TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 8 °C Wednesday 22 May, 2013

Priest calls for ‘reflection on need for further policing’ at Garda funeral

In a powerful sermon, Fr Michael Cusack addressed cuts to frontline services and called on anyone with information about Detective Donohoe’s death to come forward.

30/1/2013. Funeral of Murdered Garda. Members of t

Image: Eamonn Farrell/Photocall Ireland

“WHO NEEDS A more perfect image of evil than what has brought us here today…the callous mowing down of an innocent human being,” Fr Michael Cusack asked during the funeral mass for murdered garda Detective Adrian Donohoe in Louth this afternoon.

“We’ve seen it in so many walks of life…evil creeping in, slow acceptance, gentle movement, until there is contamination all round,” he continued in a powerful and politically-charged sermon, which called for reflection on the need for further policing across the country.

The priest said society needs to recognise what evil can do when it is “allowed to flourish in a community”.

He also cited recent assaults on two elderly men in the rural Galway parish where his parents live “with no police security”. “Is that the way we need to treat our brothers and sisters in our care?” he asked.

Raising the issues of drug gangs and paramilitary activity in border areas, Fr Cusack said policing the community can be a “thankless task” that involves “incredible prices”.

“Sometimes I think evil becomes clearly personified, almost Satanic. The idea that there can be people in our society that can destroy the lives of so many young people through the trading of drugs, the idea that sin itself can be imprisoned but still manage run drug baron circles and markets around our country. It is like Satan laughing at us.”

He also urged anyone with information about the murder of Detective Donohoe to come forward.

“We see [evil] where people, like on last Friday night, callously mow down human life. We see it where people collude with it – where they refuse to give information which will lead to peace, resolution and closure.

“I have absolutely no doubt that there are people who today know who has caused this dreadful sorry in the lives of so many,” he continued. “If there is anyone who knows anything about that, if you have any semblance of goodness in you, for God’s sake, turn these people in.

If not, you are allowing Satan to ruin the lives of more and more people.

Remembering the deceased, the priest said: “The members of the Garda Síochána here in Dundalk have clearly been robbed of a wonderful, wonderful brother. Caroline, you have lost an amazing husband and father to your children.

“There are no words that we can offer to you that can bring him back but I do believe the support you are getting from the community will bring you some level of comfort. But this should never have happened.”

30/01/2013. Funeral of Garda Adrian Donohoe. Membe

Image: Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland

Addressing the victim’s family – his wife Caroline, seven-year-old daughter Amy and six-year-old son Niall – the celebrant told them their memories “are so deeply treasured”.

“What Adrian meant to you can never be adequately be put into words…

“The whole country is gutted by what has happened. I don’t know how to best express that grief and solidarity, apart from wanting to pray for you.”

Turning to the thousands of Gardaí inside and outside the church, Fr Cusack called the detective “a man of virtue” who “lay down his life for this community”.

“It is the only profession where we ask people to dance a dance with Satan…to come face to face with evil,” he continued. “To play games with people of evil intent, people who are prepared to entrap, people who withhold information, people who prolong suffering, people who are not capable of being called human beings because of the way they have treated their fellow brothers and sisters.”

To conclude, Fr Cusack paid tribute to Caroline Donohoe for her strength and power in recent days.

“As we bid farewell to Adrian today, we acknowledge a wonderful man, a superb father, a devoted husband, a wonderful son and brother, a great colleague.”

State Funeral

There were also a few short and emotional words from Colm and Alan Donohoe, the detective’s brothers.

I told my four-and-half-year-old daughter that her uncle Adrian was gone to heaven. She said, ‘He was really big’.
And he was big in stature…big in heart…he was a big kid…his godson said he had lost the funniest man he new.
He was generous to a fault…we all aspire to reach his high standards.
He did everything to the best of his ability. To Caroline, we say thank you for making him the happiest and proudest husband and dad.

“We are devastated by the senseless and tragic loss. The he will miss occassions of his kids growing up. We take some comfort that he packed so much into his life…always with a smile on his face. Rest in peace Adrian.”

Detective Garda Adrian Donohoe's funeral

(Image: Niall Carson/PA Wire/Press Association Images)

Crowds gathered from noon today for the funeral mass of the 41-year-old. Among the mourners were An Taoiseach Enda Kenny, President Michael D Higgins and Garda Commissioner Martin Callinan.

Thousands of members of An Garda Síochána also attended the service.

Commissioner Callinan reiterated the force’s commitment to bring the victim’s killers to justice and concluded his short address with the line, “We will never, ever forget you.”

Read: €50,000 reward offered for information in garda killing

Home town, GAA club and Gardaí mourn murdered Detective Adrian Donohoe

Read next:

Comments (33 Comments)

• Indeed the whole country is gutted about what happened to this poor man the sadness of it goes beyond words something needs to be done to protect the men and women in the service who protect us and our country on a daily basis and get very little thanks for it !,, what a hard job it has to be .!!!!RESPECT !!!!may Aidan rest in peace

• Amazing comradery and respect shown here by fellow members of An Garda Siochana, very moving…

RIP.

• what a very immature & insensitive comment at this time, – go & ‘grow up’ yourself.

• Joe L 30/01/13 #

Simon, I would imagine what the priest was saying could be very simply written as follows. “All it takes for evil to prosper is for good men to do nothing”!
    That means all of us. We all have a role to play in the fight against the forces of evil!

• Mr Blake, that’s what you took from the sermon? None of the commentary on the moral outrage that has occurred interested you enough to comment? No comment on the horrendous murder? No empathy with those who grieve a father, husband, son, brother and colleague? Instead you feel the need to shovel scorn on the beliefs of a good man who has offered sympathy, support and succour to a grieving family. Even if you find those beliefs archaic, basic humanity would suggest that you keep that opinion to yoursef at this time of pain and loss for the family and community involved. Perhaps another forum would have better suited your anti Christian opinion. Perhaps it is you who needs to grow up.

• Such thought-provoking words from the priest. RIP

• It should give us pause for thought that when we are calling for the church to be taken out of everyday life in this country that it is priests like this and hundreds more like him that we want silenced.
      Let’s not throw the baby out with the bathwater when we are taking deserved lumps out of the leadership. It is men like this that are the real church.

• Justin in fairness the church took itself out of society. I note the senior echelons of the redemptoist order are slow to support tony Flannery. However, I fully agree there could not have been a better person than Michael cusack to offer some spiritual sustenance in the wake of this horrific crime

• I couldnt help but cry when i read how his daughter had put the tv remote and the mobile she used to wish him goodnight on into the coffin. we dont realise that behind every one of the gardai that risk their lives to protect us, there is another person! RIP, and greatest condolenses to your wife and your 2 kids

• Rest in peace Aidan .
    I hope the cowardly thugs who carried out this brutal murder are sweating ! I have no doubt they will be found and I hope they are shown no mercy .

• RIP

• Animals who done this, RIP

• Ar Dheis De go Raibh a Anam!

• Really moving pictures of the crowd. RIP, hope they find who did this and bring them to justice.

• Rest in Peace Det Garda Donohue. Very striking photos when you see so many Gardai turning out to honour this man. Please god the creatures behind this callous murder are brought to justice as soon as possible.

• A brave and brilliant sermon. I hope the Dail representatives were squirming uncomfortably in their seats.

RIP Det Gda Donohoe. A true Irish Hero. My deepest condolences to his family, friends and colleagues.

• Moving words by the priest . Well done . I hope shatter and his puppet callinan were listening . Although I doubt it . This time next week we will be back to the mantra of ‘smart policing’ and ‘Everyone I talk to says morale is high in the Gardai’ pure lies .

• Well said father cusack on all of your speech .it’s about time we all had the courage to say and do what you said in your homily. Enda and company listen to the voice of the people as reflected in this sermon. People need local guards with local commitment as detective garda o Donahue provided so powerfully. Rip adrian and deepest sympathy to your wife children and broader family

• I cryed for Det. Donohoe and his family. I know this was Ireland but it could just as easily been here in America. What a great sermon Fr. Cusack gave at his funeral mass.

• a very honest homily from fr cusack there are people out there every night and day exposed to such dangers ie garda emergency services and there resourses are been cut all the time RIP Garda Aiden Donohue x

• I didnt realise his children are so young, not that it matters what age they are but that their lives are ruined now forever.
    Their lives, because of these thugs for what was it €4,000 or something like that.
    I hope whoever did this & or knows something should hang their heads in shame while 2 little kids & a woman had to bury their Dad/husband today.
    My deepest, deepest condolences to the Donohoe family today.

• How many of the grieving people in Dundalk voted for Gerry Adams as their TD, I wonder – a man who was a senior member of the IRA, an organisation that was responsible for almost 300 deaths of policemen in Northern Ireland.

• Fr.Cusack strayed into political arena.We need properly trained mobile garda units out to tackle organised crime,not some last century idea of rural stations.

• Agree fully, a dignified funeral mass was not the time to score political points, whatever one’s opinion is of garda cutbacks.

• The priest was correct in what he said and I’m sure 99.% per cent of the people of Ireland would agree and I’m sure a lot of priests would have done the same, RIP Adian hope your family get lots of support which I’m sure they’ll get.

• Nonsense…this is akin to the “centers of excellence” scheme that the previous administration were pushing in the health service. It just boils down to closing many stations to replace them with one specialist unit that has to cover an entire region! ie: Cavan/Monaghan and Louth. It doesn’t matter how specialised you are, you still can’t be in two places at the one time. This is all part of the political spin the public are fed in relation to policing. I am no great fan of the clergy but It’s a shame it takes a Priest to express the true reflection of reality to our most influential politicians. They couldn’t censure what the priest said because they have no power over him unlike senior Garda management. Unfortunately the reality experienced by victims of crime and rank and file Gardai is somewhat different to the distorted reality Mr Shatter thinks he’s dealing with.

• A very sad Day for Ireland.. R.I.P.

Add New Comment