TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Monday 20 May, 2013

Filmmaker defends Kony 2012 campaign as video reaches over 56m hits

Critics have suggested an ulterior motive for Jason Russell’s campaign to bring alleged war criminal Joseph Kony to justice through a viral video campaign.

Jason Russell, the filmmaker behind the Kony 2012 campaign, on American television earlier today.
Image: Screengrab via MSNBC.com

THE FILMMAKER BEHIND the viral video which urges people to make the alleged Ugandan war criminal Joseph Kony ‘famous’ in order to bring him to the International Criminal Court has defended his production.

Jason Russell, who set up the Invisible Children campaign, told NBC television in the US that his social movement was not a case of ‘slacktivism’ and defended it in the face of considerable criticism from those who have followed the crisis in the west African country for decades.

“We are taking it to the streets,” he said. “They are organising in every city around the world. This is not an American movement. It’s everywhere. Literally South Korea is saying, we’re ready.”

His 30-minute long ‘Kony 2012’ video has now had over 56 million hits on YouTube in less than week with celebrities and ordinary people spreading it on Facebook and Twitter. The video urges a worldwide day of action to make Kony ‘famous’ on 20 April:

But critics say the video glosses over the complicated history of Uganda and Kony, who is alleged to have recruited tens of thousands of child soldiers over two decades – actions which spurred Russell to start his campaign.

“There is no historical context. It’s more like a fashion thing,” said Timothy Kalyegira, a well-known social critic in Uganda who once published a newsletter called The Uganda Record.

Ogenga Latigo, a politician from northern Uganda who previously led the opposition in Uganda’s Parliament, said Invisible Children’s perspective was narrow-minded: ”Theirs is a narrow perspective. They just want the war to end so that children can go back home. That’s all.”

Declining influence

Kony’s Lord’s Resistance Army began its attacks in Uganda in the 1980 but it has since left the country and moved on to the Congo, the Central African Republic and South Sudan. The group reportedly takes young women into sexual slavery and forces children to become soldiers.

Its influence appears to have waned in recent years but Russell told NBC’s Today Show that this didn’t mean his campaign wasn’t important as it was put to him that Kony had as few as 200 followers today.

“So 200 fighters, 200 abducted children. If that happened in San Diego, California, in New York City – 200 children abducted and forced to kill their parents. If that happened here, in my home it would be all over the news. It’s taken 26 years for this to hit the news,” he claimed.

Invisible Children has earned praise from US president Barack Obama, who last year sent a small task force to the region to aid in the search for Kony.

White House spokesperson Jay Carney told the press yesterday that the president “congratulates” the Americans who responded to this “unique crisis of conscience,” the Washington Post reports.

However, the critics remain. Nicholas Sengoba, a political analyst, said there was something “sinister” about Invisible Children’s campaign.

“The issue has been around for ages. We have to ask ourselves why suddenly there is this uproar. I believe that these people have other motives that they are not putting out in the open,” he said.

- additional reporting from AP

Online campaign aims to make accused war criminal Joseph Kony ‘famous’

Read next:

Comments (75 Comments)

• Complex issues require simplification to appeal to the masses. As an awareness generating campaign, it has been an undeniable success. If anything, it has jerked many people out of their insular celebrity obsessed world and for a moment, has focused that attention towards something more real.

• Over simplifying a very complex issue, ignoring hugely important political factors and basing a campaign on facts and footage shoot over 6 years ago is completely misleading and dangerous. Fair enough, it’s brought Kony’s name in to the Public eye but after all the criticism this charity and its campaign has received, would it be too much to ask that people actually do a bit of research on the subject rather than jumping on the Kony2012 bandwagon? Defending this campaign after being made aware of all it’s failings just because “it’s something” is downright lazy.

• mr x 09/03/12 #

this organisation spends two thirds of its income from donations on producing films, conferences, administration, wages etc. they are not much better than the head of rehab in my book.
    kony is undeniably a monster but the youtube film is a work of propaganda and half truths to increase the donations.
    scratch beneath the surface of this campaign and a lot of questions about the charity emerge.
    charity is now a big business with plenty of people willing to take advantage of the goodwill of others

• is it not better for a proportion of the money given goes to stopping this guy than no money at all? No saying I agree with so much being put into films and such just trying to think of it as a glass half full.

• The proportion of the money isn’t actually that far off what your average high profile aid agency spends.. Some of the more high profile ones we would be familiar with spend almost 90% on admin and costs and 10-15% on the cause itself.. So that’s not even a criticism I’d levy against them..

It’s the fact that this is almost a non issue at this point that is worrying, those who have escaped Konys grasp are leading in his takedown, he evades capture because a corrupt leader tips him off when he is to be raided, a corrupt leader spending foreign aid lavishly on himself and his military but refusing to pledge any money to help the children with Nodding disease or allowing the Acholi people who’s children were affected by this outbreaks land to be sold out from under them..

There’s a far larger problem than Kony.. And it’s to do with our assumption that throwing money at the problem rather than actually supporting developing nations solves anything..

• Shanti – I see figures being thrown around quite a bit around this. Can you back up your claims with the names of high profile charities that spend such large amounts on administration?

Just to note – I’m not trying to build a defence for Invisible Children, I’m quite against them and their Kony2012 campaign. I believe there are many more charities worthy of donation who understand the complex issues faced by Uganda. Attempting to wage a keyboard induced, ego lead war against one man who hasn’t been in the country since 2006 is completely wrong.

• Unfortunately Peter the Journal comments policy won’t allow me to name names.. Hence why I didnt to start with.. I’m basing this on conversations I’ve had (I was complaining about the small fraction a certain company spends to the boyfriends father over Xmas and he informed me that they still got the job done – unlike some others who he had to stop funding for because their follow through was appalling), anyone I know who has gone out to developing nations to provide aid has come back with a very cynical view of charities, and that’s not a great indicator..

Sadly we don’t appear to have a BBB or equivalent over here, we certainly could do with one, it’s sick that anyone would use our better nature to manipulate us into lining their CEOs pockets (and that’s not specific to any one charity, just the ones who are less honourable)

• From a quick look at some figures the other night it looked as though $1.2 million was given to 3 employees as salary for this aid agency. Something like $1 million in travel expenses (business class all the way).

If those figures are true then how on earth can anyone support this agency and not support the rehab ceo with her €256,000 tiny salary.

• “A revolution without guns? It would never work.” Then again maybe the IPhone/Facebook generation can do something new. Whether or not the organisation is a bit shady I had never heard of Kony until now. If you don’t want to send the organisation money then don’t, just take part in the event for free!

• And just how do you think Kony will be brought to justice then? Do you think making this guy a cult icon will lead to him just handing himself in?

• Ha ha hardly a cult icon now Peter, I can’t see too many people getting a Joseph Kony tattoo! It couldn’t be more simple Peter, they want to make him famous across the world so as to keep pressure on the policy makers who have put troops on the ground to help hunt Kony. It is to show these policymakers that it is important not to withdraw forces from the area. Would you say that programmes like crime line are using the wrong tactics when they ask ” have you seen this man?”

• Cult icon was the wrong definition to use but using a sleek and glossy campaign to make it seem that capturing Kony will solve Uganda’s problems while giving the impression that the country is helpless without external intervention is completely wrong.

• With respect Peter I personally didn’t get any of that from the film. To me it just seemed that he wanted to get the guy caught and punished by the ICC for all his crimes, no it wouldn’t solve any any problems but it would do the WORLD good to see that pieces of crap like Kony are brought to justice. As i said earlier, anybody who doesnt want to give money can just send the video to a few friends etc. As an Irish person I know it wouldn’t help Ireland to have bank managers and politicians arrested and brought to trial, but it would do me some good!

• You’ve highlighted one of the main problems of this campaign – just how exactly do you think the capture of Kony would play out? The film makes you believe by getting his name out then all of a sudden he’ll be caught. He’s evaded capture for 20+ years, he surrounds himself with child soldiers (the people we’re all trying to save), there has already been one failed US supported assault in 2009 (Operation Lightning Thunder) which resulted in a revenge attack which killed over 1000 innocent civilians and the most important of all – he’s not even in Uganda anymore and hasn’t been since 2006!

• Peter I get that there is more to this problem than Kony, i get that the organisation seems a bit shady hence why i have been repeatedly saying “if you dont want to donate then dont” I don’t think it matters that Kony is not in Uganda, the fact remains that we are talking about this situation rather than talking about a new iPad!

• The guy is trying to help!
    We should at least tell the critics to find another cause!!

• That Kony movie is the most deliberately manipulative piece of propaganda out there, that guy basically uses his own kid to tug at people’s heart strings..

Kony himself is a disgusting piece of work, no one could deny that, but the way this campaign has been effectively “branded” is disgusting. And there is reason to believe that this campaign – although well meaning – is severely misguided. Also worth noting is that criticism about the campaign is being censored on Facebook. Certain blogs raising questions about the whole thing can no longer be posted..

The situation in Uganda, indeed the entire African continent is far more complex than this video hints at, just because something claims to have honourable aims doesn’t mean that the execution is all that honourable.. In their clamour to bring attention to this symptom of which there is a far larger cause, they seemed to miss the strange disease affecting the Acholi children who all contracted a disease that baffles scientists while in the camps there http://in.mobile.reuters.com/article/idINDEE82604Z20120307?irpc=932

They also didn’t hint at the government help Kony has had in evading those who seek him..

• You may be right mart_n. But what are you doing to fix the worlds problems? Go on, inspire us :-)

• terry 10/03/12 #

I wonder when Jason last left the spa treatment table. This is a con he is deceiving our children contact a celebrity quickly and let’s organise a Jason 2012 campaign.
    As has been said above aid to Uganda should be used as a tool to exert influence and if no influence is forth coming stop the aid.

• Anything to get that butcher brought to justice!

• Really? Including military intervention? The guy has kids as foot soldiers, so what, go in there guns blazing and kill all those poor kids that buying a T shirt or bracelet from Invisible Children, or clicking Share or Retweet is supposed to save?

There’s bringing awareness to a situation and then there’s stampeding into a foreign culture and making a bigger mess than you initially found. The guy has pretty much been defeated, the problem is way bigger than Joseph Kony, why attack a symptom when the cause is so obvious? Their “President” is as corrupt as they come, he’s been giving Kony the heads up so he doesn’t get caught!

It’s one thing to follow a cause, but to just follow blindly when it could do as much damage as the thing you are rallying against is just a waste of good intention and positive energy.. There is an assumption that if it’s doing something then it must be good, and in an ideal world it would be true, but sadly this isn’t an ideal world, it’s the real world. You have to do some research into your causes, or get suckered into supporting the wrong thing.. The people on the ground in Uganda do not want Invisible Children’s brand of help, or Americas sudden interest in their resources, I mean situation..
      https://www.facebook.com/notes/kristen-melelani-walker/directly-emailed-from-my-professor-dr-adam-branch-in-kampala-uganda-march-8-2012/10150569690241991?refid=52

http://www.popbitch.com/home/2012/03/08/kony-2012/

• Enemy child soldiers are still soldiers. Government’s just cannot sit back and give them free reign to butcher at will (or at the will of their masters). They’re a real security threat, and they cannot be ignored. Yes, killing them to capture their leaders would mean killing children, however allowing them to continue living, breathing and killing would mean that the mound of dead would continue to grow. And more children would be abducted.

There are some times when you just have to do something fundamentally distasteful, to avoid doing something even more distasteful at a later date.

• Absolutely brilliant and thought provoking words Shanti. I agree totally with you. Kony is a despicable individual. But as you rightly speak about the fact that he is not as powerful as he once was. The people behind this campaign are too late. They should have done this a few years ago.

• But he’s nearly been defeated as it is, many of the people fighting against him are the kids who escaped.. They know a tad more about how to handle the situation than the west steam rolling in there with military force. Perhaps what the west SHOULD be doing is paying more attention to where their “aid” goes, and what it is used for, deal with the corruption in government and ensure follow through of aid so that it gets to those who need it rather than how it’s used at present. This would be a far more effective way to deal with the problem. And that’s not unique to the US by the way, many aid organisations do not do sufficient follow through and instead hand the money over with no concern for where it ends up.

• Shanti is always brilliant Leslie. ;) Saw this the other night and 2 days later my 13 and14yo daughters was asking me to use my MasterCard to buy the pack. Had reservations and actually came on to this site to see what Shanti had posted.

The campaign is good insofar as it draws attention to this issue. I was glad that it took my daughters’ attention away from whether the latest teenage spot was going to ruin their lives.

Kony is one of many though, and that should be remembered. There is no doubt that Europe along with America has a debt to pay to Africa. But military intervention or just focussing on one person isn’t the solution. I don’t want my kids’ newfound political interest in something other than spots, make-up or fashion to end once this guy is brought to justice.

• Yeah that organisation is a bit dodgy http://thedailywh.at/2012/03/07/on-kony-2012-2/ have a look at this article

• The fact remains that in order to recruit support in today’s world, it ‘needs’ to be packaged up as ‘fashionable’ – otherwise no one gives a crap and that is the god honest truth about our so called conscience. It IS self serving but that’s nothing new! We shouldn’t need something sensationalist to educate ourselves about something we should have had better knowledge of and acted on years ago. But if that’s what it takes then its a whole lot better than doing nothing!

• If this is how the world’s problems get fixed from now on, we’re fcuked.

• No! this is people coming together for a cause. This is how we should fix problems in the future, because the people in charge don’t care about you, me or anybody else.

• mart_n 09/03/12 #

So we should revert to type? That’s how things worked before we decided to give democratically elected representatives a proportionate amount of control. The world may have its flaws, but it’s not worth undoing thousands of years of progress and public inclusion in order to take a step forwards?

• Revert to type!? No! This is progress, this is a brand new world .

• mart_n 09/03/12 #

It isn’t progress. It’s just another abuse of memetic interest via the internet. It’s supported by a tiny minority of internet users; in a world where a tiny minority of people have access to the internet.

• what do you propose then mart_n?

• mart_n 10/03/12 #

I don’t propose anything tbh. I have an opinion on what is happening and only want for it to be taken into account.. not acted upon because of ‘popular’ demand.

• Spot on.
      Invisible Children are idiots who are advocating US military intervention in Uganda against a spent force of no more than 200 people. Their information is years out of date. Bothering your TD in relation to embargoes will have a much greater effect than updating your facebook status.

When did human rights become a fashion trend?

• Here comes the rich white cavalry with their iphones, facebook, twitter and sense of righteousness. “Hey, ma, I cant even point out Uganda on a map, but I am saving the world!”

Why don’t they organise to have Obama arrested and sent to the Hague? Instead they’re trying to get him on board with their campaign! Kony is obviously a bastard but this campaign is a money scam.

White guilt in all its glory.

Shower of geebags.

• Where would we be without the cynical crew keeping the righteous in line.
      Maybe just maybe 1 person in a 100 million people might just say I can sort that out, even if it’s Museveni.

• Ulterior motives! What? Bottom line KONY needs to be stopped, and justice needs to be given to those children.

• “thousands of years of progress and public inclusion” Mart_n! Jaysus, go pick up a beginners guide to elementary world history. Oh and just out of curiosity, when will you be out collecting for African charities, lobbying your TD for more aid or actually going to somewhere on the African continent and helping out yourself. Or would that also be regressive?

• Lobbying for more aid is only beneficial if you can guarantee that aid is getting where it needs to go.. Sadly a lot of it doesn’t.
      Foreign aid has been propping up corrupt dictators in Africa for years. Far from solving the problems of the African continent our interference has kept a cycle of poverty going. It’s time we actually focused on the quality of aid rather than just the amount of it we give.
      “Give a man a fish and he’ll eat for a day, teach him how to fish and he’ll eat forever”

• mart_n 10/03/12 #

Nice of you to assume that I do nothing for charity.. based only on my opinion in this particular matter. It says more about you; and your idea of what it actually means to be charitable; than it does about me.

• Just looking at what Uganda has for military equipment- Migs from Russia, heavy attack helicopters from Russia. Sukhol Su- 30MK2 ( multi role fighter) from Russia – delivered from Russia for $740 million.
    There are other aircraft mentioned from Italy, USA, Czech republic and Poland.
    The list goes on and on.

• “celebrities and ordinary peole”? Considering the nature of this campaign, that’s quite the statement.

• Ye Mart_n, you’re right, the internet is completely useless, sure there’s only around 750,000,000 FB users and millions more non-FB users, why would you bother using it to spread a message? Bring back the carrier pigeon I say!

• Such boring f**ucking comments from most people , if anything the video shows what’s happening in Africa to all the people out there who might try and turn a blind eye . He’s using the internet to his advantage to try and raise awareness , big deal .
    I reckon people are only negative against him coz they didn’t think of it first . Like what’s the worst that could happen in fairness ? Kony doesn’t get captured , but at least people know what’s happening .
    Fair play to him , even though the video maybe melodramatic , so what ?!, it thought me a thing or two about what we take for granted in our own country .

• for one child to die at the hands of an adult is wrong, for hundreds of children to die at the hands of other children who are scared to do otherwise because of the threat against them is also wrong, for information on these catastrophes to be given a voice on the internet is entirely appropriate, if you ever get the chance to talk to former child soldiers and listen to their stories then you will realise that any attempt to inform is a good thing….

• RDX862 10/03/12 #

When they brought the $750 million worth of fighter jets from the Russians it was rumored this was going to paid with oil money. The oil they discovered was near the DR Congo border and a few years ago a geologist from an oil company was killed by a Congolese soldier. If the oil companies are going to invest billions of dollars they are going to expect the country to be able to defend their territory. The US has been involved in trying to capture Kony since 2003 a few years before any oil was discovered.

• These critics are just sore because their efforts to raise awareness evidently failed. This is a new approach, and one that will capture the interest of younger people, who don’t have much time for politics.

• Jesus Christ shanti! The west is not steamrolling in with their military! Btw these conflicts rely on cheap weapons- AK – 47′s and guess where they come from? Mother effing Russia which is not in the west!

• You do realise their president just spent $750million on a fighter jet yeah? And that Uganda has a pretty healthy military, 40,000 strong compared to Konys 200-300.. And that the government recieves a heck of a lot of aid from the West which rarely trickles down to those who need it, indeed when those trying to help the Acholi children suffering Nodding disease to get government funding they were told to source it from the paltry amount pledged to the malaria campaign..
      There’s a far bigger problem than Kony.. And it’s to do with our misguided notions of what charity is all about..

• Dec Rowe 10/03/12 #

Can we start a similar movement against the greedy capitalistic bankers around the world?

• why does every article not associated with bankers have comments about bankers on it!?
      if you have nothing relevant to say about the topic then stop typing.

• Dec Rowe 10/03/12 #

Maybe because so many gobshites are so willing to accept what this ivisiblr children movement are telling them without seeking Verification! If people were to see the results of capitalism on the poor around the world portrayed in a glitzy video like theirs would they all be looking for the heads of the bankers responsible? This Kony guy deserves to be hung for his crimes but what I can’t understand is how the whole world will stand up against him now when he is in decline and not when he was at his worst and why they won’t stand up together for other just causes?!? I’m baffled by this… Nobody seems to care that the invisible children that they want to save are the ones who will be killed if an army is sent to Uganda!y opinion is that this is all capitalistically motivated, ivisible children create the awareness, make a tonne of dollars, world leaders wait until they have public support to kill children, in they go, blow the shite out of everything and everyone, put in a new regime, control their national resources!

• I understand where you’re coming from. however, its not just poverty is it? he’s mutilated childrens faces.. it’s an entirely different kettle of fish.

• Shanti are you a part of konys defense team?

• 30 min video? Seriously! 30 seconds bored!

• Prior to 2000, the United States armed forces trained together with the UPDF as part of the African Crisis Response Initiative. This cooperation was terminated in 2000 as a result of Uganda’s incursion into the Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC). Following the June 2003 UPDF withdrawal of troops from the DRC, limited nonlethal military assistance has restarted. The UPDF participates in the African Contingency Operations Training and Assistance programme with the United States.

Add New Comment