TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Sunday 19 May, 2013

One week on, Gardaí appeal for information on Adrian Donohoe murder

Gardaí are focusing on trying to trace a car found burnt out on Sunday afternoon.

A Garda at the State funeral of Detective Garda Adrian Donohoe in Dundalk on Wednesday
Image: Julien Behal/PA Wire

ONE WEEK AFTER the shooting dead of Detective Garda Adrian Donohoe, Gardaí have renewed their appeal for information in a bid to find the people who killed him.

Gardaí are focusing on trying to trace a car found burnt out on Sunday afternoon which may have been involved in the shooting and robbery at Lordship Credit Union in Jenkinstown Co Louth seven days ago.

The navy Volkswagen Passat was stolen during the course of a burglary at Clogherhead in Louth some time between 11.30pm and 4.30am on the night of 22 January going into the early morning of 23 January – three nights before the fatal shooting of Detective Garda Donohoe.

The car was stolen on the night of a large funeral in Clogherhead which Gardaí believe may help to jog the memories of people living in the area about that night.

Gardaí have also appealed for anyone who noticed any suspicious behaviour around the Lordship Credit Union between 7.30pm and 9.30pm on Friday 25 January – or in the days preceding it – to come forward.

Anyone with any information is asked to contact the incident room at Dundalk Garda station on 042 9388400, the Garda Confidential Line on 1800 666 111, or any Garda station.

Thousands of people, including an estimated 2,500 off-duty members of An Garda Síochána, attended the funeral of Detective Garda Donohoe on Wednesday.

Read: “If you have any semblance of good in you, for God’s sake, turn these people in” >

Read: “We are devastated” – friends, family and colleagues remember Adrian Donohoe >

Read: Priest calls for ‘reflection on need for further policing’ at Garda funeral >

Read next:

Comments (33 Comments)

• Best of luck and every successes to the Gardai investigators anyone who knows anything call them and let them know now. His wife kids parents siblings and Gardai themselves need this to be progressed to justice. Rip Adrian

• It’s believed the car was driven by a 16 year old girl, what is this country coming to?

• Well if that is true, can you imagine the amount of pressure that girl will be under at the moment?

• Can’t be tried as an adult, law needs to be brought in where parents can be convicted for their kids actions.

• I think that. 16 year can be tried as an adult for this a person died as a result of her part in the robbery

• mart_n 01/02/13 #

Enough to make her want to turn herself in, hopefully. I feel that if I was in that position I’d take my chances with the Gardai rather than live the rest of my life wondering if someone might silence me for good.

It would also be relatively simple for someone like her to live under a witness protection program, as opposed to a lifelong hardened and set-in-their-ways criminal.

• Bernadette, if it’s true, and a 16 year-old girl was the driver, think of it like this: She may have been coerced into driving the car, she may not have known a deranged animal in the car was prepared to shoot a guard, she may now be scared out of her wits to approach the guards, and she probably wants to… That’s all I’m saying, but I suppose at this we’re just guessing..

• I totally agree if she is 16 I hope you are right in so much as she may have been forced to drive and she may be terrified but she also has a life of fear but all I said was that at sixteen that she could be tried as an adult because of the severity of the crime…….

• Very likely the IRA will shoot these guys. Great excuse for them to get rid of competition.

• Living in fear my hole and forced to do it my hole! U can bet ur ass they all knew exactly what they were doing and are probably laughing at us all right now! Remember it was an ambush that was planned! They blocked the entrance so the guards couldn’t get out and shot Adrian as soon as he got out of the car, they shot him from the wall they were hiding behind. They planned to shoot that guard for their money, thought they were big. Unlike us they couldn’t give a phuck if he was a father, son, brother or a husband, means nothing to them. God if i got my hands on them.

• Come on get these 5 low lifes so we can hang em.

• Wanted Dead or Alive!

• Hope they round them up and throw the book at them . A week has passed no arrests. Good luck to the Gardai and hope that their intelligence , informants and wider circle of contacts help get these thugs .

• the age does not shock me. unusual that its a female driver but many many people under the age of 18 are involved in serious crime.

• Imagine dying protecting cash and central bank will burn (literally) 3.6 billion euro. What a waste, don’t worry Alan shatter has your back kind of……

• Agree totally,how mad is this situation!!week after that horrific cold blooded murder there was tiger style robbery on a post office in oldcastle today,and to top it off they are closing so many Garda stations!!!!wtf Alan shatter? How can u justify this,absolutely crazy,I actually fear for my little ones growing up here,wasn’t for my wife I’d be gone,she has more faith than I have. And Alan shatter telling the media the moral is high in the guards at the moment,is he really that thick or does he think the public are that thick, ask any guard and they will tell u the one thing that’s not high is moral,country is a JOKE

• Closing one man stations which were open for three hours a day with a guard sitting behind a desk signing forms. Yeah, they really made a huge difference…

• Kedgeo 01/02/13 #

Whatever tell that to the people who depend on them

• Ah joe, I see you’re on the troll trail again.

• Got anything constructive to contribute Jim, or is it just more simpleton comments about “trolling”?

We have enough guards in this country for our population size. We should have more far more civilians employed in stations doing administrative work, so garda time can be freed up. That is the case in the UK.

• Kedgeo 01/02/13 #

Joe this is not the uk,u obviously haven’t a clue what ur talking about,just looking for something to say,read the papers dude,may learn something

• Kedgeo – do you have an actual point to make, or are you just going to keep mumbling complete nonsense ?

• mart_n 01/02/13 #

It’s called community policing, Joe. There are literally thousands of peer-reviewed studies which show it works very well. When people feel unsafe or abandoned in their communities, crime levels tend to mirror that.

• Kedgeo 01/02/13 #

Sorry dude,I thought I made my point

• No point telling you anything constructive joe, you already seem to know it all.

• Joe, in fairness you know very little on policing. that garda station open for 3 hours a day as you put it where is the guard for the next 8 hours?? yep thats right on patrol of the area. Does it always stop crime?? hell no, cant be everywhere at once but sure take a town with garda station of 50, crime still happens there even on a higher scale.

The issue as i see it, a call come into ballygobackwards garda station suspicious van in area males walking around houses. Bally go backwards garda goes out and intercepts. maybe these lads did not break in to a place and had planned to, not recorded crime but its crime prevented and vital information of moments of criminals.

now bally go backwards is closed so call is routed to main station lets call that Bigtown :) so guards in big town have one patrol car out ( as teats all they have) that car is tied up with maybe road traffic accident, sudden death, drunk driver, break in to house in own area, taking statements from victims of crime so on so on. They don’t have the time immediately to get out to ballygobackwards so call is delayed till they get free. Thats maybe an hour or more so in that space of time. fred and pat who are driving that suspicious van have time to case area select house and get that lovely laptop and tv they were looking for.

Thats one example of many i could think of. One more quick one as im being soooooooo genourous today. Do you own a gun Joe?? because if you do you will know exactly how much red tape there is in one and how much time each gun will take a garda between inspecting storage and verifying all details. So now picture ballygobackwards has huge farming community. Maybe 500 people who have guns and of that 500 lets say 200 have more then one gun and 50 have several guns each weapon taking huge amounts of processing time. you now move that into a main station which just ties up more then one guard for months and months to get through them.

so when you know nothing about policing try not to show ignorance :) i mean its alright not to know everything sure who does but its generally accepted to know what you talk about before you make public statements which show how …. well how silly one is.

night joe……

• that should be vital information on the movements of criminals but you get what i mean

• what do ua think that garde did for the other 7 hours of how day? you don’t think he might have being out in the local community do ya. perish the thought.

• bloody autocorrect.

• no reply joe?……

fair enough….

• Photo caption should read Wednesday.

• ptriley 02/02/13 #

If there is a 16 year old girl involved they must be absolute amateurs

Add New Comment