebrate themselves and each other. Happy Pride Everyone!

• Mjhint 30/06/12 #

Pride us not necessarily about sexuality. There is also mad Pride. In view its about celebrating being different something we are not good at in this country.

• You’re right! our sexuality is biological, not something we’ve ‘chosen or accomplished’. But for some of us ‘coming out’ is an accomplishment.
      Do you know of anyone who has had to face the threat of verbal or physical violence for coming out as hetrosexual? I doubt it.
      Do you know the fear and anxiety that people feel just before they have to tell their strict religious parents that they are gay?
      Take a look at the parade today; there are people marching today for the very first time, people who are still in the process of ‘coming out’, people petrified of the unknown but feeling braver because of these parades.
      Its getting easier but we’re still not there yet, we’re still not being treated ‘the same as everyone else’, maybe when we do we wont need parades anymore. Heres hoping

• Totally agree

• Would this be like an alternative Eucharistic Congress?

• The newly formed Fine Gael LGBT is joining the parade today. Wishing them all the best of luck!

• All the media are in favour about Gay Pride and Journalists who were anti Gay a few years ago are now very PC.

• That’s ok though. That’s how change happens. It might start as a forced change because society demands it but over time people realise that change isn’t that big a deal and people come round. All change starts with the minority and spreads to the majority. A lot of kids growing up now not petrified about telling their parents and friends. This can only be a good thing.

• Totally agree with Sean and Gerard, as a gay woman I would not go near one of these parades.most of these people there would have nothing in common with me.i like many of my friends both gay and straight do not stuff their sexuality in anyone’s face. We all are part of one community. Some of the things that go on at these parades are very embarrassing and way too loud.nThe other day too I saw a gay couple going up the street after their civil partnership with the gay flag flying out the side of the car. I felt very uncomfortable about this. To me this day is about celebrating the couples relationship.Not making loud statements But this is just my opinion for what it is worth.

• I have to disagree. I knew from a very young age i was gay, and grew up with a certain degree of self-loathing and shame because like most of the children in Ireland at that time, i came from a catholic run school, where the topic was taboo. I also used to hear my family insult and laugh at openly gay people, and my friends and peers threw around the words faggot and queer as the most degrading insult that they could use, without even knowing what it meant. So the moment I entered secondary school i made it my mission to keep it to myself and never tell anyone. This as you can imagine was hard and even damaging. At 18, i went to Dublin on my own to see the pride parade. I can’t explain what it meant to me to see to see so many thousand people enjoying themselves and without the fear I carried. I came out of the closet very soon afterwards. Anyway, each to their own opinion, and i’m not disrespecting yours, just explaining how it is a positive thing for so many people

• I just don’t see whats wrong with messing about and letting loose for a day. A lot of the people in the parade are straight and out for a laugh too. nI’m like you,I don’t like being in the middle of things like this but I’d find paddys day just as awkward,people dressed up and being loud and a lot of them drunk isn’t my thing. But I don’t see it as an embarrassment or anything. I’m straight by the way…..

• hbenroe, I have nothing in common with many of the people at St Patrick’s day parades. At lot of people there are loud, drunk and embarrassing and it makes me cringe. It’s not how I want to see Ireland represented However, I still go, because I’m proud of Ireland and want to celebrate that. If I achieve nothing else by going, at least I ‘dilute’ the number of drunks with plastic hammers.

There are may reasons to go to a pride parade. My wife and I go every year to just to show support. I’m embarrassed by straight people who are homophobes – they don’t represent me and I want to balance it out by showing my support.

If you feel that pride parades don’t represent you, then, in my opinion, that’s all the more reason you should go: show how you DO want to be represented. Don’t wave a flag or blow a whistle, walk quietly with the crowd. Show the world that not all LGBTQ people fit the stereotype.

• Ailistair, you deserve a beer for that comment. There will be thousands of straight people out at the parade, marching and cheering from the sidelines.

My favourite group every year is the Parents’ support group, they always have banners proclaiming how they will not be ashamed of their gay children.

• Yes, nice comment Alistair. Good on you for going along.

• Bryan 30/06/12 #

Well put Alan, pride for a lot of people shows them they aren’t alone and can be an overwhelming experience.

• Quick (but genuine) question at hbenroe: as a gay woman, how comfortable are you about being open about your sexual orientation in all/any situation?

• Alistair Thacker, sound guy.

• Can we have a hetrosexual pride march?

• The comment was thankfully removed.

• Peter 30/06/12 #

Dam right wingers, gay nationalists

• Outside of Dublin, good luck to the participants in the Waterford Viking marathon which is currently under way and the journal haven’t deemed important enough to mention unfortunately.

• I can’t post my commentn

• i wonder to “the george”customers smoke cigarettes less since the ban came in and they cant hide behind the frosted windows of the pub anymore…

• What a silly comment to post! Many pubs have frosted windows or pans to stop people staring in! The George hasn’t being changed much since it opened and you find that a lot of old pubs of that age have similar windows. Take the dragon, front lounge or pantibar – they don’t have frosted windows, you can clearly see the inside. Pantibar doesn’t have a smoking area and people smoke outside the front… I think you just want to see what its like inside and I think you should pop in – for those who have never being in a Gay bar before, I think you’ll be surprised its pretty much the same as a straight bar and you will have fun!

• They have a beer garden at the back Cian were you can hide if you are not out to your friends and family, but it is ok for you to smoke at the front if you want with everyone else. Happy Pride to you all.

Add New Comment