TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 5 °C Thursday 23 May, 2013

Are some Dublin taxi drivers using covert signal of ‘Irishness’?

Have you seen those green lights on the roofs of taxis? TheJournal.ie investigation indicates some are being used to signal to the public – and to other drivers – that the vehicles are being driven by Irish nationals.

Dame Street, Dublin
Image: Image: © TheJournal.ie

A NUMBER OF taxi drivers in Dublin may be using a covert symbol to signal – to each other and to interested punters – that they are Irish.

TheJournal.ie has learned the green lights fitted to the top of some taxi roof lights are intended – in some instances – to let potential customers know that the driver is of Irish origin – and not a non-Irish national.

One customer was told by a driver that it is not something being advertised widely but that drivers are “just telling folk that get into taxis”, if they are interested, that the purpose of the green light is to indicate that the driver is Irish.

Although they won’t be seen on every taxi rank, the green lights are becoming more common on Dublin streets.

When asked about the growing number of lights on taxis, another driver told TheJournal.ie that he didn’t want to get one but may be forced to if “the idea took off”.

On St Patrick’s Day, yet another taximan who had installed a green light on his car told TheJournal.ie that some people feel better knowing their driver is from Dublin. “He’ll know the area, you won’t get ripped off,” he said. “It’s not racist.”

One of the drivers we spoke to, originally from England, told TheJournal.ie that he was aware of the increasing popularity of the lights. He said that he has had some bother from other drivers about his accent and that ranks can get quite competitive. He believes the lights are also a signal to each other that the drivers are full-time and Irish.

When asked by TheJournal.ie about the purpose of the green light, the NPHTA (National Private Hire & Taxi Association) said they are used for an entirely different reason. A spokesperson for the union said they are being sold as a European-friendly sign to indicate to potential punters during the day time that taxis are available for hire as sometimes the illuminated yellow roof signs are “difficult to see” in the daylight. He noted that similar lights are used in Spain to indicate when a taxi is available for hire.

One garage which fits the lights to Dublin cabs told TheJournal.ie that his company sells them to anyone who wants them, regardless of nationality. The owner said that his understanding is that the lights are just a way of showing that a vehicle was available for hire.

However, our investigation and a popular internet forum for taxi drivers seems to tell another version.

On IrishTaxi.org, the use of green lights was discussed as a possible sign to show availability to tourists who might not understand the yellow sign.

While there was some support for using the lights for this reason, other suggested that they were a “covert” signal that the driver is Irish. One commenter noted:

The installer was handing out flyers on the Mines [Rathmines rank] some weeks ago. He claimed that he got the OK from TR [Taxi Regulator]. Part of his sales patter was the Irish angle.

Another simply said:

Green light=Paddy.

On the same thread, a different commenter was adamant he was pitched the idea of a green light to help him indicate he was Irish.

My statement that the Green light is a pseudo Irish driver indicator is based on the FACT that  is how it was pitched to me by one of the people fitting them.

Posing as an interested customer, TheJournal.ie asked about the purpose of the lights on the blog. This was the first response received:

my understanding of the green light is to let customers know that the driver is irish , and the hope is people will come to realise what the significants [sic] of the light is in time

On another thread titled “Are Black drivers taking over the Dublin taxi fleet?”, one contributor claimed that “punters generally don’t travel with Africans outside of the city”, a statement supported by other contributors.

Are the lights legal?

During our initial enquiries, there seemed to be some confusion surrounding the legalities of having a green light. The Gardaí confirmed to TheJournal.ie that rules pertaining to car lamps relate to front and back lights and not anything on top of the car, as long as it is not an attempt to imitate a siren or emergency vehicle of some sort. They will also not affect a taxi’s suitability test.

The lights are imported from the UK and sold at various locations across Dublin, including Rathmines and Walkinstown.

TheJournal.ie tried to put an order for one of the lights from a reputable garage and were not asked about our nationality or reason why we wanted the device. However, on a callback asking for a price and confirmation, the stockists became vague and evasive. This week, staff eventually told TheJournal.ie that they couldn’t confirm a price until we put in the order.

The National Transport Authority, which is now responsible for the regulation of taxi services in Ireland, issued a statement to TheJournal.ie when asked about the alleged existence of green lights to say it ”will not tolerate racism in any form nor from any source, driver or passenger”.

“The Authority takes any incidences of discrimination extremely seriously and refers all such matters to the authorities with the power to investigate such complaints i.e. the Gardaí or Equality Authority,” it continued.

In recognition of the multicultural society we are living in, a module on diversity and equality was included in the small public service vehicle driver skills development programme launched in 2009. All new entrants since May 2009 have had to sit this driver skills programme, which results in a certificate on successful completion of both the industry knowledge and area knowledge modules.

[Update]

The National Transport Authority issued an updated statement this afternoon to say it has not, to date, seen a prevalence of additional green taxi roof sign lights.

However, it can confirm that any such lights, regardless of the reason for their display, are contrary to rules relating to customising taxi roof signs and should therefore be removed.

The following slideshow shows the green light being used in Dublin in the past two months:

Are some Dublin taxi drivers using covert signal of ‘Irishness’?
1 / 3
  • Green Light

Image: © TheJournal.ie
  • Green Light

Read next:

Comments (246 Comments)

• And what colour is the light that indicates that the driver knows where he is going…?

• Or she.

• Cheap low shot to start people getting into the racist debate again

• What is this newspaper’s obsession with creating or engineering race related stories? Slow news day? Honestly, of all the places I have lived, Ireland is as unracist as it gets. There is always a certain level of discontent where unskilled lower paid/working class jobs are taken up by immigrants in any country, regardless of their origin. My father was an immigrant Asian worker in Russia, as was I. It happens everywhere. Having lived in both the UK and Australia, I can gladly say, racism is relatively benign here.

Green lights on cabs, seriously, how about if everybody buys a green light, then the problem goes away? In any case, I have little sympathy with Irish cab drivers, |I rememeber spending a summer here 1998, before it was deregulated, it was impossible to get a cab, and drivers would pick and choose where they got a fare. It was unbelievable, trading ther cab licences for up to 100k. Dublin cab drivers thought they were highly skilled professionals in some sort of white collar privilaged profession. Cab driving is a gritty tough and competitive business dominated by immigrants and non nationals in almost every country I’ve been to. Irish ‘Domestic’ cabbies need to get used to that fact.

• Spot On Lizzie :D

• Firstly the artical is inconcluesive. Secondly even if this the purpose of the lights how is saying “I’M Irish” raceist?
      Would it be any different from the Grauented Irish trade mark?

• Lizze, it is the purpose of all good reporting to throw light on areas and ask questions. This is not an editorial, and it is in fact good reporting. The facts were presented and the sources are all quoted, so it is up to the reader to make up their mind.
      This is the kind of reporting we need more of in today’s world of constant “opinion pieces”.

As for a question of racism, no I don’t think it is racist to advertise your own nationality, but the people who get into the taxi solely because it is driven by an Irish man… well that’s a different question.

• Its a green light, then it must be someone displaying their Irishness, ergo it must be racist.

Stunning insight, absolutely stunning.

A taxi driver I regularly used when I lived in New England proudly sported an Eritrean flag in his back window. It was an easy way for me to spot his cab on the rank and I could get him to take me home, skipping the others. We could continue our previous dissection of the Arsenal football team and what Wenger needed to do.

Next time I return, il inform him that displaying his nationality could be considered racist in dear old Ireland!

• Ronala 14/05/12 #

This has to be the most nonsensical piece of journalism that I have seen in a long time. Lots of hearsay and get out clauses. Using references to anon. sources on chart forums.

I know Sinead that you have to write content that will have strong page views, and controversy does this, but rubbish like this just damages The Journal long term.

• Great Idea should have been done years ago

• Great news. Now I won’t ever again have to listen to Irish taxi drivers going on and on about “dem black b**tards taking our jobs”, and have a peaceful journey for once.

• Ronala 14/05/12 #

They also use these green lights on taxi’s in Barcelona. They use them as well in Paris, and many other French and Spanish cities.

I suppose in those countries they are Saudi’s driving the taxi’s or maybe the green is for the Nigerian flag, or Libyan old regime die hards.

It could never be that, they are using it as a way of showing people on the street that they are differentiating themselves by making it clear that they are open for business. That makes too much sense, and is readily proven by diverse sources, rather than relying on chat forums, anon. quotes and supposition.

• This racism things gettin out of hand.
      Me wife bought me a white iPad for me 40th and I had to change it for a black one cos I was called a racist.
      ;-)

• Jambbie, did your ipad have a green light?

• I’m colour blind.

• had some great irish taxi drivers had some shit ones had some great non irish drivers had some shit ones, nationality makes no difference when some chancer tries to take me home the long way! anybody who think.all irish drivers are the salt of the earth and non irish are all chancers are kidding themselves!

• My advice to any single woman using Taxi’s is to txt the car registration of every taxi they use to a family member or friend
    Rapists and robbers come in all colours. creeds and nationalities and yes even Irish people with Green Lights.

• To clarify I should have said woman travelling alone not ‘single woman’

• How many taxi drivers have been accused of raping passengers? Seems like unneeded precaution stimulating fear rather than addressing an actual danger.

• It can go both ways too. I actually had to fit a CCTV system in a car for a taxi driver recently because a woman went crazy in the car saying he tried to feel her up, he called the cops and it turned out that she had done this to many taxis in a bid to escape the fare. He told me he was that scared by this he went out and bought what is a pretty expensive system incase the like ever happened again.

• could be worse, could be red lights :-):-):-)

• Gonna get slaughtered here but I always prefer an Irish taxi driver after a night out. Normally good for a bit of banter and always know where they are going.

• I got a taxi with a driver from Clonee on Friday night and he was an awful tosspot.

• I’m not racist against the drivers but……. I am ageist against the cars, pre 06′ and I’m not getting in, if I’m going to pay 30 euro for 9 miles on a Saturday night, I want a decent car

• To my horror, I flagged a taxi on Friday night on Dame street, I don’t go to the ranks. The taxi driver was a non national and when we got into the taxi other taxis started blowing their horns and started shouting at the taxi man, the comments were very racist. As an Irish person I’ve never been so ashamed to be irish in my life. It was disgusting, the taxi man was lovely I apologised for what had just happen, and he said its ok “I’m used to it”. I’m glad there putting green lights on the roof because I’ll make sure I’ll never get into one.

• There was an article about Australian builder ,who would not hire Irish for lies about their qualifications, and it kicked off all sorts of debates a accusing him of being racist etc.So how you call irish taxi drivers then???And it not just taxi drivers, this have been happening across the country not just in taxi business.Non nationals seems to be blamed for everything is wrong in this country.When the times where good , we were welcomed here and took on the very least attractive jobs,low payed jobs.Most still have them, but seems like are we not welcomed here anymore.I think some people have to rethink about Irish emigration history and remember that there is probably somebody in their family , who has emigrated and might be treated same way as non nationals here.

• As a foreigner…. The only thing I blame the irish for is not kicking their government into the irish sea.
      They gone to a national of complacent moaners. (bin household water charges)… But blow ins holding their hand up and meanwhile barking at the hands that feed them???
      Go back if you don’t like it here… Or contribute to change and improvement (iaw kick TD’s back if they attempt to climb back ashore)

• censored 15/05/12 #

You’re still welcome. Never mind the bollocks.

• People are using the old “if you went into a shop or a hospital and the [insert race here] blah blah! If I went into the shop and the cashier didn’t know where the till was or the doctor in the hospital the doctor did not know what a scalpel was then I would ask for another person or leave regardless of race.

And before you jump on it, I am from a mixed race family.

Expecting white people to be racist or constantly insuating that they are is actually RACIST.

• damian 14/05/12 #

In this country it’s the big yellow sign on top of the car that signals if the car is available for a fare or not. I don’t buy the “it’s difficult to see” argument. You can see the big yellow sign no problem… No need for another really small light to signal availability. It’s there for one reason only and we all know what that is….

I’ve made a point of not getting into a taxi with an “Irish driver” sticker. This green light is just another version of that… Sorry lads, but you’re not getting my money. Some of the best taxi drivers that I’ve had have been Chinese, Latvian etc. They always knew the destination and took the direct route… Too many gougers in the taxi business. We need to go to the European or US model. All taxis the same make/model and the same “taxi” colour…. Some of the cars that you see on ranks are a disgrace! I wish in Dublin that the green and red line Luas ran a night time service like they do at Christmas!

• What about the consumer’s right to choose? The last 3 taxis I got were black and I don’t give a fiddlers cos we’re all entitled to earn a living.
    If you walked down the wrong street & got robbed would you keep walking down it?
    This is not a race issue it’s a service issue.

• Well I’ll definitely be using this light as an indicator of what taxis NOT to get into… seems like a sure fire way to avoid the usual earful of petty racism I receive from our dear old native taxi drivers whenever I return home to Dublin.

• Dead on!! I used to go from Church St bridge to beyond Killiney on a work account. The cab co had one driver nicknamed Bronson who was such a racist and avowed Nazi that the first thing you’d say when ordering your cab was ‘Make sure the driver is not Bronson’. Otherwise it would be constant racism and other tiresome extremist views non-stop for 50 minutes.

• I hear ya! If I had a euro for every time I heard a taxi driver saying something racist I’d be rich.. And the funny thing is, they seem to assume that if you’re irish you will automatically agree with them and hold the same views. Excuse me, no I don’t think all ‘the black’ should ‘go home’, thank you very much…. >_>

• KarlMarx

Typical cming from a marxist. Everyone who opposes immigration into their own native land, is a nazi. You are aware that marx thought that the Irish, the Bretons and the basques should be exterminated. As they would slow down the socialist revolution.

Marxists are dangerous nutters.

• Did you know there’s no rank where those taxi’s are illegally plying for hire,while parked on double yellow lines and touting for business outside Whelans?
    Where are the Gardai when you need them ?:-)

• I was called a racist because I have the interior lights on in the car when reading at night, as potential passengers may be able to discern my skin colour How thoughtless of me.

• In fairness, this is handy.

It’s good to know that if you see a green light, you can happily avoid being lectured about how the country should be run, how Liverpool will be back next season and how cyclists should be lined up against a wall and shot. Foreign taxi drivers, generally, tend to just shut up and drive me home. Which is all I ever really want.

• Don’t they also have “Irish Driver” stickers on the back window? I’ve seen those too. And the “Double Jobbers Out” ones. Glad they’re using those green lights too though – now I know which bigoted & ignorant taxis to avoid.

• good idea tuba

• Every taxi driver – no matter what nationality or colour – is out there to feed their family or themselves.

The only person who can let you get ripped off in a taxi is you. Taxi driver going the wrong way? Tell them. Taxi driver won’t shut up? Tell them. Fare not right? Ask to be brought to your local garda station.

• Does the consumer not have a right to choose any more? If I choose to get into a taxi which has a driver from Ireland instead of Nigeria [insert any non-Ireland country here], that’s my choice right? Just like if I was in Nigeria, I would get into a taxi driven by a Nigerian. I really don’t get what the big deal is.

• when possible I try and get in to an Irish taxi the main reason is I was caught in a non nationals taxi with no insurance or tax plus a lot of them don’t know there way around the city, which is horbble after a night out

• Good man Daniel, stick up for your own. Whites are now 10% of world population and decreasing fast. Africans have africa and now Europe and America to live in, Asians have asia and now Europe and America to live in, what continent do Europeans have for themselves…none, and we will have less and less as time goes on.

• I’m sorry, Kathleen, I really hope you weren’t implying that society becoming more interracial is a bad thing. Because that would be ridiculous.

• Was in Brisbane for a few months and used taxis every day while I was there… from my experience the non national drivers (mostly Indian origin) couldn’t speak English properly, were rude, didn’t know their way around the city to find the simplest of location (even with the GPS) and most of the cabs smelled terrible (shower soap and water wouldn’t go a miss)… on a few occasions I had to wind down the windows so I wouldn’t gag it was so bad.

I found the local Australian drivers to be friendly, curious and a good source of information about the area.

Does it make me raciest to prefer competence, cleanness and manners?

• If you extrapolate a handful of personal experiences to judge that Australians are, overall, more competent, clean and mannerly than Asians then yes, it does.

• I used taxis twice a day for 6 months and it’s more than a “handful of experiences” and certainly enough to make a very sound judgment to make an informed decision on who I would prefer to have as taxi driver.

People make choices based on their personal experiences with dealing with certain types of people or ethnic groups… there is nothing wrong with that.

With regards to taxis in Ireland (or any other service) I would prefer to give my business to an real Irish person… he who pays makes the rules.

• Culture is gas isn’t it. Cos alot of asians think we smell like milk. Some non-Irish people I’ve spoken to think Irish people are rude and two faced, they promise to ring you or see you soon and they don’t. They say a big hello on the street but don’t stop to talk. Its mad interesting the way we interpret each others way isn’t it. you can be open to it or not. If your not then it pure sad cos your missing out on alot of the most interesting things about modern life….

• It’s the same principle as the guaranteed Irish symbol.
    Last week 2 non Irish taxi drivers asked me where was Copper face jacks! For Fecks sake it’s one of the landmarks that’s on the taxi test.

• My wife feels safer with an Irish taxi driver so I know she’ll appreciate the green lights. However, I get the feeling that all taxis have the potential of becoming star-bellied sneeches if they keep at this game.

• Why is it when taxi drivers do something to maybe increase business there’s always a racist angle to it. We’ll all be buying green flags and jerseys in a couple of weeks for the euros in dunnes and pennys and there won’t be a word said. Yawn.

• So Irish taxi drivers are displaying initiative and it shows they are opportunists. These are traits people need to have in that kind of overcrowded profession. I don’t know what the lights truly signal, if it’s that so they can be seen during the day, good thinking. Some of the yellow lights are difficult to see. If it’s to signify that they are Irish, surely that says more about the punters than the taxi driver. They must have got the idea that people prefer Irish taxi drivers from somewhere otherwise it would be a detrimental thing to do. I just feel like they’re taking advantage of a situation that presented itself, like anyone trying to make a living. What’s to stop any taxi driver buying a green light. I don’t see the problem here. If they want a green light buy, don’t cry racism, step up to the game. It’s a very competitive business. At the end of the day all the balls are in the customers court. They can pick any car they want, they can go any way they want, they can have the radio on or off, they can have the driver’s opinions on or off. If people want an Irish driver, get one with a green light, if people don’t mind just get the next one that comes along.

• So, saying you are Irish in Ireland now means you are racist. … Oh ye, that makes complete sense.

• Ronala 14/05/12 #

The use of Green lights on taxi’s is quiet common in many European cities. It shows that the taxi is available, helps them stand out.

A load of unsubstantiated nonsense in an article, does not change that fact. It does however make an article, that will get a lot of chatter and page impressions for the site.

• Except the sign isn’t saying “I’m Irish” it’s saying “I’m available”.

It’s apparently, according to posts on an irish taxi forum, being used by some drivers to indicate “I’m not black”.

• A forum for Taxi drivers? Like they dont talk enough shit in their cabs already and they go an open a forum!

I don’t care where they’re from, I wish they’d just keep their opinions on women, race, the economy and how hard they have it to themselves when I’m in their cab!

• Dave 14/05/12 #

Sick and tired of taxi drivers thuggish behaviour, refusal of fares, general shit talk and usually, total bigotry too. Will go out of my way to avoid using their services. I’d prefer to take my chances on the bloody nitelink.

• That is one bullshit story, it’s just away to start another racist debate, a very cheap way I might add.

• Sharrow 14/05/12 #

I will be looking out for the green lights. Too many times I have ended up in a taxi with non national drivers, who don’t’ know were they are going, spent the time shouting on the phone, trying to get me to accept Jesus as my saviour, tried to cheat me on change or the car was substandard.

• In my own experiences, I have been tried to be ripped by more Irish drivers than foreign drivers. So I think it goes without saying what the green light will indicate to me!

• Would just like to add that I think the question posed in this article is fair enough.

• More quotes from IrishTaxi.org (WARNING: Some of these quotes may be inconvenient to the narrative presented here):

“Green light = European wide standard green you are available”

“AFAIK displaying green lights on a vehicle is illegal. Hino truck case from the early 80`s involved in a crash. Hino used to have 3 green lights on the roof and the driver involved in the collision with the truck claimed he thought he had right of way because he seen green light.”

“The roofie colour is covered by S.I. All other lights have to be white to the front, red to the rear.”

“There is a strong possibility that the roofies could be confiscated.”

“Its a covert Irish driver light and according to Bubba they wont pass the suitability .”

“Clowns willing to part with their hard earned cash – if they can’t see the roofie, they’ll never see the little green light…”

“load o bolli*. mite as well hang yer cock out the window”

• Hi Felim,

Thanks for that. As I said in the piece, “While there was some support for using the lights for this reason [European light], the answers I received from taxi drivers were somewhat different.

Noted your comment under as well. Thanks for the feedback and contribution.

Sinead

• If the green light is to let them know they are free then what is the point of the yellow light? I think myself as public service vehicles there should be no political or religious elements . Ipeople have a problem with a taxi make a complaint to the regulator . Unfortunately there is an element of racism in Dublin on the ranks. Some are divided.

• Gee! I think that it is sadly laughable that many here in Ireland believe that Ireland is so enlightened that racism doesn’t exist. Cop on!!! Racism and discrimination exist in every country and culture. Racism and discrimination will never cease to exist… However, it can be minimized. Minimization can only begin when racism and discrimination is accepted as fact and national campaigns are established to celebrate the wonderful differences of those who have adopted Ireland as their home.

• I don’t agree with you. I don’ think we should accept or expect any level of racism. I think we should be working towards its erradication. Sitting and accepting it as inevitable isn’t good enough!

• Aarum 14/05/12 #

The supermarkets will have to be done now for supporting racism, Irish product? Support Irish dairy etc etc what a load of crap,
    let people make up their own mind, let them choose what ever taxi they want green light or not

• There’s a clear difference. The purpose of Irish product stickers is to show that the revenue goes to people paying tax in Ireland and spending their wages chiefly in Ireland and therefore supporting the local economies. They’re not there to reflect the nationalities of the workforce.

Non-national taxi drivers pay their taxes in Ireland, same as anybody else, and spend their money in Dunnes Stores, same as anyone else. There’s no advantage to the Irish economy in blacklisting workers according to their nationality.

• If a campaign like ‘Guaranteed Irish’ is promoting something because it’s Irish then it’s wrong. Period. It is for that reason the government can’t promote or fund campaigns like this under EU rules.

If a campaign wants to say that its products benefit the Irish economy then it should say that without mentioning nationality.

If the taxi signs are racist then ‘Guaranteed Irish’ is too. It doesn’t matter what motivations you impute to it.

• Good bit of investigative journalism there, good article well done for exposing what seems like a seedy underbelly of our taxi unions, of course not everyone may be involved but now all the lights will be quickly removed as though it was a trial run of a new system on select cars.

• Look fact of the matter is, taxi drivers (Irish or not) are all trying to make a living. With so many taxis and ranks full, people are getting desperate and will use any means necessary to gain more business. I know a few taxi drivers and its very hard to feed your family when your getting short fares, and not easy to compete with the sheer numbers of other taxis!

• Green Light= vehicle is free for hire.
    I have been ripped off in Lisbon by native looking drivers, insulted in Brussles by foreign looking drivers, really taken to the cleaners by some Check driver in Prague. They were vicious abusive mean or sly. Does this mean that all cab dirvers are BAD NEWS? No, usually they are decent people who need nerves of steel to spend a whole day in crazy traffic. Unless thay have been waiting at the airport taxi rank for a fat cat to ask for a cross country ride, and you ask for the closest IBIS hotel.There you should brace yourself for what you’ll hear… And about racist opinions on a taxi, it is a bit difficult to tell them to just shut up. I would not necessarily look for an Irish driver. I had no proof they can use the GPS, last time I arrived in Dublin at night and asked for a street around the Strand, my friend had to get out to finally pick me up as the driver could not find his way to the street. So as usual green or yellow light, anyone can be a nutter, given a chance!

• Wold it not be better for the taxi drivers to upgrade their cars instead of spending the money on green lights? I mean when you see the state of some of the taxis in Ireland,Jesus, they are ready for the scrap yard!
    DJ

• I think taxi drivers need to unite and campaign for a fleet like they have in Germany and against the deregulation of the taxi industry. The problem is that there are a few people in Ireland (and this is repeated throughout the world) who have billions and are sitting on it whilst the economy slowing grinds people into dust. It’s nothing to do with how many people were born somewhere else and had to or decided to move somewhere else. Leo Varadkar is happy to let us all fight each other over the crumbs though…so if you keep blaming foreigners instead of Varadkar and his ilk then you are only going against your own interest.

• If this is true, I’m absolutely delighted Dublin cabs are using the green light to signify their nationality; at least that way I can avoid Jackeen cab drivers. The only times I’ve ever been ripped off by a cabbie in the City that never sweeps was when I used ‘salt of the earth’ of Dublin hackneys, if a green light helps me avoid these whining gobsheens so much the better.

• 3:1 the times I have been ripped off by a taxidriver. 3x by a foreigner due to ignorance or lack of proper English. Once attempted by an. Irishman who wanted to give this foreigner the scenic route… I will be green lights all the way for me. Good initiative

• If I had a choice I would avoid Irish taxi drivers and the inevitable conversation that comes with them about how there are “too many taxis in Dublin these days” or “how hard things have become since deregulation what with all these part-time Nigerians going around, wha”. I just want a nice foreign fella who will get the job done without wrecking my head with their latent racism or reminders of the good old days of taxi driving which, for us passengers, involved having to queue at the taxi rank for a good hour or more just to get home at 4am.

• I was around inner city Dublin all day today and looked out for these green lights on every taxi I saw, I didn’t see one green light on any taxi. Maybe they only come out at night?

• You know, as someone who was denied carriage by a taxi driver because he refused to carry “non-Irish” passengers (despite the fact I’m from Harcourt Street originally, and can trace both sides of my family in Ireland back to the 19th century and probably beyond too if I tried), I’m not exactly shocked or surprised by this story.

• Proper order, I make it my business to make sure the Joe is Irish

• Paula 14/05/12 #

Roish loike, that’s just so intellectual loike. Isn’t it just mad loike that every Oisin I know also happens to be prat loike. Hey man, using ‘Joe’ makes you so loike cool and street you know

• At least you know when you see a green light on a taxi, you know you wont be ripped off. Fair play to the taxi drivers doing it. They’re trying to make their business work and feed their families! Too many licenses were given out over the years. Seen lots of cases of Foreigners over charging fares, being aggressive when questioned, and even seen some of them get lost, with no clue where they are in a taxi full of passengers. Ill only go in a taxi when an Irish man is driving.

• What I the Irish man is black?

• So only non-Irish drivers rip people off? Or are even more likely to rip people off?

Almost four decades experience of travelling with taxi drivers is that taxi drivers will often happily rip you off, regardless of where they’re from.

• I’ll only get into a cab if it’s got a burning cross on the roof, this green light mullarkey just doesn’t go far enough….

• Taxi drivers have been dipping off punters for years it’s not a racial thing. My advice is have a company that you know and call them regardless of their colour.

• Hey.. I got a taxi from Finglas to Bray once and not only did the *Irish* taxi driver not know where Bray was, he offered me brandy while driving.

Now, not all Irish taxi drivers are like that, indeed, most aren’t. My father drove a taxi, and his main complaint was the inadequacy of the regulator and the idiocy of the amount of licenses handed out. He didn’t have much good to say about the Unions though! But he had a big list of regulars, and I’d often find him studying the OS map & making corrections.. He always knows the best and quickest route – because he doesn’t do things half assed, he believes if it’s worth doing its worth doing well.

I’ve never had a negative experience with a non national driver, should I assume that they are all fantastic? Of course not. Truth is, whether or not they will be good at their job is down to the individual and how motivated they are to do their job well.

• ankaviva 23/01/13 #

Funny that, every Irish taxi driver I was ever driving with was always lost in the new neighborhoods in Dublin, or in the business parks. There is probably something wrong with the way the city has been planned, at least the newer parts of it, I bet everyone would get lost there. Blame the developers, the Nigerians simply had nothing to do with it …

• The green lights would be very helpful for avoiding racist drivers. Great!

• This place is starting to resemble a sort of parallel-universe version of the Daily Mail, where professional left wing quango heads get puff pieces and preferential moderation, allegations of racism get thrown about like confetti, and stories like this are posted up to garner attention (successfully), incite debate (done), and somehow portray us poor Irish, (who have seen, in Dublin for example, after just a few short years, one in five of the population now of “non-Irish” origin, and all with remarkable acceptance and harmony, considering), as frothing at the mouth with xenophobic zeal, and ready to shoot down anyone whose grandparents weren’t born here.

These things should not be taboo. If a group of people feel that they need to adapt their patronage as a result of negative experience, then they are entitled to.

And if another group feel that they wish to highlight their origins, then why not? There are Polish flags (sorry guys, not singling you out) proudly displayed in Polski Skleps all over the place, and they are invariable red and white, too. Should they be told to stop as well?

• Ah, lovely non sequiturs. Do avoid non sequiturs, they’re self-inflicted wounds, every single one of them.

• Please feel free to point out what you see as non sequiturs.

• See, the problem is not that the drivers in question are putting this lamp on display to show you who they are, the problem is that they are doing it to hint you who they aren’t.

…the taxi drivers, no matter what their nationality, skin colour, creed and the number of dangling keys, don’t sell different product depending on their nationality, skin colour, creed or the number of dangling keys; this is not true when it comes to specialty shops.

• In most other countries, there is a green light on the root of the taxi. It’s turned on if the driver is available for hire and turned off if the driver is not. Could this ever be the reason that some taxis in Ireland now have them, just a common sense thought?

• Hi Toorkeel,

As the article says, there are some people out there who are selling and/or using the lights for this purpose. However, there are others using it for another reason.

Have covered both reasons.

Thanks
      Sinead

• I think Sinead this is more sensational journalism from the Journal to be fair. These lights are on taxis in every other country. In fact they should be mandatory here too so people can identify a free taxi. Headlines like yours are only to provoke a response from certain sectors of the community. Enough myths out there without spreading more

• censored 15/05/12 #

There is already a light on the roof on the taxi. If it’s on, that means the taxi is available.

• Another quiet day at the Journal! Lets have a go at the taxis!
    As a taxi driver myself i wasn’t aware of this but at the end of the day its down to local knowledge. If you went to Lagos (as an example) wold you not get in a local drivers car?
    This supposed problem is a possible kneejerk reaction by Irish drivers and their frustration with what is going on in the industry. Irish people are also making a conscious choice at times not to get in taxis drivers driven by foreign national due to their lack of faith in the regulation in the industry. They don’t feel safe! Loop holes are being exploited and have been exposed on national Television and others are also known to Irish drivers but what is being done? Not a lot because it rocks the boat of the faceless bureaucrats who run our industry which when you factor in licence fees etc makes a tidy sum for the National coffers.
    Taxi companies and individuals who rent out taxis need to be regulated to their eyeballs as they are the main problem area. There is not enough control on who drives these taxis! Once they are rented out to 1 individual there is absolutely no control after that over what he does with it. I have seen Gardai stop taxis and check the driver and when a problem is discovered they are ordered to remove their Sign into their boot and stop working- but what happens, they drive down the road and put it back on again- FACT. The sign should be removed and held by the guards and the driver and the owner of the plate/car should be prosecuted if warranted.
    Heres a question – If you have 2 taxi firms-1 employs nearly all Irish drivers and another who rents out taxis and radios mostly to non nationals- 1 is busier than ever- which one is it? Yes the one with the Irish drivers.
    This is a clear message to the powers that be from the PUBLIC.
    It is far too easy for foreign nationals to get to drive taxis here compared to other countries where if you are “foreign” you will not be allowed enter the industry. I personally dont mind who drives the taxi provided that the same rules govern us all and the other driver doesnt have an unfair advantage over me. At the moment it is far too easy for the National transport Authority and other Government agencies and agents to make money from legitimate irish taxidrivers with another regulation or 10 which will cost us more money yet there are others out there who are invisible and doing quite well thank you.
    Thank you for reading.

• eh? What are you on about? The same rules apply to all taxi drivers. There are no special provisions for non-Irish drivers. I have had this from a racist taxi driver before where he told me that non-Irish drivers didnt have to score as high in the “where things are test”. I contacted the taxi regulator and was told this wasn’t true. One thing that I do agree with you on is that non-Irish taxi drivers do have a harder time. In conversations with taxi drivers they are subjected to tarrades of abuse from punters and white irish drivers. Let me tell you there are plenty of dodgy taxi drivers out there and they come in every colour, though I’ve only been given the run around by the Irish ones. I’m sure with time the same will happen with non-Irish drivers. If and when it does. Would you spread my story of being ripped off my an Irish driver through the customers in your car, or would you pass on the story of “the foreigner”. As for Lagos, theres tons of people there who aren’t even Nigerian. If I got in a taxi I want someone who knows the area. If the driver is Black then I won’t know they might not be Nigerian.You can’t equate skill, knowledge and honesty with nationality, cos that is racist!

• Just read this crap and the purpose of the green light is to indicat you are free and available for hire .
    Just as in Spain Portugal Italy USA. Need Igo on . this journal is now like any other prints without thefact. And it seems its happy to stir up the racist angle wheres theres none

• Fair play to the Irish Taxi Drivers, I hate nothing more than being taken for a ride by a non national who hasn’t a clue where he is going! This is great work by the Irish Taxi Drivers, letting the public know who they are getting in with. The vetting system for Taxi Drivers only extends within the Shores of Ireland so anyone who was a murderer, war lord or rapist in another country prior to their arrival In Ireland will go undetected! Choose Irish and support Irish, isn’t this what we are told by government agencies everyday of the week!

• Now, Dan, aren’t you afraid when you’re meeting so many foreign nationals living in Malahide? Take me, for example, how can you be sure that I’m not a rapist, murderer, or – goddess forbid! – a warlord? I’m not even a *taxi driver*, for multiple gods’ sake!

• Cake Con 14/05/12 #

Non-Irish taxi drivers do the same test as Irish taxi drivers to its a myth that they don;t know where they are going. Theres plenty of times I been in taxis with Irish taxi drivers and they dont know the same of an obscure terrace in some suburban estate. Its the nature of the game, get over it. As for the vetting thing, well I worked in the UK as a youth worker, up until last year there was no reciprical relationship between the UK and Ireland to share info on convictions. I was still able to work in the UK because actually as an individual thats not my fault. Ireland doesnt have that relationship with most countries in the world but I’m sure you’d agree that our migrants shouldnt be retricted from work because of it. And as for the suggestion that warlords are jackin in the lucrative warmongering to take up jobs in the Irish taxi ranks… I think your watching too much telly. I much prefer going with non-irish drivers cos you dont have to run the risk of sitting through or attempting to challenge the right wing bigotted shite that you often have to put up with.

• dubsy 15/05/12 #

Who did you hire to take pictures…? I can do as bad but for less money…!

• a note to taxi drivers .dont worry about a green light .Just wear a green shirt or jersey for work ..its our national colour .and its not racest

• I think the author here is seeking to contrive a racist angel to this story. As is stated in the article this green light is ” not something being advertised widely,” hence it would be ineffective as a indicator of nationality. Could it be that this highly visible bright green light is simply indicating a taxi available for hire.

• Perhaps its the taxi drivers way of supporting the Irish football team, shortly they will have Irish flags on the cars during the games no complaints for supporting the Irish.

• William, what an excuse on behalf of the those people who in their own mind knew fully well, they are promoting racism. I believe this cankerworm if not address right from now will eat deep into the fabric of this religious and peaceful country. Let those who have ears listen now and act.

• Oh, and don’t forget, it’s your right, as a consumer to agree a fare before you get into a taxi / hackney / phv. Don’t listen to all the bs about it has to be what the meter says. Have you seen how many hundred taxi’s are behind you buddy?

• No it isn’t, you’re talking crap. When you’re in a metered area you pay what’s on the meter, when you’re not (I.e. going from Dublin to drogheda) you can either pay the fare by what’s on the meter of what you have negotiated.

• Do I not have a right to reply as my original reply was deleted? I am quoting from the law here; look it up lamp;

“It’s important to remember, customers have the right to request a discount before engaging a taxi. Drivers have the right to charge the maximum amount calculated on the meter, or a lesser sum at their discretion. Any discounts given may be recorded in handwriting on the receipt.”

• look it up Lamp on the citizens information website here is the fact as stated in legislation; It’s important to remember, customers have the right to request a discount before engaging a taxi. Drivers have the right to charge the maximum amount calculated on the meter, or a lesser sum at their discretion. Any discounts given may be recorded in handwriting on the receipt.

• To brand food in a shop as Irish, and everyone pushing the ‘buy Irish’ campaign is ok. Do it in a car, it’s racist. Double standard?

• I think it’s fair to raise the question based on your research, even if the jury is still out on this one. Keep it up.

• After reading all them comments. I dont know who to believe but lucky enough I live near the City centre so I dont get Taxis.

• racist? You’re allowed to put made in Ireland on food etc. so why not Taxi’s? We’re told we should buy Irish so….. where’s the problem?

• Cake Con 14/05/12 #

Cos buy irish is about keeping money in the economy. Not all people who work in gauranteed Irish companies are Irish. But the gaurantee is that profits made in teh country are rinsed through Irish taxations system and employment is generated here. Promoting Irish drivers as being better and more trust worthy than non-irish is devisive and racist. It strengthens emerging trends of racism in Irish society and makes an already difficult job for non-irish and black drivers even harder.

• It doesn’t matter how you quibble about it. ‘Guaranteed Irish’ and the taxi lights are intellectually the exact same thing. ‘Guaranteed Irish’ is meant to assist people discriminating against foreign goods.

The arguments you’ve just used to justify ‘Guaranteed Irish’ could be used by the taxi drivers with the green lights and the arguments you’ve used against racist taxi drivers could be used against ‘Guaranteed Irish’.

Oh by the way, apostrophes are not used in plurals and it’s spelt ‘guarantee’.

• Cake Con 14/05/12 #

Tom I bets your a teeecher. My broders a teeecher and he’s always correcting my grammar and pronunciation. I tells him to flip off. I tink it makes him look petty and juvenile but I wouldn’t say dat about you. anyway I speaks and spells a very specific rural dialect where we puts apostraphies where we likes and says what we wants and spells it anyway we wants as well…………… anyway will I copy and paste my comment here aswell, like you just did…ok I’ll go get it….. god its a bit of a long one. I didn’t spell check it.. I’m wreckless like that.

I don’t agree. Buying Irish or whatever the correct terminology is specifically about keeping your money circulating in the Irish economy rather that instantly exported to a foreign parent company, attracting minimal taxes for the state and creating few spin off’s for industry in Ireland. There is no suggestion attached that foreign goods are more risky because they are foreign, that they are of lesser quality or that they are a rip off.

This green light issue and associated issues of very normalised racist attitude amount a significant number of indigenous taxi drivers is a completely seperate issue. Non-Irish taxi drivers are employed in Ireland, they pay taxes in Ireland, they buy their groceries and all other kinds of goods and services in Ireland so there is no need to differentiate between Irish and non-Irish drivers using your logic.

However there is a distinguishment being made by some Irish drivers. This new idea of the light, hot on the back of old ideas about stickers that indicated irish drivers had nothing to do with supporting the Irish economy and everything to do with encouraging racist discrimination by Taxi users.

• Glad to hear you’re (not your) a redneck Cake. But hey, I knew that already. And I’m glad to hear you can cut and paste now. Listen to your brother and while you’re (not your) at it, listen to your mother too.

My logic simply says that the ‘Guaranteed Irish’ sign in the supermarket and the green taxi light are the same thing.

You say buying Irish:

“…is specifically about keeping your money circulating in the Irish economy rather that [sic] instantly exported to a foreign parent company, attracting minimal taxes for the state and creating few spin off’s [sic] for industry in Ireland.”

That means it’s all about a form of racism. Promoting Irish goods ahead of foreign goods is still racism. You go on to say:

“There is no suggestion attached that foreign goods are more risky because they are foreign, that they are of lesser quality or that they are a rip off.”

Glad to hear it!
      But I’ve never seen that written on a taxi notwithstanding the fact that you’re saying that’s what the green light means. It’s only your interpretation of it.

The green light and ‘Guaranteed Irish’ campaign are exactly the same issue, because they both discriminate against foreign goods and workers. Period.

• Cake Con 14/05/12 #

Meow Tomcat :)

I think we are at a stalemate (as Ive mentioned in the other mini-thread where were thrashing this out).

I still think your wrong though, failing to see the impact that all this stuff has for migrant workers working in the taxi industry in Ireland. How this kind of stuff marginalises workers who have every right to participate in the industry. And adds momentum to anti-immigrant sentiment by legitimising the idea that you can racially stereotype non-Irish drivers and thats ok. These are workers working within the irish ecomony.

• Encouraging the purchase of items over other items based on nationality is racism. And the European Union agrees with me on this. In fact the Irish government can’t get involved in the ‘Guaranteed Irish’ campaign because of these EU rules.

With regard to your comparison with preferences, a taxi with a green light won’t make any more money than any other taxi because some people won’t get into his taxi when they see it. If the idiot wants to put the light on his roof let him. It actually should be his free choice but in the end it doesn’t make any difference.

Do you honestly think the ‘buy Irish’ campaigns work? They probably don’t. But should be their free choice to run it.

• You never know if the company who owns the cab is Irish. There is where they all get us, with the buy national thing on every country but the stuff they sell makes profit for multinationals. Anyway we feel happy to help. Maybe the really Irish Taxi company is the one who takes foreigners because theywill be forced to work for less pay.
      Had you thought about that, the really Irish cab is one driven by a Nigerian?

• Will these guys refuse business from non-nationals?

• How long does someone have to live in this country to be be considered Iridh? Is it Only pale skinned blue eyed Irish accented folk who count? What if you’ve lived here for 15-20 years, raised your kids here, earned a living, paid taxes, and have a non Irish accent? Or what I’d you were born abroad but have an Irish accent? Or what if your parents were born in Africa or India or Latvia or Poland but you have an Irish accent? What is Irish anyway? The people who live here and contribute to the country are Irish in my opinion. All this ‘non- national’ stuff needs
    to be challenged. We are not some backwards island drifting in the North Atlantic whose inhabitants never met anyone from outside their tribe. We are still a country of emigrants, and shouldn’t forget that.

• only use irish drivers, as they are only ones that give out reciepts, dont take you around the block and thats in a small town, and if you ask for reciept they go thru a batch of older ones,, its a disgrace what non irish taxi drivers are getting away with, and i have my kids told to do same, as i have been taken the long way round on more than one occasion and frankly got scared as its not nice to be taken around the block, and have tried to be fair but after 3 or 4 times its enough,,, keep up the good work irish cabbies,,, and be proud ye do a good job

• Gas cos I’ve only been ripped off by the Irish ones. To be honest they all play the same game when you live in Dublin with an country accent. Dubs as bad as any other group. As soon as they establish that you know where you are going then you don’t get the run around. Now moderater can you have a look at the above comment cos it seems pretty racist to me!!!

• Stephen 14/05/12 #

well said Jackie

• How would you feel if this was an article like” avoid Irish taxi drivers in Australia there non-national drunks support our own blah blah blah” race doesn’t really have much to do with it, it’s simply poor business practice and paves the way for total regulation of taxis with no independents, taxi drivers be ware.

• Why was my comment removed?

• HACKNEYED OLD JOKES HOME: What do you call a black taxi driver?
    A taxi driver, you racist…

• The problem with racism is like you get coward racists,i for one dont mind a reasonable debate with a proper racist,if u want to be racist at least be bold enough to say yes im racist,this is my opinion and i believe in it because….i will take a neo-nazi over this uneducated bigots anyday,i am black but grew up here i have spoken to people on the phone that end up typing my name tadgh cos they thought i was irish born and bred which im not,so what is to say i dont know dublin city as much as a “local” anyone that doesnt think its casual racism needs their head checked,supporting irish products is different for supporting irish people only,so if you go to spar and a pakistani national attends to you at the counter,what economy do you think you supporting,same as getting into a taxi doesnt matter where you from you are supporting the irish economy,and lets cut the bull shit with all foreigners send there money home,so what once i pay my taxes whatever i do with the rest of my money is my business in saying that with the amount of taxes paid in ireland doubt that may taxi drivers have much to send home anyway,my parents went to college in ireland in the 50s my nan still lives in africa i can count the times they used western union,only occasional times and with a lot of irish people(young especially) living abroad im sure a lot of irish families will be using western union and back to western union surely western union pays their taxes in ireland so using them is boosting the irish economy again.And lets cut out all the fantasy stories of foreigners being given a lamborgini on arrival and a gaff in foxrock,do people really think the irish government will give all those ammendities to people who cant even vote are people really that daft???!!,i lived there all my life never got a simple penny from the government because my mom who did medicine in england under thatcher believed in thatcherism and hates having to get any handouts from governments,the problem in ireland is unlike england the media doesnt promote black folks achieving stuff in england u cant really go on and generalize because for every bad black man you have black doctors engineers sportsmen people of excellence,but if anyone wants to see non-nationals thriving and contributing to irish society go to any medical wards in ireland and see non-national doctors and nurses go to royal college of surgeon and see excelling non-national students who fork out 50odd grand to go to college hear,and if anyone wants to take me on a debate please do but dont say you not a racist admit to it and we can go from there i will respect you more,had a debate with a bnp memeber while visiting my cousins in england lately wasnt pretty but was more interesting cos he admitted hating blacks and stated his reasons i challenged him on it we ended up having a pint i doubt i changed his mind about blacks but i certainly chnaged is mind about me

• Seriously. If you’re in London, you’ll look for a driver from London. Now we’ve this we can look for the Irish drivers easier, it’s not racist, it’s wanting someone who knows where they’re going.

• Well Karl me oul china, I hate to be all contrarian but I have the dubious privilege of living in LDN right now and I never EVER look for a London driver; I look for someone with a functioning sat nav who’s prepared to take me ‘sarf of the river’. The black cabs (dominated by indigenous drivers) are the same repository of racist cant that one might expect from his Dublin counterpart and will often refuse to take you ‘over the water’ because they won’t get a fare back from South London, they’re also generally more expensive.
      Their bona fides as ‘born Bow Bells’ cockerneees who’ve done ‘the knowledge’ doesn’t stop them being dishonest, incompetent or down right dangerous (see link: http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/england/london/7931975.stm)

• I live in London, when you say you look for a driver from London what do you mean? White? we have Black Londoners and Asian Londoners, and lets not forget Irish Londoners driving a Taxi. The last time i was in Dublin i got in a taxi at the airport the driver was from Galway i had to direct him to where to go.

• If i need a cab i ring Addison Lee they are cheaper than black cabs.

• I once skipped the first taxi in the queue because I was feeling very grumpy and I just couldnt face another arguement with a racist. So I got into the first taxi with a black driver. He wouldn’t take me, he said it wasn’t fair on the others so i got into the first cab and low and behold, without even fishing for it. He started with the racism. If you take taxi’s you must know that racism is rife.. the african drivers this and the black fella’s that. They stir it and spread it.. the simple fact is that because Ireland in so racist black migrants often find it easier to become self employed than to access the jobs market. Anyone who thinks Ireland isn’t racist, I bless your innocent and niave heart but I ask you to open your eyes to it

• Ah, so you engaged in reverse racism, then?

There is a strong element in this country who would paint everyone as rabid racists, because they make a living out of it.

• Cake Con 14/05/12 #

No I don’t believe that all Irish people are racist or that all taxi-drivers are racist. I just knew, the one day I didn’t want to get all caught up in a debate. I wasn’t in the mood for it. I thought, feck it there’s enough stories for Irish people over looking black drivers today I just wanna get where I’m going and not have to run the risk of a quite trip home decending into a big ideological debate. The problem for me is that I can’t let casual racism slide. I’ll take ownership of that! Happens all the time, someone says something, everyone cringes and I’m off :)

• Lenbot 15/05/12 #

This term, reverse racism…I’ll never understand it. Either you’re able to be racist to any nationality/creed whatever you define race as, or you’re not able to. Is reverse racism like backwards racism? If you use the term reverse racism it defines racism as something that can only happen to certain group of peoples and not other certain groups. Therefore what you’re actually talking about is discrimination, not racism >_< .

So pick racism or discrimination, this reverse racism lark is stupid.

• Ronala 14/05/12 #

I love how all the photo’s that are used to show this, are all for taxi’s that are free for use. The green light being used in the same way as it is across Europe.

12k views, 65 Facebook shares, 55 RT’s and 160+ comments.

This is just link building on social media. Its an SEO exercise, rather than a news piece.

• Hi Ronala.

Just to address your various comments, I was told directly by a number of taxi drivers that the use of the lights was to denote a driver who was Irish.

As noted in the piece, some drivers are using them/selling them to indicate availability.

The sources were not anonymous – I am aware of who they are but did not publish their names.

Thanks,
      Sinead

• Great to see that taxi racism is still alive and well in Ireland. What a fantastic country!

http://www.advertiser.ie/galway/article/36078

• It’s racist… no matter what way they try to say it.

• I agree Martin. I’ve never had a problem with any taxi driver and I most certainly wouldn’t promote racism, by getting into a taxi with a green light on it.
      “Until the colour of a man’s skin is of the same significance as the colour of his eye, there’ll be a war”
      Bob Marley

• So putting a “made in Ireland” logo on a product is also racist? I don’t see how this is racist in any way, it is simply advertising to clients who would prefer to direct his money towards Irish services.

In this day and age in Ireland you can be accused of racism for anything and nothing.

• Made in Ireland is completely different, it signifies that you are helping to employ people that are living in the country, i.e. the money is not going abroad. You can fill a factory in Carlow with immigrants and still say Made in Ireland, because by buying it you are contributing more to the Irish economy because 100% of the money you spend stays in our borders, at least initially. These black taxi drivers arrive with their families and spend their money here, just like the Irish ones.

• Brendan I think your assumption that all non Irish taxi drivers are black is racist. I am sick to the back teeth of being told to feel embarased to be Irish. If Polish or Lithuanian or Nigerian taxi drivers had started puting a light or flag on their cars “Because people from home like a taxi driver who can have the banter with them in their own language and understand their culterail norms” they would be applauded for contributing to diversity.

• @brendan.

So all those western union money transfer places and the like are not for sending money back to foreign countries no. Get a grip. Be Irish, buy Irish, except if it’s the taxi business then it’s racism.

• Firstly we are not “non nationals” as we come from somewhere. Secondly I’ve been living in Dublin for over ten years and every single time I’ve been ripped off has been by an Irish national. These drivers need to quit blaming foreignors for the recession and start a campaign against the idiotic deregulation of the taxi industry and stand in solidarity with their fellow taxi drivers no matter their accidental place of birth.

• Obviously not…. My point was that this is as stated aboveas a pathetic effort at startin a racist argument. There is plenty more stories worth discussion as in people losing their homes, jobs, killings that happen on a daily basis… I have been in a taxi of a chinese driver with one of these lights, wer does that state hes irish? Further more, wer always compliainin as a country we arent up with European standards, wen u go on holidays to spain espcially they ALL have these green lights, which is prob wer the idea has came form… Are they all claiming irish nationality too?? Its a ridiclious story to try put forward making out their “exposing” an underworld of taxi racism, I thou the country had more brains den dis…. Fair play to whoever came up with dese ideas, in todays financial climate I thou we’d be rewarded for using the “business brain” this was clearly an idea from someone who thou well business isnt great, what can I do to try make a living for meself without having to fold my business, and der getn slated for being racist, its a complete joke to think this even has to be discussed….

• These stories of people loosing their jobs, homes etc etc are very relevant. What is also relevant is these same people blaming foreigners for their woes (and the foreigners are having the same problems) when it has nothing to do with foreigners. Unfortunately the racism that comes from the likes of Leo Varadkar and his fellow blueshirts leads to foreigners getting beaten up, discrimination in the workplace, or even killed! So its very relevant to point out racism. I think its also relevant to point out that the source of working people’s problems are local…ie the Irish bankers, developers and speculators that have caused the mess we are in. Its important for us to point our fingers at the homegrown source of our woes instead of blaming foreigners and then stand in solidarity with our fellow workers, no matter where they come from, in numbers and fight these Irish people who are responsible for the crisis!

• does the journal have any responses to these comments???? r did they jst get the satisfaction out of causin their “racist argument”

• Hi Christine, thanks for your comment. The article’s author Sinead O’Carroll has replied to a number of comments, and noted that the use of the lights in Spain was included in the original piece. You should be able to see her responses above.

• typical PLC/VEC journalism by a fresh from school journo to young to remember most dublin taxis in the 80s used to use green lights bought in from spain to signify available for business. its just another attempt to promote business by the vasy majority of hard working taxi drivers out there. lets not forget there are now tens of thousands of licenced drivers in the country now and as with all large groups you will find a racist or a bigot. its just unfortunate that these people tend to wanna constantly voice their views giving the impression all are as bad.
    bad bad hournalism creating a story based on heresay and online boards.

• I take it that those of you who think it is OK to pander to the prejudices of the ignorant by allowing them an option to choose Irish drivers will be happy with the bricklayer add in Perth, Australia, stipulating no Irish need apply.

Careful … I surmise some of you might be of an age where emigration will be the only option in the near future. Let’s hope your hosts are more tolerant.

http://www.gombeennation.blogspot.com/2012/05/irish-taxi-drivers-green-light-for.html

• atchooo! ‘scuse me.

• saw plenty of those signs in London in the 80s NO IRISH NEED APPLY ….. but we drove a Luton bodied van with a FREE THE GUILDFORD 4 & FREE THE BIRMINGHAM 6 stickers on the back of it ,,,,,, always got plenty o room to park,,,,,nothing within 10 yds of us sometimes …haha

• The journal got what they wanted anyway, full on racism argument out of their oh so important topic!!!!!!

• i know a lot of irish people that wouldnt know were coppers is!its hardly a landmark or part of irish culture its just a club who have done a good job in promoting itself as a place to get a so called “irish experience”

• If taxi drivers use the green lights for different reasons then it is pointless to use it or talk about it really.

• Having posed the question Sinead I think you have a duty to answer it yourself. If a green light is a sign that the driver is Irish (and white?) and therefore a blatant signal of racism, or is it exactly what I think it is, a taxi that’s available for hire? Don’t leave that question hanging in the air. You see Sinead, I never heard your angle on it I didn’t think there was a racist aspect to it. Btw, if it is as you suggested in the question, you should award it the “stupidest business idea of the year” award. Most people are not racist and therefore would not support a racist taxi driver if they had a choice.

• Most people racist or not would not have the balls to walk past the first taxi in protest. I did it once. Cos I was pissed off and I just knew I;d meet a racist and I wasnt in the form so I skipped the first taxi and got into the taxi with a black driver I saw. He would take me, said he would get in trouble. I told him I didnt want to go with a racist. he refused to bring me. So I got in the white taxi drivers car. I work in an intercultural centre, I really couldn’t be bothered and low and behold he was racist and I’d to have a big heated debate where I set about challenge all the myths that are out there about migrants, even though I didnt want to be bothered. Irish people won’t boycott racist drivers, even when you try to avoid them you can’t. Anyway Irish society is increasingly racist and this is just another sign that its creeping in

• (and a side note – many of those Polish shops are not owned by the Polish people, they display all those flashy red-and-white-and-eagl-y regalia to denote the type of products being sold, not to mark the nationality of the owner; you’d have to actually know Polish and some other Slavic languages to know the difference)

• Hi Sinead Just spoke to 14 taxi drivers from all nations and they didnt know what I was talking about.

• Go to England with a Dublin reg, car and then you will find out what racism is,

• So, is it a justification to be racist in Ireland just because the English are racists towards Irish? You should have learned from that!

• M J Fox 14/05/12 #

Something tell’s me you’ve never actually done this or you’d know you were talking shit.

• We had a Wicklow reg plate in London and had no problems. No idea what you’re on about. Even so, “we should be as bad as the English” doesn’t tend to be a convincing argument in Ireland.

• Yep Frank clearly you’ve never been to England with Dublin reg car.

We don’t believe you!

• Frank you amaze me just when i think your comments cant get any more ridiculous, and you prove me wrong.
      not only in my experience of spending alot of time driving in England is your comment well off the mark, but you seem to be even confused as to what racism is. Believe it or not. Irish and English people for the most part are the same race…

• If you want to see the face of racism and hypocrisy, I suggest you have a look at irishcentral.com and check out the poster George Dillon. An American no less who is constantly complaining about migrants into ireland. he lives in the US so I have no idea why he even comments at all!—-http://www.irishcentral.com/news/Support-group-started-for-devastated-parents-of-Irish-emigrants–151288735.html?commentspage=1

Check out his comments!!

• No the point is if you have a bad experience with one bad foreign cashier will you cease to use all foreign cashiers then??!!no one is insuating anything i couldnt care less if you are barack obama’s cousin,if you refuse to use a service because of some people’s experience of non-nationals,if you support a campaign to segregate taxi based on nationality then you are a racist!!

• Brian, jst to point out not EVERY taxi has a green light…. I hope u waited around every rank, all day….. otherwise chances are slim of even seeing the light….

• Do u need to have ur comments pre approved here, cant see the one I jst sent….

• I have seen responses but I personally tink certain points wer avoided… I dont tink that this topic should be discussed in a racial manner… I would love her to pick up on my comment of bein in a car of a chinese national….

• with a green light….

• The green lights to signify that the driver is Irish are imported from the UK LOL – they want you to use only Irish drivers but they can’t be bothered to source the light from an Irish company – shame…

• If a product or service (in this case the driver) is being promoted as Irish then it is wrong.

If a campaign like ‘Guaranteed Irish’ is promoting something because it’s Irish then it’s wrong. Period. It is for that reason the government can’t promote or fund campaigns like this under EU rules.

If a campaign wants to say that its products benefit the Irish economy then it should say that without mentioning nationality.

If the taxi signs are racist then ‘Guaranteed Irish’ is too. It doesn’t matter what motivations you impute to it.

Be consistent.

• Gauranteed Irish signs are intended to inform customers that the money they spend on the product will most likely stay in the local economy, provide jobs in Ireland, support services in Ireland, its about economics, not about race.

Green lights in taxi’s are completely different. They are about saying “you don’t want to go with them” its nothing to do with economics, its racist stereotyping. I havent have a problem with a migrant taxi driver, i’m sure at some stage I will. I’ve had problems with “Irish” Taxi Drivers. There is good an bad everywhere but the lights are divisive and meant to assist customers in discriminating against foreign drivers!

• It doesn’t matter how you quibble about it. ‘Guaranteed Irish’ and the taxi lights are intellectually the exact same thing. ‘Guaranteed Irish’ is meant to assist people discriminating against foreign goods.

You say it’s not about race. If they specify ‘Irish’ then what is it about, but race?

The arguments you’ve just used to justify ‘Guaranteed Irish’ could be used by the taxi drivers with the green lights and the arguments you’ve used against racist taxi drivers could be used against ‘Guaranteed Irish’.

I reiterate, they are the exact same thing.

• Cake Con 14/05/12 #

I don’t agree. Buying Irish or whatever the correct terminology is specifically about keeping your money circulating in the Irish economy rather that instantly exported to a foreign parent company, attracting minimal taxes for the state and creating few spin off’s for industry in Ireland. There is no suggestion attached that foreign goods are more risky because they are foreign, that they are of lesser quality or that they are a rip off.

This green light issue and associated issues of very normalised racist attitude amount a significant number of indigenous taxi drivers is a completely seperate issue. Non-Irish taxi drivers are employed in Ireland, they pay taxes in Ireland, they buy their groceries and all other kinds of goods and services in Ireland so there is no need to differentiate between Irish and non-Irish drivers using your logic.

However there is a distinguishment being made by some Irish drivers. This new idea of the light, hot on the back of old ideas about stickers that indicated irish drivers had nothing to do with supporting the Irish economy and everything to do with encouraging racist discrimination by Taxi users.

• My logic doesn’t make a “distinguishment” between Irish and non-Irish taxi drivers. My logic simply says that the ‘Guaranteed Irish’ sign in the supermarket and the green taxi light are the same thing.

You say buying Irish:

“is specifically about keeping your money circulating in the Irish economy rather that [sic] instantly exported to a foreign parent company, attracting minimal taxes for the state and creating few spin off’s [sic] for industry in Ireland.”

That means it’s all about a form of racism. Promoting Irish goods ahead off foreign goods is still racism. You go on to say:

“There is no suggestion attached that foreign goods are more risky because they are foreign, that they are of lesser quality or that they are a rip off.”

Glad to hear it!
      But I’ve never seen that written on a taxi notwithstanding the fact that you’re saying that’s what the green light means. It’s only your interpretation of it.

The green light and ‘Guaranteed Irish’ campaign are exactly the same issue, because they both discriminate against foreign goods and workers. Period.

• Cake Con 14/05/12 #

Tom I see your point but in this instance I think the comparision you make downplays the impact this form of discrimination has on the lived experience of migrant taxi-drivers in Ireland. The aim of gauranteed Irish goods is to protect and sustain the economy and standard of living for all people living in Ireland regardless of race, nationality, ethnicity. I still hold that the gauranteed Irish mark is rooted in a specific beleif around the economy and is one idealogy (that I have no attachment to) about how goods and services should be consumed and traded in Ireland.

When you start to demarcate goods and services based on the ethnicity, nationality or race of the service provider you are entering into completely different territory in terms of what that means for migrants and the kind of “nationalism” that promotes.

I’m still not correcting my grammer or spelling

• I don’t think you do see my point. If you ban one you have to ban the other.

• Cake Con 14/05/12 #

We are at a stalemate I think Tom. I see your arguement but I think your wrong. Because this green light fiaso seems to be about promoting one ethnic group over others. I understand that you are arguing that encouraging the purchase of one set of items over another is discrimination and its is but its not racism. I prefer strong colours to pastels, I actively discriminate against all items of clothing in pastel colours, that’s not racist. It is discriminating but its not racist.

What is racist is to promote one ethnic group over another based on a set of attribuated characteristics that are projected onto certain groups from the outside. To actively seek to exclude or limit participation of ethnic minorities in the work force is racist.

• Encouraging the purchase of items over other items based on nationality is racism. And the European Union agrees with me on this. In fact the Irish government can’t get involved in the ‘Guaranteed Irish’ campaign because of these EU rules.

With regard to your comparison with preferences, a taxi with a green light won’t make any more money than any other taxi because some people won’t get into his taxi when they see it. If the idiot wants to put the light on his roof let him. It actually should be his free choice but in the end it doesn’t make any difference.

Do you honestly think the ‘buy Irish’ campaigns work? They probably don’t. But it should be their free choice to run it.

Add New Comment