TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 6 °C Saturday 25 May, 2013

Home town, GAA club and Gardaí mourn murdered Detective Adrian Donohoe

Books of Condolence were signed in the Mansion House, as well as Adrian Donohoe’s local GAA Club.

A pictorial tribute to murdered Detective Garda Adrian Donohoe at St Patrick's GAA club near his home at Lordship, Jenkinstown, Dundalk.
Image: Niall Carson/PA Wire/Press Association Images

A PICTORIAL TRIBUTE to a popular member adorned the hall of St Patrick’s GAA Club in Louth today to remember Detective Adrian Donohoe.

Just down the road, crowds gathered at the 41-year-old’s home. People coming to express their sympathies with his family, his wife and his two young children.

Detective Donohue was shot dead during a robbery while on duty at a Credit Union in Dundalk on Friday night, a crime that has shocked and horrified the nation.

His funeral is due to take place tomorrow at 12.30pm at St Joseph’s Redemtorist Church in Dundalk before he is laid to rest at Lordship cemetery.

Both the Taoiseach and the President of Ireland are expected to attend.

Home town, GAA club and Gardaí mourn murdered Detective Adrian Donohoe
1 / 10
  • Books of Condolence

Mourners gather at the home of murdered Detective Garda Adrian Donohoe at Lordship, Jenkinstown, Dundalk. (Image: Niall Carson/PA Wire)
  • Books of Condolence

A tribute at St Patricks GAA club. (Image: Niall Carson/PA Wire)
  • Books of Condolence

Books of Condolence are signed for murdered Detective Garda Adrian Donohoe at St Patricks GAA club. (Image: Niall Carson/PA Wire)
  • Books of Condolence

Garda Representative Association (GRA) leaders Damien McCarthy and PJ Stone shake hands with Gardai outside the home of murdered Detective Garda Adrian Donohoe at Lordship. (Image: Niall Carson/PA Wire)
  • Books of Condolence

Image: Niall Carson/PA Wire
  • Books of Condolence

Mourners gather at the home of murdered Detective Garda Adrian Donohoe at Lordship, Jenkinstown, Dundalk. (Image: Niall Carson/PA Wire)
  • Books of Condolence

A pictorial tribute to murdered Detective Garda Adrian Donohoe at St Patricks GAA club near his home at Lordship. (Image: Niall Carson/PA Wire)
  • Books of Condolence

Dáil and Seanad to adjourn for garda detective’s funeral tomorrow

Read next:

Comments (18 Comments)

• I hope they catch his killers. R.I.P

• When they are caught they should get life and that should mean life with no chance of been released ever

• Liam 29/01/13 #

It is a terrible shame that the death of a detective is what it takes to bring to light the conditions that the Gardai face, the sentence that is to be given to these people when they are caught must be life in prison.

• Sarah 29/01/13 #

What a waste of life.
    Prayers aRe with his family at this awful time.

• Personally I was disgusted the way Detective Adrian Donohoe’s death had be hijacked to make points about station closures. THis brave man is dead, from a gunshot bravely doing his duty and his life being cut short is being swamped with people using his death as an opportunity to attack station closures and the loss of a feeling of security for people in isolated areas.

Don’t get me wrong, that is an important issue. But the family have lost their loved one in terrible circumstances. Let us support them and the memory of Detective Donohoe. THe priests speech about station closures was completely inappropriate and insensitive to the family. He should be ashamed of himself.

Let the family grieve, let us pay tribute to a brave man. Let’s not use his death to make political points.

• RIP, your children and family can be proud of a good man.

• What narrow minded, idiots are tapping the thumbs down button, god help ye the day ye need a guard…
    RIP

• Adrian you stood up and protected our country with your life.
    We owe you and justice will be done .

• Get off this page u red thumb trolls. Yell need the guards long before they will ever need ye.

• Just signed the Book of Condolence to Detective Garda Adrian Donohue in Roscommon Town Garda Station

• I think most Garda districts if not most stations have books open now, giving all right minded citizens the opportunity to show support for this Garda’s family and colleagues.
      Today will be a sad day for the thin blue line.
      Hopefully in time these books as well as online outpourings of sympathy and outrage will give some comfort to this man’s immediate family and the wider Garda community who are stunned by this loss.

Rest In Peace Det. Gda. Donohue your sacrifice will not be forgotten.

• The family asked the media for respect and asked them not to intrude. Yet you feel free to publish these pictures of Adrian and Caroline’s home. Given the small country area and the dangerous individuals involved it would not be hard to identify this house. Very irresponsible of the Journal to do this. RIP Adrian. No consolation to your family at the moment I know but you have ensured your place in the history of our country. A true hero.

• A very Sad time for Adrian’s Wife,Children,Family,Friends & Work Colleagues …
    I Prayed & Lit Candles for them all …
    I couldn’t get his Wife & Children out of My Head all day …
    A Sad day for them accompanying Adrian to his Final Resting Place …
    I found the Funeral very Upsetting to Watch on T.V. …
    I lost my Husband Padraig three & a half years ago … I was Widowed at 37 … (Motorcyclist R.T.A.)
    The Pain of Grief & Losing a Spouse is Unbearable …
    Especially when a death is Complicated like Adrians (Mine was too as such …)
    It’s when everyone goes back to their own lives & his poor Wife,Children, Close Family & Friends have to deal with a ‘Very Different & Difficult Life’ without Adrian ….
    So So Sad that he died on Duty trying to Protect People like us …
    Then these ‘Heartless’ People take his life … How they can live with themselves is beyound me …
    His Funeral was a ‘Lovely Tribrute’ … I am sure he was & is looking down on everyone with Love & Pride …
    Adrian’s Wife & Family will be in My Thoughts & Prayers for a very Long Time …
    Live in Sligo but Originally from Ardee, Co. Louth …
    “REMEMBER THAT THE ONES WE LOVE WILL ALWAYS REMAIN WITH US, FOR LOVE ITSELF LIVES ON & THE MEMORIES DO NOT FADE”
    Susan Heneghan (Brennan)

• RIP. God has a lot to answer for. He could have prevented this.

Add New Comment