TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 8 °C Thursday 23 May, 2013

Dáil and Seanad to adjourn for garda detective’s funeral tomorrow

Meanwhile it has emerged that Detective Garda Adrian Donohoe was supposed to appear on RTÉ’s Crimecall tonight, a programme likely to focus on his killing last Friday.

THE DÁIL AND Seanad will adjourn for several hours tomorrow to allow Ministers, TDs and senators to attend the funeral of Detective Garda Adrian Donohoe who was shot dead last Friday night in Louth.

Both chambers will now sit at 9.30am tomorrow morning, an hour earlier than scheduled, and will then adjourn at around 11am until 4pm when sittings will resume.

Detective Garda Donohoe’s funeral is due to take place tomorrow at 12.30pm at St Joseph’s Redemtorist Church in Dundalk before he is laid to rest at Lordship cemetery.

Taoiseach Enda Kenny and President Michael D Higgins are among those expected to attend.

The investigation into Donohoe’s killing continues with the latest information indicating that the car found burnt-out in south Armagh on Sunday was used in the armed robbery of the Lordship Credit Union on Friday night.

The burnt-out Volkswagen Passat has been forensically examined by the PSNI who are assisting gardaí in their investigation.

RTÉ is also reporting that Donohoe was supposed to be off-duty on Friday but was filling in for a colleague when the fatal shooting occurred, news which the Irish Daily Star reported yesterday.

A televised appeal for information about Donohoe’s killing will be on RTÉ’S CrimeCall tonight. It has also emerged that the detective was due to be on the programme tonight with one of its presenters Philip Boucher-Hayes tweeting about it earlier.

Oireachtas schedule

Changes to the Dáil and Seanad schedules mean that Leaders’ Questions and the Order of Business will be at 9.30am tomorrow before the Dáil is adjourned at around 10.30am or 11am.

It will resume at 4pm with questions to the Minister for Arts, Heritage and the Gaeltacht Jimmy Deenihan, topical issues, and a debate on the Health Service Executive (Governance) Bill 2012 all taking place.

The conclusion of Fianna Fáil’s Private Members motion calling on the government to reverse the garda station closures will begin at 9.30pm and the Dáil is expected to adjourn around 11pm tomorrow night.

The Seanad will meet at 9.30am for the Order of Business before adjourning at around 11am tomorrow morning. It will be suspended until 4pm when it returns to discuss Private Members Business submitted by David Norris on the flouridation of water.

The upper house will also discuss the Criminal Justice (Spent Convictions) Bill as scheduled tomorrow but the debate on the Euro Area Loan Facility (Amendment) Bill 2013 has been moved to Thursday.

More: Gardaí to make televised appeal over detective’s killing

Shatter: Armagh car “probably” used by gang who killed detective

Read next:

Comments (20 Comments)

• As a Louth man I am shamed and appalled by the senseless murder of Adrian. He was a gentleman in every sense of the word, and a real public servant who took pride in being of service.
    I feel that politicians and, to a lesser extent the Gardai, have failed to appreciate the huge sense of loss, empathy and outrage there is in the collective heart of the Irish people right now. There is a real and palpable sense of shared grief between the community and our overstretched and underfunded police force, who are all too often the target of the boo boys.
    I think that if the Government persist with their plans to close down small rural stations, it will be a retrograde step and one that will result in the creation of the most benign conditions for a geometric increase in criminal activity.
    Surely now is not the time for this debate. Adrian’s murder is a watershed moment in Irish history, and we as a Nation should mark it as such. The demands of the troika are not as important to the Irish People right now as feeling safe in their homes.
    Adrian gave his life for his country by putting himself in harm’s way for the greater good. We as a Nation are sickened and saddened and still reeling from the shock, but we are proud too! We are proud that this country still has the capacity to produce men of Adrian’s calibre. It is because of men and women of this rare quality that we can all sleep just that little bit easier at night.
    I believe that we should build on this unprecedented ground swelling of positivity toward the Gardai and as a people honour the memory of our fallen hero Adrian by developing a new and higher level of trust and cooperation between the Irish people and the Gardai, who shouldn’t have to put their lives on the line for us to prove their commitment and loyalty, and who should be able to go home to their families after a day’s work.
    We can all play our part even in our local neighbourhood watch, being more involved, vigilant and caring about those who live alone or who are infirm, don’t wait for someone else to do it, just do it. The gift of kindness blesses both the giver and recipient. Offer a lift into town to the neighbour waiting in the rain at the bus stop. Every one of us can make a small difference; we don’t have to go the “extra mile”, often a single step is enough.
    I appeal to everyone, please do not let this goodwill and positive social momentum be wasted. Smarter people than I will have ideas how to take that momentum, channel it and give it direction.
    Finally I would like to ask if there are like-minded people out there who would like to to help me set up set a perpetual award for “Citizen of the Year” in Adrian’s name to honour his memory, his family and the community he served so well and so selflessly.
    Sean Kelly

• I expect the TDs & Ministers will hire a bus to transport them to the funeral, rather than every one of them claiming massive expenses separately…….that should save a huge amount of money that could be used to resource an Garda Siochana better….

• This turns my stomach. The shower of opportunistic leeches turning up to make themselves look as though they care.
    This man was brutally murdered in the line of duty and the very least we can do is to allow his Family ,colleauges and friends the privacy to grieve the sad and untimely loss.

• Feel deeply sorry for his family but why do a bunch of politicians need to attend his funeral ?

• mart_n 29/01/13 #

Apparently Det. Donohue was scheduled to appear on Crimecall tonight in relation to crimes committed around Dundalk. What a cruel twist of faith that he’ll still feature in the program =(

• fosull 29/01/13 #

Seriously people, can you not give it a break and quit trying to politicise something this awful?

First things first, it’s a State Funeral, so that means the family have given their permission for all who wish to attend to do so. Therefore, lay-off the bashing of TDs who will attend.

Secondly, as I will not be in a position to go to the funeral, I think I can say that my elected representatives will be representing me there tomorrow, which is a good thing for them to do on my (and your) behalf.

• It’s time to bring back the death penalty for the murder of a Garda . The Irish Government is too tolerant of murderers who when caught will get only a few years in Jail at significant expense to the Irish taxpayers. Lets have a Referendum on the death penalty!

• The Death Penalty is no longer part of European Law and runs contrary to the ECHR one shudders what would have happened if the Guilford Four or Birmingham Six had been executed . Apart from the risk of miscarriages of justice nobody has the right to fake life if we do than we are no better than the criminals.

• Pick a different thread to bash them on every right minded person would agree that it’s the place of the government to attend to show the solidarity and revulsion shown by the whole country

• Privacy and respect is what his family need now, not a bunch of hypocrites showing up and trying to look good for themselves..!

• I think our priority is the Donahue family whose father /husband paid the ultimate price for his role in upholding the security of the state.

• Anyone else in the whole country being given a day off with full pay to attend this funeral? Condolences to this mans family, but I fail to see why politicians are being given a day off for it, especially in the same week they are voting to close 95 Garda stations, are they trying to take the absolute píss out of us or something?

• Ah yes idleness from the political elite for a few hours. That will help a lot. Sure say an aul Hail Mary or two while your at it.

• malcom 29/01/13 #

Why did thu know him

Add New Comment