TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 19 °C Wednesday 19 June, 2013

Four in ten see ‘no future for themselves’ in Ireland – survey

More than half of households are now struggling to pay basic bills, according to new figures from the Irish League of Credit Unions.

Image: fakelvis via Flickr

FOUR IN TEN people in Ireland do not see a future for themselves in this country, according to a new survey from the Irish League of Credit Unions.

The survey paints a picture of families facing increasing difficulty in meeting basic household costs. Fifty-five per cent of respondents said it was a stretch to pay bills as they came due. Last September, the proportion was just 42 per cent.

Some 70 per cent of Irish people feel their disposable income – the amount they have left each month after paying for essentials – has fallen since last year.

And one-third of people said they would be better off on the dole if there is any reduction in the minimum wage.

Four in ten people say they may be forced to give up their health insurance due to financial pressures. Nine per cent told the ILCU they would likely stop paying for their insurance this year regardless, while 31 per cent said they would be forced to cut back if insurance costs rise further.

There is a widespread belief that 2012 will be an even more difficult year than 2011, with 83 per cent agreeing with this sentiment. Six per cent of people said they believe they will not be able to cope at all, and do not know what to do.

Kieron Brennan, chief executive of the ILCU, said: “As expected, fuel and energy price increases have had a significant impact on the spending ability of the Irish population.

“The increasing costs of private health insurance is a big concern for many families and our results show that a number of people will have to give it up this year because they can no longer afford it.”

The survey was carried out across 1,000 adults in the post-Budget period in December 2011.

More: One million people live on €70 or less a month after the bills are paid: survey>

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (24 Comments)

• Half my family already gone. Families all over Ireland are being broken emotionally.Bleak times indeed. And those who remain have to endure the tax mantra. Bleed us dry to save the euro.

• Very worrying time’s ahead.This government would want to get it’s head outta sand, get off their arse from the christmas break choose to either default or to stuff the fat cat bond holder’s we will never pay of these bill’s of 100′s of billion’s from a workforce of around 1.8million.It seem’s to be a 30 year cycle in this country of boom and bust so that mean’s this is a failed state too many time’s just rip up the constitution and rewrite one that works for the people of Ireland not the banker’s/judge’s/politician’s.

• I am Working, But I am thinking Canada next year, Too depressing to stay here.

• Why does everyone want to leave? Why not stay here and demand the country we deserve?

• Not everyone wants to leave. I’m not affected so I’m not leaving.

• I’d love to head to Canada but my husband doesn’t want to take the risk and leave now that our family is growing. I suppose his job is as safe as they can be for the foreseeable future though so there’s a small bit of security. I wonder how much worse this situation will get before it gets better and how much longer we all have to wade it out??? Very hard when the government are taking such good care of themselves and taking so much off it’s citizens….. Did we vote in the wrong government or would we be in the same situation with any of them? They’re all glorified thieves as it is

• Aydo 09/01/12 #

Too hard to get work here
      That’s the problem
      People aren’t doing it cause they want to most of the time
      They have no choice

• Ah yeah,I know that Aydo,my comment probably came across wrong. We are in a very good position in comparison to most but I still want better education and more security for my family and Canada appeals to me for those reasons. I’m not the best at getting my point across :P

• I didn’t leave the last time …. I will not leave now . altho if I was younger I think I would run and get out . . .

• Thats the problem we talked up the country for years, didn’t fix the problems and now it’s talk down the country and don’t fight the eurocrats to let us build up again

• I did not want to leave but I was forced out. Financially bent over a barrel.sick to death of paying some one else’s tab. I am now travelling around the world with my nurse girlfriend for A few months and will settle in new Zealand or Canada when we are done.

• kyp154 09/01/12 #

Let’s face it lads the place is a sinking ship. Wouldn’t be surprised to see 40% of the population relocate to greener pastures, I don’t blame FF or FG or any of them individually, I blame them all collectively, other countries have been able to pull themselves out of trouble and some governments have rallied together, some governments were entirely replaced, and all we’re stuck with is the same shower of wasters…exactly the same as the last lot… All hail the new boss, same as the old boss… Sorry for being so pessimistic on a Monday morning!!

• Tough times don’t last tough people do…

• If you’re broke and in debt and the government, who are supposed to have our best interest at heart are thinking of new ways to get cash out of you earlier eg house tax, motor tax hike, water rates and this new septic tank check etc being tough isn’t much good.

• We have to remind TDs that they didn’t win a popularity contest. That they are representatives.

• Good man Andrew. We will pull through this. It will take time but maybe it’s for the best. A lot of people lost the run of themselves during the good times and it couldn’t last.

• Andrew
      I must say for once I agree with your comment . :)

• Why do I get the feeling that Family Guy and Eileen were born in the early 60′s? People like myself we basically got caught at a bad time when all property was very expensive. When we did take the leap we build a very modest house in the country, of course having the gift of hindsight we would have waited. I am now unemployed with no chance at getting a job any time soon and bills have to be paid along with all the new extras the government have come up with. How can I do it? Basically I cant! I have to agree with Family Guy to a point when he says people went a little mad, but a lot didnt! I just had a quick look at Andrews profile on Facebook and unlike me him being a Biochemist (fair dues by the way ) can get him into any country in the world and times may get a little tough for him but it wont bring him to his knees in tears like the majority of people I know.

• Will Hourihan
      I was born in the 1960’s and in 1984 I got married and the interest on our mortgage was 15.75% … I would have left then but my husband did not want to leave. Now after a divorce and buying a house for me and my kids thankfully I am near the end of my mortgage …. and altho we had all the benefits of the Celtic Tiger ,I never saw the benefit re holidays, foreign travel etc . I am not complaining and I am glad i am where I am……

• Red Ed 09/01/12 #

We seem to give more rights and benefits to the criminals in this country. I am reasonably comfortable in my job but still preparing to jump from the sinking ship. The government need to step up and do something. I’m sick of having no money to go to the cinema, etc yet everytime I drive home from work through my local town I meet scores of people on the dole drinking and having the craic day and night, living in nice houses and driving better cars. I report at least one of them a week in writing and on the phone but never seen anything done. Anyway that’s my rant, what were we talking about?

• ”Four in ten see ‘no future for themselves’ in Ireland – survey”

Well a least its better than our politicians

Ten out of Ten of them seem to see no future for us!!!!

• Terrible as it is we’re very lucky to have the option of emigration. Not all countries do.

• Only 4 in 10? They figure seems very low to me. Be interesting what kind of demographic they asked. If there was a lot of people over 40/50 maybe. If it was mostly people in their 20′s its definitely wrong.

• The parasite (the nanny state) has almost killed its host.

Add New Comment